View Full Version : Best Dvfl Player Ever

superoo8
16 Jun 2007, 08:36
This should get some interest going.
Best players from my club
Neil Brindley, Wayne Dobson, Dave Miers

Oposition teams (that i have seen or played against)
Lalor... Mario Capola, Dasha Sinclair
North H.... Gadget, Jamie Shaw, Claud Brown (go the crow)
Mont... Tony Barden, Steven Webster,
Bundoora... Steve Ross, Trevor Robinson
Diamond C ....Bill Seiller, Steve Easton
Reservoir Lakies.... Kevin Wilson, Ray Shaw
Heidelberg... Marty Kemp, Shaga Delanty
Heidelberg West.... Kelvin Wood, Peter Taylor
Eltham....Darren Sinclair, Bret Sinclair
Epping....Darren Booth, (i will get back with some more Pingers)

and here's my top 5
1 - Neil Brindley
2 - Mario Capola
3 - Wayne Dobson
4 - Trevor Robinson
5 - Marty Kemp
Have fun ev1 i know there are plenty i have left out (the memory is dwindling).
Cheers

RiverRat
16 Jun 2007, 20:41
Polly Perkins & Richard Guldon would be up there.

superoo8
17 Jun 2007, 08:26
Polly Perkins & Richard Guldon would be up there.
I agree, Richard Guldon was probably a better player against us than Kempy, Peter Mastin always had the better of Kempy but Kempy always had the nack of pulling out something special when it was needed most.

looker
17 Jun 2007, 17:36
Perhaps you older DV guys may know of this player. Played at West Preston, perhaps during the 80's. Surname - Fyfee. From what i hear, a good player, selfish, possies a plenty, and ran like the wind, all game. Anyone know of his career?

chopsewie
18 Jun 2007, 00:03
Perhaps you older DV guys may know of this player. Played at West Preston, perhaps during the 80's. Surname - Fyfee. From what i hear, a good player, selfish, possies a plenty, and ran like the wind, all game. Anyone know of his career?My Dad use to follow west preston so i use to go watch every week when i was a Kid he played at Fitzroy he was as bald as a badger and was a gun even though i was a bit young to really watch him properly. I remember in a GF at epping he kicked a torp from the centre it was a massive goal in a close GF. Correct me if im wrong cause im not sure but i think he played for west mainly when they were in division 2.

chopsewie
18 Jun 2007, 00:07
I dont think you could go past Ace Cameron or Jamie shaw (90 s onwards) the best two ive seen. But from what i have heard Mario capola was an absolute champion.Robbo and Gadget were'nt bad either.

slightlyamused
18 Jun 2007, 12:53
Perhaps you older DV guys may know of this player. Played at West Preston, perhaps during the 80's. Surname - Fyfee. From what i hear, a good player, selfish, possies a plenty, and ran like the wind, all game. Anyone know of his career?

Greg Fyffe. Good player who played at Preston Bullants as well. Started losing his hair at about 16. Works with Wayne Richardson's company now.

Big Ump
18 Jun 2007, 15:32
A bloke playing years ago nickname of Jezza, can not think of his name.

He was not just good, he was a pure champion. He did play a few game's at Northcote VFA

If anyone know's his name let me know and also the club he played for .In the old DVFL.:thumbsu:

junior29
18 Jun 2007, 17:39
did anyone ever get to watch the team of the century captain from the doggies in paul story id love to hear a few comments about his footy ability??

harryhawaii
18 Jun 2007, 18:09
A bloke playing years ago nickname of Jezza, can not think of his name.

He was not just good, he was a pure champion. He did play a few game's at Northcote VFA

If anyone know's his name let me know and also the club he played for .In the old DVFL.:thumbsu:
mario cippola was jezza if thats how its spelt

mffftt i can smell lies
18 Jun 2007, 20:12
david mitchell any thoughts...should be 1 day wat r peoples thoughts now

CoNaZ33
18 Jun 2007, 21:04
just wondering if any1 has heard of a bloke who went by dumbar from resi lakesides a few years back?

