View Full Version : Taylor Walker playing at the Parade Tomorrow!

Pages : [1] 2

jo172
15 Jun 2007, 17:55
I was speaking to a mate who plays in the State U18's today and he was telling he how tomorrow they're playing the NSW/ACT U18's in a practice match at Norwood Oval.

This of course means the Great White Hope in Taylor Walker will be under our very noses from middayish (IIRC) tomorrow at the Parade. I would go and watch but i'll be playing, would be great if anyone could go down there and get a look at him:thumbsu:

bus24
15 Jun 2007, 17:57
Awesome

OMG OMG OMG (Homer Simpson style)

:D

-CG-
15 Jun 2007, 19:53
Anyone happen to know what time they're playing?

jo172
15 Jun 2007, 19:55
Anyone happen to know what time they're playing?

I'm not certain but i got the vibe that it was around midday or so.

-CG-
15 Jun 2007, 20:00
I'm not certain but i got the vibe that it was around midday or so.

Thanks :thumbsu: There's no info on the afl website or even the sanfl website :rolleyes:

jo172
15 Jun 2007, 20:45
http://safootycentral.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=8372

I posted that thread on Safootycentral, so if anyone knows when the match is most likely those blokes will:thumbsu:

Southerntakeover
15 Jun 2007, 20:52
My brothers umpiring this.

jo172
15 Jun 2007, 20:53
My brothers umpiring this.

Does he know what time it is?:p

Southerntakeover
15 Jun 2007, 20:56
Does he know what time it is?:p

Youd hope so.

Ill see if i can find out off him.

jo172
15 Jun 2007, 21:49
safooty has the game starting at 11am for anyone who is interested, i have to be at my game at 11:30 but it's only just up the road so i might pop in for the first quarter or so.

betterthanu
15 Jun 2007, 22:25
^^^Who do u play for???

jo172
15 Jun 2007, 22:44
^^^Who do u play for???

This year i'm doing year 12 so i just cut down to playing school footy at Marryatville.

WheresGroomgone
15 Jun 2007, 23:30
This year i'm doing year 12 so i just cut down to playing school footy at Marryatville.

And in other years you play more than that...?

jo172
15 Jun 2007, 23:39
And in other years you play more than that...?

I've done some time in Norwood underage's and at Payneham Norwood Union.

bus24
15 Jun 2007, 23:43
I've done some time in Norwood underage's and at Payneham Norwood Union.

Payneham boooooo :p

If you're doing year 12 this year, I might have played against you before.

jo172
15 Jun 2007, 23:45
Payneham boooooo :p

If you're doing year 12 this year, I might have played against you before.

Where did you play?

bus24
15 Jun 2007, 23:50
Where did you play?

Golden Grove. Yeh we weren't flash, but we were better than the other Golden Grove team.

Vic Crow
15 Jun 2007, 23:57
Damn! I always figured I'd be the first on here to scout Taylor Walker coz he's played in Victoria like five times this year but each time I've either had something else on, or it's been regional.

I'll get to see him at the Championships in July.

-CG-
15 Jun 2007, 23:59

Ahh you'd know James Wundke, guess you were talking about him before. Good prospect :thumbsu:

jo172
16 Jun 2007, 00:01
Golden Grove. Yeh we weren't flash, but we were better than the other Golden Grove team.

My only qualms with you lot is how ****ing far away you are (one of the reasons i cbf with Norwood this year)

Also the last two years i played you guys ended up winning the flag so it wasn't all bad:thumbsu:

jo172
16 Jun 2007, 00:02
Ahh you'd know James Wundke, guess you were talking about him before. Good prospect :thumbsu:

Indeed he is. He has the longest arms of anyone in the world. He'd also want me to say that he is still growing.

-CG-
16 Jun 2007, 16:16
I decided to go down to Norwood to have a look at this game. It was of a high standard and was quite enjoyable to watch :thumbsu: The score was:

SA 5.5 8.8 16.12 19.15 129
NSW/ACT 1.4 5.8 6.12 10.17 77

I arrived about half way through the first quarter. Young Taylor Walker was at FF and he had no touches for the remainder of the quater. In the second quarter he did better. He started at FF, but again couldn't fnd the ball, so he was off for about 5 mins before appearing again at HF. Here he set up a couple of points, gathered a handball and took a mark. His third quarter was his best. He stayed on for the full quarter at HF. He had three handballs, one kick, one tackle and one mark for the term. He is a booming kicked and kicked a behind from about 55m out. Again in the final term he was at HF, although quite early on he was moved to HB and played on SA's number 26, who was doing quite well. He took two kick ins from behinds and received a kick for an out on the full, however he kicked it out on the full. He got another kick from a free kick, and received 50m, he had a shot on goal and missed. He took a nice contested mark though. He didn't have much of an opportunity though, SA were dominating. So, all in all a quite day out for him. I took a video of him kicking for goal, and I'll post it here later.

