View Full Version : James Kelly plays his first game!!!!!!

dogboy23
26 Apr 2002, 10:56
Good luck to my mate James Kelly this man will be a gun mark my words.Has been in the best every game for the vfl already.He will add to your list of promising youngsters.:)

nolsey77
26 Apr 2002, 11:23
The bench is from Hunt,Mooney,Chapman,White,Kelly ,Chambers. Rooke

So Kelly is definately in

and they wont drop Rooke

so its a choice for two spots between Hunt,Mooney,Chapman,White, Chambers

With Sanderson sitting in the stands Hunt will stay in.

so its a choice between Mooney, White, Chambers, Chapman

I think Chambers should get another few games, because Kingy is starting to have a big role up forward.

Mitchell White should have two more games in the 2's, then he'll be 100% match fit, then play the next 15 games in the seniors and hope fully kick 20-25 goals.

Mooney has potential, but I am afraid that he his not showing it and is unlikely to show it. I think that this will be his last year at Geelong, along side McGrath, Mensch, Rahilly, Chapman, Danny O'Brien.

SeinDude
26 Apr 2002, 12:41
Originally posted by nolsey77
Mooney has potential, but I am afraid that he his not showing it and is unlikely to show it. I think that this will be his last year at Geelong, along side McGrath, Mensch, Rahilly, Chapman, Danny O'Brien.

nolsey77,

I think you're being very harsh on young Danny O'Brien!! He had a knee injury last year which held him back for most of the season, but showed great promise the year before. I think we need to keep persisting with Danny as he has good finishing skills and is still young and developing his game. :)

Go Cats!! :cool:
SeinDude

nolsey77
26 Apr 2002, 13:18
I suppose that I have been a bit harsh on DO'B, hopefull hell break into the 1s and prove me wrong, but Mr Bizzell and MrHoulihan and Mr Corrigan were not so lucky last year.

Fall Out Boy
26 Apr 2002, 21:37
James Kelly will have to wait yet another week for his debut, the match committee, in their wisdom, has decided to go for the all the talls.

JUBJUB
27 Apr 2002, 09:13
Phat
The AFL site had the team wrong AGAIN !!!!!
Kelly IS in & Mooney out.

Fall Out Boy
27 Apr 2002, 10:10
Originally posted by JUBJUB
Phat
The AFL site had the team wrong AGAIN !!!!!
Kelly IS in & Mooney out.

Well thats made my day :)

Cheers

nolsey77
27 Apr 2002, 10:30
http://afl.com.au/Default.asp?pg=individualgame&spg=pregame&m_tournamentmatch_id=770

Here is the team

GEELONG FC

PLAYERS
Backs: D. Wojcinski M. Scarlett B. Sholl
Half Backs: D. Foster T. Harley D. Milburn
Centre: P. Riccardi G. Kilpatrick D. Clarke
Half Forwards: C. Ling B. Graham R. Burns
Forwards: G. Ablett K. Kingsley J. Bartel
Followers: J. Corey, S. King, A. Lord
Interchange: C. Mooney, P. Chambers, J. Rooke, M. White
Emergency: P. Chapman, J. Hunt, J. Kelly

nolsey77
27 Apr 2002, 11:02
ok this is amazing in the herald sun

Interchange: J. Rooke, J. Hunt, J. Kelly, Ablett

Emergency: P. Chapman, P. Chambers, M. White

the Herald Sun have 2 Ablett's in the side

JUBJUB
27 Apr 2002, 12:00
Originally posted by nolsey77

the Herald Sun have 2 Ablett's in the side

Gary Snr making a suprise comeback is he ? ;)

nolsey77
27 Apr 2002, 12:03
Maybe Nathan is playing his first game

or Luke has jumped ship ????????

JUBJUB
28 Apr 2002, 16:51
Kelly should play his 1st game next week.He'd be the likely replacement for the injured Glenn Kilpatrick.

seeeeeb
28 Apr 2002, 19:50
JubJub, and what about Burnsy, will he be missing? if so, I would like to see Steve Johnson given a game, he deserves it.

Seb

footyman
29 Apr 2002, 00:23
Don't worry Dogboy. James Kelly will probably get a game soon. After all Geelong beat Bendigo by 161 points in the VFL so I'm sure he had about 40 possessions to go with a couple of goals.

thehardaway
29 Apr 2002, 00:34
Originally posted by seb
JubJub, and what about Burnsy, will he be missing? if so, I would like to see Steve Johnson given a game, he deserves it.

Seb

Ronnie will play, his injury was slight but enough to be pulled and rested, especially with Geelong up by plenty.

