View Full Version : Do you want Fevola to be traded?

Thrawn
1 Jul 2007, 20:26
I give a big, resounding NO for that notion.

HavUEvaSeenTheRain
1 Jul 2007, 20:29
I went no but if the price was right i would.

marcmurphy3
1 Jul 2007, 20:31
I went no but I would consider it if we could get a superstar midfielder for him.

astro_toby
1 Jul 2007, 20:32
seriously - that wanker has to grow up - he is making richo's famous sooking seem lightweight.

richo at leasts puts the side first - i really dont think fev does that.

even in those matches the blues were winning before the two landslides - the games he wasn't kicking goals in - he didn't look like he was enjoying himself

he definitely is a player who enjoys his footy more kicking 8goals, win or lose - then kicking one and getting the win - never thought i would think that about him - but he is acting like a bloody prat these days:thumbsd:

Blue Dawn
1 Jul 2007, 20:36
Never seriously entertained the thought before, but if he doesn't pull finger in the next month or so, then i'd take 2 first rounders for him.

j-ham
1 Jul 2007, 20:37
I'd rather he just got off the piss.

astro_toby
1 Jul 2007, 20:37
would you think about.....

fevola - to bulldogs
farren ray + their first rounder? (possibly faulkner thrown in)

to melbourne
green + a first rounder (not necessarily pick one or two though - as i doubt they would do that)

to adelaide
meesen+ 1st rounder

to brisbane
Charman + 1st rounder (probably would have to exchange a pick also to even it up for brissy- perhaps carltons 2nd for their 3rd )

as0l0
1 Jul 2007, 20:38
no for me. i'd rather he retire than be traded.

TheGeneral
1 Jul 2007, 20:43

fevola - to bulldogs

to melbourne
green + a first rounder (not necessarily pick one or two though - as i doubt they would do that)

to adelaide
meesen+ 1st rounder

to brisbane
Charman + 1st rounder (probably would have to exchange a pick also to even it up for brissy- perhaps carltons 2nd for their 3rd )
seriously - that wanker has to grow up - he is making richo's famous sooking seem lightweight.

richo at leasts puts the side first - i really dont think fev does that.

even in those matches the blues were winning before the two landslides - the games he wasn't kicking goals in - he didn't look like he was enjoying himself

he definitely is a player who enjoys his footy more kicking 8goals, win or lose - then kicking one and getting the win - never thought i would think that about him - but he is acting like a bloody prat these days:thumbsd:
Can this fool be banned from this board?

BlueFeaver
1 Jul 2007, 20:44
Yes
If we had strong leadership on our playing list I would say no, although if we did have that leadership this thread would probably not be here.
Unfortunatley for us we don't have the strong leaders that other clubs enjoy, this with Fev antics holds back CFC as a team and as we all know footy is about the team. While I agree he is a great player and would be sorely missed, I could see greater success without him.

Think Tarrant and the Pies!

whippersnipper
No. Like it or lump it, he is a marquee player and the only true matchwinner on the list. Absolutely no way.

TheGeneral
no for me. i'd rather he retire than be traded.
We're talking about Fev, not Lance. :rolleyes:

marcmurphy3
1 Jul 2007, 20:47

fevola - to bulldogs

to melbourne

to adelaide
meesen+ 1st rounder

to brisbane

Definately none of those. I'd would want either a gun player (Dal Santo level), a top 3 pick or possibly 2 lesser top 10 picks. Remember Fev is one of the best players in the game. You wouldn't trade him unless you could get that in return. You might consider the Charman one if we didn't exchange a pick and they finished bottom 5. Still, I doubt he'd want to go to Brisbane.

Thrawn
1 Jul 2007, 20:47
My view on this is that you have to weigh his attitude vs his ability to play football.

