View Full Version : Miller Out - Recruiting Restructure at Tiger Land

Realistic Tiger
15 Jun 2007, 05:06
GREG Miller has been removed from overseeing Richmond's recruiting, with the club embarking on a nationwide search for a talent and list manager as part of a radical restructure of the Tigers' football department.
Although Miller will retain his role as director of football, he appears to have become the first casualty of the restructure, following the club's indifferent recruiting performance over the past five years.
Francis Jackson is expected to retain his role as the club's full-time recruitment manager, with the Tigers also looking to invest in not only an overall list manager to oversee recruiting, but at least two part-time talent-spotters working outside Victoria.
Miller is understood to have met club directors, including president Gary March, over the past week with a final series of recommendations regarding the planned changes to go before the Richmond board next week.
With the Tigers languishing at the bottom of the AFL ladder 11 rounds into the season, without a win, March told The Age after the Geelong thrashing at the start of last month that his board and chief executive had already embarked upon further rebuilding and a restructure of the club's under-resourced football department.
This followed coach Terry Wallace's comments on the eve of the season, that detailed and revealed the club's challenge regarding massive holes in his team's list.
March, when contacted by The Age last night, refused to comment on Miller's relatively reduced new role, saying no final decisions had been made.
Appointed to the board as part of the Clinton Casey ticket at the end of 2004, Miller does not face re-election until the end of 2008. It is not known whether he will retain his position until then.
Increasingly forced to defend Richmond's recruiting performance, since he joined the club almost five years ago, Miller is expected to continue to work with chief executive Steven Wright and the new list manager on player contracts.

More to the story click below:

http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/miller-loses-key-role-in-recruiting/2007/06/14/1181414462796.html

Good things come to those who wait. Finally it looks as though the club has seen the light and has removed Miller from the recruiting dept. By the looks of that article the club has started to get its act together off the field, spending money in areas we need to, to actually start improving.

lookkg386
15 Jun 2007, 07:47
Interesting, but the horse hasn't just bolted its in the next suburb!

Bojangles17
15 Jun 2007, 09:01
Positve step indeed, and clearly shows the increasing influence of a quality manager in steve wright. Miller was trying to perform this task from the dark ages where a fat cheque book and a couple of snoops in the Vic country leagues were enough to be cut above the pack...sadly in 2007 this just doesnt cut it and no suprises as to where we find ourselves in right now. Lets just hope this new appointment is a fresh faced forward thinking genius rather than some old rhelic looking to bolster his super before retirement looms:eek:

krustyman
15 Jun 2007, 09:45
its about time, miller filled the side with small, slightly built project players and got the tigers in this mess.

Sixtyseven
15 Jun 2007, 09:50
Dear Gary & Steve

This could be the most exciting & positive news for decades. Taking the right decisions now has the potential to set our club up for the the consistent level of success we believe we deserve.

Appointing the very best available "Head of Football Development" will be the key. A person of the highest calibre with the necessary depth & breadth of knowledge & experience. Someone with the right know-how in player education, training & development. Someone who shares overall responsibility with the senior Coach for development & performance. And someone the confidence & courage to take the difficult decisions. (Someone like Philip Walsh might have the goods).

But, according to Caro, "....Miller will retain his role as Director of Football....". So what exactly does this mean? That Miller will be "Boss of Football" or "Chief of Football". Surely not! Maybe he is the Director on the Board with responsibility for football? And that then perpetuates the conflict of interest in having a paid employee (below the level of CEO) as a Board Director.

So, Gary & Steve, it will be important to provide clarity around the roles & functions of those in the key positions.

Tiger supporters are very patient people. Taking a little more time to get this absolutely right from the outset will be crucial to our future success. We commend you Gary & Steve on your initiative thus far. We are placing a lot of faith in you making the right decisions.

Magic17
15 Jun 2007, 10:09
But he was going to find us the next Wayne Carey!:thumbsd:

itsintheblood
15 Jun 2007, 10:28
Appointing the very best available "Head of Football Development" will be the key.

As the president of carlton has said, "if they're the best available then they're not the best."

We need the best and should pay for it appropriately.

15 Jun 2007, 10:44
So every clever man that voted for Miller to be on the board, you just realised that you also made him unsackable.