Cole Trickle
18 Jun 2007, 21:11
david mitchell any thoughts...should be 1 day wat r peoples thoughts nowIs this post a joke the kid has played one season and has'nt had a kick all year lets keep this thread serious

looker
18 Jun 2007, 21:34
Is this post a joke the kid has played one season and has'nt had a kick all year lets keep this thread serious

Couldn't agree more Cole Trickle.
Was Smead from Watsy a good player in his hey-dey?

mffftt i can smell lies
18 Jun 2007, 21:52
Is this post a joke the kid has played one season and has'nt had a kick all year lets keep this thread serious
kicked 5 from on the ball vvs greensy gets tagged every week won a b n f first year n came 3rd in the second..fairly sure the kid can play the game

looker
18 Jun 2007, 23:28
kicked 5 from on the ball vvs greensy gets tagged every week won a b n f first year n came 3rd in the second..fairly sure the kid can play the game

Hey mate. He prob can play. But this isnt about guys who have been around 5 minutes. Myself , and i am sure many many many many others could name a loooooooooooooong list of guys who have played 2.5 yrs and are the best thing going round. How about you come back to this particular thread in 15 years, once this guy has retired, and let us know how good he was.
Thats more of the players we are talking about here. Those who have had a career longer than 5 min, and proven themselves consistently over time.
I have seen many a young player play one or 2 good seasons, then either get injured, lose the passion, or lose it all together.
So hopefully you are able to grasp the concept of this particular thread.
'Best DVFL PLayer Ever'

I would also like to add Boof from West. Dale Carmody. I think it was Dale.

The Boof
19 Jun 2007, 16:36
Hey mate. He prob can play. But this isnt about guys who have been around 5 minutes. Myself , and i am sure many many many many others could name a loooooooooooooong list of guys who have played 2.5 yrs and are the best thing going round. How about you come back to this particular thread in 15 years, once this guy has retired, and let us know how good he was.
Thats more of the players we are talking about here. Those who have had a career longer than 5 min, and proven themselves consistently over time.
I have seen many a young player play one or 2 good seasons, then either get injured, lose the passion, or lose it all together.
'Best DVFL PLayer Ever'

I'd have to say 'Polly Perkins' is up there as one of the best DVFL players ever... I can't think of anyone who has won as many bnf's...

Force
19 Jun 2007, 16:57
Couldn't agree more Cole Trickle.
Was Smead from Watsy a good player in his hey-dey?

Never saw him play but the boys always say he was an absolute superstar and a top bloke to match!

chopsewie
19 Jun 2007, 17:02
david mitchell any thoughts...should be 1 day wat r peoples thoughts nowThe kid can play maybe open a thread best players under twenty you would'nt get any arguments there.But to play footy as your second occupation for 15 to 20 years is an unbeleivable feet in itself and to play the same in that time is super human Keating forom Bundoora has'nt been mentioned yet he would be in the top ten for me.

mffftt i can smell lies
19 Jun 2007, 19:56
'Best DVFL PLayer Ever'

before u agreed with they guy that said he was a joke and hasnt had a kick all year so wat 1 is it...footy is quicker now n u have to be alot fitter so how can u compare the players its too heard without throwing up players who r playing now...

chopsewie
19 Jun 2007, 20:39
before u agreed with they guy that said he was a joke and hasnt had a kick all year so wat 1 is it...footy is quicker now n u have to be alot fitter so how can u compare the players its too heard without throwing up players who r playing now...I think the joke was your question Quote is Dave Mitchell going to be the best player ever to play in the comp? How can anyone take that seriously he has'nt done a real lot just yet and hes only 20 years old. He is a gun but hes got a long way to go. At the moment he is respected as a very good up and comer nothing more theres probably twenty blokes the same as him running around Blake Holmes, Harley Ryan, Josh Jones, etc

Dwight
20 Jun 2007, 14:52
Lofty Nolan.

Not much he cannot do, but a bit early. Only been around 4 years.

Jason Heatley for me. Before his WCE and St Kilda days he was amazing.
Pretty good when he came back.

Ace Cameron, could play anywhere.

Wayne Dobson, as balanced as anyone. Bit of the Robert Harveys.

