View Full Version : Next week's changes (well the week after)

Hoggy
11 Jun 2007, 18:33
Ins - Clement, Licuria, Lonie, R.Shaw
Out - O'Brien (looks busted), Wakelin (finished), Goldsack (terrible), Toovey (to fit Rhyce in)

And before you get into me about having a go at Goldsack. He has now played four games and has shown not one ounce of anything that will see him become a premiership player - and we should be playing players that we believe can push us to a premiership. It is as simple as that. He gets toweled up every ****ing week and for him to be playing AFL football before Paul Licuria - who was coming off a BOG in the VFL the week before - is an utter ****ing disgrace.

Wakelin - You can't keep up with DAVID NEITZ. Career over.

Optimax
11 Jun 2007, 18:42
Out: Harry: hurt bad,
Wakelin: has gotten terribly slow,
Toovey: not his fault he went to Robertson but time for licca to come back
Stanley: Like him but Rhyce is better option at the moment
Goldsack: Would not stay on his man, wasnt given a go on Robertson has to be a reason, couldnt hit targets when he got the ball will be good but not yet
In: Clement, Presti (if right), Licca, Rhyce (if right), Lonie/Cox.

Lots of changes i know but we played pitiful

JOELY
11 Jun 2007, 18:44
goldsack impressed me today. will be a player

Shellz
11 Jun 2007, 18:46
yeh i thought goldsack played well also

GoalSneak07
11 Jun 2007, 18:48
IN: Clement, Presti, Shaw & Licka.
OUT: Harry O, Stanley, Toovey and Wakelyn.

Dead Eye Didak
11 Jun 2007, 18:51
Out - O'Brien (looks busted), Wakelin (finished), Goldsack (terrible), Toovey (to fit Rhyce in)

And before you get into me about having a go at Goldsack. He has now played four games and has shown not one ounce of anything that will see him become a premiership player - and we should be playing players that we believe can push us to a premiership. It is as simple as that. He gets toweled up every ****ing week and for him to be playing AFL football before Paul Licuria - who was coming off a BOG in the VFL the week before - is an utter ****ing disgrace.

You're kidding me mate about Goldsack. The guys played 4 games of AFL football at 18 years of age. What do you expect him to do get 3 brownlow votes every game he plays. I would keep him in, l think he was one of our better players today, and has improved every week. I actually can see him settling in nicely into the back half.

L84AD8
11 Jun 2007, 19:03
Absolute rubbish....Goldsack continued to show something in his fourth game and will be a player...Dont know what game everyone else saw but in a backline that lacked experiance he seemed composed and wanted to show initiative...How else does a 4 gamer learn...Mistakes will be made for crying out load...how do we so confidently write a kid off after 4 games...

This site should not be available to supporters who have just experianced a loss..emotionally based rhetoric reflects poorly...

Hoggy
11 Jun 2007, 19:03
You're kidding me mate about Goldsack. The guys played 4 games of AFL football at 18 years of age. What do you expect him to do get 3 brownlow votes every game he plays. I would keep him in, l think he was one of our better players today, and has improved every week. I actually can see him settling in nicely into the back half.

18? He's 20.

He got an extra year at TAC Cup level. So that means he was playing as a 19 year old in the TAC Cup last year, and he was still a 4th round draft pick.

Utter ****ing star.

doppleganger
11 Jun 2007, 19:05
Gee there are some angry people who masquarade as pies 'supporters'

What did Goldsack do wrong today??

Do people realise we were without 3 of our usual back 6 today in R.Shaw, Clement, Presti.........and Harry went down in the first 5 min, and H.Shaw was struggling with an injury

No surpirse really that Melbourne were able to jump us as we were weak down back

Goldsack was good today
Toovey was good on Davey
Stanley was never goin to be able to play on Robbo, but we had nobody else to go to him

Rocca and Didak were poor today, not the kids

The Royal Sampler
11 Jun 2007, 19:06
IN: Clement, Cox, Licuria
OUT: O'Brien, Wakelin, Stanley

deck
11 Jun 2007, 19:07
I thought Goldsack was alright today. Why they moved him off Robertson earlier is baffling as he did nothing wrong.

Stakerz
11 Jun 2007, 19:11
Stanley should not have been playing on Robbo..

He should play on one of the other small forwards.

Apart from getting killed by Robbo he did show some good signs.

Goldsack played one of his better games today.

Toovey.. piss off!!!

