View Full Version : Year is over
raffrox
16 Jun 2007, 23:16
Ok. Everybody with me... Breathe in.... breathe out... let go... this year is GAWN!
Chillout and relax fellas.
Michael Voss for coach for '08.
Cameron_K
16 Jun 2007, 23:26
I almost think it's time for Harvey. Need to do something to keep Pav
Not over at all. More inside 50's , more scoring shots , more possesions.
Not to mention the maggots denying any comeback with the last 6 frees to them.
Get Jeffery crumbing all the spoils on the forward line and it is a different game.
It is not all over yet.
70-55 inside 50 in our favour. Like the pies game I am scratching my head how we lost.
raffrox
16 Jun 2007, 23:28
I almost think it's time for Harvey. Need to do something to keep Pav
The problem is if Pav honestly looks at the situation we'd be 7-5 instead od 5-7 if he'd done his job.
He's been dead set average with his kicking for goal lately. He should hang around just to make up for it and prove to the AFL that he's not just a good player but a leader.
weagles_fan
16 Jun 2007, 23:30
Get Jeffery crumbing all the spoils on the forward line and it is a different game.
It is not all over yet.
70-55 inside 50 in our favour. Like the pies game I am scratching my head how we lost.
Because of CC? I don't know if Sandilands was injured or whatever but he was on the field so I suspect he should've been rucking when the game was on the line. Warnock got killed at beginning of final qtr and Dogs won all centre clearances.
raffrox
16 Jun 2007, 23:32
Because of CC? I don't know if Sandilands was injured or whatever but he was on the field so I suspect he should've been rucking when the game was on the line. Warnock got killed at beginning of final qtr and Dogs won all centre clearances.
We were average tonight but seriously, did you see the umpire bounces in the last qtr? Sandi is not 110%. No doubt about that.
ImperialPurple
16 Jun 2007, 23:34
It is not all over yet.
C'mon Rip. You know I will usually back you up, but despite all this - we lost. And we are 5-7 with a tough run home. :(
Are you serious? Did you not watch the game?
An inside 50 stat isn't much good if you kick it to 1 teammate + 3 opposition players.
We lost because we played dumb, dumb footy by insisting that this cunning plan of kicking the ball to numerous Bulldogs players would eventually work.
spitlizard
16 Jun 2007, 23:37
It is not all over yet.
Cmon Rip.
You must realise as well as most that we are perched on the verge but those at the top cannot take us to next step.
Chris Connolly 70% man but he will never take that next step.
WHEN WILL YOU PEOPLE REALISE!!!
legitimatic
16 Jun 2007, 23:38
To any blind optimists, I don't think you realise how tough our run home is...Geelong at home, Adelaide and Port away, Sydney away, West Coast in the derby coming up, about as hard as it gets.
Are you serious? Did you not watch the game?
An inside 50 stat isn't much good if you kick it to 1 teammate + 3 opposition players.
We lost because we played dumb, dumb footy by insisting that this cunning plan of kicking the ball to numerous Bulldogs players would eventually work.
Of course i watched the game. And objectively.
The amount of spoilt ball would have been a feast for the Wiz , not even allowing for the rebound that He would have stopped.
We had 35-31 scoring shots without that even.
And I struggle to think of a goal the We got through a soft free.
wizard_9
16 Jun 2007, 23:41
That bounce in the last qtr was unbelievable. Twice we have been in the game right at the end and been cost a goal by a terrible bounce in the centre. They need to learn one skill and cant even do that properly.
Of course i watched the game. And objectively.
The amount of spoilt ball would have been a feast for the Wiz , not even allowing for the rebound that He would have stopped.
Great, but he wasn't there. So why did we keep playing in such a way that was so obviously flawed?
We had 35-31 scoring shots without that even.
That's because our midfield got enough of the ball. And we still lost.
And I struggle to think of a goal the We got through a soft free.
Don't start that, if you want to look at the situation objectively then look at what we can control.
Absolutely carp that the season is over. No point peaking too early like a couple of the other sides have. They are starting to fall.
We were just unlucky tonight and were the better team, by far. We will come home in a big way in the second half of the year and it is still very possible to make the top four like we did last year. CC has the game plan in place to have us peaking at the right time and make the best impact for the finals, that we have ever had. Get ready for the ride again.
