F: Jason Porplyzia, Mark Ricciuto, Scott Stevens
Foll: Ben Hudson, Simon Goodwin, Tyson Edwards
IC: Kris Massie, Jonathon Griffin, Nathan van Berlo, Chris Knights
Emg: Richard Douglas, Luke Jericho, Bernie Vince
IN: Massie
OUT: Jericho
Interesting to see Jericho get dropped
And the height or lack of of the emergencies ...
NikkiNoo
14 Jun 2007, 18:12
yes very interesting - if Goodie doesn't come up, as I presume he will be given until Sat to prove his fitness, then who comes in out of the three emergencies?
Drummond
14 Jun 2007, 18:13
If Goodwin does indeed come up, then that's the end of Jericho's career with Adelaide IMO. After that performance last week and considering he’s been dropped, this time for poor form/commitment, he’s done.
Crow Envy
14 Jun 2007, 18:13
yes very interesting - if Goodie doesn't come up, as I presume he will be given until Sat to prove his fitness, then who comes in out of the three emergencies?
Seeing Goody is a midfielder and Vince has been playing well in the midfield, could be his chance.
Good to see Massie rewarded.
If Goodwin doesn't come up, is Jericho really a suitable replacement in the midfield?
NikkiNoo
14 Jun 2007, 18:15
If Goodwin doesn't come up, is Jericho really a suitable replacement in the midfield?
i would say no as Goodwin is often used off the half back line as well as resting up forward sometimes this season. I can see Jericho as the fwd option but definitely not down back....
baaaallllll
14 Jun 2007, 18:21
Yep, I felt for him when he was dropped last year after being a good contributor most of the year down back.
Jericho should be nicknamed tampon, in for 1 out for 3.
The Radar
14 Jun 2007, 18:22
I would think if Goodwin doesn't come up, Jericho would replace him and Van berlo will play Goody's role.
Southerntakeover
14 Jun 2007, 18:25
I would think if Goodwin doesn't come up, Jericho would replace him and Van berlo will play Goody's role.
If Goodwin doesnt come up, id have Jericho play an attacking role again, van Berlo to step into Goodwins midfield role, and Massie to relieve as the defensive midfielder if needed.
Also signs are pointing to attacking football this weekend. I'll believe it when I see it.
Stiffy_18
14 Jun 2007, 18:34
Good question but if Jericho isn't the one coming in for Goody, I think we can pretty much say that he has stamped his career at the AFC.
OzSparrow
14 Jun 2007, 18:38
Also signs are pointing to attacking football this weekend. I'll believe it when I see it.
/agree
The Adelaide Socceroos?
maccas_no1
14 Jun 2007, 20:10
Good news in regards to Goodwin and with him hopefully playing Im alot more confident about this w/end.
Massie is a gun and great to see him back..............Jericho MEH spend the rest of the year in the SANFL you weak dog:thumbsd:
Hey Crows fans not trolling, just came here looking for your team and started reading around and needed to ask you something.
I realise you have had a couple of losses now but that is still a good looking side on paper. I havent seen many Crows games this year so whats the story?
I figure likes of Johncock and Riccuito have played a couple now back from injury so you would expect them to be more match fit.
Should be a good game. We dont trounce teams so you are going to be in the game right up until the end regardless of whether you are behind or not.
You guys confident?
Hey Crows fans not trolling, just came here looking for your team and started reading around and needed to ask you something.
I realise you have had a couple of losses now but that is still a good looking side on paper. I havent seen many Crows games this year so whats the story?
I figure likes of Johncock and Riccuito have played a couple now back from injury so you would expect them to be more match fit.
Should be a good game. We dont trounce teams so you are going to be in the game right up until the end regardless of whether you are behind or not.
You guys confident?
As out future AA Star Forward (Pavlich Smavlich, we wont trade!) said during the week, we're always close and in the game. The trouble is we can't kick enough goals (story of our last how many seasons?-consistanly at least). However I'm quietly confident and will be tipping us (as usual, but not always a good move this year :rolleyes:). Hopefully this attacking stlye we've been hearing about over here will shine through and become a reality, at least we've got a target up forward in the team this week, even if he's been named in the backlines. The roos have always been my fave melbourne team, just have always liked the way you played since your period of dominance, unfortunately not enough vics agree with me! How are you feeling about the roos chances?
