View Full Version : Best Geelong team you've seen
Cheshire Cat
12 Jun 2007, 23:41
Best team you've seen in your time. I've been supporting the club since 1990 so I would only count those who have played since. Should be interesting to see what the different generations think
Mine
B T.McGrath, M.Scarlett, D.Milburn
HB K.Hinkley, T.Harley, D.Wojcinski
C P.Riccardi, J.Bartel, P.Couch
HF G.Ablett Jnr, B.Stoneham, M.Mansfield
F B.Brownless, G.Ablett Snr, S.Johnson
1R J.Barnes, G.Hocking, P.Chapman
INT M.Bairstow, L.Pickering , B.Graham, S.King
Unlucky: Colbert, C.Mooney,
ripitup27
13 Jun 2007, 01:19
B: B.Sanderson M.Scarlett K.Hinkley
HB: M.Mansfield T.Harley T.McGrath
C: P.Riccardi P.Couch J.Bartel
HF: G.Ablett Jnr B.Brownless B.Stoneham
F: R.Burns G.Ablett G.Hocking
R: J.Barnes M.Bairstow L.Pickering
Int: B.Graham D.Milburn P.Chapman S.King
VS
B: B.Grgic H.Simpson C.Biddiscombe
HB: D.Lowther L.Brockman G.Bennett
C: P.Corrigan J.Murphy S.Bamford
HF: D.Mensch H.Playfair C.Gardiner
F: A.Houlihan B.Spinks M.McKinnon
R: P.Chambers D.Spriggs D.Clarke
Int: C.Roberts S.Handley D.Loats T.Lynch
Should be a close game. :thumbsu:
B: S.Hocking M.Scarlett D.Milburn
HB: K.Hinkley T.McGrath B.Sanderson
C: P.Riccardi P.Couch D.Wojcinski
HF: G.Ablett Jnr B.Stoneham M.Bairstow
F: B.Brownless G.Ablett Snr P.Chapman
FOLL: J.Barnes J.Bartel G.Hocking
INT: M.Mansfield L.Pickering R.Burns B.Ottens
allrighty
13 Jun 2007, 09:27
B: I Nankervis M.Scarlett D.Milburn
HB: K.Hinkley J. Hawkins B.Nankervis
C: G Ablett Snr P.Couch J.Bartel
F: B.Brownless D Wade P.Chapman
FOLL: G Farmer D Clarke Snr G.Hocking
INT: J (Sam) Newman, Bill Goggin, K Newlands, A Bews
A couple of roughies in there but a pretty good team acorss a few eras. D Clarke Snr BTW was a gun, played on the ball, FF, CHF as required.
allrighty
13 Jun 2007, 09:28
Probably should have put Mick Turner in there on a wing or f flank.
Tommy the Cat
13 Jun 2007, 09:32
yeah, Turner in for Bairstow
boy some people here must be older than me
G_Money
13 Jun 2007, 10:11
VS
B: C.Steinfort H.Simpson C.Biddiscombe
R: P.Chambers S.Arnott D.Clarke
Int: C.Roberts D.Spriggs D.Loats T.Lynch
There are a few in that second team who are actually pretty decent, in my opinion. Simon Arnott was desperately unlucky to get delisted, he was a classy centreman. Little Bangers (Bamford) was as skinny as they come, but had a bit. Menschy was good for a couple of years there, particularly when he was spending some time on the ball. Carl Steinfort was the only man who could stop Nathan Buckley for a couple of years there when Buckley was on fire.
Anyway, my effort at a team:
B: Sanderson Scarlett Sholl
HB: McGrath Harley Mansfield
C: Riccardi Bartel Ablett Jr.
HF: Chapman Stoneham Couch
FF: Paul Lynch Ablett Sr. Brownless
Foll: Barnes Bairstow Hocking
Bench: King Ling Milburn Pickering
Selwood07
13 Jun 2007, 10:18
Re: Best Geelong team you've seen
VS
Love these! I've been following Geelong for 'n' years - I don't think I'd change the first one but I'd have to find a place for Handley in the opposing side - Simon Arnott would be spitting chips if he saw himself included in this list of duds. Much amusement imagining how it would 'function'.
