View Full Version : Hypothetical - If Pav went to the Eagles, what would you want in return?
DavoMuir'sShirtfront
11 Jun 2007, 20:56
Please leave all drug/crim jokes at the cafe strip, thanks.
Reveler
11 Jun 2007, 21:00
Judd or Kerr + your first pick.
ImperialPurple
11 Jun 2007, 21:01
To poke my eyeballs out with a rusty screwdriver....
http://www.unity.i8i.co.uk/forum/images/smiley_vomit.gif
A gun with which to shoot myself, or exactly what Chad Fletcher had in the hope I could go one step further than he did. The day I keep the drug/crim jokes to myself will be the same day you lot keep off our board.
Considering past debacles all the way up to Schofield I hope we never do another deal with West Coast again.
Reveler
11 Jun 2007, 21:04
http://www.unity.i8i.co.uk/forum/images/smiley_vomit.gif
haha :D
dockshark
11 Jun 2007, 21:10
lynch straight swap........hahahahahahahaha
sod off to you're own board
DavoMuir'sShirtfront
11 Jun 2007, 21:22
lynch straight swap........hahahahahahahaha
sod off to you're own board
Location = Adelaide. All the best :thumbsu:
theGav56
11 Jun 2007, 22:05
Sounds like Judd must have some serious career threatening injury that the WC's aren't telling anyone about.
Yello Mit
11 Jun 2007, 22:42
Judd.
Noone else.
ImperialPurple
11 Jun 2007, 22:45
Yep, what he said.
IP I mean.
I'm a "she". :)
sorry, typical sexist presumption that someone obsessed enough with footy and the dockers to hang out in a place for tragics like this must be a bloke :)
Seriously I'd rather have Kerr than Judd. East Freo boy, hard as nails, plays like his life depends on it. Should be playing for us anyway.
PAVnTAZ
11 Jun 2007, 22:59
Fair call I think Kerr would more likely stay but I think we'd require their first and second picks as well. Kerr is a midfielder whereas Pav is dominant forward competant backman and good midfielder all rolled into 1.
Judd is on the move whether it be next year or in 2-3 years.
Kapow!!!
11 Jun 2007, 23:04
I'm a "she". :)
And what a she!
Pav going to the Eagles? We'd probably want Olympic quality high jump mats placed under ever Freo member's house and every office building in Perth for the numerous 'jumpers'.
In all seriousness - Kerr + 1st rounder would almost be adequate...ish
Captain Pump
12 Jun 2007, 00:51
And what a she!
Pav going to the Eagles? We'd probably want Olympic quality high jump mats placed under ever Freo member's house and every office building in Perth for the numerous 'jumpers'.
In all seriousness - Kerr + 1st rounder would almost be adequate...ish
As much as this is one of the most dogmeat threads ever, I'd take Kerr and Mitch Brown.
Wouldn't a more pertinent question be:
If Juddy wanted to come to us how much would we pay??
pistol17
12 Jun 2007, 01:18
Location = Adelaide. All the best :thumbsu:
Davo mate - Give yourself an upper cut... No wonder you have a red card
dominguez
12 Jun 2007, 02:43
Rowan Jones and Josh Wooden, Pav's a dud.
estibador
12 Jun 2007, 04:17
Judd
Those two posts just about sum up my feelings. I'd also insist west coast delist Chick as a goodwill gesture.
sorry, typical sexist presumption that someone obsessed enough with footy and the dockers to hang out in a place for tragics like this must be a bloke
Do a search for "Pav's + bum" and you'll probably come up with about 300 posts by IP. :)
Black Ball
12 Jun 2007, 09:46
I can just imagine how much greater player he would be in side like West Coast.
Topdock65
12 Jun 2007, 10:20
Well it would have to be a straight swap for the huge bloke of a man, The tough and rough Ashley Hansen (The Cheesecake)...
In a superstar team like the WCE with the star studded Midfield for his personal best goal return of 4 goals would be a bonus for us.
Hansen- The Best CHF in the league.:D
Do a search for "Pav's + bum" and you'll probably come up with about 300 posts by IP. :)
Only 300??:eek:
Methinks you underestimate IP's keen interest in certain parts of Pavs anatomy.:thumbsu::p
Docker_Brat
12 Jun 2007, 11:07
Judd, Kerr, Embley, Hanson and a couple of kilos of your finest Columbian.
