View Full Version : Potential SANFL Draftees 2007

Pages : [1] 2

Drummond
13 Jun 2007, 16:06
OK before anyone has a go at me for looking too far into the future, I’m not saying we should draft all of these blokes, only that we should at least keep an eye on their progress throughout the season. These aren’t guys that will be going high in the draft, if you want info on them go across to the D&T board.

• Dylan Williams (South Adelaide). Age 20, Height 182cm, 80kg. Recently turned 20 so he’s a bit older than most draftees. Played 21 league games and has booted 12 goals. He is a very smooth mover who can play midfield/forward. Has good hands, is clever around goal and is a thumping, precise kick of the football. He has good vision and is good defensively. Has had a few 20+ possession games for South this year and is one to watch. Perhaps similar to Bernie Vince in 2005.

• Caolan Buckley (West Adelaide). Age 19, 182cm, 84kg. Was considered a potential draftee last year but was overlooked. Has played 11 league games and is kicking nearly a goal a game. He’s a bit of an old fashioned footballer in that he’s very physical, loves the rough stuff and is a strong tackler. Has a thumping kick and good hands, but he doesn’t have great pace. A chance to be rookied perhaps.

• Toby Schulz (Norwood). Age 18 and is about 192cm and 85kg. Tall defender/forward who has very good foot skills and reads the play well. Represented SA last year in the U/18 Championships. Playing consistently well for Norwood reserves.

• Josh Cubillo (North Adelaide). Age 18, 189cm, 84kg. Made league debut last year as a 17 year old but perhaps wasn’t quite read as he looked a little overwhelmed but this year appears a lot more comfortable.

• Austin Wonaemirri (Norwood). Age 18, 182cm, 79kg. He’s an Aboriginal goal sneek with blistering pace. Has great defensive skills and is brilliant and applying pressure to opposition defenders. Listed at 182cm which can't be correct, he looks about 5cm shorter. Considering our lack of small forwards with pace he should be a priority.

Obviously not going to mention Greenwood, Ebert ect as these guys are all expected to go high and there’s no point me discussing them. Last year I made a similar thread and the 3 guys I pointed out in my initial post were all drafted. ;)

RoosterLad
13 Jun 2007, 16:09
Cubillo did struggle last year but was thrown in at the deep end, making your debut against Centrals in a final is never easy for a young lad. He has been pretty solid this year though, has a strong body for a youngster and good skills too. Most supporters have been pretty surprised by his progress this year and has played every game.

crowman_23
13 Jun 2007, 16:16
Good mates with Caolon Buckley and unfortunately I think if he was ever to be drafted last year would have been his year. Would love to see him get picked up though. How has his form been for Westies?

Another potential from the South East aswell is Tom Holmes. Was in the initial squad last year for the U/18 carnival but missed out on the final cut. Will definately play this year I would think. Very skilful player, great football brain. Size may be an issue. But I think he will probably be drafted this year.

bus24
13 Jun 2007, 16:21
I'll be keen to see how a couple of the North lads go in the U/18 championships.

Henry White and Matty Wright. Played against them in juniors, they tore us to pieces by themselves, especially the latter.

whattagun07
13 Jun 2007, 16:31
anyone think steven summerton will get drafted?
made, and dominated in u/16's carnival
missed out on the u/18's for being too small.
now just racking up the touches at the magpies.
if he does get drafted, how high?

Drummond
13 Jun 2007, 16:37
Good mates with Caolon Buckley and unfortunately I think if he was ever to be drafted last year would have been his year. Would love to see him get picked up though. How has his form been for Westies?
True. Perhaps not quite polished enough to go to the next level. However he does interest me with his aggression and the fact he loves the rough stuff. He can find the ball and he often bobs up for a goal or two. Just needs to refine his game a tad.

anyone think steven summerton will get drafted?
made, and dominated in u/16's carnival
missed out on the u/18's for being too small.
now just racking up the touches at the magpies.
if he does get drafted, how high?
Macca19 would be the one to ask about Summerton. I’ve seen him twice this year and he’s impressed me each time. Averaging 23.4 possessions per game so he’s a big ball winner and he has good skills and is a good decision maker. Definitely worth a look at.

DJ75
13 Jun 2007, 16:37
Dylan Williams is a possibility, but I would think there are many who are better.
Toby Schulz NO WAY! Shulz was a member of last year U18 State team, but despite still qualifying age wise, he was not selected this year. This year's state team is undersized and could have used a KPP, but Schulz has a terrible attitude and won't make it until he realises he is not the greatest footballer on Earth (and that could take a while!)
Instead I would look at a guy playing college football in Phil Davis. This kid CAN play, is a KPP, has great hands, good attitude and a good football brain. Much better prospect IMHO.