Surely Massie is in for Goodwin and Vince is in for Jericho?
Douglas anyone? I wouldnt play Jericho particularly against a hard team like the kangaroos, well truth be told who'd pick him against anyone...
On the SANFL thread they have Vince listed as for Crows yet Douglas ( apparently) is mentioned as playing Sunday
As out future AA Star Forward (Pavlich Smavlich, we wont trade!) said during the week, we're always close and in the game. The trouble is we can't kick enough goals (story of our last how many seasons?-consistanly at least). However I'm quietly confident and will be tipping us (as usual, but not always a good move this year :rolleyes:). Hopefully this attacking stlye we've been hearing about over here will shine through and become a reality, at least we've got a target up forward in the team this week, even if he's been named in the backlines. The roos have always been my fave melbourne team, just have always liked the way you played since your period of dominance, unfortunately not enough vics agree with me! How are you feeling about the roos chances?
Honestly each week I feel like we can match it with anyone but the better teams just know how to beat us.
Obviously the Craig vs Laidley matchup has been lopsided in previous meetings but we are playing well enough for me to be confident that we will do ok. Whether ok is good enough we wont know til Saturday night but if we apply pressure in our forward line and midfield then I feel it really helps our defence.
Riccuito always kills us and your midfield have always delivered the ball perfectly to your forwards in previous meetings. Im glad Perrie is out as he dominates against us.
Think it will be won in the middle.
Best of luck to you (but not too much). Cheers...
####ing Chamberlain.
Kiss the game good bye.
reCOGnise
14 Jun 2007, 21:52
Vince in for the very doubtful simon goody, would it even be worth risking him i mean it was a strain at least give him the 1 week off just to be sure??
yes or no?
you would hate to seem him completly do it this weekend. give him a week off
Vince in for the very doubtful simon goody, would it even be worth risking him i mean it was a strain at least give him the 1 week off just to be sure??
yes or no?
you would hate to seem him completly do it this weekend. give him a week off
Without disrespect to the Kangaroos I hope we rest Goody this week, just give him the two weeks off.
RoosterLad
14 Jun 2007, 22:16
I agree with that, no point ####ing up the rest of the season for Goody. The player, coach and medical team would know better than us though so if he plays he must be alright (i hope).
reCOGnise
14 Jun 2007, 22:18
agreed simmy needs a rest as i said u would hate to see the champ bust the thing complety
Dandy_GO
14 Jun 2007, 22:19
I'm rarely one for Drummond-esque rants on this board, but bloody hell if Bock has one more shithouse game in the forward lines I will just about top myself.
I'm a massive Bock fan, and was always certain that he'd make it as an AFL footballer - even when everyone bagged him to Jericho proportions in 04, but shitting heck we just can't afford to keep him in the forward lines!
McGregor kicked 3 friggin goals last week and actually took a strong contested grab. Bock continued to run like he was wearing ice skates, drop chestmarks and give away silly free kicks against Geelongs third and sometimes fourth tall defender.
I was certainly one expecting big things from CHF Bock in 2007, and even talked him up as a possible 50 goal forward, but the experiment has failed. He's a backman and we need variety up forward. McGregor provides that. If McGregor starts at CHB ahead of Bock I will cry. Bock has kicked 15 goals so far with a worse accuracy than any of our forwards - including Sarge. Steveo has managed 12 and he's spent pretty well as much time down back as he has up forward and is a deadly accurate kick for goal, but has been slaughtered at times in the backlines due to his slight frame (see: Lucas). Bock showed in 2005 that he's a potential AA CHB.
I was watching our game against Essendon last year the other day. Gary Lyon was discussing how our forward line was the best in the league. We've lost Burton, Bode and Hentschel from this set up and replaced them with Welsh, Stevens, Bock and Perrie and it's turned to shit. We've lost all variety, which, along with brilliant teamwork and excellent delivery into the forward 50, was the main strength of a star-less forward line. If having 6 blokes who are all okay on a lead, but average at everything else is Craigy's idea of a good forward line, especially when forward delivery has been clearly down, then he's gone senile.
