View Full Version : Now do you believe me when I said our youngsters are better than yours???
Do you now??? Do you believe the truth??? I don't know about you but I'd rather take a 7 goal win over Hawthorn and a 6 goal win over Essendon any day before a 20 goal win over St.Kilda. And it was our youngsters getting us to that win!
gfc-man
26 Apr 2002, 09:05
sure your youngsters got you there, with Buckley, Burns, and Steinfort as your better players...
Maybee Mcgough put in a good game but thats only one,
and by the way i'd rather our youngsters any day.
and i'll still take a 20 goal win anytime.. Lets see how many the pies kick against the saints next week.
And what about L.Davis, N.Davis, Lockyer, Cloke and Lonie? They all played great games and that's just the younger type players.
And yes we will see.
nolsey77
26 Apr 2002, 09:54
Hoggy thats the great thing about Footy, we all have our opinions and beliefs, until the controversey on this board from a few collingwood supporters such as the awarding of BARTEL the rising star for round 4, McGough played an amazing game for a 17 year old but, HODGE and ABLETT have a challenger to the best 17 year old in the league, you'd back McGough i'd back Ablett.;)
BTW Geelong havent played two youngsters who have been rated higher then Ablett:cool:
Leon Davis
Bwaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah :o :o :o :o
So he's played a slightly good game.Comeback in 3 months when he has another good game.
Fall Out Boy
26 Apr 2002, 10:36
Originally posted by Hoggy
And what about L.Davis, N.Davis, Lockyer, Cloke and Lonie? They all played great games and that's just the younger type players.
And yes we will see.
Ryan Lonie played well?
He got his first kick in the second quarter.
Same goes for Nick Davis, he had one possession in the second half, hardly constitutes a "great game".
Hoggy,
At least you have good taste in soccer teams :D
SeinDude
26 Apr 2002, 10:50
Hoggy,
It's great to see you happy with the performances of your young kids like McGough, but to come on here and make statements that your kids are better than ours..... there is no logic in that whatsoever!! ;);)
I agree with phatandphreaky, I can't understand how you could be boasting about how well Lonie & Nick Davis played yesterday, but then your team hasn't seen September action since 1994 so I can understand how you'd accept average performances as great ones!! :D;):p:D
Go Cats!! :cool:
SeinDude
dogboy23
26 Apr 2002, 10:51
And yes we will see. Davis and Lockyer have had enough seasons now to be classified as on the brink of being a youngster.Most of Geelongs youngsters are first or second year players and are far better at there current age than most of the Collingwood players Hoggy mentioned were at that age.Having said that it doesnt mean alot it is the finished product that counts.I hope our younger players deliver on there potential rather than just showing it.
sabre_ac
26 Apr 2002, 14:09
And yes we will see.
3 midfield type players
Well personally I would take this list any day
Pavlich,Longmuir,Haselby,Medhurst,McPharlin,Brown,McPhee
You will soon be adding Polak's name to that list
Originally posted by JUBJUB
Leon Davis
Bwaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah :O :O :O :O
So he's played a slightly good game.Comeback in 3 months when he has another good game.
Well if you saw yesterday's game....and you think he played good and didn't get in the best.....and has an article written about him....and he was in the best the 2 previous games....means we won't be waiting 3 months.
Originally posted by PhatandPhreky
Ryan Lonie played well?
He got his first kick in the second quarter.
Same goes for Nick Davis, he had one possession in the second half, hardly constitutes a "great game". [/QUOTE/
As a defender it's not always the job to get kicks, it's to stop your opponent getting kicks. And Nick Davis must have had more than 1 kick in the 2nd half because he kicked 2 goals in the second half - check your facts.
Originally posted by Seindude
[QUOTE]Hoggy,
It's great to see you happy with the performances of your young kids like McGough, but to come on here and make statements that your kids are better than ours..... there is no logic in that whatsoever!!
I agree with phatandphreaky, I can't understand how you could be boasting about how well Lonie & Nick Davis played yesterday, but then your team hasn't seen September action since 1994 so I can understand how you'd accept average performances as great ones!!
If you reckon your kids are better why don't you provide examples. And what an arrogant second paragraph.
Dogboy23 - most sensible post I've read here
Sabre-ac - that is a quality group of kids and McPhee is a gun!
Its sad the Hoggy makes Collingwood supporters like Joffa & Rohan sound intelligent. :o :p
SeinDude
26 Apr 2002, 14:57
If you reckon your kids are better why don't you provide examples. And what an arrogant second paragraph.
Hoggy,
First of all, I am not naive and stupid enough to argue which group of kids are better unlike you are!! I agree that Collingwood has a few good young prospects on their list, but then again so does Geelong, Fremantle.... heck so does every other side in the AFL!! ;);)
As for my 2nd paragraph, I thought that was appropriate considering your almost comical attempts to make us Geelong supporters laugh with your ridiculous statements and comparrisons!! ;);)
So, congratulations on Collingwood's good win yesterday. It's not hard to see that you are excited with their performance which is fair enough as they were fantastic in beating Essendon, but I am a little bemused as to why you'd take it out on Geelong!! ;);)
SeinDude
Its sad the Hoggy makes Collingwood supporters like Joffa & Rohan sound intelligent.
