View Full Version : Now Roughead...

Wally Matera
15 Jun 2007, 22:38
Already snagged 5... the jungle drums are beating.

Can we be kicked any harder whilst we're down?

:(

Magic17
15 Jun 2007, 22:49
Yep gutting ain't it.:thumbsd:

Ceriouss
15 Jun 2007, 22:55

Yeah, good move tigers. We don't need any key position players lets get some small outside midfielders that can't put on any bulk.

banana_bus
15 Jun 2007, 22:57
shut the **** up we dont care.

itsintheblood
15 Jun 2007, 22:59

Stop this crap. We had no option on this one unless you'd prefer roughead over deledio.

turtle27
15 Jun 2007, 23:01
Yeah, good move tigers. We don't need any key position players lets get some small outside midfielders that can't put on any bulk.What a load of crap. Everyone is an expert in hindsight aren't they? Are you actually admitting you'd have Roughead over Lids?

Magic17
15 Jun 2007, 23:05
Stop this crap. We had no option on this one unless you'd prefer roughead over deledio.

That's a fair point. Extremely happy with Deledio so far and it is only Carlscum.

krustyman
15 Jun 2007, 23:09
No more slightly built drafts for the tigers, strong bodied players are the way to go. tambling need to step up. it is so bulldog!

Jisha
15 Jun 2007, 23:32

Spot on. Give me a Lids then a roughead anyday. Lids shows so much more then roughead on a good day

jackson_rules
16 Jun 2007, 00:15
Its not roughead being better then lids and its not franklin being better tambling either, its the fact thos 2 have support ours dont, you tossers sooking over this need to grow up

jo172
16 Jun 2007, 00:27

Kind of irrelevant considering it's not like Roughead would snag 5 playing for Richmond at the moment. Hell any AFL standard forward tonight would of kicked at least 3 or 4 playing against those defenders with that dominance in the midfield.

DannyJ
16 Jun 2007, 01:13
Look on the bright side, Buddy couldn't get a kick tonight:p;)

PLSC
16 Jun 2007, 01:17
love the roughnut!

Calcium Man
16 Jun 2007, 01:19
I was at the game and the carlton defending was woeful. Played on fatman whitnall first. Then on saddington. As carlton have proved throughout 2007 they are a very easy team to score against.

Calcium Man
16 Jun 2007, 01:21
Look on the bright side, Buddy couldn't get a kick tonight:p;)

He would have run amuck tonight. Carlton should be thankful he didnt play or it would have made our loss to geelong look good.

Wally Matera
16 Jun 2007, 01:54
Absolutely agree, never would've picked Roughead over Lids, but for God sake, do we need to see this shit continue.

I just hate Whoreforn.

Ah Cheung
16 Jun 2007, 02:57
Happy we got lids rather than roughead...sure, he's kicked 5 tonite, but thats probably his best game so far? lids has been way more consistent.

Terry Tan
16 Jun 2007, 11:02
Big mistakes have been made, as usual with the Richmond Footy club.

You have to admit both Richmond and Hawthorn probably started from the same low position when Wallace & Clarkson took over.

Wallace decided to do a half job of rebuilding, saying he did not believe in bottoming out. We finished mid ladder for a few years.

Clarkson took the tough option, traded senior players for picks, took the medicine, and now they are a formidable emerging team...while we languish down the bottom with no wins.

A tale of two teams.

Nothing will overcome taking Fiora for Pavlich, and Tambling for Franklin. I know it's tough on the young fella Tambling, but he's not the player Franklin is or will be. Everytime Pav or Buddy get anywhere near the ball we are brutally reminded, and the hype is just overbearing. Death by a thousand cuts.

but that's life at RFC, simply incompetent for a quarter century.

Darth_Tiger
16 Jun 2007, 11:08
franklin was considered a big risk, and well done to the hawks, it payed off for them - not that he was thier target, they wanted us to take him so they could get tambling at 5. lucks a fortune (which makes the rfc the poorest thing in existance). the hawks had more middle bracket players for clarkson to work with, so now they are a ballanced unit. we had a glaring hole in that bracket and still do. and now we pay the price for our lack of vision.

Bifrost
16 Jun 2007, 11:09
Grow up.

/thread.

emperor
16 Jun 2007, 11:23
Let's not start this whole rebuilding process comparison again:thumbsd: We know what has happened, what has been done wrong and what needs to be done. Relieving GM of some of his roles is the start. Move forward people.

Simche
16 Jun 2007, 11:44
So what? People are forgetting things like Schultz against Brisbane conveniently. More to the point a forward who kicks 5 in a 100 point thrashing would hardly be doing his job if he didn't kick that many. Also it's not like the Carlton backline were putting much pressure on him.

TigerGlory
16 Jun 2007, 12:53
If we had picked Franklin over Tambling the same thing would have happened.

