View Full Version : Channel 10, hang your head in shame
cruel_world00
16 Jun 2007, 22:53
Look, I know we don't expect bias towards us...but bloody hell...surely there has got to be some kind of eveness when it comes to intro for a game...
The intro channel 10 put on was absolutely the biggest load of crap I have ever seen...sure we won and I shouldn't annoyed but ****....it was so biased towards the roos... "the shinboners....backs against the walls...should prevail tonight....get past this test......and if not...they will go down fighting!"
holy crap...there are two teams playing tonight...and look who won you stupid ****ers!!!!
Dandy_GO
16 Jun 2007, 23:04
Doughty isn't a left footer.
Vic Crow
16 Jun 2007, 23:04
Busch league tonight.
NikkiNoo
16 Jun 2007, 23:06
Did anyone else have the screen go blank for periods of time during the game? I was watching it through foxtel but they were shocking and then at one stage the director was obviously having fun resizing the picture. :p
I did like the deadly silence from the commentary box in the last quarter because they didn't have anything else to talk about the kangaroos....
Truck Rutten
16 Jun 2007, 23:07
Woeful telecast from a technical aspect too. Picture crapped out in the first quarter and dolby 5.1 sound was lost for about 5 minutes. Then later on some arseclown was messing around with transitions while the play was still going on. Unbelievably amateur.
NikkiNoo
16 Jun 2007, 23:12
Good it wasn't just me then Truck! When they had been hawking that it was in HD and pushing Sony as their sponsor it was very amateur hour as you say!
Surely the work experience kid was left in charge? It was getting ridicolous at some points!
MickyCrow
16 Jun 2007, 23:13
Anyone else catch Robert 'Im a tossbag' Walls comments regarding Roo....
As always whenever he went near the ball all you heard was Roooo
Well, in the last Roo gets the ball, crowd roars Roooo and walls remarks
"The crowd still havent forgiven Mark Ricciuto for his hardness in the first quarter"....
WTF :rolleyes:
I thought he was a ******** but this bloke just has no ****ing idea, obviously never called a Crows game in the last 12 years
quite comical actually :thumbsu:
cruel_world00
16 Jun 2007, 23:14
I noticed the black outs too....but surely the intro was the most shameful display of bias towards the roos...I wasn't listening to the commentary after that, but from the bit I heard they seemed to be fairly spot on when decisions went the wrong way...
relapse
16 Jun 2007, 23:16
Did anyone else have the screen go blank for periods of time during the game? I was watching it through foxtel but they were shocking and then at one stage the director was obviously having fun resizing the picture. :p
I did like the deadly silence from the commentary box in the last quarter because they didn't have anything else to talk about the kangaroos....
yeah that happened here as well absolutely terrible production tonight. I didnt expect any less with Walls commentating though, he is particulary biais against Adelaide when we are playing a Victorian side.
relapse
16 Jun 2007, 23:18
"The crowd still havent forgiven Mark Ricciuto for his hardness in the first quarter"....
I thought he was a ******** but this bloke just has no ****ing idea, obviously never called a Crows game in the last 12 years
I thought that same thing, what Rock has wallsy been hiding under for the last 7 years to not understand that the crowd chants ROO!!! when he has the ball.
I think it's pretty clear that *PAF is Robert Walls. Anyone remember the whinge he has over "people are always booing at Crows games" after the Richmond game:rolleyes:
McLeodMagic
16 Jun 2007, 23:21
Hahaha I was laughing when he said that. And I agree that the intro was incredibly bias, 2 minutes of Roos footage and 3 seconds of Crows. :thumbsd:
Truck Rutten
16 Jun 2007, 23:21
Good it wasn't just me then Truck! When they had been hawking that it was in HD and pushing Sony as their sponsor it was very amateur hour as you say!
I had to text a couple of friends in Adelaide to make sure it wasn't just me :) As you say, they boast about the high def broadcast and the dolby 5.1 sound, well that's great if you can maintain it for the duration of the game.
SpringChoke
16 Jun 2007, 23:24
Both channel 10 and 7 coverage is pretty ordinary IMO. Even Brucey Mc doesn't have the same spark as he used too. Dennis tries to get one of his "hilarious" Commetisms in every second sentense.
BTW what's the prerequisite of getting a job as a boundary rider, you must be able to recite 50% of the alphabet? Between them they can barely string a sentense together, especially Banfield.
maccas_no1
16 Jun 2007, 23:25
Yep it was a bloody joke:thumbsd::mad:
Well better than Casey on FS just a minute ago.
