View Full Version : Crows v Kangaroos - Match Thread

Pages : [1] 2 3

pjcrows
16 Jun 2007, 19:07
Thought I'd start it. A mate from the Gold Coast is at the ground now, reckons Vince is playing and an Adelaide forward is out. Surely not the Roo?

Gets!
16 Jun 2007, 19:22
Oh yay.

RoosterLad
16 Jun 2007, 19:24
Well we don't have many forwards so it's either him or Welsh I guess. Shithouse news if it's true though.

pjcrows
16 Jun 2007, 19:33
Wells out, Sansbury in.

Crows no change - my mail was wrong.

RoosterLad
16 Jun 2007, 19:33
Wells in and then out?!

pjcrows
16 Jun 2007, 19:34
Wells in and then out?!

Unless I heard wrong on 5AA, Rowe just said that Sansbury is in and Wells is out.

Gets!
16 Jun 2007, 19:36
You ripper!

Tas
16 Jun 2007, 19:36
Wells in and then out?!

Sansbury is our "Jehrico". Would be ammusing if they played on eachother. :p

Allefgib
16 Jun 2007, 19:44
ah fantastic... got up with 30mins to spare before I can tune in on the internet radio. GO YOU CROWS!

RoosterLad
16 Jun 2007, 19:46
Sansbury is our "Jehrico". Would be ammusing if they played on eachother. :p

:D:D

What an epic battle that will be!

Tas
16 Jun 2007, 19:53
Wells in and then out?!

He was never going to play, I think Harding was more of a chance to play and he is on the long-term injury list. :p

fantastic_crows
16 Jun 2007, 19:59
Should be a good game tonight :thumbsu:

My dad is at the game

RoosterLad
16 Jun 2007, 20:02
Come on you *****!!!

Allefgib
16 Jun 2007, 20:17
Come on you *****!!!

amen.

Allefgib
16 Jun 2007, 20:20
2 points to the kangas, crows yet to open their account.

Allefgib
16 Jun 2007, 20:21
Roooooooooo... he's on. Lets hope he can get involved quickly.

And THomo gets the first!

Allefgib
16 Jun 2007, 20:23
Roo gets a good touch and Kenny marks and goal!

12 to 2, crows up.

Allefgib
16 Jun 2007, 20:30
we're doing well in the ruck by the sounds of it but roos post their first.

Gets!
16 Jun 2007, 20:31
Hows Mattner?

betterthanu
16 Jun 2007, 20:32
Goal to bock but mattners injured:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

Allefgib
Bock on the end of good kick from Roo and puts it through the big ones.

18 to 8, crows up.

betterthanu
Griffin you star

Gets!
16 Jun 2007, 20:33
Sucked in Archer.

Allefgib
16 Jun 2007, 20:34
Goal to Gryffindor after archer a fraction late to the contest.

crows up by 3 goals.

Gets!
16 Jun 2007, 20:41
How many times are they just running it out of defence after we go forward?

Allefgib
16 Jun 2007, 20:43
Bock started well today and kicks his second from dead in front.

Crows up by 21 points. 5 straight is good footy.

pjcrows
16 Jun 2007, 20:44
How many times are they just running it out of defence after we go forward?

Both sides have loose men back, so it's easy to run it out. It's working out nicely for us if the game keeps going as it is. We're using the ball much better through the midfield. Kangaroos still winning clearances - if it turns into a one-on-one we will struggle, but our lead is good.

crowsRno1!
16 Jun 2007, 20:47
Does anyone know why 3MMM are calling Bock 8Dayer?

Gets!
16 Jun 2007, 20:47
Oh okay, yeah im listening to the radio so I just cant obviously see whats happening.

Southerntakeover
16 Jun 2007, 20:49
Bocky's having his best game for the year

Drummond
16 Jun 2007, 20:49
Great quarter, one of our best for the year. :thumbsu:

How much better do we look when we play attacking football? We’re a class above most teams when we play this style.

Bock is having his best game for 2 months, and it helps having Ricciuto out there. Other than that one errant handball, Massie hasn’t put a foot wrong and looks very solid. He’s found a lot of the ball and his tackling has been a highlight.

Brilliant quarter by McLeod, and VB and Knights are contributing again.

DaveW
16 Jun 2007, 20:50
I thought the Griffin fifty was fair. The mark was taken and the contact was late.

