View Full Version : Swans v Cats game

cat in sydney
13 Jun 2007, 20:36
Hi all,

heading down with my old man for our first ever game at Skilled.
I'm going to buy tickets as soon as they're on for sale, but I'm wanting advice as to the best place to sit.
Watching on tv, the side that's opposite the cameras are drenched in sun, and everyone puts their hands up to their face to block the light so they can see... so that's the kind of place I DON'T want to sit.:D

What are the best spots for the general public to get?

Selwood07
13 Jun 2007, 21:01
Hi all,

I'm going to buy tickets as soon as they're on for sale, but I'm wanting advice as to the best place to sit.
Watching on tv, the side that's opposite the cameras are drenched in sun, and everyone puts their hands up to their face to block the light so they can see... so that's the kind of place I DON'T want to sit.:D

There is always a bank of seats for visiting supporters behind the city end goal and over on the Moorabool Street side below the scoreboard - I don't think you can get seats in the new stand. I sit in the Ablett Terrace because of the sun and because it seems more protected - so the first option might be best for you - I used to have a regular seat next to that block for years. Members who do not use their seats can sell them on so you might pick up a couple where I sit - last Swans game almost the whole row behind me had been sold on. (Sh**house year remember!) Ring the club - they are quite civilized these days.

SriLankanCat
13 Jun 2007, 22:21
Hi all,

Ring the footy club...they can tell u the best place to sit. If ur an interstate member u can prebook a seat in general addmission for $3 and u can get additional tickets for $23. U can do this on the Tuesday two weeks before the game, so for u that will be next week. IF u arent a member u can book on Wednesday 2 weeks before a game. If u want a good seats the price goes up to $43 for the centre of the ground.

Kardinia Park is a great groiund to watch the game

Shell
13 Jun 2007, 23:07
Hi all,

Hey, it's not so bad. I've had my seat there for seven years... I'm sure you could put up with it for one game! :p

Enjoy your day! You going to be venturing anywhere else on your trip down here.. or you just going straight back to Tulla (or Avalon) after the match?

cat in sydney
13 Jun 2007, 23:41
Hey, it's not so bad. I've had my seat there for seven years... I'm sure you could put up with it for one game! :p

Enjoy your day! You going to be venturing anywhere else on your trip down here.. or you just going straight back to Tulla (or Avalon) after the match?

Heading straight back for a 7:30pm flight from Avalon.:(
Would have loved to stay down that way for a bit to see a bit of the area. Next year maybe.

BTW - which stand is that? (the one that you face into the sun?)

Shell
14 Jun 2007, 10:37
Would have loved to stay down that way for a bit to see a bit of the area. Next year maybe.

BTW - which stand is that? (the one that you face into the sun?)

Lol, I dunno.. the new one? :D

I'm in the outer, Gary Ablett Trc pretty much front row on the 50 metre line. :thumbsu:

ecleftic
14 Jun 2007, 16:17

BTW - which stand is that? (the one that you face into the sun?) The Hickey stand. And you're assuming there will be sun.;)

Go CATS!!

Selwood07
14 Jun 2007, 18:37
The Hickey stand. And you're assuming there will be sun.;)

Go CATS!!
That's what bemused me since the forecast is for a wet day! And it will be cold, mate.

deadfish
14 Jun 2007, 19:53
That's what bemused me since the forecast is for a wet day! And it will be cold, mate.

Extended weather forcasts arn't that accutate ;)

Especially ones in over 2 weeks time.

Shell
15 Jun 2007, 10:25
Extended weather forcasts arn't that accutate ;)

Especially ones in over 2 weeks time.

Definitely won't be accutate, no way! :p

I remember one game they forcast rain and possible hail. Well Mr Sun had something to say about that. I almost got sunburn by half time.

Kegs44
15 Jun 2007, 15:27
I'm hoping to be able to get a few seats down there. I am not a member because i dont make it to enough games (please dont hate me) but am a very passionate supporter and was just wondering how much two tickets would be say in doug wade stand? Thats where i have sat in previous years but its been the old man whos payed. Thanks

re cat
15 Jun 2007, 16:42
Guys the 2's aren't playing as a curtain raiser but does anyone know if the falcons are?

rizzo
15 Jun 2007, 17:09
Guys the 2's aren't playing as a curtain raiser but does anyone know if the falcons are?

nope they play 11am at Skilled Stadium V Gippsland power the day after

re cat
15 Jun 2007, 18:23
Thanks Rizzo.

deadfish
15 Jun 2007, 19:03
I'm hoping to be able to get a few seats down there. I am not a member because i dont make it to enough games (please dont hate me) but am a very passionate supporter and was just wondering how much two tickets would be say in doug wade stand? Thats where i have sat in previous years but its been the old man whos payed. Thanks

i dont think there would be any seats left mate. Mabye im wrong.