ImperialPurple
12 Jun 2007, 11:30
Do a search for "Pav's + bum" and you'll probably come up with about 300 posts by IP.
Only 300??:eek:
Methinks you underestimate IP's keen interest in certain parts of Pavs anatomy.;)
:eek:
http://www.abc.net.au/reslib/200507/r52833_142271.jpg
:thumbsu: ;) :)
Kerr, Buttler and (Staker or Embley)!
Lightening McQueen
12 Jun 2007, 13:09
To late he is going to the Dogs. Ha ha
Pav + 2nd round pick = Kerr + Fletcher + 1st round pick
So glad Adelaide and Port are doing okay this year. could you imagine how worried we'd all be if they were bottom of the ladder with first pick in the draft this year?
Feel sorry for WC. Judd grew up supporting Melbourne and Richmond are renowned for stealing players for nothing.
Wouldnt be surprised if Wallace was throwing 'winnable' games this year so that next year he has Judd and will almost be guaranteed a finals berth. Beats coming 9th again in the last two years of his contract. He's a sneaky bastard that Wallet.
e10pizza
12 Jun 2007, 15:44
Pav for Kerr and Woosha
Yeah Worsfold can run water and stand behind goals during goal scoring practice. you're a genius.
Dr Ralph Dagg
12 Jun 2007, 18:34
Pav + 2nd round pick = Kerr + Fletcher + 1st round pick
You owe me the latte I just spluttered all over the screen. Fletcher the Felcher; Dead Man Walking. Not even my most ardent Eagles supporting mates rate Fletcher any more. Beside's he's another short-legged, fat bottomed midfielder.
I would want Judd. No one else comes close. Pav is a 70+ goal a year forward in his prime. They win games. Midfielders rarely win games. Judd has been playing in the best midfield going around and that makes him look better than he is.
Anyone else is too high risk. Kerr and Cousins?? High risk?? Everyone else is too injury prone.
You owe me the latte I just spluttered all over the screen. Fletcher the Felcher; Dead Man Walking. Not even my most ardent Eagles supporting mates rate Fletcher any more. Beside's he's another short-legged, fat bottomed midfielder.
I would want Judd. No one else comes close. Pav is a 70+ goal a year forward in his prime. They win games. Midfielders rarely win games. Judd has been playing in the best midfield going around and that makes him look better than he is.
Anyone else is too high risk. Kerr and Cousins?? High risk?? Everyone else is too injury prone.
I just laughed my arse off again!!
...and I think you mean another short-legged, fat bottomed midfielder with shit disposal!! :thumbsu:
NiGHTFuRY
13 Jun 2007, 04:29
WOULD NEVER HAPPEN
but to entertain the question I would like
Darren Glass ( we could use a true fullback due to Haddrill being so injury prone) + Mitchell Brown + a couple of first round picks PLUS
Lynchie... so the Purple Horde can throw pennies at him so he will say "Nooooot Annnymoooooooooreeeee" for us over and over again for amusement:p.
Fletcher is a set of steak knives. Kerr and 1st round pick is almost enough, but not quite. Fletcher would be a handy depth player and with Hasleby's fitness and the length of Bell's tenure being clouded issues, having another short midfield of Fletcher's genre doesn't seem such a bad idea.
With Judd heading home and Cousins future in doubt at WC, the slime would be relying on Rowan Jones to run the midfield.
Tundrawolf
13 Jun 2007, 14:16
Totally agree Ralphy!!
No one else on the WCE list appeals.
Kerr - way too risky, we would be better off trying to get someone like Jetta to the club, similar size and speed and would come much cheaper.
Dr Ralph Dagg
13 Jun 2007, 22:38
Fletcher is a set of steak knives. Kerr and 1st round pick is almost enough, but not quite. Fletcher would be a handy depth player...
Depth, depth?? Its almost not funny to say that he almost sunk to the depths ... of six feet under.
