View Full Version : Jamie Charman to the tigers
Runandhyde
15 Jun 2007, 21:53
March and his team have already begun identifying candidates and the club is expected to make an appointment before the end of the season, with the Tigers increasingly likely to take the No. 1 pick in the national draft. Miller had already been focusing upon out-of-contract players, including Brisbane's Jamie Charman.
http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/miller-loses-key-role-in-recruiting/2007/06/14/1181414462796.html
Charman to be a tiger next year. Put your hous on it. one thing miller is actuially good at is luring players from other clubs (e.g. polak, brown).
Imagine how many clearances foley will get with simmonds and charman doing the tap work. Might actually win a few in 2008 :)
Tigerrific
15 Jun 2007, 22:11
March and his team have already begun identifying candidates and the club is expected to make an appointment before the end of the season, with the Tigers increasingly likely to take the No. 1 pick in the national draft. Miller had already been focusing upon out-of-contract players, including Brisbane's Jamie Charman.
http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/miller-loses-key-role-in-recruiting/2007/06/14/1181414462796.html
Charman to be a tiger next year. Put your hous on it. one thing miller is actuially good at is luring players from other clubs (e.g. polak, brown).
Imagine how many clearances foley will get with simmonds and charman doing the tap work. Might actually win a few in 2008 :)
I think you should visit this website http://www.taketheaction.com/
I highly doubt that Charman will leave Brisbane and I certainly wouldn't put my house on it! Meeson is more likely to be a Tiger next year.
banana_bus
15 Jun 2007, 22:12
No chance mate. Dont get your hopes up.
Wally Matera
15 Jun 2007, 22:40
I actually dont want either of them... Meesen meh... Charman pfff.
Grow our own and start by drafting properly.
charman @ big money would be a disaster
already smashed up and is not going to get any better so while it might look good on paper it is not a smart move imo
wood, meeson, maric, etc are far better targets
tigers71
15 Jun 2007, 23:48
I actually dont want either of them... Meesen meh... Charman pfff.
Grow our own and start by drafting properly.
For once some sense has come to the fore. Imagine if we developed our own players. Decent players and not duds :) I would be so rapt that players that we spotted become decent players for Richmond. We would be proud of our own players. Imagine all the good young players we will get. I don't want to make players millionaires if they don't deserve it.
jackson_rules
16 Jun 2007, 00:09
charman @ big money would be a disaster
already smashed up and is not going to get any better so while it might look good on paper it is not a smart move imo
wood, meeson, maric, etc are far better targets
yep if we didnt have simmonds we should go for charman for experience factors however we have simmonds so lets get a younger guy who will be ready to be number 1 ruckman when simmonds is done
Drunken Wookie
16 Jun 2007, 00:29
I think after this years ruck disaster we'll be looking at ruckman that aren't going to break down with injuries and leave us back at square one...
benny_furs
16 Jun 2007, 01:42
Depends if you'd rather Charman for like 5 years or keep Shane Edwards for 12 years because he'll cost someone as good as Edwards or more (pick 26 or higher).
Stafford cost us pick 17.
We should target young ruckmen, how old is he? Charman is a great player though and I love the way he plays, would be a good leader to have but he's already in his prime and at top price. Should buy low sell high not the other way around...
Ah Cheung
16 Jun 2007, 02:54
We gotta grow our own players. You would get more satisfaction seeing a kid that we drafted grow to be a good player than just getting fix-it-quick players. (we just need to be able to identify talent)
wart101
16 Jun 2007, 04:36
I think you should visit this website http://www.taketheaction.com/
I highly doubt that Charman will leave Brisbane and I certainly wouldn't put my house on it! Meeson is more likely to be a Tiger next year.
LOL thats some funny shit, well done :thumbsu:
We gotta grow our own players. You would get more satisfaction seeing a kid that we drafted grow to be a good player than just getting fix-it-quick players. (we just need to be able to identify talent)
I agree!!........Get your own! :thumbsu: :)
richmond fanatic
16 Jun 2007, 10:59
thats why, cameron wood come over here bud.