Drummond
13 Jun 2007, 16:44
Dylan Williams is a possibility, but I would think there are many who are better.
Toby Schulz NO WAY! Shulz was a member of last year U18 State team, but despite still qualifying age wise, he was not selected this year. This year's state team is undersized and could have used a KPP, but Schulz has a terrible attitude and won't make it until he realises he is not the greatest footballer on Earth (and that could take a while!)
Instead I would look at a guy playing college football in Phil Davis. This kid CAN play, is a KPP, has great hands, good attitude and a good football brain. Much better prospect IMHO.
Yeh it is disappointing Schulz didn’t make the SA team. He does have potential though, kicked 5 goals while playing up forward in Round 1 and has been named in the best players on 3 occasions, mostly while playing down back. With his height, foot skills, and ability to forward/back, he will interest a few clubs you would think. Obviously by missing out for SA in the U/18 Championships he's missed a big opportunity but I wouldn’t count him out yet.

Also Luke McLean from Norwood is another to watch. Small defender, left foot who has great foot skills and good pace.

AAMI
13 Jun 2007, 16:57
John McDonald from Sturt is a gun :thumbsu:

Summerton, Ebert and Greenwood from Port are obvious top picks.

Throughandthrough
13 Jun 2007, 17:02
[quote=crowman_23;7824688]Good mates with Caolon Buckley and unfortunately I think if he was ever to be drafted last year would have been his year. Would love to see him get picked up though. How has his form been for Westies?

[quote]

Is Caolon's old man Jim Buckley, (not the famous Carlton one), the School teacher that played many years in VFL/ South Gambier, and then Mt Gambiers answer to Eddie Maguire?

Dandy_GO
13 Jun 2007, 17:20
What can people tell me about Brad Hunter? I was watching the game on Saturday from work, and every time I looked up he seemed to be having a shot at goal.
I know he's a bit older (20, I think), and that he's been around for a while (was the best and fairest in the SANFL under-19s a couple of years back apparently), but 6 goals in only his 6th game in the seniors is a fair effort for a little bloke. Took an awesome grab as well.
But yeah, beyond the little I saw on the weekend, I don't know much about him. Would he be worth a punt on a late rookie spot?

Macca19
13 Jun 2007, 18:34
Just a couple from Port

Steven Summerton 05/02/1988, 175cm, 74kg
Small ball magnet who has made everyone stand up and take notice at League level this year. Averaging a very good 23.4 disposals a game which included a season high 34 disposal BOG effort against Norwood in Round 1. Queries about height and pace and justified and Im unsure how he would take to the AFL style of game. In another era he would be well suited to the slower, mudbowls of the suburban grounds but the pace of the modern AFL game might leave him behind. I think in terms of AFL level hes probably the 2nd coming of Hayden Skipworth. Plays similar to a Tony Brown.

Pros:
- Ability to read the play and win the football at stoppages.
- Strong in the hips
- Ability to find space over the ground to win uncontested possession
- Can kick goals (7 goals in 9 matches this year)

Cons:
- Height is a concern. 175cm is short.
- Pace. He does lack pace. At SANFL level he can get around this due to his superior reading of the play. Will not have that luxury at AFL level
- Kicking action. Has a semi-awkward kicking style where he kicks the ball across his body a bit. Foot skills are good
- Depth of kicking.

Kerren Hall 14/02/1989, 192cm, 96kg
Tall, well built key position utility who has been developed as a Full Back this year at Reserves level. Spent time at U17s and U19s level at CHF where he performed well. The first player to make reserves level from the country academy. He is quick enough to keep up with tall forwards, can spoil well, can outbody opponents and is a smart footballer. Left out of the U18 squad (wrongly in my opinion) but is a player who I think if given a chance, will develop strongly and reap the rewards in a few years time. I think he is quite similar to a Corey AhChee or Steve Paxman type defender.

Pros:
- Decent size, well built, strong frame
- Can take a contested mark
- Ability to play as a forward

Cons:
- Field kicking can let him down on occasion
- Decision making needs a bit of work

Thats two. I might do some more later.

Drummond
13 Jun 2007, 18:55
^ Excellent stuff mate, much appreciated! Great in depth report! :thumbsu:

What can people tell me about Brad Hunter? I was watching the game on Saturday from work, and every time I looked up he seemed to be having a shot at goal.
I know he's a bit older (20, I think), and that he's been around for a while (was the best and fairest in the SANFL under-19s a couple of years back apparently), but 6 goals in only his 6th game in the seniors is a fair effort for a little bloke. Took an awesome grab as well.
But yeah, beyond the little I saw on the weekend, I don't know much about him. Would he be worth a punt on a late rookie spot?
Hunter is 22 years of age according to the Budget and 178cm and 75kg. Has played 6 league games and booted 10 goals. As you said he appears to have a good mark, is good around goals and has good, quick hands in close. Has an awkward kicking style though and might struggle as a goal sneek at AFL level.