He's the reigning Coleman medallist who kicked 84 goals in a spoon side. Even after his "rebirth" in 2003, where he probably just as inconsistnet (maybe even more) as he is this year, he still kicked over 60 goals. That is a great effort from a forward these days. There is no doubt he is important to our structure - even when he is not playing well, he still drags the attention of the first and second best defenders. Sometimes you'll have three on him because he's that dangerous - this puts less pressure on Waite and Fisher, so they can kick the goals.

People shouldn't write him off after a bad few games - especially when there are many games left. Some are just too fickle it seems, when he will kick another bag then a lot may put these trade thoughts behind him. If you want to trade Fevola because of his attitude, then we should be trading/delisting the majority of players on our list.

He is too good, and too important simply just to trade him like that. Unless you are to trade him for an A-class player like a Judd - but I'm being realistic here. I hear that a few people want to trade him for 2nd tier players or 2nd round picks. I'm sorry, but that is just insane. If the club goes through with that then it will be our biggest trade blunder in history. "Fev for Hurn" - suggestions like that should literally make you vomit.

sherb
1 Jul 2007, 20:50
No. Like it or lump it, he is a marquee player and the only true matchwinner on the list. Absolutely no way.
Which I think partly explains why he thinks he can carry on like he does.

Give him a week or two in Bullants colours - that might get rid of his apparent "I can do what I like on the field because I am such a gun they can't afford to drop me" attitude.

Then see how the rest of the season pans out, before considering his future at the club. Hell, he might finally decide to grow up.

Thrawn
1 Jul 2007, 20:52

fevola - to bulldogs

to melbourne

to adelaide
meesen+ 1st rounder

to brisbane

None of those trades are even worth his value, let alone the value towards our team.

Think Tarrant and the Pies!

One thing wrong with your analogy: Fevola is light years ahead of Tarrant as a footballer. Imagine Fev at Collingwood - they would never trade him. Hell, he might even be more effective there being surrounded by better players, getting more support and having better delivery.

As for people calling for him to be traded simply because he has little leadership - that's no basis to trade someone. We all know he was never a leader in the first place, and never will be. We will have our leaders, then we will have our good players who cannot lead. Let the leading be taken care by those with leadership.

walkers a legend
1 Jul 2007, 20:55
i would trade him for a gun ruckman

bakerboy
1 Jul 2007, 20:56
Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

BLue_Bloys
1 Jul 2007, 20:57
I'm voting no

But if he fails to improve his attitude by seasons end i would all be for trading him, IF the right trade came about.

Fev is a premier player we would command nothing less than a premier player in return. None of this matt rosa plus our second pick etc.

weagles_fan
1 Jul 2007, 20:57
Seaby+Rosa

astro_toby
1 Jul 2007, 21:00
Definately none of those. I'd would want either a gun player (Dal Santo level), a top 3 pick or possibly 2 lesser top 10 picks. Remember Fev is one of the best players in the game. You wouldn't trade him unless you could get that in return. You might consider the Charman one if we didn't exchange a pick and they finished bottom 5. Still, I doubt he'd want to go to Brisbane.

are you saying you would accept one of a)dal santo b)top 3 pick c) 2 top10 picks - for fevola?

surely farren ray and the dogs first rounder (most likely a pick between 7-10) would be as good as two top 10 picks?

as would charman ( a quality ruckman with toughness and leadershi qualities) and the lions first rounder possibly (pick 3 to five) for fevola and a swap of picks (your 2nd (20) for their 3rd rounder (35) - or even just your third (32) ) would also be equal value to 2 first rounders?

that would mean the you will have pick 3 &4 in the draft + charman - fevola gone.

the problem is fev is getting to the point now where he is slighly damaged goods - he is a risk to other clubs becuase he can be capable of damaging the clubs brand

i like fev - but he is beginning to be a real jerk with his childish antics.

Thrawn
1 Jul 2007, 21:00
Is there a way to remove opposition supporter's votes from the poll? eh, we can just ignore them.

