View Full Version : Anyone remember The Big One burger at McDonalds ???
relapse
17 Jun 2007, 23:57
An old friend from Melbourne is coming over and asked whether McDonalds in Adelaide still sell The Big One. I do vaugly remember the jingle, but cant remember much else about the burger except that I think it might have been a four patty version of the big mac, but not sure whether this is right or not.
Anyone else remember, everyone I have asked has no idea.
Vic Crow
18 Jun 2007, 09:31
I've got a feeling that this was essentially replaced with the McOz.
Anyone remember crows milk too??! :thumbsu:
Delivery Man
18 Jun 2007, 22:07
Was it 4 all beef patties, special sauce, lettuce, cheese, pickles, onions, tomato all on a sesame seed bun?
The heart attack special? Doubt corporate would allow em to sell crap like that these days.
Whatever happened to the McFeast... that was all kinds of good...
NSWCROW
19 Jun 2007, 02:09
Remember the " YUMBO " ??
Markthirtytwo
19 Jun 2007, 08:55
Rather have one with the lot from Greasy Joes and miniumum chips. :thumbsu:
Mr_Smooth
19 Jun 2007, 09:09
that was the bomb!!!! :thumbsu:
i've still yet to find anything to replace it :(
swanfan
19 Jun 2007, 09:11
Make your own version of it mate. ;)
Legoman_Carl
19 Jun 2007, 11:12
That sounds familiar, what was it again?
Mr_Smooth
19 Jun 2007, 11:40
Make your own version of it mate. ;)
tried, didn't have anything on the crows caramel milk... :(
I remember when Hungry Jacks used to sell chicken I think.:confused:
I used to to get a peice of Chicken, Chips and a chocolate thickshake and eat them all at the same time. Take a sip of chocolate shake and swish it all around together into a mash. :eek:
YUUUMMMMMMM :o
neddy36
21 Jun 2007, 16:46
I was just thinking about the Yumbo the other day. Mmm the cholesterol. :thumbsu:
Dandy_GO
22 Jun 2007, 02:33
One time I went to McDonalds and randomly ran into my uncle with his girlfriend's young son, who had these weird teenage mutant ninja turtle wristbands that made fighting noises when you shook them. I thought that was kinda neat, and I was having fun playing with one of them, when the need arose to go to the toilet. As I entered the toilet and set myself at the urinal, I realised I'd left the wristband on, but I wasn't worried as my uncle was still finishing his meal so I was sure I'd have time to return it. I started to pee, whilst a middle aged man parked himself next to me and started as well. Having started first, I naturally finished before him, jiggled, tucked the tackle away and began to do up my fly. As I pulled my fly up, the teenage mutant ninja turles wristband let off a resounding "HIIII-YAAAHHH!", its audibility excentuated by the superb acoustics of the bathroom. The man next to me turned, shocked at the sudden noise, and pissed all over my leg.
I hate fast food.
betterthanu
23 Jun 2007, 10:48
One time I went to McDonalds and randomly ran into my uncle with his girlfriend's young son, who had these weird teenage mutant ninja turtle wristbands that made fighting noises when you shook them. I thought that was kinda neat, and I was having fun playing with one of them, when the need arose to go to the toilet. As I entered the toilet and set myself at the urinal, I realised I'd left the wristband on, but I wasn't worried as my uncle was still finishing his meal so I was sure I'd have time to return it. I started to pee, whilst a middle aged man parked himself next to me and started as well. Having started first, I naturally finished before him, jiggled, tucked the tackle away and began to do up my fly. As I pulled my fly up, the teenage mutant ninja turles wristband let off a resounding "HIIII-YAAAHHH!", its audibility excentuated by the superb acoustics of the bathroom. The man next to me turned, shocked at the sudden noise, and pissed all over my leg.
I hate fast food.
hahahahahahaha
Had my first bacon and egg mcmuffin in ages this morning and it was a welcome return to my mouth and taste buds.
Stiffy_18
23 Jun 2007, 21:19
I hate fast food.
LOL :D
relapse
24 Jun 2007, 08:14
I remember the crows milk
relapse
24 Jun 2007, 08:45
Was it 4 all beef patties, special sauce, lettuce, cheese, pickles, onions, tomato all on a sesame seed bun?
I recon it was, I think it was a double McFeast. Adelaide I think was the only place that seemed to continue selling them for a long period of time after the original promotion ended.
acg_204*
24 Jun 2007, 10:32
The line was 'two all beef patties special sauce lettuce cheese pickles onion on a sesame seed bun'. But that was to get a free Big Mac if you could recite it in under 30 seconds.
TurboHead
24 Jun 2007, 12:46
The big one had only a single meat pattie but was a whopper size pattie on a larger bun. It also had bacon and more salad. Was ok but just didn't feel like a "Mc" burger.
BTW - Whats a Yumbo? I remember the name but don't think I ever had one.
