View Full Version : Exam experiences

Pages : [1] 2

Juddyzthebest
13 Jun 2007, 18:13
Well its that time of the year unfortunately and exams are here.

Anyways ive done a few in my time and the other day i was thinking about the stupidiest thing ive done in an exam....

It got me thinking what things people have done in exams that have made them think 'what the #### did i just do' after they got out.

Whats the dumbest thing you have done in an exam or whats the worst thing that has happened to you before or during one?

Isandula
13 Jun 2007, 21:36
Sat there in complete disarray (and dread!), staring at a physical science exam without a clue about anything, was completely blank!:eek:
Luckily everything made sense about 30 minutes later and yes I did pass thank god, but my god it isn't fun when that happens I seriously thought about running out! :o

Ted Ed Fred
13 Jun 2007, 21:42
Rocked up to an open book law exam 5 minutes late because I couldn't find a park. Walked in, 600 people in the room, exam had already started, and dropped all my books in front of everyone :o :D

Emerald
13 Jun 2007, 22:04
Was going through a really bad virus and the time came for my Year 11 Ancient History exam. I was never very good at the subject, and being sick just made it worse, but my teacher saw me and he just said 'do your best, that's all you can do'.
So I get into the room and the time come for 5 minutes of reading. Of course after a year of 'always read the questions thoroughly' I misread my questions.
The paper said something like choose 3 of the following 6 questions to answer in essay format. I answered all 6. :o
Needless to say I failed the exam miserably, but never misread a question again!

Embers
13 Jun 2007, 22:08
I went straight from a overnight stay at the hospital to my English exam for my TEE. Now thats dedication. I always write messages on my exam papers telling the people what I think of there questions. Exam I had today was full of shit so I told them about it too.

Stenglein's a Champ!
14 Jun 2007, 00:03
Had a practical exam for physics a few weeks ago. Had to build a circuit to find out whether a particular resistor was ohmic or non-ohmic. I was trying to put this circuit together and was having no luck, called the teacher over and said; "I think my ammeter's broken", she simply replied; "No, there's something wrong with your circuit". Needless to say, I was becoming more and more frustrated, until, with two minutes to go I remembered I had to put the unknown resistor into the circuit:rolleyes:. Didn't get all my answers down but I still got the right answer.

In the same exam, there was a question asking about completing an experiment to find the latent heat of fusion for ice. My mate sat through the whole 25 alotted minutes wondering how to get the answer with only water. It wasn't until he was onto the next station when he saw someone walk up to the big esky up the front and take some ice from it. Obviously I laughed my ass off at him.

People who did/do physics might be the only one's to really understand what I'm saying.

The_Eagles
14 Jun 2007, 12:48
had a cone before an art exam because it was my last one in year 12 and I was planning on not counting...
somehow must have analysed uniquely coz I got like 84

Im gonna ####ing perish for linguistics this monday however

MAG87
14 Jun 2007, 15:48
i remember on 2 occasions where ive been cut down in an exam. first one was semester 1 in year 12 was coming down with an awful cold and i had a chemistry exam. thought i could do it in the state i was in but big mistake. was blank for an hour and then managed to finish the paper. got 52% which affected my ranking at the end of the year.

i remember another occasion in my 2nd semester in engineering. was doing an electrical systems exam and all of a sudden in the middle of the exam i had a blood nose. just kept on bleeding. wouldnt stop. for half an hour i couldnt do my exam. luckily i managed to pull in the exam supervisor and forced her to write a note saying that i had a blood nose in the exam and it may have affected my performance. it sure worked.

last year in 2nd year. i forgot to bring a page of notes that i was allowed to do. did the exam then after the exam went to the head lecturer and told him i left my notes at home it may have affected my performance is there by any chance i could get a supplimentary. he said we'll see. didnt get one (cheers prick) and left uni for 8 months.

finally a good story, had an exam about 3 weeks ago. i didnt attend any of the lectures for the entire semester and crammed in the last 3 days before the exam. i couldnt believe my eyes when i saw i got a high distinction.

so yeh exams and I have had a very rocky relationship, i have lost count on the amount of times ive gone blank or the amount of times ive written bullshit to save my arse. sadly its been more negative than good (there has been a shitload of times ive misread the question as well). moral of the story is ensure to always be in good health and be focused. take all measures to get to that position. glad exams are over. 7 weeks of relaxation then its back to square 1.

Ljp86
14 Jun 2007, 18:02
i or the amount of times ive written bullshit to save my arse.

Year 11 and 12 TEE English board.

Scotland
14 Jun 2007, 18:47
last year in 2nd year. i forgot to bring a page of notes that i was allowed to do. did the exam then after the exam went to the head lecturer and told him i left my notes at home it may have affected my performance is there by any chance i could get a supplimentary. he said we'll see. didnt get one (cheers prick) and left uni for 8 months.

