View Full Version : Mission Impossible: How to beat Brisbane...
The simplest way would be to place some land mines around their fifty metre line, and pray to god we win the toss.
Seriously though, I've wasted some time looking at their performances in recent weeks, and their only seem to be two things which look like vulnerabilities.
What Might Work:
Ok, item #1 Brisbane's greatest strength is of course their awe inspiring midfield, with five star calibre players deserving of tags. There is no way we, even assuming Fletcher etc were playing to their full potential that we could negate their influence. The two teams which got closest to brisbane this year, sydney and the bulldogs, both kicked some early running goals from the midfield- this gets Lappin, Black, Voss etc concentrating on playing their men, which tends to slow down the midfield battle and give their opponents at least a chance of getting on top of them. Thus, if we can get some early goals from Cousins, Judd, Wirrpunda etc on the run, we might be able to negate their influence in the midfield long enough to get somewhere.
Secondly, the Ruck. this is the only department where Brisbane look at all dodgy on paper. If we had Gardiner, Cox, and Siera in the team, we really could dominate them here, which gives our midfielders a much needed leg up.
Thirdly, Ackermanis *must* be tagged. In his present form, he is lethal in the midfield and usually good for two or three goals.. if he is sent forward our small defender woes put us in serious trouble- I'd like to see Rowan Jones get the job on Acka.
What Won't Work- a straight out shoot out, forward line vs forward line. Currently, we actually have one of the most potent forward lines (indeed, statistically *the* most potent forward line)
in the competition. However, if we try and rely on this, we will get murdered, simply because the quality and quantity of ball delivered to their forward line will far outweigh ours. Again, we need our midfielders to run forward and kick deep on goal to give our forwards a leg up.
Well thats all i can think of, if any other geniuses want to enlighten us, i'm waiting to hear from them :) :)
I think at the start of the game a shootout is what is needed. Let Cousins, Fletcher, Kerr, Judd, Wirrpunda go head to head with the Brisbane midfield and see if we cant match them or kick some early goals. If they get on top then quickly move Fletcher, Jones and Banfield into tagging roles to try to negate there influence.
Gardiner needs to ruck all day and give us an advantage at stop plays. If we want to beat Brisbane we at least need first use of the ball. But if we dont get first use we need numbers at the contest. I dont care how good Aka, Voss, Lappin are if we have more numbers at each contest we will win out.
We also need to be direct, no more safe plays down the wings. We need to go straight down the middle and move the ball quickly. Brisbanes backline is very good and Leppitch, Micheal, Pike etc will carve up our forwards if we dont move it into the forward line quickly.
Just some of my thoughts...
Methuselah
23 Apr 2002, 07:08
I have watched a couple of Brisbane games - not much else on here in qld.
Some observations.
Centre breaks: they win most of the centre breaks, even if their ruckmen do not win the tap, but when the other side moves the ball out of the centre quickly they have a chance -we need to play 2 ruckmen this week.
Midfield flooding: when the ball is in their forward 50 they flood the midfield really well so a kick out of defence will likely go to a contest or a lions unmarked player...they and Essendon do this better than anyone else - therefore the ball must be run out of defence with handpasses to at least the halfback line then a long accurate kick over the heads of the midfield "wall". I would play both Matera and Wirrpunda back in defence this week to do just that.
Marking power: Lynch and Bradshaw are both powerful and clever players and a take a lot of contested marks from long bombs from half forward into the goal square - we need to play Gaspar at full back because of his height, with Wirrpunda and Matera alongide him to pick up the crumbs
CHF: They usually bypass this area, or their CHF moves well up the ground and is near the wings when he kicks or handpasses to a midfielder who bombs from the half forward line.
Their defence: is beatable if the ball is moved in quickly, so it must be quick accurate passing. Across half forward I would play Siera at CHF, he must be worth a go by now, with Embley and Judd alongside him.
Fowards would be Wilson and two crumbers.
Voice of Reason
23 Apr 2002, 11:52
Originally posted by Methuselah
I have watched a couple of Brisbane games - not much else on here in qld.
Some observations.