"Good result for Adelaide, coming off a hiding at the hands of Geelong" :rolleyes:
relapse
16 Jun 2007, 23:29
I saw Robert Walls claim that Roo was getting booed when it was the crowd chanting Roo.
Then on Fox Sports after the Freo V Bullies game John Casey just said that the Crows bounced back tonight after their big hiding last week against Geelong :confused: WTF ????
AdelUniCrowFan
16 Jun 2007, 23:31
I actually didn't mind the coverage.
It is very common for the intro of C10 to favour one of the teams so no problems there.
I found most of the bias in the commentary was against umpiring decisions in general rather against one of the clubs.
Wall's comment was a bit bizarre as I couldn't remember Ricciuto getting rough earlier in the match. However the Roo's at that stage I thought did sound a little more Boo than Roo.
The only frustration I had tonight was with the boundary lines not showing up clearly from cameras on the other side of the ground.
Vic Crow
16 Jun 2007, 23:33
The only frustration I had tonight was with the boundary lines not showing up clearly from cameras on the other side of the ground.
You don't need to see the boundary and we WON'T sit down. :p
Oh, wrong week.
NikkiNoo
16 Jun 2007, 23:36
Oh, wrong week.
ROFL :D
MaccasNeighbour
16 Jun 2007, 23:36
Another Wallsy classic was his comment in the post-game talk about our 5 goal forward "Scott West"
AdelUniCrowFan
16 Jun 2007, 23:40
Meh, just as bad as the commentator on the ABC who insisted on calling him Walsh for the entire match.
Yeah they were clearly yelling our ROOOOOO.
And apparently Dogga is a left footer as well.
Stiffy_18
16 Jun 2007, 23:50
Oh, wrong week.
:D :thumbsu:
Walls also called Welsh....... Scott West.
try getting your tongue around that one.
Kane McGoodwin
17 Jun 2007, 00:01
I thought the work experience kid must have been in charge... :eek:
I was out for the first half, so only saw pictures... Boy, was I thankful for that. Just the last quarter was frustrating enough.
macca23
17 Jun 2007, 00:35
Woeful telecast from a technical aspect too. Picture crapped out in the first quarter and dolby 5.1 sound was lost for about 5 minutes. Then later on some arseclown was messing around with transitions while the play was still going on. Unbelievably amateur.
That telecast was a cross between a comedy in bad taste and amateur hour. :mad::thumbsd:
Possibly the worst telecast I have seen technically.
Add to that the obvious bias by the commentators for the good old shinboners and the fiasco was complete. :thumbsd:
ams4crows
17 Jun 2007, 00:41
The bias was so very bad!! that intro was the lamest thing i've ever come across! Walls is a tosser If he doesn't know they are shouting Roo hell his IQ must boarder on mental retardation! FFS!
crows4life
17 Jun 2007, 00:49
I've been saying it for some time now, but Clinton Grybas is just about the only truly good commentator going around right now.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
just a shame he takes most of the money fox have coz all the rest of fox's team are really shit :( and how they dont have any SA based commontators
Punchy Bassett
17 Jun 2007, 00:50
Oh my god, I watched the game at the pub with some mates, watching it again and I can hear the commentary this time, I am only at the end of the first quarter and how biased are these pricks? Archer's smash on Griff wasn't a fifty. Are you ****ing serious? :rolleyes: If that was a Crow they would have been calling for a three match ban. Absolute morons. Footy coverage in this country is crap. Go watch the EPL coverage and learn a lesson. Or watch Simon Hill excellent commentator, maybe someone should get him to do it, better than John "coast to coast" Casey.
I thought Archer's attempted spoil on Griffin was worthy of a free kick. If it had been Pickett spoiling Judd they'd have been calling for a three-week suspension.
Punchy Bassett
17 Jun 2007, 00:56
I thought Archer's attempted spoil on Griffin was worthy of a free kick. If it had been Pickett spoiling Judd they'd have been calling for a three-week suspension.
One slight problem there, Griffin had already taken the mark, then gets taken out with a cheap head shot = 50 meter penalty. Archer needs to learn this is not the late 90's anymore and that tactic doesn't work anymore.
macca23
17 Jun 2007, 01:00
Who does Clinton support anyway? I can't pick it, he's very unbiased in his commentary.
He's the best going around. :thumbsu:
I thiink I heard on the radio that he is a Collingwood supporter - never would have picked it though.
NikkiNoo
17 Jun 2007, 01:06
Yep he is a Collingwood supporter but if they need to be questioned or negative comments made about them he doesn't back away from it. Fabulous commentator and used to love him, gerard and wayne on a sunday afternoon :D I really miss WLF too.