Madtiger2006
16 Jun 2007, 11:22
charman doesnt get that many hitouts. He's good around the ground though
notting18
16 Jun 2007, 11:30
I usually don't like misinformation about lions players, but i'll let you guys attack charman so you won't want to poach him. But he is our #1 ruckman, who is 24 so its not likely for him to leave (especially when you add the fact he is a brisbane raised guy with a flourishing business)
tigers71
16 Jun 2007, 13:53
I usually don't like misinformation about lions players, but i'll let you guys attack charman so you won't want to poach him. But he is our #1 ruckman, who is 24 so its not likely for him to leave (especially when you add the fact he is a brisbane raised guy with a flourishing business)
He can bring his business down south?? Start it in lets say Richmond :)
Lets Roar like '44
16 Jun 2007, 14:18
Why on earth would anyone want to go to Richmond, of all places that would have to be last choice.
Look at Wallace, great coach at Bulldogs to an absolute dud, its ok Terry just keep that 15 year plan in place and they might re- sign you.
Let's not forget Brown, I think his first name is Nathan...thats what you get when you leave for money!
But its ok, cause you do have Cant Kicksley leading the troops down there at full forward, another superstar to add to the list.
Do I hear Greg Staffords name?? Its just an endless list of talent!
And what about Gasper, just another typical Wallace plan, sack your players mid season, although I guess he is noted for that after walking out on his last club.
And last but not least, your captain comes from another team, don't even try to tell me Kane Johnson is a god damn captain!
So good luck with the poaching, and if you need any tips, go see Eddie!!
tigers71
16 Jun 2007, 14:28
Why on earth would anyone want to go to Richmond, of all places that would have to be last choice.
Look at Wallace, great coach at Bulldogs to an absolute dud, its ok Terry just keep that 15 year plan in place and they might re- sign you.
Let's not forget Brown, I think his first name is Nathan...thats what you get when you leave for money!
But its ok, cause you do have Cant Kicksley leading the troops down there at full forward, another superstar to add to the list.
And what about Gasper, just another typical Wallace plan, sack your players mid season, although I guess he is noted for that after walking out on his last club.
And last but not least, your captain comes from another team, don't even try to tell me Kane Johnson is a god damn captain!
Eddie, now way. Look at this time of year its just speculation. Nothing may never come of it. The longer Brisbane leaves him to re-sign more speculation will continue. Once he signs than threads like this wont exist.
notting18
16 Jun 2007, 14:56
He can bring his business down south?? Start it in lets say Richmond :)
I am sure the richmond faithful will love a Men's spa where you guy can go and get facials before the game.:D
krustyman
16 Jun 2007, 15:03
tigers should just try to pick someone up from the vfl, there are plenty of young tall rucks, getting an injury prone charman dont make sense.
Lets Roar like '44
16 Jun 2007, 15:12
Eddie, now way. Look at this time of year its just speculation. Nothing may never come of it. The longer Brisbane leaves him to re-sign more speculation will continue. Once he signs than threads like this wont exist.
Good call, always interesting though, been talk of us getting Riewoldt, you reckon I didn't get excited by that haha, bring on 2008!!
Darth_Tiger
16 Jun 2007, 19:08
you obviously have nothing constructive to say, go away maggot. as for greg stafford, last i heard he had retired (and was recruited long before wallace came - and he was a more than handy player before last year). lends no credibility to your rant which smacks of ill informed opinion. bad call on nathan brown too, and shows your true character.
i actually have a lot of time for the lions, but people like you make me sick :thumbsd:
Bojangles17
16 Jun 2007, 23:33
[QUOTE=Lets Roar like '44;7848171]Why on earth would anyone want to go to Richmond, of all places that would have to be last choice.
QUOTE]
Nice try, you nasty little %$%#, so what do you get for being a dead set a-hole, side folds and move 3000km North:p
CoggaRules
17 Jun 2007, 18:31
hey dude, if you havent woken up yet. Here is the deal. Lappin, Black, Brown, Power, a fast getting dementure Copeland, an ageing Johnson, and a servicable like Adcock. That makes 6.5 players and the rest you can piss up against the wall. So soon you will be coming on down to join the party. Believe me, you are doomed to a decade of pain and heartache.
P.S tigers, if you are going to go for a big name, dont be stupid and waste it on a ruckman. ;)
haha good call guys.