He can only be voted off the board by the members, and that cant take place until the end of 2008

itsintheblood
15 Jun 2007, 10:51
So every clever man that voted for Miller to be on the board, you just realised that you also made him unsackable.

He can only be voted off the board by the members, and that cant take place until the end of 2008

His time will come though. If the jungle drums start beating hard enough he can be sacked by the president or CEO cant he?

15 Jun 2007, 11:38
His time will come though. If the jungle drums start beating hard enough he can be sacked by the president or CEO cant he?

Only the members can vote him off the board. CEO reports to him. President not the board cant sack him either

He's going to continue to influence the place behind the scenes until the end of next season.

And we cant blame the club for this one. We the members voted him in there.

Tigerrific
15 Jun 2007, 12:02
Only the members can vote him off the board. CEO reports to him. President not the board cant sack him either

He's going to continue to influence the place behind the scenes until the end of next season.

And we cant blame the club for this one. We the members voted him in there.

Why would you want to get rid of him all together when he is the best man for wheeling and dealing at the trade table. He is a great negotiator and will be able to target uncontracted players such as Charman or Meeson to be picked up in the PSD.

It's a good move to get a full time recruiter but Millers expertise should not be discounted.

BrissyTiger
15 Jun 2007, 12:03
I like to see us moving to sure up the club for the next generation.
We have been and still are a joke to most AFL people and it's bloody hard to cop!!
Think as professionals, hire the best and we will think like winners on the field.

CoggaRules
15 Jun 2007, 12:45
Just get Kevin Morris back to tigerland dudes. He is one of our own and he is one of the best if not the best, and here we are searching. ;)

benny_furs
15 Jun 2007, 12:56
Now this is demoralising...our club has basically said "our recruiting over the last 5 years has not been up to scratch" and they are admitting we have made too many mistakes picking players..

We are making another half million profit this year at least, why can't we just spend our entire profits on recruiting? lol I know that is not realistic but we are not the poorest and cheapest club in the AFL - so why do we act like it?

15 Jun 2007, 13:09
Why would you want to get rid of him all together when he is the best man for wheeling and dealing at the trade table. He is a great negotiator and will be able to target uncontracted players such as Charman or Meeson to be picked up in the PSD.

It's a good move to get a full time recruiter but Millers expertise should not be discounted.

No he's not. That's a myth. What he is good at is paying over the odds for players. Recruiting Nathan Brown is not that great a challenge when you're prepared to pay him 100% more than any other club.

And dont get me started on what he wanted to pay a half back flanker like Solomon

tigerdan
15 Jun 2007, 13:10
1980 is right about the guys who voted Miller on the board. I was more anti-Casey than pro-Miller at the time. Anyway that is history and bound to start a flame war.

Probably not a bad move. Being a bullshit artist and smooth talker has its uses but it's pretty obvious he was juggling too many hats. Lets face it there are better recruiters out there.

I don't mind Miller being the mouthpiece to get the deals done. We just need someone damn good to put the pieces together behind the scenes.

I don't think there is any need to sack him. Probably an EGM could be arranged with enough signatures. Isn't that what Pahoff was going to do?

LVAK
15 Jun 2007, 13:14
Now this is demoralising...our club has basically said "our recruiting over the last 5 years has not been up to scratch" and they are admitting we have made too many mistakes picking players..

We are making another half million profit this year at least, why can't we just spend our entire profits on recruiting? lol I know that is not realistic but we are not the poorest and cheapest club in the AFL - so why do we act like it?

I don't know if it is actually saying that in relation to the actual players recruited themselves ,moreso the financial constraints which are real. This is ofcourse of still of great concern but I don't think anyone will be making a definitive statement on the players recruited (from 2003 draft onwards) themselves until 2009.

I'm glad Miller has less to do, it's never the ideal situation to have someone wearing so many hats ( I also voted against his 'blackmail' tactics at the elections). I don't have a problem with him being at the club but I agree that finance for recruitment should be made top priority.

tigerT
15 Jun 2007, 13:21
No he's not. That's a myth. What he is good at is paying over the odds for players. Recruiting Nathan Brown is not that great a challenge when you're prepared to pay him 100% more than any other club.