Anyhoo... shall I PM my bank account details for the money for the latte. It was a Grande and all. :D
Brettox
14 Jun 2007, 16:40
Two East Freo boys will do fine. Cousins and Kerr. This is completely disregarding their off field prowesses.
Fair trade for all. Bye Pav
estibador
14 Jun 2007, 16:44
Two East Freo boys will do fine. Cousins and Kerr. This is completely disregarding their off field prowesses.
Fair trade for all. Bye Pav
Fair trade for all indeed.
Except Freo of course. And Pav.
whattagun07
14 Jun 2007, 17:16
send PAVLICH to the crows.
we'll give you IAN PERRIE!!!!!!
Scotland
14 Jun 2007, 17:52
Interestingly enough, Freo could have had Pavlich and Judd in their team, had they opted to utilise the 1st pick in the 2001 draft. Scary prospect really, thanks for going the Croad route though, without that, FFCV's little flash movie might never have come into existence...:)
Judd is arguably the best player in the AFL. As such no player for player trade would see the Eagles not lose on the deal (on simplistic balance of quality, not looking at where our strengths/weakness in particular positions are), even if you consider Pav as #2 on the best players list. If any Freo fans want to come up with a deal to get Judd, fire away.
Chances are, for any trade you put together as a fan and think 'yep, that's a fair deal' without any hesitation is in fact horribly unfair on the other club. Where your immediate reaction is one of apprehension and 'ooh, are we really going to be better off with what we get in our team given what we are losing?' it's probably a 'fair' deal for both sides concerned. Any trade where we get Pav and Freo get 3 or 4 good/average players would be laughed at by Freo. 3 Rosa/Fletcher's don't equal a Pav.
If Pavlich wanted to come to West Coast (I guess it's an interesting subject even if pointless), I would offer any player on the list bar Judd in a straight swap. Freo wouldn't take that, as Pav is too valuable. IMO West Coast would be a better team on balance with Judd in the midfield and Hansen at CHF than no Judd and Pavlich at CHF, despite having midfield depth.
Other than Judd (and Freo have Sandi so ignoring Cox) Kerr and Glass probably have the most currency with Freo, so I would be willing to offer either of those two players, plus one of a young KPP type (to replace on the list losing a CHF - Brown/Mackenzie/Staker/Hansen) plus our first round draft pick. Even then I don't think Freo would take that. Kerr and Glass I would not be prepared to offer, as I don't think we would be a better side with Pav but without those two players. Anyone think Freo would accept that trade anyway?
Stronzo
14 Jun 2007, 18:22
I think Kerr, Hurn and a first round pick would do it.
Glass would be handy, but not really what we need.
I'm a "she". :)Geez, IP, if he hasn't picked that, he hasn't read your attention to detail..... :lol:
For Pav? We'd want a coach, and a football department.
dominguez
15 Jun 2007, 03:34
Interestingly enough, Freo could have had Pavlich and Judd in their team, had they opted to utilise the 1st pick in the 2001 draft. Scary prospect really, thanks for going the Croad route though, without that, FFCV's little flash movie might never have come into existence...:)
We were committed to Polak with pick one in 2001, so in a way it is good that we traded for Croad.
estibador
15 Jun 2007, 04:11
We were committed to Polak with pick one in 2001, so in a way it is good that we traded for Croad.
Damn straight, otherwise we probably would've ended up with Polak and Sampi. What a great use of two top 4 picks that would've been.
In hindsight we were very lucky to get McPharlin instead.
Scotland
15 Jun 2007, 14:51
Really?
I was always under the impression we were comitted to taking Polak at #3, and were shocked that Judd didn't go at #1 or #2 and hence took him instead.
I would have loved to see how Polak would have gone as a player under Worsfold at WC instead of Connolly at Freo, but I'm pretty happy with what we got, even if Sampi has a gone long way downhill. I guess in you eventually ended up with Mcpharlin, Tarrant and Ryley Dunn from your 2 early picks (+ Medhurst and another pick), which isn't that bad.
chook2734
15 Jun 2007, 21:27
Really?
I was always under the impression we were comitted to taking Polak at #3, and were shocked that Judd didn't go at #1 or #2 and hence took him instead.