How is forgetting some notes a legitimate reason for a supplementary exam? Supps are for people who nearly pass (ie get around 45-50%). If you know your shit you shouldn't be relying upon notes pages (which are really more of a bonus than a necessity most of the time) to drag you up to 45%. If you meant deferred exam, as in extenuating circumstances, then you should harden up.:)

heals
14 Jun 2007, 20:35

The other day i wrote something like the red jam splattering over the antagonists shirt symbolises that the blood is on his hands.

JKCeagle
14 Jun 2007, 21:26
The other day i wrote something like the red jam splattering over the antagonists shirt symbolises that the blood is on his hands.

In Year 12 English Lit I wrote the biggest piece of crap essay in my life, on either Tim Winton's Cloudstreet or Sophocles' Oedipus the King, can't remember which...anyways my Lit teacher made me read it out in front of the whole class and said it was the first time in 30 years as a teacher that he'd given a 100% for an essay :thumbsu:

wce_all_da_way
14 Jun 2007, 21:40
In Year 12 English Lit I wrote the biggest piece of crap essay in my life, on either Tim Winton's Cloudstreet or Sophocles' Oedipus the King, can't remember which...anyways my Lit teacher made me read it out in front of the whole class and said it was the first time in 30 years as a teacher that he'd given a 100% for an essay :thumbsu:

Ahh well that's lit for ya :thumbsu:

Remember Year 11 Lit exam, hadn't read the book (Pride and Prejudice), looked up some internet notes on it and asked my friends a few questions on it and quickly read some handouts on it before I went into the exam and came out with 75% for that essay. 5 % more than the person that helped me :)

Worst one is again year 11, Chemistry this time though. I'm going through the questions and get to one I need my calculator notes for. Unfortunately, my calculator (graphics) was screwy. All my notes and formulas had been wiped and I was left with a blank calculator. Thank God it was year 11 and worth shit all. Still got 51% though :D Probably shouldn't have relied on notes though, oh well.

MAG87
14 Jun 2007, 22:24
How is forgetting some notes a legitimate reason for a supplementary exam? Supps are for people who nearly pass (ie get around 45-50%). If you know your shit you shouldn't be relying upon notes pages (which are really more of a bonus than a necessity most of the time) to drag you up to 45%. If you meant deferred exam, as in extenuating circumstances, then you should harden up.:)

you just answered your question. i knew i was gonna fail the exam. i have to admit i neglected that subject. lol anways failing the exam was the best thing to happen to me. honestly it really was.

Mr Eagle
15 Jun 2007, 11:20

I am probably one of the few people who has ever attempted to characterise a protagonist as a "nutbag" in his year 12 English exam.

peterss
15 Jun 2007, 16:39
Ive had 2 out of 4 exams for uni so far!

Stuffed up on my first one (I think) but went good on the 2nd one today :)

lyall
15 Jun 2007, 19:58
TEE physics exam last year. Went in having done no study, already failed for the year and wasnt going to be counted towards my TEE anyway. Sat there for 20 minutes with absolutely no idea about any of it. I did a little bit of it and then decided to stay for the rest of it, feeling that I hadn't sat in the stupid class all year to leave one hour into the exam.

Decided to draw a turtle on my calculator and ended up being pretty good (well the girls loved it anyway) and probabley the most I had done in Physics all year.

Got 17% for the exam

Emerald
15 Jun 2007, 21:00
Haha TEE.

How many times I sat in the exam room during reading time and wondered if I was in the right room :o

OLDEP
15 Jun 2007, 21:18
This will sound stupid, as I cannot recall it correctly. This was a biology mock exam, where I had to decribe meiosis or mitosis or something of a cell. I've tried to bullshit my way through it, but it came out looking a lot like a vagina. I pissed myself laughing in the exam. Needless to say from my memory of the subject i got 48% but guess what, full marks on that question. Spun me out.

Total_Juddshanks
18 Jun 2007, 18:41
My fondest memory of TEE was my lit exam- was the last exam, and everyone was a bit strung out.

This chinese girl in my class was wandering around the exam room unable to find her name on the table- everyone else had sat down and she was still wandering around, the examiners had asked her repeatedly what her name was, and had hunted around checking all the examination cards on the no-show desks, had asked everyone to double check their name cards, and still couldn't find anywhere for her to sit.

They started quizzing her whether she was actually in this exam, and she started to cry.

Finally, one of the examiners double checked her admission sheet thingy again, and said, um your name isn't (chinese name) is it?

She stopped crying, and said yes. She'd forgotten that she was registered with her actual chinese name rather than what she called herself, and had been too stressed to notice when she'd read the name cards on the desk.

The entire room pissed themselves laughing for most of reading time, poor girl.