Is Caolon's old man Jim Buckley, (not the famous Carlton one), the School teacher that played many years in VFL/ South Gambier, and then Mt Gambiers answer to Eddie Maguire?
I'm pretty sure that is correct.

turbo182
13 Jun 2007, 19:04
[QUOTE=Macca19;7826161]Just a couple from Port

Steven Summerton 05/02/1988, 175cm, 74kg
Small ball magnet who has made everyone stand up and take notice at League level this year. Averaging a very good 23.4 disposals a game which included a season high 34 disposal BOG effort against Norwood in Round 1. Queries about height and pace and justified and Im unsure how he would take to the AFL style of game. In another era he would be well suited to the slower, mudbowls of the suburban grounds but the pace of the modern AFL game might leave him behind. I think in terms of AFL level hes probably the 2nd coming of Hayden Skipworth. Plays similar to a Tony Brown.

Pros:
- Ability to read the play and win the football at stoppages.
- Strong in the hips
- Ability to find space over the ground to win uncontested possession
- Can kick goals (7 goals in 9 matches this year)

Cons:
- Height is a concern. 175cm is short.
- Pace. He does lack pace. At SANFL level he can get around this due to his superior reading of the play. Will not have that luxury at AFL level
- Kicking action. Has a semi-awkward kicking style where he kicks the ball across his body a bit. Foot skills are good
- Depth of kicking.

Macca, I'm confused as to how is his kicking action is a concern given how damn good his foot skills are?

At every level hes played, Summo has proven that he can get around his lakc of pace, and every time somone has made the "he's too slow to go any further' call, only to be proved wrong. I look forward to him proving everyone wrong again.

fantastic_crows
13 Jun 2007, 19:26
I'll be keen to see how a couple of the North lads go in the U/18 championships.

Henry White and Matty Wright. Played against them in juniors, they tore us to pieces by themselves, especially the latter.

Matty Wright is a gun, hes one of those blokes thats exceptionally good at every sport he plays.

jo172
13 Jun 2007, 19:30
I played with Toby back in juniors and i'm saying No ####ing Way right now! Once every one is his size he is a very average footballer.

One who has improved alot this year is Michael Wundke from North Adelaide and should be looked out for;)

Also another bloke worth looking at is Andy Read from Sturt, he's only played 2 reserves games and is very raw (he's only played footy for 2 years) he has a hell of alot of pace and natural flair.

Macca19
13 Jun 2007, 20:19
Macca, I'm confused as to how is his kicking action is a concern given how damn good his foot skills are?

At every level hes played, Summo has proven that he can get around his lakc of pace, and every time somone has made the "he's too slow to go any further' call, only to be proved wrong. I look forward to him proving everyone wrong again.

To me, his action does account for his lack of depth in his kicking which is something recruiters may look at. He kind of chops the ball. He does hit targets regularly over 20-35 metres and is a decent kick to a leading forward.

I really really hope he proves people wrong and gives the AFL a decent crack. He definately deserves it. If he doesnt get drafted then Id love for him to stay at the Magpies.

ICanDressMyself
13 Jun 2007, 20:22
Wundke, Loukes, Brockhouse, Darling

Crows88
13 Jun 2007, 20:24
Matty Wright definately one to keep an eye on kicked 8 for north reserves a couple of weeks back off a forward falnk, for a little guy that's impressive. Is out with ankle sprain at the moment, but I've seen him win matches by himself....

iamthestig
13 Jun 2007, 22:20
I know he hasn't been playing seniors long but surely Jesse Aish will be looked at closely. If he can keep his form up looks like the Crows first ever F/S selection.

Apparently he has a younger brother who is doing well at junior level also (unconfirmed rumour from a mate of a mate of a mate etc).

An Aish at Crows = fantastic:thumbsu:
2 x Aish at Crows = gold:D
2 x Aish at Crows under F/S rule - Priceless!:cool:

crowman_23
14 Jun 2007, 11:41
"Is Caolon's old man Jim Buckley, (not the famous Carlton one), the School teacher that played many years in VFL/ South Gambier, and then Mt Gambiers answer to Eddie Maguire?"

Yes, Yes he is. Though moved to Adelaide I think. No longer Mt Gambiers Eddie Maguire.

McLeod23
15 Jun 2007, 18:48
Daniel Havelberg from Central Districts. :thumbsu:

- PC -
15 Jun 2007, 18:53
Drum how many goals has Aussie kicked this year?