One would say they're voting simply out of self interest of their own team, and not on Carlton's perspective. I wanted this poll to be strictly for Carlton supporters.

TheGeneral
1 Jul 2007, 21:04
Seaby+Rosa
To win you a couple of flags?

More please.

TheGeneral
1 Jul 2007, 21:06
are you saying you would accept one of a)dal santo b)top 3 pick c) 2 top10 picks - for fevola?

surely farren ray and the dogs first rounder (most likely a pick between 7-10) would be as good as two top 10 picks?

as would charman ( a quality ruckman with toughness and leadershi qualities) and the lions first rounder possibly (pick 3 to five) for fevola and a swap of picks (your 2nd (20) for their 3rd rounder (35) - or even just your third (32) ) would also be equal value to 2 first rounders?

that would mean the you will have pick 3 &4 in the draft + charman - fevola gone.

the problem is fev is getting to the point now where he is slighly damaged goods - he is a risk to other clubs becuase he can be capable of damaging the clubs brand

i like fev - but he is beginning to be a real jerk with his childish antics.
F*ck off!

marcmurphy3
1 Jul 2007, 21:08

I would if he didn't clean up his act but right now I'd rather keep him.

[/quote] surely farren ray and the dogs first rounder (most likely a pick between 7-10) would be as good as two top 10 picks?[/quote]

Not really as I don't rate farren ray and would love to get a guy like Cyril Rioli who will be around at that point.

[/quote] as would charman ( a quality ruckman with toughness and leadershi qualities) and the lions first rounder possibly (pick 3 to five) for fevola and a swap of picks (your 2nd (20) for their 3rd rounder (35) - or even just your third (32) ) would also be equal value to 2 first rounders?[/quote]

I would accept it if like I said before there are no additional swapping of draft picks but I'd still prefer not to trade him.

[/quote] the problem is fev is getting to the point now where he is slighly damaged goods - he is a risk to other clubs becuase he can be capable of damaging the clubs brand[/quote]

You're probably right but you'd just wouldn't trade a guy of that talent unless you could get something really good in return.

as0l0
We're talking about Fev, not Lance. :rolleyes:

you still have to play against him. i'd hate to have him in the opposition team if there was anything worthwhile on the line.

BlueFeaver
None of those trades are even worth his value, let alone the value towards our team.

One thing wrong with your analogy: Fevola is light years ahead of Tarrant as a footballer. Imagine Fev at Collingwood - they would never trade him. Hell, he might even be more effective there being surrounded by better players, getting more support and having better delivery.

As for people calling for him to be traded simply because he has little leadership - that's no basis to trade someone. We all know he was never a leader in the first place, and never will be. We will have our leaders, then we will have our good players who cannot lead. Let the leading be taken care by those with leadership.

I am more talking about the disruption to the "Team". ala Tarrant
I would rather Fev stay at CFC and kick 60+ goals a year while we win three flags on the trot. But, my concerns surround a seeming lack of willingness and aptitude of our team to maintain focus for a full game. I know this is due to the relative age of the players, but we must make sure it does not become cultural. This is the method behind my thinking. I don't expect Fev to be a leader, in fact I don't want him to be one. The problem is we don't have any leaders who lead him.

One question though: Do you think Fev will be the same player under a different coach at CFC? If not, better or worse.

Has Pagan made the player?

HBF
1 Jul 2007, 21:11
When Fev is switched on, he is right up there with the elite players in the AFL. When he has days like yesterday, he is just hopeless. If you have a look at Hawthorn, who traded away arguably their best forward in Thompson a couple of years back, it has hardly done them any harm. Sometimes you just have to bite the bullet and make a hard decision.

For me, I would trade him, but only if the deal was right. I suspect we could get Judd from West Coast, should he want to come home. Perhaps Judd for Fev in a straight swap, or i'd even throw in a second round pick as well.

hoogs
1 Jul 2007, 21:14
Judd for Fevola + your first pick.