Some guys that stood out for me were SA's number 35, Rhys Clinton, all 203cm of him. Reminds me of Jonathon Griffen in ways. SA's number 5, Matthew Wright, would have been very pleased with his game. He scored 5 goals in the third term. SA's number 34, Paul Cahill presented well in the goal sqaure. Brad Ebert was also playing and had a solid game. A few of the lads from NSW/ACT are quite big, they looked generally more bulky than the SA guys.

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b49/Anne66/TaylorWalker1.jpg
Walker

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b49/Anne66/BradEbert1.jpg
Ebert

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b49/Anne66/P10604951.jpg
Clinton in the ruck

Gets!
16 Jun 2007, 16:26
Walker has grown up a bit since that other photo haha

-CG-
16 Jun 2007, 16:58
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=73SkaEsslHc

Here's the link to the video.

Gets!
16 Jun 2007, 17:01
Cheers!

If Ebert is available at our first pick - there is no doubt we will take him I reckon. Will be a star!

betterthanu
16 Jun 2007, 17:28

That looked like he was kicking a torp

Drummond
16 Jun 2007, 17:36
Fantastic stuff Crow*Girl. :thumbsu: :)

Sounds like a very quiet day for big Walker. :( But he'll soon get used to the Parade, his future home ground. ;)

RooDog
16 Jun 2007, 18:03
i wouldnt be too unhappy if we drafted paul cahill, will definately play afl somewhere, is tall, athletic and has a sensational pair of hands. only a late call up to the squad, dominated the 17s competition at the start of the year before moving up to the 19s and continually kickng goals, fantastic set shot too. one of those blokes who can be totally out of position in a pack and take a mark having everyone saying where did he come from.

Punchy Bassett
16 Jun 2007, 18:21

Love the OOOH at the end when the trip happens :D

macca23
16 Jun 2007, 18:27
That looked like he was kicking a torp

Definitely a torp.

Gets!
16 Jun 2007, 18:31
Definitely a torp.

Macca think the chances are high he will end up on our list?

bus24
16 Jun 2007, 18:34
Cheers!

If Ebert is available at our first pick - there is no doubt we will take him I reckon. Will be a star!

I'm afraid there's no way Ebert will be available at our pick. Although I did think the same thing about Jimmy.

Gets!
16 Jun 2007, 18:36
I'm afraid there's no way Ebert will be available at our pick. Although I did think the same thing about Jimmy.

I thought the exact same thing about Sellar as well dude.

BUT you never know, for all we know we could have pick 9 or something (hope not)

macca23
16 Jun 2007, 18:36
Macca think the chances are high he will end up on our list?

Too hard to call.

He'd have to improve on that game to get a spot, wouldn't he.

Mind you, it's only one game. He must be able to play better than that, you would think.

bus24
16 Jun 2007, 18:39
Too hard to call.

He'd have to improve on that game to get a spot, wouldn't he.

Mind you, it's only one game. He must be able to play better than that, you would think.

He did kick 17 goals in his 3 TAC cup games and was in the best players against QLD on Monday.

Wouldn't have thought the conditions suited him today.

He'll be on our list for sure.

Drummond
16 Jun 2007, 18:46
http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b49/Anne66/TaylorWalker1.jpg

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b49/Anne66/BradEbert1.jpg

Look at the difference between these two guys. Walker is so thin around the thighs, whereas Ebert is so well built and is a ready made player. Walker needs to add at least 10 kg’s and therefore he’s a good 2 years away.

-CG-
16 Jun 2007, 18:54
Look at the difference between these two guys. Walker is so thin around the thighs, whereas Ebert is so well built and is a ready made player. Walker needs to add at least 10 kg’s and therefore he’s a good 2 years away.

Walker stands at 188cm and 81kg, not sure about Ebert, but there is defenitly a difference there. Oh and the young SA ruckman, Rhys Clinton, is 203cm and only 82kg.