Does that make sense? "It's sad the Hoggy" Almost unintelligent I would say!
Well if you saw yesterday's game....and you think he played good and didn't get in the best.....and has an article written about him....and he was in the best the 2 previous games....means we won't be waiting 3 months.
The only reason he had an article written about him is because the Herald Sun are biased towards Collingwood and for the fact that he is also overrated.
prized bitch
26 Apr 2002, 16:42
It's a love\hate relationship....
Everyone hates collingwood, only because they want to be like them.......;)
True Lana
So very very true
Originally posted by prized bitch
Your kidding, right?
Yes, I want to not play a part in the finals since 1994.
Originally posted by prized bitch
What,over rated ? :D
Here's a question that Geelong supporters tend not to like.....
Have you ever seen your team win a grand final???:D
nolsey77
26 Apr 2002, 19:17
The answer to that question is YES, in 2000 at the MCG the Geelong Falcons won the TAC CUP.:D
Heres a question for Collingwood fans.
How many winning finals has Nathan Buckley played in at Collingwood ?
He did leave Brisbane to play finals footy. :o :p :o :p :o :p :o
jubjub all your young players are crap to our collingwood players
Buckley is a legend and this is the yr that he will play finals footy.
Originally posted by josh1
Buckley is a legend and this is the yr that he will play finals footy.
are they bringing back the mid season draft & he's going back to Brisbane ? :o
This statement will put the thread into perspective:
If Geelong make the finals this years they will have overacheived, if Collingwood make the finals this year they will have acheived as per expectations.
SeinDude
27 Apr 2002, 21:19
See you in september
Hoggy,
Glad to see you go to games that don't involve Collingwood!! :D;):p:D
SeinDude
Browny 3:16
27 Apr 2002, 22:09
nolsey77 who captained that Geelong TAC cup side in 2000?
Originally posted by SeinDude
Hoggy,
Glad to see you go to games that don't involve Collingwood!! :D;):p:D
:p :p :p :p
nolsey77
27 Apr 2002, 23:48
Andrew Siegert
Originally posted by Seindude
Hoggy,
Glad to see you go to games that don't involve Collingwood!!
Real original :rolleyes: When was the last time you won a flag? How many times have you won a flag? Were you alive when you won your last flag???
Will you make the finals this year....NO
Will we...YES
And I do go to games not involving Collingwood, I went to Geelong v Essendon and that was the worst game I have seen for a long time as Essendon just went on a rampage except for the last quarter and should have won by 100.
So I do not purely concentrate on Collingwood games, unlike many of youse who wouldn't have seen a neutral game LIVE for about a decade.
nolsey77
28 Apr 2002, 10:28
Hoggy it was good to see that in the driving rain Collingwood won, but I do seem to remember a game in 2000, when Geelong kicked 1 goal in a half. It was so bad that Rex Hunt tried to get into the Geelong rooms at half time and give them a little curry. Also at Half Time in that same game Sam Newman said that he would resign as a life member of Geelong and the AFL if the cats won.
Remember Collingwood 33 points up in a rain soaked MCG at Half-Time, Kicked 1st goal second half 39pts up in the rain.
R12 Collingwood L 88-99 Waverley Park 53917 16-Jun-1990
R9 Collingwood W 132-90 Victoria Park 26262 18-May-1991
R24 Collingwood W 107-66 Kardinia Park 29690 31-Aug-1991
R10 Collingwood L 66-81 Waverley Park 60228 23-May-1992
R2 Collingwood L 103-113 Victoria Park 24147 03-Apr-1993
R17 Collingwood W 87-79 Waverley Park 38166 24-Jul-1993
R7 Collingwood W 124- 96 M.C.G. 52342 08-May-1994
R22 Collingwood L 104-107 M.C.G. 66555 20-Aug-1994
R3 Collingwood W 122-95 Kardinia Park 27514 15-Apr-1995
R18 Collingwood W 95-99 M.C.G. 62212 06-Aug-1995
R9 Collingwood W 139-76 M.C.G. 56609 27-May-1996
R14 Collingwood W 80-72 M.C.G. 65228 05-Jul-1997
R15 Collingwood L 61-71 M.C.G. 44806 05-Jul-1998
R15 Collingwood W 128 125 Kardinia Park 24395 10-Jul-1999
R12 Collingwood W 71 67 M.C.G. 34367 27-May-2000
R14 Collingwood W 111 - 93 Docklands 50160 08-Jul-2001
So Hoggy Since 1990 the Record is
Played 16
Collingwood 5
Geelong 11
with Geelong winning 9 out of the last 11:D :D :D
With Collingwoods greatest winning margain 15pts.