I would have loved to see how Polak would have gone as a player under Worsfold at WC instead of Connolly at Freo, but I'm pretty happy with what we got, even if Sampi has a gone long way downhill. I guess in you eventually ended up with Mcpharlin, Tarrant and Ryley Dunn from your 2 early picks (+ Medhurst and another pick), which isn't that bad.
Nothing irritates me more than people who have this idea that Worsfold is somehow the answer to every problem player ever and that Connolly can't get anything out of any of his players.
Can you explain to me the situations of Cousins and Gardiner - both banished from the club. Or maybe Sampi - banished from the club on numerous occasions. Or what about that number 5 pick in McDougall - Woosha certainly got the best out of him. I won't bother going into all the other players who think any behaviour is acceptable so long as they play well (all during Woosha's reign too).
It appears to me that Woosha's answer for when things get a bit hard is to simply give up and let someone else sort it out. Take a look at Connolly's support for a player like Farmer and tell me he doesn't do the best for his players.
Rosa, McKenzie and a top 5 draft pick.
They would jump at that option. You undersell Pavlich a lot.
Re: Hypothetical - If Pav went to the Eagles, what would you want in return?
You have got to be kidding.
Reveler
16 Jun 2007, 13:21
http://www.futureofthebook.org/mitchellstephens/archives/Jesus.jpg
Fair trade I think.
ImperialPurple
16 Jun 2007, 13:32
ROLFMAO!! :D:D:D
Noice one Rev!! ;)
They would jump at that option. You undersell Pavlich a lot.
I don't think so. Its effectively 3 first round picks IMO, 1 of which is top 5.
I'd be interested in looking back at this in a few years and seeing how Rosa, McKenzie and say pick 5 in this years draft are going.
estibador
16 Jun 2007, 14:57
Are you the same guy that was in charge of our trading in the Neesham years?
That would be like us offering Dunn, Mourish and a pick for Judd.
I don't think so. Its effectively 3 first round picks IMO, 1 of which is top 5.
I'd be interested in looking back at this in a few years and seeing how Rosa, McKenzie and say pick 5 in this years draft are going.
McKenzie is a late 2nd round pick. So was Rosa.
Rosa is playing above his pick. But seriously what has McKenzie done?
If we rate Pavlich at the same or close to Judd. Which as Fremantle supporters we probably do.
Do you think the Eagles would accept: Pick 5 + Adam Campbell + Byron Schammer for Chris Judd
McKenzie is a late 2nd round pick. So was Rosa.
Rosa is playing above his pick. But seriously what has McKenzie done?
If we rate Pavlich at the same or close to Judd. Which as Fremantle supporters we probably do.
Do you think the Eagles would accept: Pick 5 + Adam Campbell + Byron Schammer for Chris Judd
Rosa has developed and will continue to do so. If the Eagles traded him this year they would get a first round pick easily.
McKenzie hasn't done anything yet, he was drafted last year and was highly rated. Collard hasn't done anything yet, but that doesn't mean he won't become a good or great player. Would you let Collard go for a late second round pick in this years draft?
I personally don't rate Pav as high as Judd, and only completely blind, one eyed Docker supporters would. Judd is in a league of his own in the comp atm - so I see comparisons to him in regards to a Pav trade as stupid. Kerr would be a better comparison.
Are you the same guy that was in charge of our trading in the Neesham years?
That would be like us offering Dunn, Mourish and a pick for Judd.
That's just plain stupid Esti. You normally make more sense than that.
For starters, Pav is not in Judd's league, Dunn has played what 5 games for us in 4 and a half seasons? Rosa has played 20 odd in 2 and a half years in the best team going around. He's much better than Dunn and still getting better and just what we lack.
Mourish is a smokey and could be anything but on exposed form so far in their lives, McKenzie is a country mile better than Mourish and is KPP/ruck size.
estibador
16 Jun 2007, 15:57
That's just plain stupid Esti. You normally make more sense than that.
For starters, Pav is not in Judd's league, Dunn has played what 5 games for us in 4 and a half seasons? Rosa has played 20 odd in 2 and a half years in the best team going around. He's much better than Dunn and still getting better and just what we lack.
Mourish is a smokey and could be anything but on exposed form so far in their lives, McKenzie is a country mile better than Mourish and is KPP/ruck size.