Geelong_Sicko
28 Jun 2008, 01:58
Good luck to my mate James Kelly this man will be a gun mark my words.Has been in the best every game for the vfl already.He will add to your list of promising youngsters.:)

I wonder if dogboy's still around... Bloody good call on that Kelly kid!!:thumbsu:

eliiiiza
28 Jun 2008, 02:22
:eek:

Oh man. I didn't even know what AFL was when this thread was started. :o

Delroy
28 Jun 2008, 02:35
Lol Rahilly, such a funny name.

Generalissimo
28 Jun 2008, 09:26
Mooney and Chapman delisted! Buahaha!

haywood jablome
28 Jun 2008, 09:46
Great bump !

Inferno
28 Jun 2008, 10:21
Mooney and Chapman delisted! Buahaha!
Mooney of the Jason variety possibly? otherwise a very bad call. lol @ Chapman being delisted.

Who the hell is Danny O'Brien?

Hood007
28 Jun 2008, 11:03
Mooney of the Jason variety possibly? otherwise a very bad call. lol @ Chapman being delisted.

Who the hell is Danny O'Brien?

He was a small forward. I think he came off the rookie list...
I liked him. Reminds me of Milne...

cats2rise
28 Jun 2008, 11:14
Don't bag Rahilly! One of my favourite players.

Catman
28 Jun 2008, 14:06

It was definitely Cam. Jason had been delisted at the end of 2001.

At the time those calls were distinct possibilities. Moons hadn't delivered since he'd been at the club from 2000 and really didn't until 2004, and he himself will admit he was lucky to be still at the club after 4 years of injuries/indifferent form. Chappy wasn't getting a look-in despite playing well in the VFL.

So while we can laugh about it now, there were some serious question marks hanging over the heads of those two players at that stage.

canny30
28 Jun 2008, 15:54

Remember when Kelly was rated the best prospect out of Bartel, Ablett, Corey and Enright.

He still turned out a very good player but NOT QUITE what we were expecting i reckon.

That broken leg really in Perth in 2004 (?) slowed him up, he was on his way prior to that to being a genuine superstar of the comp.

cats2rise
28 Jun 2008, 16:35
Agree 100% with the broken leg. He was CARVING it up before that injury. I always thought he would be better than Bartel. He still does some very classy things now and then which make me believe he can still do it too!

Catsace
28 Jun 2008, 18:11
Absolutely amazing to see posts from over 6 years ago, what a change has happened in that time! Chapman maybe hadn't been given much of a chance to prove himself at that point, in his 3rd season at the club.

Now, what a side we have. Kelly is really coming on now, a broken leg really is a horrid injury that takes a good 2-3 years to fully overcome. He was probably the best prospect out of the Bartel/Gaz Jr/S.Johnson group, and nowadays he is filling in beautifully as a member of the midfield, floating forward like last week to kick 4 goals. Quality player, and after many dim days in the early part of this millenium, and of course dark days two years ago, i am enjoying this period immensely. 31 wins in 33 games is peerless, and we went 8-1 without our best ruckman and also without last years All-Australian CHB in Egan. Taylor is looking more and more confident, and the side is motoring along beautifully.

The best part is that they have the maturity and focus to do the job that is required, and they have the pride to make sure they always answer the challenges. All Cat fans, this is as close to footy heaven as we can get!

Catsace
28 Jun 2008, 18:16
Don't bag Rahilly! One of my favourite players.

James Rahilly was one of those fiesty players who was never blessed with a huge amount of skill, but he always put in as best he could. As it was, he often was troubled by hamstring injuries, and in the end retired a couple of seasons ago at just 26-27 y/o, his body unable to stand up to the rigors of today's footy. Played at least 7-8 years at the club, and was a faithful servant of the club.

Turkey Tom
28 Jun 2008, 18:38
He was a small forward. I think he came off the rookie list...
I liked him. Reminds me of Milne...

Elevated from the rookie list and played 8 games in 2000. Hung around in the 2nds for a few years after that.

Geelong_Sicko
28 Jun 2008, 19:34
Lol Rahilly, such a funny name.

Rahilly's a good Irish name! From County Kerry I think...

And bloody hell, are you and JUBJUB the longest-serving Cats still on Bigfooty, Catman?

Brasil2007
28 Jun 2008, 21:48
I reckon Kelly has earned more of my respect in the past year than any other cat, and he gets better every week. I always saw him as a bloke who didn't work hard enough to get the ball, but he's turned that right around: does everything now. Not only that but his disposal now is generally very good. In most teams I think he'd be the #1 or #2 midfielder.

melbournemartin
28 Jun 2008, 21:50
HAHAHA

Good read in an early post saying that Chapman was in his final year.

PoidaCat
28 Jun 2008, 21:52
Although everyone has been awesome of recent times Kelly is really setting up with his class.