Big Ump
20 Jun 2007, 18:32
Here is one for the older supporter's of the old DVFL
Lester Green played for North Heiderberg I think back in the early 70's
One of the champion's in the 70's. Also played with Parkside when they were in the Amateur's
I think he might have a boy playing now???

Cole Trickle
20 Jun 2007, 21:39
before u agreed with they guy that said he was a joke and hasnt had a kick all year so wat 1 is it...footy is quicker now n u have to be alot fitter so how can u compare the players its too heard without throwing up players who r playing now...MFFFTT ican smell Dave Mitchell you need to kick more than five to be the best player in the comp and especially against greensborough. Stop pumping your own tyres up. Yes you have'nt had a kick all year because the opposition know who you are now its always easy your first year but as you have found out so far its not easy second year try fifteen times round. I have heard your a big head.I would'nt rate you in Bundoora s top five players now.

Bruce Almighty
20 Jun 2007, 23:14
Chris Keating by a mile others Richard Gouldon,Neil Brindley,Colin Hodgson,Polly Perkins,Paul Storey,Geoff Austin,Cowboy,Martin Kemp,Simon Lennox,Paul King still going there would be plenty of contenders but I think Keats has won 3 comp medals,premeirships club Bnf's and played for 15 years.Anyone who gets on here an brings up someone who played 2nd div there hole lives stop and think about it first.

magpie#18
21 Jun 2007, 01:01
Fabian Carelli:thumbsu:

looker
21 Jun 2007, 12:03
Chris Keating by a mile others Richard Gouldon,Neil Brindley,Colin Hodgson,Polly Perkins,Paul Storey,Geoff Austin,Cowboy,Martin Kemp,Simon Lennox,Paul King still going there would be plenty of contenders but I think Keats has won 3 comp medals,premeirships club Bnf's and played for 15 years.Anyone who gets on here an brings up someone who played 2nd div there hole lives stop and think about it first.

Hey Bruce, perhaps a distinction should be made between DIV 1 and 2.
There are better teams in divvy 1 than 2.
As for individual players, their ability is not limited by which league or divisiion they play in.
A recent example would be H.Ayres and R.Wise. Both good players in Div 2, and good players in Div 1.
Do we sit here and have a go at them for not having a crack at VFL?
Should VFL people sit here and have a crack at our top line Divvy 1, and call it crap footy,(hence labelling all players as well), cause they dont step up to the next level?
Should AFL people sit here and have a go at VFL players, and call it crap footy, cause they dont step up?
An individual players ability to play footy, is not limited by which grade he plays.
It may be a little harder to stand out in a better team, although this doesnt diminish the players ability.
In fact good players playing lower grades could possibly find it harder, as they will be the first player tagged/manned up once the game starts.
Anyway, perhaps we should distinguish b/n divvy 1 and 2. As we would VFL and Divvy 1, or AFL and VFL.

Historian
21 Jun 2007, 14:57

Totally agree with Chris Keating. Played over 300 games and never played in the reserves. Won 2 Smith medals.

To check out the list of Smith medal winners: www.wikipedia.org (http://www.wikipedia.org/) type in dvfl

superoo8
21 Jun 2007, 16:55
before u agreed with they guy that said he was a joke and hasnt had a kick all year so wat 1 is it...footy is quicker now n u have to be alot fitter so how can u compare the players its too heard without throwing up players who r playing now...
We are talking about the DVFL or Northern FL if you like not the AFL it is not that much faster than when i payed during the 80s/90s and as for fitness i dont think i will ever see any footballer who was as fit as Neil Brindley

mffftt i can smell lies
21 Jun 2007, 19:19
MFFFTT ican smell Dave Mitchell you need to kick more than five to be the best player in the comp and especially against greensborough. Stop pumping your own tyres up. Yes you have'nt had a kick all year because the opposition know who you are now its always easy your first year but as you have found out so far its not easy second year try fifteen times round. I have heard your a big head.I would'nt rate you in Bundoora s top five players now.
do u play footy?...did u get a bit of a towling last time bundoora played u's are we touching on some hurt pride here....its the 3rd year mate n comming first in a b nf and top 3 last 2 years running aint bad...wats ur bundoora top 5 then