Macca19
16 Jun 2007, 18:59
Ebert is 187cm and 83kg.

fantastic_crows
16 Jun 2007, 19:00
haha Matty Wright, what a gun.

Went to school and played cricket with the bloke :thumbsu:

bus24
16 Jun 2007, 19:03
Ebert is 187cm and 83kg.

So not that much bigger at all.

Just an angle thing.

-CG-
16 Jun 2007, 19:08
Just on Walker, he's got a very distinct kicking action for goal. Earlier in the game he had a shot from 45m out and he kicked it the same way as he did the torp, besides the way he was holding the ball obviously. Certainly got a good leg.

betterthanu
16 Jun 2007, 21:38
Just on Walker, he's got a very distinct kicking action for goal. Earlier in the game he had a shot from 45m out and he kicked it the same way as he did the torp, besides the way he was holding the ball obviously. Certainly got a good leg.

He must have modeled himself on ROO's set shot for goal.

bus24
16 Jun 2007, 21:40
If he has a similar kicking action to that video then I'll be happy. Kicks right through it.

The Royal Sampler
18 Jun 2007, 00:12
Obligatory Scott Reed post... how'd he go? :D

bus24
18 Jun 2007, 00:13
How awesome is Taylors filthy mullet.

Love it.

David_Brent
18 Jun 2007, 00:20

Where did you get that footage? Or was it you own handy work :p

- PC -
18 Jun 2007, 00:22
http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b49/Anne66/P10604951.jpg
Clinton in the ruck

Look at all the holding

Great report CG :thumbsu:

-CG-
18 Jun 2007, 09:08
Where did you get that footage? Or was it you own handy work :p

It was my own handy work :)

Oh and the quality is not that good because I had to zoom in ;)

-CG-
18 Jun 2007, 09:11
Obligatory Scott Reed post... how'd he go? :D

Didn't know what number he was. Got there late and they'd run out of team lists, all the scouts got there first :p Perhaps if you'd happen to know what number he was I might remember him, there were a few standouts from NSW/ACT.

The Royal Sampler
18 Jun 2007, 09:32
I believe he normally plays for the Rams in number 20. Thanks :)

CarnCrows
18 Jun 2007, 14:36

Love it.
I hear he is modelling it on someone... Now to work on the facial hair.

http://timstvshowcase.com/walker3.jpg

-CG-
18 Jun 2007, 16:36
I believe he normally plays for the Rams in number 20. Thanks :)

Sorry, can't say I remember a number 20.

So how was his movement then? Did he look quick as interstaters have suggested?

To be honest, there weren't peroids were he was doing a lot of moving, like chasing. He's certainly not slow, but it was quite game for him.

-CG-
18 Jun 2007, 16:47

Love it.

What, this thing? ;)

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b49/Anne66/walllker.jpg

bus24
18 Jun 2007, 16:51
What, this thing? ;)

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b49/Anne66/walllker.jpg

Haha yeh.

FILTHY FILTHY MULLET :thumbsu:

crows98
19 Jun 2007, 10:33
Channel 9 News have a story on the kid tonight. :thumbsu:

Gets!
19 Jun 2007, 11:55
Channel 9 News have a story on the kid tonight. :thumbsu:

You mean tonight (tuesday)?

grimlock
19 Jun 2007, 12:08
Thanks for all the great info. Anyone know how Craig Bird went for the Rams, or if he played at all? I think he wears No.3 and plays in the midfield.

macca23
19 Jun 2007, 15:14
You mean tonight (tuesday)?

Yep, tonight on 9 as part of their 6 00 pm news service. The promos were advertising it as something along the line of the Crows surprise recruit and showed vision of the lad.

Gets!
19 Jun 2007, 15:20
Okay cool, will it be in sports or at the start of the show ya reckon?

Just my last break is 6.10 tonight so I wanna be able to see it.

crows98
19 Jun 2007, 15:35
Okay cool, will it be in sports or at the start of the show ya reckon?

Just my last break is 6.10 tonight so I wanna be able to see it.

It will be in the sport section - 6:18 - 6:24

Gets!
19 Jun 2007, 16:14
It will be in the sport section - 6:18 - 6:24

Can you please be a bit more specific?

crows98
19 Jun 2007, 16:25

This story will be in the sport section of the news.

