View Full Version : Bay 114 road trip?

ICanDressMyself
13 Jun 2007, 18:53
What's the latest on this? Anyone up for going over to Melbourne to see the crowies play? The last I heard is that a few people were keen for the Collingwood match in round 22 I think it is.

Would be awesome to get everyone together and get it up and running, although for this to work it needs to be done very soon. If we can get some people together I'm in for sure.

Seanason
13 Jun 2007, 19:56
What's the latest on this? Anyone up for going over to Melbourne to see the crowies play? The last I heard is that a few people were keen for the Collingwood match in round 22 I think it is.

Would be awesome to get everyone together and get it up and running, although for this to work it needs to be done very soon. If we can get some people together I'm in for sure.
Sounds fair, funds pending.

Doing a GM style trip or booking accom?

Youd probably want to hire a bus either way.

ams4crows
13 Jun 2007, 20:29
Could you imagine the party on the bus on the way over!! It would be sensational!!

Vic Crow
13 Jun 2007, 21:07
I'm not sure that you're welcome in Melbourne ICDM. What are you now? 0-7? ;)

King Elvis
13 Jun 2007, 21:26
Once again, name the time and date, and I'm in.

Gets!
13 Jun 2007, 22:13
Round 22 would be perfect for me.

I'm as keen as mustard.

ICanDressMyself
13 Jun 2007, 22:49

Shhhhhhhh

Blue Red and Gold
13 Jun 2007, 23:14
would love to but funds would prevent me

fantastic_crows
13 Jun 2007, 23:22
Could do what Adelaide Utd do if the Crows are up for it.

The club pays for bus over to Melbourne, you pay for your admission into the game and thats it. You arrive at 8am on the day of the game, spend all day in Melbourne, head to the game, and then back to Adelaide straight after

Southerntakeover
13 Jun 2007, 23:29
No Brocky... you cant do it.

We need a win in round 22.

RoosterLad
13 Jun 2007, 23:30
That would be good if the Crows could do that. I flew over the United GF though, much much easier.

There is no way I would bus it over there, it would be a prick of a ride home after a massive day/night on the piss.

ICanDressMyself
13 Jun 2007, 23:32
I think we may be asking a liiiiiiiittle too much from the club ;) Would be awesome though.

Agree with Roosterlad as usual, a bus over there would be dreadful

- PC -
13 Jun 2007, 23:39
Essendon game is my target

Drive to my mums halfway on the Saturday, leave 7-8am Sunday morning arrive in Melbourne get to TD watch game celebrate win and then drive back to Adelaide arriving approx midnight back to work Monday

fantastic_crows
I think we may be asking a liiiiiiiittle too much from the club ;) Would be awesome though.

Its a fun ride there, but the ride back sucks.

Its a long ride, but when you're with your mates it flies.

Southerntakeover
The Supporters Group takes a bus over, but they seem to come back the same night and where the heck is the fun in that?

We might have to repeat our round 10 antics if we do want to go over brock.

Vic Crow
13 Jun 2007, 23:45
We might have to repeat our round 10 antics if we do want to go over brock.
I'm up for antics.:D

Southerntakeover
14 Jun 2007, 00:14
I'm up for antics.:D

Just try not to stack it running home this time :p

King Elvis
14 Jun 2007, 00:23
That would be good if the Crows could do that. I flew over the United GF though, much much easier.

There is no way I would bus it over there, it would be a prick of a ride home after a massive day/night on the piss.

Either keep drinking, or pass out.

beck*
14 Jun 2007, 02:50
The thought crossed my mind too... ;)

Vic Crow
14 Jun 2007, 09:24
Just try not to stack it running home this time :p
Haha, my knees are still all grazed and stuff. :o

Southerntakeover
14 Jun 2007, 10:54
Haha, my knees are still all grazed and stuff. :o

Thats your karma for pulling the disappearing act ;)

Vic Crow
14 Jun 2007, 12:18
Thats your karma for pulling the disappearing act ;)
I'm spewing about that. I'm still confused as to why I left. Like, I know I thought I had to catch the last train home and that I'd run out of money. But I could've caught a Night Rider bus home, got to an ATM, got the number of Sarah from Noble Park who I'd been chatting to and continued to have an awesome night.

