bomberlegend2007
30 Jun 2007, 15:58
Discuss
bigpapagman
1 Jul 2007, 16:11
"no."
bigbadmal
1 Jul 2007, 18:24
have been the benchmark Latrobe Valley side in recent years and since their upset premiership over Maffra 2 years ago have never been the same. A town of thet population should have the strongest side in gippsland but have been the easybeats of the competition this year. They do have a very tall, strong seconds side which will go close to the flag this year. All that said however, i still think the current Traralgon side are as good if not better than the top Ellinbank sides and would win the flag by 10 goals in the mid gippsland and north gippsland leagues.
Benchmark over the last few years? I think you have Traralgon mixed up with Maffra... Traralgon have been mediocre at best since 1998 - 2000, which is why they say their win over Maffra a few years ago is the biggest upset in Gippsland football history.
They were not impressive in their other Finals games, winning in the preliminary over an injury riddled Moe, who themselves were not strong, by only 10 points to get into the GF.
I dont really rate them, but they do have history. I do agree that they are better than any Ellinbank, North Gippsland and Mid Gippsland side, and by a fair margin.
Hoggwash
2 Jul 2007, 11:42
I have watched leongath and drouin play this year and if they are better than traralgon then traralgon must be crap. I reckon EDFL sides would beat leongatha easily.
EDFL follower
2 Jul 2007, 16:15
I have watched leongath and drouin play this year and if they are better than traralgon then traralgon must be crap. I reckon EDFL sides would beat leongatha easily.
I agree. The top EDFL sides would be very competitive in WGLVFL especially Catani and Nyora.
bigpapagman
2 Jul 2007, 16:50
I agree. The top EDFL sides would be very competitive in WGLVFL especially Catani and Nyora.
agree.....me too!
i think it would be a good game, garfield or sale Vs Nyora or Catani, the middle of the range teams would be competeive in the EDFL, but if warragul played like they did against drouin, they would struggle to make the 5......
Cockle doodle doo
10 Jul 2007, 12:58
The poor old parrots are struggling this year and are going through the biggest rebuilding phase in the club's history, according to locals. The positive thing for them is everything off the field is going great guns and i think you will find it will only take two years max for Leongatha to be in the top 3 teams in the league again (feel free to use this quote to shoot me down in flames if i turn out to be wrong, but i won't be).
bigbadmal
10 Jul 2007, 13:48
I disagree with this 100%. The standard of West Gippsland/Latrobe is still a mile better than the Ellinbank League although the gap is closing. I would think Nyora and Catani would be an evenly matched affair but have no doubt Leongatha would defeat any other EDFL side. I have seen Leongatha play twice this year and even though they are struggling in their competition, they are so mauch more quick and skillfull than any Ellinbank side. My feelings suggest that a top WGFL side would beat a top EDFL side by 10 goals and a middle of the pack EDFL side by 20 goals. And a middle of the pack WGFL side would beat a top EDFL side by 2-3 goals and a middle of the road EDFL side by 10 goals.
Overall a 10 goal a game better competition.
Just my thoughts.
goal sneak
11 Jul 2007, 18:22
Garfield who is arguably the best side in the Latrobe this year was going to join the EDFL but was rejected. IMO i think Nyora would challenge Garfield.
bigbadmal
11 Jul 2007, 18:28
I would take even money on Garfield against Nyora or Catani without any hesitation. In fact i would take even money on Leongatha or Traralgon against them too.
goal sneak
12 Jul 2007, 15:34
I would take even money on Garfield against Nyora or Catani without any hesitation. In fact i would take even money on Leongatha or Traralgon against them too.
Leongatha??? Surely you jest
Meanman
22 Jul 2007, 16:26
i think it would be a good game, garfield or sale Vs Nyora or Catani, the middle of the range teams would be competeive in the EDFL, but if warragul played like they did against drouin, they would struggle to make the 5......
Hahahahaha...Don't kid yourelf mate!! You live on another planet. Sale Maffra and GArfield are the best Gippsland teams by a long shot...No other team in Gippsland would come with in 15 goals of these teams!!!!
Sale's list: Jacob Schuback (adelaide) Stuart Anderson (premiership at north melbourne), Russell Mcadam, Chris Laverty, Justin Mclay, Chris Kelf, Mick Francis, Kris Pendlebury(brother of scott), Shane Fyfe, Kane Martin, All recent Gippsland power players...
Also Michael Todd and James Bristow both draft prospects this year playing for Gippsland power.. These West gippy teams are just quicker stronger better than the rest...
Buster the hawk
27 Jul 2007, 09:42
I disagree with this 100%. The standard of West Gippsland/Latrobe is still a mile better than the Ellinbank League although the gap is closing. I would think Nyora and Catani would be an evenly matched affair but have no doubt Leongatha would defeat any other EDFL side. I have seen Leongatha play twice this year and even though they are struggling in their competition, they are so mauch more quick and skillfull than any Ellinbank side. My feelings suggest that a top WGFL side would beat a top EDFL side by 10 goals and a middle of the pack EDFL side by 20 goals. And a middle of the pack WGFL side would beat a top EDFL side by 2-3 goals and a middle of the road EDFL side by 10 goals.
Overall a 10 goal a game better competition.
Just my thoughts.The gap is closing you think?I hope for the sake of footy in Gippsland you are mistaken.If that is the case then Garfield are wasting their time playing in a competition that is meant to be stronger and having to travel that far east for a game.Likewise Maffra and sale may as well play in the North Gippy if all they are travelling two hours for at times is a league not much better than Ellinbank which i was under the impression was on a par with the old Riviera league or Omeo and district given the size of some of the towns that participate.