There were good signs that we were starting to run hard from the back and with Dessie, Taz, Pav and Jeff up forward, we will thrash a few sides.
We must sign up CC as a priority.
Carlton - win + big percentage
Sydney - 50/50
Kangaroos - win + big percentage
Adelaide - win
Geelong - win
West Coast - 50/50
Essendon - win
St.Kilda - win + big percentage
Melbourne - win + big percentage
Port Adelaide - win
Great, but he wasn't there. So why did we keep playing in such a way that was so obviously flawed?
Habit , the wiz will be there next game.
That's because our midfield got enough of the ball. And we still lost.
Good signs IMO . That has been our big failing in previous seasons.
Who would have thunk that We would be so inaccurate on a ground We have never played at before ?
Don't start that, if you want to look at the situation objectively then look at what we can control.
So you have never been one to have a whinge about the Umps? :eek:
ImperialPurple
16 Jun 2007, 23:59
Absolutely carp that the season is over. No point peaking too early like a couple of the other sides have. They are starting to fall.
We were just unlucky tonight and were the better team, by far. We will come home in a big way in the second half of the year and it is still very possible to make the top four like we did last year. CC has the game plan in place to have us peaking at the right time and make the best impact for the finals, that we have ever had. Get ready for the ride again.
There were good signs that we were starting to run hard from the back and with Dessie, Taz, Pav and Jeff up forward, we will thrash a few sides.
Sydney - 50/50
Adelaide - win
Geelong - win
West Coast - 50/50
Essendon - win
Port Adelaide - win
Shut up. Please, just shut up.
IP - you are a fair weather supporter. Keep the faith. Things will turn in the second half of the season.
ImperialPurple
17 Jun 2007, 00:04
I'm a fairweather supporter, eh?
Mmmmkay... :rolleyes:
Cheeseball
17 Jun 2007, 00:06
Sydney - 50/50
Adelaide - win
Geelong - win
West Coast - 50/50
Essendon - win
Port Adelaide - win
lmfao
raffrox
17 Jun 2007, 00:06
So you're quietly confident? Gee you shockers are a disgrace... not trolling it's fact.
Probably worse then the Sainters. I'm all for interstates giving it to the Vics be gee you lot are crap.
So sad.
Not as sad as Tredrea's form. We'll pound your sorry lot.
raffrox
17 Jun 2007, 00:08
That's classic comedy.
You are dead right.
We don't want to peak too soon. :rolleyes:
Year is definaltey not over. I'm tipping a very similar run to the end of last year. I don't think you guys realise how important Farmer is to you. With him running around, crumming off a firing Pav and Tarrant, your forward line will almost be unstoppable. Still a huge chance IMO.
NiGHTFuRY
17 Jun 2007, 00:14
Sydney - 50/50
Adelaide - win
Geelong - win
West Coast - 50/50
Essendon - win
Port Adelaide - win
Lay off the whack and be realistic ..... The Bulldogs took the game by the scruff and won it in the last quarter. Thats hardly what I call a team the wasnt the better of the night. It hurts.. but that was the decisive defeat of the season... I wish we could make the eight and be competitive but it's gonna be damn hard.... almost certainly too hard.:(
You cannot predict a win by big percentages..... you just can't.
I'm a fairweather supporter, eh?
Mmmmkay... :rolleyes:
IP - I will remind you again in a coule of weeks, when we start making our move. One cannot be so dominant in a game and keep loosing. It will change.
We will be playing finals footy.
Scotland
17 Jun 2007, 00:15
Over? Not yet, but highly dependent on other results.
If Port Adelaide and Sydney both win this round, Fremantle will be two games outside the top 8 on 5 wins, with 5 games against sides currently on 7 wins in the last 10. Each one of those games is an 8-pointer.
If Essendon and Collingwood both win this round, they will go to 8 wins and be within reach of the top 4, and leave Port and Sydney only 1 game clear of Fremantle.
From here on in there are a lot of fixtures between the log jam of sides on 6-7 wins, the Dogs and Roos play each other twice, Adelaide play Port, Freo and the Dogs etc.
