View Full Version : Are Collingwood the most protected team in the competition?

SpringChoke
11th June 2007, 16:37
I can't watch their games anymore, the umpiring is so one sided.

Drummond
11th June 2007, 16:42
I can tell you didn't watch the game. Rocca was being held onto all day long and didn’t win a free kick. Cloke took a few great marks that were taken off him due to having hands in the back, and yet Robertson did the very same thing in the goal square and he wasn’t penalised.

The poor decisions went BOTH ways.

jo172
11th June 2007, 16:49
Both Collingwood and West Coke are the most protected teams in the competition. If Rutten was able to get away with half of what Prestigiacomo and Glass pull he would never of had a goal scored on him this season. Also the midfield's on both sides are practically untouchable without giving away a free kick.

jenny61_99
11th June 2007, 16:50
Or the free paid to Collingwood when the Melb player was frustrated at his team mate's kick to him and threw the ball into the chair and a 50m penalty for him questionning WHY? No expletives, just why?

Bloody strange umpiring.... oh but hang on McLaren was umpiring! :rolleyes:

Vic Crow
11th June 2007, 23:18
I was at todays game and if anything, Collingwood were crucified. The umpiring in the first half was absolutely deplorable and they were mostly going Melbourne's way. There were a lot of even uppers at the start of the third to get the free kick count even.

The free kick on McLean was pure insanity though. Terrible call. I actually popped my head into an after match function for Melbourne and McLean said on stage that the 50 was given because he said "You idiot" to the umpire.

Sanguinarius
11th June 2007, 23:40
off feild maybe.... not on ground today though

NikkiNoo
12th June 2007, 11:01
The free kick on McLean was pure insanity though. Terrible call. I actually popped my head into an after match function for Melbourne and McLean said on stage that the 50 was given because he said "You idiot" to the umpire.

If that is so VC, then the 50 was deserved. It might not be swearing but it is still abuse of an umpire and the players should know better.

Vic Crow
12th June 2007, 12:02
If that is so VC, then the 50 was deserved. It might not be swearing but it is still abuse of an umpire and the players should know better.
I reckon a bit of discretion could take place, especially since the initial free kick was so trivial. There was three goals in the game, Collingwood were surging and it was around the 18 minute mark - that play didn't deserve a free goal for Collingwood, particularly in the complex of the game.

NikkiNoo
12th June 2007, 12:14
I reckon a bit of discretion could take place, especially since the initial free kick was so trivial. There was three goals in the game, Collingwood were surging and it was around the 18 minute mark - that play didn't deserve a free goal for Collingwood, particularly in the complex of the game.

It doesn't matter where it happened in the game VC - abuse is abuse and the players know they are not allowed to question a decision anymore, at any stage of the game.

Look, I completely disagree with the captains not being allowed to approach the umpires, but the rules have been put in place for quite awhile, it's not a new rule.

swanfan
12th June 2007, 12:56
Any team that travels twice outside of Victoria is certainly very well protected.

Johnson#26
12th June 2007, 13:10
I think it's fair to say that we copped the rough end of the stick yesterday, though both sides won some bemusing decisions.

50m against McLean was awful.

No free against Robbo for the shove (not just a push) on Toovey in the fourth...maddening.

Vic Crow
12th June 2007, 13:19
It doesn't matter where it happened in the game VC - abuse is abuse and the players know they are not allowed to question a decision anymore, at any stage of the game.

Look, I completely disagree with the captains not being allowed to approach the umpires, but the rules have been put in place for quite awhile, it's not a new rule.
I can cop dodgy decisions at any stage of the game apart from near the end in a close game. That's when you need a human side to umpiring the most.

While I don't umpire footy I am an experienced referee in another sport where I have reffed at National level and I strongly believe an official needs to swallow his pride every now and then to take some abuse (and let's face it, "you idiot" is very mild). The free kick was contentious - by the strict interpretation of the rules it was there, but if you're talking about the strict interpretation of the rule then the player has to be cut some slack somewhere.

Rubbing salt into the wounds of an already baffling free kick with a 50m penalty and a certain goal was the wrong way to go about it if that's all that was said. Umpires shouldn't be abused by players, but at the same time by calling the 50m penalty the umpire is making it about him because he was the one abused.

If everything becomes by the book then it limits character in the game and I reckon umpires should use their discretion to cop a bit of a spray because the game isn't about umpires. Sure, there is a line that needs to be drawn and if Brock McLean actually said something more sinister then the 50 could be fair enough. But that 50 was personal and in the heat of the game, who does that make the call about? The umpire.