Bah! :(:o

Mad Dog
14 Jun 2007, 12:42
The only way to do it is plan ahead when the draw comes out.....spend the summer scanning for cheap airfares.....$59 each way......:thumbsu:

I've done my time doing the bus thing.....:thumbsd:

crows98
14 Jun 2007, 12:51
Driving across is far better to taking the train or the bus, it only takes about 8 and ½ hours and you can stop when you like.

I am in the process of planning my trip for the Friday night game against St Kilda. Leave midnight on Thursday night; have a few hours doing the crap stuff (shopping) in Melbourne before heading to the game. Stay Friday night and drive back Saturday.

But flying is the preferred option. :thumbsu:

ams4crows
14 Jun 2007, 13:03
well it's a Friday night game at the Dome on the 31st of August

If anyone want to find some kind cheap way to get there that's the ^^date!

Mr_Smooth
14 Jun 2007, 13:22

what about a train ride over??

it's far more comfortable, and it doens't quite cost as much...

NikkiNoo
14 Jun 2007, 13:46
what about a train ride over??

it's far more comfortable, and it doens't quite cost as much...

I would dispute that the train is more comfortable than the bus. Done the train, bus, car and flights. Will never do train or bus again.

Flights you can get pretty cheap if you keep your eyes out and even then the more expensive ones are often cheaper than your petrol costs for driving over nowadays..... :rolleyes:

maccas_no1
14 Jun 2007, 13:51
I would dispute that the train is more comfortable than the bus. Done the train, bus, car and flights. Will never do train or bus again.

Flights you can get pretty cheap if you keep your eyes out and even then the more expensive ones are often cheaper than your petrol costs for driving over nowadays..... :rolleyes:

Very true the earlier you book the better:thumbsu:

Airfares arent really a worry for you though Nikki;)

TFLUA-Tiger
14 Jun 2007, 13:54
Well done to you guys for following through with the whole bay 114 idea. Very well done! Would be great to see you guys in Melbourne.

Seanason
14 Jun 2007, 14:59
The main point here is that - More money spent on transport means less people coming along.

Flying means more money on hotel accom, which leads to more and more costs.

Id be happy bussing it over.

Mr_Smooth
14 Jun 2007, 15:15

was thinking more in terms of your not "trapped" in your seat on a train as opposed to a bus

coupled with the fact i like trains... :p

writeoff
14 Jun 2007, 17:59
Flying>Car>Bus>Train.

The last train trip I took to Melbourne took forever and I was getting cabin fever being locked up for 12-14 hours. At least the bus stops and you can get off, stretch your legs and breath some fresh air.

However I have already booked flights and sorted accomodation for the Collingwood match. I just need to organise tickets to the game. Is anyone else definately going to be there?

Vic Crow
14 Jun 2007, 18:38
I will...but that's a given.

maccas_no1
14 Jun 2007, 19:19
was thinking more in terms of your not "trapped" in your seat on a train as opposed to a bus

coupled with the fact i like trains... :p

They are promoting the 'refurbished' Overland for $99 one way at the moment.

Mr_Smooth
14 Jun 2007, 20:05
They are promoting the 'refurbished' Overland for $99 one way at the moment.
i think you'll find that's return..

Blue Red and Gold
14 Jun 2007, 20:15
i think you'll find that's return..
I would hope so

fantastic_crows
14 Jun 2007, 23:26
The main point here is that - More money spent on transport means less people coming along.

Flying means more money on hotel accom, which leads to more and more costs.

Id be happy bussing it over.

Thats really why I suggested the idea.

Although not as comfortable, you dont need to pay for Accom.

beck*
16 Jun 2007, 23:21
I had a friend take advantage of the $99 ticket to come over here for this weekend... The only thing that she didn't like was that it was a day-trip. I prefer the night-trip on the train, kills both the need to kill time and pay for accom.
If the bank balance let's me I'l seriously consider another trip to Melb

Dandy_GO
16 Jun 2007, 23:25
Count me in if we get this happening.

Or we could just all set the tents up and go camping on Max Basheer on round 20 to celebrate van Berlo's 50th.

