View Full Version : SJ Top 3 at the GFC?

jess_555
17 Jun 2007, 22:35
Me and my "friend" Cats2rise are in a bitter feud over Steve Johnson and how good he really is (or isn't). According to Cats2rise "Steve Johnsin is in the GFC top 3 in terms of raw ability and natural skill"

I'm interested to hear peoples honest opinions. Is Steve top 3?

cats2rise
17 Jun 2007, 22:44
Obviously he is. It's pure science.

Only Gaz above him.

jess_555
17 Jun 2007, 22:52
Obviously he is. It's pure science.

Only Gaz above him.

Personally I think there are many players who I would rate above Steve, to name a few...
Gazza
Jimmy
Chappy
Corey
Enright
Egan
Harley
Lingadingding
Milburn
Mooney
Otto
Scarlo
Woja
Rooke

burto
17 Jun 2007, 22:53
yep. haven't seen wizardly like his since rockin ronnie

cats2rise
17 Jun 2007, 22:54
Gary Ablett Jnr is the only one on that list who has more pure ability and skill than SJ.

Chapman, Egan, Harley, Milburn, Mooney, Rooke, Scarlo are all good players, have a better work ethic, but do not have more skill than SJ.

The others (Ling, Corey) again are good players, but SJ has twice the skill AND ability as them. He doesn't use it, but he is easily in the top 3 at the club for ability behind Gary Ablett.

Hood007
17 Jun 2007, 22:55
...in terms of raw ability and natural skill"

You obviously didn't read your own post very well.
He is easily one of the most naturally gifted footballers...

cats2rise
17 Jun 2007, 22:56
Personally I think there are many players who I would rate above Steve, to name a few...
Gazza
Jimmy
Chappy
Corey
Enright
Egan
Harley
Lingadingding
Milburn
Mooney
Otto
Scarlo
Woja
Rooke
You are missing the point of your own thread. This is not about 'best' player, this is about most natural talent, and has nothing to do with how consistently they use what the have. For example... Rooke: Gun. Love him. He is the most hard at it at the club... however, this is not natural footballing talent as such, more the way he goes about it. Work rate and talent are pole apart.

jess_555
17 Jun 2007, 22:58
You obviously didn't read your own post very well.
He is easily one of the most naturally gifted footballers...

Well actually... it was a bit confused as Cats2rise said to said at the start about 'ability' and later said 'natural ability'.

Would you rate SJ in your top 3 best players at the club?

Tonycam*
17 Jun 2007, 23:02
As far as hard at it I would put Chappy up there above Steve and Darren Milburn , those two for sure and Ablett need I say.

Herbs
Gazza
Jimmy
Chappy
Corey
Enright
Egan
Harley
Lingadingding
Milburn
Mooney
Otto
Scarlo
Woja
Rooke

Enright above Stevie in terms of natural ability? You having a larf?:o

cats2rise
Ability and Natural Ability is the same thing Jess.

SJ has more ability than Enright. He also has more 'natural ability' than Enright. Nothing different about it.

nananana catman
17 Jun 2007, 23:06
As far as Natural Ability Yes, but if rating on output then currently, No.

cats2rise
17 Jun 2007, 23:09
As far as Natural Ability Yes, but if rating on output then currently, No.
This isn't about output or work ethic... but ability.

But thank you :) :thumbsu:

martyk
17 Jun 2007, 23:11
Well actually... it was a bit confused as Cats2rise said to said at the start about 'ability' and later said 'natural ability'.

Would you rate SJ in your top 3 best players at the club?

Best 3 players, no way. I would put SJ second to only Ablett Jnr in raw talent though.

My breakdown:
Talents
Ablett, Steve Johnson, Kelly

Hardworkers
Bartel, Corey, Rooke

The question is, what is more important talent or hard work? Obviously the elite players have both(Ablett,Judd,Kerr etc) but while I would say Kelly has more raw talent than both Corey and Bartel, he is far off their mark as a player. Overall there is no way SJ would be in our top 3 players though... Pretty hard to go past 1.Ablett 2.Bartel 3.Chapman.

Claude Balls
17 Jun 2007, 23:12
Gazza
Jimmy
Chappy
Corey
Enright
Egan
Harley
Lingadingding
Milburn
Mooney
Otto
Scarlo
Woja
Rooke

ROFL!!! you make a good joke Jess:thumbsu:

MmkMrMackie
17 Jun 2007, 23:14
Well, well, well. I seem to recall a thread where somebody had a wager going for some $ that Steve Johnson would not make top 15 of the B&F. Still a while to go, but it's looking like someone is going to be owing me some $.