The_Eagles
18 Jun 2007, 19:13
hmmm Im pretty sure I just got 50/50 for multiple choice in my archaeology exam today. w00t
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon14.gif

Lynch takes a mark
21 Jun 2007, 10:59
my one and only exam for this semester today

my other units were project based

Corporations law 2 :(

so boring

stewpyd2
21 Jun 2007, 11:18
I got 4% in my first year computer science exam on some kind of programming language. Needless to say I quit CS.

I got 12% for the unit.

Embers
21 Jun 2007, 14:23
I got 4% in my first year computer science exam on some kind of programming language. Needless to say I quit CS.

I got 12% for the unit.

Haha. Thats pretty funny stuff.

FiveStrings
21 Jun 2007, 14:29
my one and only exam for this semester today

my other units were project based

Corporations law 2 :(

so boring

Was it more or less boring than corporations law 1?

Embers
21 Jun 2007, 14:38

Corporations Law 9 was the best. Their was alot of hype from students about Corporations Law 14 but it didnt quite live up to the hype im afraid

Isandula
21 Jun 2007, 16:35
Well Im quiet pleased, had my last exam today, Yah!:thumbsu: was zoology for aquaculture, and bloody hell Im sick of writing essays in exams, when you dont have spell check it makes life for 'bad' spellers hard :rolleyes: especially since this subject today had so many shockingly long and difficult words

Lynch takes a mark
21 Jun 2007, 20:55

the '2' is simply to indicate a second year unit

I was exempt from the first year unit because of TAFE stuff

David_Brent
21 Jun 2007, 21:06
the '2' is simply to indicate a second year unit

I was exempt from the first year unit because of TAFE stuff

So you are doing law but you went to tafe?

I thought Corps was a 3rd+ yr unit at most units?

Lynch takes a mark
21 Jun 2007, 22:40
So you are doing law but you went to tafe?

I thought Corps was a 3rd+ yr unit at most units?

It was one the units I needed to do to qualify for the CA program

which I have now done, 1 unit left and I finished my degree in fact

I dropped out in Year 11 and did an advanced diploma of Accounting, then onto uni with some exemptions for first year units and a couple of second year units.

David_Brent
21 Jun 2007, 22:45
It was one the units I needed to do to qualify for the CA program

which I have now done, 1 unit left and I finished my degree in fact

I dropped out in Year 11 and did an advanced diploma of Accounting, then onto uni with some exemptions for first year units and a couple of second year units.

Nice stuff.

So your doing accounting? Didnt know you needed to do Corps for that.

Lynch takes a mark
21 Jun 2007, 22:52
Nice stuff.

So your doing accounting? Didnt know you needed to do Corps for that.
Finished accounting now

get to do more sports science :thumbsu:

heals
21 Jun 2007, 23:12
Got human biol mark back today and 45% :(:(:( i was cut. I blame the stress of my footy incident.

Eagle_Fan
23 Jun 2007, 05:12
I was at uni for about a decade, so there's a fair few to choose from, but the pick is probably the major dispensing exam in third year where you have to consult with supervisors acting as 'patients' and 'doctors' to correct any problems then prepare their creams, lotions, mixtures or whatever in a designated time frame. I'd had the flu and was so doped up on a combination of self prescribed treatments that to this day I don't remember anything about the exam other than the fact I had no voice and had to write all my questions down during the mock consultations. Fell asleep in the car straight afterwards too. Passed easily somehow.

For year 12 Lit I effectively wrote the same essay for every poetry section of every exam/mock/test, just slightly changing the focus so it met the question. Hated all the girly overly flowery poems we'd studied, so I memorised the two most gory and disgusting poems I could find, and recycled the same essay. Worked a treat.

We had a girl in yr12 that fainted any time she didn't want to do a test or exam, so prior to each TEE exam we'd bet on how long she'd last. Record was an hour before fainting, hitting her head on the desk and falling on the floor. Was worth the wait.

Anyway, I did my final ever exam earlier this year in one of the private boxes in the ANZ stand (oral exam with board of examiners situation, no idea why they held it there), and man was it hard to concentrate looking out over subi! Luckily it was only groundstaff and not training.

JKCeagle
23 Jun 2007, 12:31

I got 12% for the unit.

:p :thumbsu:

George_A_Romero
23 Jun 2007, 17:36
I did my TEE in 1994, and had basically piss farted around the whole year and had no chance of passing my exams.

My parents kept asking me when the TEE was starting, and I kept giving them some bullshit date.

However, my first exam was on the first day of the TEE - my parents asked if I had an exam that day, and I told them, "Nah, the TEE doesn't start until next week..."

Anyway, given the proximity of my high school to the Channel 7 studios, the 7 news crew up show up at our school to shoot their annual "start of the TEE" story.

When I went into the exam room, I found my allocated seat - right at the front of the room (there were about 100 other seats I could have been given).

And there just happened to be a Channel 7 camera at the front of the room, filming everyone coming in, sitting down etc.