EDIT: It's funny how I started out in this thread saying the Pies had it much worse yesterday, but I end up on a decision that went their way! :p

NikkiNoo
12th June 2007, 13:31
VC - there shouldn't be dodgy decisions at any time of the game, you and I agree on that. But abuse is abuse and is not on, McLean could have asked why at the time instead of just plainly abusing the ump instead. That way the club would have something to bring up with the umpiring department. Instead all Melbourne had was a goal against them at a very significant time in the match. Players should use their brains to win the game not argue over one decision. Leave that to the crowd to get emotional and involved ;)

I have umpired footy and used to cop a bit as I was obviously a female, that was at the level I could dish a little bit back although if the coaches found out I would have been in big trouble. :p

But there is a zero tolerance policy in the afl towards abuse as you only have to go to the lower local levels to see what is happening there and why they are trying to do something at the higher level. They should also appoint an umpire to the rules committee and put in place a person who has umpired as head of the umpiring department. They are my main bug bears.

*PAF
12th June 2007, 18:13
Both were over the top, BUT deserved under the rules.

jenny61_99
12th June 2007, 22:39
I would have thought calling an umpire an "idiot" is probably one of the nicer things a player could call them! ;) In fact... the umpire should have been flattered!:D

Seanason
12th June 2007, 22:45
Any team that travels twice outside of Victoria is certainly very well protected.
Thats the best post so far.

I havent seen it - But by the sounds of it, the Freekick was warranted - not returning the ball to an official but throwing it aggresively desrves it.

As for the 50, its nigh impossible to actually know what was said (Selwood is a good example) and no-one can make a judgement.

Kickin_Goals
13th June 2007, 04:29
Melbourne seemed to get a ride against them really, the 50 metres was edging up towards 70 metres and that was after taking the ball from cloke for a soft hands in the back rule.
Sure Rocca played like a complete moron getting 7 free kicks that were blatant but really 3 from a clear punch in the head to weak chopping and holding decisions that tend to get paid went missing his way and that would basically of been game collingwood as he didn't venture far from the square all day but to get a handpass a kick and 7 turnovers was very influential the big rock.

turbo182
14th June 2007, 08:28
VC - there shouldn't be dodgy decisions at any time of the game, you and I agree on that. But abuse is abuse and is not on, McLean could have asked why at the time instead of just plainly abusing the ump instead. That way the club would have something to bring up with the umpiring department. Instead all Melbourne had was a goal against them at a very significant time in the match. Players should use their brains to win the game not argue over one decision. Leave that to the crowd to get emotional and involved ;)

I have umpired footy and used to cop a bit as I was obviously a female, that was at the level I could dish a little bit back although if the coaches found out I would have been in big trouble. :p

But there is a zero tolerance policy in the afl towards abuse as you only have to go to the lower local levels to see what is happening there and why they are trying to do something at the higher level. They should also appoint an umpire to the rules committee and put in place a person who has umpired as head of the umpiring department. They are my main bug bears.

Nikki, I didn't realise you were moderating the game as well as this board.

swanfan
14th June 2007, 08:47
Nikki, I didn't realise you were moderating the game as well as this board.

Thank goodness Nikki wasn't umpiring whilst I was playing. It would have been a short season for me. :D

swanfan
14th June 2007, 08:54
[quote=Seanason;7820543]Thats the best post so far.

Thankyou Seanason. Glad someone noted what I meant. ;)

goalpie
14th June 2007, 09:30

So thats why Collingwood has more frees against than for. Must be protected from leather rash. :rolleyes:

So which two cities are now a part of Victoria. Perth, Adelaide, Brisbane or Sydney. :o

swanfan
14th June 2007, 10:10
So which two cities are now a part of Victoria. Perth, Adelaide, Brisbane or Sydney. :o

Oh excuse me, sorry three times. I forgot one. Darn it.

Plogs
14th June 2007, 10:23

And the hilarity of it was some clown chimed in with "that's the best post so far".

Vic Crow
14th June 2007, 10:27
Four times this season. Four times most seasons, I think. Their game in Sydney is Telstra Stadium, not Telstra Dome, which probably leads to some confusion as well.

swanfan
14th June 2007, 10:35
Four times this season. Four times most seasons, I think. Their game in Sydney is Telstra Stadium, not Telstra Dome, which probably leads to some confusion as well.

Yes I was wrong twice VC. It is four. Not bad, travelling 4 times out of 22. I think they are hard done by at Magpie land.

Vic Crow
14th June 2007, 10:54
Yes I was wrong twice VC. It is four. Not bad, travelling 4 times out of 22. I think they are hard done by at Magpie land.
Ugh, this is painful because I hate Collingwood as much as the next person BUT...

Considering the Vic vs. Vic match-ups, this isn't that much less than the other Victorian clubs that don't sell their home games.

I'd hazard a guess that most Vic clubs would travel 4-6 times a year. When you consider there's six non-Victorian clubs I don't see the problem. The most you could really expect a Vic club to travel is six times to play the six non-Victorian teams, then there's the home games that are sold. The away team get a raw deal there coz it's not their fault, however for a Victorian club Collingwood is too financially beneficial to host in Launceston or whatever.