Claude Balls
17 Jun 2007, 23:15
By the way, can anyone enlighten me in terms of today's VFL result? Best players, goal kickers... thanks.

cats2rise
17 Jun 2007, 23:20
Well, well, well. I seem to recall a thread where somebody had a wager going for some $ that Steve Johnson would not make top 15 of the B&F. Still a while to go, but it's looking like someone is going to be owing me some $.

You had a wager aswell? I had one with Jess that SJ would make top 10 in our B&F. Give him another 3 games and I reckon he will be right in there.

MmkMrMackie
17 Jun 2007, 23:21
You had a wager aswell? I had one with Jess that SJ would make top 10 in our B&F. Give him another 3 games and I reckon he will be right in there.

We need to find that thread. Shell and Jess might need to smash open their piggy banks. :D

CatmanForever
17 Jun 2007, 23:42
since he has been back I think he is definitely a top 5 player in the squad on current form. He has been a match winner that is for sure

cats2rise
17 Jun 2007, 23:45
We need to find that thread. Shell and Jess might need to smash open their piggy banks. :D

She didn't want to put a wager on that I would win the debate regarding 'SJ being in the top 3 for natural talent.'

Its a pity, I would not have minded doubling my money :thumbsu:

Mr.Chicken
18 Jun 2007, 00:14
Steven Johnson is important to us - not because he is a very consistent hard-working player - but because he is a freak: a natural talent who can do things that few could imagine. He is a game-breaker, like Gazza. Its important to have that sort of a gamebreaker-type of player, especially come September as they could be the ones to break open the close contested matches that finals usually are.

On form atm, I would say Johnson is in our top 3 but I would not say he was in our top 3 best players at the club.

rizzo
18 Jun 2007, 00:27
In terms of natural ability he is behind ablett and spencer (:p) , so yes he is in the top 3.

Not in the top 3 footballers at the club though.

S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
18 Jun 2007, 00:36
With you cats2rise, we've been holding the fort together on Steve Johnson's value for a long time. Gun. The majority of Geelong fans (who wanted him out) must be careful what they wish for in future.

grantyc77
18 Jun 2007, 02:27
Without a doubt AT THE MOMENT he would be in our top 3 but lets see how he goes at crunch time in the finals, there is still question marks over him in big games.

MmkMrMackie
18 Jun 2007, 03:48
I was reading a thread on the bombers board not too long ago where they were kicking themselves for not picking him up at the end of last year. Jeez I'm glad we didn't trade him...

Shell
18 Jun 2007, 09:48

I did what now?? I haven't made any bets :confused:
The last bet I made on footy was in Year 7 and that was Gary Ablett would finish higher than Dunstall on the goal kicking ladder. And I won!! :thumbsu:

PS. Jess you're on ya own :p

DanA
18 Jun 2007, 10:00
Top 3 on Raw Ability:

1) Garry Ablett
2) Tom Hawkins
3) Steve Johnson
4) Nathan Djerkurra

Steve Johnson is certainly up there. Hawkins comes in barely able to run out two quarters and has an significant impact at AFL level. That's natural talent, Jnr is the obvious standout. Nathan Djerkurra looks to be pretty freakish as well.

Shell
18 Jun 2007, 10:10
She didn't want to put a wager on that I would win the debate regarding 'SJ being in the top 3 for natural talent.'

Its a pity, I would not have minded doubling my money :thumbsu:

I swear to god I hope SJ comes 11th. :p

MmkMrMackie
18 Jun 2007, 10:53
I did what now?? I haven't made any bets :confused:
The last bet I made on footy was in Year 7 and that was Gary Ablett would finish higher than Dunstall on the goal kicking ladder. And I won!! :thumbsu:

PS. Jess ya on ya own :p

1 of you will owe me money. :) I'll send Big Tony the debt collector around to get it if you don't cough up.

Shell
18 Jun 2007, 11:01
1 of you will owe me money. :) I'll send Big Tony the debt collector around to get it if you don't cough up.

oooooooh, I'm really scared.

I didn't know Jess made a bet with you too. You got the link to the thread or you just jumping on C2R bet bandwagon there and trying to scam some money?

Ling Sting
18 Jun 2007, 11:02
Hard to compare.

SJ is probably the only bloke on the list and certainly the only in the forwardline (perhaps until Varcoe is well and truely settled in) that adds that X factor.

There is no way I'd rate Enright and probably Corey above him in terms of importance to the team.

Hood007
18 Jun 2007, 11:34
With you cats2rise, we've been holding the fort together on Steve Johnson's value for a long time. Gun. The majority of Geelong fans (who wanted him out) must be careful what they wish for in future.

I like to think I've waved the flag for him.
Special player. Is creative, kicks goals & he's fun to watch which doesn't hurt from a spectator point of view.
Good on him for returning to such strong form after many doubted he would...