Wakelin.. please retire!

vantheman32
11 Jun 2007, 19:12
"Wakelin - You can't keep up with DAVID NEITZ. Career over."
however i agree that wakelin is a hack, David Neitz is very fast for a big man n alot of defenders would struggle to keep up with neitz over 10-30 meters. moves very well

Spore
11 Jun 2007, 19:13
IN: Clement, Cox, Licuria
OUT: O'Brien, Wakelin, Stanley

Toovey has to go out, the kid needs sometime at Willy to find some form.

hilly69
11 Jun 2007, 19:16
before all you front running collingwood fans start blamming the kids for today how bout the full foward we have that had 2 touches gave away 6 free kicks, how bout u point the finger at him first, if he had 2 touches gave away no frees kicks would of been ok, he didnt even give the small blokes a chance to get to his feet and make some thing of it. For the *** heads who wanna drop goldsack your kidding me he did a great job today getting to the contest when it wasnt even his man his playing his first year of league footy. Rather point the finger at him blokes like O'Bree who didnt even wanna get close to McLean today let him get a head of the contest.

magpies42
11 Jun 2007, 19:26

you are rubbish as well!
So if Goldsack isnt going to become a premiership player licuria will?!?!?
Lica will only play in a premiership if they allow wheelchairs onto the ground.I think your halfwitted attempt at slandering a kid in his 4th game is very poor. Goldsack had a great game today for mine, maybe i was watching another game. I agree that rhys shaw should be in i dont know if lonie deserves or is fit enough to walk straight back into the side. Toovey has been excellent, i think we should probably rest one of the young guns if teh oppurtunity arises, possibly pendelbury, thomas, cloke or even burns.

Coin_Toss
11 Jun 2007, 20:19
IN: R Shaw, J Clement, P Licuria
OUT: A Rocca (suspended), H O'Brien (dislocated shoulder), A Toovey (omitted)

Danny Stanley was thrown to the wolves, probably will get another chance as he showed some composure towards the end of the game.

Presti won't be ready IMO.

We don't need another inexperienced player as it has out weighed the balance, we can rotate Josh (Fraser) and Chris (Bryan) through the forward line, if that doesn't work we can use Medhurst, Didak and Burns as options up there. So we have a few options up our sleeve.

They're hard at it, Sydney, and we need to bring our hardened bodies (eg. Licuria) into the side.

cult_hero26
11 Jun 2007, 20:23
IN: R Shaw, J Clement, P Licuria
OUT: A Rocca (suspended), H O'Brien (dislocated shoulder), A Toovey (omitted)

Danny Stanley was thrown to the wolves, probably will get another chance as he showed some composure towards the end of the game.

Presti won't be ready IMO.

We don't need another inexperienced player as it has out weighed the balance, we can rotate Josh (Fraser) and Chris (Bryan) through the forward line, if that doesn't work we can use Medhurst, Didak and Burns as options up there. So we have a few options up our sleeve.

was Rocca reported?

sloth6
11 Jun 2007, 20:27
Goldsack was nowhere near our worst today. Did some nice things and kicking was good. Blokes that went missing today included O'Bree, Davis, Didak and Medhurst.

I don't think we can have Medhurst, Davis and Dids in the same side.

Illes had 34 p's in the twos didn't he. He deserves another chance.

Get some pace into the side Mick!!!

Out: Toovey (the next Matthew Lokan), Medhurst, Harry O (injured), O'Bree
In: Clement, Rhys Shaw, Sam Illes, Shannon Cox

Coin_Toss
11 Jun 2007, 20:37
was Rocca reported?

No, not at the time he wasn't, but the MRP don't miss a beat. He will get a week maybe two for striking Holland.

Hoggy
11 Jun 2007, 21:01
you are rubbish as well!
So if Goldsack isnt going to become a premiership player licuria will?!?!?
Lica will only play in a premiership if they allow wheelchairs onto the ground.I think your halfwitted attempt at slandering a kid in his 4th game is very poor. Goldsack had a great game today for mine, maybe i was watching another game.

Your opinion, he's just not up to it IMO. Watch how Melbourne got their first goal. Licuria has a spot in this side.

I agree that rhys shaw should be in i dont know if lonie deserves or is fit enough to walk straight back into the side.

Lonie played yesterday in the VFL, was good apparently.

Toovey has been excellent, i think we should probably rest one of the young guns if teh oppurtunity arises, possibly pendelbury, thomas, cloke or even burns.

