View Full Version : Further Proof Our Game Plan Is Rubbish
maccas_no1
16 Jun 2007, 08:59
Hawthorn last night...................a very young list missing their two key forwards (Williams and Franklin) yet have still managed to play an attacking hard running style of football.
Now from what I read on here and the reasons given as to why we play a defensive game plan is because of our lack of forwards...............yet Hawthorn with its lack of forwards were able to produce 27 goals:eek:
I want answers, because the crap the AFC play is wearing thin with me:thumbsd:
Wayne's-World
16 Jun 2007, 09:43
:rolleyes:Seriously go play in a sandbox
SpringChoke
16 Jun 2007, 10:31
:rolleyes:Seriously go play in a sandbox
Imagine what him and DRummond will be like when we really start rebuilding post Macca, Roo, Goody and Edwards. He aint seen nothing yet.
Marty , apparently Hawthorn also flood
Are you saying Hawthorn have played 11 rounds of attacking football?
Markthirtytwo
16 Jun 2007, 11:28
The same goes for Geelong, but where was their running game last week?
It's about pressue. Some don't seem to realise that.
maccas_no1
16 Jun 2007, 11:32
I didnt say they dont but you look at they way they have played thus far in 2007, how many games have they gone as defensive as the AFC to the point that they develope a game plan around it???
maccas_no1
16 Jun 2007, 11:33
The same goes for Geelong, but where was their running game last week?
It's about pressue. Some don't seem to realise that.
You can aapply pressure without shutting the game down to ultra boring defensive exhausting rubbish, that still doesnt get you the win anyway.
Markthirtytwo
16 Jun 2007, 11:42
You can aapply pressure without shutting the game down to ultra boring defensive exhausting rubbish, that still doesnt get you the win anyway.
It has 5 times this year.
King Elvis
16 Jun 2007, 12:48
Roughhead kicked five didn't he?
And Hodge a few?
I still think one of our main problems is lack of goals from our midfield.
SpringChoke
16 Jun 2007, 19:15
Roughhead kicked five didn't he?
And Hodge a few?
I still think one of our main problems is lack of goals from our midfield.
I'm sick of hearing how ultra defensive our game plan is when really Craigy has no alternative. We have been decimated by injury and a third of ort team is playing injured. What else is Craigy supposed to do? If we played all out attacking football you can guarantee we wouldn't be sitting 6-5.
My disappointment is that we have to suffer for yet another year of a forward line consisting of combinations of Welsh, Perrie, Bock and Kenny. We will never win a GF with that forward line. Is it time we bite the bullet and start buidling a forward line that CAN win us a premiership. If it is, a good start would be to try out Griffen in the goal square.
maccas_no1
16 Jun 2007, 19:35
I'm sick of hearing how ultra defensive our game plan is when really Craigy has no alternative. We have been decimated by injury and a third of ort team is playing injured. What else is Craigy supposed to do? If we played all out attacking football you can guarantee we wouldn't be sitting 6-5.
What a crock of shit:thumbsd:
SpringChoke
16 Jun 2007, 19:43
So if he went all out attack and we lost the game, then you would be whingeing that we didn't play defensive enough.
We are amazingly ( considering our injuries ) sitting 6-5 yet you still bitch and moan. How you going to cope when we have a bigger downturn when Roo, Goody, Macca and Edwards retire? You reckon we're too defensive now, imagine what it will be like then.
maccas_no1
16 Jun 2007, 20:11
So if he went all out attack and we lost the game, then you would be whingeing that we didn't play defensive enough.
We are amazingly ( considering our injuries ) sitting 6-5 yet you still bitch and moan. How you going to cope when we have a bigger downturn when Roo, Goody, Macca and Edwards retire? You reckon we're too defensive now, imagine what it will be like then.
The AFC have proven that we have a good defence our defence is not effected by injuries, so there is no need to develope a completely defensive game plan across the whole ground, let the defence line do their job, move the ball out of our D50 quicker to the likes Mattner or Reilly and open up our forwardline and give them space to work in leave Roo one out in the goal square and have Welsh and McGregor lead in from the flanks, we have three blokes in our F50 whom have proven they can take contested marks if given the space to work in and that is what they need, and to do that they need quick ball movement and a good long kick down the corridor to not allow the opposition to get numbers back, you will also find that running the opposition off their feet will wear them down.
Crow-mo
16 Jun 2007, 21:32
Hawthorn last night...................a very young list missing their two key forwards (Williams and Franklin) yet have still managed to play an attacking hard running style of football.
Now from what I read on here and the reasons given as to why we play a defensive game plan is because of our lack of forwards...............yet Hawthorn with its lack of forwards were able to produce 27 goals:eek:
good.
