View Full Version : Blooding young players

spitlizard
16 Jun 2007, 01:50
I see Ibbo has made way for Crowley. Whilst that is an understandable replacement, I feel it is important to give these new guys some more play time.

Chopping up their game time like this seems a bit counter productive but thats the nature of the beast I guess.

Perhaps cuddles (oops, I believe there are some out there that don't condone this title!!) CC then, could rotate the new guys through a little bit more often to get them up to speed quicker!

I think we need to tap into our unknown reserves a little more to see if we possibly can strike oil :p

freofan_mundy
16 Jun 2007, 02:16
I gotta agree, its a positive sign that foster is promoted now though, at least its showing some intent that we are trying to progress with our rookies. While we don't have the best youngsters, we still have some players with talent there. I think the reason we aren't doing it now is because the competition is so close and every game is vital, this one no exception. It's harder to take risks when so much is on the line but sometimes risk taking is the only move to get forward, but overall I do agree with what you are saying about blooding new players and the fact you point out some replacements are understandable, and I also agree with the fact by only giving them a game to prove themselves at AFL level, then dropping them immediately is harsh.

dockshark
16 Jun 2007, 10:55
yeah, agree with bringing crowls back in but would have preferred to see matty carr or grandson take a break..anyway, there's very little we can do about that. I just thought that Ibbo showed enough in his limited game time to warrant another go, everyone should remember that firstgamers are not only battling nerves and the huge pace step-up but they also have to contend with breaking into the team dynamic ie, the other players (particularly the in and under ball winners are not used to him, he needs to learn about positioning and timing etc

mr.11
16 Jun 2007, 12:00
yeah, agree with bringing crowls back in but would have preferred to see matty carr or grandson take a break..anyway, there's very little we can do about that. I just thought that Ibbo showed enough in his limited game time to warrant another go, everyone should remember that firstgamers are not only battling nerves and the huge pace step-up but they also have to contend with breaking into the team dynamic ie, the other players (particularly the in and under ball winners are not used to him, he needs to learn about positioning and timing etc

I agree mate,i think ibbo is unlucky in getting dropped for this round...i would of liked walker(hope he goes at season end-soft) taking a break in wafl.But with blooding the young and new players is good gives them a taste at the highest level..then they'll go back to wafl to look to improve more.If anything Ibbo should now know what it takes to get into the best 22 now...and he'll maybe more hungry and aggressive to get his spot back.

ImperialPurple
16 Jun 2007, 12:08
Mundy was "blooded" back in 2005, and has since gone onto play 53 consecutive games since debut (54th tonight).
Johnson was blooded in 2005, and tonight will play his 44th game.
Crowley was blooded in 2005 and tonight will play his 42nd game.
Peake was blooded in 2005 and tonight will play his 35th game.

These guys have stepped up and performed from Day One, and have earned their positions week in and week out. I doubt there's many who would want any of these guys dropped, or would consider them outside the 22.

Last year (2006) we blooded Duffield (11 games), Campbell (5 games) and Drum (5 games). None of these guys are demanding selection at the moment, although Kiwi could consider himself a little unlucky with his good WAFL form.

This year we have blooded Warnock - who's going okay, but Collard's 4 possessions and Ibbo's 7 possessions have hardly set the world on fire when there are better options available in a "must-win" game. And unfortunately, after our bad start, every game is "must-win". I would have loved to see Ibbo and Collard get another couple of weeks, but reality is that we don't have the luxury of not picking our "best side" - especially for away games.

dominguez
16 Jun 2007, 14:17
Mundy was "blooded" back in 2005, and has since gone onto play 53 consecutive games since debut (54th tonight).

Three of them have earnt their spot, the other ones a lazy bugger who won't put his head over the footy.

summerthebat
16 Jun 2007, 14:17

These guys have stepped up and performed from Day One, and have earned their positions week in and week out. I doubt there's many who would want any of these guys dropped, or would consider them outside the 22.

Last year (2006) we blooded Duffield (11 games), Campbell (5 games) and Drum (5 games). None of these guys are demanding selection at the moment, although Kiwi could consider himself a little unlucky with his good WAFL form.

This year we have blooded Warnock - who's going okay, but Collard's 4 possessions and Ibbo's 7 possessions have hardly set the world on fire when there are better options available in a "must-win" game. And unfortunately, after our bad start, every game is "must-win". I would have loved to see Ibbo and Collard get another couple of weeks, but reality is that we don't have the luxury of not picking our "best side" - especially for away games.

Imperial you are constantly filled with wisdom, I agree with you on the above.

I do however think it's important to play new players at home, it excites the crowd that little bit more and gives the player themselves a taste of something to strive for. I think only positives can come out of that..... this game however, we just need to go with a somewhat 'proven' team.

If Matt Carr plays like a piece of sh!t again, I am going to deliberately poo in my jeans whilst watching the game, then send them to FFC and make them buy me a new pair.

Rob
16 Jun 2007, 14:30
CC knows his head's on the chopping block, so he's not going to pick young players for the sake of it. They need to earn their place by being in our best 22.

raffrox
16 Jun 2007, 21:59
Yep.