Logical for both teams involved.

blues4flag
1 Jul 2007, 21:14
I think some overrate the value of our players. I'd personally want Fev to stay, as although he has put in a few shockers, losing him will hurt. BUT if we were to go for a trade, I'd be very happy if managed:

Fev to West Coast

for

Mark Seaby and Shannon Hurn

Seaby's a very good ruckman, and did well as WC's first before Cox came in. At 200cm, he's a good height for a ruckman, unlike Ackland, Cloke and Mclaren, and besides, he's a better player than all three. He's not half bad when resting up forward either, and at 23 still has a lot of footy ahead of him, and improvement as well.

Shannon Hurn is a player I would love at Carlton. Has played most of his footy at West Coast on HB, because of the strength of their midfield, but has went into the middle in the last fortnight and done very well. Similar player to Walker in that he can run and carry, has got a lethal, thumping kick - one of the best running kicks for goal from outside 50 in the competition. At 19, he fits in well with the age of our other midfielders. Imagine having Walker, Murphy, Gibbs and Hurn in the same midfield in four years time. After writing that, I'm not so sure I'd want Fev to stay, if we can orchestrate that deal. :thumbsu:

BlueFeaver
1 Jul 2007, 21:16
When Fev is switched on, he is right up there with the elite players in the AFL. When he has days like yesterday, he is just hopeless. If you have a look at Hawthorn, who traded away arguably their best forward in Thompson a couple of years back, it has hardly done them any harm. Sometimes you just have to bite the bullet and make a hard decision.

For me, I would trade him, but only if the deal was right. I suspect we could get Judd from West Coast, should he want to come home. Perhaps Judd for Fev in a straight swap, or i'd even throw in a second round pick as well.

Same Page!

Don't forget there is a certain Mr Kerr as well.

We could trade him to Richmond for the No 1 selection

astro_toby
1 Jul 2007, 21:16
F*ck off!

thats a bit useless isn't it?

got to accept that this is how fev is - if he hasn't changed by now - he won't. he isn't "young" anymore

come trade time - when trades happen, either someone pays too much for a trade - or another pays under the odds - rarely is it a "fair deal"

on the back of what several clubs would have learned from the tarrant trade (where freo paid WAY to much for him ) - and the reverse in fortunes for freo and collingwood ( freo expected top 4- now will be lucky to make the 8 - the pies expected bottom 4 - now fighting for top 4)

most clubs will be only looking at trading for fev if its a good deal "for them" - so that if it backfires (like history shows - it most likely will ) - the public backlash will not be as damaging.

if trading him then is not an option - then what do you do to stop him being such a bloody prat?? something must be done - because he is not changing and he is getting to the age now where he is too old to change.

Thrawn
1 Jul 2007, 21:18
If you have a look at Hawthorn, who traded away arguably their best forward in Thompson a couple of years back, it has hardly done them any harm.

True, but Fevola's a better forward than Thompson and his impact to Hawthorn was less than Fevola's impact to Carlton. He wasn't their only potential matchwinner either.

They have a beauty in Franklin. Boyle isn't too bad either - but that's easy to say in hindsight. Thompson did have a lot of injury concerns when he was at Hawthorn IIRC.

I suspect we could get Judd from West Coast, should he want to come home. Perhaps Judd for Fev in a straight swap, or i'd even throw in a second round pick as well.

Be realistic though. Do you think they will trade Judd for Fevola? Arguably the league's best FF, but at the moment has form and additude concerns?

astro_toby
1 Jul 2007, 21:20
When Fev is switched on, he is right up there with the elite players in the AFL. .

WHEN being the key word - when he isn't - he is a disgrace, and a terrible influence on the entire team - he saps other players morales - and embarrass's his club, teammates and fans

GROW UP FEVOLA - your not as great as you think you are

mike ockerts
1 Jul 2007, 21:20
i voted no, but brendan needs to grow up, i think a couple of weeks at the bullants is not as silly as it sounds, it will say to him, this is the CARLTON football club not the BRENDAN FEVOLA football club.