Anyway, to cut a long story short - I went home that afternoon, still in denial to my parents about the TEE starting that day.

Then at 6 o clock, on comes the Channel 7 news - and my face is right up there on the TV screen (taking up the full screen), looking all white faced and shitting myself as Rick Ardon says "And also tonight, Exam Time begins for Year 12 students across Perth"

Suffice to say, karma had bitten me on the ass and I was enrolled at Tuart College within a week. :p

BarcaRulz
24 Jun 2007, 01:30
Well, i've got tons of these. Thankfuly i've never failed anything (except one lousy test), but still.

In my first year of Uni i had a marketing subject. Did really well in the semester and got a 42 out of 50 from assignments and whatnots. Then the final exam came and i only needed an 8/50 to pass, so i didn't really study. Went into the final and had no problems solving it, then the results came out and i was shocked to see i got a bare 50 pass. Was absolutely pissed and i planned on lashing out against the teacher for making such a stupid mistake. Anyway, i called the guy and angrily said "why did you give me an 8/50 on the final? i couldn't have done that badly.." to which he replied "i didn't, i gave you a 7/50 but decided to give the extra point to pass you".. I said thankyou and hung up.. :o

The big ROObowski
10 Jul 2007, 02:23
One bad story, a strange one and two good ones.
Yr 11 lit exam the 'question' was something along the lines of 'the racist undertones are apparent'...nothing else. the first ten minutes consisted of me mouthing wtf to my mates behind me.Wrote 3 pages of utter shite. and the whole class nearly crucified the teacher the next day.
1st year philosophy exam. Give your view on the meaning of life in 500 words. I got to 700 talking out of my arse while my friend simply drew a circle and walked out. he got full marks(freakin philosophy).Going back a while year 10 maths my worst subject ever needed 27% to pass the year and got that exact score after breaking my balls for two weeks (numbers root me) spoke to my teacher next saying what a coincidence it was i got that score and he said that he had boosted me 8% just to pass, legend(though if he hadnt told me i could have retained some self confidence from it) and not an exam but year 12 lit we all had to do a journal for an outcome and when handing up time rolled around i had lost it. told him i had put it on his desk and when marks came out i scored higher than some kids who busted their balls the line in the report on it "a keen attention to detail" is one of my favourite quotes now.

Isandula
11 Jul 2007, 09:09
Just got my Uni results back for semester one and have passed them all, 2 distinctions and 2 credits so I am pretty happy. However, it could have easy been 3 distinictions, missed out by a lowsy 1% in Governement (the one I dislike and dont know why I choose it) :rolleyes: But I cant be to fussy
Any way three Cheers to me :thumbsu::D

MAG87
11 Jul 2007, 17:29
got my results back today. got 2 hds, 1 d and 2 cs. first semester report i had at uni without any fails and supps. im happy with that.

Embers
11 Jul 2007, 17:34
28% in my exam got me a 41% overall. Haha dont even know why I bothered

The_Eagles
12 Jul 2007, 00:29
D
D
Cr
P

94_Eagles
12 Jul 2007, 22:38
Finishing Uni and no more exams = awesome.

Full time work and early mornings bites. And now they've banned Bigfooty also :thumbsd:

Ambrose Burnside
13 Jul 2007, 13:08
2 HDs, 1 D and a C.

I'm happy with that (except the C, and the D only because it was 2% below an HD :p).

Lynch takes a mark
13 Jul 2007, 20:51
Accounting information systems 3 - CR
Accounting workshop 3 - CR
Company Law 2 - P

Isandula
30 Oct 2007, 14:12
Well its that time of the year again, tomorrow is my first exam for this semester, Ecology of Aquatic Sustainability yay (not!) 3 hours of it at 9:00am!!!! Far too early and if that ain't bad enough I have Government (note to people don't ever do this unit! Booorring) at 9:00am on Thursday. Gets better though, my Psychology exam is at 9:00am on Saturday, what they were thinking I really don't know buts that's a horrible time and day (pricks and its a long weekend) :rolleyes:
Then I have to wait to next Friday for my final exam, Physical Environment at 1:00pm, nice to have it later thank christ.

Changing my course after this year, was doing the Bachelor of Science now going to do Natural Wilderness and Environmental Studies (that's a mouthful). Better units in it and more variety, had it as my second preference bloody wish I chose it to start with though, only two of my units from this year counts so I'm kinda going to be half a semester behind.

heals
30 Oct 2007, 15:01
First TEE exam next thursday :eek::(:thumbsd:

Juddyzthebest
5 Nov 2007, 17:59
Well its that time of the year again, tomorrow is my first exam for this semester, Ecology of Aquatic Sustainability yay (not!) 3 hours of it at 9:00am!!!! Far too early and if that ain't bad enough I have Government (note to people don't ever do this unit! Booorring) at 9:00am on Thursday. Gets better though, my Psychology exam is at 9:00am on Saturday, what they were thinking I really don't know buts that's a horrible time and day (pricks and its a long weekend) :rolleyes:
Then I have to wait to next Friday for my final exam, Physical Environment at 1:00pm, nice to have it later thank christ.