Johncock and McGregor have to spend the whole game, or at least most of it, forward and Bock needs to be thrown down back where he thrives. At least then we'll have SOME variety up there. Unless the delivery has suddenly improved incredibly dramatically in the space of a week, loading up our forwardline with leading players in Roo, Welsh, Stevens, Bock and Porplyzia is a sensational way to ensure that we don't kick a winning score and that the ball flies back out at 100 miles an hour every time someone fails to take a grab or our midfielders miss a target.
RoosterLad
14 Jun 2007, 22:34
Yep that is a bloody good post, given the start to the year by Bock I really thought he was going to be an answer to our annual forward-line dilemmas. Now he has turned to rubbish though and should go back, Stevens looks good up forward and should remain up there. As you said, he is a wonderful kick for goal and when he has the ball I am always confident he will slot it.
Nige_Bix
14 Jun 2007, 22:44
Seems like the only ones keen on starting Bock up forward are the match committee!
Mind you he also took a good grab in the 2nd 1/4 - almost Birdmanish!!
Carl Spackler
14 Jun 2007, 22:47
Stevens is rubbish up forward and gives us nothing, except for the times when he is playing on someone half his size. Bock has had a mediocre season in the forward line (particularly the last few weeks) but gives us a better option and a stronger contest across half forward than Stevens does.
Both would play better footy at CHB but that is because playing in defence is much easier than playing up forward. You can't have them both in the backlines and McGregor as the only tall up forward. Bock will stay forward until Perrie returns. Then Bock to CHB, Stevens to the bench.
NikkiNoo
15 Jun 2007, 09:52
Stevens is rubbish up forward and gives us nothing, except for the times when he is playing on someone half his size. Bock has had a mediocre season in the forward line (particularly the last few weeks) but gives us a better option and a stronger contest across half forward than Stevens does.
Both would play better footy at CHB but that is because playing in defence is much easier than playing up forward. You can't have them both in the backlines and McGregor as the only tall up forward. Bock will stay forward until Perrie returns. Then Bock to CHB, Stevens to the bench.
Pity Craig doesn't agree with you Carl ;) When Perrie has been playing so has both Bock and Stevens. McGregor gives another option of being able to play down back or up forward if needed.
Without disrespect to the Kangaroos I hope we rest Goody this week, just give him the two weeks off.
The feeling is mutual. Hoping we don't rush Wells back in too early and give him another fortnight off.
But win this and we go into the break 8-4 and a good thing for finals action (so I can understand why Laidley wants to rush him back - he was on fire before he got injured).
Resist the temptation coach, and let one of the kids do the job this week.
NikkiNoo
15 Jun 2007, 10:43
Apparently Goody is out and Jericho back in the team with Bernie as the travelling emergency - as reported on 5AA
Capitalist
15 Jun 2007, 10:45
Apparently Goody is out and Jericho back in the team with Bernie as the travelling emergency - as reported on 5AA
I heard bernie as travelling but I heard Luke was lining up for Westies Reserves ?
I'll be happy to hear Luke back in...
crows98
15 Jun 2007, 11:24
IMO it depends on 2 things, whether we play a negative brand of football or a positive one.
If we go with a negative game plan and try and slow the Kangaroos game down by flooding and blocking the areas, Douglas or Vince will get the nod. It would then just come down to whom the AFC believe is in front as in midfield potential ATM.
If Neil Craig throws the conservative game plan that he has been trying to use the last few week and goes on the all out attack, Luke Jericho will get the nod. He will be given the same role he played against Brisbane and Carlton by running the wings and becoming that link man out of defence.
Since Norwood have the bye, Luke Jericho should be the travelling emergency to cover the loss of Simon Goodwin. Does anyone know if Richard Douglas travelled with the team or stayed in Adelaide to play with the bays?
But saying that I cannot see Simon Goodwin being ruled out now.
Vic Crow
15 Jun 2007, 11:28
Uncanny. :o
Goodwin withdraws from team
9:41 AM Fri 15 June, 2007 | Back
for afc.com.au
Simon Goodwin has withdrawn from the Adelaide side to play the Kangaroos on Saturday night.