DarwinRoo
17 Jun 2007, 02:08
One slight problem there, Griffin had already taken the mark, then gets taken out with a cheap head shot = 50 meter penalty. Archer needs to learn this is not the late 90's anymore and that tactic doesn't work anymore.
What tactic? Going hard at the ball and the man? Surely you should be at least be able to make a contest. Free kick? Yes. 50 metre? No.
kimirocks
17 Jun 2007, 02:37
What tactic? Going hard at the ball and the man? Surely you should be at least be able to make a contest. Free kick? Yes. 50 metre? No.Mate a late contest to a marking contest is 50, doesn't matter if it's Glenn Archer or if its little Danyle Pearce, it's 50. It's not about making a contest, because clearly he didn't make the contest, he was late and high.
Kickin_Goals
17 Jun 2007, 02:45
Constantly lost the broadcast always right in the middle of the commentator saying something to explain the stupid thing they just said.
Flip in flip out camera work made it hard to tell what went on often then they showed replays of 2 minutes back when you're wondering just exactly how someone touched that kick from Ricciuto to Welsh.
I'd liked to of been certain whether Welsh was robbed a 6th goal or not.
With more performances like that it's not like he couldn't be up for the coleman.
cruel_world00
17 Jun 2007, 04:45
I'm sorry there is no excuse for the tripe they served us at the start...regardless of whether or not they do it every week...no team should be favoured...specifically not in the appalling manner that was shown to the crows tonight....plus the telecast on a whole was horrendous!!
But to be fair...does it matter that it was on the gold coast??? surely that shouldn't be a factor in this day and age?
jenny61_99
17 Jun 2007, 10:13
I noticed the black outs too....but surely the intro was the most shameful display of bias towards the roos...I wasn't listening to the commentary after that, but from the bit I heard they seemed to be fairly spot on when decisions went the wrong way...
Don't the intro's normally favour the "home" team?
While we are kicking media people, Daisy Day and most of the music side of the Triple MMM team struggle when it comes to announcing the ''big match''
Yesterday Daisy informed me to stay tunesd for the big game between the Power and the Kangaroos.
Last week another radio head said it was Port v Geelong
Punchy Bassett
17 Jun 2007, 11:29
Well just watched the last quarter and what a joke that was. They were more interested in talking about where the Roos might finish than to even bother commentating on the game. Disgraceful.
SkinFeeling
17 Jun 2007, 11:31
Watched the delayed telecast and it was horrible by channel 10. The commentating was just as bad as the camera work. At one stage they were talking about the "ball boys" behind the goals (at first I thought they said ball bags :o)... talk about the game FFS! :rolleyes:
Macca19
17 Jun 2007, 11:42
Its always been this way though hasnt it? It seems every commentator is in love with the 'shinboner spirit' and verbally masturbates accordingly whenever they play.
Dont even get me started about the Port v Kangaroos final in 2005. The most ridiculous thing ive ever seen.
Adam BK
17 Jun 2007, 11:53
Don't the intro's normally favour the "home" team?
I have seen plenty of intros were they have a bit on each team, they showed one shot of crows players for about 2 seconds. But shot after shot after shot of kangaroos players. The intro ends with comments of if the kangaroos lose it wont be through lack of trying.
What annoyed me was the amount of time hey spent talking about themselves. 'Oh yes, 20 years since Robert Walls was last up here (roll the footage) Oh look there's Micahel Voss as a youngster' do we care? No.
cruel_world00
17 Jun 2007, 14:07
You've got to wonder, do we really need some uninspiring old douche bags commentating a game we probably know more about anyway! :P
I don't mind bias that is being shown into a specific state...aka when ten builds up a game with ads into SA which are generally pro-crows/port...but it happens in the other states the other way round etc....but I was in shock at how horrible the intro was and especially that last line "if they go down, it won't be for a lack of trying".....and the other line "they should pass this test"....and look at the result hehe
jenny61_99
17 Jun 2007, 14:18
But then doesn't it make it all the more sweet? :D;)
cruel_world00
17 Jun 2007, 14:35
oh definitely it does, but not when you are already feeling nervous and then get served that crap :(
CarnCrows
17 Jun 2007, 14:41
Its always been this way though hasnt it? It seems every commentator is in love with the 'shinboner spirit' and verbally masturbates accordingly whenever they play.
Dont even get me started about the Port v Kangaroos final in 2005. The most ridiculous thing ive ever seen.
Could'nt agree more, they definately get the shinBONER when talking about the roos.
I was'nt too fused with the commentry. Robert "where are the ball boys" Walls is an idiot. I occasionally liked Voss's comments.