Changing my course after this year, was doing the Bachelor of Science now going to do Natural Wilderness and Environmental Studies (that's a mouthful). Better units in it and more variety, had it as my second preference bloody wish I chose it to start with though, only two of my units from this year counts so I'm kinda going to be half a semester behind.

I take it you go to UWA? You lot start early, when are you finsihed by?
Ahhh **** exams. Im over it and they havent even started.

wce0632
5 Nov 2007, 18:16
TEE: 2 down...3 to go.
so not prepped for english..bloody government changing it, the teachers have no idea how to teach it or what to teach!

the stomach rumbles all around the room always make me laugh because the person whose stomach rumbles always jumps or jolts in response.

TOA.
5 Nov 2007, 18:37
Admin, Trusts and Property Law.

I literally have left my home 3 times in the last 4 days. Not healthy. Thats why you do your uni work through the semester kids.

**** I hate studying.

Isandula
5 Nov 2007, 18:57
I take it you go to UWA? You lot start early, when are you finsihed by?
Ahhh **** exams. Im over it and they havent even started.

No go to UTAS (Launceston) 2nd semester exams, finished Uni 19th Oct and last exam is this Friday.

February is when I go back.

wce_all_da_way
5 Nov 2007, 19:00
I literally have left my home 3 times in the last 4 days. Not healthy. Thats why you do your uni work through the semester kids.

Just sounds like your average BigFooty poster to me ;).

ashley12
5 Nov 2007, 22:19
Might as well add my 2 cents to the thread.

The first exam experience came in a year 11 mid year in 2005. A guy at the front of the class farted and instantly handballed the blame to the guy next to him. Had us all pissing with laughter and if it wasnt for the fact this was the first exam we ever done then we would have all failed.

The other one was from last years TEE, in particular the TEE English exam. The very first question was about a comparison of Barbie dolls compared to Bratz dolls. Looking at our star school ruckmen scratching his head about Bratz dolls still cracks me up 2day.

Had the topic been about footy or V8s the girls in the class would have all failed

Curiously the result i got for that exam overall (70%) was the best I ever got in a english exam (others were 50, 45, 51, 49):o

West Coast Premiers 2006
5 Nov 2007, 23:32
I have 4 exams next week with 3 of them in less than 24 hours :thumbsd:.

Contract Law
Business Information Systems (Worst unit ever)
Marketing
Sports Adminastration

Going alright this semester but so it takes the pressure off but still exams are exams.

ashley12
5 Nov 2007, 23:36
I have Contract, Sports Admin, Marketing and Management on 4 consecutive days.

SA should be piss easy though. After my mate managed to use the words "the missus wasnt happy" in a speech the class couldnt be that hard.

Worried bout Contract though, only got 17/40 in the m/c test (had a massive hangover) missed most the lectures and some tutes as well.

West Coast Premiers 2006
5 Nov 2007, 23:42
You obviously go to curtin. Lol probably seen you around. That test was harder than i thought ey. How are you going in SA?

ashley12
5 Nov 2007, 23:48
Going allright in Sports Admin but not that great anywhere else.

Got 43/60 (71.5%) in the first test, 14/20 in the big assignment and 13.5 in the speechs.

Had to do a speech on a star player being traded to another club. Unfortunately had lots of background information to draw upon:(

West Coast Premiers 2006
5 Nov 2007, 23:53
I hell liked this unit ey. Want to get into it when i finish Uni.

ashley12
6 Nov 2007, 00:03
I hell liked this unit ey. Want to get into it when i finish Uni.

The good lecturer/tutor helped as well made the subject better as well.

Bad exam to have last for me because when i only have the one exam left, that time gets used on a subject i know the best.

Should get a distinction

Liub
6 Nov 2007, 00:34
I go to Curtin.

I've got exams coming up on Marketing, Economics, Business Stats, and System Analysis and Design.

Marketing, Econ, and Bus Stats are pretty good. System Analysis is the first time the subject has be run at the uni, gayest subject (don't take it if you have a choice). Crappy Lecturer. Crappy Tutor. We still haven't got our first assessment back from the start of the semester.

Exams should be okay, but I'm worried about System Analysis.

I remember in the TEE exams last year I made up some bullshit story about myself and it paid off. I got 78% (was expecting just a pass). Mind you, it got scaled down to 67.

Liub
6 Nov 2007, 00:37
I have 4 exams next week with 3 of them in less than 24 hours :thumbsd:.

