View Full Version : Was that Jordy McMahon at his best?

Spange
17 Jun 2007, 13:33
First of all congrats on the big win last night. Johnson is an ANIMAL up forward. I watched the game with intent last night hoping you guys would spank Freo. Well Done.

I also watched Jordy carefully to see how he would come back from being dropped last week. His commitment to the ball seems weak. Is he always like that??? Just floating around picking up uncontested marks and going for short runs through the middle. I really hope with griffin and cross out he could pick up some of the slack.

BC013
17 Jun 2007, 14:01
I was quite happy with Jordy's game.

It wasn't his best but he got back to doing what he does well with his blistering pace and pin point passing - except for 2 very out of character clangers - if fact so out of character I have difficulty remembering any other time he's done that sort of thing:confused:

Go_Dogs
17 Jun 2007, 14:13
McMahon is destined to forever be underrated by the majority of supporters and observers alike.

OldSchool
17 Jun 2007, 14:16
I was quite happy with Jordy's game.

It wasn't his best but he got back to doing what he does well with his blistering pace and pin point passing - except for 2 very out of character clangers - if fact so out of character I have difficulty remembering any other time he's done that sort of thing:confused:

He was very good last night. Those two clangers could have really hurt us last night.

Captain Sensible
17 Jun 2007, 15:19
Ask Carr about him. I dont think he'll be thinking Jordy was soft last night.:D

_shifty_
17 Jun 2007, 15:21
some poor kicks

wonnydog
17 Jun 2007, 15:27
Aside from two errors, I thought he played a very good game. Very fit.

Aker39
17 Jun 2007, 16:17
I think people are too easily forgiving of his errors. Last night is not the 1st time that his very very poor disposal has cost us dearly.

He needs to certainly improve in that area.

OldSchool
17 Jun 2007, 16:25
I think people are too easily forgiving of his errors. Last night is not the 1st time that his very very poor disposal has cost us dearly.

Agreed. He has been doing it for a while now and doesn't appear to have realised that it could cost us games.

lifelike_
17 Jun 2007, 17:22

Good point. For a player of his build, his disposal is by far the most important part of his game. It hasn't been up to scratch of late.

gridlocked
17 Jun 2007, 17:50
Perhaps he should play more in the midfield, where his extra speed will be useful and when he does make an error with his disposal, it wont be so costly?

kookadog
17 Jun 2007, 18:06
He's always been a receive run kick player, sets up alot of attack, in tandem with gilbee. Obviously his defensive game isn't as good.

last night he wasn't at his best by far, those two shocking kicks that cost alot were very out of character, Eade let him know about it too. Maybe his confidence is a bit down from being dropped, but he'll be fine.

Griffo66
17 Jun 2007, 18:08
Mcmahon played great early this year but since he had his injury he hasn't got back that great form, so no taht wasn't Mcmahon at his best.

SCRAY72
17 Jun 2007, 21:33
First of all congrats on the big win last night. Johnson is an ANIMAL up forward. I watched the game with intent last night hoping you guys would spank Freo. Well Done.

I also watched Jordy carefully to see how he would come back from being dropped last week. His commitment to the ball seems weak. Is he always like that??? Just floating around picking up uncontested marks and going for short runs through the middle. I really hope with griffin and cross out he could pick up some of the slack.

Was weak v Carlton,let Lappin get away from him in the 3rd. We should be 8-4

X_box_X
17 Jun 2007, 22:01

Spot on. He would be a very good player if he was 5% more effective with his disposals. At the moment, I'd only class him as a good player. His run and carry and disposal by foot are the two main strenghts to his game. If you turn the ball over by foot (without pressure being applied), which you should hardly ever do if it is one of your strengths, then questions will be asked.

Basically, out of 100 uncontested kicks, I reckon McMahon would find a target 85-90 times, instead of the 95 times he should be hitting a target.

Go_Dogs
17 Jun 2007, 22:03
I'd like to see a comparison as to how often Jordie breaks it open and sets up a scoring shot with his run, carry and disposal, compared to how often he makes a mistake. He makes perhaps 1 or 2 kicking errors a game, and averages around 15+ kicks a game, many of which open us up for scoring.