Mr_Smooth
17 Jun 2007, 00:08
I had a friend take advantage of the $99 ticket to come over here for this weekend... The only thing that she didn't like was that it was a day-trip. I prefer the night-trip on the train, kills both the need to kill time and pay for accom.
If the bank balance let's me I'l seriously consider another trip to Melb
i'm not real sure they do night trips anymore, they don't do a sleeper cabin anymore... :(

Vic Crow
17 Jun 2007, 00:31
i'm not real sure they do night trips anymore, they don't do a sleeper cabin anymore... :(

They don't. That rules the train out for me.

Gets!
17 Jun 2007, 15:32
I will definetely be there.

Melbourne is like a second home (unfortunately)

ams4crows
17 Jun 2007, 15:59
can we hire a mini bus so we can stop it when ever we want?

A Road trip would be awesome Guys!!!

Seanason
17 Jun 2007, 17:19
can we hire a mini bus so we can stop it when ever we want?

A Road trip would be awesome Guys!!!yay for minibus!

- PC -
17 Jun 2007, 17:25
yay for minibus!WTF has Conniolly got to do with a road trip??

http://www.saxton.com.au/saxton_db_data/images/Connolly_Chris.jpg

Gets!
17 Jun 2007, 18:07
Nah no way im going in a bus/car or train.

PLANE PLANE PLANE x 400

takes one hour. $200 return at worst usually as well. GOLD.

ams4crows
17 Jun 2007, 18:14
hmm 30 crazy Adelaide supporters on the same plane.......those poor flight attendents!!

Gets!
17 Jun 2007, 18:29
Nah those lucky flight attendants I reckon.

Seanason
17 Jun 2007, 18:30
Nah no way im going in a bus/car or train.

PLANE PLANE PLANE x 400

takes one hour. $200 return at worst usually as well. GOLD.

hmmmm

May need to start saving....

RoosterLad
17 Jun 2007, 18:36
The babes on the plane will love it.

Gets!
17 Jun 2007, 18:40
hmmmm

May need to start saving....

Get on it man.

You're saving $50 by getting a red season ticket for united instead of a gold one ;) Or at least you can look at it that way haha

ams4crows
17 Jun 2007, 18:43
If you go virgin the toilet will always be occupied......... If you know what I mean;) ........maybe I just don't like them because it took em 45 mins to get me a bloddy drink!:thumbsd:

Gets!
17 Jun 2007, 19:02
Virgin >>>>>>>> Gets! Airways >>>>>>>> Roosterlads Party Planes >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Jetstar.

fantastic_crows
17 Jun 2007, 22:22
Virgin >>>>>>>> Gets! Airways >>>>>>>> Roosterlads Party Planes >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Jetstar.

Highly agreed.

Has there ever been a shitter airline than Jetstar?

Flew with them a couple of months ago, baggage weighed 24 kgs, only 4kg over and they charged me $45 or something, yet a couple of weeks ago I flew with Virgin with a bag weighing 32kg, and they didnt care

beck*
17 Jun 2007, 22:48
Agreed 110% with Gets
Jetstar wouldn't let my brother on a flight with visable tattoos... And everyone else I know who has flown them always gets delayed.

fantastic_crows
17 Jun 2007, 23:10
Agreed 110% with Gets
Jetstar wouldn't let my brother on a flight with visable tattoos... And everyone else I know who has flown them always gets delayed.

Lawl What?

Visible Tattoos, what the ****?

Gets!
17 Jun 2007, 23:39
So Im about to land in avalon and can see the runway and yes about to land, then WTF, all of a sudden the plane starts rising again, and Im not the best flyer at the best of times...apparently it was too foggy to land.

We get to Tullamarine (me and a mate have no luggage apart from on the plane) and of course they won't let me and him get off there. We have to fly all the way back to Avalon after re-fuelling, THEN catch the hour ride bus back to the CBD.

Any guess which airline?

Vic Crow
17 Jun 2007, 23:40
Jetstar's terminal in "Melbourne" is Avalon, which is pretty much Geelong. No thanks!

Vic Crow
17 Jun 2007, 23:41
So Im about to land in avalon and can see the runway and yes about to land, then WTF, all of a sudden the plane starts rising again, and Im not the best flyer at the best of times...apparently it was too foggy to land.

We get to Tullamarine (me and a mate have no luggage apart from on the plane) and of course they won't let me and him get off there. We have to fly all the way back to Avalon after re-fuelling, THEN catch the hour ride bus back to the CBD.