Kittenish
15 Jun 2007, 19:42
Hi all,

OMG! Me too. And my Dad's taking me too.

Coincedence? :confused:

Cept we've got corporate seats. Anyone got any ideas of how my Cats supporter wear can look formal?

S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
15 Jun 2007, 22:43
What does your supporter wear entail, Kittenish?

Ricardo
15 Jun 2007, 23:07

There would be seats elsewhere though, i am sure there would be a few left in the Ford Stand.

deadfish
16 Jun 2007, 12:48
Went to myer and asked them about seats last week and she said there was only about 20 seats left.

Kegs44
17 Jun 2007, 18:26

ah ok fair enough, I will ring up soon and see, thanks!! got seast there for the roos games only because i was with shannon grants family lol, wasnt a gud day!

Shell
18 Jun 2007, 10:35
Hope you had a good day, yesterday Cat in Syd!! :)

And don't let the bad weather and the horrible soccer scorelines (1-nil, 4-nil) at quarter and half time put you off from coming back either!

mattyh
18 Jun 2007, 12:51
Like me, I think Cat in Sydney is coming down for the Swannies game in 2 weeks time, except he is cheering for the Cats and me for the Swans!! :)

cat in sydney
18 Jun 2007, 15:32
Hope you had a good day, yesterday Cat in Syd!! :)

And don't let the bad weather and the horrible soccer scorelines (1-nil, 4-nil) at quarter and half time put you off from coming back either!

Wasn't there ysterday Shell.
But I'm getting the feeling by reading many of the posts about the game that I'll need to rug up a bit! Never been to an AFL game outside of Sydney, and most of the time it's not too bad temp-wise. This could be painful (and fun at the same time!)

Partridge
18 Jun 2007, 16:07
But I'm getting the feeling by reading many of the posts about the game that I'll need to rug up a bit! Never been to an AFL game outside of Sydney, and most of the time it's not too bad temp-wise. This could be painful (and fun at the same time!)

Ah, if only you'd been there a couple of years ago when we played Fremantle, 2004 I think it was. Coldest day I have ever experienced. Stood there with my pockets full of water. No exaggeration.

Shell
18 Jun 2007, 16:17
Ah, if only you'd been there a couple of years ago when we played Fremantle, 2004 I think it was. Coldest day I have ever experienced. Stood there with my pockets full of water. No exaggeration.

Lol. Yeah I also remember one against North. They could have played the game in Kardinia Park pool, next door. I reckon it wouldave been less wet! :D

Shell
18 Jun 2007, 16:19

Ah, sorry. I just assumed you were going yesterday. Which one then are you going to? The Sydney one?

And it wasn't that bad. Rain actually stopped mid way through the first and had some sunny breaks for the rest of the match.

cat in sydney
18 Jun 2007, 17:04
Ah, sorry. I just assumed you were going yesterday. Which one then are you going to? The Sydney one?

And it wasn't that bad. Rain actually stopped mid way through the first and had some sunny breaks for the rest of the match.

Ah, sorry. I thought it was clear by the thread title. :p;)

Just hope all the tickets haven't disappeared by the time I can get them in the morning.

Shell
18 Jun 2007, 17:07
Ah, sorry. I thought it was clear by the thread title. :p;)

Just hope all the tickets haven't disappeared by the time I can get them in the morning.

Ahhhhh.. im such a ****ing idiot!!! :D

Lol, I was reading your first post.. actually doesnt mention the game. But yes, of course.. the title of thread. Hey I'm a blonde (excuse i will use this time anyway)

If ya really that hard up for a seat, I can possibly sneak you in, in my area. There are usually a few spare each week. Otherwise get there early and get the freebies, or standing.

mattyh
18 Jun 2007, 19:01
If ya really that hard up for a seat, I can possibly sneak you in, in my area. There are usually a few spare each week. Otherwise get there early and get the freebies, or standing.

Would you be prepared to sneak in 5 swannies fans down from Sydney in as well!!??!! :p

Actually maybe I am being serious if I can't get tkts tomorrow! :thumbsu:

Shell
18 Jun 2007, 20:46
Would you be prepared to sneak in 5 swannies fans down from Sydney in as well!!??!! :p

Actually maybe I am being serious if I can't get tkts tomorrow! :thumbsu:

Hehe, I think that's wishful thinking there!! Five of ya?! I'm guessing the Sydney game will be pretty packed (depending on the weather). But yeah PM me if ya that desperate and i'll see what I can do. :)

Marto121
18 Jun 2007, 21:00
Geez there seem to be a lot of threads about the swans game, you guys a bit nervous ey?