Normally the sport section on channel 9 starts at approximately 6:18 pm and will finish approximately 6:24 pm (2 mins of Adverts) and 3 mins for the weather and the news’s will finish at 6:29 ready for the ACA crappolla. :cool:

Blue Red and Gold
19 Jun 2007, 17:48
haha

hope someone watches this and posts what was said as I will be at footy training.

bus24
19 Jun 2007, 17:50
I saw the add during Nightline last night. Finally someone has realised what a star he is.

Gets!
19 Jun 2007, 17:55

Normally the sport section on channel 9 starts at approximately 6:18 pm and will finish approximately 6:24 pm (2 mins of Adverts) and 3 mins for the weather and the news’s will finish at 6:29 ready for the ACA crappolla. :cool:

Cheers mate but I was extracting the urine ;)

James23
19 Jun 2007, 17:56

i believe your sarcasm detectors need some fine tuning

-CG-
19 Jun 2007, 18:04
Thanks for all the great info. Anyone know how Craig Bird went for the Rams, or if he played at all? I think he wears No.3 and plays in the midfield.

Wasn't a stand out for me...I don't remember seeing a number 3

Crow-mo
19 Jun 2007, 19:43
I saw the add during Nightline last night. Finally someone has realised what a star he is.

realised?

they'll have picked it up from here.

bus24
19 Jun 2007, 19:44
realised?

they'll have picked it up from here.

True.

bus24
19 Jun 2007, 19:55
How classy is he :eek:

Waltzes around opponents with ease.

NikkiNoo
Loved the vision of him showing the sa player the footy and balking around him :D

Seems to be a promising pick up by us and as bandwagoner from 97, welcome aboard Taylor ;)

Capitalist
well he isn't going to fit into the "perfect hair" crew at AFC atm

Capitalist
19 Jun 2007, 19:56
How classy is he :eek:

Waltzes around opponents with ease.

remember they are highlights - so i'd wouldn't get to excited

bus24
19 Jun 2007, 19:57
well he isn't going to fit into the "perfect hair" crew at AFC atm

Great Mullet. So filthy :thumbsu:

bus24
19 Jun 2007, 19:57
remember they are highlights - so i'd wouldn't get to excited

Proving that he can do it.

NikkiNoo
19 Jun 2007, 19:58

I remember another 17 year old with a similiar kicking style and mullet :p

Vader
20 Jun 2007, 10:14
Would someone please fill the rest of us in on what the news segment actually had to say about young Tex? (For the benefit of those not living in Adelaide).

Thanks.

Vic Crow
20 Jun 2007, 10:28
He better be keeping that.

macca23
20 Jun 2007, 15:10
Would someone please fill the rest of us in on what the news segment actually had to say about young Tex? (For the benefit of those not living in Adelaide).

Thanks.

It started off by saying that when he was only 7 ten years ago, little did he dream that one day he might play for the team for which he was an avid barracker.

A team whose list he might well be on at the end of this year.

It showed vision of him playing for NSW at Norwood Oval against the SA U'18 squad. Some nice baulks, mark and a kick from a set shot (lovely kicking action, as he guides it down and kicks right through it.)

The accompanying commentary went through the schorlaship bit while that was going on and then went to a brief interview with the lad, who said that he had trained with the Crows at the Strathalbyn camp, and they had treated him like one of their own. How wrapped he was with the whole thing etc etc

There may have been more words but in substance that was basically it.

crows98
20 Jun 2007, 15:47
It started off by saying that when he was only 7 ten years ago, little did he dream that one day he might play for the team for which he was an avid barracker.

A team whose list he might well be on at the end of this year.

It showed vision of him playing for NSW at Norwood Oval against the SA U'18 squad. Some nice baulks, mark and a kick from a set shot (lovely kicking action, as he guides it down and kicks right through it.)

The accompanying commentary went through the schorlaship bit while that was going on and then went to a brief interview with the lad, who said that he had trained with the Crows at the Strathalbyn camp, and they had treated him like one of their own. How wrapped he was with the whole thing etc etc

There may have been more words but in substance that was basically it.

And Darrel Hart was his club mentor whom he talks to once a week.

Vader
20 Jun 2007, 17:04
Many thanks guys.

Blue Red and Gold
20 Jun 2007, 18:43
cheers for that

Blue Red and Gold
20 Jun 2007, 18:51
What are you doing in Canberra (if you don't mind me asking)?
buying porn and fire works!

crows98
20 Jun 2007, 19:06
buying porn and fire works!