You ask why would anyone want to come to richmond? perhaps you guys won 3 premierships what... 4 years ago? You are going to be 90 by the time you see another one. If i was playing for brisbane i would be hoping to get out now before things go down the poop shoot.
Coughlan
17 Jun 2007, 23:29
tigers should just try to pick someone up from the vfl, there are plenty of young tall rucks, getting an injury prone charman dont make sense.
Most of which are shit, their is a reason they are in the VFL
crashandbashruckmen
17 Jun 2007, 23:31
Most of which are shit, their is a reason they are in the VFL
We'll get Charman in PSD
How are Brisbane going with the salary cap? I have no idea about this subject, but thinking about player values, do they have enough to keep all the stars? or have they already got rid of enough to keep the rest of the squad together?
crashandbashruckmen
17 Jun 2007, 23:44
How are Brisbane going with the salary cap? I have no idea about this subject, but thinking about player values, do they have enough to keep all the stars? or have they already got rid of enough to keep the rest of the squad together?
Considering they nearly bought 4 flags they may be a little dry. ;)
haha yeah i was thinking something like that, but as i said, i know nothing of the salary cap or anything really :P
But i am sure akermanis was worth a bit and all the other guys that have left/ are leaving might open up a bit of space
crashandbashruckmen
17 Jun 2007, 23:56
haha yeah i was thinking something like that, but as i said, i know nothing of the salary cap or anything really :P
But i am sure akermanis was worth a bit and all the other guys that have left/ are leaving might open up a bit of space
Voss is getting 900+ this year and is in the commentary box :eek:
Quigley
18 Jun 2007, 00:00
Brisbane will clear over a million from the cap this year when Voss comes off the books as well as Leppa. Charman is likely due a pay rise as are some of the younger guys but I don't think they will have too much cap trouble next year.
In regard to Charman bear in mind that he is only 24 and although he was part of the premiership sides he was a pup then. Last year he was getting a lot of AA talk on the telecasts until he got injured about round 15. He was moved back into the ruck fulltime the last few weeks and since then he has been the best ruck on the field each week including today against Geelong where he lead the way with 33 hitouts. He is not a forward and is not a clean tap ruck but he does get his hands to a lot of ball and is a legitimate ball winner in the middle. I don't think there is any chance of it but if he went into the PSD you guys should be cheering like you won a premiership.
notting18
18 Jun 2007, 00:07
Brisbane will clear over a million from the cap this year when Voss comes off the books as well as Leppa. Charman is likely due a pay rise as are some of the younger guys but I don't think they will have too much cap trouble next year.
In regard to Charman bear in mind that he is only 24 and although he was part of the premiership sides he was a pup then. Last year he was getting a lot of AA talk on the telecasts until he got injured about round 15. He was moved back into the ruck fulltime the last few weeks and since then he has been the best ruck on the field each week including today against Geelong where he lead the way with 33 hitouts. He is not a forward and is not a clean tap ruck but he does get his hands to a lot of ball and is a legitimate ball winner in the middle. I don't think there is any chance of it but if he went into the PSD you guys should be cheering like you won a premiership. Don't forget Chris Scott on $500 k, Salary Cap is not an issue!
crashandbashruckmen
18 Jun 2007, 00:18
Don't forget Chris Scott on $500 k, Salary Cap is not an issue!
On our boards now. Seeya cheats.
keep dreaming. scott on 500k you did cheat. He ain't worth 50 dollars. :p
notting18
18 Jun 2007, 01:07
On our boards now. Seeya cheats.
keep dreaming. scott on 500k you did cheat. He ain't worth 50 dollars. :p
You would be welcome on the Brisbane board if you explained yourself, added to the debate and didn't resort to attacking other posters.
In this case the question was asked about the Lions and our Salary Cap pressure - it is fact that Voss is on 900k (as a veteran so only half is in the cap) and Scott is on 500k as a result of a backended contract (not our best move with regard to contracts). That means we have atleast 1 million opening up in our cap, plus the general increase across the board.
marcmurphy3
18 Jun 2007, 16:43
You might get an even better ruck in the National draft (although he wouldn't be straight away). Matt Kruezer had another 25 possesions, 29 hitouts and 3 goals yesterday. Has been in the named in knights best 3 every game this season.