And dont get me started on what he wanted to pay a half back flanker like Solomon

apart from the ridiculous contract krak gets which is 250k per year :eek: i think Miller has been very very good in bringing player contracts down. Gaspar took a significant pay cut, simmonds on abt 230k a year, bowdens contract was renegotiated and is very fair.. Solomon was at his prime, was still very young, that was his market value at the time, thankfully that didnt work out :o

......good to see the club is trying to improve this area. It was the right move, Miller was doing too much

ata40
15 Jun 2007, 13:26
Miller has become the scapegoat for an under-resourced, factional and poorly performed Victorian club.

It is clear he has been bridging gaps with minimal resources whilst at the same time trying to adhere to a some form of long term plan.

We are just starting to catch the opposition but overall are still a long way behind.

We are starting to see the consolidation that a little financial stability can bring.

Everyone has been expecting him to turn water into wine, it was never going to happen. He has done well to hold the fort and now we take another small incremental step forward.

emperor
15 Jun 2007, 13:28

not really demoralising imo because at least there has been an acknowledgement of the sub par recruiting and steps are being taken to rectify it. I see it as a good thing that the club admits its recruiting has been relatively shithouse.

Greg Miller= Messiah
15 Jun 2007, 13:43
Dude greg miller is doing 5 jobs at the club as well as recruiting.
He is one of the best administrators in the business and I'm glad his on the board. No way should he be kicked off

astro_toby
15 Jun 2007, 13:45
So - it can now be said - our recruiting has obviously not been anywhere near good enough

raises more doubts over meyer, pattison and co:(

well, at least we can get someone new in for this draft:)

hope miller's pay gets a significant cut, and he is happy with that. he is still a useful person to have at the club IMO

astro_toby
15 Jun 2007, 13:48
Miller has become the scapegoat for an under-resourced, factional and poorly performed Victorian club.

It is clear he has been bridging gaps with minimal resources whilst at the same time trying to adhere to a some form of long term plan.

We are just starting to catch the opposition but overall are still a long way behind.

We are starting to see the consolidation that a little financial stability can bring.

Everyone has been expecting him to turn water into wine, it was never going to happen. He has done well to hold the fort and now we take another small incremental step forward.

bull-kaka

he hasn't been made a scapegoat at all . your right, he has been doing 5 jobs at once - and you cnat expect someone to perform at his best when doing so - so they have released him of the job he has been doing the worse performance for, so he can continue and improve the fine jobs he has been doing.

basically, we obviously have some extra resoursces to spend on another professional to come in and do a very important job for us. doesn't make him a scapegoat

deliberate!!
15 Jun 2007, 13:51
good...

tigerT
15 Jun 2007, 13:55
bull-kaka

he hasn't been made a scapegoat at all . your right, he has been doing 5 jobs at once - and you cnat expect someone to perform at his best when doing so - so they have released him of the job he has been doing the worse performance for, so he can continue and improve the fine jobs he has been doing.

basically, we obviously have some extra resoursces to spend on another professional to come in and do a very important job for us. doesn't make him a scapegoat

richmond supporters always look for a scapegoat

4 years ago it was great that we had an administrator who could make things happen like get high profile players like kane Johnson and N. Brown to choose the tigers over other suitors, now in hindsight he is ridiculed and bagged incessantlyh on this board for doing what every single rfc supporter wanted at the time..

its the richmond way
you wouldnt know this bc you support the blues..

astro_toby
15 Jun 2007, 14:19

4 years ago it was great that we had an administrator who could make things happen like get high profile players like kane Johnson and N. Brown to choose the tigers over other suitors, now in hindsight he is ridiculed and bagged incessantlyh on this board for doing what every single rfc supporter wanted at the time..

its the richmond way

of course he is a scapegoat to the supporters - he johno and petts are like our "3 must-b-their faulteers" at the moment

i was referring in reference to him being made a scape goat by the club - as a result of his demotion

i probably know more about richmond than you tigerT (definitely NOT Tigerdan), which must embarrass you immensely, me being a carlton supporter and all:rolleyes:

tigerdan
15 Jun 2007, 14:24
i probably know more about richmond than you tigerdan, which must embarrass you immensely, me being a carlton supporter and all:rolleyes:

What did I do wrong????

tigerT
15 Jun 2007, 14:29
What did I do wrong????