Drummond
15 Jun 2007, 19:17
Drum how many goals has Aussie kicked this year?
5 goals in 5 games I believe. He hasn’t played a league game for a few weeks because of NT U/18’s and personal reasons, but played in the reserves last week and kicked 2 goals. Aboriginal goal sneek’s normally don’t normally make much of an impact until their early twenties, so Wonaemirri will probably take some time to find consistency. He’s playing in the U/18 Championships so keep an eye out for him.

- PC -
15 Jun 2007, 19:26
Any consistent white guys then?

WheresGroomgone
15 Jun 2007, 23:59
5 goals in 5 games I believe. He hasn’t played a league game for a few weeks because of NT U/18’s and personal reasons, but played in the reserves last week and kicked 2 goals. Aboriginal goal sneek’s normally don’t normally make much of an impact until their early twenties, so Wonaemirri will probably take some time to find consistency. He’s playing in the U/18 Championships so keep an eye out for him.

Geez I'd better let the boys over here know that and tell them to relax for a while...nothing like a generalisation!!

jo172
16 Jun 2007, 00:03
Wundke, Loukes, Brockhouse,

:D Why not throw Jack Martin and Matt Downie onto that list for good measure:p

Carl Spackler
16 Jun 2007, 01:34
:D Why not throw Jack Martin and Matt Downie onto that list for good measure:p
The Sturt player to look out for is Matthew Jaensch. I'm not sure if he is eligible for the draft this season or next but he is an absolute beauty. Hails from Hahndorf and I'm pretty sure he is in the U18 squad. Keep an eye out.

Matthew Richardson from the Magpies thinks that Summerton is an absolute certainty to be drafted this year. In fact I think the Magpies have already factored the $50,000 into their budget!

RoosterLad
16 Jun 2007, 01:43
Summerton will get drafted. No doubt about it. He is possibly their best Magarey chance in what.. his first year?

Drummond
16 Jun 2007, 01:57
Very interesting! 19 years of age, 189cm, 90kg. Played 6 league games, 8 goals.

Last week he had 17 possessions, 8 marks, 4 goals and was 4th best.

I like! ;)

crow87
16 Jun 2007, 02:05

I like! ;)
Yep, would love it if he gets drafted! Esp by us.

- PC -
16 Jun 2007, 02:10
I will be off to see Aussie next Friday night

Drummond
16 Jun 2007, 17:51
As has been said in the SANFL thread, there’s another young guy on the radar now in Sturt’s John McDonald. 17 years of age, 178cm, 78kg.

Looks incredibly classy in heavy traffic, has good hands and good evasiveness.

Is he eligible this year? If so, definitely looks to be worth a shot.

RooDog
16 Jun 2007, 17:59

I like! ;)
i called it in a thread a while a go on the DnT board, got a lot of time for him, think he is a bit bigger than 189 now too... i think he is definately worth a punt in the draft.

whattagun07
16 Jun 2007, 18:36
turned the footy on just into the last quarter.
they sed that Summerton's 3rd quarter was his best for the club.
anyone see it?

Rory
16 Jun 2007, 18:39
Summerton is a dime a dozen player, racks up the possies like there's no tomorrow and the skills are good enough for AFL, but after watching todays performance he looked a bit soft around the packs and around the contested ball. He had a few shocking disposals as well, I wouldn't want Port to pick him up thats for sure.

Drummond
16 Jun 2007, 18:48
anyone see it?
Really? I watched the whole game and thought he was quiet, even in the 3rd term.

Summerton is a dime a dozen player, racks up the possies like there's no tomorrow and the skills are good enough for AFL, but after watching todays performance he looked a bit soft around the packs and around the contested ball. He had a few shocking disposals as well, I wouldn't want Port to pick him up thats for sure.
Well it was his worst performance of the year IMO. Didn't have much of an impact and his disposal was quite poor.

- PC -
16 Jun 2007, 19:24
anyone see it?:confused:

Summerton is a dime a dozen player, racks up the possies like there's no tomorrow and the skills are good enough for AFL, but after watching todays performance he looked a bit soft around the packs and around the contested ball. He had a few shocking disposals as well, I wouldn't want Port to pick him up thats for sure.:thumbsu:

Really? I watched the whole game and thought he was quiet, even in the 3rd term.:thumbsu: 1st qtr was great and I thought here we go...went very quiet after that

RoosterLad
16 Jun 2007, 19:26
Summerton has been pretty good this year so any talk of his 3rd term being the best for the club must be rubbish. I didn't see much of the premiership quarter today though.

Macca19
16 Jun 2007, 19:32
Had a great start to the game. Was good today. Had him in my best players, but doesnt mean he was great.

SpringChoke
16 Jun 2007, 19:46
Had a great start to the game. Was good today. Had him in my best players, but doesnt mean he was great.