BTW Walls - there are no fricken ball boys at any ground (as far as I know). The 'ball boys' are there to retrieve a ball when it goes over the fence. The difference in this game was the extra large distance between the boundry and the fence, it hardly went over, hence the players had to go and fetch the ball.
Carl Spackler
17 Jun 2007, 21:00
yeah that happened here as well absolutely terrible production tonight. I didnt expect any less with Walls commentating though, he is particulary biais against Adelaide when we are playing a Victorian side.
We did get him sacked as Richmond coach after all. Must still burn.
brucetiki
17 Jun 2007, 21:46
Last nights coverage overall shows why channel 10 is the laughingstock of the television industry.
The Intro was an absolute disgrace - it was so pro-Kangaroos I wondered if it was an intro or a paid Kangaroos advertisement. Then the drivel about Robert 'I'm a has-been in loser denial wank wank wank' Walls and the Bad News Bears of 1992, what relevance did that have to the game except to prove the Robert Walls is very much a has-been.
While I didn't notice any real bias in the commentry in the early stages (only heard the first quarter and a bit, then went out so was only seeing the images from various locations), for a so-called professional organisation like the Ten Network, their footage was very amateur. No excuses for the constant drop outs and the resizing rubbish.
If someone can find a way to short circuit the tv and radio delay I would be much appreciative. I was at a friends and they liked the radio on but I didnt like the delay so we listened to the tv commentary as well.
brucetiki
17 Jun 2007, 22:11
The radio was just as bad - Rowey was calling
phoebe-grace
17 Jun 2007, 22:34
i was also really unimpressed with both foxtel and channel ten. i live in perth and channel ten was supposed to be showing the adelaide game live but they didn't instead they showed the freo game which is reasonable but the freo game was also being shown live on foxtel so we couldnt watch it live. foxtel did show adelaide live on the main event channel but only to act and nsw which is stupid since they had a live telecast on channel 10. the big people in this world always forget about us over in WA.in the end we had to get up at 6 this morning to watch the replay on foxtel, it was worth it to see them play but im still annoyed:mad:
Phoebe head to the Odin Tavern if you live NOR and hook up with the WA Crows supporters group.
They get together for all games and watch them on the big screen and any issues the bar staff will find an appropriate signal. I recall we switched from GWN to Imparja one year looking for the Prelim final
AdelUniCrowFan
18 Jun 2007, 02:59
If someone can find a way to short circuit the tv and radio delay I would be much appreciative. I was at a friends and they liked the radio on but I didnt like the delay so we listened to the tv commentary as well.
Unfortunately the joke that is 5AA is the only radio station that syncs their interstate calls to the game on TV.
Now if I can find something to record and play back 891 on 5 seconds delay I'd be stoked.
King Elvis
18 Jun 2007, 03:35
I got absolutely paraletic last night.
jenny61_99
18 Jun 2007, 08:21
Do you guys get the NIRS (National Indigenous Radio Service)? It's not too bad, or the ABC - got to better than 5AA!
Coopers
18 Jun 2007, 11:11
And what about when Basset and Brown charged front on into each other (at quite a speed), quite a heavy collision and basset made a spoil...
Yet the commentary just went on and on about "how brave brown was".
Basset didn't get a mention.
I was watching it thropugh fotxel also and the screen mini9misation and balnk screen happended a number of times throughout the game
Still Crowing
18 Jun 2007, 22:29
At least you got to watch it live. I have foxtel and all I got was Freo vs Footscray on Channel Ten, with the Shockers vs the Bulldogs for something completely different on the 503. Not well impressed. The point for having Foxtel in this bloody WetToast/Shocker obsessed state was to watch da Lads live all the time. :mad::mad:
Had to resort to live radio streaming. :thumbsd:
And Bloody Walls even gave Edwards a 2 out of 10. Whats with that!!!!
Somebody bring back Gary Window to call the game. He was the best, very passionate
And Bloody Walls even gave Edwards a 2 out of 10. Whats with that!!!!
Somebody bring back Gary Window to call the game. He was the best, very passionate
Aaron Edwards
No they said Tyson Edwards
No it was Aaron, it was in the section they were talking about Kangaroos players:rolleyes:
At least you got to watch it live. I have foxtel and all I got was Freo vs Footscray on Channel Ten, with the Shockers vs the Bulldogs for something completely different on the 503. Not well impressed. The point for having Foxtel in this bloody WetToast/Shocker obsessed state was to watch da Lads live all the time. :mad::mad:
Had to resort to live radio streaming. :thumbsd:
Same here. Then get up before 6 to watch it on Foxtel Sunday morning.....