View Full Version : Richo's 250th - and beyond
turtle27
15 Jun 2007, 23:33
Another milestone year for Richo. In Round 16, he will play his 250th game for the Richmond Football Club.
Like his 200th, he'll be lining up against the Power from Port. Hopefully the result will go the same way as that day at T Dome a couple of years ago.
After this day, Richo will be one game behind Sheeds (251), and one game behind joining the top 10 of games played for our wonderful club.
By the end of the year, he'll finish on 256 games. If he plays on next year, there are milestones a plenty for the big fella. If he plays all of the games, 278 awaits him, assuming no injuries, or finals :rolleyes:
Games
Dale Weightman 274
Perce Bentley 263
Vic Thorp 262
If he kicks on in 2008 he could finish on exactly 300, again assuming no injuries, and only 22 games played. Richo would equal the great Francis Bourke as the third all time game player for Richmond, and lay behind only Jack Dyer and KB in terms of games played.
Francis Bourke 300
Wayne Campbell 297
Jack Titus 294
Matthew Knights 279
Goals
KB - 778 - so a possibility that Richo could be the second greatest goal kicker this club has had.
Essentially, during the next two years after this one, Richo will entrench himself into the Richmond record books. And needless to say, all accolades are thoroughly, and utterly deserved.
We love you Richo, ya big doofus.
jimmy15_
15 Jun 2007, 23:48
might be our first win
turtle27
16 Jun 2007, 00:07
might be our first winIt might be jimmy
Dees (Home, G, Fri night), Saints (Away, T Dome, Sat night), Roos (Home, T Dome, Sun Twilight), Hawks (G, Away, Sun), then Port at the G on a lazy Sunday arvo which happens to be my little bros b'day.
Magic17
16 Jun 2007, 02:21
When's he due to play his 400th?
Ah Cheung
16 Jun 2007, 02:59
When's he due to play his 400th?
Week after he plays his 399th!! :p
Riichoo(12)
16 Jun 2007, 08:58
Another milestone year for Richo. In Round 16, he'l will play his 250th game for the Richmond Football Club.
Like his 200th, he'll be lining up against the Power from Port. Hopefully the result will go the same way as that day at T Dome a couple of years ago.
After this day, Richo will be one game behind Sheeds (251), and one game behind joining the top 10 of games played for our wonderful club.
By the end of the year, he'll finish on 256 games. If he plays on next year, there are milestones a plenty for the big fella. If he plays all of the games, 278 awaits him, assuming no injuries, or finals :rolleyes:
Games
Dale Weightman 274
Perce Bentley 263
Vic Thorp 262
If he kicks on in 2009 he could finish on exactly 300, again assuming no injuries, and only 22 games played. Richo would equal the great Francis Bourke as the third all time game player for Richmond, and lay behind only Jack Dyer and KB in terms of games played.
Francis Bourke 300
Wayne Campbell 297
Jack Titus 294
Matthew Knights 279
Goals
KB - 778 - so a possibility that Richo could be te second greatest goal kicker this club has had.
Essentially, during the next two years after this one, Richo will entrench himself into the Richmond record books. And needless to say, all accolades are thoroughly, and utterly deserved.
Richo you are a dead set champion, we love you and regardless of where you finish you are the a legend and we thank you for all you've done and going to do for our great club, great post turtle27.
Hirdismyhero
16 Jun 2007, 09:07
It might be jimmy
Dees (Home, G, Fri night), Saints (Away, T Dome, Sat night), Roos (Home, T Dome, Sun Twilight), Hawks (G, Away, Sun), then Port at the G on a lazy Sunday arvo which happens to be my little bros b'day.
The ones in bold are the ones i expect you boys to win.