I agree about Toovey, but I couldn't think of a similar person to get Shaw back in.

Eddie Vedder
11 Jun 2007, 21:09
Another vote for Goldsack, thought he played pretty well today, no way in hell will they be dropping him

Therussian
11 Jun 2007, 21:15
Clement, Lonie, Licuria, R Shaw, Presti all in,
Lonie plays his best games against Goodes so he is auto in.

going to be some tough outs, i personally reckon Thomas needs a rest, have heard he is carrying an injury and playing against a side that is hard at it and contest after contest probably is the right time to omit him,
think we are all a little harsh on Toovey, Wakes and Goldsack.

FIGJAM
11 Jun 2007, 21:23
Time to unleash the beast:

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1415/538551500_ccf7715d54.jpg?v=0

campbell023
11 Jun 2007, 21:28
Might be still in some trouble with the backline guys. I have heard Presti is a month away and Clem maybe still another 2 weeks. Plus with harry out might struggle the next few weeks down back.

Shellz
11 Jun 2007, 22:03
Your opinion, he's just not up to it IMO. Watch how Melbourne got their first goal. Licuria has a spot in this side.

I can hardly you think you can blame a four game player for the loss... that's ridiculous... it's a 22 man game and 13 goals were kicked against us. As for saying look at how Melbourne got their first goal.. what about all the other times the other players stuffed up costing us a goal... including our forward line. Grrr you make me so angry. As for the Wakelin thing, personally I thought it was just great to have a familar face down there... someone who has played over 10 games!

eddiesmith
11 Jun 2007, 22:17
In: Lonie, Cox, Clarke

Out: O'Brien, ???, ???

Dont think Mick will drop Stanley, the Sack can say, there will be some changes but I doubt even Mick knows who will play and miss for atleast another week, but he did say none of our injured players will be back so unless they played for Willy yesterday they wont play

Hoggy
11 Jun 2007, 22:26
I can hardly you think you can blame a four game player for the loss... that's ridiculous... it's a 22 man game and 13 goals were kicked against us. As for saying look at how Melbourne got their first goal.. what about all the other times the other players stuffed up costing us a goal... including our forward line. Grrr you make me so angry. As for the Wakelin thing, personally I thought it was just great to have a familar face down there... someone who has played over 10 games!

When did I say he was the reason that we lost the game?

I just don't think he is so up to it.

It was good to see Wakelin there, but he was pants today.

Tarkyn_24
11 Jun 2007, 22:31
Let's drop Lockyer.

Lestat
11 Jun 2007, 22:32
No, not at the time he wasn't, but the MRP don't miss a beat. He will get a week maybe two for striking Holland.

Maybe a blessing in disguise.

We need to lose this dependancy we have on Rocca, cause he lets us down far to often.

Lestat
11 Jun 2007, 22:34
I have to agree with Hoggy, I just don't see anything in Goldsack to like. Seems like a nothing player. Doesn't spoil well, not really great one on one, and dodgy disposal.

Then again, I also didn't rate Swan a couple of seasons back.

He's still young.....judge him in a season or two.

Jabso
12 Jun 2007, 00:29
In: Cox, Clement, Clarke
Out: O'Brien, Toovey, Stanley

Goldsack.......I don't get the recent baggings of him. I thought he did very well. Especially on Davey when Toovey had to move on to Robbo.

I don't know what to make of Stanley, he seems to be another player who can't play on the small leading players. I would of liked to see him on a player who is a crumber or even in the midfield.

I would also play with the idea of putting Richards in for Bryan and perhaps debuting Reid. We need the 3 talls, and he could always go back.

eddiesmith
12 Jun 2007, 00:37
Clement wont play, that is a guarantee

hellfire
12 Jun 2007, 01:10
OUT: Obrien, Toovey, ?, ?....

IN: Cox, R. Shaw, Clarke, Lonie.

Don't change a winning side... but change a side that looked like SHIT. The backline is very thin, desperately need Clement back.. it seems to be lacking that cool head, and leadership. Would love to see Clarke get a run, or even Wellingham (though promoting another rookie may be bad). Both are playing great footy though. Toovey needs a run back at Willi. They said on the P.A today that Dawes will be back next week, can't wait to see the man in action down at Willi.