Best team you've seen in your time. I've been supporting the club since 1990 so I would only count those who have played since. Should be interesting to see what the different generations think
Mine
B T.McGrath, M.Scarlett, D.Milburn
HB K.Hinkley, T.Harley, D.Wojcinski
C P.Riccardi, J.Bartel, P.Couch
HF G.Ablett Jnr, B.Stoneham, M.Mansfield
F B.Brownless, G.Ablett Snr, S.Johnson
1R J.Barnes, G.Hocking, P.Chapman
INT M.Bairstow, L.Pickering , B.Graham, S.King
Unlucky: Colbert, C.Mooney,
McGrath was serviceable at best...His contribution was perhaps overstated by the fact that Geelong had such a poor defence during his time at the club. Played one good game on Carey, otherwise he was towelled up every time.
catman2006
13 Jun 2007, 11:35
B: Sanderson Scarlett Sholl
HB: McGrath Graham Mansfield
C: Riccardi Couch Ablett Jr.
HF: Chapman Stoneham P Lynch
FF: R Burns Ablett Sr. Brownless
Foll: Barnes Bairstow Hocking
Bench: Hinkley King Milburn Pickering
Rustybugles
13 Jun 2007, 12:58
I'm not so sure Azyboy - I saw Bluey McGrath fight tooth and nail and never give up over many years - and I do not recall him being 'towelled up' too often. Like all of us, he just got slower!
VS
Couldn't squeeze Austin McCrabb into that 2nd side?
I'm not so sure Azyboy - I saw Bluey McGrath fight tooth and nail and never give up over many years - and I do not recall him being 'towelled up' too often. Like all of us, he just got slower!
Pfft, I can't recall him ever being fast. I do recall his questionable decison making under pressure, his ordinary (at best) disposal and granted, his determination. As I said before, Geelong were crying out for a key defender when he played at the club and I think Bluey was the best of a pretty ordinary lot. Serviceable, yes. Best team I have seen, not by a long shot.
chapmanmagic35
13 Jun 2007, 13:23
McGrath was serviceable at best...His contribution was perhaps overstated by the fact that Geelong had such a poor defence during his time at the club. Played one good game on Carey, otherwise he was towelled up every time.
McGrath was a ripper. He had heart, courage and was as determined as we had.
Bull he did! :p
When did McGrath retire anyway.. yeah that 1997 defence were a real heap of shit. Only the second best (statistically) in the league!
Amen to that CM35! :):thumbsu:
betchsta
13 Jun 2007, 13:57
cant believe any of you have not left room for the like's of
James Rahilly , David Haynes , Brett Spinks , Mitchell White , Ronnie Burns
What the hell are you all thinking ????
Please explain :p
Ling Sting
13 Jun 2007, 14:00
Derek Hall is stiff
I agree with his heart, courage and determination...and again he probably stood out for it in a side and era that wasn't renowned for its toughness (apologies to Buddah Hocking). You are all entitled to your opinion on the man, as am i with mine. Lets not get into a pising contest;)
B: I.Nankervis M.Scarlett J.Hawkins
HB: J.Devine P.Walker B.Nankervis
C: M.Turner P.Couch P.Riccardi
HF: J.Sharrock B.Stoneham G.Ablettsnr.
F: G.Hocking D.Wade J.Newman
R: G.Farmer M.Bairstow W.Goggin
IC; D.Clarkesnr. D.Marshall. A.Bews. K.Hinkley.
Em: W.Closter. P.Featherby. G.Malarkey.
Since 1980....
