View Full Version : 2007 Genuine Premiership Contenders ( the run home).

SpringChoke
11 Jun 2007, 16:04
Genuine Premiership Chance (In order):

West Coast – Unless they suffer injuries to key players, an almost certainty for an appearance on the last in September.

Sydney – Slow start to the year but still my favourite to play West Coast in the GF.

Geelong – The cats are playing brilliant football but I expect them to have a lull at some point.

Port Power – If their dream run with injury continues, they are a definite chance given the evenness of the competition. If they lose key players (Wakelin, P & S Burgoyne, C Cornes, Lade, Tredrea, Wilson, Brogan) for long periods of time, they could miss the 8.

Adelaide – I put us in this category more out of hope than anything. Make no mistake about it we have been brave this year given our long injury list. I was hoping things could only improve in the second half of the year but it looks like our rotten luck will continue. A player returns from injury and we lose another two.

The other problem we have is the type of injury key players are sustaining. Goody, Burton, Reilly and Stiffy will all take time to regain fitness when they return from serious leg related injuries.

I also doubt we can go all the way with a forward line consisting of various setups of the McGregor, Bock, S Stevens, Welsh structures. To have any chance we need BOTH Roo and Burton to be up forward and injury free.

Possible top 8 but no chance at the premiership:

Hawthorn – Surprising first half of the season for the Hawks. Will be a major player in finals from 2008 onwards. Could still cause a few upsets in September but will be very surprised if they make it to the last day.

Fremantle – Have the talent to match it with the best but they are their own worst enemy. I will be surprised if they even make the 8. Too many basket cases.

Kangas

Western Bulldogs – Have heaps of talent but like us, keep getting injuries to key players.

Collingwood.

No Chance:

St Kilda - shocking run with injury. Their midfielders bodies are battered and broken after years of having to work twice as hard to win the clearance due to a lack of an A grade ruckman. Grant "Supercoach/Guru to the Stars" Thomas has alot to answer for.

Brisbane

Truck Rutten
11 Jun 2007, 16:25
Genuine Premiership Chance (In order):
Port Power – If their dream run with injury continues, they are a definite chance given the evenness of the competition. If they lose key players (Wakelin, P & S Burgoyne, C Cornes, Lade, Tredrea, Wilson, Brogan) for long periods of time, they could miss the 8.
Subtle SC, very subtle :D

Macca19
11 Jun 2007, 16:25
Craziness having us as a genuine premiership chance! Surely you dont honestly believe we could win the flag this year?

crows4always
11 Jun 2007, 16:46
IMO you can leave Port out of the chances.Their bubble has burst.

SpringChoke
11 Jun 2007, 16:49
Craziness having us as a genuine premiership chance! Surely you dont honestly believe we could win the flag this year?

Becuase of the eveness of the comp, if you can keep your best players on the park, you are an outside chance IMHO. Yout top 6-8 players are as good as any other sides.

I'm basing my assessment on "potential/name" rather than recent form:
Based on "potential/name" and assuming minimal injuries:

-Your backline, with C Cornes at CHB, Wakelin and Wilson, is better than average.
-Your rucks combination is the best in the league, or close to it.
-Your midfield runners, even without the hardnuts, is still top 4.

Your forward line is the problem. Obviously alot depends on Tredrea's 2nd half of the year. A few inside midfielders wouldn't go astray either.

"potentially" you're a top 4 side. However, there are 3 teams I rate above you as genuine premiership chances.

macca23
11 Jun 2007, 16:51
Only 3 genuine chances IMO Springy.

West Coast, Geelong, Sydney.

Adelaide are a wild chance if it ever gets it's best team on the ground, but only that - a wild chance. I really can't see us winning a flag this year unless all the little ducks line up for a change.

SpringChoke
11 Jun 2007, 17:03
If we didn't have so many injuries, I would have us second favourite behind West Coast. Unfortunately, our shocking run doesn't seem to be letting up. If anything, it's getting worse.

Drummond
11 Jun 2007, 17:06
Port a Premiership contender? Get real SpringChoke.

It will be a West Coast/Sydney GF once again IMO. Fremantle and Geelong are the other teams with a chance, and we are IF we can get our best team on the park which appears unlikely.

crowsarethebest
11 Jun 2007, 17:14
IMO it will be Geelong and West Coast in the Granny. Geelong to win it. There a few cracks forming in the WCE side, but there is a long lnog way to go. Better to crack now than later.