Im tigerdan, youre an imposter :D

Realistic Tiger
15 Jun 2007, 14:39
He is one of the best administrators in the business and I'm glad his on the board. No way should he be kicked off
Didn't know Miller had kids, say G'Day to the old man for us and tell him were right behind him. :D

astro_toby
15 Jun 2007, 14:43
What did I do wrong????

heheheheeh sorry tigerdan:o wrong chap there - was reading a post of yours prior to typing this

TigerT - i probably know more than...so on and so on

15 Jun 2007, 15:34

Best administrators according to who????

You????

Is that why North booted him out??

They booted him out because he was a bad administrator and nearly bankrupted the club. Just like he nearly did to us.

jackson_rules
15 Jun 2007, 15:57

You????

They booted him out because he was a bad administrator and nearly bankrupted the club. Just like he nearly did to us.
our bank books have improved while he has been at the club:p

PLSC
15 Jun 2007, 16:22
A-****ing-MEN!

get this imposter the hell away from recruiting and leave him and his fat ego at the door

its no good just having francis jackson and other part time recruiters if you want to be fair dinkum, we need a proper list manager who can point out to miller the cockups made the past 5 years and slowly but surely fill the holes

your not going to get the best guy out there at this time of the year anyway so i still dont know wtf they are going to do but its a step in the right direction

jackson_rules
15 Jun 2007, 16:38
A-****ing-MEN!

get this imposter the hell away from recruiting and leave him and his fat ego at the door

its no good just having francis jackson and other part time recruiters if you want to be fair dinkum, we need a proper list manager who can point out to miller the cockups made the past 5 years and slowly but surely fill the holes

your not going to get the best guy out there at this time of the year anyway so i still dont know wtf they are going to do but its a step in the right direction
i agree, we are going to have to use who we have this year and start fresh next year

Infamy
15 Jun 2007, 17:11

its the richmond way

Good posts

tigers71
15 Jun 2007, 17:23
our bank books have improved while he has been at the club:p

Big deal about the finances, I thought the success has to do with on the field. I love that we are 0-1-10. What a fantastic situation we see ourselves :)

jezza
15 Jun 2007, 17:34

1.It's not demolarising, it's a step in the right direction, one of many we have made over the last couple of seasons that are seeing our club finally catching up a bit.

2. It's admitting a problem that because of money, we had a guy that was on the board, in charge of the football department and head of recruiting. Too many hats. Now we have a bit more money, we can afford to let him concentrate on more appropriate matters and get a specialised recruiting manager in.

3. We are one of the poorest clubs. We have a big debt to pay off and a redevelopment of Punt Road coming up. These are competing for resources with recruiting and the football department. Money is in short supply whilst areas needing money are plentiful.

jezza
15 Jun 2007, 17:36
Big deal about the finances, I thought the success has to do with on the field. I love that we are 0-1-10. What a fantastic situation we see ourselves :)

Another who can't look beyond the win loss column to see the improvement at the club....

deliberate!!
15 Jun 2007, 18:12
Another who can't look beyond the win loss column to see the improvement at the club....

So please show us how we judge a club???????
By some airy-fairy, intangible sense of improvement that you go by.
Gee, it's tiring listening to you guys saying we are improving, BUT YOU CAN'T PROVE IT. You're like some obscure, nutty religion we have to believe in, just because YOU do.

Does a horse trainer base his improvement on how his young stable is progressing, or how many races he's won?

Smell the roses, and get with program....

Shees

:thumbsd:

PLSC
15 Jun 2007, 18:21
Gee, it's tiring listening to you guys saying we are improving, BUT YOU CAN'T PROVE IT. You're like some obscure, nutty religion we have to believe in, just because YOU do.

Does a horse trainer base his improvement on how his young stable is progressing, or how many races he's won?

Shees

**** oath

tigers71
15 Jun 2007, 18:27

It is great that our finances are improving. But you go to football to win and not be 0-1-10. Its great seeing the young talent we have. But at the end of the day you like seeing teams winning.

They make profits from success breeding success.

jezza
15 Jun 2007, 18:30

Shees

Judge it by it's financial position. By it's number of members. By it's quality of list. By the number of games it's been competitive in, despite fielding extremely young sides. Judge it by the potential in the list to build for the future and the rapidly dwindling number of mid-level players that will never take us past 9th place. Sure wins are important, but they are not everything.