MmkMrMackie
18 Jun 2007, 11:59
oooooooh, I'm really scared.

I didn't know Jess made a bet with you too. You got the link to the thread or you just jumping on C2R bet bandwagon there and trying to scam some money?

Sure you don't remember me? Im waiting for c2r to find the thread. Chances are though that I will be moving North for work though, so I might not be around to collect. Not fussed. I'll just rub it in a bit though.

Rockford
18 Jun 2007, 13:29
For me

1. Gaz
2. SJ
3. Varcoe

in terms of talent.

Slick Dog Johnson
18 Jun 2007, 16:06
Are you for real Jess?

Like most have said. #2 behind Gaz, but not by much.

Shell
18 Jun 2007, 16:21
Sure you don't remember me? Im waiting for c2r to find the thread. Chances are though that I will be moving North for work though, so I might not be around to collect. Not fussed. I'll just rub it in a bit though.

Pfft. Making C2R do ya dirty work ey? :p

Well I'm on the edge of my seat anyway. Can't wait.

sarah.13
18 Jun 2007, 16:25
The freak (S.Johnson ) is the X factor.
He is not a great kick or mark,but the guy is a mixture of Ronnie Burns and Gazza's senior &junior.Love the guy and one of our match winners in a team of very good,solid footballers he stands out as the one that can pull the rabbit out of the hat.

cats2rise
18 Jun 2007, 18:14
Dont worry, I have a link of the thread somewhere, and the MSN convo with Jess to prove it. She will not get out of coughing up the money.

Well it looks like I won this argument.... Nice doing business with you Jess.

Rockford
18 Jun 2007, 19:52
Are you for real Jess?

Regardless of my opinion, I'd be very suspicious if I were you Jess of anyone who had created their account this month jumping in to a debate like this ;) Especially with a username like that :)

Slick Dog Johnson
18 Jun 2007, 21:10
This debate was put to rest long before I came along.

And 'debate' is drawing a very long bow.

It was really just a statement of fact.

cats2rise
18 Jun 2007, 21:17
Slick Dog has actually been on this forum longer than you Rockford :)

jess_555
18 Jun 2007, 21:24
Mack I have no idea what you are going on about... I don't recall making a bet with you. I made a bet with Cats2rise, unless you are the same person (which wouldn't surprise me) I honestly have no idea what you are talking about.

Are you for real Jess?

Another one of Cats2rise's user names. Great way to win an argument by using fake user names. The joining date gave it away buddy.

Dont worry, I have a link of the thread somewhere, and the MSN convo with Jess to prove it. She will not get out of coughing up the money. Well it looks like I won this argument.... Nice doing business with you Jess.

I'm still in the bet with you Cats2rise I'm not one to walk out on a bet. I'm feeling a little less confident about it because of SJ's tricks but we will wait and see hey. ;) The argument isn't over, some of us have actually had something else to do all day as a pose to being on Big Footy.

OK so what I'm thinking now is...

For best player at the club this year I wouldn't rate SJ in my top 15.
For freakish-showpony-wizardry I would rate SJ in my top 5 (this doesn't mean that I think he is a good player, it simply means he is often in the right spot at the right time and has a lot of luck).

I'm not sure if I'm actually agreeing with you or not but I'm just trying to clarify what I'm saying.

Slick Dog Johnson
18 Jun 2007, 21:29
You could not be more wrong jess.

And cats2rise, you know too much.

Slick Dog Johnson
18 Jun 2007, 21:32
For freakish-showpony-wizardry I would rate SJ in my top 5 (this doesn't mean that I think he is a good player, it simply means he is often in the right spot at the right time and has a lot of luck).
OK, see this is where it is obvious that you have never played the game. It doesn't work that way with the regularity SJ pulls off the stuff he does. Make no mistake, there is no luck involved, it happens far too often for it to be luck.

cats2rise
18 Jun 2007, 21:33
Haha Jess you stupid blonde bimbo. You have no idea. Just making a fool of yourself. We cant all be online at the same time.

jess_555
18 Jun 2007, 21:56
Haha Jess you stupid blonde bimbo. You have no idea. Just making a fool of yourself. We cant all be online at the same time.

I'm not a blonde bimbo and I'm not stupid. Keep the personal attacks to yourself, it's not needed here and I don't appreciate them.

Slick Dog Johnson
18 Jun 2007, 22:02
Yeah lets stick to football here boys and girls.

cats2rise
18 Jun 2007, 22:03
Ok, you are not a blonde bimbo...

Not my fault you were clutching at straws and saying I was 3 seperate posters just cause you were losing the argument. Simple as that. No need for personal attacks and accusations bringing fellow posters into this.