You could quibble over just how late the contact was. But Lane's assertion that it wasn't a mark was the most ridiciulous call.

bus24
16 Jun 2007, 20:51
I hate to say I told ya so. So I won't.

Massie :thumbsu:

Bock - How much better does he look when he's given some space.

KMac - Someone can take a contested mark :thumbsu:

What courage from the Griffatron :thumbsu:

Drummond
16 Jun 2007, 20:52
You could quibble over just how late the contact was. But Lane's assertion that it wasn't a mark was the most ridiciulous call.
They were trying to say it wasn’t a free OR a mark? :eek: These commentators are unbelievably biased.

King Elvis
16 Jun 2007, 20:55
Sorry guys, I missed the start - Jericho wasn't dropped, Massie in for Goody?

That's all our changes?

Vic Crow
16 Jun 2007, 20:57
Was that Jericho laying a crunching tackle?! It was! I honestly thought it was Ricciuto at first just because of the ferocity.

Nice snap Grug!

Allefgib
16 Jun 2007, 20:58
Kenny gets his 2nd. Great to see us get FAST delivery to the forward line.

pjcrows
16 Jun 2007, 21:01
We've been saying it since Bondy left... but geez, a crumbing forward would be nice :p

Vic Crow
16 Jun 2007, 21:02
I was listening on the radio for most of the first quarter coz I was on my way home, but it sounds a top effort by the Crows crowd up there. Couldn't tell when it was good play by the Roos or the Crows based on the crowd.

THAT UMPIRE CAN GET ****ED!!! HOW THE **** WAS STIFFY MEANT TO GET RID OF THAT?!

bus24
16 Jun 2007, 21:04
Luke Jericho has been brill this quarter. Keep it up.

SpringChoke
16 Jun 2007, 21:05
wooohoo Jericho. Mark my words this kid will play 200 games.:thumbsu:

SpringChoke
16 Jun 2007, 21:10
Another rule change it seems. So if you get tackled now, without prior opportunity, and you stay on your feet, its holding the ball. Rubbish umpiring.

Jeez when Kenny hits the turf, he really doesn't do his knee any favours.

crowsRno1!
16 Jun 2007, 21:11
great work bock

Vic Crow
16 Jun 2007, 21:11
Stay down Chamberlain! Get the emergency umpire out there.

P.S. Wireless internet is the roxorz...

Allefgib
16 Jun 2007, 21:12
Bock with his 3rd. Fantastic stuff!

SpringChoke
16 Jun 2007, 21:12
This is the game Bock really needed to have.

Ray "Bulldog" Chamberlain will be looking for some payback in the fsecond half. This could turn into a bloodbath.

Vic Crow
16 Jun 2007, 21:13
Another rule change it seems. So if you get tackled now, without prior opportunity, and you stay on your feet, its holding the ball. Rubbish umpiring.

Jeez when Kenny hits the turf, he really doesn't do his knee any favours.
Actually I believe the official rule change is that if you get tackled, in any situation, no matter if there's prior opportunity, if it's too high, if you don't have the ball, none of that matters. ANY tackle will be rewarded with a holding the ball decision.

They gave us an even upper immediately after and then we got pinged with another joke decision. Three terrible calls. Two to them, one to us.

SpringChoke
16 Jun 2007, 21:17
I missed the Hudson stat. Whay did they say, something about hardball gets????

Drummond
16 Jun 2007, 21:18
wooohoo Jericho. Mark my words this kid will play 200 games.:thumbsu:
He's been good, haven't noticed any slack efforts.

But 200 games? Seriously. :rolleyes:

SpringChoke
16 Jun 2007, 21:19
Now thats more like the Jericho we know and love, spectator in the last 2 contests.

Drummond
16 Jun 2007, 21:20
And right there, Jericho drops a sitter and is gone.

One step forward, 2....

SpringChoke
16 Jun 2007, 21:20
He's been good, haven't noticed any slack efforts.

But 200 games? Seriously. :rolleyes:

:eek:You really struggle with wit don't you? Mormons/Young Liberals???

Allefgib
16 Jun 2007, 21:21
:eek:You really struggle with wit don't you? Mormon/Young Liberals???

Muuhaha.. i was thinking the same thing SC

SpringChoke
16 Jun 2007, 21:22
Ha, ha Chamberlain, you wan***.

Southerntakeover
16 Jun 2007, 21:23
Good first half.

SpringChoke
16 Jun 2007, 21:24
Good first half.