21 Jun 2007, 20:33
Justin Murphy.

Cole Trickle
21 Jun 2007, 23:37
do u play footy?...did u get a bit of a towling last time bundoora played u's are we touching on some hurt pride here....its the 3rd year mate n comming first in a b nf and top 3 last 2 years running aint bad...wats ur bundoora top 5 thenWho said anything about bundoora. Division two bandf s dont count for much and top three who cares.Mate if you were as good as what you think you are you would have been at a league club by now or at least having a run at an vfl club. Most of the blokes talked about on this thread have been at league clubs at your age you have done f all. I can't beleive you would jump on here and pump your own tyres up your new id on this thread should be FIGJAM Bundoora's top six Ayres, Budgie, Brown, Howse, Grossman,Mcintosh PS why did you leave Lower heard not many blokes down there liked you because of this sought of stuff.

The_KID
22 Jun 2007, 00:28
If someone has nominated themselves in this thread that is one of the funniest things i have ever seen. It is, however, a little sad at the same time. Couldnt be serious though surely.

Would someone form the northcote park days of four flags be up their? Someone like Shannon Logan who played in them four flags, as well as a couple for creek. Just throwin that dynasty up as surely a few of them must have been able to seriously play.

colbol35
22 Jun 2007, 01:01
If someone has nominated themselves in this thread that is one of the funniest things i have ever seen. It is, however, a little sad at the same time. Couldnt be serious though surely.

Would someone form the northcote park days of four flags be up their? Someone like Shannon Logan who played in them four flags, as well as a couple for creek. Just throwin that dynasty up as surely a few of them must have been able to seriously play.

if a 20 year old did get on here and say that he is gonna be one of the best ever in the dvfl he is a joke, what a sad little man u must be. any really good 20 year old would be at a vfl club, mate there must be at least 15 decent youngsters in this comp and for u to jump on and say ur gonna be a champion there is something seriously wrong. good for a laugh thou

junior29
22 Jun 2007, 10:45
if a 20 year old did get on here and say that he is gonna be one of the best ever in the dvfl he is a joke, what a sad little man u must be. any really good 20 year old would be at a vfl club, mate there must be at least 15 decent youngsters in this comp and for u to jump on and say ur gonna be a champion there is something seriously wrong. good for a laugh thou
it may not be the young fella so lets not go judging him as a bloke because of this, but if it is you would want to pull your head in. I think to be the best player eva in the dvfl you need at least 150-200 games behind you and thats games in the actuall dvfl at senior level so lets stop talking about 50 game spuds.

David_02
22 Jun 2007, 11:52
do u play footy?...did u get a bit of a towling last time bundoora played u's are we touching on some hurt pride here....its the 3rd year mate n comming first in a b nf and top 3 last 2 years running aint bad...wats ur bundoora top 5 then

DANIEL MORRESEY URE A F U CKING IDIOT!!!!

David_02
22 Jun 2007, 11:59
Who said anything about bundoora. Division two bandf s dont count for much and top three who cares.Mate if you were as good as what you think you are you would have been at a league club by now or at least having a run at an vfl club. Most of the blokes talked about on this thread have been at league clubs at your age you have done f all. I can't beleive you would jump on here and pump your own tyres up your new id on this thread should be FIGJAM Bundoora's top six Ayres, Budgie, Brown, Howse, Grossman,Mcintosh PS why did you leave Lower heard not many blokes down there liked you because of this sought of stuff.

nah i left to play div 1. its not me doing this so calm down, and dont cut loose at me. thank you

junior29
22 Jun 2007, 12:45
DANIEL MORRESEY URE A F U CKING IDIOT!!!!
what makes him a fu##ing idiot david? obviously he rates you highly just because one bloke thort it was you no need to have a crack at your fan!!!