I think at this point only the bottom 4 sides are totally out of finals contention, and after round 22 there won't be much between 1st and 12th.
Hate to say it but we are GORN...Gawn...gone...diddly-done-for.
NiGHTFuRY
17 Jun 2007, 00:16
IP - you are a fair weather supporter. Keep the faith. Things will turn in the second half of the season.
Don't come in here calling members of the purple horde like IP a fair weather supporter. That's just idiotic. Your embarressing yourself. Don't abuse people if they disagree with you.
Over? Not yet, but highly dependent on other results.
If Port Adelaide and Sydney both win this round, Fremantle will be two games outside the top 8 on 5 wins, with 5 games against sides currently on 7 wins in the last 10. Each one of those games is an 8-pointer.
If Essendon and Collingwood both win this round, they will go to 8 wins and be within reach of the top 4, and leave Port and Sydney only 1 game clear of Fremantle.
From here on in there are a lot of fixtures between the log jam of sides on 6-7 wins, the Dogs and Roos play each other twice, Adelaide play Port, Freo and the Dogs etc.
I think at this point only the bottom 4 sides are totally out of finals contention, and after round 22 there won't be much between 1st and 12th.
Have to agree with you that there will not be much between 1st and 12th and there still a lot of twist and turns still to come. Pity that a lot of other Freo supporters do not have the faith, that we are good enough.
Don't come in here calling members of the purple horde like IP a fair weather supporter. That's just idiotic. Your embarressing yourself. Don't abuse people if they disagree with you.
I have not abused him. I think that there are a lot of supporters who slag the players, the club and coach when things don't go the way they want them too.
There is still a lot of footy to go before we give up.
NiGHTFuRY
17 Jun 2007, 00:27
I have not abused him. I think that there are a lot of supporters who slag the players, the club and coach when things don't go the way they want them too.
There is still a lot of footy to go before we give up.
IP is a her. She never slags off the players, neither do I , neither do most of the people who frequent here.
WakeUpTaz
17 Jun 2007, 00:27
still can make the 8, just got to beat the "weak sides", specially have to beat the kangas, similar to last year, plus you get farmer back soon
docker_azza
17 Jun 2007, 00:29
Another wasted season. :(
I might have to support the side like I had to pre 2002. Expect us to constantly buckle under expectation because that has always been the case bar our strong run home last year. :(
ImperialPurple
17 Jun 2007, 00:30
IP is a her. She never slags off the players, neither do I , neither do most of the people who frequent here.
Thanks nightfury... appreciate you sticking up for me.. it's all chivalrous like... ;)
And Dwayo - I'm no fairweather supporter. Calling someone that could be construed as "abusive" on a forum such as this.
I'm just sick of the rollercoaster. Sick and tired of it... :thumbsd:
ImperialPurple
17 Jun 2007, 00:33
Another wasted season. :(
I might have to support the side like I had to pre 2002. Expect us to constantly buckle under expectation because that has always been the case bar our strong run home last year. :(
Thing is there was little expectation last year after our crap start, so they were just able to free-wheel it all the way home.
The expectation came in each of the finals, and we only came away with a win in one of them...
Now there is expectation every week - and there is also the expectation that they will turn it on in the second half of the season like they did last year. But with the expectation, comes the almost inevitable "buckle".
The thing is - a culture change and a belief change has to happen NOW, or we run the risk of forever being consigned to this "buckle under pressure" mentality, and "mediocre underachievers" tag. The time is now, and they are screwing it up...
estibador
17 Jun 2007, 00:34
Big, big blow tonight. Classic 8 point game - level at 3 qtr time between two clubs playing for their seasons and they come out and blow us away. Very, very disappointing.
Nothing's impossible but with every week we manage to blow another winnable game the chances of us challenging in September are looking bleaker and bleaker.
estibador
17 Jun 2007, 00:46
The thing is - a culture change and a belief change has to happen NOW, or we run the risk of forever being consigned to this "buckle under pressure" mentality, and "mediocre underachievers" tag. The time is now, and they are screwing it up...