Ian Nankervis M Scarlett Darren Milburn
Mark Yeates Jack Hawkins Ken Hinkley
Mick Turner Paul Couch Joel Corey
G Ablett Jnr Barry Stoneham Peter Ricardi
Cam Mooney G Ablett Jnr Paul Chapman
Rod Blake G Hocking Jimmy Bartel
i/c G Malarkey, P Featherby, Billy Brownless & David Clarke Snr
catempire
13 Jun 2007, 14:53
Since circa 1987. At the height of their respective powers.
B: Sholl Scarlett Sanderson
HB: Hinkley Harley Milburn
C: Riccardi Couch Corey
HF: G Ablett jnr Stoneham Chapman
F: Brownless G Ablett snr Burns
R: King Bairstow Hocking
INT: Pickering Bartel Mansfield Barnes
chapmanmagic35
13 Jun 2007, 14:59
What I would do to go back in time and watch these guys again! :)
Catsace
13 Jun 2007, 15:02
Since 1980....
Ian Nankervis M Scarlett Darren Milburn
Mark Yeates Jack Hawkins Ken Hinkley
Mick Turner Paul Couch Joel Corey
G Ablett Jnr Barry Stoneham Peter Ricardi
Cam Mooney G Ablett Jnr Paul Chapman
Rod Blake G Hocking Jimmy Bartel
i/c G Malarkey, P Featherby, Billy Brownless & David Clarke Snr
Must admit any side with 2 Gaz Jr's would be pretty hard to beat, and his old man wasn't bad either!
Since 1990 as the original post said...my attempt would be....
Backs:- B.Sholl M.Scarlett D.Milburn
H/Backs:- K.Hinkley T.McGrath M.Mansfield
Centre:- P.Riccardi P.Couch D.Wojcinski
H/Fwds:- G.Ablett Jr B.Stoneham P.Chapman
Fwds:- B.Brownless G.Ablett Sr R.Burns
Rucks:- S.King G.Hocking J.Bartel
I/C:- L.Pickering B.Graham C.Mooney M.Bairstow
Catsace
13 Jun 2007, 15:06
Just imagine a forward line of Gaz Sr, with a Stoneham of 2001-2003 and a youngish Billy Brownless, with hard nuts like Gaz Jr and Chappy buzzing around, with Ronnie Burns being the 6th forward. Good to see him picked in several sides, he kicked a fair few goals in his era, and led the goalkicking on several occasions. He was often the 'leading' crumbing forward in his time, so him being 6th would be a massively hard task for any opposition to stop. Could argue that would be the best forward line in history!
BlueOyster
13 Jun 2007, 16:19
3 other corkers:
darren forsman
brent grgic
stephen hooper (number 1 draft pick)
junior29
13 Jun 2007, 17:20
3 other corkers:
darren forsman
brent grgic
stephen hooper (number 1 draft pick)
or grant tanner
ripitup27
13 Jun 2007, 20:05
Couldn't squeeze Austin McCrabb into that 2nd side?
Truth be told I have no idea who Austin McCrab is. I was born in 87', when did he play?
ripitup27
13 Jun 2007, 20:06
or grant tanner
I liked Tanner. I think it's because I saw him when the 95 GF team was annouced after training and he was dropped or something. Shattered man I remember.
Rustybugles
13 Jun 2007, 20:08
I liked Tanner. I think it's because I saw him when the 95 GF team was annouced after training and he was dropped or something. Shattered man I remember.
I think that is right - I'd forgotten all about him! Who was McCrab? Most of the duds who came as 'saviours' (Spinks!) are hard to forget - others are just dim memories.
Cheshire Cat
13 Jun 2007, 20:34
Truth be told I have no idea who Austin McCrab is. I was born in 87', when did he play?
A cult dud at Geelong. First game I went to was at Waverley, GF re-match, Hawthorn smashed us by 100 points (not the best start as a supporter :o) Just before 3 quarter time McCrabb centred the ball which got cut off and kicked for a Hawthorn goal and Blighty made him stand by himself away from the huddle!! Wasn't afraid to single out was Blighty!