The Coon Dog
17 Jun 2007, 23:30
I'd like to see a comparison as to how often Jordie breaks it open and sets up a scoring shot with his run, carry and disposal, compared to how often he makes a mistake. He makes perhaps 1 or 2 kicking errors a game, and averages around 15+ kicks a game, many of which open us up for scoring.

Excellent point. I think we're more aware of Jordy's 2 missed targets last night because of the circumstances & ramifications.

scooter600x
18 Jun 2007, 11:32
The only guaranteed way to lose is to not take risks.

Jordy's disposal is fantastic. He will make the odd blue from time to time but I'd much rather he carved up the opposition with spears through the midfield and make the occassional blue than chip every kick 20m sideways (hello Sam Power) and finish with 100% efficiency.

Go_Dogs
18 Jun 2007, 11:35
Yep, spot on Scooter.

stefoid
18 Jun 2007, 11:44
I think we should be worrying about the disposal of fez before we worry about jordies. pretty much continual shocking disposal. I think the only one worse than fez was lynch who wasted half his 8 disposals.

Pigdog
18 Jun 2007, 11:48
His pace is a great asset to the team. He moves the ball so quickly from one end to the other. When the ball is in his hands he generallY hits the accelerator and off he goeS. He is able to turn defence to offence very quickly, which is great in our team where we need quick ball movement for our smallish forwardline. So he makes a few kicking errors, some glaring, so do most of them, but the run and carry he gives us from defence is crucial if we are to go anywhere this and in the coming years.

desipura
18 Jun 2007, 14:12

Disagree, it was not so much his poor disposal as he is a beautiful kick. It is his poor decision making at times.

RedWhite&Blue
18 Jun 2007, 15:11
He was taking a risk and it didn't come off - don't crucify the guy. The Bulldogs are their best when they are playing on at all costs, forcing their way into the corridoor with creative kicks and handball.
It's heart in the mouth stuff - but I love it.

demonboy13
19 Jun 2007, 15:58
GET REAL!!!

any people on here that are having a dig at jordy, seriously get a life!!

apart from those two errors he played an outstanding game and i am not a bulldogs supporter but i will watch the bulldogs play anyday if he is in your team

he provides so much dash off half back (top 5 on the w/e for rebound 50) and he has sublime disposal (top 5 on the w/e for effective kicks)

players like mcmahon and gilbee are very hard to find as they set up play so well and they break the lines...this is good for the team's confidence and good for creating play when the game is at a holt

he also took a great pack/contested mark which is great for a guy his size and he did a few game-breaking tackles (ie: matthew carr)

seriously his game was superb apart from those two errors...one of which i dont blame him...there was a lame attempt at a mark by the player he kicked it to (cant remember who) and it resulted in a turnover

ALSO i watched footy classified last night and jordy was rated 4th best on ground by the two coaches....he got 3 votes in the coaches player of the year award.....meaning that he was a vital player in that game and caused a headache for the dorkers

so to all the people that continue to slander mcmahon all the time....get over yourself, stop using him as a scapegoat or an excuse for things....he is a great player and for those reasons i have mentioned he is a highly valuable player!!!

Astro_
19 Jun 2007, 16:10
GET REAL!!!

any people on here that are having a dig at jordy, seriously get a life!!

apart from those two errors he played an outstanding game and i am not a bulldogs supporter but i will watch the bulldogs play anyday if he is in your team

he provides so much dash off half back (top 5 on the w/e for rebound 50) and he has sublime disposal (top 5 on the w/e for effective kicks)

players like mcmahon and gilbee are very hard to find as they set up play so well and they break the lines...this is good for the team's confidence and good for creating play when the game is at a holt

he also took a great pack/contested mark which is great for a guy his size and he did a few game-breaking tackles (ie: matthew carr)

seriously his game was superb apart from those two errors...one of which i dont blame him...there was a lame attempt at a mark by the player he kicked it to (cant remember who) and it resulted in a turnover

ALSO i watched footy classified last night and jordy was rated 4th best on ground by the two coaches....he got 3 votes in the coaches player of the year award.....meaning that he was a vital player in that game and caused a headache for the dorkers

so to all the people that continue to slander mcmahon all the time....get over yourself, stop using him as a scapegoat or an excuse for things....he is a great player and for those reasons i have mentioned he is a highly valuable player!!!

Im with you mate...the guy had a great game. His effectivness far outweighs his ineffectiveness.