Definitely. Everytime we have a crunch game away from home the players start well but when we really need to stand up and be counted and tough it out in the 3rd and 4th quarters we fold under the pressure. Then once we give the opposition a match winning break and the pressure is off we often lift our game again and kick a few late junk goals.
There seems to be a mental softness running through the club where we freeze when faced with the moment of truth and instead settle for close enough is good enough. It's a culture I don't think CC is capable of changing.
ImperialPurple
17 Jun 2007, 00:55
Definitely. Everytime we have a crunch game away from home the players start well but when we really need to stand up and be counted and tough it out in the 3rd and 4th quarters we fold under the pressure. Then once we give the opposition a match winning break and the pressure is off we often lift our game again and kick a few late junk goals.
There seems to be a mental softness running through the club where we freeze when faced with the moment of truth and instead settle for close enough is good enough. It's a culture I don't think CC is capable of changing.
And it has to change now. The time is ripe with a talented list, a superstar captain, a couple of little terriers with premiership medallions in Bellie and Josh Carr, a hard man from a successful club in Solly.... The leaders need to grab this club by the scruff of the neck and say "enough is enough. You have to bleed purple, and you have to play every game as if it's your last, and as if your life depends on winning."
Leave it any longer and the current culture becomes who and what we are and gets more and more difficult to change with each passing year. The time is now, and somehow it is getting screwed big time... :o
Dogs_r_barking
17 Jun 2007, 00:57
Hey guys condolences on your loss. Your season is not over - but I guess it depends a bit on the shape the top eight takes.
I would think that West coast would be more worried about the losses they have had recently to Vic teams rather than putting sh** on you guys. Watch them when we play them at the Dome;)
sausageroll
17 Jun 2007, 01:07
Sydney - 50/50
Adelaide - win
Geelong - win
West Coast - 50/50
Essendon - win
Port Adelaide - win
I saw the title of this thread and had to check it out.
I'm disappointed that some of your supporters already think that your season is over as I think you're still a half decent chance of making the 8 and going ok come finals time. It won't be easy for you but I'm not writing you off yet.
But lmao Dwayo... this post is going a bit far!
Do you really think you're 50/50 in Sydney?
...and you'll win 2 games in Adelaide?
...and you'll be able to pick up an easy % boost against StKilda in Melbourne?
and that's not even going in to the fact that none of the other games will be easy either.
Good luck to you. I hope you can win enough to make the 8, just don't go beating the bombers though:cool:
fat wombat
17 Jun 2007, 01:45
What a bunch of sooks!
Farmer and Schammer return after the break. The break is a great time for the guys to regroup, players and coaching staff alike and reload!
I for one am really looking forward to the Wiz returning!
What a bunch of sooks!
Farmer and Schammer return after the break. The break is a great time for the guys to regroup, players and coaching staff alike and reload!
I for one am really looking forward to the Wiz returning!
Same here. The results to date may not have gone the right way , but there is little doubt that "the process" has improved , especially the clearance problem.
It is ironic that We solve that problem and goal kicking accuracy rears it head, a part of our game that was always a strength.
Big last half of the year coming up. :thumbsu:
Keyser Soze
17 Jun 2007, 02:07
I watched you guys tear us a new one in last year's derby. It takes a good side to do that.
The ability is there, although you only seem to find it when you're backs are against the wall.
Following the Carlton game, which at Subi you should win, the following 5 weeks will define your season. Particularly the round 14 match against Sydney. If you can win that then finals are within reach.
Make the finals and I believe you would be a dangerous opponent for anybody.
I reckon we have three weeks to see whteher we can possibly pull it out of the fire.
If not the young kids come in and we get some games into them.
Warnock keeps playing, Foster, Collard, Ibbotson and O'Brien.
Schammer and Farmer are back soon, so Macca (God bless you cotton socks), Cook and Walker need to go.
Wern't they at a similar point last season at the mid season break? and they ended up finishing fourth. There is no reason why they can't do that again this year, especially with guys like farmer and schammer coming back. And although they havent been winning they have been playing alot better then they were at the start of the year. No reason why they can't win 7 from the last 10. Id say the season is far from over
malpaso
17 Jun 2007, 02:29
Same here. The results to date may not have gone the right way , but there is little doubt that "the process" has improved , especially the clearance problem.