Anyways, we soon traded him to Hawthorn, and soon after he disappeared.
wazza0406
13 Jun 2007, 20:57
Catsace nailed it - McGrath was gutsy but people have forgotten Mansfield the dual All Australian Half Back Flanker who would have to be there in a post 1990 team. Couch would have to be the centre (JImmy has a way to go to claim that - maybe after he has Charlie around his neck). Sholl just ahead of Steven Hocking - mainly because he let a clearly stuffed Brereton kick 2 goals on him after Yeatesy did the hard stuff. Surely SHOcking only needed to go in hard once and give his ribs another tap.
MOre duds - David Ugrinic, Daniel Lowther, Hampish Simpson, Tim Hargreaves.
What about a team of couldabeens but for injury and bad luck? Think Damien Bourke, Paul Lynch, Marc Woolnough, Jason Snell.
wazza0406
13 Jun 2007, 21:01
Must admit any side with 2 Gaz Jr's would be pretty hard to beat, and his old man wasn't bad either!
Since 1990 as the original post said...my attempt would be....
Backs:- B.Sholl M.Scarlett D.Milburn
H/Backs:- K.Hinkley T.McGrath M.Mansfield
Centre:- P.Riccardi P.Couch D.Wojcinski
H/Fwds:- G.Ablett Jr B.Stoneham P.Chapman
Fwds:- B.Brownless G.Ablett Sr R.Burns
Rucks:- S.King G.Hocking J.Bartel
I/C:- L.Pickering B.Graham C.Mooney M.Bairstow
Changed my mind
B. Graham for McGrath, Ling for Wojinski and find room for Sanderson on the bench (Bluey misses out)
Then it is about right.
fifth quarter
13 Jun 2007, 21:05
i was lucky enough to see the cats, known as the pivotonians back then, win the 1951 flag
that was the year geelong won everything ..... 1/. flag, defeating ess in the grannie, when essendon coach and triple brownlow medallist dick reynolds (although not expected to play) ran on as the 20th man in the last quarter to try and win the game for his side
dick's move didn't work
2/. brownlow medal .... back pocket player bernie smith
3/. goal-kicking .... george goninon who had come from essendon and beat john coleman for most goals in 51
that would have to be one of geelong's best ever sides and they won again in '52, but they tell me reg hickey's 1937 side was even better
now you guys will be asking .... how come this person knows how to use a computer
:thumbsu:marvellous what you pick up along life's little trails:)
catempire
13 Jun 2007, 21:08
i was lucky enough to see the cats, known as the pivotonians back then, win the 1951 flag
that was the year geelong won everything ..... 1/. flag, defeating ess in the grannie, when essendon coach and triple brownlow medallist dick reynolds (although not expected to play) ran on as the 20th man in the last quarter to try and win the game for his side
dick's move didn't work
3/. goal-kicking .... george goninon who had come from essendon and beat john coleman for most goals in 51
that would have to be one of geelong's best ever sides and they won again in '52, but they tell me reg hickey's 1937 side was even better
now you guys will be asking .... how come this person knows how to use a computer
Good on you mate. Thanks for the post.
thegerman
13 Jun 2007, 22:24
B: Bos Scarlett Milburn
HB: Hinkley Harley Yeates
C Turner Couch Riccardi
HF Jnr Stoneham Brownless
F Chappy Snr Barnes
R: King Hocking Bairstow
Int: Graham, McGrath, Mansfield, Bartel
Yeah I know, putting Bos and Yeates pretty much shows my age, although not that old those guys were running around when I loved watching the Cats play as a kid.
I nearly put Malarky in also, but this is the team that I've seen every player don the jumper. Like 5th quarter above, we all have our best.
Catsace
13 Jun 2007, 23:44
Catsace nailed it - McGrath was gutsy but people have forgotten Mansfield the dual All Australian Half Back Flanker who would have to be there in a post 1990 team. Couch would have to be the centre (JImmy has a way to go to claim that - maybe after he has Charlie around his neck). Sholl just ahead of Steven Hocking - mainly because he let a clearly stuffed Brereton kick 2 goals on him after Yeatesy did the hard stuff. Surely SHOcking only needed to go in hard once and give his ribs another tap.