Great first half. Our forward line looks really good for once.

bus24
16 Jun 2007, 21:25
Last week was certainly NVBs breakout game. Has 15 touches to half time.

jo172
Everything looking good, if it wasn't for umpires being ****ers we would have killed them. Lukey has had some bad moments but has also done some nice things:thumbsu:

NikkiNoo
An acceptable first half (I have high standards ;) ).

Interesting to see that towards the end of that quarter we were having Dogga 'mind' McIntosh through the centre once they got possession in our forward line.

dA Crow
16 Jun 2007, 21:26
Good to see McGregor and Bock being allowed to show there marking skill, been good so far.

I'd love to have been able to read stiffy's mind when he got pinged for that holding the ball.

Anyone else have the urge to throttle the commentators... Voss may have been a top class player... but his commentary is...average at best.

winky14
16 Jun 2007, 21:27
Mmmm Jericho's laid a couple of tackles and even backed back into a pack :eek:. Hope we see more of that in the second half.

NikkiNoo
Last week was certainly NVBs breakout game. Has 15 touches to half time.

How was Vossy's call on his pass to McGregor in the first quarter?

The stat for Hudson was 4th in the league for Hard Ball gets and 8th for hitouts.

Mad Dog
Jericho's holding the ball:

How would you rate his attempt to get rid of it ?

Drummond
16 Jun 2007, 21:28
Oh give it a break, find someone else to bully. Porps also dropped a sitter, is he gone too? Jericho has done more than him tonight.
Get a grip. I just said he's having a good game, what more do you want? He's had a hand in 2 goals.

But he goes and drops a sitter for no reason.

Sure he does some good things, which I've mentioned, but then he stuffs it up the very next minute. You can't have that.

How good has Massie been? :thumbsu:

Non existant. That's what's disappointing.

fantastic_crows
16 Jun 2007, 21:28
Great first half of footy there.

Nathan Bock and Marty Mattner have been brill :thumbsu:

K-Mac has been very good also.

Thommo, what else can we say about this bloke?

Jericho has been good, he hasnt had a great game but apart from the end of that second quarter he has been good

NikkiNoo
16 Jun 2007, 21:29

He didn't get rid of it immediately and he had a bit of prior opportunity so fair enough. He waited until we had a runner go past but that was too late.

Allefgib
Good first half to the boys. Sounds like the Kanga's should have a couple more though.

Love hearing Kenny's name amongst it alot as we go forward. SOunds like he has freed Bock up a little. How is welsh fitting in on screen?

pjcrows
So the stupid holding the ball decisions are back again? :rolleyes:

Knights went for the left foot snap when he had oodles of time... rrrghhh... he's been good though.

Massie the General! Straight back into it. He'd be leading the best team man so far.

Just need to keep going.

fantastic_crows
16 Jun 2007, 21:30
Scott Stevens has been very good too, taken a couple of very important marks :thumbsu:

bus24
16 Jun 2007, 21:31
forgot to mention Marty.

See what this attacking gameplan has done for him. He's 100 times the player. Tackles are back, he runs forwards and he kicks long. All of his assets are being utilised.

crowsarethebest
16 Jun 2007, 21:32
Great first half and finally we are just banging it long in there. And we have a forward structure!

bus24
16 Jun 2007, 21:32
Crappy AFL stats.

Marty Mattner apparantly has had 0 tackles. LOL

I can remember 7.

fantastic_crows
16 Jun 2007, 21:34
Crappy AFL stats.

Marty Mattner apparantly has had 0 tackles. LOL

I can remember 7.

Bahahaha 0

AdelUniCrowFan
16 Jun 2007, 21:35
Massie is playing a brilliant first game back, what a pity the goal ump got in the way and cost him a great goal.

I missed the bits were people were saying Jericho was doing good so can't comment on them, but his non attempt at disposal late in the quarter was close to one of the most pathetic attempts I have seen.

The umpires have been pretty disappointing so far. The Johncock HTB was a joke, and I thought Griffin was lucky to get the 50. Considering both ended in goals at least that levelled out.

I also thought Van Berlo was having a quiet game but was amazed to see he has 15 touches for the game. I think I need to pay a bit more attention. I only missed the first 10-15 minutes of the 2nd quarter.

bus24
16 Jun 2007, 21:38
I also thought Van Berlo was having a quiet game but was amazed to see he has 15 touches for the game. I think I need to pay a bit more attention. I only missed the first 10-15 minutes of the 2nd quarter.