Madtiger2006
16 Jun 2007, 11:32
Richo can play until he is 38 in way Alistair Lynch did imo. Probably has another 4 or 5 seasons left which is another 100 games. Could get to 350 games and probably over 900 goals. He's missed 3 seasons in total from injuries. Imagine if he had an injury free career like KB. He would have passed 400 games and 1000 goals. Imagine if he played in a successful teams with regular finals appearances and great deliver skills. That would have taken him to 430 games and 1200 goals. If he didn't miss as many easy goals, he would have kicked 1300 goals by the end of his career. Could have been the all time game and goal record holder and the best player of all time. But as it turns out, he should be among the top 10-20 players of all time imo. Legend Richo, you deserve 3 years of successive finals and a premiership to close your career. Hang around and you might just get that :cool:
darcytiger
16 Jun 2007, 14:21
Richo can play until he is 38 in way Alistair Lynch did imo. Probably has another 4 or 5 seasons left which is another 100 games. Could get to 350 games and probably over 900 goals. He's missed 3 seasons in total from injuries. Imagine if he had an injury free career like KB. He would have passed 400 games and 1000 goals. Imagine if he played in a successful teams with regular finals appearances and great deliver skills. That would have taken him to 430 games and 1200 goals. If he didn't miss as many easy goals, he would have kicked 1300 goals by the end of his career. Could have been the all time game and goal record holder and the best player of all time. But as it turns out, he should be among the top 10-20 players of all time imo. Legend Richo, you deserve 3 years of successive finals and a premiership to close your career. Hang around and you might just get that :cool:
IF, very keen madtiger
NQTIGER
16 Jun 2007, 15:11
so true.........
TigerGlory
16 Jun 2007, 15:38
Week after he plays his 399th!! :p
:eek: Really?
Magic17
16 Jun 2007, 18:55
Do you think he can play 500 games?
Heck why stop there? Let's nurse him to 1000. Maybe 2000...
Surely he'd provide some value in the forward pocket even at the tender age of 84 years old?
Perhaps we can develop a special wheelchair for him which could allow him to see out his days the way Lynch did?
Long live Richo forever!!!!
#1 Tigers Fan
16 Jun 2007, 20:46
Another milestone year for Richo. In Round 16, he'l will play his 250th game for the Richmond Football Club.
Games
Dale Weightman 274
Perce Bentley 263
Vic Thorp 262
If he kicks on in 2009 he could finish on exactly 300, again assuming no injuries, and only 22 games played. Richo would equal the great Francis Bourke as the third all time game player for Richmond, and lay behind only Jack Dyer and KB in terms of games played.
Francis Bourke 300
Wayne Campbell 297
Jack Titus 294
Matthew Knights 279
Goals
KB - 778 - so a possibility that Richo could be te second greatest goal kicker this club has had.
Great thread, well research and it all looks to be true from what i can see. Everyone constantly baggs Richo about his kicking but hopefully through out this year and next he will get the stats to back up his great effort, well done Richo.
turtle27
15 Jul 2007, 22:20
Amongst all the current doom and gloom, I think it's time we all start getting excited about this game next Sunday.
Will be a tough day, as Port are in good form, but hopefully the boys can lift, show some real heart, and have a win for Richo.
Richo is God
17 Jul 2007, 22:02
i think im about to cry..why?? because im playing club footy at te same time the tiges areplayin on sunday meaning ill miss richos 250th match
beaver's army
17 Jul 2007, 22:37
i think im about to cry..why?? because im playing club footy at te same time the tiges areplayin on sunday meaning ill miss richos 250th match
Ive got one on at one so wont be able to make it either unless i injure myself between now and sunday.
Maybe something happens when im drunk on saturday night, fall into another fire or loose control of my feet and fall down injuring myself somehow.
Madtiger2006
17 Jul 2007, 22:46
Ive got one on at one so wont be able to make it either unless i injure myself between now and sunday.
Maybe something happens when im drunk on saturday night, fall into another fire or loose control of my feet and fall down injuring myself somehow.
the game starts at 5:10
Richo is God
17 Jul 2007, 23:10
the game starts at 5:10
i wish it did
beaver's army
17 Jul 2007, 23:45
as do i, but according to the fixture its a 2:10 game.
captain subtext
19 Jul 2007, 00:53
Go on, cry, you and Richo can cry in unison. Crack the shits, kick a couple of points, turn your back on the play and let your team mates down, then you'll truely be a "Richo man".
deliberate!!
19 Jul 2007, 09:00
Go on, cry, you and Richo can cry in unison. Crack the shits, kick a couple of points, turn your back on the play and let your team mates down, then you'll truely be a "Richo man".