I thought Summerton looked alright. There were alot os Sturt younger players that really impressed-nice skills, good movers.

jo172
17 Jun 2007, 21:28
Michael Wundke kicked another 3 goals today ...

RoosterLad
17 Jun 2007, 21:32
Wundke was great today. Game was on the line in the 3rd term after Eagles had fought back and hit the front. Wundke marks and goals from about 50m out, minutes later Ladhams has a shot which drifts across the face and almost goes through for a point but Wundke takes a great mark and kicks a checkside goal. Great performance.

Cubillo was awesome as well.

ThePeckers
17 Jun 2007, 22:47
Keep a close eye on the baby blues...they have so much young talent, thats where i think youll see alot of draftees come from

fantastic_crows
17 Jun 2007, 23:20
Just throwing a name out there, and if he gets drafted it will probably be late, but what are peoples thoughts on Lachlan Button from Glenelg?

ams4crows
17 Jun 2007, 23:50

If we can somehow get an early draft pick through a trade this is one of the guys we would surley have to target!

bus24
17 Jun 2007, 23:54
If we can somehow get an early draft pick through a trade this is one of the guys we would surley have to target!

I presume he's a key forward.

Don't we have enough?

Southerntakeover
18 Jun 2007, 00:00

And he went all last year without being drafted.

RoosterLad
18 Jun 2007, 00:02

Don't we have enough?

He has been playing full forward for us the past few weeks.

Drummond
18 Jun 2007, 00:05

Don't we have enough?
No way!!!

Welsh turns 29 later this year, and Perrie is 28. By the time Sellar and Tippett are ready to play AFL Welsh and Perrie will be nearing the end of their careers. We're still short of long-term forward options, and we should target another in this years draft.

bus24
18 Jun 2007, 00:08
No way!!!

Welsh turns 29 later this year, and Perrie is 28. By the time Sellar and Tippett are ready to play AFL Welsh and Perrie will be nearing the end of their careers. We're still short of long-term forward options, and we should target another in this years draft.

Maybe draft one, but I don't think a key forward should be a priority. Given that we'll be picking up a great forward prospect Taylor Walker (more than likely through the rookie draft)

Vader
18 Jun 2007, 11:30
Two years ago, much of the pre-draft discussion regarding Travis Varcoe went along the lines of "he's good, but he has a younger brother who's better".

Anyone know how his brother is going? Has he continued to develop? Would he be a potential draftee? Is he eligible to be drafted this year?

Macca19
18 Jun 2007, 18:18
Adam Varcoe. Been in the best players twice in the U19s this year.

Port_GW
18 Jun 2007, 23:19
RL and others who see North play regularly - what attributes does Wundke have? Could he play CHF or is he restricted to a FF type role? I can see him as someone who could be drafted by Port with our first pick in the next draft (given that he'll be available around pick 7 or 8), especially if hes capable of playing CHF. Does anyone know his height.

As for the Sturt lads - McDonald has impressed me quite a lot more than Jaensch has. I think Wark will be a chance to get drafted as well.

One player who i was quite surprised didn't get drafted last year was Zak Hier, there must be something lacking in his game because he had a great 06 season. I thought he would have at least been a good rookie pick up, presumably his problem is his lack of body strength.

There was another youngster from North Adelaide, Delvins i think his name was, showed quite a bit of promise against Port Adelaide a few weeks ago (who didn't that day :mad:) but was dropped a few weeks later. Presumably he'll be a chance to be drafted though.

- PC -
18 Jun 2007, 23:24
As for the Sturt lads - McDonald has impressed me quite a lot more than Jaensch has.

I think McDonald will have a lot of people watching him now. May well go as a project player

doiler
19 Jun 2007, 02:20
RL and others who see North play regularly - what attributes does Wundke have? Could he play CHF or is he restricted to a FF type role? I can see him as someone who could be drafted by Port with our first pick in the next draft (given that he'll be available around pick 7 or 8), especially if hes capable of playing CHF. Does anyone know his height.

There was another youngster from North Adelaide, Delvins i think his name was, showed quite a bit of promise against Port Adelaide a few weeks ago (who didn't that day :mad:) but was dropped a few weeks later. Presumably he'll be a chance to be drafted though.

Wundke is a quick leading forward in a Scott Welsh mode. He has a great pair of hands and has been an accurate kick throughout his junior and reserves games although he has been a little wayward in his 3 league games. I doubt he has the size to become a CHF type player with the budget listing him as 184cms 88kgs while the North website has him as 191cms 91kgs.