Centre breaks: they win most of the centre breaks, even if their ruckmen do not win the tap, but when the other side moves the ball out of the centre quickly they have a chance -we need to play 2 ruckmen this week.
Midfield flooding: when the ball is in their forward 50 they flood the midfield really well so a kick out of defence will likely go to a contest or a lions unmarked player...they and Essendon do this better than anyone else - therefore the ball must be run out of defence with handpasses to at least the halfback line then a long accurate kick over the heads of the midfield "wall". I would play both Matera and Wirrpunda back in defence this week to do just that.
Marking power: Lynch and Bradshaw are both powerful and clever players and a take a lot of contested marks from long bombs from half forward into the goal square - we need to play Gaspar at full back because of his height, with Wirrpunda and Matera alongide him to pick up the crumbs
CHF: They usually bypass this area, or their CHF moves well up the ground and is near the wings when he kicks or handpasses to a midfielder who bombs from the half forward line.
Their defence: is beatable if the ball is moved in quickly, so it must be quick accurate passing. Across half forward I would play Siera at CHF, he must be worth a go by now, with Embley and Judd alongside him.
Fowards would be Wilson and two crumbers.
All excellent points from our spy in Queensland.
One thing I would add - Gardiner must concentrate on accurate taps to our midfield - it won't be good enough just to hit the ball anywhere this week because their midfield will just lap it up.
daddy_4_eyes
23 Apr 2002, 12:08
What we need is gale force winds to take the skill advantage away from the Brisbane midfield. (Rain wouldn't help as they have good in-and-under players, we don't).
Since we can't control the weather, I think we need to chuck a tall into midfield to act as a target. If we could have Embley running down the wings it would make it harder for Brisbane to kick long. Along with Gardiner and Judd, they could pose a formidable marking wall in midfield.
cjwalkley
23 Apr 2002, 14:46
As a Lions fan, I think this game is the danger game for us for a number of reasons.
1) Big game vs Essendon, then travel to Melb, then travel to Perth can take the edge off the performance.
2) The Weagles have added grit and spine to their performances thus far this year, also the reason the Lions will not be overconfident.
3)Weagles have to rebound after the Melbourne game.
It looks like you guys will miss McIntosh and Matera, we should get back Power, Brown and Keating, with Lynch a chance to miss. I don't agree that you need 3 ruckmen, it will just make you top heavy, but I'd bring Sierra or Cox in to allow Gardiner to play at CHF as you need to give Leppitsch someone tall to mind. Michael is probably the best full back thus far this year and his tussle with Wilson will be important. Losing Matera hurts as it will allow Johnson to play on an inferior small forward and he sets up a lot of the Lions play. At the other end Jakovich will have to take Lynch (if he plays) as no one else is strong enough, and Gaspar or Glass will get Bradshaw. That leaves Brown who needs someone strong and agile, which will be a hassle. Wirrpunda should be used as a loose player in defence, helping congest the midfield and creating the play ala Bluey mcKenna. The Lions midfield should overcome the Weagles after a fairly tough early struggle, it's a bit much to expect Kerr and Judd to back up each week, however Cousins is sensational and peter matera is still very dangerous. I think you'll find most Lions fans are very wary of this clash and would take the 4 pts anyway we could get it. I think we will run over the top in the 3rd or 4th quarters for a 23pt win.
Originally posted by cjwalkley
As a Lions fan, I think this game is the danger game for us for a number of reasons.
1) Big game vs Essendon, then travel to Melb, then travel to Perth can take the edge off the performance.
2) The Weagles have added grit and spine to their performances thus far this year, also the reason the Lions will not be overconfident.