Whether you want to ignore it or not, we are improving in every aspect of the club and in most cases, are light-years ahead of where we were 3 seasons ago. No longer are we a club satisfied with building side with mid-level recycled players that will scrape together 8-10 wins a season and be content with 9th place (which you would seem to prefer).

My eyes are wide open to everything that matters, not just one thing.

jezza
15 Jun 2007, 18:36
It is great that our finances are improving. But you go to football to win and not be 0-1-10. Its great seeing the young talent we have. But at the end of the day you like seeing teams winning.

They make profits from success breeding success.

Finance is but one of the important factors.

Who is 'they', that make profits from success breeding success? That'd be nice and all, but when you're starting from bottom, with big debts, poor facilities etc etc that you have inherited, success is not possible in modern football. Money is massively more important these days than it was 10 years ago when a side like North Melbourne could win flags despite being an off-field rabble.

Nowadays, money rules all. More money means a full list or rookies. More money means the best assistant coaches. It means player development managers aplenty. It means more sports scientists and physios than you can dream of to make sure you're getting the most out of your players. It means more recruiters watching more kids more often, to make sure you draft the right ones.

Money money money.

We don't have it. The current administration inherited big problems when they took over. They are gradually righting the ship and eventually we will be at a point when we can compete with the big clubs, both on and off field.

londontiger
15 Jun 2007, 18:44
Just get Kevin Morris back to tigerland dudes. He is one of our own and he is one of the best if not the best, and here we are searching. ;)

Agree totally. :thumbsu:

santa claws
15 Jun 2007, 19:59
finally his abysmal performance has been recognised by the club. his list management and recruiting have been terrible. his management of funds not much better his blackmailing the membership showed a lack of integrity along with his conflict of interests.
ive voiced concern about this bloke and criticised his work in the footy dpt for the last 4 yrs. its cost me plenty when debating him with other tiger supporters. his performance even contributed to me getting banned from anothe r site. i now feel vindicated but wont be happy until the overrated underachieving dud is gone altogether.

tigers71
15 Jun 2007, 20:04

Who is 'they', that make profits from success breeding success? That'd be nice and all, but when you're starting from bottom, with big debts, poor facilities etc etc that you have inherited, success is not possible in modern football. Money is massively more important these days than it was 10 years ago when a side like North Melbourne could win flags despite being an off-field rabble.

Nowadays, money rules all. More money means a full list or rookies. More money means the best assistant coaches. It means player development managers aplenty. It means more sports scientists and physios than you can dream of to make sure you're getting the most out of your players. It means more recruiters watching more kids more often, to make sure you draft the right ones.

Money money money.

We don't have it. The current administration inherited big problems when they took over. They are gradually righting the ship and eventually we will be at a point when we can compete with the big clubs, both on and off field.

Collingwood, Essendon, Geelong, Hawthorn, Adelaide, West Coast, Sydney, Port, Freo and Brisbane

CoggaRules
15 Jun 2007, 22:05
i agree, we are going to have to use who we have this year and start fresh next year

wooppee doo, that in a nutshell sets us back 3 or 4 years. We will **** up another golden opprotunity. We will have the right set up when we are middle of the road. ;)

GhostofJimJess
15 Jun 2007, 22:28

That's wrong. We offered him way less than what Carlton did.

PLSC
15 Jun 2007, 23:04

Money money money.

fund raising and cost cutting can only get you so far

you want to make money the best way is to get a quality team on the park, you dont feel sorry for yourself and cry about what you dont have you just get on with the job and do what you can

we might trickle past the 30k members this year but it wont mean shit because there are a heap of other clubs who are moving up as well, we wont smash the mid 30's until we see finals action and thats a long way away

jezza
15 Jun 2007, 23:47
you want to make money the best way is to get a quality team on the park, you dont feel sorry for yourself and cry about what you dont have you just get on with the job and do what you can

Isn't that what we're doing though? Finally trying to build a quality team, recognising finally that we may actually have to go through some rebuilding to do that, rather than just keeping on bringing in mid-level guys from other clubs to get us 8 wins a year but not have any improvement in the list?

krustyman
16 Jun 2007, 09:24
I hope its a sign that tigers focus on the small/slightly built crumber is not the way to go. you cant fill the side with 6 or 7 crumbers and expect get anywhere and its time to go for the stronger player.