Drummond
11 Jun 2007, 17:27
Becuase of the eveness of the comp, if you can keep your best players on the park, you are an outside chance IMHO. Yout top 6-8 players are as good as any other sides.

I'm basing my assessment on "potential/name" rather than recent form:
Based on "potential/name" and assuming minimal injuries:

-Your backline, with C Cornes at CHB, Wakelin and Wilson, is better than average.
-Your rucks combination is the best in the league, or close to it.
-Your midfield runners, even without the hardnuts, is still top 4.

Your forward line is the problem. Obviously alot depends on Tredrea's 2nd half of the year. A few inside midfielders wouldn't go astray either.

"potentially" you're a top 4 side. However, there are 3 teams I rate above you as genuine premiership chances.
Cornes I'll give you, but how many games can you rely on from Wilson? And most Port fans are calling for Wakelin's head. Have you paid attention to any of Port's games this year? I guess not, because you're basing this argument on "name" which is just ridiculous.

They’ve lost 4 on the trot, did you know that even?

Mad Dog
11 Jun 2007, 17:32

Adelaide are a wild chance if it ever gets it's best team on the ground, but only that - a wild chance. I really can't see us winning a flag this year unless all the little ducks line up for a change.

Agree with this - the young enthusiastic bodies of Hawthorn, Kangas, Pt. Power etc will unfortunately tire as the season progresses....(see Jono Griffatron).

the 3 you mentioned have seasoned bodies and are relatively healthy and have robust, low risk game plans...

SpringChoke
11 Jun 2007, 17:33
Cornes I'll give you, but how many games can you rely on from Wilson? And most Port fans are calling for Wakelin's head. Have you paid attention to any of Port's games this year? I guess not, because you're basing this argument on "name" which is just ridiculous.

They’ve lost 4 on the trot, did you know that even?

You do realise they won 6 of their first 7 games don't you little man? Now run along and start another AFC whinge thread, this ones for grown ups.

Drummond
11 Jun 2007, 17:39
You do realise they won 6 of their first 7 games don't you little man? Now run along and start another AFC whinge thread, this ones for grown ups.
You're such a joke. :p

They beat Fremantle and Collingwood which were good wins.

They beat the Kangaroos by 2 goals when they were playing their worst footy, they beat the 13th placed Saints; they beat the Demons and the Tigers. Huge, huge wins! :eek: Not. 4 out of their 6 wins are againt bottom 8 teams.

They've lost to Adelaide, Geelong, Sydney, Hawthorn all of whom are top 8 teams. And they just got pumped by the Blues.

If you honestly believe they're premiership contenders, you have more issues that I thought.

SpringChoke
11 Jun 2007, 17:52
You're such a joke. :p

They beat Fremantle and Collingwood which were good wins.

They beat the Kangaroos by 2 goals when they were playing their worst footy, they beat the 13th placed Saints; they beat the Demons and the Tigers. Huge, huge wins! :eek: Not. 4 out of their 6 wins are againt bottom 8 teams.

They've lost to Adelaide, Geelong, Sydney, Hawthorn all of whom are top 8 teams. And they just got pumped by the Blues.

If you honestly believe they're premiership contenders, you have more issues that I thought.

If I have issues, with you, i'm in good company then, hey bandwagoner. Who are we delisting from the Crows this week. Maybe you could start a "Bring Back james gallagher" thread. You're an embarrassment to the AFC supporter base. Maybe you could lend Jericho your spine, you don't seem to be using it.

Drummond
11 Jun 2007, 17:57
If I have issues, with you, i'm in good company then, hey bandwagoner. Who are we delisting from the Crows this week. Maybe you could start a "Bring Back james gallagher" thread. You're an embarrassment to the AFC supporter base.
You’re awesome mate. You have the same material every time, good stuff.

Been a member of the Legs for the last 7 or 8 years, including the times when we’ve barely won a game. Haven’t missed a match in years. So yes, I can certainly see how I am a bandwagon fan who fails to support the club when the going gets tough. I love it how those who are critical and don’t think everything is rosy are the ones labeled bandwaggoners. It would be right up there as the most pathetic reply ever.

You're an embarrassment to the AFC supporter base.
Ouch! :D :rolleyes:

Mad Dog
11 Jun 2007, 18:11
any chance of playing nicely ?

birdmanptr
11 Jun 2007, 18:35
Hard to see West Coast not winning it not going to flash at the moment but it is only June.