HBF
1 Jul 2007, 21:21
Same Page!

Don't forget there is a certain Mr Kerr as well.

We could trade him to Richmond for the No 1 selection

I'm only saying Judd becuase he's Victorian, and after Kerr's much publisised off field antics, i'm not so sure he's the sort of player that Carlton would want hanging around the club.

HBF
1 Jul 2007, 21:23
Fev to West Coast

for

Quite like the look of that trade. West Coast might have to throw in a 3rd round pick as well, just to get it over the line.

BLue_Bloys
1 Jul 2007, 21:27
So i think most would agree Fev should be dropped?

Say he does play and plays a blinder against Melbourne does he get off the hook for this week. Or does it help him get back on track??

JeffDunne
1 Jul 2007, 21:29
I reckon you're asking the wrong question Thrawn.

Most supporters don't want to trade a talent like Fev.

The question should be is it in the clubs best interests to do so.

HBF
1 Jul 2007, 21:36
True, but Fevola's a better forward than Thompson and his impact to Hawthorn was less than Fevola's impact to Carlton. He wasn't their only potential matchwinner either.

They have a beauty in Franklin. Boyle isn't too bad either - but that's easy to say in hindsight. Thompson did have a lot of injury concerns when he was at Hawthorn IIRC.

Point taken Thrawn, but Carlton could potentially have a forward line for round 1 2008 of:

HF: Gibbs Kennedy/Hartlett Fisher
FF: Betts Waite Houlihan

Edwards is also another player for the Ants that I would be hoping would be pushing for senior selection next year, and this forward line means we are far less predictable when we go forward. Furthermore, we kicked 21 goals against the Bulldogs a few weeks ago with minimal input from Fev.

Be realistic though. Do you think they will trade Judd for Fevola? Arguably the league's best FF, but at the moment has form and additude concerns?

Judd is out of contract at years end, and he may want to come back to Victoria. They would want to get the best deal they could, and a true FF and a draft pick/player might just be the deal they are looking for.

Thrawn
1 Jul 2007, 21:37

I'm assuming this is a key point in the minds of people who are reading this thread anyway.

Regardless of how the question is stated, this issue is going to come up.

HBF
1 Jul 2007, 21:42

Yes it is.
Plan and Simple..

marcmurphy3
1 Jul 2007, 21:42
Point taken Thrawn, but Carlton could potentially have a forward line for round 1 2008 of:

Edwards is also another player for the Ants that I would be hoping would be pushing for senior selection next year, and this forward line means we are far less predictable when we go forward. Furthermore, we kicked 21 goals against the Bulldogs a few weeks ago with minimal input from Fev.

I'm hoping we can get Maaric in the second round of this years draft as a half-foward or foward pocket :D.

[/quote] Judd is out of contract at years end, and he may want to come back to Victoria. They would want to get the best deal they could, and a true FF and a draft pick/player might just be the deal they are looking for.[/quote]

I reckon they would do that trade as most other clubs wouldn't be willing to trade a player of fevola's level and they need a full foward.

Thrawn
1 Jul 2007, 21:44
Furthermore, we kicked 21 goals against the Bulldogs a few weeks ago with minimal input from Fev.

Depends how you define "minimal". On the scoreboard, sure. But we have to rememeber that he was dragging two or three defenders with him, in the process this puts less pressue on our other forwards. When he's not kicking goals, he's being used as a decoy. It's good to see us kicking goals without him having a big game, but it's more than that.

Also thank our midfield too - they're running into and kicking more goals than they usually would, say, a year or two ago. I'm not surprised the forwardl ine is kicking a lot more goals, due to Fisher and Waite being solid (and not being out for large chunks).

Looks a lot weaker.

But that's just on paper. So who knows. But I'd still say it's better having Fev in there than not.