Bojangles17
16 Jun 2007, 23:42
That's wrong. We offered him way less than what Carlton did.

the undercurrent is generally right though, his trick is longgggggg term deals such as 5 yrs for simmo and browny and TW...which in the uncertain world of footy are simply too good to refuse

GhostofJimJess
18 Jun 2007, 22:07
I hope its a sign that tigers focus on the small/slightly built crumber is not the way to go. you cant fill the side with 6 or 7 crumbers and expect get anywhere and its time to go for the stronger player.

You mean like Polak, Riewoldt and Kingsley?

CoggaRules
19 Jun 2007, 12:08

You????

The Roos have been running on the smell of an oily rag for deacades. The only thing that has saved them from oblivion is they had a gun side on the park under Pagan and during GM's tenure. Ontop of having powerful dudes who supported them in top possies at the AFL and the media. Do you need the honour roll?
You cant nearly bankrupt a perpetuallly nearly bankrupt club dude.
They booted him out because they expected him to make money for them when they had and have 3 supporters and a dog. ;)

19 Jun 2007, 12:16
The Roos have been running on the smell of an oily rag for deacades. The only thing that has saved them from oblivion is they had a gun side on the park under Pagan and during GM's tenure. Ontop of having powerful dudes who supported them in top possies at the AFL and the media. Do you need the honour roll?
You cant nearly bankrupt a perpetuallly nearly bankrupt club dude.
They booted him out because they expected him to make money for them when they had and have 3 supporters and a dog. ;)

Another uniformed attempt to comment on something you know nothing about.

He was a footy manager that was desperate to be seen as an administrator. When he was the interim CEO while they were searching for a permanent replacement, he made business decisions that had them at the door of Fitzroy

Go do a google on it

GhostofJimJess
19 Jun 2007, 21:15
Another uniformed attempt to comment on something you know nothing about.

Exactly what uniform should he be wearing?

CoggaRules
19 Jun 2007, 22:03
;)Another uniformed attempt to comment on something you know nothing about.

He was a footy manager that was desperate to be seen as an administrator. When he was the interim CEO while they were searching for a permanent replacement, he made business decisions that had them at the door of Fitzroy

Go do a google on it

Yes and now that the Roos found their permanent CEo they are next door to what used to be Fitzroy and is now Brisbane.

Man, are you that simple?
So you google on something, read what someone has written, that automatically to you means its "informed", and hence you are "informed'?
LMAO, what a dip stick.
Here is a tip, you might want to see what was happening, prior to him getting there, what happened while he was there, what is happening now after he left them what? 6or 7 years ago or was it 10?. Then ask yourself, what time would the Roos supporters beg to have back. You might even learn the skill of becoming informed by using your own brain and not reading what someone else writes. ;)

20 Jun 2007, 14:59
;)

Yes and now that the Roos found their permanent CEo they are next door to what used to be Fitzroy and is now Brisbane.

Man, are you that simple?
So you google on something, read what someone has written, that automatically to you means its "informed", and hence you are "informed'?
LMAO, what a dip stick.
Here is a tip, you might want to see what was happening, prior to him getting there, what happened while he was there, what is happening now after he left them what? 6or 7 years ago or was it 10?. Then ask yourself, what time would the Roos supporters beg to have back. You might even learn the skill of becoming informed by using your own brain and not reading what someone else writes. ;)

When someone tells you to "Do a google" they're telling you you dont have a clue.

The Roos are the surprise team of this season. Not too many of their members are compaining. Go ask them what they thought of Miller as their interim CEO.

CoggaRules
21 Jun 2007, 00:01
When someone tells you to "Do a google" they're telling you you dont have a clue.

The Roos are the surprise team of this season. Not too many of their members are compaining. Go ask them what they thought of Miller as their interim CEO.

hmm, yeah i bet you have asked "them". I mean, you most likely have talked to 3, and hence you are "well" informed, seeing as they must have been well informed, in your mind at least.
Surprise team? naaa, they are following our pattern of years gone past, stay tuned. i.e. i take it you watched them against the crows? If you did, did you any doubts that they were toast? So the roo supporters are not complaining because their team is mediocre huh? Sound familiar? Or you might want to add that they have a coach who wears his heart on his sleeve, to make it sound even more familiar. ;)

benny_furs
21 Jun 2007, 00:50

You still haven't told us which team you support ;)