Goodwin, who sprained the medial ligament in his left knee last weekend, has trained lightly this week however “wasn’t quite right”.
Goodwin will be replaced by either Luke Jericho or Bernie Vince, who joins the squad of 23 travelling to the Gold Coast.
Southerntakeover
15 Jun 2007, 11:30
Welcome back Jericho.
crows98
15 Jun 2007, 11:30
Uncanny. :o
:o:(:thumbsd:
Oh well.
crows98
15 Jun 2007, 11:31
Welcome back Jericho.
As long as he gives 100% - we cannot ask for more than that.
Vic Crow
15 Jun 2007, 11:31
I guess I want Vince to play coz at least he will be on our list next season.
Southerntakeover
15 Jun 2007, 11:36
Tell you what, we'll get the two pretty boys to compete in a hair styling competition. The winner gets the spot in the team. :p
crows98
15 Jun 2007, 11:40
I would prefer Richard Douglas get a game over both of them. .
I would continue to play Graham Johncock as a half forward flanker, move Kris Massie into the midfield as a run with option (to help cover any loss incurred by Simon Goodwin) and Richard Douglas as a back pocket.
I am sorry but Bernie Vince is not a small forward, he has looked lost in the 4 or 5 game he has played. If he plays as a half forward tomorrow night it will be a waste.
If they insist upon playing Bernie Vince he should be used as a midfielder who can win his own ball, Kris Massie should play go into the defensive back 6 with Graham Johncock up forward.
Vic Crow
15 Jun 2007, 11:49
I would prefer Richard Douglas get a game over both of them. .
I would continue to play Graham Johncock as a half forward flanker, move Kris Massie into the midfield as a run with option (to help cover any loss incurred by Simon Goodwin) and Richard Douglas as a back pocket.
I am sorry but Bernie Vince is not a small forward, he has looked lost in the 4 or 5 game he has played. If he plays as a half forward tomorrow night it will be a waste.
If they insist upon playing Bernie Vince he should be used as a midfielder who can win his own ball, Kris Massie should play go into the defensive back 6 with Graham Johncock up forward.
I would certainly prefer Douglas to the other two, but the article said it'll be Vince or Jericho and of the two I'd prefer Vince. I'd also like to see him used sparingly through the midfield rotation. I reckon 50 minutes in the midfield would do him the world of good. Essentially we'd be carrying him because he wouldn't be playing much, but I think we can afford to do that so long as everyone else is OK to put in at least 75-80 minutes (can Roo?).
Agreed, we want Douglas! Outside him, my heart says Vince but my head says Jericho playing that uncontested attacking wingman position where it doesnt matter that he's as soft as the entire port team, and his athleticism and ability to kick a good looking long goal can shine through.
On Bock, I'm another one who has been disappointed with him this year but I predict a big game from him this week-well he'd better otherwise the chicken man's neck is on the chopping board, well from my Dream Team at least ;).
Dandy_GO
15 Jun 2007, 12:15
IMO it depends on 2 things, whether we play a negative brand of football or a positive one.
If we go with a negative game plan and try and slow the Kangaroos game down by flooding and blocking the areas, Douglas or Vince will get the nod. It would then just come down to whom the AFC believe is in front as in midfield potential ATM.
If Neil Craig throws the conservative game plan that he has been trying to use the last few week and goes on the all out attack, Luke Jericho will get the nod. He will be given the same role he played against Brisbane and Carlton by running the wings and becoming that link man out of defence.
Since Norwood have the bye, Luke Jericho should be the travelling emergency to cover the loss of Simon Goodwin. Does anyone know if Richard Douglas travelled with the team or stayed in Adelaide to play with the bays?
I was saying a similar thing re: the Jericho or Massie debate last week. It didn't eventuate like that at all. We played defensive and conservative, yet Jericho played (and contributed nothing in a game that did not suit him at all). I don't think you can accurately use the decision to play Jericho as evidence that we'll play attacking.
In fact, I don't expect we will at all. Hopefully after the week off, but I don't see it happening this week.
crows98
15 Jun 2007, 12:39
I was saying a similar thing re: the Jericho or Massie debate last week. It didn't eventuate like that at all. We played defensive and conservative, yet Jericho played (and contributed nothing in a game that did not suit him at all). I don't think you can accurately use the decision to play Jericho as evidence that we'll play attacking.