Timmy Delvins is a 20-21 year old who had to wait about 18 months between his 1st and 2nd games due to a horror stretch of injuries. He had a cracker in his return to the seniors at Alberton but was very ordinary against Glenelg. He got a late call-up to face the Eagles after he was originally dropped but came back in for Motlop. He played quite well on bigger opponents in Grocke and Passador. Doubt Delvins will be anything more than a solid SANFL player as he lacks size as a defender and doesn't yet have the ability to play consistently or get used as a regular midfielder.

Josh Cubillo is a young defender to watch from the Roosters. Originally from the NT he has a very solid build and has held down a key defensive post for the league side all year. Rarely panics and also links up well running off half back. Made his senior debut in last years finals and also won the medal for best on ground in the reserves grand final so he can handle the big occasions.

RooDog
19 Jun 2007, 11:44
Adam Varcoe. Been in the best players twice in the U19s this year.
too small and inconsistant from what i have seen, has the ability to do the absolutely brilliant one minute then something just stupid the next i would be giving him a miss personally!!

RooDog
19 Jun 2007, 11:45
Just throwing a name out there, and if he gets drafted it will probably be late, but what are peoples thoughts on Lachlan Button from Glenelg?
pretty stiff to be overlooked last year, will go this year though has been highly impressive against grown men. the other thing is he has really improved a lot too...

diablo14
19 Jun 2007, 11:51
Wundke is a quick leading forward in a Scott Welsh mode. He has a great pair of hands and has been an accurate kick throughout his junior and reserves games although he has been a little wayward in his 3 league games. I doubt he has the size to become a CHF type player with the budget listing him as 184cms 88kgs while the North website has him as 191cms 91kgs.

Timmy Delvins is a 20-21 year old who had to wait about 18 months between his 1st and 2nd games due to a horror stretch of injuries. He had a cracker in his return to the seniors at Alberton but was very ordinary against Glenelg. He got a late call-up to face the Eagles after he was originally dropped but came back in for Motlop. He played quite well on bigger opponents in Grocke and Passador. Doubt Delvins will be anything more than a solid SANFL player as he lacks size as a defender and doesn't yet have the ability to play consistently or get used as a regular midfielder.

Josh Cubillo is a young defender to watch from the Roosters. Originally from the NT he has a very solid build and has held down a key defensive post for the league side all year. Rarely panics and also links up well running off half back. Made his senior debut in last years finals and also won the medal for best on ground in the reserves grand final so he can handle the big occasions.

I reckon Cubillo and Wundke are certainties to be drafted at the end of the year. Wundke probably isn't tall enuff to play a KP at AFL level, but would certainly make an excellent alround mobile forward who can create mismatches.

I reckon Daniel Caire from Westies will also be looked at come draft day.

KUNG FU
19 Jun 2007, 13:36
I reckon Cubillo and Wundke are certainties to be drafted at the end of the year. Wundke probably isn't tall enuff to play a KP at AFL level, but would certainly make an excellent alround mobile forward who can create mismatches.

I reckon Daniel Caire from Westies will also be looked at come draft day.

Wasn't Caire already overlooked last year?

diablo14
19 Jun 2007, 13:53
Wasn't Caire already overlooked last year?

Yeah he was. He lacks a bit of size and pace to get snapped right up. But he is a ball magnet with plenty of ticker, and i'm sure continued good form in the SANFL will get him another look in.

KUNG FU
19 Jun 2007, 15:01
Yeah he was. He lacks a bit of size and pace to get snapped right up. But he is a ball magnet with plenty of ticker, and i'm sure continued good form in the SANFL will get him another look in.

But has he really overcome the size and pace problems this year? I thought he was going to at least get rookied last year. Maybe considering it will be 'weaker' draft he'll have a shot.

diablo14
19 Jun 2007, 18:21
But has he really overcome the size and pace problems this year? I thought he was going to at least get rookied last year. Maybe considering it will be 'weaker' draft he'll have a shot.

He's a similar player to Andrew Carazzo. It took him a while to get picked up too, and he's going alright at the moment.

I was surprised he wasn't rookied as well, but he's playing well at the moment, and teams will give him another look.

fantastic_crows
19 Jun 2007, 19:28
pretty stiff to be overlooked last year, will go this year though has been highly impressive against grown men. the other thing is he has really improved a lot too...

Yeah, I'm pretty sure he wil go this year, just not sure where, probably 3rd or 4th round I would say.

RoosterLad
19 Jun 2007, 19:30
There is no way Wundke is only 184, the North website would be more accurate. Not big enough for CHF as doiler said but he has a strong work ethic and chases the opposition when they have the ball, he also has great hands and a nice kick when on song.

He was phenomenal in the 3rd term with two crucial goals which says a bit about the lad.