Franklin would be shit, and Tambling would be tearing the game a new one.

krustyman
16 Jun 2007, 12:56
franklin is a champion and would do well anywhere, he dont need his team mates to prop him up like tambling.

bomberstomake8
16 Jun 2007, 13:24
franklin is a champion and would do well anywhere, he dont need his team mates to prop him up like tambling.

personally i disagree if he played for essendon for example he would be somewhere like courtney johns at the momment imo... perhaps slightly better
dont get me wrong buddy is a gun player but i think he is still made to look better by a very good midfeild and a lack of other elite forwards..

you chuck him alongside lloyd and lucas and put him in a average to poor midfeild that the bombers have and i think he would not do anywhere near aswell...

but considering that he is only a 3rd year player and is only what 20 years old? he would still be above expectations.

wart101
16 Jun 2007, 13:40
Kind of irrelevant considering it's not like Roughead would snag 5 playing for Richmond at the moment. Hell any AFL standard forward tonight would of kicked at least 3 or 4 playing against those defenders with that dominance in the midfield.

very true

tigerT
16 Jun 2007, 15:37
Tom Williams had his breakout game last week for the doggies, want to have a sook about passing up on him too?

fair dinkum...

tigerboyz
16 Jun 2007, 15:44
Tom Williams had his breakout game last week for the doggies, want to have a sook about passing up on him too?

fair dinkum...

Well said how many games has it taken for roughead to play a decent one especially with carlton displaying last years form?.

Crumden
16 Jun 2007, 15:52
The Carlton - Port game last week was VFL standard. Hardly surprising the Hawks had a night out against them.

Choota
16 Jun 2007, 16:29
personally i disagree if he played for essendon for example he would be somewhere like courtney johns at the momment imo... perhaps slightly better
dont get me wrong buddy is a gun player but i think he is still made to look better by a very good midfeild and a lack of other elite forwards..

you chuck him alongside lloyd and lucas and put him in a average to poor midfeild that the bombers have and i think he would not do anywhere near aswell...

but considering that he is only a 3rd year player and is only what 20 years old? he would still be above expectations.

Yep. Franklin = Courtney Johns. You've got it one, sport.

Strong showing from Roughhead last night. And Franklin goes alright.:thumbsu:

polakthetiger
16 Jun 2007, 16:42
He kicked 5 goals in ONE game....Tambling kicked 4 goals in ONE quarter. So what....both pretty inconsistant but showing signs.

Lets look at this in 4 years.....

Actually it has already been done to death...lets not!!

Why don't we start on the Kruezer/ Cotchin conundrum??

Nightwolf
16 Jun 2007, 16:48
If we had picked Franklin over Tambling the same thing would have happened.

Franklin would be shit, and Tambling would be tearing the game a new one.

Disagree massively. Franklin is a freak. He'd dominate at any club..

On Roughy tho, why is this a thread? Taking Deledio ahead of him was the 100% correct option..

Bojangles17
16 Jun 2007, 18:02
gimmee a break, what next, Beaus dowlers hauls in the box hill seconds to be rammed down our collective throats, I am about as interested in ruffheads performance as yesterdays used toilet paper...Dont block the WWW with such peurile drivel..pleaseeeeeeeeeeeeeeee:o

whippersnipper
16 Jun 2007, 18:22
That's a fair point. Extremely happy with Deledio so far and it is only Carlscum.
I distinctly recall Geelong saying the same thing about you guys earlier this year.

IDGAF
16 Jun 2007, 19:26
Exactly .

pointless

GhostofJimJess
17 Jun 2007, 02:19
Disagree massively. Franklin is a freak. He'd dominate at any club..

On Roughy tho, why is this a thread? Taking Deledio ahead of him was the 100% correct option..

Agree with just about all of this Nightwolf. Franklin is a freak, but the planets did need to align somewhat for him to prove it. Potentially Gablett-like if he continues to develop, and even "God" himself didn't find his feet when at the Hawks. The Geelong manner of play and lifestyle suited him a lot more back then.

The Hawks have done very well to channel Franklin's mind and energies in the right direction, because he does have a certain loose cannon quality about him which frightened the Tigers and Bulldogs a little back in 2004.

On Roughy and Lids, of course you are correct again. But comparing the two is always going to be unfair anyway - they play such similar roles. It'd be like Collingwood fans squabbling over whether they got a better deal with Pendelbury or Trav Cloke.

soupofficial
21 Jun 2007, 04:45
why would you guys be so upset that after about 45 AFL games, a #2 key forward draft pick stands up and scores 5 goals for the first time? wasn't this pretty much at least what everyone expected he'd be able to do when he was universally rated a top 5 pick in 2004?
he's developed slowly, delivered much less so far than the two guys drafted on either side of him, yet you lot start sooking when he kicks 5 goals out of 27 (when our 3 main forward targets from 2006 were all out injured) against the worst backline in the league?

for heaven's sake, support your team.