By the way I'd be very jelous if you got Charman since we picked up hacks with both our No. 1 PSD picks.
You might get an even better ruck in the National draft (although he wouldn't be straight away). Matt Kruezer had another 25 possesions, 29 hitouts and 3 goals yesterday. Has been in the named in knights best 3 every game this season.
By the way I'd be very jelous if you got Charman since we picked up hacks with both our No. 1 PSD picks.
The way hes going he'll go number 1 no doubts about it.
If we got Kruezer and then picked up either Charman/Meesen/Maric in the pre season draft we could then delist Knoble, and redraft Graham to the rookie or get a new rookie depending on how he finishes off the season.
Our ruck would be set with:
Simmonds
Pre season pick - Charman/Meesen/Maric
Pattison
Kruezer
and a rookie
TheBrownDog
18 Jun 2007, 17:30
How in the hell do you think you will get Charman in the PSD.... think people, think!
He is a quality ruckman at worst, and would be subject to several offers from many clubs (St Kilda for example). No way would Jamie leave the Lions in the lurch by going in the PSD.
And all that is based on the assumption that Jamie is even considering leaving the Lions, which he isn't.
Every year the Spoon contenders dream up all these fantasies about what gun player they will get in the PSD, it never happens as they anticipate.
You should have heard some of the crap Carlton supporters spoted in the last 2 years (many were sure they were getting Luke Power for free in the PSD), and they ended up with McLaren and Ackland.
jackson_rules
18 Jun 2007, 18:28
How in the hell do you think you will get Charman in the PSD.... think people, think!
He is a quality ruckman at worst, and would be subject to several offers from many clubs (St Kilda for example). No way would Jamie leave the Lions in the lurch by going in the PSD.
And all that is based on the assumption that Jamie is even considering leaving the Lions, which he isn't.
Every year the Spoon contenders dream up all these fantasies about what gun player they will get in the PSD, it never happens as they anticipate.
You should have heard some of the crap Carlton supporters spoted in the last 2 years (many were sure they were getting Luke Power for free in the PSD), and they ended up with McLaren and Ackland.
wether you like to admit it or not charman in the psd is a stron possibility
notting18
18 Jun 2007, 18:31
Why is it any stonger than Pavlich, Judd, Dal Santo or Riewoldt?
TheBrownDog
18 Jun 2007, 19:06
Why is it a strong possibility?
He is a local boy playing for the local team.
Has a flourishing business.
His club is in a position to offer a significant pay rise next contract.
He is the club's starting ruckman and is in no danger of losing that title.
Seriously, give me one good reason that he is, as you said, a "stron" (sic) possibility to go in the PSD.
Apart from the fact he is out of contract, considering approximately 30% of players in the completion are in the same boat.
Lets hear it Jackson_Rules.
jackson_rules
18 Jun 2007, 19:35
Why is it a strong possibility?
He is a local boy playing for the local team.
Has a flourishing business.
His club is in a position to offer a significant pay rise next contract.
He is the club's starting ruckman and is in no danger of losing that title.
Seriously, give me one good reason that he is, as you said, a "stron" (sic) possibility to go in the PSD.
Apart from the fact he is out of contract, considering approximately 30% of players in the completion are in the same boat.
Lets hear it Jackson_Rules.
1 good reason- brisbane is in the decline, within 2 years you tell me what leaders you will have at the club? where jamie could leave and go to a team where he can enjoy the success he got used 2 a few years ago
p.s no need to be so insacure it happens to players every year its called SPECULATION
notting18
18 Jun 2007, 19:47
1 good reason- brisbane is in the decline, within 2 years you tell me what leaders you will have at the club? where jamie could leave and go to a team where he can enjoy the success he got used 2 a few years ago
p.s no need to be so insacure it happens to players every year its called SPECULATION
In two years Power and Black will be 30, Brown will be 27. That is three very strong leaders - especially when you add in Adcock (and Charman) who are future leaders. Bradshaw(30) will also be there still be there, and Lappin (32) may be there. May i ask you who will be the leaders of Richmond in 2 years? Bowden? Coughlan (who hasn't played footy in 2 1/2 years)? Deledio? -They may be alright (debatable in some) but you can't argue they are significantly better than the lions.