Southerntakeover
19 Jun 2007, 19:43
There is no way Wundke is only 184, the North website would be more accurate. Not big enough for CHF as doiler said but he has a strong work ethic and chases the opposition when they have the ball, he also has great hands and a nice kick when on song.

He was phenomenal in the 3rd term with two crucial goals which says a bit about the lad.

Definetely taller than that. Atleast a few inches taller than me, and i stand at over 6 foot myself.

ICanDressMyself
19 Jun 2007, 19:45
Definetely taller than that. Atleast a few inches taller than me, and i stand at over 6 foot myself.

Yeah right! :D

Drummond
19 Jun 2007, 20:10
Caire isn’t a bad player but as has been mentioned his size is a major concern. Listed at 175cm and 73kg, is he good enough to overcome his stature? He’s great in close and has good evasiveness, but he doesn’t have the greatest foot skills.

Caolan Buckley is a much better prospect, but he too was overlooked last year. As I said in my initial post he’s 19 and is 182cm and I would like to rookie him because you can't teach that aggression. With a bit of fine tuning he could be a decent player. :thumbsu:

http://www.westadelaidefc.com.au/images/Player%20Photos/Caolon%20Buckley.jpg

- PC -
19 Jun 2007, 21:03
Caolan Buckley is a much better prospect, but he too was overlooked last year.[

In your opinion why was he overlooked?

RoosterLad
19 Jun 2007, 21:10
What about this Ian Callinan character? I hear he regularly tears it up for the Dogs.

Don't just pluck out random names.

This guy was an absolute star in the VFL and North were close to signing him a couple of years ago, he is good mates with the Gowans though so he said if he comes to Adelaide he will only play for Elizabeth. He is an absolute gun but there is no chance he will be drafted.

Macca19
19 Jun 2007, 21:10
Not sure whether Wundke will be drafted this year or not. As many know, hes been on the radar for at least 3 years now. I think hes probably a touch too slow for AFL KPP and probably not mobile enough for a pocket. See how he continues to develop this year though. If he keeps kicking a couple of goals a week then hes a big chance to get drafted.

Buckley I rate pretty highly. Reason he didnt get drafted was probably again hes a touch too slow and there were numerous players of his ilk rated higher than him. That natural aggression though. I remember the game against West last year at Richmond, in the space of 3 minutes he gave Jeremy Clayton a rib tickler in the bottom of a pack. Clayton decked him which gave him a free. 30 seconds later him and Clayton were toe to toe throwing real punches at each other. A minute after that he baited Maric into picking him up, body slamming him and putting him in a headlock. Ended in 2.1 in the space of 3 minutes through baiting his opposition into decking him. Crazy ****er.

Drummond
19 Jun 2007, 21:19
In your opinion why was he overlooked?
Not the quickest going around and perhaps he’s a little too undisciplined at times. Hasn't had a great 2007 either which isn't good for his chances. But I think he has what it takes.

What about this Ian Callinan character? I hear he regularly tears it up for the Dogs.
He's 24 I think. Obviously a very good player though, but could never make the top level.

- PC -
19 Jun 2007, 21:21
Not the quickest going around and perhaps he’s a little too undisciplined at times. Hasn't had a great 2007 either which isn't good for his chances. But I think he has what it takes.

Cheers. Heard a lot about him going top 20 and wondered what happened

Drummond
19 Jun 2007, 21:25
Buckley I rate pretty highly. Reason he didnt get drafted was probably again hes a touch too slow and there were numerous players of his ilk rated higher than him. That natural aggression though. I remember the game against West last year at Richmond, in the space of 3 minutes he gave Jeremy Clayton a rib tickler in the bottom of a pack. Clayton decked him which gave him a free. 30 seconds later him and Clayton were toe to toe throwing real punches at each other. A minute after that he baited Maric into picking him up, body slamming him and putting him in a headlock. Ended in 2.1 in the space of 3 minutes through baiting his opposition into decking him. Crazy ****er.
Sounds about right. :D

Even two weeks back he was in a few fights against much taller South opponents, I think he was in a wrestle with Parry and they were both getting stuck in. Gave away 3 free kicks for the day. Quality stuff. :p

bus24
19 Jun 2007, 21:30
He was right in the thick of the rumble on Sunday too IIRC.

jo172
19 Jun 2007, 22:32
Am i the only one who is able to distinguish between Michael and James Wundke?

Southerntakeover
19 Jun 2007, 22:35

What makes you say that?

RoosterLad
19 Jun 2007, 22:37

No..

-CG-
19 Jun 2007, 22:39

James is taller and less 'stocky' looking compared to Michael.

jo172
19 Jun 2007, 22:46
What makes you say that?

Judging by comments that Mike will go somewhere in the top 8 or so when he's been overlooked twice now compared to SA u18's/AIS James who would arguably be a more realistic chance to go top 10 in 07.