It looks like you guys will miss McIntosh and Matera, we should get back Power, Brown and Keating, with Lynch a chance to miss. I don't agree that you need 3 ruckmen, it will just make you top heavy, but I'd bring Sierra or Cox in to allow Gardiner to play at CHF as you need to give Leppitsch someone tall to mind. Michael is probably the best full back thus far this year and his tussle with Wilson will be important. Losing Matera hurts as it will allow Johnson to play on an inferior small forward and he sets up a lot of the Lions play. At the other end Jakovich will have to take Lynch (if he plays) as no one else is strong enough, and Gaspar or Glass will get Bradshaw. That leaves Brown who needs someone strong and agile, which will be a hassle. Wirrpunda should be used as a loose player in defence, helping congest the midfield and creating the play ala Bluey mcKenna. The Lions midfield should overcome the Weagles after a fairly tough early struggle, it's a bit much to expect Kerr and Judd to back up each week, however Cousins is sensational and peter matera is still very dangerous. I think you'll find most Lions fans are very wary of this clash and would take the 4 pts anyway we could get it. I think we will run over the top in the 3rd or 4th quarters for a 23pt win.
Well its good to know that Brisbane fans arent just expecting to come in and thrash us. If anything the early part of the season has at least made other clubs respect us unlike last year.
I for one am hoping Lynch doesnt play. Lynch, Bradshaw and Brown could be a bit much for our defence to handle so if Lynch was to miss the game that would certainly help our chances. McIntosh is out so that would leave Jako and Glass on Lynch and Bradshaw and then we would probably have to bring back Gaspar from up forward to mind Brown. If Lynch doesnt play then Jako and Glass could cover Bradshaw and Brown and we could leave Gaspar up forward. This would be very good because Gaspar has been pretty good for us up forward and we need him up there in the absence of Fido.
Good post, but don't under-rate Sampi. On his day he can be a match winner.
Deepthroat
24 Apr 2002, 13:54
I think the key to winning this game is the use of our small/medium types. Cuz, Wiirpunda, Kerr, Fletcher, Braun, Jones, Matera, Williams, Taylor, Banfield, Judd, Embley, Collica, Chambers all need to put in one of their hardest working games of the year.
They need to be prepared to run the legs off their opponents, and push that 20% extra to get numbers to the contests to hold up the speed of travel when Brisbane gets the ball, they also need to ensure sufficiently players get back to plug the gaps in defence and help out Jacko and Glass. When the WCE have it they need to use their bodies to protect the carrier and use talk and an improved level of skill to ensure the ball is moved quickly and accurately to the best option up forward.
Gardiner needs to float back between the FB and CHB position to Help Jacko and Glass bring the ball to ground.
The forward line needs to be kept wide open to enable Wilson to get on the lead. Sampi (if he gets a run) also seems to have good hands and can use the space well too. Gaspar will be the wild card across half forward and if he can fire then this could just be the bonus we need to get over the line.
It will be a hard win, but I think any team who works harder than their opponents will always have the better chance.
kuepper
24 Apr 2002, 14:17
Originally posted by Frodo
That's right, how many AFL games has he played and won off his own boot again?
Actually, how many AFL games has he played?
And you laugh at Sabre for being over the top - btw, hows Haynes push for AA selecetion this year travelling?
cjwalkley
24 Apr 2002, 14:17
Has Sampi played an AFL game yet? Very premature to call him a matchwinner.
TheRealBuzz
24 Apr 2002, 14:27
I doubt Sampi will even get a game.
He's still pretty raw, and his WAFL form has been nothing to write home about.
I'd prefer Wirra/Roo/Judd to all be raotated through there at different times.
And perhaps Merenda to come back into the side, but only if he's 100%.
Deepthroat
24 Apr 2002, 14:34
I saw Sampi in the WCE v Essendon practice game and was quite encouraged by what I saw.
I was with an Essendon supporting mate who gives me very little credit (justifyably in the last few years) as to the talent on our list and he was even moved to exclaim "Who's that?".
I think Ashley would slot in nicely, he seems to have a similar roving style to Phil, has a very good work ethic in chasing down like Phil (something Merenda could be better at) and has the bonus that he CAN leap and take an over heard mark more than 25% of the time (something Phil could improve).
On the day in question I think he may have been pitted against Mark Johnson although I am not 100% sure and he kicked 2 goals in about a half a game.
I would play him.
