View Full Version : Who are the best young players in the nfl div 1 at the moment?
Simple_
25th June 2007, 12:06
Like to see what ppl think as to who is the best young talent running around out there at the moment and why?
looker
25th June 2007, 14:27
This bloke fits nicely into the 'young catergory'.
If it is the same kid i think it is, He should be top age U/17 this year. Instead he is playing Seniors at N.Park. Peter Hood. Pretty good indigenous player. Looks as tho he kicks couple of goals and playing good footy. Can a N.Park follow fill us in on him?
His younger bro is playing Knights U/18 on the Sat, and usually having a kick with his local club on the Sunday. Tindarra.
Simple_
25th June 2007, 14:36
This bloke fits nicely into the 'young catergory'.
If it is the same kid i think it is, He should be top age U/17 this year. Instead he is playing Seniors at N.Park. Peter Hood. Pretty good indigenous player. Looks as tho he kicks couple of goals and playing good footy. Can a N.Park follow fill us in on him?
His younger bro is playing Knights U/18 on the Sat, and usually having a kick with his local club on the Sunday. Tindarra.
i actually went to skool with peter and his oldest brother andrew who i think is playing 19s with n park, he is a young kid and will be a very very good player,
when i was year 12 i think he may have been yr 9 and we almost picked him to play in our skool side! and his brother tindara is a good player aswell, they are very skillful footballers, only problem they have is that they become selfish and can get carried away but all in all are good players!
any1 else that you know is running around? go throught the teams if ya can?
mattyr
25th June 2007, 15:44
i actually went to skool with peter and his oldest brother andrew who i think is playing 19s with n park, he is a young kid and will be a very very good player,
when i was year 12 i think he may have been yr 9 and we almost picked him to play in our skool side! and his brother tindara is a good player aswell, they are very skillful footballers, only problem they have is that they become selfish and can get carried away but all in all are good players!
any1 else that you know is running around? go throught the teams if ya can?
Andrew sturgess and Justin banbury from bundoora, both very skillfull players from st marys juniors last year, played for bundoora seniors last 2 weeks.
Simple_
25th June 2007, 15:54
Andrew sturgess and Justin banbury from bundoora, both very skillfull players from st marys juniors last year, played for bundoora seniors last 2 weeks.
so how old are they?
im guessing your from bundoora yer? hows dave mitchell going? you dont know any other youngsters going around from any other clubs?
mattyr
25th June 2007, 16:00
so how old are they?
im guessing your from bundoora yer? hows dave mitchell going? you dont know any other youngsters going around from any other clubs?
banbury is 17 and sturg has just turned 18 the other week.
yeh dave mitchells going alright, getting the heavy tag every week now.
dont no of any youngsters from other clubs really.
leskie
25th June 2007, 16:39
banbury is 17 and sturg has just turned 18 the other week.
yeh dave mitchells going alright, getting the heavy tag every week now.
dont no of any youngsters from other clubs really.
another one i young hurley from macleod he is 16 still played in the grand final againt greensy last year is playing for victoria u/18's this week will be drafted for sure
westy7
25th June 2007, 16:48
yeh i rate hurley from macleod, ive play against him a couple times. another bloke who i think is highly underated and others may think the same brendan o'sullivan of eltham, dead set gun...
mattyr
25th June 2007, 16:48
another one i young hurley from macleod he is 16 still played in the grand final againt greensy last year is playing for victoria u/18's this week will be drafted for sure
no doubt his a good player, but he's a knights player more than n upncomer nfl star
looker
25th June 2007, 23:41
Doc from B'doora. PLayed seniors most weeks. 2nd yr U/19's.
Will be a good CHB in his time.
Simple_
27th June 2007, 15:33
Doc from B'doora. PLayed seniors most weeks. 2nd yr U/19's.
Will be a good CHB in his time.
Whats doc's name?
Hunters Host #3
27th June 2007, 17:22
Whats doc's name?
Ryan Docherty.