TheClokes
12 Jun 2007, 08:14
B: H.Shaw - Wakelin - Goldsack
HB: Iles - Cox - Stanley
C: Johnson - Swan - Holland
HF: Didak - Cloke - Thomas
F: Davis - Rocca - Medhurst
FL: Fraser - Pendlebury - Lockyer
INT: Burns - Licuria - O'Bree - Richards

Stakerz
12 Jun 2007, 08:16
What's wrong with Clement?

DWil6
12 Jun 2007, 09:55

Backline looks massively underdone but we don't really have any other options with all the backmen out injured. I think that backline will struggle to hold any decent team. H Shaw is the gun, Wakelin past his best but will give his all, the other 4 are all still trying to find their way and all could find a spot in Willy's lineup if we had players back.

Timmy from Thomastown
12 Jun 2007, 10:33
In Cox, Lonie (if Clement not fit), Iles (if R Shaw not fit) Richards
Out Goldsack, O'Brien, Toovey, Bryan

cakewalk06
12 Jun 2007, 11:40
Seems to me if Clement does not come back against the Swans, we are seriously in need of some size in defence...
What price Mick throwing Nathan Brown in at the deep end?

Tarkyn_24
12 Jun 2007, 11:41

Bye bye, Wakelin, Iles, Cox, Stanley..

Munger
12 Jun 2007, 12:33
Goldsack played his best game and has been getting better by the week. No chance he will be dropped. A real player of the future there. Toovey on the other hand has a lot of deficiencies. He really needs to improve his strength. He gets pushed off the ball far to easy (he even had the ball stolen from his hands yesterday by Silvia). The fact that he kept falling over when on Robbo was done to look like he had a reason for the fact that he was easily being beaten one out. I think opposition coaches would have noticed this and you will see his opponent dragging him deep in their forward line more and more.

javo23
12 Jun 2007, 12:49
i am a melbourne and was one of the very few at the game yesterday ( haahahaha) the crowd is always amazing when the pies kick a goal love it.

On the goldsack kid he done some good things will be a player.
on stanley give the kid a break played on an explosive forward in robbo early, hard for a 1st gamer was he?

toovey needs to remeber that if it is a bit soft wear the long stops in the last quater on robbo he fell over 4 times in which 2 of them resulted in robertson goals.

the problem for u guys was your lack of quality defenders , you cant blame injuries as we have had them to u have to make do with what u have got,. it is the coaching staff fault goin in with 20 fit men and rocca and shaw under clouds.

Kirk Hinrich #12
12 Jun 2007, 12:54
In: Cox, Goldsack, Clarke
Out: Harry, Licuria, Medhurst

Hadders
12 Jun 2007, 12:59
In: Cox, Goldsack, Clarke
Out: Harry, Licuria, Medhurst

Licuria didn't play and Goldsack did. Hey can they come in and out respectively?:confused:

daics cousin
12 Jun 2007, 13:14
Guys forget presti and Clement and Rhyce Shaw.
All three will be out for another 4 weeks at least.Harry gone for season.
Ins this week against the Swans possibly licca,lonie,matt clarke and shannon cox.
Out's- toovey,goldsac,stanley,and ????? (can't make up my mind yet)

TheClokes
12 Jun 2007, 13:14
Little fix up. Left out Maxwell.

B: Stanley - Wakelin - Goldsack
HB: H.Shaw - Maxwell - Cox

4#Didak#4
12 Jun 2007, 14:00
I don't get all this bagging of Goldsack. I think he is going to be OK for us. He has a fair bit of pace about him. Did a great job on Davey.

Cox should come in he may be a good match up for Mick O'L.
Toovey should be given a job on Ryan O'K. Think he matches up well here also.

Max & Wakes will have to take Baz Hall. Gotta have Wakes in for that option. The worry is finding match ups for those little turds like schneider and buchanan.

Does anyone find Bryan frustrating? Has a go but doesnt make good decisions. Or is this just me holding grudges against ex-carlton players.