Well it’s not called the capital for nothing. :D

ams4crows
20 Jun 2007, 21:50
Guys seriously how do you go from talking about a possible future Star Crow to the porn in Canberra?

bus24
20 Jun 2007, 22:21
Guys seriously how do you go from talking about a possible future Star Crow to the porn in Canberra?

Taylor wanted it this way.

Crow-mo
20 Jun 2007, 22:36

talent, dedication, and eye for detail

conversations don't just turn to porn on their own. ;)

Vader
21 Jun 2007, 10:12
What are you doing in Canberra (if you don't mind me asking)? There seems to be as many interstate crows supporters as local ones these days. MADNESS *spin-dashes away from the forum*

Moved here for work.

Born and raised in SA, I haven't lived there since 1995. Moved to Canberra back in 1995, then to Sydney in late 1996, Perth in 2000, then back to Canberra in 2002. Been here ever since.

And the fireworks are definitely a bonus. One of only two places where they're legal, even if it is only once a year. We get to "blow shit up" over the Queen's Birthday long weekend (just been), while people in the NT get to do the same on Territory Day (their equivalent to SA's Proclamation Day).

bus24
23 Jun 2007, 19:21
I think he was playing his first U/18 Champs game against NT as the curtain raiser to tonights Swans v Pies game.

Vic Crow
23 Jun 2007, 19:29
Aye, tis true. Hopefully it's going well...

bus24
23 Jun 2007, 19:46
Earlier today

Tasmania, 2.0, 7.6, 12.9, 17.14 (116)
Queensland, 4.6, 6.8, 11.10, 13.13 (91)

Goals, Tas: J Bowden 5, A Cornelius 5, B O’Garey, A Grima, Z Murphy, T Mihocek, A Joseph, T Collier, T Bellchambers. Qld: D Stewart 5, D Zorko 2, D Savage, A Rolfe, M Davis, M Enright, J Mulligan, B Jones.

Best, Tas: J Bowden, J O’Brien, T Bellchambers, A Grima, A Williams, A Cornelius. Qld: B Gibson, D Stewart, B Headland, B Whitecross, J Daye.

jo172
23 Jun 2007, 19:49
Any reason why T Bellchambers is bolded?

Ain't No Chicken, Turkey!
23 Jun 2007, 21:45
Results off AFL Website
http://www.afl.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=45868

NSW/ACT 20.11- (131) defeated Northern Territory 12.11 (83)
Goals: NSW/ACT: Walker 5, McGregor 4, McIntyre 3, Colvin 2, Davis 2, Cleaver, Terlich, Drum, Davies.NT: Rolfe 3, Oliver, Fittock, Stokes, C. Rioli, Motlop, Campbell, Farmer, Calma-Holt, Shannon Rioli.
Best: NSW/ACT: McGregor, Bird, Wilson, Woods, Davis, Overs. NT: Fittock, Oliver, Sharples, C Rioli, Snowdon, Stokes.

Not too shabby :cool:

bus24
23 Jun 2007, 21:58
Woot Woot go Taylor :thumbsu:

Dandy_GO
23 Jun 2007, 22:18
Surprised he didn't get in the best when he was the highest scorer on the ground.
Another 5 goals from 5 kicks Walker special?

crowsarethebest
23 Jun 2007, 22:21
Yeah... suprised he wasn't in the best. If that's the case, he's most likely one of those players where he marks, kicks, then goals. Hopefully he's a Fevola, not a Kingsley.

Stiffy_18
23 Jun 2007, 22:25
I am more worried that he doesn't appear to have grown much at all. He just didn't look like a KPP from that vision on CH9. I hope he is not a tweener :(

bus24
23 Jun 2007, 22:31
I am more worried that he doesn't appear to have grown much at all. He just didn't look like a KPP from that vision on CH9. I hope he is not a tweener :(

He's only recently turned 17, qualifies for this years draft by just a few days. CH9 called him 186, he's actually 188. Even if he only gets to about 190cm, he'd slide nicely into a future forward setup including Sellar and Tippett :thumbsu:

amer
23 Jun 2007, 23:47
ie. Scott Welsh?

bus24
23 Jun 2007, 23:52
ie. Scott Welsh?

If he stays at a similar height, probably. But a better version. like umm..... ;)