David_02
22 Jun 2007, 13:14
what makes him a fu##ing idiot david? obviously he rates you highly just because one bloke thort it was you no need to have a crack at your fan!!!

haha

superoo8
22 Jun 2007, 13:50
I can't believe how far left of center this thread became, maybe if we add some rules.
1 - Must have played at least 150 a Grade div 1 games
2 - No player from Div 2 qualifies

On some of the questions posted
Bernie Smead was just OK, the best from Watsy would have been
1 - Mick Lamb
2 - Mal Griffith
(both of those 2 could have played Div 1 but didn't)
Someone asked about Northcote Park
bit of a guess here but maybe
1 - Origlasso
2 - ooze (i know i spelt that wrong)
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon10.gif

devil's advocte
22 Jun 2007, 16:59
James Taylor from Mont
200+ Div 1 senior games
Rep side
2 x B & F @ mont

Maybe not the best, but has to be in the all time top 10.
Also add Neil Brindley from the slime

tommahawk
22 Jun 2007, 17:07
derrick shaw for me he is used to rip the diamond valley apart!! paul story would also be up there along with rabbi (rick daniels) from rezza lakeside he was a freak!!

BobbyBurritto
22 Jun 2007, 23:51
derrick shaw for me he is used to rip the diamond valley apart!! paul story would also be up there along with rabbi (rick daniels) from rezza lakeside he was a freak!!

Agreed Hawk. Dekka has been one of the best players to come to the DVFL/NFL. Pity he didn't come to this comp till he was about 30 and he still played over 200 A grade Div 1 games! Maybe some of the should-have-beens mentioned as great players on this thread could have tried their luck in the VFL/SANFL/WAFL like Dek did instead of taking the easy option of being the big fish in a little pond.

By the way Hawk are you and Dek back on speaking terms after your little lovers tiff last Sat?

superoo8
23 Jun 2007, 10:52
I agree totally with Dekka (Derek Shaw) had he not played so much time in the ruck he would have topped the Goal kicking 5 or 6 times, he's a good mate of mine Shawy, he had a lot of injuries too. We book ended the burras for 6 or 7 years.

Furious Styles
24 Jun 2007, 14:35
Easy one. Jamie 'Spider' Shaw. Freak of nature.

chopsewie
24 Jun 2007, 18:47
James Taylor from Mont
200+ Div 1 senior games
Rep side
2 x B & F @ mont

Maybe not the best, but has to be in the all time top 10.
Also add Neil Brindley from the slimeJimmy Taylor would'nt be the best but as for loyality and eyes only for the footy would be second to none. You have to feel for a bloke like Taylor as he was a champion player and never played in a premiership if mont had of won one of those grandfinals that they were in Jimmy Taylor would be right up there.

looker
24 Jun 2007, 19:09
Jimmy Taylor would'nt be the best but as for loyality and eyes only for the footy would be second to none. You have to feel for a bloke like Taylor as he was a champion player and never played in a premiership if mont had of won one of those grandfinals that they were in Jimmy Taylor would be right up there.

Now his talents lie in advertising the 4'n'Twenty meat pie

Simple_
25 Jun 2007, 13:27

Colbol35, so if your young to be good you need to be in the vfl? thats a load of crap i have friends that have recently been de-listed from the afl they have gone to vfl clubs and hated it and have gone back to local footy becuase they are not enjoying there footy at vfl, i also had a short stint in the vfl and i hated it aswell i have now gone back to local footy and are loving every minute of it, i got droped from the vfl and found out first hand that they spin a lot of shit to get you there and then use u up as they please, and i reckon there is alot of young good players in the nfl that would easily be able to fit into a vfl side?

also sorry to steer away from what you guys are on about just wanted to share my bit on that, carry on about the real reason we r in this thread its good reading!

colbol35
25 Jun 2007, 17:32
[quote=Simple_;7922659]Colbol35, so if your young to be good you need to be in the vfl? thats a load of crap i have friends that have recently been de-listed from the afl they have gone to vfl clubs and hated it and have gone back to local footy becuase they are not enjoying there footy at vfl, i also had a short stint in the vfl and i hated it aswell i have now gone back to local footy and are loving every minute of it, i got droped from the vfl and found out first hand that they spin a lot of shit to get you there and then use u up as they please, and i reckon there is alot of young good players in the nfl that would easily be able to fit into a vfl side?