I would say Cousins will be back after the split round.

Geelong and Collingwood are the big Vs hope

As for us i said it at the start of the year i dont think we will make the 8 unless we get Maric/Meeson in the ruck and Griffin up forward along with Kenny staying on the park other wise we wont score enough goals to win enough games.

Kane McGoodwin
11 Jun 2007, 18:42
Hard to see West Coast not winning it not going to flash at the moment but it is only June.

I would say Cousins will be back after the split round.

Geelong and Collingwood are the big Vs hope

As for us i said it at the start of the year i dont think we will make the 8 unless we get Maric/Meeson in the ruck and Griffin up forward along with Kenny staying on the park other wise we wont score enough goals to win enough games.
I reckon Cousins coming back may actually upset the team dynamics of the Weagles. Given we are still months away from September, it is hard to say who are the genuine conteders, but last years' finalists are favourites at this stage.

NikkiNoo
11 Jun 2007, 18:54
Kane, weren't people thinking the same thing last year with cousin's off-field discretions and the captaincy being taken away from him? Didn't seem to have affected their chances last year too badly :o

topjars
11 Jun 2007, 18:58

Anything can happen if we are in the 8.
Too much water needs to go under the bridge to speculatre further.

Kane McGoodwin
11 Jun 2007, 18:59
Kane, weren't people thinking the same thing last year with cousin's off-field discretions and the captaincy being taken away from him? Didn't seem to have affected their chances last year too badly :o
I have heard that there are certain high-profile players in the Weagles team who don't want to play with him after his last indiscretion. Could be just rumour mongering, but we will soon find out if his return impacts on the team dynamics.

Crow Envy
11 Jun 2007, 19:01
Spring Choke are you trying to build up the Power so when they fail you can nail them? I think this must be your strategy because there is no way they are more of a chance than Adelaide, Hawthorn and Collingwood.

DeFy_YoU
11 Jun 2007, 19:16
Melbourne will make the 8 im tipping

they've got a nice run home.. and with the ladder so close... im reckon they'll just pip in

BockPorplyziaFC
11 Jun 2007, 19:48
This time last year we were the favorite so who knows, Geelong or West Coast could have our run with injuries and fall over at the end of the year.

I think we are a chance if we can beat a few of the teams above us in the next few rounds.

The right teams win and lose next week and we could be top 4, its so close at the moment. 2005/6 was definently our time but anything can happen in half a season of football.

Right now, you cant go past west coasts finals experience, Geelong are also looking strong in most areas of their game.

SpringChoke
11 Jun 2007, 20:50
Spring Choke are you trying to build up the Power so when they fail you can nail them? I think this must be your strategy because there is no way they are more of a chance than Adelaide, Hawthorn and Collingwood.

Don't let all the "Revolution" hype fool you. I don't class Port in the same youngish category as Hawthorn, Collingwood etc. They still have 11 players on their list from the 2004 premiership and 7 of them are 28 or older. Plenty of experience.

Like us, this year and the next 2, is their big chance before another rebuild.

The only reason I put them ahead of us is becuase of our long injury list to key players.

*PAF
11 Jun 2007, 21:04
I agree with SC regarding Port.
If our best players start playing, plus Tredrea comes good towards the end AND we can keep all of our best on the park then yes we are an outside chance.
Lots of ifs, but hey.

bus24
11 Jun 2007, 21:08
There's one team capable of going all the way this year and only one team.

*PAF
11 Jun 2007, 21:13
There's one team capable of going all the way this year and only one team.

Geesh, Geelong have only been a forward or two short from being a genuine premiership chance for a couple of years now.
That has now changed and they would have to be favourites atm, plus they will be in the mix for a few years to come.

bus24
11 Jun 2007, 21:16
I'll do an FD88 style prediction and never return if the West Coast Eagles do not win this years Premiership.

Unlike him I'll actually carry it out.

Well no, I won't, because there will be no need to.

Crow-mo
11 Jun 2007, 21:19
If I have issues, with you, i'm in good company then, hey bandwagoner. Who are we delisting from the Crows this week. Maybe you could start a "Bring Back james gallagher" thread. You're an embarrassment to the AFC supporter base. Maybe you could lend Jericho your spine, you don't seem to be using it.

ouch! :D

SpringChoke
11 Jun 2007, 21:30
I agree with SC regarding Port.
If our best players start playing, plus Tredrea comes good towards the end AND we can keep all of our best on the park then yes we are an outside chance.
Lots of ifs, but hey.