I was surprised he had 15 too, but thinking back I can remember him having a lot of the footy.

Southerntakeover
16 Jun 2007, 21:39
Massie is playing a brilliant first game back, what a pity the goal ump got in the way and cost him a great goal.

I missed the bits were people were saying Jericho was doing good so can't comment on them, but his non attempt at disposal late in the quarter was close to one of the most pathetic attempts I have seen.

The umpires have been pretty disappointing so far. The Johncock HTB was a joke, and I thought Griffin was lucky to get the 50. Considering both ended in goals at least that levelled out.

ITs just the way vB plays. He gets alot of handballs and what not that the cameras dont zoom in on. This is why people sometimes underrate how good hes been this year.

Allefgib
16 Jun 2007, 21:40
ITs just the way vB plays. He gets alot of handballs and what not that the cameras dont zoom in on. This is why people sometimes underrate how good hes been this year.

He's had more kicks than handballs :) (don't disagree though)

I think alot of it has to do with the fact he might have been given freer rein to attack rather than tag.

Allefgib
16 Jun 2007, 21:43
Rooooooooooooooooooooo

Allefgib
16 Jun 2007, 21:44
Champion, you just know he's one of the best chances in the comp to kick a goal when in range.

Crows march on.

Crows 9.4.56
Kangas 3.7.25

pjcrows
16 Jun 2007, 21:48
Two easy misses from Porps and Huddo... need to kick them.

pjcrows
16 Jun 2007, 21:50
Gee that's frustrating. Dominate for the first 5 mins, then they get one from absolutely nowhere. Rrrrgh.

Allefgib
16 Jun 2007, 21:51
Are we slowing down?

pjcrows
16 Jun 2007, 21:53
Are we slowing down?

I can feel the Roos creeping back... we're trying to be too cute again. Just get it in there and we will threaten to score.

Allefgib
16 Jun 2007, 21:54
Kangas have been winning it fine. Missing shots though so we need to be careful.. but NOT stop the decisive movement forward of the first half.

pjcrows
16 Jun 2007, 21:55
Stop Trying To Be Pinpoint!

Allefgib
16 Jun 2007, 21:58
Need to hold them they are building pressure nicely.

Luckily they aren't putting it on the board.

pjcrows
16 Jun 2007, 22:00
Next goal so so important. If the Roos get within 4 goals it will be a close finish.

crowsRno1!
16 Jun 2007, 22:02
another bad umpiring decision!

Allefgib
16 Jun 2007, 22:03
Feels like we are absorbing their burst at the moment... hopefully can pull away more in the last. The game going down to the wire like this will be tense!

Allefgib
16 Jun 2007, 22:06
(why is brayshaw calling Bock the '8dayer'?)

SpringChoke
16 Jun 2007, 22:06
Really good game from Bock, and it's not against an undersized Bulldog backline. Now for some consistency.

crowsRno1!
16 Jun 2007, 22:07
(why is brayshaw calling Bock the '8dayer'?)

i asked the same question, havent heard a response yet

fantastic_crows
16 Jun 2007, 22:08
Pretty scrappy quarter of footy there, we went back to our tempo footy for a while, but to have a 28 pt lead at 3/4 time against a team that has won 7 of their last 8 is a good effort

SpringChoke
16 Jun 2007, 22:08
Jeez i'm glad Chocco didn't think it worthwhile to chase Thommo too hard at the end of 2004.:thumbsu: In his current form, he would just about be the iceing on the cake to their midfield.

dA Crow
16 Jun 2007, 22:09
Excellent Mark(ish) to Bassett.....

bus24
16 Jun 2007, 22:09
Scott Thompson = MACHINE :thumbsu:

pjcrows
16 Jun 2007, 22:10
It's amatuer hour on the Channel 10 coverage tonight :p The Year 9 Work Experience boys must be in charge.

Scott Thompson = leading our B+F.

bus24
16 Jun 2007, 22:11

By a distance. Still young too. What a gem :)

fantastic_crows
It's amatuer hour on the Channel 10 coverage tonight :p The Year 9 Work Experience boys must be in charge.

Hahahaha yeah.

Channel 10 is very good though, just stuffed up a coupla times tonight

winky14
Did anyone else's picture suddenly resize with a couple minutes to go or is it just my tv?