i think one of the main reasons alot of these young kids and even ex afl players come back and play local footy is because there is alot of easy money to be made, there is hardly any commitment at local level needed, i would say probably 7 hours a week and for the amount of money some get paid its the easy option. instead of giving up 4 to 5 days of ur week busting ur balls at a vfl club trying to break through to the seniors but probably going to play reserves for pretty much no coin would be the main reason alot of youngsters dont stay, the commitment is too much. and i would really doubtt that there would be any young players in ur comp that could fill spots in a senior vfl side without being down there for a couple of years earning there stripes.

chopsewie
25 Jun 2007, 19:17
[quote=Simple_;7922659]Colbol35, so if your young to be good you need to be in the vfl? thats a load of crap i have friends that have recently been de-listed from the afl they have gone to vfl clubs and hated it and have gone back to local footy becuase they are not enjoying there footy at vfl, i also had a short stint in the vfl and i hated it aswell i have now gone back to local footy and are loving every minute of it, i got droped from the vfl and found out first hand that they spin a lot of shit to get you there and then use u up as they please, and i reckon there is alot of young good players in the nfl that would easily be able to fit into a vfl side?

i think one of the main reasons alot of these young kids and even ex afl players come back and play local footy is because there is alot of easy money to be made, there is hardly any commitment at local level needed, i would say probably 7 hours a week and for the amount of money some get paid its the easy option. instead of giving up 4 to 5 days of ur week busting ur balls at a vfl club trying to break through to the seniors but probably going to play reserves for pretty much no coin would be the main reason alot of youngsters dont stay, the commitment is too much. and i would really doubtt that there would be any young players in ur comp that could fill spots in a senior vfl side without being down there for a couple of years earning there stripes.The dvfl is a very strong league. My beleif is the vfl is a bit of a side step to local footy the players are much fitter and maybe a bit quiker but i beleive a vermont or heidelberg could mix it up with majority of the vfl sides. Most kids that go to vfl clubs drop off when they relise the dream of playing afl is over which makes the vfl pretty much an under 23 competition. I beleive that one day it will go back to the old system with the afl reserves which will see the vfl in real trouble.

Simple_
26 Jun 2007, 15:00

i think one of the main reasons alot of these young kids and even ex afl players come back and play local footy is because there is alot of easy money to be made, there is hardly any commitment at local level needed, i would say probably 7 hours a week and for the amount of money some get paid its the easy option. instead of giving up 4 to 5 days of ur week busting ur balls at a vfl club trying to break through to the seniors but probably going to play reserves for pretty much no coin would be the main reason alot of youngsters dont stay, the commitment is too much. and i would really doubtt that there would be any young players in ur comp that could fill spots in a senior vfl side without being down there for a couple of years earning there stripes.

Sorry mate i cant totally agree, to sum extent yes thats true there is alot of easy money to be made at not alot of commitment, but the reason i left was becuase i was not enjoying my footy and same with my other mates the only reason they left was becuase they were no longer enjoying footy and just wanted to have some fun again and play with there mates, 1 of my mates who only last year got dropped from st kilda wanted to get back into it so bad and was doing everything he could to get back, he took up being a paper boy so he could fit all there training schedules in so he didnt have to work when they were training, now thats commitment and he worked his a** off and for what? for them to play him in the 2's when he was by far a better footballer than at least half the guys on the team? they way the vfl works is crap they dont play players on form the play and pay players on there name, they have there favourites. and for me i am not on that much at my current club but got offered a alot more at other div 1 clubs but didnt take it up cuz i just wanted to have fun with my mates and get back to enjoying my footy and i am. i spose weve all had different experiences so u might have had a different one, but from people i know that play they dont like it, its just not fun and they just use u up as they please

steviewonder36
29 Jun 2007, 20:00
I dont think you could go past Ace Cameron or Jamie shaw (90 s onwards) the best two ive seen. But from what i have heard Mario capola was an absolute champion.Robbo and Gadget were'nt bad either.