Because on a dewy night a guy that has played one AFL game and weights around 45kg would be a good pick.:eek:

Warnock is playing and getting "blooded" and is doing enough to keep his spot on merit.

Lach72
17 Jun 2007, 00:20
CC knows his head's on the chopping block, so he's not going to pick young players for the sake of it. They need to earn their place by being in our best 22.

Yeah lets put Jimmy in to kick to Cookie in a 3 on 1 contest...that'll help.

ImperialPurple
17 Jun 2007, 00:22
Yeah lets put Jimmy in to kick to Cookie in a 3 on 1 contest...that'll help.

Commentators were saying, "Pavlich leads"... Jimmy hesitates, and kicks it to Cookie with 3 on him.... :eek:

WTF??? :confused:

Ripper
17 Jun 2007, 00:28
Commentators were saying, "Pavlich leads"... Jimmy hesitates, and kicks it to Cookie with 3 on him.... :eek:

There is not much doubt that as hard as He tries , Jimmy isn't the sharpest tool in the chest.

Lach72
17 Jun 2007, 00:30

Because when you pick the same players you get the same shit results...
Lets have Gilmore back...yeah...Parker too, while we're at it...and lets leave another genuine crumber in the magoos because he's "Not Fit".
Excellent, sounds like plan should work...what season over? WTF?

raffrox
17 Jun 2007, 00:33
There is not much doubt that as hard as He tries , Jimmy isn't the sharpest tool in the chest.
Thats the problem. There's no one that has stepped up enough to take Jimmy's place in the team from his.

Lach72
17 Jun 2007, 00:39
Thats the problem. There's no one that has stepped up enough to take Jimmy's place in the team from his.

So we have a player who constantly ****s things up and kicks the ball to the oppositions advantage and we have no one to take his place?

ImperialPurple
17 Jun 2007, 00:39

On the footy field, yes.

Off it, he's probably second only to Bellie in the "smarts stakes". Seriously. In fact, "my inside source" reckons he's the smartest guy at the club.

Maybe he's just too smart to play really good footy... :cool:

(Apologies to Bellie, Pav and McPharlap... ;)).

Ripper
17 Jun 2007, 00:41

Yep , but it not as though the youngun's haven't had their chance , We only have Mourish . O' Brian & now the recently promoted Foster who have not played a game who are on the senior list.

Lach72
17 Jun 2007, 00:43
Yep , but it not as though the youngun's haven't had their chance , We only have Mourish . O' Brian & now the recently promoted Foster who have not played a game who are on the senior list.

Now, there we have the operative word.
Unlike others who are given chance after chance after chance and where are we?????

Lynch takes a mark
17 Jun 2007, 01:10
If you always do what you have always done then you always get what you always got.

btw - Brock O'Brien has some serious on field agression, I can see him being suspened more often than not at AFL level.

estibador
17 Jun 2007, 03:56
btw - Brock O'Brien has some serious on field agression, I can see him being suspened more often than not at AFL level.

He'll fit right in then.

He'll probably be ok for his first season until he gets a reputation. Then the MRP will watch every contest he's involved in in super slow-mo to see if there's anything they can pin on him.

dockshark
17 Jun 2007, 08:46
anyone who thinks that we would have been worse off with Ibbo in the team instead of grandson speak up

rgauci
17 Jun 2007, 11:16
anyone who thinks that we would have been worse off with Ibbo in the team instead of grandson speak up

ME

Walker was OK

Cook on the other hand was woeful. I mean 3 points, all from gettable shots. He's not a forwards arse-hole.

CC admitted Bell needed to play in the guts more because thats his best position. Well wake up, Cookie likewise.

dockshark
17 Jun 2007, 11:23
ME

Walker was OK

Walker's disposal under pressure is not good enough for a 150 game midfielder, no disrespect to the guy but i think he should be playing wafl

Lach72
17 Jun 2007, 13:28
ME

Walker was OK

Cook on the other hand was woeful. I mean 3 points, all from gettable shots. He's not a forwards arse-hole.

CC admitted Bell needed to play in the guts more because thats his best position. Well wake up, Cookie likewise.

Walker was atrocious.
I just about put my foot through the tellie when he kicked that ball to Cook.
3 defenders on him and our two gun forwards have to be clear.

JoondalupJ
17 Jun 2007, 13:32

Trouble with that last paragraph ,you guys don't win MUST win games

Ysaye
17 Jun 2007, 14:18
ME

Walker was OK

You simply can't play everyone in their best position, otherwise we would have 7 HBFs (Dodd, Mundy, Thornton, Grover, Hayden, Walker, M.Carr), and 5guys (Cook, McManus, Bell, Hasleby, J.Carr) playing the slow small rover position!

Rob
17 Jun 2007, 16:55

Me. Ignore things like age and experience, and Walker had a better game than I would have expected Ibbotson to have.
I'm not going to defend Walker though, I reckon he'll probably get the boot at the end of the year.

dockshark
17 Jun 2007, 17:14
Trouble with that last paragraph ,you guys don't win MUST win games

the trouble is that i don't think we are picking our 'best' side.if we were then M Carr and J Walker would not be playing imo