Danny_CFC
12 Jun 2007, 15:51
Heath shaw should take O Keefe.

twaters
12 Jun 2007, 16:05
HShaw (Buchanan et al) - Wakelin (Hall) - Goldsack (Davis/O'L)
Maxwell (Bolton/Hall) - Cox (O'L/Davis) - Toovey* (O'Keefe)
Lockyer - Holland/Licuria ** (whoever's fit to negate Kirk) - Johnson
Didak - Cloke (reserve for FB/CHB) - Thomas
Medhurst *** - Rocca - Davis
Fraser - Pendles - OBree
Interchange - Bryan****, Burns, Swan, Lonie* (if fit enough)
Emerg from Reid, Stanley, Iles, Licuria, Clarke

* = Toovey is stuffed frm his tall run-with roles and Lonie will only have another week to get some fitness, but after the week's break together they may each offer HBF possibilities on the quick, nuggety O'Keefe with some time alternating running with Goodes. Not sure who else we have to run with Goodes. Not sure if Iles, Stanley or Clarke offer either HBF on O'Keefe matchup, or BP on Buchanan etc or run-with on Goodes; so a Toovey/Lonie share may do better if they both recover during the rest fortnight.
** = not sure we can carry both Holland and Licuria at this stage, but some one of them has got to negate their great negator in Kirk in the centre
*** = not the world's best traveller and performer away from home; depending on weather, Reid may just offer enough mismatches in our favour, and may give forward insurance if Cloke needs to go back to mind Hall or O'L.
**** = Bryan or Richards for this game against Spider and Jollies who are both good taps (therefore Richards?) but Spider looks a tad less physical of late (therefore Bryan?). Perhaps there are too many other changes already.

Out : OBrien (inj), Stanley, [poss Medhurst?]
In: Cox, Lonie [poss Reid?]

Re debutants: suspect Stanley, Iles, Clarke, even Davies will stand a better chance of a BP or HBF once the central defence is restored; once Lonie is fully fit, Toovey will probably explore his run-with role back at Willy and recover from 10 or so AFL games; Goldsack and Cox will gain firsts experience until Clem and Presti reappear, and will joust with Anthony for back posts next year (though Goldie may also become a mid or run-with at Willi, and Cox has some forward pretentions to possibly develop); Brown is probably one defensive injury away from fronting the firsts, but hopefully won't need to yet; Wellingham is not yet running out a full game at Willi, isn't quite the possie we need in firsts yet, but is the tantalising promise of things to come; Big Reidy is on the cusp in this injury spell; I hope Nicholls gets one more shot; and Brad Dick deserves to be at Willi - too light - too this, that and the other - but team igniters and unifiers are very rare - if we make the finals suspect he'd be hard to leave out simply on the team-lifting and confidence factor, so hope he has a couple of more dips into the CFC team before then.

Coin_Toss
12 Jun 2007, 17:25
Heath shaw should take O Keefe.

Yeah, he is our best defender at the moment so he needs to take their best small forward, but he plays the loose man role so well though. That's playing on Mick's mind, I'm sure.

If Cox impresses next week for Williamstown Mick would probably bring him up. The same goes for Lonie, Licuria and Clarke; they are all in the mix no doubt.

Palmer Stoat
12 Jun 2007, 17:45
In: Cox, R Shaw, Wellingham
Out: O'Brien, Toovey, Medhurst

*That's assuming JC and Presti aren't available. If Rhyce isn't available bring in Iles, as we don't want to be playing Swan in the back line if we can help it.

On Goldsack, I thought he was a mixture. Made some terrible attempts at spoiling and ran past the ball a couple of times. I'm not convinced that he's particularly great one-on-one at this point. That said, some of his work was very heartening, and I just don't understand people who were criticising his kicking. His kicking was pinpoint as far as I can see. In the short term we may have to play him back because of his height, but when we get some defenders back I'd like to see him given a go on a wing because his pace, height and kicking could make him an interesting proposition. Well worth playing IMO.

Tarkyn_24
12 Jun 2007, 19:07
In: Cox, R Shaw, Wellingham
Out: O'Brien, Toovey, Medhurst

*That's assuming JC and Presti aren't available. If Rhyce isn't available bring in Iles, as we don't want to be playing Swan in the back line if we can help it.

On Goldsack, I thought he was a mixture. Made some terrible attempts at spoiling and ran past the ball a couple of times. I'm not convinced that he's particularly great one-on-one at this point. That said, some of his work was very heartening, and I just don't understand people who were criticising his kicking. His kicking was pinpoint as far as I can see. In the short term we may have to play him back because of his height, but when we get some defenders back I'd like to see him given a go on a wing because his pace, height and kicking could make him an interesting proposition. Well worth playing IMO.
Great post:thumbsu:

Very good insight.

AsianWithAFro
12 Jun 2007, 19:29
In: Lonie, Cox Or Rhyce Shaw if ready

Out: Harry O (injured), Toovey