**** off then and find a new club. you won't be missed.
Kickin_Goals
16 Jun 2007, 23:19
The AFC have proven that we have a good defence our defence is not effected by injuries, so there is no need to develope a completely defensive game plan across the whole ground, let the defence line do their job, move the ball out of our D50 quicker to the likes Mattner or Reilly and open up our forwardline and give them space to work in leave Roo one out in the goal square and have Welsh and McGregor lead in from the flanks, we have three blokes in our F50 whom have proven they can take contested marks if given the space to work in and that is what they need, and to do that they need quick ball movement and a good long kick down the corridor to not allow the opposition to get numbers back, you will also find that running the opposition off their feet will wear them down.
You clearly have no clue as you've just mentioned a player that is injured, one that just returned contested marks don't involve having space that's the whole idea of a contest.
Only person that thinks adelaide played different tonight would be robert walls and he can't tell the difference between Roo and boo, only difference was better disposal more tackling from the forwards which is generally what is required to get goal opportunities attack relies on defense....
maccas_no1
16 Jun 2007, 23:23
You clearly have no clue as you've just mentioned a player that is injured, one that just returned contested marks don't involve having space that's the whole idea of a contest.
Only person that thinks adelaide played different tonight would be robert walls and he can't tell the difference between Roo and boo, only difference was better disposal more tackling from the forwards which is generally what is required to get goal opportunities attack relies on defense....
Well you were watching a different game to what I just watched, we kicked it long, we allowed space for the forwards to work into and applied pressure on the Kangaroos defence, and didnt allow them to push numbers back with quick ball movement.
maccas_no1
16 Jun 2007, 23:24
good.
**** off then and find a new club. you won't be missed.
Your sir have an IQ of below 50...................you have just missed the big blue bus.
Kickin_Goals
16 Jun 2007, 23:29
Well you were watching a different game to what I just watched, we kicked it long, we allowed space for the forwards to work into and applied pressure on the Kangaroos defence, and didnt allow them to push numbers back with quick ball movement.
We have kicked long prior, however we have kicked long to the opposition in previous matches.
The space coming from the players being there to link up so less turnovers what disposals have been like previous is the kind of thing that happened to Griffin in his second to last kick of the final term a poor decision his last kick and the kicks of ricciuto were much better places to kick to delivery was very much spear like only 2 or 3 passes bounced before the target.
maccas_no1
16 Jun 2007, 23:36
We have kicked long prior, however we have kicked long to the opposition in previous matches.
The space coming from the players being there to link up so less turnovers what disposals have been like previous is the kind of thing that happened to Griffin in his second to last kick of the final term a poor decision his last kick and the kicks of ricciuto were much better places to kick to delivery was very much spear like only 2 or 3 passes bounced before the target.
But due to our slow ball movement up the ground the opposition has been able to get numbers back.........run hard up the corridor and that wont happen and deliver the ball well and you are more than likley going to allow your forward to negeate the defender get in front and mark the ball around 30m out from goal which is exactly what happened tonight:thumbsu:
NikkiNoo
16 Jun 2007, 23:41
But due to our slow ball movement up the ground the opposition has been able to get numbers back.........run hard up the corridor and that wont happen and deliver the ball well and you are more than likley going to allow your forward to negeate the defender get in front and mark the ball around 30m out from goal which is exactly what happened tonight:thumbsu:
Umm Marty - that has been the problem, the game plan and the forward structure has essentially been the same all year (you don't change a game plan overnight) but it has been the delivery from the midfield that was the difference. We have moved it quickly through the midfield at times this year but the disposal has been shocking to our forwards. It was much better in the first and last quarters tonight. Back to old habits in the second and third and look at the scoring differences in those quarters.
So you can't now claim it was a good game plan cause we won tonight when it has essentially been the same game plan just the midfielders pulling their fingers out better than they have previously.
Kane McGoodwin
16 Jun 2007, 23:50
Any chance of treating other posters nicely!! Just because you are captain grumpy & angry at AFC doesn't give you the right to be rude to others on this forum.
Stiffy_18
17 Jun 2007, 00:05
Umm Marty - that has been the problem, the game plan and the forward structure has essentially been the same all year (you don't change a game plan overnight) but it has been the delivery from the midfield that was the difference. We have moved it quickly through the midfield at times this year but the disposal has been shocking to our forwards. It was much better in the first and last quarters tonight. Back to old habits in the second and third and look at the scoring differences in those quarters.
So you can't now claim it was a good game plan cause we won tonight when it has essentially been the same game plan just the midfielders pulling their fingers out better than they have previously.
You go girl :)
Very well said :thumbsu:
macca23
17 Jun 2007, 00:53
I don't know why you think our airport is rubbish. I actually like it Marty.