What about a team of couldabeens but for injury and bad luck? Think Damien Bourke, Paul Lynch, Marc Woolnough, Jason Snell.
That's one thing that clearly deffied all conventions in footy. Twice Brereton marked (Without jumping) over the top of S.Hocking in the 1st quarter of the '89 G.F after Yeater had done his business. That tossed into the bin for ever the convention of 'Man in front'. Absolutely amazed that it happened twice.
Bluey may still be remembered for his opening two games as a Cat, when he felt the cold steel of a 12 goal Dunstall haul in Rd 1 1992, then 8 goals by Allen Jakovich, as the Cats lost their opening two games. But his next 200 or so were pretty good. Benny was taller, but i thought he was as much a full back as a half back. I had him on the bench anyway just in case. Also, Wojac adds pace to the team, which is evident this season,, his dash has transformed Geelong into the side it is now. Ling, Sholl, Mansfield, Hinkley etc are not all rockets, so some pace would be handy. But what a forward line!!
Interesting to note, that unusual as it may seem, Geelong's two most recent top of the table finishes (1980 and 1992) both came in seasons where we lost the opening two games, and were 3-3 at one point!! Just like this season, we were 3-3. Interesting.......
Never saw Damian Burke play. Paul Lynch would have been an absolute superstar had it not been for his dodgy hamstrings. Woolnough was unlucky with those knees but I didn't see anything special in him. Snell was a handy mid size forward and wet weather specialist but wouldn't have been a star. I remember the day he broke his ankle and leg against Melbourne, he looked like he was caught in quicksand sinking and desparately calling for help. One of the worst injuries I've seen.
Morning all...
B: A. Bews M. Scarlett I Nankervis
HB: M Bos T. McGrath M. Yeates
C: P Riccardi P Couch M Turner
HF: K Hinkley B Stoneham P Chapman
F: G Exell B Brownless G Ablett snr
Foll: D Bourke G Hocking G Ablett jnr
Inter: K Hinkley D Wojcinski J Bartel C Ling
Apologies to: "the Amazing" Austin McCrabb, Tim "good but too short" Darcy, Mark Bairstow, Steven "Mr. Consistant" Hocking, Newman, Donahue, Darren Morgan (:eek:), Ottens, Bruns, Card and Mansfield.
A cult dud at Geelong. First game I went to was at Waverley, GF re-match, Hawthorn smashed us by 100 points (not the best start as a supporter :o) Just before 3 quarter time McCrabb centred the ball which got cut off and kicked for a Hawthorn goal and Blighty made him stand by himself away from the huddle!! Wasn't afraid to single out was Blighty!
Anyways, we soon traded him to Hawthorn, and soon after he disappeared.
If you can, try to track down a copy of a book called "Cats on the Prowl" that was published in the mid 90's I think. Got some great stories in there about the one and only Austin McCrabb.
CatmanForever
14 Jun 2007, 16:16
dick's move didn't work
great post, but man it is sad for us to have to rely on people who have seen the great sides of the past win flags. Just reminds me that 44 years so just too damn long between drinks.
This is absurb, where are:
Darren Steele
Spiro Malekellis
Tony Malekellis
Paul Lindsay
Russell Merriman
Either reinstate these players where they belong, or give me answers!
Jock Clark 2
16 Jun 2007, 18:28
YOU'D have to rate the '63 premiership side pretty highly, wouldn't you guys :confused:
Skipper was "Fearless" Freddie Wooller plus there was Polly Farmer and big Johnny Watts from WA in the side, along with rover Billy Goggin, Roy West at f-back I'm reasonably certain of plus a heap of other good players as well.
Polly Farmer must rank with Pa Gazza Ablett and 1937 premiership captain and 1951-52 flag-winning coach Reg Hickey in the best 3 ever for the Catters. Hickey was associated with 3 of Geelong's VFL/AFL flags.