You like to know alot about all the young boys 'simple', you sure you have good intentions mate? :cool:
Simple_
27th June 2007, 19:31
Ryan Docherty.
You like to know alot about all the young boys 'simple', you sure you have good intentions mate? :cool:
HAHA very funny, yer mate im sure,
honestly just wanted to see what people think on who are some good players to watch out for in the future, thats all....
rashy69
28th June 2007, 12:44
Monty's Liam Hunt and Daniel Trajanovski are looking good prospects for the future, both boys are under 19's and have played most games in the seniors this year.
AndyBoy
28th June 2007, 14:39
From a Creek point of view....
Tim Chivers, Josh Smith and Rikki Stephens all playin seniors in their first year in under 19's....
Both Smith and Chivers played seniors last season whilst still in under 17's.:thumbsu:
Boromania
28th June 2007, 15:20
From a Greensy point of view....
Spider's form (fairchild) has gotten better as the year has progressed.
Josh Grubb bagged 3 or 4 on the weekend, has pace skill and knows where the goals are- will only improve.
and AJ Zubrich has recaptured the form of his younger days, he's eating 17 pies a day and last week downed 47 cans during the second half of the seniors! Perhaps he is a late maturer!:D:D:D
Simple_
28th June 2007, 15:34
Josh Grubb bagged 3 or 4 on the weekend, has pace skill and knows where the goals are- will only improve.
and AJ Zubrich has recaptured the form of his younger days, he's eating 17 pies a day and last week downed 47 cans during the second half of the seniors! Perhaps he is a late maturer!:D:D:D
I heard Fairchild has been struggling but started to turn things around in the last few games? y has he been struggling not up to div 1? your from boro you should have sum insight to it? fill us in?
stooge01
28th June 2007, 15:34
theres kid playing in the 1st for lalor his name is shannon smith. only 17 still old enough to play under 17s hes bagged a few goals.
Super_Dal
28th June 2007, 16:57
dont know much bout him, but did see him play against north... Griffiths from bundoora...towelled up blake holmes, which in itself is a good effort and has kicked goals... looked like he could play, great agility, good hands and runs well...
any thoughts??
Hands & Heels
28th June 2007, 17:05
I heard Fairchild has been struggling but started to turn things around in the last few games? y has he been struggling not up to div 1? your from boro you should have sum insight to it? fill us in?
That's because he spent the first few weeks just planted in the goalsquare. He's wasted down there at 5'11 or so, he just gets the best defender & is too much to ask him at his age to kick 60-70 goals in div 1in those circumstances.
He's talented enough to play up the ground a bit & did that on Sat which was good to see - as well as spend time up forward. I think that's the best way to use him.
superoo8
28th June 2007, 17:33
WELL I'LL BE
He's made a comeback the old AJ Zuby, absolute champion in his day. I actually went pie for pie and can for can with him last weekend. He got me in the pie stakes but i was told i out canned him. (no offence Rod)
halalua the burras are a chance for the flag yet.
GO THE GREEN MACHINE
looker
29th June 2007, 10:37
theres kid playing in the 1st for lalor his name is shannon smith. only 17 still old enough to play under 17s hes bagged a few goals.
Is this the bloke who plays at FF, and takes a run up at any marking contest so he can go for the hanger? If so, he is a talent. Similiar mould to Matt Whittaker from West Pres. Except Matt has a defensive side to his game. If Matt was playing at a 2nd divvy club, i would expect he'd have the opp to play seniors, if he wanted.
magpie#18
1st July 2007, 21:07
andrew luzza from northcote....
has been playing seniors all year...and dominating...
he is onli 19 and has been ripping it up in divvy 1
BMW22
9th July 2007, 20:56
From Eltham's point of view..Chris Varsamarkis,Nick Sandy,Stef Courtot and Gavan Connolly.