Any guess which airline?

Jetstar's terminal in "Melbourne" is Avalon, which is pretty much Geelong. No thanks!
Can I guess?!

ams4crows
17 Jun 2007, 23:57
Thanks guys in three weeks I'm flying Jetstar to Brisbane! way to make me feel good about it!!

Gets!
17 Jun 2007, 23:58
Save yourself the trouble, and start walking now.

ams4crows
17 Jun 2007, 23:59
shit! and coming back with em too just cos i'm a tight ass and didn't want to pay and extra $50

fantastic_crows
18 Jun 2007, 00:06
Haha well prepare to end up in Cairns or something

Seanason
18 Jun 2007, 00:08
Ill be in melbourne for the saints game - cant remember who im flying with though.

raboyle
18 Jun 2007, 11:24
If Nick Bianco can help fund a bus to Melbourne or Sydney, does that make Toyota a bunch of tight-arses?:rolleyes:

Dandy_GO
18 Jun 2007, 11:34
We should demand free Camrys

raikkonen
18 Jun 2007, 13:27
Me and a mate are looking at going over for the R22 game v the Pies. Leave on the Sunday prior get there in time for the sunday twilight game, spend a week in melbourne and then come back the saturday to watch the Power get done by Brisbane on the Saturday night. :thumbsu:

If anything 'official' (how can anything be official for us Bay114ers?) came up though we would more than likely definately be in. Its always good when you have 120+ hours of holidays leave up your sleeve! Get paid to go away. Love it. :thumbsu:

ams4crows
18 Jun 2007, 15:26
well I was gonna go So that I went to the crows game friday and then the Storm's home game on the saturday! and come home Sunday. maybe even fit in an Ice hockey game too Adelaide won't be playing but it'll be good to check out the compition!

NikkiNoo
18 Jun 2007, 15:46
If you guys are after some affordable accomodation in Melbourne very close to the Dome, then I know just the place. As long as you would be willing to share then it would only cost about $60 per person and include breakfast.

Vic Crow
18 Jun 2007, 15:57
well I was gonna go So that I went to the crows game friday and then the Storm's home game on the saturday! and come home Sunday. maybe even fit in an Ice hockey game too Adelaide won't be playing but it'll be good to check out the compition!
I think that's the weekend of AIHL finals and they certainly won't be in Melbourne this year as the rink is sub standard. They won't be in Adelaide coz they hosted last year, so my guess is somewhere in NSW, maybe even Newcastle.

EDIT: Wait, are you talking about the weekend we play Collingwood or another weekend?

ams4crows
18 Jun 2007, 15:57
Urban central is the best back pakers I've been to $27 and all you do is walk up the road and Telstra dome is right there and it across the road form a maccas!

ICanDressMyself
18 Jun 2007, 18:41
Ill be in melbourne for the saints game - cant remember who im flying with though.

I'll see you there ;) Another 8 of my mates are going over as well.

Seanason
18 Jun 2007, 22:14
That makes 2 people i have to meet over there, one of the guys i know from uni is heading over for that game - Unless hes going with you.

I just bought a motorbike - ill be driving over on Thursday and coming back Friday.

Shame i couldnt combine with a Crows game.

beck*
19 Jun 2007, 02:00
You're going to Melbourne to see the Crows play... :eek:
Hopefully your luck changes and you see a win this time :thumbsu:

ICanDressMyself
19 Jun 2007, 11:00
You're going to Melbourne to see the Crows play... :eek:
Hopefully your luck changes and you see a win this time :thumbsu:

God I hope so, I'm also most likely going over for the Collingwood game regardless of what happens with this Bay 114 thing so 2 more matches this year to hopefully see an interstate win :o

ams4crows
19 Jun 2007, 16:06
I think that's the weekend of AIHL finals and they certainly won't be in Melbourne this year as the rink is sub standard. They won't be in Adelaide coz they hosted last year, so my guess is somewhere in NSW, maybe even Newcastle.

EDIT: Wait, are you talking about the weekend we play Collingwood or another weekend?

Yeah I realised that it would be finals after! and your right I think it'll be central coast or maybe newcatsle hosting the finals which is bad cos well Newcatle + finals =guns! we played them at home in the grand final last year and still couldn't get over the line!