Southerntakeover
19 Jun 2007, 22:48
Judging by comments that Mike will go somewhere in the top 8 or so when he's been overlooked twice now compared to SA u18's/AIS James who would arguably be a more realistic chance to go top 10 in 07.

James is the top 10 chance IMO.

Mike is still a very realistic chance to get drafted, considering he is the one playing league atm.

BTW, only overlooked once.

jo172
19 Jun 2007, 22:51
James is the top 10 chance IMO.

Mike is still a very realistic chance to get drafted, considering he is the one playing league atm.

BTW, only overlooked once.

Well of course you know the difference between the two ;)

ICanDressMyself
19 Jun 2007, 23:44
Mike is fatter and speaks like fitzy.

whattagun07
20 Jun 2007, 23:38
re: summerton's 3rd quarter on the weekend,
it was ginever who apparently praised summo's third quarter as his best for the club during the 3 qtr time huddle. (maybe soders was lying)
Don't shoot the messenger

turbo182
20 Jun 2007, 23:59
Ohhh crows pick up summo!

Mates with crows player = awesome news.

Go_Dogs
21 Jun 2007, 20:21
Wonaemirri is one that I think a lot of clubs will look at.

Young Aish has been doing OK at SANFL level this season too from the small bits and pieces that I've seen of Norwood this year. He'd be about 20+ though now wouldn't he?

Interesting read, thanks for posting.

- PC -
21 Jun 2007, 20:55
Wonaemirri is one that I think a lot of clubs will look at.

Ahh yes I forgot about the goalsneak. Will keep an eye on him tomorrow night.

- PC -
23 Jun 2007, 01:26
Ahh yes I forgot about the goalsneak. Will keep an eye on him tomorrow night.

I heard he doesnt like the cold weather. No desire to play SANFL and stick it out then I dont want the Crows recruiting someone who hasnt got the right attitude

Punchy Bassett
23 Jun 2007, 02:11
I heard he doesnt like the cold weather. No desire to play SANFL and stick it out then I dont want the Crows recruiting someone who hasnt got the right attitude

:mad: Dude not cool, read the SANFL thread.

- PC -
23 Jun 2007, 09:02
:mad: Dude not cool, read the SANFL thread.

No mention of him nor any reason he isnt playing...please direct me to the appropriate post/thread.

Gets!
23 Jun 2007, 17:30
His family member passed away and is taking some time off.

crowman_23
29 Jun 2007, 01:29

That'd be Wanagas. Is an absolute tough nut. Would love to see him get a second chance and be drafted this season Has the footy smarts to make it IMO. Perhaps his desire to play might not be all there, but he just has a great footy mind and is no doubt worth a shot.

AndrewJo
1 Jul 2007, 12:44
And that assessment was given before his 14 goals. Spot on McLeod23.

Crows88
2 Jul 2007, 14:27
Told you boys get on Matty Wright...kicked 4 yesterday for SA 18's from a forward flank and in the best!..

Drummond
2 Jul 2007, 14:33
I played with Toby back in juniors and i'm saying No ####ing Way right now! Once every one is his size he is a very average footballer.

One who has improved alot this year is Michael Wundke from North Adelaide and should be looked out for;)

Also another bloke worth looking at is Andy Read from Sturt, he's only played 2 reserves games and is very raw (he's only played footy for 2 years) he has a hell of alot of pace and natural flair.
Schulz was BOG in the reserves this week. ;)

-CG-
2 Jul 2007, 15:32
Told you boys get on Matty Wright...kicked 4 yesterday for SA 18's from a forward flank and in the best!..

Kicked 5 the week before, in one quarter ;)

bus24
2 Jul 2007, 15:35
Kicked 5 the week before, in one quarter ;)

Yep, he's a star :thumbsu:

Carved us up many a time.

fantastic_crows
2 Jul 2007, 23:26
He's a gun at everything.

He'll get drafted for sure, pretty highly too one would think.

bus24
2 Jul 2007, 23:28
He's a gun at everything.

He'll get drafted for sure, pretty highly too one would think.

I'm not sure how highly though. Even in a weak draft I don't think he's one of the top prospects although his performances for SA might lift him up a bit.

I'll go late 2nd round as I think he lacks a bit of size.

fantastic_crows
2 Jul 2007, 23:33
I'm not sure how highly though. Even in a weak draft I don't think he's one of the top prospects although his performances for SA might lift him up a bit.

I'll go late 2nd round as I think he lacks a bit of size.

He doesn't lack that much size anymore. I saw him about a month ago and he's bulked up a lot and would probably be around the 185 mark in height.

Shane Edwards is smaller than that and he went at pick 26.

I'll go late 1st round, early 2nd.