It is ironic that We solve that problem and goal kicking accuracy rears it head, a part of our game that was always a strength.
Big last half of the year coming up. :thumbsu:
"the process" ???
All I see is our players converging on the ball and forgeting about their assignments. At times we have 2+ player's going for the ball against one opposition who incidentally just shoves the ball out to his mates. Our player's do not back each other in enough.
How many marks did Harris have to start the 4th quarter?? Ridiculous bombing into 3 on 1 contests. If our players had run the ball to 50 more often and/or looked for the short kick into the 50 we would have won by 30+
Our defense is nowhere near where it was last year, a fraction of it.
I remember watching the bounce at the beginning of the 4th quarter and seeing some 'no name' on Headland. I was thinking "Now, why doesn't Des just tear that guy up?' A Bulldogs player in his first game practically won it for them with his effort.
There is no "process" and if there is, it is not successful.
Freo Blood
17 Jun 2007, 02:46
Just another to add to the year of "could of" "should ofs". However give credit to the dogs, they are a good side on the up. Spanked Brissie at home (we couldn't). They are also very good runners and we were playing with fire if we thought we could outrun them with our midfield. Probably the worst of the teams we could of played on the huge Darwin ground.
Farmer is not the answer. Your forward line has been pretty awesome all season IMO. Problem is defence and also midfield. Still think defence is the big issue here thats still being overlooked. 22 goals is a hefty amount to give up. Theres talented players in that backline dont get me wrong the mix is just not right at all. I couldnt think of a single player who could really hold Johnno tonight. You need that Dale Morris type for your own team
It is not all over yet.
Its the defense mate. I cant believe im the only one seeing this
dominguez
17 Jun 2007, 04:52
And it has to change now. The time is ripe with a talented list, a superstar captain, a couple of little terriers with premiership medallions in Bellie and Josh Carr, a hard man from a successful club in Solly.... The leaders need to grab this club by the scruff of the neck and say "enough is enough. You have to bleed purple, and you have to play every game as if it's your last, and as if your life depends on winning."
Leave it any longer and the current culture becomes who and what we are and gets more and more difficult to change with each passing year. The time is now, and somehow it is getting screwed big time... :o
Connolly has helped breed that culture by playing guys who are out of form. By all means back your leaders in, but guys outside the top 5 or 6 who string 3 or 4 poor games together should be dropped but haven't been over the "journey".
dominguez
17 Jun 2007, 04:54
But lmao Dwayo... this post is going a bit far!
Do you really think you're 50/50 in Sydney?
...and you'll win 2 games in Adelaide?
...and you'll be able to pick up an easy % boost against StKilda in Melbourne?
and that's not even going in to the fact that none of the other games will be easy either.
Dwayo's either 11 years old, a friend/relative of Connolly, an eagles supporter taking the p1ss or on crack, we're not sure which.
dominguez
17 Jun 2007, 04:56
The ability is there, although you only seem to find it when you're backs are against the wall.
Motivation (or lack there of) has been a massive issue for close to 4 years.
Purple Passion
17 Jun 2007, 09:50
Motivation (or lack there of) has been a massive issue for close to 4 years.
Why is it young Gus Monfries plays like his life depends on it and a similar player and pick like Byron Schammer(last yr) gets all the time in the world to find form at AFL level despite poor form and terrible clangers. Its simple guys its a mixture of both the culture and the coach, its sad but today me and my missus came to the conclusion that we have a pathetic culture and i don't think CC has that type of personality to dominate a football club the way Sheeds does he might be a good technical coach yes but i think we all agree that simply being good is not enough, he needs to grow some balls and show some old faces the door for the good of the club, irrespective of how we finish in the H/A season its fair to say we have stuttered and possibly taken a few steps backwards.
Docker_Brat
17 Jun 2007, 11:29
Why is it young Gus Monfries plays like his life depends on it and a similar player and pick like Byron Schammer(last yr) gets all the time in the world to find form at AFL level despite poor form and terrible clangers. Its simple guys its a mixture of both the culture and the coach, its sad but today me and my missus came to the conclusion that we have a pathetic culture and i don't think CC has that type of personality to dominate a football club the way Sheeds does he might be a good technical coach yes but i think we all agree that simply being good is not enough, he needs to grow some balls and show some old faces the door for the good of the club, irrespective of how we finish in the H/A season its fair to say we have stuttered and possibly taken a few steps backwards.