Wow, I thought most of you guys would be too young to remember players like Mario Cappola.

I left Melbourne in 1981, just as my team Diamo Creek went on their winning run.

John O'Connell, John Horton (my fav player) were two good players for Diamo back then.

steviewonder36
29 Jun 2007, 20:08

Don't type in Sms format you stupid immature noob!:thumbsd:

TIGER ROCKET
29 Jun 2007, 22:58
only really watched north games over the years but ace cameron was a gun for bundoora.
hard to go past the goalkicking machine jamie shaw though.

BMW22
9 Jul 2007, 21:57
Mark Minney anyone???

Raav
13 Jul 2007, 21:19
Ben Bliss

liquorman
14 Jul 2007, 11:37
Brendan Reid HFC

Teddy
14 Jul 2007, 12:50
One for the old old blokes

Frank Finlay and Alan Finlay it's been that long i've forgotten who they played with in the DVFL.
I know they played a lot of footy with Fairfield amateurs and then Parkside.Great players in their day, I can remember Alan Finlay kicking out at Parkside's ground he would nearly put in the center (Drop Kick) and that is a fair effort at that ground

Ding_Dong
15 Jul 2007, 00:16
How old would Spider (Jamie Shaw) be now? can anyone tell me
Is he still playin?

chopsewie
16 Jul 2007, 16:33
Brendan Reid HFCthats gold absolute champion

Pheonix20
16 Jul 2007, 18:01
Is he still playin?

Not good has fallen on hard times.

SCARFACE
20 Jul 2007, 19:22
A young Athas hyrousoulakis running around for lalor in his asics tigers would have to be one of the best midfielders seen in the valley apparently could chew a few souvas as well

chopsewie
20 Jul 2007, 21:33
Not good has fallen on hard times.
Hes alright big spider he has always been a substance abuser. He wont live a long life but he'll die a happy man. I still talk to him every now and then and he's happy living the same life he has lived for the past 25 years. Hes not the sort of bloke that admits he has a problem he just thinks thats the way we live. Spides is a great bloke and will always be a legend in my book. The best player i have ever played with.

footy luver
6 Aug 2007, 22:51
I can't believe how far left of center this thread became, maybe if we add some rules.
1 - Must have played at least 150 a Grade div 1 games
2 - No player from Div 2 qualifies

On some of the questions posted
Bernie Smead was just OK, the best from Watsy would have been
1 - Mick Lamb
2 - Mal Griffith
(both of those 2 could have played Div 1 but didn't)
Someone asked about Northcote Park
bit of a guess here but maybe
1 - Origlasso
2 - ooze (i know i spelt that wrong)
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon10.gif
i saw nortcote park win 5 div one flags in 6 years.they had some great players in simon lennox,jason croall,shannon logan,joe & matty amad,damien yze,brett jeffries,saad saad, dave strooper,and barry mitchell

ernieburger 11
21 Aug 2007, 11:01
although he is quite out of shape now, mal brown from eltham would definitly be one of the greatest players of all time back in his hay day

Kickass
21 Aug 2007, 12:23
Not the best, but one to watch out for in the future, is a kid called Josh Earnest. He has a head like a watermelon, but **** can he play! :p

ALLDAY18
21 Aug 2007, 12:30
Not the best, but one to watch out for in the future, is a kid called Josh Earnest. He has a head like a watermelon, but **** can he play! :p

Spot on again KA, apparently great with the ladies as well... :rolleyes:

ernieburger 11
21 Aug 2007, 12:38

yes i have heard of him....but an even better player who has been around FOREVER but is just hittin his straps, is a man by the name of Leighroy Miller he is a powerhouse...and apparently he can cook one hell of a meal for multiple people on a thursday night, and not have one person dissapointed with their food

Kickass
21 Aug 2007, 13:00
yes i have heard of him....but an even better player who has been around FOREVER but is just hittin his straps, is a man by the name of Leighroy Miller he is a powerhouse...and apparently he can cook one hell of a meal for multiple people on a thursday night, and not have one person dissapointed with their food

Yep, and cooking is not the only thing he pleases people in mulitples of. :D

BMW22
21 Aug 2007, 17:20
Merv Bennel for me guys..eltham and research champion in the 50's..he didnt wear the number 1 for nothing..just ask him

Kickass
21 Aug 2007, 17:36
Merv Bennel for me guys..eltham and research champion in the 50's..he didnt wear the number 1 for nothing..just ask him

Yep, if only Merv was half as good as he says he was :D

What about B Weatherald. I've heard he could play a bit in his day. Don't know if he was tough enough for DVFL but he did win a league Goal kicking award for Coburg in 1987.