The only difference I really see with Collingwood's draw (and Essendon's and Richmond's for example) are that they draw so well in Victoria that no other Victorian teams would want to host them on neutral territory.

Southerntakeover
14th June 2007, 10:59
Awful lot of 'cooincidences' regarding the timing of these Collingwood trips though.

Ive noticed two years in a row they've travelled down here to play us the week after we've done the Subi trip.

doppleganger
14th June 2007, 11:11
Awful lot of 'cooincidences' regarding the timing of these Collingwood trips though.

Ive noticed two years in a row they've travelled down here to play us the week after we've done the Subi trip.

yep tis all a massive conspiracy!

Southerntakeover
14th June 2007, 11:13

Damn right it is. And you know who's behind it? Major League Baseball.

Markthirtytwo
15th June 2007, 08:47

Coming from a supporter of the most over-rated, under-achieved side in the competition, thats a bit rich.

Get out and smell the roses, you may enjoy it.

Aristotel
15th June 2007, 09:10
Or the free paid to Collingwood when the Melb player was frustrated at his team mate's kick to him and threw the ball into the chair and a 50m penalty for him questionning WHY? No expletives, just why?

Bloody strange umpiring.... oh but hang on McLaren was umpiring! :rolleyes:

Shows how much you know.....

The rule states that the player must put the ball on the ground or give it straight back to the umpire for a boundry throw-in. Failing to do so results in a free-kick. That's the rules.

Who knows what he said to invite the 50 meter penalty.

It hardly matters.

ant22
15th June 2007, 09:41
I cannot believe there is a thread on the adelaide board about collingwood. Why do you guys care about something that has nothing to do with Adelaide.

No one is protected. If you watched the game on monday you will see we coped the rough end of the stick. Im not complaining because unlike many people I understand that there will be weeks when it goes for you and weeks when it goes against you.

I just fail to understand why someone would bother raising an issue that has nothing to do with their team on this board. You guys have a good strong succesful footy club that is in a healthier position than most going around. Is this really something worth complaining about??

Vic Crow
15th June 2007, 10:18
This is our off topic board. We talk about things not to do with the Crows here.

Aristotel
15th June 2007, 10:19
I just fail to understand why someone would bother raising an issue that has nothing to do with their team on this board. You guys have a good strong succesful footy club that is in a healthier position than most going around. Is this really something worth complaining about??

Debatable.

Crows havn't even made it to a Grand Final in the past decade.

Southerntakeover
15th June 2007, 10:39
Debatable.

How long ago was 1998?

When was your last premiership?

Vic Crow
15th June 2007, 10:51
How long ago was 1998?

When was your last premiership?
Good point. How many premierships have the Pies won since we've been in the competition?

ZERO. The answer is zero.

turbo182
15th June 2007, 12:01
Good point. How many premierships have the Pies won since we've been in the competition?

ZERO. The answer is zero.

Yeah and my dad could beat up your dad! :p

Markthirtytwo
15th June 2007, 16:54
Debatable.

Shall we shed a tear or three like Mick for loosing. :D

swanfan
15th June 2007, 17:01
Debatable.

1998. Your mathematics isn't sound. Credit where credit is due, the ones we made, we won. ;)

Aristotel
15th June 2007, 19:29
heh,heh

typical responses. This is the Crow's board after all. Point is, due to Adelaide's recent finals implosions Crow's fans have had little to cheer about for a while now. Considering your team was rated so highly.

Thanks

Southerntakeover
15th June 2007, 19:32
heh,heh

typical responses. This is the Crow's board after all. Point is, due to Adelaide's recent finals implosions Crow's fans have had little to cheer about for a while now. Considering your team was rated so highly.

Thanks

Yet your club has had nothing more to cheer about since we entered the comp. If you want to compare premierships won since we joined as a mark of sucess, fair enough.

If you hold that we're not sucessful, you are even less so.

Vic Crow
15th June 2007, 23:00
heh,heh

Thanks
There's first and everyone else. Even in your best years since we joined the comp you've been in the "everyone else" category every time.

Do you take pride in being owned by Brisbane twice?

swanfan
16th June 2007, 14:32
heh,heh

Thanks

Have a nice holiday. :)

RoosterLad
16th June 2007, 15:03
Typical response? By typical I assume you mean intelligent. You say we haven't made a Grand Final in the past decade.. it is pointed out you are incorrect and then you have a whinge? You are obviously proud that you lost back to back Grand Finals.. at least when we made two in a row we won them.

swanfan
16th June 2007, 17:20
Typical response? By typical I assume you mean intelligent. You say we haven't made a Grand Final in the past decade.. it is pointed out you are incorrect and then you have a whinge? You are obviously proud that you lost back to back Grand Finals.. at least when we made two in a row we won them.

Exactly. Well said mate. :thumbsu::D