Interesting point. Although Schammer is one of the last blokes I'd question (I'd rate him alongside Monfries for intensity), he did have that run of poor form and kept his spot.
CC is very forgiving and protective of his players. It's a very admirable attribute but sometimes people need a blast. I'm sure he does it behind closed doors but who would forget Blight's tearing into David Pittman in 1997? The way Pittman responded was outstanding and was a form player after that.
Docker_Brat
17 Jun 2007, 11:31
I watched you guys tear us a new one in last year's derby. It takes a good side to do that.
Mate, that was the Fremantle I had been waiting to see since following them. They were starting to do that again in the first half against the Bullies but for some reason couldn't continue it. Bloody frustrating because we know it's possible.
dockshark
17 Jun 2007, 11:40
Carlton - win
Sydney - loss
Kangaroos - 50/50
Adelaide - loss
Geelong - 50/50
West Coast - loss
Essendon - 50/50
St.Kilda - 50/50
Melbourne - win
Port Adelaide - 50/50
Wont make the 8. IMO will beat Carlton, Kangaroos, Essendon and Melbourne. Lose the rest.9-13 disgrace Connolly.
why do eagles fans spend so much time trolling this board, why are they so obssessed...........why don't you all just concern yourselves with you're own club
malpaso
17 Jun 2007, 11:45
[QUOTE=Ripper;7852942]Not over at all. More inside 50's , more scoring shots , more possesions.
It is not all over yet.
Its the defense mate. I cant believe im the only one seeing this
Exactly. Guess who was in charge of defense last year? Anybody?
The_Bulldogs_Bite
17 Jun 2007, 13:51
I still think you're a good chance to make the 8.
I'd be surprised if The Kangaroos & Essendon made the Finals. They're playing well now, but I think they'll fall off soon enough.
Both The Dogs & Freo should have a much stronger second half of the year.
Obviously you should be doing a lot better than you are, and things would want to change pretty quickly, but I wouldn't quite write you off just yet.
Perhaps it's some tough games against Sydney, WC etc. that you need to kick you into gear. Who knows.
Most sides would be weary of playing Fremantle, particuarly in Finals. I think if you can make it, you'll worry a few sides.
NiGHTFuRY
17 Jun 2007, 14:32
I still think you're a good chance to make the 8.
I'd be surprised if The Kangaroos & Essendon made the Finals. They're playing well now, but I think they'll fall off soon enough.
Both The Dogs & Freo should have a much stronger second half of the year.
Obviously you should be doing a lot better than you are, and things would want to change pretty quickly, but I wouldn't quite write you off just yet.
Perhaps it's some tough games against Sydney, WC etc. that you need to kick you into gear. Who knows.
Most sides would be weary of playing Fremantle, particuarly in Finals. I think if you can make it, you'll worry a few sides.
Congrats on your teams last quarter in Darwin. It hasnt been stated enough times in this thread that the Dogs took the game when it counted.
However, make no mistake Bulldogs Bite - that was unfortuately THE decisive defeat for Freo'. this season. Sort of like Napolean losing in the Russian expasnces in 1812. The loss that you can point the decline of the season to. Sure, we may win a few but we are only really in retreat here. I love my purple horde and want nothing more than our elusive maiden premiership, however you have to be realistic. I like many of the purple horde have been supporters for a long time, most from the start. Unfortuately when you keep on losing more than your winning it sets a trend.
We need to make some sort of change. I dont know what. I just want the lads to play for the purple shirt, and see the season out playing as best they can each and every game. Oh.. and blood the younger players NOW - Ibbotson, Collard, Warnock - (he looks awesome), Foster and whomever else.... lets see what the future players can bring. Maybe they could all start by looking at the Peter Bell how to play for your team manual.
Making the eight is not impossible yet - but it's gonna be very very hard for us to do with the teams current form.
The Bombers and Roos have played very well, they stand a very good chance to hold there place in the eight.