RUNVS
18 Jun 2007, 21:05
Geez there seem to be a lot of threads about the swans game, you guys a bit nervous ey?

I dont know about the Geelong fans but im as nervous as hell.

mattyh
18 Jun 2007, 21:42
Hehe, I think that's wishful thinking there!! Five of ya?! I'm guessing the Sydney game will be pretty packed (depending on the weather). But yeah PM me if ya that desperate and i'll see what I can do. :)

My opinion of Cat's fans has just gone to the top! What a legend!

I will see how I go in the morning getting 5 tickets through Ticketmaster. Thank you for your kind offer. :thumbsu:

Gavin Excell
18 Jun 2007, 21:48
should be a good game the sydney one - can imagine a bright, free flowing open game, with plenty of goals in the brilliant sunshine.

mattyh
18 Jun 2007, 21:56
should be a good game the sydney one - can imagine a bright, free flowing open game, with plenty of goals in the brilliant sunshine.

At least it will give the Cats a glimps of true, intense finals like pressure. Hawthorn couldn't handle last week...can the cats?

Will be a great game!

Shell
18 Jun 2007, 22:03
My opinion of Cat's fans has just gone to the top! What a legend!

I will see how I go in the morning getting 5 tickets through Ticketmaster. Thank you for your kind offer. :thumbsu:

Ah no problemo. As long as you promise to keep ya mouths shut for the whole game, buy me some beer and a hot dog, a nice gift from the Cats Shop wouldn't go astray either... and yeah we have a deal!! :D

Just kidding.. good luck with those tickets. Like I said I reckon the place is gonna be packed out!!

JUBJUB
18 Jun 2007, 22:10

Probably because it's our next game.Go back to last week and you'll see a few threads about the Brisbane game.

cat in sydney
19 Jun 2007, 10:11
Hi all,
I got two tickets in the Gary Ablett Terrace in the open seated section.
In Bay 8, which is just to the left of the goalposts.
Good area?
Anyone else in that area?

How did you go mattyh?

mattyh
19 Jun 2007, 10:23
Hi all,
Good area?

How did you go mattyh?

Gday mate,

We must be next to each other!! I got 5 tickets in section 8 of the Ablett Terrace as well!! Hope it is not raining!! :D

Pal22
19 Jun 2007, 11:44
Hi all,
Good area?

How did you go mattyh?
Yes they are great seats, that is where I have sat for the last 6 years.

What row are you in?

cat in sydney
19 Jun 2007, 13:02
Yes they are great seats, that is where I have sat for the last 6 years.

What row are you in?

Row F. How far back is that? I won't be sitting behind a pole or something will I?
Can't remember which seats though.

Pal22
19 Jun 2007, 15:57
Row F. How far back is that? I won't be sitting behind a pole or something will I?
Row F is 6 rows from the front so you will have a great view no matter where you sit in the row.

S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
19 Jun 2007, 18:35
Yep, the coldest day in Geelong in 26 years.

Rustybugles
20 Jun 2007, 11:28
Yep, the coldest day in Geelong in 26 years.
Perhaps it was that day the players from W.A. claimed they suffered from hypothermia (thought it was Eagles) - it was expected to get to 11 degrees max - I think it stayed at 9. Sydney will notice the diifference in climate (I used to live in Sydney and the difference is noticeable coming south). Bright sunny day possibly but still butt freezing I bet.
Cat in Sydney - where you are sitting is good. It's a long ground so bring your binoculars or you won't see what is going on in the pockets at the Barwon end. The screen is behind you to your left and not ideal.

Shell
20 Jun 2007, 13:16

I believe Row F would be 6 rows back ;)

And dont worry, you will have an awesome view of Gary Ablett Jnrs goals. :thumbsu:

Have fun!! (Wish it were this week. Damn this stupid break)

Budda 230
20 Jun 2007, 13:31
Hi all,
Good area?

How did you go mattyh?

I had my season seat in almost the same spot from 2000-2004. Ripper spot. Bit wet and cold when it rains though.

Kegs44
20 Jun 2007, 19:01
Gday mate,

We must be next to each other!! I got 5 tickets in section 8 of the Ablett Terrace as well!! Hope it is not raining!! :D

are there any seats left in the gary ablett terrace does anyone no?

cat in sydney
20 Jun 2007, 19:31

Not sure. Check on ticketmaster.com.au.

