View Full Version : Can we smash the dees?
Jim Jess's Jockstrap
14 Jun 2007, 12:49
well?????
bigrayohall20
14 Jun 2007, 12:53
well?????
not too sure about smashing them. if we can restrict robbo, neitz and bruce then i think we are in with a big chance.
hopefully johnstone will miss with that hammy too. that will definately help.
bigpapagman
14 Jun 2007, 13:01
we can. but whether we will or not is another question, a more appropriate thread would have been "will we smash the dees?" :D:D:D
cheers.
RichosGuns
14 Jun 2007, 18:53
No, we have a chance of beating them though if Brown but more importantly simmonds come back. Melbournes fowards are pretty hard to much up on though, Robberston has had the wood over Bowden for sometime now and he have no one who can both contest with Nietz strength or his bursting leads. We have Polak or Thursty who can do one of each but not both.
freofan_mundy
14 Jun 2007, 19:10
Good luck against the Dees boys, just curious about Brown. Will he play, how certain is he? I was going to buy him this week for Alwyn Davey since he never gets good enough scores, but I don't want to trade a player that will definitely play against someone that may not play. I think if Browny plays you boys have a great chance after showing some fight against our boys last week. By the way I am talking about Dream Team when I say stuff about trading etc.
RichosGuns
14 Jun 2007, 19:23
Good luck against the Dees boys, just curious about Brown. Will he play, how certain is he? I was going to buy him this week for Alwyn Davey since he never gets good enough scores, but I don't want to trade a player that will definitely play against someone that may not play. I think if Browny plays you boys have a great chance after showing some fight against our boys last week. By the way I am talking about Dream Team when I say stuff about trading etc.
Brown will play IMO. However probably not the best to buy him just yet as he probably won't play any more the 50% of the game
freofan_mundy
14 Jun 2007, 19:43
Alright then cheers, he won't go up anyway best to be safe than sorry, once again good luck hopefully Bowden has a blinder - in my dream team :)
if we can start off like the freo match beauty. if we can continue that great play of footy thats just bonza. if our whole game is played Richmond v Freo first quarter style, the 4 points will (finally) be ours.
Is bowden a certainty to play on robbo
thursfield or raines any chance ?
astro_toby
14 Jun 2007, 20:12
i don't think we can smash anyone. it's unfortunate - but true.
we can perhaps get a lucky win - if they don't perform that well, and we play great. - thrashing, smashings & floggings are no chance of happening
Aristotel
15 Jun 2007, 11:33
You most certainly will....Melbourne played their Grand Final last week.
Maybe not 'smash' them, but you'll win. I've tipped Richmond....:thumbsu:
old_clint
15 Jun 2007, 14:05
Still very bitter I see, get over it. I've gone for Sydney this week by the way.
not a chance, if we get within 5 goals ill be very happy. The dees are building up a head of steam and are HUNGRY, they will smash better sides than us from here on in...
Aristotel
15 Jun 2007, 15:43
Still very bitter I see, get over it. I've gone for Sydney this week by the way.
Good for you little man. So have I.
Runandhyde
15 Jun 2007, 17:13
Melbourne are a better team than most in the bottom 8 and we havnt beaten any of them thus far. I think they might give us a hiding. Usually step up against us. We seem to have a bad habit of starting teams good form runs, e.g. geelong.
Im picking the scorelines something like this
Melbourne 2.46=58
Richmond 336.3= 2019
:cool:
haha but in all seriousness, I think i may be a lil disappointed if it isnt a win for the tigers, after their 'semi' good form, and playing second bottom, i would semi expect a win i think.
dazzledavey36
16 Jun 2007, 14:55
still crying over your team getting beaten by 2nd last side?! haha get over it ******!
anyway this will be a great game i reckon this will be a beauty of a game
deliberate!!
16 Jun 2007, 20:54
I tend to agree with you Astro,
We currently play a very flat style of football. Some peaks of attacking excitement, but little sustained passion. Even the old horror teams from the past were crazy enough to smash teams, then get get smashed, but this squad under Wallace has 'football theory schizophrenia', not sure whether to attack or play tempo footy. And never sure when to do it and never self assured enough to know how to control it. (And I'm not just talking about the kids)
TelkoTheGreat
17 Jun 2007, 13:16
Where is Brent Hartigan 4 you guys?? Sorry i don't know much about your injury side of things, what is his status & likely round return??
As far as i know Hartigan is playing for Coburg today, I guess he is just biding him time until he gets called up for selection.
Due to Brown, Simmonds and Knobel coming back, he may have a few more rounds before he plays seniors again
CoggaRules
17 Jun 2007, 18:15
Have it on good authority that the dees havent given up the chase for the 8. The next 5 weeks have been stamped in the book as must wins and should wins.
Although, we might give them some kind of run for the money, even if we go into the game with the alleged returns of Simmo and Brownie, we will still be under the pump with the lack of real time match practice that Brownie and Simmo have. Should be interesting though. ;)
Have it on good authority that the dees havent given up the chase for the 8. The next 5 weeks have been stamped in the book as must wins and should wins.