Well said mate, that's exactly my point here on Richo.
I get howled down by dreamers here who can't see Richo for what he really is.
I've mentioned before that not all ppl (actually the realists) see Richo in such glowing terms.
Opposition supporters see him like I see him. Half a footballer.
Missing all the elements to make him a Champion.
Here they bring up the BS argument of his goalkicking...
Shees, for ten years he's the ONLY bloke we kick to in the forwardline.
Anybody would have kicked as many goals.
But not everybody would have missed as many as him.
(And let's not forget the shanks and out on the fulls!)
Thanks Captain, for proving my point on Richo.
And bring on the RFC years AFTER Richo!!!
:thumbsu:
bigrayohall20
19 Jul 2007, 10:16
you two are both idiots!!
deliberate!!
19 Jul 2007, 10:27
you two are both idiots!!
bigrayohall
ROFLMFAO!! :D
Well said mate, that's exactly my point here on Richo.
I get howled down by dreamers here who can't see Richo for what he really is.
I've mentioned before that not all ppl (actually the realists) see Richo in such glowing terms.
Opposition supporters see him like I see him. Half a footballer.
Missing all the elements to make him a Champion.
Here they bring up the BS argument of his goalkicking...
Shees, for ten years he's the ONLY bloke we kick to in the forwardline.
Anybody would have kicked as many goals.
But not everybody would have missed as many as him.
(And let's not forget the shanks and out on the fulls!)
Thanks Captain, for proving my point on Richo.
And bring on the RFC years AFTER Richo!!!
:thumbsu:
You've made your point Delib. Everyone knows how you feel about Richo. It's getting a bit tiring now mate. Give it a rest huh? Just for a little while.
deliberate!!
19 Jul 2007, 11:49
You've made your point Delib. Everyone knows how you feel about Richo. It's getting a bit tiring now mate. Give it a rest huh? Just for a little while.
So what are we supposed to do?
Watch while there is 300 'piss in the pocket' pro-Richo posts, while anyone who doesn't agree has to sit back quietly....
I've paid my dues watching him stuff our games and gameplan over many years.
I know more intelligent people who honestly think he does nothing for us then the people who post here as blind fans?
Stuff that...
And I don't tell you to ditch your boring 'once funny' friggin avatar?
How about giving that a rest?
"Just for a little while"
(with all due respect)
;)
So what are we supposed to do?
Watch while there is 300 'piss in the pocket' pro-Richo posts, while anyone who doesn't agree has to sit back quietly....
I've paid my dues watching him stuff our games and gameplan over many years.
I know more intelligent people who honestly think he does nothing for us then the people who post here as blind fans?
Stuff that...
And I don't tell you to ditch your boring 'once funny' friggin avatar?
How about giving that a rest?
"Just for a little while"
(with all due respect)
;)
I don't feel like fighting today. Nothing wrong being in a minority group and keeping the bastards honest. You just seem a little more obsessed about this topic than anyone else on here. By all means then continue your repetitive rant. 12 years of marriage has taught me to ignore repetitive rants quite well.;)
deliberate!!
19 Jul 2007, 12:54
I don't feel like fighting today. Nothing wrong being in a minority group and keeping the bastards honest. You just seem a little more obsessed about this topic than anyone else on here. By all means then continue your repetitive rant. 12 years of marriage has taught me to ignore repetitive rants quite well.;)
Tugga, actually I'm obsessed with Richmond AFTER Richo's gone...
that's our future....not hanging on to him and CONSTANTLY adjusting
a forward line around him.
Cheers tugga
Tugga,
Whatever you do - don't ditch the avatar - that is unless of course you have a better one ;)
Tugga,
Whatever you do - don't ditch the avatar - that is unless of course you have a better one ;)
I'll see what I can dig up PJ, but for now Salma and her balloons stay where they are.
I was thinking perhaps a little less material - a little more balloon. Happy with Salma.
TigerGlory
19 Jul 2007, 20:52
Shouldnt drink before a game beaver :p
Ron The Bear
20 Jul 2007, 08:33
Another milestone year for Richo.
Will also break Jack Titus' club record by being leading goalkicker for the 12th time.