Vic Crow
19 Jun 2007, 16:13
Yeah I realised that it would be finals after! and your right I think it'll be central coast or maybe newcatsle hosting the finals which is bad cos well Newcatle + finals =guns! we played them at home in the grand final last year and still couldn't get over the line!
You might wanna check out the Ice Hockey board. If you haven't already heard, the Avalanche are in a bit of grief financially and may not be able to travel for this weekends double header against Newcastle and West Sydney!

ams4crows
19 Jun 2007, 19:41
I thought they'd already gone they lost 3-2 to newcastle and we just got new millionare owners I doubt we can't make it! and we don't play west Sydney until july first at home so I i'm not sure what double header your talking about

Vic Crow
20 Jun 2007, 09:41
Nah, they're definitely scheduled to play the Northstars and Ice Dogs this weekend. http://theaihl.com.au/
They lost 3-2 to the Northstars at home, but now have to go on the road to play them even though it was only last weekend that they played them. And you're right, they do play the Ice Dogs on July 1 at home, but they also play them on the road this weekend - if they can afford it. Seriously, there are crisis meetings and stuff going on. The team is in big trouble at the moment.

NikkiNoo
20 Jun 2007, 11:54
Virgin Blue has just released $65 flights to Melbourne from Adelaide which includes the period for the Collingwood game.

Seanason
20 Jun 2007, 16:46
Virgin Blue has just released $65 flights to Melbourne from Adelaide which includes the period for the Collingwood game.
So Round 22 is a definate goer?

Because i would much rather save up if we have to travel for finals...

Vic Crow
20 Jun 2007, 17:22
So Round 22 is a definate goer?

Because i would much rather save up if we have to travel for finals...
Yeah, but our first two finals will be at home. :p;)

writeoff
20 Jun 2007, 19:14
What's the best way to purchase tickets for the Crows vs Collingwood match so that I'm not surrounded by Collingwood supporters?

-CG-
20 Jun 2007, 19:26
What's the best way to purchase tickets for the Crows vs Collingwood match so that I'm not surrounded by Collingwood supporters?

Rebel Sport in town sell them, and in their book (which has the seating plan) it says which end the cheersqauds are, so get your seats at the opposite end :) You will most likely still have the odd collingwood supporter near you though. Thats how I get my tickets anyway.

ICanDressMyself
20 Jun 2007, 19:29

Being a gold member and personally knowing the vice president I just ring up and get free tickets to interstate games whenever I go over :D I'm great, I know. So I suggest just ring up the club and they can probably set you up with some tickets (would have a more decent chance to get the tickets if you're a member)

Seanason
20 Jun 2007, 19:46
Being a gold member and personally knowing the vice president I just ring up and get free tickets to interstate games whenever I go over :D I'm great, I know. So I suggest just ring up the club and they can probably set you up with some tickets (would have a more decent chance to get the tickets if you're a member)
Cheers for getting me a ticket:thumbsu:

ICanDressMyself
20 Jun 2007, 19:49
Cheers for getting me a ticket:thumbsu:

I havent got them yet!

Southerntakeover
20 Jun 2007, 19:57

Where was daddy for round 10 then? :(

ICanDressMyself
20 Jun 2007, 19:58
Where was daddy for round 10 then? :(

Rooting european women

Southerntakeover
20 Jun 2007, 20:00
Touche...

writeoff
20 Jun 2007, 22:18
Rebel Sport in town sell them, and in their book (which has the seating plan) it says which end the cheersqauds are, so get your seats at the opposite end :) You will most likely still have the odd collingwood supporter near you though. Thats how I get my tickets anyway.

I suggest just ring up the club and they can probably set you up with some tickets (would have a more decent chance to get the tickets if you're a member)
Thanks.

Of course if ICDM just wants to throw a couple of spare tickets my way for the Collingwood game... :D:cool:

Seanason
20 Jun 2007, 23:27
Guys Qantas are doing $89 flights at the moment, all day saturday coming back, and the daybreaker flight on friday. Once i get things right, im booking the daybreak flight and ill probably come back sometime saturday.

Or the first 2 virgins on thursday are $65.

Blue Red and Gold
20 Jun 2007, 23:29
Rooting european women
http://www.cx65.de/fileadmin/cx65/wallpapers/misc/Ali-G-Respect.gif