As much as it pains me to say it, Port have the cattle and experience to be a contender. Alot would have to go right though.

SpringChoke
11 Jun 2007, 21:35
Geesh, Geelong have only been a forward or two short from being a genuine premiership chance for a couple of years now.
That has now changed and they would have to be favourites atm, plus they will be in the mix for a few years to come.

Are West Coast still vulnerable up forward? I'm suprised with how well Geelong are going. At the start of the year, I didn't think they had enough top grade midfielders to be considered top 4 material.

*PAF
11 Jun 2007, 22:34
As much as it pains me to say it, Port have the cattle and experience to be a contender. Alot would have to go right though.

Wouldn't say about going right, more along the lines of not going wrong. Same analogy when I said that IMO Adelaide had the team to make top 4 to 12 or whatever it was. The team is/was there and with the competition being so even anything can happen.

*PAF
11 Jun 2007, 22:43
Are West Coast still vulnerable up forward? I'm suprised with how well Geelong are going. At the start of the year, I didn't think they had enough top grade midfielders to be considered top 4 material.
I actually like the way Geelong play through their midfield, not necessarily fast but smart and strong. Never rated their forward line before whereas now IMO they are on the verge of going top shelf and their backline is seriously good.
Must confess I haven't seen enough of WCE this year to make a sound opinion, so assuming normal type improvement to players, IMO they are not in the league of Brisbane or Port a few years ago, whereas Geelong could end up there depending on how much/quickly Ablett and Hawkins improve/mature.

apollo_creed
11 Jun 2007, 22:55
Port a Premiership contender? Get real SpringChoke.

It will be a West Coast/Sydney GF once again IMO. Fremantle and Geelong are the other teams with a chance, and we are IF we can get our best team on the park which appears unlikely.
you rip on him for mentioning Port Adelaide.

then bring Fremantle to the dinner table yourself. :D

Drummond
11 Jun 2007, 23:26
you rip on him for mentioning Port Adelaide.

then bring Fremantle to the dinner table yourself. :D
Yes? I don’t see why you’re laughing.

There is one huge difference between the two sides, that being key forwards. Pavlich is a multiple All-Australian and has kicked 60+ goals the past two seasons and he’s well on his way again this year. And while he might not be as damaging as he once was, Tarrant is also an AA and has kicked 50+ goals in two different seasons.

Tredrea is the only one in Port’s forward line who is capable of producing these similar goal totals, and he hardly looks like it at the minute.

There’s no doubt Freo aren’t traveling all that well, but they have the potential to and with two performing key forwards you can’t be written off.

apollo_creed
11 Jun 2007, 23:56
West Coast Eagles. ^

Freo have Pavlich and Tarrant, yes they do.

this is their what? 13th season in the competition? they've won only one final during that time AND are sitting at 5-6 midway through the season. not much history/form/confidence behind them. not to mention Tarrant is unreliable.

you could be right? who knows? a strange prediction it remains.

Carl Spackler
12 Jun 2007, 01:09
West Coast Eagles. ^

Freo have Pavlich and Tarrant, yes they do.

this is their what? 13th season in the competition? they've won only one final during that time AND are sitting at 5-6 midway through the season. not much history/form/confidence behind them. not to mention Tarrant is unreliable.

you could be right? who knows? a strange prediction it remains.
No that strange. Most judges had them in their top 2 or 3 at the start of the season. Fremantle haven't started yet. Somehow have found themselves at 5-6 and one win outside the eight despite a pretty average season thus far. It does open up a little for them though - an injury-hit Bulldogs line up next week in Darwin then Carlton at Subiaco after the break. Pav is looking in ominous touch after a slow start to the year.

If they can just stop getting suspended they could do some damage. Solomon was an odd choice.

DanA
12 Jun 2007, 11:16
Freo has got plenty of talent with its tall brigade but nothing in there smalls. A mediocre midfeild with very poor rotations.

All three of Goodwin, Thompson & Edwards are better than any one of the Freo midfeilders. Small backs and small forwads (until Farmer returns) are terrible as well.

Farmer out will cost them a place in the finals just about.

maccas_no1
12 Jun 2007, 12:57

Agree but I think people are under rating the Kangaroos in their asssesment, they had a tough start but they are playing some great footy at the minute and I dont think we will beat them this w/end up at Carara.