SJ is in the top 3 at the GFC in terms of natural skill and ability. I think you should now say 'I stand corrected.' :)

peterss
19 Jun 2007, 00:51
Johnno is a gun!

My favourite cat!

MmkMrMackie
19 Jun 2007, 01:56
Yes, I am not serious about taking your money. I don't think Cats2Rise is either... Not sure though. A statue would be nice...

Rockford
19 Jun 2007, 03:02
SJ got a mention on the Couch tonight. Healy said that SJ doesn't know how good he could be and that it's just a matter of finding out how fit he can get.

cats2rise
19 Jun 2007, 09:15
Yes, I am not serious about taking your money. I don't think Cats2Rise is either... Not sure though. A statue would be nice...

Oh no, you have me wrong. I am taking my money and going to Europe! :thumbsu:

darren forssman
19 Jun 2007, 13:56
It doesn't work that way with the regularity SJ pulls off the stuff he does. Make no mistake, there is no luck involved, it happens far too often for it to be luck.

what, not handpassing to teammates running past when he is on the ground or trying to wheel around players that are quicker than him or getting caught holding the ball at least twice a game.

please, the guy does as many stupid things as he does good things.

sarah.13
19 Jun 2007, 14:37
what, not handpassing to teammates running past when he is on the ground or trying to wheel around players that are quicker than him or getting caught holding the ball at least twice a game.

You really have something against the "freak" don't you?
1.He was on the ground completely surrounded with a split second to actually do something,kicked to Bartel in the goal square who kicked a goal,and your being critical of him. :confused: Most players wouldn't even be able to take possession.
2.Yes he did get caught a few times,but his job is to score goals,when within distance they should try to steady rather than panic and turn the ball over.
3.Along with Jnr was our best player but don't let that stop you from bagging him. :rolleyes:

darren forssman
19 Jun 2007, 14:49
You really have something against the "freak" don't you?
1.He was on the ground completely surrounded with a split second to actually do something,kicked to Bartel in the goal square who kicked a goal,and your being critical of him. :confused: Most players wouldn't even be able to take possession.
2.Yes he did get caught a few times,but his job is to score goals,when within distance they should try to steady rather than panic and turn the ball over.
3.Along with Jnr was our best player but don't let that stop you from bagging him. :rolleyes:

no, i dont have anything against him, he just frustrates me as much as i delight in his stupidity.

dont tell me you honestly think he was trying to kick to bartel? he was not surrounded, he had two players running past him, who with his great skills he would have easily been able to lay off a handpass.

sarah.13
19 Jun 2007, 14:59
no, i dont have anything against him, he just frustrates me as much as i delight in his stupidity.

dont tell me you honestly think he was trying to kick to bartel? he was not surrounded, he had two players running past him, who with his great skills he would have easily been able to lay off a handpass.

No, he was trying to kick the goal. Johnno can do no wrong end of story.
By now you must realize I am a great fan of his and there will be NO bagging of him or there will be repercussions.

TheTimeCometh
20 Jun 2007, 13:55

exactly.

not to mention a range that is limited to 30m. it's hard to understand that you guys only see the sparkle and not the fades.

in jess' defence the fred title does state : "SJ top 3 @ GFC", only upon reading further does it explain that it's top 3 in "natural ability".

Hood007
20 Jun 2007, 19:27
He's just one of those players that you take the bad with good.
Most teams have those...
What's the solution? Drop him?

cats2rise
20 Jun 2007, 20:52
We had this talk earlier.. She knew it was top 3 in natural ability/talent/whatever you want to call it.exactly.

not to mention a range that is limited to 30m. it's hard to understand that you guys only see the sparkle and not the fades.

in jess' defence the fred title does state : "SJ top 3 @ GFC", only upon reading further does it explain that it's top 3 in "natural ability".

chapmanmagic35
21 Jun 2007, 03:42
I won't buy into the "Is he top three?". It is subjective.

However, so far since his comeback he has been very good. Still has a couple of faults but he has got better, especially when it comes to chasing etc.

Probably deserved to be traded at the end of last year, but luckily is playing well now and justofying his spot on the list.

TheTimeCometh
22 Jun 2007, 11:16
We had this talk earlier.. She knew it was top 3 in natural ability/talent/whatever you want to call it.

yeah, but it's jess. you gotta go easy on the delicate ones.

rocker_oz33
25 Jun 2007, 00:13
Gary Ablett Jnr and stevie johnson are both freaks they have heaps of natural skills ...the leadership group at the cats said gazza needed to train alot harder and he put in a biger pre season look at him now cutting it up and beating his taggers and we all know wat happened to stevie johnson ........and with
natural freaky skills and lots n lots of hard work you get a super great freaky player not just a freaky player