Although, we might give them some kind of run for the money, even if we go into the game with the alleged returns of Simmo and Brownie, we will still be under the pump with the lack of real time match practice that Brownie and Simmo have. Should be interesting though. ;)
True that, i feel that for Melbourne to even consider making finals, they have to comprehensively thrash the tigers to give them that boost of confidence. I honestly dont think they are going to finish with anymore then 4 wins IMO
Im picking the scorelines something like this
Melbourne 2.46=58
Richmond 336.3= 2019
:cool:
haha but in all seriousness, I think i may be a lil disappointed if it isnt a win for the tigers, after their 'semi' good form, and playing second bottom, i would semi expect a win i think.
Melbourne have been smashed by injuries but are now getting players back. They shouldn't be where they are on the ladder - it is totally due to injuries.
Teams will need to be wary of Melbourne if they keep some players on the park in the second half of the season.
Melbourne have been smashed by injuries but are now getting players back. They shouldn't be where they are on the ladder - it is totally due to injuries.
Teams will need to be wary of Melbourne if they keep some players on the park in the second half of the season.
Well agreed, but the exact same thing can be said for richmond. the tigers should be no where near the bottom of the ladder after the amount of chances they have had to win their games. Out of any game, this is our best chance of the year to actually get a win on the board, and im sure the tigers are gunna give it a red hot shot
We will get pantsed.
Watch for the first five minutes of the game. We will be four goals down and that will be the final margin.
Not pantsed on the scoreboard but pantsed in general play.
davey_magik
19 Jun 2007, 14:43
To be honest I think the Tigers may win this, on paper we're a far better team but that never means anything in an actual game, and I think we might be a bit flat and the Tigers will get up by 20.
havent read the entire thread.....
but..
LMFAOOO!!!!:eek:
Melbourne have far too much class. They will win.
tigerboyz
19 Jun 2007, 20:12
Melbourne have far too much class. They will win.
I see is that why they are second last on the ladder?.
Bring-Back-Powell
20 Jun 2007, 17:02
I see is that why they are second last on the ladder?.
Our second bottom position is deceiving. Plus we've just beaten two top 4 sides in Adelaide and Collingwood.
If Melbourne play like they did in the last fortnight, they should win, but would not be surprised in the slightest if the Tiges got up, as they've been OK in some of their games.
Dees by 9 pts (without any confidence)
Should be a decent crowd. 25-30,000 IMO
Good luck anyway.
Our second bottom position is deceiving. Plus we've just beaten two top 4 sides in Adelaide and Collingwood.
If Melbourne play like they did in the last fortnight, they should win, but would not be surprised in the slightest if the Tiges got up, as they've been OK in some of their games.
Dees by 9 pts (without any confidence)
Should be a decent crowd. 25-30,000 IMO
Good luck anyway.
I think the Dees will get out the blocks then the Tiges will give me false hope and then slam me back to earth when Melbourne kick the last three of the game to snuff us out. :(
I would think of 25000 as a very disappointing turnout for Friday night lights to be honest and 30000 as a bit below average. We should be aiming for at least 35000.
johnnyhoward
20 Jun 2007, 17:39
Even though it's 15th v 16th, Melbourne are playing much better football at the moment. While they are no doubt the classier side you never know what may happen on the night. Richmond have been very close to winning the past few weeks (well, they have all year), but against Freo they were promising and they really should have beat Essendon, who then beat the two grand finalists.
I'm thinking of backing the Tiges (I know, I'm crazy), but at 2.90 the odds are so tempting.
CoggaRules
21 Jun 2007, 00:11
Even though it's 15th v 16th, Melbourne are playing much better football at the moment. While they are no doubt the classier side you never know what may happen on the night. Richmond have been very close to winning the past few weeks (well, they have all year), but against Freo they were promising and they really should have beat Essendon, who then beat the two grand finalists.
I'm thinking of backing the Tiges (I know, I'm crazy), but at 2.90 the odds are so tempting.
wow, really? man you need to change your name from johhnyhoward to robertstatethe****ingobviousthinkingnooneelsecanseeitwalls.
ANd you too might get a guernsey just like him as a gerry gee double on C10. ;)
Woulda thought that was a great call if i do say so myself :D
we can perhaps get a lucky win - if they don't perform that well, and we play great. - thrashing, smashings & floggings are no chance of happening
49 points is a thrashing :D
STILL BRILLIANT LOL
wart101
23 Jun 2007, 01:21
well?????
So who will win next week JIM?
Dogs_r_barking
23 Jun 2007, 01:50
Great Win tiges - I reckon a couple of teams are going to be in for a nasty suprise - just glad we don't play you again. Good luck for the rest of the year:thumbsu:
thanks mate i think like most victorians i wish the dogs the best for september too :D
Yes we can (scoop muck and dizzy and all that shit)
the ooze
23 Jun 2007, 18:54
i laughed out loud the other day when i saw this topic a few days ago... but Richmond exceeded far beyond my expectations and did surprisingly well