All playing Seniors and deffinately holding their own. Varsamarkis looks like a talent who could and should go on to better things and is still only 18 with an ox's body.
in the 19's Brendan O'Sullivan and the young blonde headed ruckmen Beau Biggs look promising for the future.
hugs_dancer
10th July 2007, 14:54
dont know much bout him, but did see him play against north... Griffiths from bundoora...towelled up blake holmes, which in itself is a good effort and has kicked goals... looked like he could play, great agility, good hands and runs well...
any thoughts??
Probably one of the fittest players in the league.
Another one Chris McFarlane, 20 years old, Another yarrambat boy, has played and held his own in every game for bundoora this year!
magpie#18
11th July 2007, 12:28
Daniel coen is another gun playing in the valley
him and luzza have my votes as best ive seen this yr who are under 20
montyboy69
11th July 2007, 22:12
im a monty supporter, not a player, and have been watching the 19s for a few weeks now, they have a player in there whose the captain and a short bloke, tim moulas ? can anyone tell me anything about him he seems like a farely decent player who must be pushing hard for senior selection??
magpie#18
12th July 2007, 10:08
im a monty supporter, not a player, and have been watching the 19s for a few weeks now, they have a player in there whose the captain and a short bloke, tim moulas ? can anyone tell me anything about him he seems like a farely decent player who must be pushing hard for senior selection??
played monty last week...
they did not have any standouts
Hunters Host #3
12th July 2007, 10:24
If Moulas grows a few more inches then senior selection is on the cards ;).
But one thing with Timmy is that he'll give 100% for the team everytime.
BMW22
13th July 2007, 17:31
timmy moulas isnt a a bad player..doesnt mind talking himself up a bit either..too bad hes got dwarfism
pocketROCKET
13th July 2007, 17:46
Off the topic boys but good to see Ben McKinley, former Yarrambat forward who lead the goalkicking in the U18's comp a few years ago is making his debut for the Eagles on Saturday at AAMI.
Living End
16th July 2007, 19:23
Off the topic boys but good to see Ben McKinley, former Yarrambat forward who lead the goalkicking in the U18's comp a few years ago is making his debut for the Eagles on Saturday at AAMI.
Congrats to Ben McKinley aswell snaggin a goal in his first AFL game...
mffftt i can smell lies
17th July 2007, 12:45
jesse duggan from ealtham..any thoughts??..i think he can play dangerous up forward..highly underated at the clearences...always seems to be moving in 2nd gear n still is tears games up...must be pushing for seinors
tommahawk
18th July 2007, 17:29
jesse duggan from ealtham..any thoughts??..i think he can play dangerous up forward..highly underated at the clearences...always seems to be moving in 2nd gear n still is tears games up...must be pushing for seinors
nah he is a dead set smuck
the G train #9
18th July 2007, 17:52
Well I can tell you that the man known as "The Flash" is not underrated at all down at the Panther. Very well respected and is known for turning a game on it's head singlehandedly. Saying that he is dangerous up forward is an understatement but really he can play any where. He has not slipped under the radar of the senior coach either who described Duggan as "the weirdest dude he's ever met". Tommahawk u r kidden urself mate.
A Living God
18th July 2007, 17:56
Matt Reinke from Montmorency. He is 17 playing first year of u19's. He has been playing both 19's and 2nd's all year and has recently been promoted to the 1st's. His first game against West Preston was pretty disapointing but he was much better against Northcote Park.
mffftt i can smell lies
19th July 2007, 16:59
nah he is a dead set smuck
ur a wanka...do u watch the game...fair to say we have another person who was DOMINATED by duggan...he joins a massive list of other...by the way ur word smuck is the gayest thing ive ever seen...
Jewelsandbullet
8th August 2007, 11:26
Jarrod McGough - 19 years old and has played every game at Mont.
Good kid.
ernieburger 11
20th August 2007, 10:59
easily jesse duggan....to the wanker that said he is a smuck....mate seriously you have got no clue...this kid can play, his lightning skills, long brown hair blowing behind him when he makes that dashing run down the wing...he would make any gun forward in the NFL look like an 11 year old girl playing her first game, with an injured foot