Thrawn666
24 Apr 2002, 15:08
I think it would be ideal to slot Sampi straight in where Phil went out for the next two games. A decent amount of exposure at the top level against top sides can only do his game good in the long run. With Phil out for two and Merenda looking a bit dodgy injury wise, he would have to be the forerunner for the creative small forward crumbing type role. I liked what I saw of him in preseason and it will be an excellent opportunity for him to learn and develop even if only for the duration of Phil's suspension.
Pessimistic
24 Apr 2002, 15:13
Getting brisbane out to waverley would be a start.
Hope they have the goalkicking Yips like they do sometimes.
Match them for hardness and run.
Make No mistakes.
Hope like hell !
are there going to be any snipers sitting in the three tier stand?
i think our best chance would be to bog the game down. don't let brisbane play their natural game and tackle, tackle, tackle. easier said than done.
daddy_4_eyes
24 Apr 2002, 15:30
Originally posted by kuepper
And you laugh at Sabre for being over the top - btw, hows Haynes push for AA selecetion this year travelling?
Say what you want about Sampi, Frodo or anyone else, but leave our AA prospect alone! ;) (He's the Kingsley Hunter of the WCE :D ).
carneagles
24 Apr 2002, 16:12
Originally posted by noodle
are there going to be any snipers sitting in the three tier stand?There'll be a few in here if we lose.
Roylion
24 Apr 2002, 18:31
I know I'm apprehensive about this game. It's no certainity for the Lions.
Lynch is unlikely to make the trip and while Clark Keating and Beau McDonald may be playing, Keating in particular will be underdone. Brown will be back though.
McIntosh and Philip Matera's absences will be pluses for the Lions.
The midfield is likely to prove the main difference.
daddy_4_eyes
24 Apr 2002, 19:13
Will Voss play? I walked past the TV today and saw a glimpse of Voss followed by footage of him being stretchered off holding his knee. Didn't catch more than 5 secs of it, so was wondering if you could clear it up?
Originally posted by kuepper
That's right, how many AFL games has he played and won off his own boot again?
Actually, how many AFL games has he played?
Trolling again Kueps:rolleyes:
Did I mention AFL? Read it again. Yes, he has been a match winner at other levels and many of us believe he has the ability to do it at AFL level too.
And Haynes....yes he has the ability although I am concerned that he is not showing enough passion or commitment yet. There is also a confidence factor.......but that boy has soooooooo much talent.
cjwalkley
24 Apr 2002, 23:13
Originally posted by daddy_4_eyes
Will Voss play? I walked past the TV today and saw a glimpse of Voss followed by footage of him being stretchered off holding his knee. Didn't catch more than 5 secs of it, so was wondering if you could clear it up?
Vossy's fine, it would have been old footage. He cramped up last week due to severe gastro and the flight leaving him dehydrated, but back to 100% this week.
I think you'll find the changes to the Lions this week are:
IN: Power, Brown, Keating
OUT: Shattock, Lynch, McLaren
Quick question, how many weeks did McIntosh have out for his previous hamstring injury?
GoEagles
25 Apr 2002, 02:41
Quick question, how many weeks did McIntosh have out for his previous hamstring injury?
Obviously not long enough :D I think it was 2 games (Collingwood & Western Bulldogs) he missed.
So Lynch is definitely out....thats a plus!
BrainOfMorbius
25 Apr 2002, 12:55
Originally posted by jod23
So Lynch is definitely out....thats a plus! It is, but the three to come in are all more than handy up forward.
TheRealBuzz
25 Apr 2002, 13:05
Very true, Morbius.
And I reckon Luke Power (when fit) is the best small forward in the comp.
Just wondering, with the Eagles lack of talls, do you think Leppitsch will play forward?
BrainOfMorbius
25 Apr 2002, 13:39
Originally posted by TheRealBuzz
Very true, Morbius.
And I reckon Luke Power (when fit) is the best small forward in the comp.
Just wondering, with the Eagles lack of talls, do you think Leppitsch will play forward? He'll probably do the same job as he's done for the last few games - a roaming, marauding commission from centre-half back. He'll wander forward to try and run his opponent off his legs and and kick a couple of goals.