Ninty
29 Jun 2008, 14:33
Haha. Nice find and bump!

krisholio14
29 Jun 2008, 14:37
Chappy was a bit too much of a hot head in those days. I don't think he was close to being delisted, but like we did with Jimmy Bartel, we made him work for a spot.

He started to get a regular game not long after the OP, and has been one of our best and most consistent players since.

Tarkyn_24
29 Jun 2008, 15:19
http://afl.com.au/Default.asp?pg=individualgame&spg=pregame&m_tournamentmatch_id=770

Here is the team

GEELONG FC

PLAYERS

Few names I haven't seen in a while.

Well done to James, really established himself since then.

Inferno
29 Jun 2008, 16:22
It was definitely Cam. Jason had been delisted at the end of 2001.

At the time those calls were distinct possibilities. Moons hadn't delivered since he'd been at the club from 2000 and really didn't until 2004, and he himself will admit he was lucky to be still at the club after 4 years of injuries/indifferent form. Chappy wasn't getting a look-in despite playing well in the VFL.

So while we can laugh about it now, there were some serious question marks hanging over the heads of those two players at that stage.Just goes to show if you stick with some players how far they can go...

Geelong_Sicko
29 Jun 2008, 16:33
Just goes to show if you stick with some players how far they can go...

Yep. It's all about keeping the faith, mate.:thumbsu: How many posts were there about sacking Bomber Thompson? Steve Johnson? Cameron Ling? It's natural to strike out when things are shit - but faith in someone's ability CAN be rewarded.

Sometimes!

melbournemartin
29 Jun 2008, 17:04
PLAYERS

I must say that Corey's transition from a ruckman to a midfielder has been superb.

cat in sydney
29 Jun 2008, 17:11
I must say that Corey's transition from a ruckman to a midfielder has been superb.

Well, he is often the third man up at ruck contests, and standing a fair bit taller than most other midfielders, he could possibly do a fairly decent job actually!

The Sim Dog
30 Jun 2008, 01:35
PLAYERS

Wow. An obvious key to our success. So many of those players (13 and without SJ) have been together in the senior team (some in and out) for six years now.

darren forssman
30 Jun 2008, 08:57
Mooney has potential, but I am afraid that he his not showing it and is unlikely to show it. I think that this will be his last year at Geelong.

hahahahahahahaha

TheTimeCometh
30 Jun 2008, 13:49
:eek:

Oh man. I didn't even know what AFL was when this thread was started. :o

ahem.

i didn't know what the innernerd was when this thread was started.

Gumbleton4Life
30 Jun 2008, 20:11
when is james kelly going to get his first kick

Catsace
30 Jun 2008, 22:04
when is james kelly going to get his first kick

In classic Bigfooty speak.....Kelly>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Stanton, Watson, Winderlich and whatever else the Bombers have in midfield.

TheTimeCometh
1 Jul 2008, 12:24
hook, line and blah, blah blah catsace.

Brasil2007
7 Jul 2008, 22:42
The guy is 6th in total tackles for the whole competition. 6th! He's also 14th in goal assists. A pretty fair effort!

That Essendon stooge might note that the first Bombers player in the list is equal 61st in tackles...

patdman
8 Jul 2008, 05:46
Just looking at my 2002 team poster that I have up at my desk (yes it made the trek with me all the way to Boston!)
Some very skinny young kids sitting down the front, look like primary school kids in my eyes (gaz looks about 9 y/o!!!)

Here's the list of players (bold = no longer with the team;

Back Row
Andrew Carrazzo
Adam Chatfield
Josh Hunt
Darren Milburn
Brent Grgic
Cameron Mooney
Marc Woolnough
Joel Corey
Corey Enright
Brenton Sanderson
David Clarke

3rd Row
David Mensch
Mitchell White
Matthew McCarthy
Paul Chambers
Steven King
Peter Street
Henry Playfair
Kent Kingsley
Matthew Scarlett
Tom Harley
Daniel O'Brien

2nd Row
James Rahilly
Glenn Kilpatrick
Will Slade
David Spriggs
Peter Riccardi
Ben Graham
Tim McGrath
Ronnie Burns
Brad Sholl
Daniel Foster

Front Row
Cameron Ling
Charlie Gardiner
Gary Ablett Jnr
James Bartel
David Wojcinksi
Jason Snell
David Johnson
Paul Chapman
James Kelly
Steven Johnson
Jarad Rooke

Seriously though, if you had shown me a picture of Gaz Jnr and said "this guy will be a NUT" I would have laughed my arse off. He looks soo young, and like fluffy or something. Must be the haircut. He definitely looks like I could kick his arse with my left pinkie finger.
I might have to take a photo and upload it.