Blue Dawn
1 Jul 2007, 21:46
I think some overrate the value of our players. I'd personally want Fev to stay, as although he has put in a few shockers, losing him will hurt. BUT if we were to go for a trade, I'd be very happy if managed:

Fev to West Coast

for

Seaby's a very good ruckman, and did well as WC's first before Cox came in. At 200cm, he's a good height for a ruckman, unlike Ackland, Cloke and Mclaren, and besides, he's a better player than all three. He's not half bad when resting up forward either, and at 23 still has a lot of footy ahead of him, and improvement as well.

Shannon Hurn is a player I would love at Carlton. Has played most of his footy at West Coast on HB, because of the strength of their midfield, but has went into the middle in the last fortnight and done very well. Similar player to Walker in that he can run and carry, has got a lethal, thumping kick - one of the best running kicks for goal from outside 50 in the competition. At 19, he fits in well with the age of our other midfielders. Imagine having Walker, Murphy, Gibbs and Hurn in the same midfield in four years time. After writing that, I'm not so sure I'd want Fev to stay, if we can orchestrate that deal. :thumbsu:

I'd seriously consider that trade option. I'd also find trades involving Judd or Dal Santo attractive. Charman + 1st rounder i'd take at this stage too.

Pyro666
1 Jul 2007, 22:01
I heard a Blues fan yell out at the Subi game yesterday,
"Name your price Fevola, you're a joke!"

Funny thing is, no Blues supporters had a dig at him, or told him to piss off.

TheGeneral
1 Jul 2007, 22:20
When I suggested we should put Fisher up for a trade because he can't kick over a jam tin and is injury prone Bluebear was shocked. I was the one of the few who suggested we should trade Lance and the very idea was ridiculed on here because the club needed him to help our young players develop. After one bad game, the same Carlton supporters who were patting Fev on the back after the Bombers game and said we needed Lance have the knives out for our best match winner.

Now he's expendable.

They're also saying Lance is gone.

Wonders never cease!

HBF

Funny thing is, no Blues supporters had a dig at him, or told him to piss off.

Good call that. :thumbsu:

TheGeneral
You misheard that comment!

That was someone trying to sell Fev some coke.

TheGeneral
1 Jul 2007, 22:24
thats a bit useless isn't it?

got to accept that this is how fev is - if he hasn't changed by now - he won't. he isn't "young" anymore

come trade time - when trades happen, either someone pays too much for a trade - or another pays under the odds - rarely is it a "fair deal"

on the back of what several clubs would have learned from the tarrant trade (where freo paid WAY to much for him ) - and the reverse in fortunes for freo and collingwood ( freo expected top 4- now will be lucky to make the 8 - the pies expected bottom 4 - now fighting for top 4)

most clubs will be only looking at trading for fev if its a good deal "for them" - so that if it backfires (like history shows - it most likely will ) - the public backlash will not be as damaging.

if trading him then is not an option - then what do you do to stop him being such a bloody prat?? something must be done - because he is not changing and he is getting to the age now where he is too old to change.
You're a Richmond supporter mate who is posting nonsense trades and hasn't even bothered to vote in the poll.

F*ck off!

TorresIsGod
1 Jul 2007, 22:27
Pendlebury, Thomas, Shaw, Cloke, Reid, Goldsack, Clarke, Swan for Fevola

Thrawn
1 Jul 2007, 22:28
When I suggested we should put Fisher up for a trade because he can't kick over a jam tin and is injury prone Bluebear was shocked. I was the one of the few who suggested we should trade Lance and the very idea was ridiculed on here because the club needed him to help our young players develop. After one bad game, the same Carlton supporters who were patting Fev on the back after the Bombers game and said we needed Lance have the knives out for our best match winner.

Now he's expendable.

They're also saying Lance is gone.

Wonders never cease!

For the record, I'm a supporter of Lance too. But I also question the viability of trading Fevola so easily, especially for someone like Hurn.