Also, your own coach has said that you are atleast 4 years from hitting your peak. We have already bottomed out, we have the youngest/least experienced list with plenty of talented young players to come!
jackson_rules
18 Jun 2007, 21:43
In two years Power and Black will be 30, Brown will be 27. That is three very strong leaders - especially when you add in Adcock (and Charman) who are future leaders. Bradshaw(30) will also be there still be there, and Lappin (32) may be there. May i ask you who will be the leaders of Richmond in 2 years? Bowden? Coughlan (who hasn't played footy in 2 1/2 years)? Deledio? -They may be alright (debatable in some) but you can't argue they are significantly better than the lions.
Also, your own coach has said that you are atleast 4 years from hitting your peak. We have already bottomed out, we have the youngest/least experienced list with plenty of talented young players to come!
so you have just bottomed out you say, and in 2 years your best players are 30 yr olds ready to retire leaving you in the current situation of richmond
notting18
18 Jun 2007, 22:06
so you have just bottomed out you say, and in 2 years your best players are 30 yr olds ready to retire leaving you in the current situation of richmond
Well done not answering any of the points i raised in my post. Players retire every year. Anyone can see that Black and Power will play past their 30th birthday. Brown will be 27 and as what happens our young brigade of Rischa, Sherman, Adcock, Leuenberger, Clark, etc will be our next stars
We have the youngest/least experienced team in the AFL....retirements are not an issue! lol
TheBrownDog
18 Jun 2007, 22:56
Jackson: Brisbane are already more advanced in their rebuilding than Richmond.
Adcock
Selwood
Sherman
Rischitelli
Stiller
Leuenberger
Clark
Moody
Hooper
Proud
Roe
We've had 9 rising star nominations since 2005.
We've also got some decent mid-age players such as Charman, Brown, Hadley etc.
If you seriously think Richmond would look like a greener pasture than Brisbane to a player like Jamie Charman, you're perceptions are skewed.
He's already got a premiership medal, so I think he'll be content enough to stay around with Brisbane, who look more likely to deliver him another medal than Richmond do anyway.
relax brissie supporters..
Its not so far fetched though. Leunburger and Wood are promising and will be breathing down Charmans neck sooner rather than later, Richmond have no-one backing up Simmonds who is 29, so I'd suggest he would be guaranteed more footy down the track with us - and playing regular senior footy is what its all about for footballers.
Also say what you will about the tiges and Miller but one thing we can do and that is entice big name players to choose us over competitors. (Not that we've been served too well by those "big name players") :( (apart from Polak)
Brown, Johnson, Polak, Fevola was up for it too just couldnt thrash out a deal. If we decide to target Charman then dont be so sure he wouldnt consider it.
Crumden
19 Jun 2007, 11:13
P.S tigers, if you are going to go for a big name, dont be stupid and waste it on a ruckman. ;)Is Fev out of contract this year Cogga? And if so, do you think we should make a play for him?
CoggaRules
19 Jun 2007, 11:59
Is Fev out of contract this year Cogga? And if so, do you think we should make a play for him?
to late dude. Another Coleman beckons and the asking price goes up. We had the chance to get him on relatively our terms, tie him up in a 3 year deal on our terms, save on the premium he will command now and basically have a gun FF in, when our youngsters had developed. 1. Our young mids would be sticking the ball down his throat on the lead, knowing that their efforts were an 85% chance in being rewarded with the 6 points, and 2. Our young KPPs like the steamer would be there not only learning the moves from him and Browny, but offering out of left field options other than Fev.
But to late she cried, its the quick or the dead in the business of modern footy, and the tigers are slow.
The time is right to raid the cats depth. Josh Hunt is wallowing in the 2s down there and we desperately need a 50m target hitter from the kick ins and beyond. The last time we had a realistic competetive side was when Leon Cameron was just that. We have had J. Bowden doing it since and we are all well aware on his party **** ups, that competely deflate a sides confidence in the heat of battle, arent we? ;)
Lets Roar like '44
21 Jun 2007, 20:15
Have you forgotten already..your club voted for Fitzroy to go North so they wouldnt become a powerhouse with the Kangaroos hahahaha
And yes we will quite happily take 3 out of 4 flags ahead of 0 from 30.