View Full Version : Question for Eagles fans regarding Judd ...

Hodge2Franklin
14 Jun 2007, 03:00
Judd is a champion, in my opinion the best player ever. If I was an Eagle I wouldn't trade anything for him.

But if for example Judd wanted to leave, which in no way am I suggesting and you got the following from Hawthorn for him, would you feel grossly undercompensated?

Hawks first and second round draft picks in 07.
PLUS
Williams
Batman (i.e Bateman)

Kempie
14 Jun 2007, 03:08
But if for example Judd wanted to leave, which in no way am I suggesting and you got the following from .... would you feel grossly undercompensated?

Are you on some sort of commission from BF (or elsewhere) based on the number of dumb-arsed, repetitive threads you can can create ? :confused:

I'd just like a piece of the action that's all. Something's got to motivate you, and it can't be anything sensible like footy discussion.

Black JuJu
14 Jun 2007, 03:13
Well seen as how you went to great lengths to avoid getting hit with a barrage of 'WELL HE'S NOT LEAVING SO GET LOST WAH WAH WAH!!', I'll entertain your post.

I wouldn't want either players really, would be more interested in the likes of Jordan Lewis or Ben McGlynn. Please don't get bogged down in the fact that you have to send West Aussies back home, if the horrible day did come that Judd was asking for a trade I doubt the Eagles will only be targetting players from WA.

We should have a 'What are you going to trade Judd for?' sticky for opposition supporters mods.

Hodge2Franklin
14 Jun 2007, 03:13
Are you on some sort of commission from BF (or elsewhere) based on the number of dumb-arsed, repetitive threads you can can create ? :confused:

I'd just like a piece of the action that's all. Something's got to motivate you, and it can't be anything sensible like footy discussion.

Well actually it's more like a quest to observe. Kind of like the little kid with the ant farm. Just replace the perspex window with an internet portal and throw in a remote control (i.e keyboard) and you can easily see the interest.

How do you feel, being part of the termite factor on this website that the underlying group of frustrated posters talk about behind the scenes? My guess is not much at all, just like the ants ...

Hodge2Franklin
14 Jun 2007, 03:16
Well seen as how you went to great lengths to avoid getting hit with a barrage of 'WELL HE'S NOT LEAVING SO GET LOST WAH WAH WAH!!', I'll entertain your post.

I wouldn't want either players really, would be more interested in the likes of Jordan Lewis or Ben McGlynn. Please don't get bogged down in the fact that you have to send West Aussies back home, if the horrible day did come that Judd was asking for a trade I doubt the Eagles will only be targetting players from WA.

We should have a 'What are you going to trade Judd for?' sticky for opposition supporters mods.

Cheers JuJu :thumbsu:

Appreciate it. :)

The reason I asked is more to look at the opposing views of one-eyed supporters. I threw up this trade on the Hawk board and await the Ants we have too saying that it is ridiculous to suggest we would OFFER this much to the Eagles.

Pretty reasonable motive I would have thought. ;)

Thanks again.

Kempie
14 Jun 2007, 03:26
Well actually it's more like a quest to observe. Kind of like the little kid with the ant farm.

You mean the way kids seem to be driven to piss on ants' nests ? To observe what they do ? Haven't you outgrown that yet ?

How do you feel, being part of the termite factor

Just a clue for you in your clearly disadvantaged development..Termites aren't ants :rolleyes:
My (ignorant and uninformed) guess is not much at all, just like the ants ...

Or is it termites ? :confused:

Hodge2Franklin
14 Jun 2007, 03:29
You mean the way kids seem to be driven to piss on ants' nests ? To observe what they do ? Haven't you outgrown that yet ?

Just a clue for you in your clearly disadvantaged development..Termites aren't ants :rolleyes:

Or is it termites ? :confused:

Maybe I am just too nice for my own good, but somewhere in the above this is what I am hearing.

I love Juddy so much I could not bare to think of him moving away from my club. It just keeps getting raised on BF and sorry H2F but I wouldn't trade anything for my boy...

So this is how I will intepret it from you...

Fair enough too.:p

Emerald
14 Jun 2007, 03:44
For our greatest ever midfielder, I'd want at least two brilliant ones in return (don't want to lose a midfielder and gain a forward). Hodge and Lewis? :p

Hodge2Franklin
14 Jun 2007, 03:46
For our greatest ever midfielder, I'd want at least two brilliant ones in return (don't want to lose a midfielder and gain a forward). Hodge and Lewis? :p

Not correct.

THE greatest ever midfielder :)

Of all time IMO ...

Biggie
14 Jun 2007, 11:26
THrow in some fuel vouchers and you have a deal. :D

Keyser Soze
14 Jun 2007, 11:33
Judd is a champion, in my opinion the best player ever. If I was an Eagle I wouldn't trade anything for him.

But if for example Judd wanted to leave, which in no way am I suggesting and you got the following from Hawthorn for him, would you feel grossly undercompensated?

PLUS
Williams
Batman (i.e Bateman)

Hawks first round pick will not be in the first 5 and the way you blokes are going may not even be in the first 10. The second round pick is then going to be around mid 20's.

Although, Williams is not a true KP forward but he is undoubtedly a good player and would add some value to a forwardline. He is also returning from a long term injury and may not be able to recapture his best form.