Now days is content with coaching the young fellas and doesn't mind pinching Kickass's, Western Samoan Hot Chips from the Kitchen on a Thursday night .

ernieburger 11
21 Aug 2007, 17:48
Yep, if only Merv was half as good as he says he was :D

What about B Weatherald. I've heard he could play a bit in his day. Don't know if he was tough enough for DVFL but he did win a league Goal kicking award for Coburg in 1987.

Now days is content with coaching the young fellas and doesn't mind pinching Kickass's, Western Samoan Hot Chips from the Kitchen on a Thursday night .

he doesnt mind a beer or 28 either

jaw_4
29 Aug 2007, 18:12
yes ernieburger11 he doesnt mind a beer at all... where will he start u this week.. i hear it may be in a new position so diamo are caught off guard

WANNABE12
5 Sep 2007, 22:59
Spot on again KA, apparently great with the ladies as well... :rolleyes:

not sure if u can call em ladies but a stat iz a stat

jaw_4
6 Sep 2007, 23:38
not sure if u can call em ladies but a stat iz a stat

very tru wannabe i agree

ernieburger 11
7 Sep 2007, 10:52
very tru wannabe i agree

who wants to play hangman?b_a_k m_g_c.....fill in the missing letters, jaw 4 you should be good at this one!

Kickass
7 Sep 2007, 12:57
who wants to play hangman?b_a_k m_g_c.....fill in the missing letters, jaw 4 you should be good at this one!

Too easy Burger.

black magic.

Try this one. 11 letters. :)

_ l_b_ _ _ g_ _ t

jaw_4
10 Sep 2007, 21:44
Is he still playin?

yep he sure is

little village
19 Sep 2007, 01:03
i saw nortcote park win 5 div one flags in 6 years.they had some great players in simon lennox,jason croall,shannon logan,joe & matty amad,damien yze,brett jeffries,saad saad, dave strooper,and barry mitchell

*** yeah i forgot about those they were good

little village
19 Sep 2007, 01:05
what about hamburger from north he was a super star.

wish you could have teams of the decade so i could remember stuff hahha i must be old:mad:

WALKERTOBETTS
25 Sep 2007, 09:30

Agree:thumbsu: it's a toss up between The Wiz (Lennox) or Ruben (Joe Amad), and also the best Wingmen in DVFL has to go to Shannon Logan unbeatable, and the Rolls Royce Damien Yze, he once ran the ball from back pocket didn't raise a sweat kicked from 50m and still went through goal post height, a well oiled machine - but also ace cameron wasn't bad, and a lot of respect for not quite sure if this is right but king brothers:confused: from Bulls, thought they where good players.

looker
25 Sep 2007, 15:46
Agree:thumbsu: it's a toss up between The Wiz (Lennox) or Ruben (Joe Amad), and also the best Wingmen in DVFL has to go to Shannon Logan unbeatable, and the Rolls Royce Damien Yze, he once ran the ball from back pocket didn't raise a sweat kicked from 50m and still went through goal post height, a well oiled machine - but also ace cameron wasn't bad, and a lot of respect for not quite sure if this is right but king brothers:confused: from Bulls, thought they where good players.

I would have to disagree with Logan being the best wingmen. I am sure there have been plenty, but one that would have played against Logan a couole oif times, and whom i rate better, is Jason McGann from WPL. Talk about kicking the ball post high from 50m.

Parade Old Boy
1 Oct 2007, 17:01
mario cippola was jezza if thats how its spelt

I saw him play and have to agree that he was as good a player as I have ever seen run around in the DVFL.