Originally posted by nolsey77
Hoggy it was good to see that in the driving rain Collingwood won, but I do seem to remember a game in 2000, when Geelong kicked 1 goal in a half. It was so bad that Rex Hunt tried to get into the Geelong rooms at half time and give them a little curry. Also at Half Time in that same game Sam Newman said that he would resign as a life member of Geelong and the AFL if the cats won.
Remember Collingwood 33 points up in a rain soaked MCG at Half-Time, Kicked 1st goal second half 39pts up in the rain.
R12 Collingwood L 88-99 Waverley Park 53917 16-Jun-1990
R9 Collingwood W 132-90 Victoria Park 26262 18-May-1991
R24 Collingwood W 107-66 Kardinia Park 29690 31-Aug-1991
R10 Collingwood L 66-81 Waverley Park 60228 23-May-1992
R2 Collingwood L 103-113 Victoria Park 24147 03-Apr-1993
R17 Collingwood W 87-79 Waverley Park 38166 24-Jul-1993
R7 Collingwood W 124- 96 M.C.G. 52342 08-May-1994
R22 Collingwood L 104-107 M.C.G. 66555 20-Aug-1994
R3 Collingwood W 122-95 Kardinia Park 27514 15-Apr-1995
R18 Collingwood W 95-99 M.C.G. 62212 06-Aug-1995
R9 Collingwood W 139-76 M.C.G. 56609 27-May-1996
R14 Collingwood W 80-72 M.C.G. 65228 05-Jul-1997
R15 Collingwood L 61-71 M.C.G. 44806 05-Jul-1998
R15 Collingwood W 128 125 Kardinia Park 24395 10-Jul-1999
R12 Collingwood W 71 67 M.C.G. 34367 27-May-2000
R14 Collingwood W 111 - 93 Docklands 50160 08-Jul-2001
So Hoggy Since 1990 the Record is
Played 16
Collingwood 5
Geelong 11
with Geelong winning 9 out of the last 11:D :D :D
With Collingwoods greatest winning margain 15pts.
It sounds like someone is living in the past. Contemporise, maaaan.
Originally posted by Squeak
It sounds like someone is living in the past.
Yeah,Hoggy.
Yeah,Hoggy.
I'm not Hoggy so don't use him to discredit my post.
I don't know about Squeak but I am not a troll JUBJUB! And I'm allowed to my point of view and please don't mention that horrible day at the MCG in 2000.
Mate if you'll read the thread again you'll see I backed you up. Rest assured I"m no troll.
I'm not Hoggy so don't use him to discredit my post.
I was suggesting that its HOGGY thats living in the past.
Yeah I know Squeak it came out worse than I expected and no I'm not living in the past JUBJUB, that's why I said see you in September.
gfc-man
28 Apr 2002, 21:14
Why September Hoggy?
Maybe going to see another game not involving collingwood huh?
See you in september
Are we intending to meet up or something in September?
Real original :rolleyes: When was the last time you won a flag? How many times have you won a flag? Were you alive when you won your last flag???
Is that the best comeback you could come up with?
Will we...YES
5 rounds into the season and you can say that. What happened to the saying, "Don't count your chickens before they have hatched"? Still 17 rounds to go, how you can say you will be in the finals after round 5 is beyond me.
I do not purely concentrate on Collingwood games, unlike many of youse who wouldn't have seen a neutral game LIVE for about a decade.
Who cares whether you've been to a neutral game and we haven't? Does that make you some sort of a hero or something, does it give the old ego a boost?
It sounds like someone is living in the past. Contemporise, maaaan.
Bit like Collingwood talking about playing finals footy.
thehardaway
28 Apr 2002, 22:20
Originally posted by Catman
Will we...YES
5 rounds into the season and you can say that. What happened to the saying, "Don't count your chickens before they have hatched"? Still 17 rounds to go, how you can say you will be in the finals after round 5 is beyond me.
I remember a few season ago Collingwood winning the first 5 games of a season, and them touting themselves as premiership favourites. After that though, if I remember correctly, they lost 15 of their next 17 (including that particular loss to Geelong :D)
Dont get too high on your horse Hoggy, there's a bloody long way to go in the season.
Baldy#9
29 Apr 2002, 10:29
Hey Hoggy, don't forget you still have June coming up!!!!
magic_johnson!
28 Sep 2008, 01:55
ours came up better then yours ;)
scruffydog
28 Sep 2008, 03:14
I don't know if I'd necro a thread made by a supporter of the only team to give you a thrashing this year and try to prove that argument.
That said, you're clearly a superior team... I'm just saying, surely you could pick a more suitable team to insult... like anyone else bar Hawthorn.
Gotta take it out on someone.
On that note, **** you, you were an accident.
ours came up better then yours ;)
Why the hell are you bumping up 5 or 6 years threads just for some dumb one line comment ?