Losing Lynch doesn't really make a lot of difference to the Lions really, as almost everybody in the Lions side is capable of bobbing up and kicking goals, even defenders like Leppitsch, Johnson and Pike. And if Bradshaw doesn't work out, we can switch Leppa or Michael into full-forward. The adaptability of the Lions' playing staff is quite awesome.
BrisGirl
25 Apr 2002, 14:41
Notting and the Scott brothers a good for the odd goal along with Lappin.
Leigh is not frigtened to throw the boys around, who knows who will be where.
lioness
25 Apr 2002, 16:11
Lynch isn't going to be a huge loss, IMO. Yeah he's a great player and all, but we can cover his absence, especially with Power, Brown and Keating coming back into the side, all of whom are handy round the goals.
As I said on the Brissy board, I think we'll win but not by a huge margin.
daddy_4_eyes
25 Apr 2002, 18:52
Originally posted by lioness22
As I said on the Brissy board, I think we'll win but not by a huge margin.
I hope you're right, because personally i see us getting a 10 goal hiding.
Lynch may not be a big loss in terms of how many goals he contributes, but will his absence disrupt the forward line? That is, do Brissie players usually aim for him specifically when going forward?
Daryl White is out too? Why's that? It's good though.
Good to see Wooden and Green come into the side, Merenda and Cox are also good selections, pity Sampi couldnt get a run and a bit surprised that Braun was dropped before Banners.
Daryl White is out too? Why's that? It's good though.
Good to see Wooden and Green come into the side, Merenda and Cox are also good selections, pity Sampi couldnt get a run and a bit surprised that Braun was dropped before Banners.
This might sound a little unreasonable, and by no means do i mean to sound unfairly critical, but I have to admit i wonder if Woosha has a bit of a blind spot when it comes to the older guys in the team, having played with them? Frankly, on his form the last three games, Banners doesn't deserve to be playing, simple as that. I hope he proves me wrong and finds some form this saturday, but so far this season he has been a liability, plain and simple.
Thrawn666
26 Apr 2002, 00:52
Might be more behind the dropping of Braun from the squad, I saw footage on the news this wek of an intra-club match Worsfold held at training and Braun was visibly limping. He really needs to step up this year, else he could be considered trade bait IMO.
Originally posted by Mead
This might sound a little unreasonable, and by no means do i mean to sound unfairly critical, but I have to admit i wonder if Woosha has a bit of a blind spot when it comes to the older guys in the team, having played with them? Frankly, on his form the last three games, Banners doesn't deserve to be playing, simple as that. I hope he proves me wrong and finds some form this saturday, but so far this season he has been a liability, plain and simple.
Yeah but with Wooden and Green coming into the side...Banfield wont have to play out of position in a back pocket. Plus he is a very good tagger and has probably been spared just so he can do a run with job on someone.
It will be interesting. Green and Wooden for Braun and Fletcher. Two defensiveley strong players for two creative midfielders. Will we play an extra man or two in defence? Will Taylor and Banfield go to midfield and be given tagging roles. (good options IMO, Banners is not a defender). Taller marking options up front.......that will be interesting. All makes for an interesting game.
Voice of Reason
26 Apr 2002, 13:34
It will be interesting. Green and Wooden for Braun and Fletcher. Two defensiveley strong players for two creative midfielders. Will we play an extra man or two in defence? Will Taylor and Banfield go to midfield and be given tagging roles. (good options IMO, Banners is not a defender). Taller marking options up front.......that will be interesting. All makes for an interesting game.
You can see what Woosha is up to - we're going to try to play a defensive game and bring them back to us on the scoreboard so that we can try and sneak a win at the end of the game.
Certainly if we adopted the "shoot-out" strategy that we have for the first four games, Brisbane would kill us, so it's a sensible move. Yes, Braun can consider himself unlucky and Banners lucky IMO, but let's hope it works.
TheRealBuzz
26 Apr 2002, 14:54
But I reckon Braun is far more accountable than Wooden.
Braun must be injured. Surely Woosh wouldn't drop an accountable midfielder with good skills for a bloke who can't kick to save himself in Wooden.