In fact, I don't expect we will at all. Hopefully after the week off, but I don't see it happening this week.
I agree with what you are saying that we cannot pin point a certain player to a style of game plan but last week Luke Jericho didn’t play the same role he played against Brisbane, Richmond, and Carlton.
Last weeks game against Geelong Luke Jericho went back to the same sort of role he was given in 2004 and 2005. Last week his role was to play as a lead up forward who had to win the contested football in a marking contest or once the ball hit the ground. In the previous 3 week before he was dropped his role in the side was to play as a free flowing attacking player on the wing (forward and back).
Last week I think Neil Craig had too much confidence in Luke Jericho that he could fulfil his expectation and employ a negative game plan as well.
If (and that a huge if) Luke Jericho plays tomorrow night, I will be surprised to see him playing the same role as he did against Geelong
the egg
15 Jun 2007, 13:36
when it comes down to it a player should be able to carry out more than one roll in a game and jericho simply cant do it. the intensity he shows aswel is piss poor its like he's still jogging around in an SANFL game
Mr_Smooth
15 Jun 2007, 13:57
Crows fly without Goodwin
June 15, 2007
ADELAIDE on-baller Simon Goodwin has been withdrawn from the Crows side to face the Kangaroos on the Gold Coast tomorrow night.
Goodwin was named in the side but has not recovered from a sprained medial ligament in his left knee, the Crows said thsi morning.
The prolific possession winner will be replaced by either Luke Jericho or Bernie Vince, with both players among a squad of 23 travelling to the Gold Coast today.
AAP
i suppose it confirms what we all ready suspected...
Capitalist
15 Jun 2007, 14:19
when it comes down to it a player should be able to carry out more than one roll in a game and jericho simply cant do it. the intensity he shows aswel is piss poor its like he's still jogging around in an SANFL game
this is true, however the type of player(s) that we relly lack at the crows are the ones who tend to come in and out of games, Crumbers and the varcoe/Davey, impact type player.
not every player can/is a consistent 4 qtr player
RoosterLad
15 Jun 2007, 14:39
I hope Vince comes in.
CarnCrows
15 Jun 2007, 14:59
Since Goody is out, Massie should take 50% of his role. Macca has been playing bits in the middle as has Roo, so they could, in conjunction with Massie take most of Goody's role.
This is however leaving a huge burden on Thompson in particular, Edwards and VB.
We need someone else to come into the team who can play a bit role in the middle.
My call is Vince. I dont see Jericho as a midfielder, more of a HFF receiver/wingman.
reCOGnise
15 Jun 2007, 15:24
on ch 10 morning news they stated that bernie vince was the traveling emergency, so does that mean that LJ gets the gig or?
very interesting..
Mad Dog
15 Jun 2007, 15:25
I think Jericho will play - and it wouldn't surprise me if Stevens or Stiffy might still be doubtful
WheresGroomgone
15 Jun 2007, 17:06
I hope Vince gets a guernsey infront of Jericho, however, if Jericho does play it will be interesting to watch because he will be playing for his footy future...surely...although he is cat like considering how many lives he has had. His run of chances must be coming to a close if he doesn't perform consistently, well even one good game might help. Someone loves the lad as many more have been given far less opportunity. Give Bernie a run in the guts lets observe his uncanny clearance skills rather than expect him to snaffle 3 or 4 goals everytime he plays and therefore be critical of him when he doesn't.
Hopefully the X-Factor gets a game ahead of handbags. It could be a great oportunity for him if he gets to spend some time on ball.
Carl Spackler
15 Jun 2007, 21:21
Pity Craig doesn't agree with you Carl ;) When Perrie has been playing so has both Bock and Stevens. McGregor gives another option of being able to play down back or up forward if needed.
Yes, but not Bock, Stevens and McGregor. When they have all been available McGregor has been playing SANFL.
I don't think there is enough room for Rutten, Stevens, Bock, McGregor and Perrie all in the same 18, particularly with Welsh and Bassett playing their current roles.