Contract Law
Business Information Systems (Worst unit ever)
Marketing
Sports Adminastration

Going alright this semester but so it takes the pressure off but still exams are exams.
If you hate BIS, don't even think about doing System Analysis and Design 150. Biggest waste of time. You get zero knowledge from it.

I'm assuming you're a first year at Curtin like me? The Marketing lecturer is probably the best lecturer I've had so far. Did you have Neil Robinson as your Tutor?

ashley12
6 Nov 2007, 00:39
BIS is a crap subject.

Did it, got a pass, and still dont know what the subject was supposed to teach me

The_Eagles
6 Nov 2007, 16:12
Archaeology tomorrow (UWA). seriously, gonna have to cheat (write stuff under my shorts)
Linguistics is a bit of a write off. Luckily Im on about 80 for the year. I'll end up about 63 overall after the exam i reckon.

West Coast Premiers 2006
6 Nov 2007, 16:14
If you hate BIS, don't even think about doing System Analysis and Design 150. Biggest waste of time. You get zero knowledge from it.

I'm assuming you're a first year at Curtin like me? The Marketing lecturer is probably the best lecturer I've had so far. Did you have Neil Robinson as your Tutor?

Nah i have some chick called Jenny something. She's been pretty good. The marketing lecture comes into the bottleo i work at he's a really good bloke and obviously loves what he is doing.

Yeah i am first year enjoying it to. What you studying?

Juddyzthebest
6 Nov 2007, 18:34
BIS is a crap subject.

Did it, got a pass, and still dont know what the subject was supposed to teach me

Same.
Seriously who needs to know how what the **** is inside a computer. As long as you can use it, who gives a shit!

For those of you doin Sports Admin, is it anygood? Is any one doing it as a major. Im considering changing my course...

ashley12
6 Nov 2007, 18:56
Nah i have some chick called Jenny something. She's been pretty good. The marketing lecture comes into the bottleo i work at he's a really good bloke and obviously loves what he is doing.

Yeah i am first year enjoying it to. What you studying?

That would be Jennifer Cornwell. I had her as a tutor on Monday mornings at 10am. Didnt pay a super lot of attention to the subject but she seemed a good teacher.

The best Tutor ever was a guy in BIS. He WAS the subject. Fanatical Liverpool supporter and into his music. One conversation with him about a short assignment. (worth 2 marks for the year.

Him: Have you done your analyse yet?
Student: No
Him: Yes you have, one mark out of 2

Legend

Liub
6 Nov 2007, 19:10
That would be Jennifer Cornwell. I had her as a tutor on Monday mornings at 10am. Didnt pay a super lot of attention to the subject but she seemed a good teacher.

The best Tutor ever was a guy in BIS. He WAS the subject. Fanatical Liverpool supporter and into his music. One conversation with him about a short assignment. (worth 2 marks for the year.

Legend
HA! I had him as well for BIS last semester. Tony Mullin is his name. Great bloke. Love the hair :D. I used to get into arguments with him coz I'm an Arsenal supporter. :thumbsu:

He's in the Perth band called Lemon something.

If you are in his class, you are almost guaranteed to pass.

West Coast Premiers 2006 - I'm majoring in Finance/Info Systems

ashley12
6 Nov 2007, 19:13
Band was called Loads. What a deadset legend. Im a United fan and in the hour long class you could spend 55minutes talking music and soccer.

The other 5 minutes would be used on giving us extensions.

Liub
6 Nov 2007, 19:17
Ah yeah thats right, it was Loads. Dunno where I got Lemon from lol.

I would rock up 20 mins late almost every lesson and he still gave me 75% for tute marks.

He would let us hand in assignments late all the time.

Every Tutor should be like him, then maybe people would want to come to class.

ashley12
6 Nov 2007, 19:19
Sports Admin is definately a degree to get into, but make sure you do it in a double with something a bit more standard.

Im doing accounting and Sports Admin because I won an accounting scholarship with RSM Bird Cameron.

If you have an interest in sport definetly get into SA.

ashley12
6 Nov 2007, 19:26
Ah yeah thats right, it was Loads. Dunno where I got Lemon from lol.

I would rock up 20 mins late almost every lesson and he still gave me 75% for tute marks.

He would let us hand in assignments late all the time.

Every Tutor should be like him, then maybe people would want to come to class.

Dont worry he only got in 2 minutes before you more often then not.

I had him at 11am in the Wednesday which was his first class, parking issues meant he was always late.:D

Liub
6 Nov 2007, 19:36
Dont worry he only got in 2 minutes before you more often then not.

I had him at 11am in the Wednesday which was his first class, parking issues meant he was always late.:D
Yeah I was in the same 11am Wednesday class last semester and couldnt get up early in the morning, and yeah parking is a bitch.

I remember in the first tute we were discussing sports teams and half the class went for Eagles and the other half Dockers. Everyone was saying they loved the Eagles when they're not all in jail. Haha - fun times.