It's good to see Cox back.
I think we may have written him off too quickly after the Collingwood game. He and Gardiner were a great combo through the entire Wizard Cup.
I hope Woosha doesn't go overboard on the defensive work.
If we go the heavy flood like the Bullies did last week, then we'll never win.
The players just have to start running as hard defensively as they do when they stream forward.
Balance.
Methuselah
26 Apr 2002, 14:57
With both White and Lynch out it does curtail some of Brisbane's flexibility. Both men have been moved into defence or attack at critical times and done well. So without those two, apart from Leppitsch, they lose a lot of their capacity to switch a key defender into attack and vice versa.
I think Cox and Merenda into the side is good.
Green and Wooden I am not sure about? How good is their kicking out of the last line of defence? I have no idea because I have not seen them this season, but from memory, Wooden is not the most accurate kick although he does get a lot of the ball?
I think Brown will kill Glass - Glass will need to play his best game to date to break even with the guy.
Jako can beat Bradshaw if he maintains concentration. But in terms of physical build and speed I would think he would be better on Brown, and Glass on Bradshaw.
I guess Hunter or Gaspar are also options if need be, and both can play forward or back.
As for Banfield - he was a great player not that long ago...so what is going on with him? Lost interest since the Judge era, or is he carrying some sort of injury -this was the guy who played some heroic games with broken thumb!
Clearly Worsfold is giving him a lot of opportunity to cement a place in this team.
The weather forecast is for fine conditions - so Brisbane will be able to play their possession game with accurate passing.
Will it be windy, or does the new stand create calm conditions inside the ground?
I have good feeling about this one.
Banners missed half of last season with a serios knee injury and is still not fully fit.
You're correct about Woodens disposal under pressure but I do think he is harder and more accountable than Braun and certainly more defensive skilled.
lioness
26 Apr 2002, 22:31
Originally posted by daddy_4_eyes
I hope you're right, because personally i see us getting a 10 goal hiding.
Lynch may not be a big loss in terms of how many goals he contributes, but will his absence disrupt the forward line? That is, do Brissie players usually aim for him specifically when going forward?
That's actually a very good point. I guess obviously he is one of the focal points up forward, but then again we have sooooooo many players who can be switched up there that I'm sure they'll be fine finding other targets. Or if all else fails, they can just storm down the ground and bang it through themselves........ VOSSY!!!!!!!! LEPPA!!!!!!!! *INSERT NAME HERE*!!!!!!!
See the problem??? :D
Hehehehe in all seriousness, I think it's amazingly cute and very flattering that you guys are getting all worried about being belted. In the end, we are just a very very very good footy side...... but we are also very much beatable. Obviously winning is great :D but if we lose I won't lose much sleep over it.
Best of luck Eagles. :)
That's actually a very good point. I guess obviously he is one of the focal points up forward, but then again we have sooooooo many players who can be switched up there that I'm sure they'll be fine finding other targets. Or if all else fails, they can just storm down the ground and bang it through themselves........ VOSSY!!!!!!!! LEPPA!!!!!!!! *INSERT NAME HERE*!!!!!!!
Hehehehe in all seriousness, I think it's amazingly cute and very flattering that you guys are getting all worried about being belted. In the end, we are just a very very very good footy side...... but we are also very much beatable. Obviously winning is great :D but if we lose I won't lose much sleep over it.
Not liking you as much as i did yesterday :D
Goldenblue
27 Apr 2002, 08:58
Thank you, its nice to have someone who can wish us the best and hope to have a good game too from an opposition supporter....:)
lioness
27 Apr 2002, 12:55
Not liking you as much as i did yesterday :D
Awwwwww but I was just being nice and wishing you guys luck. :confused:
If you read the last paragraph, I was being nice. :)
lioness
27 Apr 2002, 12:58
Originally posted by Goldenblue
Thank you, its nice to have someone who can wish us the best and hope to have a good game too from an opposition supporter....:)
Well I mean it, I hope it's a great game, and I do have a soft spot for the Eagles....... :)
joshhem
27 Apr 2002, 15:39
I'm tipping a thrashing :D
I really don't think our withdrawals are anything to be worried about. Lynch quite frankly has had a shocking season so far and thus his position can be filled. White is a bit of a dissapointment, but it's coverable. All the best WCE i hope it's a good clean game.