Prismall32
21 Jun 2007, 10:32
Ring the club for members' sold-on tickets - there won't be many.

cat in sydney
25 Jun 2007, 18:21
See you all there this Saturday!!
Woohoo!:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

(sorry, but I'm excited about my first ever game at Kardinia :o:D)

Shell
27 Jun 2007, 13:07
See you all there this Saturday!!
Woohoo!:thumbsu::thumbsu:

(sorry, but I'm excited about my first ever game at Kardinia :o:D)

:D

Only 3 sleeps to go. And just a warning, wear about 10 layers of clothing. Today I'd reckon is the worst winters day we've had in a long while. And Geelong will just be colder..

darren forssman
27 Jun 2007, 14:52
Today I'd reckon is the worst winters day we've had in a long while. And Geelong will just be colder..

shell, it is only a bit mild out there today.

S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
27 Jun 2007, 15:03
:D

Only 3 sleeps to go. And just a warning, wear about 10 layers of clothing. Today I'd reckon is the worst winters day we've had in a long while. And Geelong will just be colder..
I often do that literally.

Shell
27 Jun 2007, 17:02
shell, it is only a bit mild out there today.

You have got to be joking there pops. What has been so mild about today? the constant rain? The gale force winds? I have had to walk (no wait run.. in stiletto heel boots no less) about half a dozen times across the ****ing campus, to sit in ****ing cold classrooms... :mad:

(End of rant :))

eliiiiza
27 Jun 2007, 17:59
You have got to be joking there pops. What has been so mild about today? the constant rain? The gale force winds? I have had to walk (no wait run.. in stiletto heel boots no less) about half a dozen times across the ****ing campus, to sit in ****ing cold classrooms... :mad:

Serves you right for wearing them to school! :D:D:D

*ducks*

darren forssman
27 Jun 2007, 18:21

serves you right for educating yourself and not wasting your life at work.

and why dress up in stilleto's for uni?

Hood007
27 Jun 2007, 18:44
serves you right for educating yourself and not wasting your life at work.

and why dress up in stilleto's for uni?

Maybe she's a teacher?
One of those hot stilleto wearing teachers... :thumbsu:

Shell
27 Jun 2007, 19:31
Lmao.. I work at a high school if you guys have to know. I don't go to uni anymore Forssy. That was a few years ago now. ;)

And I was wearing stiletto heel, knee high boots. They are quite comfy (and warm) actually. I'm getting used to running in the rain in them too.

ps. Rain back on Friday night.. showers continuing on Saturday. I'm so happy for the whole month of July we are either at TD or MCG (with one at Subi)

darren forssman
28 Jun 2007, 09:42
And I was wearing stiletto heel, knee high boots. They are quite comfy (and warm) actually. I'm getting used to running in the rain in them too.

CFM boots at school???

Shell
28 Jun 2007, 09:45
CFM boots at school???

Ffs.. I do wear pants over them you do realise. :rolleyes:

Hood007
28 Jun 2007, 12:17
CFM boots at school???

Even better! :p

jess_555
4 Jul 2007, 14:37
Any chance anyone could get a YouTube clip of Travis Varcoe rippin off the swan player's top? I really wanna see it again... it had me in hysterics. :p

Ricardo
4 Jul 2007, 23:38
Any chance anyone could get a YouTube clip of Travis Varcoe rippin off the swan player's top? I really wanna see it again... it had me in hysterics. :p

+ you probably have the hots for that Malceski (sp?) and just want to see him with his shirt off again :p

jess_555
4 Jul 2007, 23:40
+ you probably have the hots for that Malceski (sp?) and just want to see him with his shirt off again :p

That's part of it... nah. I really wanna see it soooooooo funny! I bet they will show it on Before the Game!!! They better!!! :D

cat in sydney
5 Jul 2007, 11:11
Speaking of tackling... I think they should have 'Tackle of the Year', just like Mark and Goal of the Year.
(Get your mind out of the gutter, that's not the 'tackle' I was referring to :p)

S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
5 Jul 2007, 13:50
Speaking of tackling... I think they should have 'Tackle of the Year', just like Mark and Goal of the Year.
(Get your mind out of the gutter, that's not the 'tackle' I was referring to :p)
They almost do now, with the Army Award.

cat in sydney
5 Jul 2007, 13:58
They almost do now, with the Army Award.

:confused::confused::confused:
what's that?

S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
5 Jul 2007, 14:13
:confused::confused::confused:
what's that?
http://www.afl.com.au/armydefence/home.aspx

cat in sydney
6 Jul 2007, 12:55
http://www.afl.com.au/armydefence/home.aspx

Looks a good idea.
Interesting that no Cats have been nominated. Would have thought there have been a few courageous, team-orientated acts during this season?