Simon_Nesbit
6 Nov 2007, 19:36
Hmm...exams are generally not my fondest of memories...I suffer from a stress-related anxiety disorder, so you can guess what exams did to me.

Probably the worst one was in Qualitative Methods (basically math), a subject I was extremely strong in. A few weeks into the unit the 2nd tutor quit, and I ended up taking the two or three tutorials for the remainder of the subject. I had 98% internally, and only one kid (out of 40-odd) failing internally.

Come the exam, we had our last minute coffees and chat, then into the room. Sit down, start reading the questions...blank. complete blank.

I walked out after the 3 hours (longest I had EVER sat in an exam), knowing perfectly well I had bombed. I got 7% on the exam. Yep. Seven %. Luckily it got me to 50.2% overall, and the lecturer talked me into a pass.

Every single one of the kids in my tutorial passed the exam. Except me. And I was the one that bloody taught them!

ashley12
6 Nov 2007, 19:55
Yeah I was in the same 11am Wednesday class last semester and couldnt get up early in the morning, and yeah parking is a bitch.

I remember in the first tute we were discussing sports teams and half the class went for Eagles and the other half Dockers. Everyone was saying they loved the Eagles when they're not all in jail. Haha - fun times.

I just remember him bullying one of the kids into admitting that Gerrard was better then Cesc Fabregas.

Probably the best tute I will ever have just for the first 20 minutes of the tute.

West Coast Premiers 2006
6 Nov 2007, 23:58

Legend

Yeah Tony i have him this semester. He's a ****en legend. Gave me full marks for participation and i only rocked up to half the tuts

I have only started sports admin but its the best subject i have done in all of uni or school. Then again i am averaging about 78%.

Liub
7 Nov 2007, 00:13
I'm considering changing from Info Sytems to Sports Admin.

What kind of jobs can you get with it?

West Coast Premiers 2006
7 Nov 2007, 00:25
Anything from event management to managing a player. I want to go into the adminastrative side of things like working for a club. I reckon its a really good major as far as i can tell from the unit that i have done.

ashley12
7 Nov 2007, 01:02
I'm considering changing from Info Sytems to Sports Admin.

What kind of jobs can you get with it?

Basically anything sports, such as events to manage, player management, club management (take on Nisbett if you really want to) or a member of commitees such as the IOC and the ICC.

Great intro class. Other units after the basic sports admin 102 include things on sports tourism, drugs in sport, player management etc... most of which are covered in the first unit but just elaborated upon, much like Legal Framework followed by Contract Law.

ep2006
10 Nov 2007, 18:10
Well, TEE English exam last Thursday, was shit, I probably did shit, oh well I can't go to university etc anyway as I only do three TEE subjects :D

I'm teetering 4F/3H, I either pass or fail year 12 (I hope I pass)!

Isandula
10 Nov 2007, 18:33
My last exam was yesterday (yay!) but it wasn't without a bit of trouble. You see I get to the uni and realise I didn't know which room it was held in (I didn't check), anyway I had 15 mins to find it and here I was running around like a headless goose trying to find where it was! It didn't occur to me that I should just go to admin and ask (would have made life a hell of a lot easier) :o
I did manage to find it but boy it wasn't fun. At least it was easy though :thumbsu:

heals
10 Nov 2007, 18:44
Did everyone else find the tee, english exam really really easy ?

Last one on monday with human biol, then its all over. Still cant believe it

Liub
11 Nov 2007, 20:29
Marketing 100 exam tomorrow. Everyone ready?

ashley12
11 Nov 2007, 20:33
Marketing 100 exam tomorrow. Everyone ready?

I need 7 out of 40 for the pass. Still looking to go close to the distinction but will be happy with a credit. Would did you get for the 35% assignment. Had 2 very talented group members and got 25/35. Same two group members helped me get 83% for the first group presentation. GUNS:thumbsu:

Not looking forward to the 9am start

Liub
11 Nov 2007, 20:43
Got 80% for 1st assign.

74% for presentation.

66% for major group assignment - had some lazy people and we had to rush it at the last minute.

Sitting on 71% average at the moment and would like to maintain the distinction after the exam :thumbsu:

quiksilva
11 Nov 2007, 20:49
The other one was from last years TEE, in particular the TEE English exam. The very first question was about a comparison of Barbie dolls compared to Bratz dolls.

Memories :D

lyall
11 Nov 2007, 20:54
Got Maths tomorrow. SHould be good fun

ashley12
11 Nov 2007, 21:00
Got Maths tomorrow. SHould be good fun

Coming from a man who said last year he wished he had an exam as part of your course, because you was bored while we were studying our asses off

West Coast Premiers 2006
11 Nov 2007, 22:04
I have Marketing 100 tomorrow. Only need 15% to pass which makes it easy. But i have just been told i got 0 for participation in Contract Law even though i only missed 3 tutes and was there for my participation(where you read out your answer in class). I am pissed at the moment:mad:

ashley12
11 Nov 2007, 22:07
I have Marketing 100 tomorrow. Only need 15% to pass which makes it easy. But i have just been told i got 0 for participation in Contract Law even though i only missed 3 tutes and was there for my participation(where you read out your answer in class). I am pissed at the moment:mad:

oooooooooooo crap.