Mr_Smooth
24 Jun 2007, 15:13
The big one had only a single meat pattie but was a whopper size pattie on a larger bun. It also had bacon and more salad. Was ok but just didn't feel like a "Mc" burger.
a jumbo was ham egg beef pattie nd tomato sauce from memory..
NSWCROW
24 Jun 2007, 17:19
Remember when i moved here 4 years back and asking for a DOUBLE CHEESEBURGER at MASCOT AIRPORT and getting a blank stare :rolleyes:
TFLUA-Tiger
24 Jun 2007, 17:37
Pounders are good, you can actually order them, equates to 4 patties, anyone ever had them?
The line was 'two all beef patties special sauce lettuce cheese pickles onion on a sesame seed bun'. But that was to get a free Big Mac if you could recite it in under 30 seconds.
I can make some posters on here feel very very very old ( myself included) by saying you could also get a WSC poster featuring the the Australian,West Indies and English cricket teams.
1977 what a year :o
I am so very tempted to duck down to the Maccas right now...
Bring me back a coke thanks
Has anyone tried those pasta things with the happy meal? I'm scared of fast food that's semi healthy... It never tastes good.
Sanguinarius
24 Jun 2007, 20:04
Has anyone tried those pasta things with the happy meal? I'm scared of fast food that's semi healthy... It never tastes good.
apparently they're almost as bad, if not worse, as a cheeseburger anyway!:eek:
relapse
25 Jun 2007, 14:30
My stepson has had it a couple of times, its okay, but not that filling though for him and he is really skinny and only 6 years old. I would hate to buy it for a 9-10 year old kid
writeoff
25 Jun 2007, 15:07
Don't waste your time at Maccas or HJ. Be a true South Aussie and go to Villies and get a Villie Burger. They are HUGE - ~15mm beef patie, ham patie, bacon, egg, beetroot, tomato, onion, lettuce and a big bun plus come with chips for about $8. No other burger that's available 24hrs comes close. And you can get some donuts while you're there :D
TurboHead
25 Jun 2007, 22:20
Do Macca's in all states have the Double Quarter pounder??
If you want a real heart stopper - go to HJ's and order a double whopper with double cheese and bacon... (whopper size Bacon deluxe)... had this once and it just about killed me.
Ah, the double quarter pounder... Remember the footy meal they did with that, I ate a lot of them... I'm lucky to have made it to 24
ams4crows
26 Jun 2007, 17:38
my burger consists Of A Mc Chicken Burger without lettuce and mayo and add bacon and chesse mmm feel like one now!!
Markthirtytwo
27 Jun 2007, 09:22
Back in the dark old days before Maccas and HJ, there was a burger joint in St. Kilda in Melbourne that made only burgers and steak sandwiches.
The owner would open at 7pm and close at 5am. Got a tremendous crowd after parties, movies, etc.
A friend of mine got lockjaw once trying to bit into a big double burger made there. The patties used to be cooked in claret.
Now that boys and girls are what great hamburers are all about. Not this production line rubbish.
A Yumbo was ham and cheese.
NSWCROW
27 Jun 2007, 20:08
A LOT of cheese :eek:
Back in the dark old days before Maccas and HJ, there was a burger joint in St. Kilda in Melbourne that made only burgers and steak sandwiches.
The owner would open at 7pm and close at 5am. Got a tremendous crowd after parties, movies, etc.
A friend of mine got lockjaw once trying to bit into a big double burger made there. The patties used to be cooked in claret.
Now that boys and girls are what great hamburers are all about. Not this production line rubbish.
Hanson Rd Fish and Chip shop across from the Finsbury Hotel.
Huge Burgers
NikkiNoo
28 Jun 2007, 08:28
Can't go past the Craddock burger - now that was a HUGE burger :eek:
Markthirtytwo
28 Jun 2007, 09:12
Hanson Rd Fish and Chip shop across from the Finsbury Hotel.
Huge Burgers
Wouldn't go near Hanson Rd anymore. You stop there and your only after one thing and it ain't burgers. :D
Weeeeelll its been a month or 2 :o
I have heard that from a lot of sources and its kinda sad... I call it Hanoi Rd
TurboHead
28 Jun 2007, 23:31
For the Perthites - anyone remember "Hamburger Haven" in Innaloo during the80'?? (I assume it was the only one) They made GREAAAT burgers.... loved them so much I still remember the theme song...
"Put my foot to the floor I can taste it now - a real Australian burger only haven knows how... grill or fried, you'll be licking your lips - whatever you want, the lot? WITH CHIPS.... hamburger haven, hamburger haven...."
For a great burger now - the Woodbridge deli near Rockingham makes top burgers with the option of just about any filling you can think of.... and cheap at under $5. Worth a stop next time any of you are driving down to Mandurah.
For the Perthites -
What about Hamburger Hill outside the Dome? I never tried their burgers. And is it Alfreds at Midland? Big bonfire out the front and the pissheads from the pubs all over Perth lolling all over the footpath out front
TurboHead
30 Jun 2007, 00:30
Yeah - Alfreds is good but not cheap... $10 for a burger is a bit rude.