Some of the current 1990s-2000s players wouldn't blow wind up those three's backsides.
Metallica_Man
16 Jun 2007, 19:24
YOU'D have to rate the '63 premiership side pretty highly, wouldn't you guys :confused:
Skipper was "Fearless" Freddie Wooller plus there was Polly Farmer and big Johnny Watts from WA in the side, along with rover Billy Goggin, Roy West at f-back I'm reasonably certain of plus a heap of other good players as well.
Polly Farmer must rank with Pa Gazza Ablett and 1937 premiership captain and 1951-52 flag-winning coach Reg Hickey in the best 3 ever for the Catters. Hickey was associated with 3 of Geelong's VFL/AFL flags.
Some of the current 1990s-2000s players wouldn't blow wind up those three's backsides.
But how many people on here actually were around when they were playing
Rik E Boy
17 Jun 2007, 13:07
dick's move didn't work
DOH. And you barrack for the Dogs! I'm 41 and haven't yet tasted glory. But I could hardly begrudge you your 1954 success.
regards,
REB
Solstice Raver
18 Jun 2007, 11:13
I saw them play on Sunday.
sarah.13
18 Jun 2007, 18:03
B. I.Nankervis Scarlett Milburn
HB. Mansfield Harley Yeates
C. M.Turner Couch Riccardi
HF. Ablett G.(5) Stoneham S.Johnson
F. Ablett.G (29) Brownless Burns
R. King Bairstow Hocking
Chapman. Bartel. Bourke.D.Clarke
Backline- tough,running and skillful.
Centers- Pace to burn,great delivery,goal kickers
Forwards-20+gls week in week out.
IMO tough to beat.
Gavin Excell
18 Jun 2007, 21:16
some comments:
Paul Lynch would have been an absolute superstar had it not been for his dodgy hamstrings
agree showed flashes of being a star.
Others - Leif tudor - did one thing - got the ball to gary to kick the goal that put us into 1994 GF.
Peter featherby - would have been a more celebrated player of dream teams were aorund back in the early 1980'S. Racked up an amazing 50 possessions one day.
Mensch - rymed with bench which was appropraite
Mitchell Shyte - possibly thwo worst big name recruit ever to come to Cats
Dwayne Russell - bag him all you like for his media work but fact remains was a great player in the 89 GF
Darren Flaningan - lion hearted performance in 89 GF when Bourke again went down with injury
Jock Clark 2
20 Jun 2007, 16:17
CatmanForever ... good to see some history of your club being remembered.
As one sage once said, referring to history; "If you don't know where you've come from, how can you possibly have any idea of where you're going."
i.e. the past certainly shapes the future.
And isn't it great to see the South Australian lad Rik E Boy back on the boards. I hadn't read his comments since the old ABC footy and cricket website went to God a few seasons back. Rik E Boy, BTW, even had a letter or 2 printed in Inside Football !
geelong_boy
20 Jun 2007, 16:56
Dwayne Russell - bag him all you like for his media work but fact remains was a great player in the 89 GF
Russell didn't play in the '89 GF.
Big Nasty
20 Jun 2007, 16:57
Russell didn't play in the '89 GF.
LMFAO :D
snowycats
20 Jun 2007, 19:44
[quote=allrighty;7821746]B: I Nankervis M.Scarlett D.Milburn
A couple of roughies in there but a pretty good team acorss a few eras. D Clarke Snr BTW was a gun, played on the ball, FF, CHF as required.
How can Bill Brownless get in all these teams - never ever performed when the pressure was on - loads of talent but as soft as.
Just do something
20 Jun 2007, 21:21
[quote=allrighty;7821746]B: I Nankervis M.Scarlett D.Milburn
How can Bill Brownless get in all these teams - never ever performed when the pressure was on - loads of talent but as soft as.
What about the Bruce The Pres Lindner now he played a ripper in the 89 GF.
chapmanmagic35
20 Jun 2007, 23:17
For a side that hasn't won a mountain of premierships, we have sure produced some guns.