Opps!! Wrong thread!! :o
Crow-mo
17 Jun 2007, 01:50
Your sir have an IQ of below 50...................you have just missed the big blue bus.
lol. you're not exactly the calibre of bloke who should be talking about other people's IQ, now are you?
now run along to another team. there's a good boy.
Allefgib
17 Jun 2007, 04:01
To be fair for a second I don't really admire maccas_no1's posting style and negative attacking of the football club...
BUT
I think its fair to say Craigy DID come out during the week and say they would take more risks and attack more. I think this change of mental approach, within the context of the gameplan we do play, did make a significant difference to today's game.
I agree Nikki you can't change a gameplan in one week BUT be fair, there was a difference asked by the coach to the guys mental approach to taking risks and attacking faster.. and it looks to have paid off this week. The game appeared to be more in the early 2006 mould of games for the majority of it.
Kenny Mac makes a huge difference as he allows the other forwards more freedom rather than having to sit under the ball themselves when they don't offer as much in a contested situation. However, fast ball movement and willingness to take risks makes a massive difference to ANYONES ability to execute their gameplan.
Kickin_Goals
17 Jun 2007, 05:05
Interesting again Pumps20 I gather you don't much care for that membership account.
The game plan was the same the execution was better due to better skills and sometimes better decisions, the flow dried up when the Kangaroos decided to all get behind the ball and basically flood.
Adelaide had less errors, last week they were many by foot and that is why Geelong scored, clangers and turnovers leaving players out of position from coming up with the ball.
When possession is claimed from something other then a direct turnover the defenders are positioned well enough to contest and Adelaide contest well.
Of the goals scored tonight for the kangaroos they came overly from umpiring decision, turnovers the others crumbing goals as in set shots the kangaroos failed to capitalize from where they managed to mark suggesting they could not mark somewhere optimum to score from and these marks were generally a result of a turnover from poor disposal. The Roos got some gifts and really it could have been a very ugly scoreboard for them.
The same execution would of beaten Geelong last week by likely the same margin.
Teams clearly flood when the other team get a lead early.
Unless Adelaide make errors it is difficult to score against Adelaide if you are not on top in the mid-field and even then the mid-fielders opposition mid-fielders have to make a scoring impact them self.
Wayne's-World
17 Jun 2007, 07:23
:thumbsu: Here here ........any talk of a new gameplan last night was a load of s...t
Walls claiming we are kicking long to the forward line .....hell we've been doing it all year
Only difference last night was a) a much more positive attacking attitude, b)as you say better excution, and c) a much better performance by our KPP
jenny61_99
17 Jun 2007, 10:03
I was in the race as the players came off after pre-game warm ups and Tyson Edwards was yelling to the boys
"It's all about the basics. The basics are non-negotiable!"
I would think without a shadow of a doubt, they all remembered the basics last night. I don't know if that is a change of game plan or an adjustment of the existing one. I suspect the latter.
Markthirtytwo
17 Jun 2007, 11:22
Oh yes it did. :)
Markthirtytwo
17 Jun 2007, 11:30
:thumbsu: Here here ........any talk of a new gameplan last night was a load of s...t
Walls claiming we are kicking long to the forward line .....hell we've been doing it all year
Only difference last night was a) a much more positive attacking attitude, b)as you say better excution, and c) a much better performance by our KPP
However I did notice something last night I hadn't noticed before and that the forwards were standing in a straight line to allow space to run into.
Previously we used the old huddle style and that confused us as well as the opposition.
However I did notice something last night I hadn't noticed before and that the forwards were standing in a straight line to allow space to run into.
Previously we used the old huddle style and that confused us as well as the opposition.
Actually Walls wrote an article 18 months ago iirc that highlighted the exact same set up
Wayne's-World
17 Jun 2007, 16:04
Mark, the two melb games I saw had them lining up loke that at various stages .......I really believe the major difference was simply a more positive "attitude" to moving the ball forward quickly.
With Bock having struggled for many games ....his game last night, that of Stevens and even Kenny certainly capitilized beeter on outr forwrd thrusts.
Kickin_Goals
17 Jun 2007, 19:17
Well better decision making generally includes gaining ground.
topjars
17 Jun 2007, 19:41
:thumbsu:
Walls claimed the crowd were booing Roo as well:rolleyes:...when RRRRRRRROOO was reverberating around the ground
Walls he is such a tool.
maccas no one...How come we are in the eight if our gameplan is rubbish ?
FFS
Carl Spackler
17 Jun 2007, 21:17
I hope these differences will be apparent over the next few weeks but we shouldn't forget that we absolutely OWN the Kangaroos. I can't remember us losing against them for years. We play good footy against them every single time. Last night's game is not necessarily evidence that we have improved in the areas Craig wants us to. If we can play with similar intent against West Coast and the Hawks then we can draw that conclusion.