GO LIONS!
daddy_4_eyes
27 Apr 2002, 15:47
Originally posted by joshhem
At least you're honest :p
Whats your definition of a thrashing? Because by Brisbane's standards any win under 60pts is a close game :(
GO LIONS!
You were right :D
LOL....he has amazing intuition!!
Hahahhahahah Carn the Eagles.
joshhem
28 Apr 2002, 01:20
Good win guys... But my comments shouldn't be picked to pieces, they haven't yet which is good, because no doubt half of you guys picked against your side today.
The challenge is to go on with it. We're still on top (i think), so this was the best thing for us.
thanks for a good game.
eagleskickass
28 Apr 2002, 01:27
Good win guys... But my comments shouldn't be picked to pieces, they haven't yet which is good, because no doubt half of you guys picked against your side today.
The challenge is to go on with it. We're still on top (i think), so this was the best thing for us.
thanks for a good game.
Tis all good joshhem, don't take anything we say to heart, we are all very happy indeed. I must admit to tipping Brisbane while saying all week i thought we would go very close (embarrased smiley) BUT i have heard MOST of the eagles on this board say they were going to tip us, i know my dad tipped us, and so did many of my friends.
It is true about the challenge, CAN WE continue it, i believe we CAN but that doesn't mean we will.
Thankyou too for being so gracious in defeat, good luck for the rest of the year, u r still going to go very close to winning again if not winning again:)
Voice of Reason
28 Apr 2002, 01:41
I tipped the Eagles.
BELIEF is the key word.
I must admit when i came across Brisbane V West Coast in my tipping, i hovered the mouse over WC.....i had belief and i truly thought we could win but then i said to myself, use your brain Jod, Brisbane really should beat us....
Should have gone with my beloved Eagles!
Eagle-Eye
28 Apr 2002, 02:57
Hi all fellow Eagles supporters
This is a win to savour!
Jod, perhaps you should have listened to the Force instead of your brain!;) (No offence meant)
I feel the new motto at the club is:
Never surrender, never give up!
I am sooooooooo happy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
"... then i said to myself, use your brain Jod, Brisbane really should beat us....
Since Woosha became our coach I never tipped against the Eagles! The same in the Malthouse era. I don't care if we are not favourites I always tip the Eagles to win... well... almost always because last year I was so sick and tired of our previous coach that in a few games near the end of the season I "secretelly" wished we lost so the chances of KJ getting the sack were increased. In those occasions I tipped the opposition. :o
Originally posted by Geonet
Since Woosha became our coach I never tipped against the Eagles! The same in the Malthouse era. I don't care if we are not favourites I always tip the Eagles to win... well... almost always because last year I was so sick and tired of our previous coach that in a few games near the end of the season I "secretelly" wished we lost so the chances of KJ getting the sack were increased. In those occasions I tipped the opposition. :o
This game did a lot to get me back to that sort of attitude- now it seems that on our day, we can match it with anyone.... *sigh* Thank you, John Worsfold!
lioness
28 Apr 2002, 05:19
I must admit when i came across Brisbane V West Coast in my tipping, i hovered the mouse over WC.....i had belief and i truly thought we could win but then i said to myself, use your brain Jod, Brisbane really should beat us....
Should have gone with my beloved Eagles!
Well you'll know next time won't you jod. :D
Actually yeah, be an idiot like me. So blindly faithful, I have never tipped against my Lions, not even when they were Fitzroy. :eek: Needless to say, I never ever won the tipping comps. :( ;)
carneagles
28 Apr 2002, 15:41
I can empathise lioness22 - I tipped the Eagles, but I always do that. When the Eagles have a big year, so do I in the tipping.
Actually I'll take some of the credit for this win, as I hadn't set the video. For some reason, when I don't tape the game, we win. So now it's time to bribe the old man for his copy.