Bateman is also a player I rate, however he plays in a position we have very good depth in. I also note that in your post on the Hawks board you questioned whether or not he in your best 22.

So two not so good draft picks, one good player returning from injury and a reasonable player we don't really need. To answer your question then we would feel under compensated.

Personally, I think that if Judd was to leave, the Eagles would be more likely to ask for draft picks rather than players. Two top 5 picks would be the minimum a player like Judd would be worth.

Lynch takes a mark
14 Jun 2007, 11:47
I doubt that Bateman would crack a regular game and having Williams would put us back into the Matera days which would be very counter productive

you are looking at one/two of Thorp, Lewis, Birchall, Ellis + first round at the minimum

I say this because Buddy, Hodge and Mitchell would be untradeable

sydney eagle
14 Jun 2007, 12:14
Personally I think that a FAIR offer for Judd from Hawthorn might be something like Hodge or Franklin (the former gives us a good midfielder to replace Judd, the second a tall , goal kicking forward) PLUS either Hawthorn's first two draft picks OR one draft pick inside the top 5. I know that it sounds like a lot (and as an Eagles fan I would STILL be reluctant to accept that offer) but it is what I think is a reasonable offer for the best player in the game at the moment.

patsmith
14 Jun 2007, 12:49
For me, any trade of Judd to Hawthorn has to include Franklin, plus draft picks. No way around it.

Whether or not the Hawks would do that, I don't know (they probably wouldn't).

SOSBenny
14 Jun 2007, 13:22
IF Juddy left...

As much as I'd have my lil whinge about Judd leaving...
I'd be happy with Buddy + your first round draft pick, which atm looks like being somewhere in the early teens 13, 14 etc.
I'd get over it (eventually)...if that was the swap

And said IF...so after all that it ain't gunna happen

sTeeL
14 Jun 2007, 13:33
Franklin would be a huge boost for our front lines and i think that plus a couple of draft picks would be enough

However, Hawthorn wouldnt trade Franklin, and the Eagles wouldnt trade Judd unless he specifically asked to.

Think somewhere Judd said hell most likely stay in WA anyway for next year

greennick
14 Jun 2007, 14:23
PLUS
Williams
Batman (i.e Bateman)

Not taking that offer until Williams comes back from injury and gets back to his old form. I would take Franklin instead. I don't think we would need Bateman, if we were to get involved with him, I would say he would be going elsewhere and we would take someone else's draft pick as well.

bzparkes
14 Jun 2007, 14:34
WHEN Judd leaves WCE, he'll be getting a lap of honour around the MCG on GF day before his last game to announce his retirement at the age of 35 :D

Prem87
14 Jun 2007, 15:43
WHEN Judd leaves WCE, he'll be getting a lap of honour around the MCG on GF day before his last game to announce his retirement at the age of 35 :D

Pfft retiring at 35. he could play untill he's 40 and still make everyone look slow and crap. Once he hits the 33+ age do you think we'd just do what collingwood and adeliade does with buckley & riccouto and put him in as a FF?

Keyser Soze
14 Jun 2007, 15:47
Pfft retiring at 35. he could play untill he's 40 and still make everyone look slow and crap. Once he hits the 33+ age do you think we'd just do what collingwood and adeliade does with buckley & riccouto and put him in as a FF?

I thought they only put those two on the "out injured" list most of the time these days.

Hodge2Franklin
14 Jun 2007, 15:48

Thanks for all this guys ... btw I reckon he will play 300+ and till probably 35-40 also.

Even when he is an old man he will play full forward like Lethal did, if the body holds up.

Biggie
14 Jun 2007, 15:49
H2F a question for you.

Do you think he will stay or go home?

Hodge2Franklin
14 Jun 2007, 15:57
H2F a question for you.

Do you think he will stay or go home?

You sound like Longshanks and his offer to William Wallace for a peace treaty :p

I actually have the following view.

Chris Judd has done everything you can do in football.

Captained a club
Won a B&F
Won a Brownlow
Won a Premiership
Captained the club to a premiership

What is left for the great man.

The only thing left for him is to come back to his home state and lift a struggling Victorian team to a premiership.

May sound like a romantic pipe dream, but wouldn't the greatest player of all time have a right to achieve "Legend status" in his home state.

That is of course the argument on the FOR side.

On the against, he is a loyal, highly integral out and out champion and could easily win 5 more flags at the Eagles.

So what do I think, I think he might have a major dilemna on his hands, like my thread a while back said :)

Biggie
14 Jun 2007, 15:59
Cheers H2F, great post. :thumbsu:

Except the reference to Longshanks. ;)

Hodge2Franklin
14 Jun 2007, 16:04
Cheers H2F, great post. :thumbsu:

Except the reference to Longshanks. ;)

No worries bro, thank you ...

Just being careful I wasn't walking into an ambush there. Your a good guy :)

shoe
14 Jun 2007, 16:41
In fact, he was asked the same question recently (now that hes won a flag, brownlow, norm smith, etc, what drives him?), and his answer was winning flags.

I would think your vision there is highly romanticised H2F ;)

Mr Eagle
14 Jun 2007, 16:56
New policy enforcement.