I didnt get to the last few contract law tutes. I answered a few of the questions so i hope il get a few marks. If not passing contract is as good as gone for me. Only on 21/40 atm

West Coast Premiers 2006
11 Nov 2007, 22:10
oooooooooooo crap.

I didnt get to the last few contract law tutes. I answered a few of the questions so i hope il get a few marks. If not passing contract is as good as gone for me. Only on 21/40 atm

I emailed her and hopefully she stuffed up. Otherwise i am on 27 out of 50 so it will be tight. Did pretty well in the tut test though.

ashley12
12 Nov 2007, 11:08
Marketing 100 exam should be just about finished.

I left early, did ok. I knew 2 of the 5 long answer question pretty well and just used the last one as the third question (had it all explained within the question). Multiple choice section was hard, a few iffy questions that could goone way or the other.

Still a big chance to get the distinction. The main issue with the subject was the fact that the multiple choice answer sheet was on the back of the exam paper. I had been just circling the answer next to the question until the end of the paper, went to hand it in and as i turned it over i saw the blank answer sheet!!! Managed to fill it in regardless and the dude I called up to take my sheet waited 2 minutes for me to fill it out.

One done 4 to go. Management 100 tomorrow morning, how is everyones study going for that??

Scotland
12 Nov 2007, 13:13
Marketing and Management 100. Sigh, oh those were the days...:D

I excelled at Tavernology 101, personally.

West Coast Premiers 2006
12 Nov 2007, 15:29
Great news she did stuff up. I got 8 out of 10. I could not sleep last night stressing about that. Now i only need 30% in the exam to pass the unit. few:thumbsu:

West Coast Premiers 2006
12 Nov 2007, 19:04
Did any one do the marketing 100 exam this morning. What did you think of it. I thought most of the multis were nice and clear cut and for the long answers i did questions 1, 3 and 5. Gee that last one was easy. Any thoughts?

ashley12
12 Nov 2007, 19:11
Did any one do the marketing 100 exam this morning. What did you think of it. I thought most of the multis were nice and clear cut and for the long answers i did questions 1, 3 and 5. Gee that last one was easy. Any thoughts?

I did 2 and 3 first as I had studied 2 1 minute before I went inside. Was stuck for answers until I read question 5 all the way through. The b) part aswered part a) and the rest of it was simple.

Core, Actual and Augmented product wasnt hard and cant remember what 3 was made up of but it wasnt super hard.

A few of the multi's where 2 way bets but were mostly pretty simple

ep2006
12 Nov 2007, 20:11
Did everyone else find the tee, english exam really really easy ?

Last one on monday with human biol, then its all over. Still cant believe it

The TEE English was easier then the mocks for some reason, in my opinion, even though I'm probably going to fail the TEE English Exam (I got like, 41% in my Mock English exam).

Did Human Biology today, thought it was easier then the mock as well and even though I failed my Mock Human Biology, I have a feeling I'm going to pass my Human Biology TEE. :)

heals
12 Nov 2007, 21:10
The TEE English was easier then the mocks for some reason, in my opinion, even though I'm probably going to fail the TEE English Exam (I got like, 41% in my Mock English exam).

Did Human Biology today, thought it was easier then the mock as well and even though I failed my Mock Human Biology, I have a feeling I'm going to pass my Human Biology TEE. :)

Human biol interested me, like the exam i expected alot worse and was still looking for those, harder trickier ones. I stuffed up the extended answers thou.

ALL DONE BUT

ashley12
13 Nov 2007, 11:39
Management 100 today.

Was crapping myself before the exam as I had only studied 4 of the chapters during study week. Thought that I could do the other 8 chapters in one night (much like the scene in beerfest when the guy tries to drink his way out of a vat of beer).

Went to the exam first 2 questions worth 20 marks al up pretty easy and straight forward. Next two questions BIG ISSUES.

I dont know what it is but the questions that are worth the most marks are the ones I have brain fades on every exam. In this case, I had no idea about Mintsbergs 10 somethings and managerial cultures and crap.

Still should have got 25-30 out of 50 for the exam, giving me an average of between 60 and 63% for the year. Will take that any day of the week

Liub
13 Nov 2007, 19:43
Anyone sitting the Business Stats 101 exam on friday night?

lyall
13 Nov 2007, 22:24
Got Physics on Friday night.

Bloody annoying too, half of my mates around here are done so they'll all be hitting the piss early