I must admit I was exaggerating for effect. I was going to write Murphy, Drum and a pick but that seemed a little generous to west coast. To be honest though I haven't seen much of McKenzie so I don't know where he stands in relation to our young players.
I think Pav is one of the few players in Judd's league though. In fact in terms of importance to their respective sides I'd say Pav is even more valuable than Judd and I'd want more than two unproven players and a draft pick. A player of the calibre of Kerr + picks would have to be offered for me to even consider any trade.
Scotland
16 Jun 2007, 18:07
Nothing irritates me more than people who have this idea that Worsfold is somehow the answer to every problem player ever and that Connolly can't get anything out of any of his players.
Can you explain to me the situations of Cousins and Gardiner - both banished from the club. Or maybe Sampi - banished from the club on numerous occasions. Or what about that number 5 pick in McDougall - Woosha certainly got the best out of him. I won't bother going into all the other players who think any behaviour is acceptable so long as they play well (all during Woosha's reign too)
Every player ever? Right. I never suggested Worsfold would have turned Polak into an altar boy, I merely stated that I would have loved to have seen how Polak might have gone as a player under Worsfold at West Coast.
Off-field issues aside (and it's not as though Freo players don't get into their fair share of trouble), IMO Worsfold's record in getting the most out of his players and is superior to Connolly's. You might disagree, that is you prerogative.
chook2734
16 Jun 2007, 22:01
Every player ever? Right. I never suggested Worsfold would have turned Polak into an altar boy, I merely stated that I would have loved to have seen how Polak might have gone as a player under Worsfold at West Coast.
Off-field issues aside (and it's not as though Freo players don't get into their fair share of trouble), IMO Worsfold's record in getting the most out of his players and is superior to Connolly's. You might disagree, that is you prerogative.
That has been Polak's biggest problem though - his off-field dramas. Do you think it's not a problem that Cousins' off-field issues have forced him out of football? That they have casued your club enormous grief? I reckon West Coast would have been the worst possible place for Polak given the culture that would appear to exist there and his rumoured activities.
jorel6669
17 Jun 2007, 00:25
A gun with which to shoot myself, or exactly what Chad Fletcher had in the hope I could go one step further than he did. The day I keep the drug/crim jokes to myself will be the same day you lot keep off our board.
Considering past debacles all the way up to Schofield I hope we never do another deal with West Coast again.
While Schofield is a former West Coast player, Fremantle actually got him after he played with Port (and won a flag).
Pretty sure west Coast had nothing to do with that deal.
Black JuJu
17 Jun 2007, 01:47
That has been Polak's biggest problem though - his off-field dramas.
I don't want to start a riot, but I'd say Polak's biggest problem at Freo was a combination of injuries and the fact that he never really got a clear shot at playing CHB and Connolly even wasted time playing him up forward. He didn't make it at Freo because you already had McPharlin, Grover, Johnson and Parker playing footy in your defense. No room for Graham.
dominguez
17 Jun 2007, 05:44
I don't want to start a riot, but I'd say Polak's biggest problem at Freo was a combination of injuries and the fact that he never really got a clear shot at playing CHB and Connolly even wasted time playing him up forward. He didn't make it at Freo because you already had McPharlin, Grover, Johnson and Parker playing footy in your defense. No room for Graham.
He got plenty of chances at CHB. He fell out with Connolly after Croad was traded, then demanded to be played in attack. When he struggled in the forward line he blamed the club for his poor form, and dedicated more time to off field pursuits.
In 2003 he was miles ahead of Grover, on par with McPharlin, and Johnson and Mundy weren't on our list.
Polak's a loser, and anyone who didn't boo him last week is soft.
Black JuJu
17 Jun 2007, 07:18
It sure is amazing how such a definitive picture of Polak has come out now that he has left the club...
He was never any good anyway right?..
dominguez
17 Jun 2007, 18:43
It sure is amazing how such a definitive picture of Polak has come out now that he has left the club...
He was never any good anyway right?..
He was good before and he's good now. He just couldn't be bothered applying himself in his last couple of years at Freo. And there were plenty of posts criticisng him while he was still here, it's not as if it has just started since he left.