One even mentioned Brad Green + 2nd round pick.

Pyro666
1 Jul 2007, 22:36
You misheard that comment!

That was someone trying to sell Fev some coke.Pretty sure we were playing the Dockers, not the Eagles ;)

Andyt30
1 Jul 2007, 22:37
no Bloody Way He aint be going no where if he did hope he kicks 8 goals a game.

mac25
1 Jul 2007, 22:40
I went no but I would consider it if we could get a superstar midfielder for him.

l believe we are still two -three years from being a finals contender so if Carlton could obtain early draft picks from e.g Melbourne or Richmond or a quality player a midfielder in return then you would be silly not to seriously consider it, as by the time we are ready to play finals Fevola is going to be in the twilight of his career.

Jimthegreat
1 Jul 2007, 22:41
What idiot would ever want to even think about trading an 80 goal+ foward, Coleman Medalist and our best player. Like those types really on trees. Sure we'll find someone better in the draft or through a trade....not!!! Certainly not in the short term, probably not in the medium term, maybe never. Maybe a few could dust off the round 3 game against Essendon this year where he kicked 8 goals in virtually a half and weon us the game. People should try the ary of thinking with their brain and not they scambled emotions. Funnily enough, it works better.

sosos
1 Jul 2007, 22:54
Would really like to know the real reason(s) for his behaviour recently.

Can't vote because i can't decide. If the reasons to the above question are like some of those being put forward then, of course we should consider a beneficial trade(Would have to be BLOODY GOOD!)

But what if there is something else going on?

By the way, does anyone know whether he is back on the drink this year?

TorresIsGod
1 Jul 2007, 22:55
Fevola to Adelaide (with a 2nd round pick) for Rutten

Fevola to Brisbane (with a 2nd round pick) for Charman
Fevola to Brisbane for Rischitelli

Fevola to Collingwood for Rusling + 2nd round pick

Fevola to Essendon (with a 2nd round draft pick) for Ryder & Davey

Fevola to Fremantle for Ryan Murphy & Robert Warnock

Fevola to Geelong (with a first round pick) for Jimmy Bartel or Garry Ablett

Fevola to Hawthorn (with a second round pick) for Robert Campbell & Ben McGlynn or Grant Birchall

Fevola to Kangaroos (with a second round pick) for Wells & D. Harris

Fevola to Melbourne (with a second round pick) for Bruce

Fevola to Port Adelaide for Justin Westhoff and second round pick

Fevola to Richmond (with a second round pick) for Graham Polak & Mark Coughland

Fevola to Sydney (with a first round pick) for Ryan O'Keefe & Darren Jolly

Fevola to St. Kilda (with a second & third round pick) for Nick Dal Santo & Brendan Goddard

Fevola to West Coast for Mark Seaby & Shannon Hurn or Matt Priddis

These are just the players I feel would best suit us, obviously, it would be nice to get some defenders like Glass or Scarlett (but they would never leave, neither would Rutten, but it was either Rutten or Griffen from Adelaide)

What do you guys think of some of these trades, feel free to add your own in.

BLue_Bloys
1 Jul 2007, 22:56
For the record, I'm a supporter of Lance too. But I also question the viability of trading Fevola so easily, especially for someone like Hurn.

One even mentioned Brad Green + 2nd round pick.

That was me who mentioned it i was simply throwing around idea's because you were too stubborn to even listen to my argument.

Do you also mention that my primary case was a premier player like Kerr, Judd, Cox, etc etc. Which you would say "do you really think WC would be willing to give up blah blah blah"

So i try to provide alternatives and you're too one sided about this "issue" (issue being a toping where there is at least two sides covering a topic!)

Thrawn
1 Jul 2007, 23:12
That was me who mentioned it i was simply throwing around idea's because you were too stubborn to even listen to my argument.

I did see your argument, and I replied to it.

Which you would say "do you really think WC would be willing to give up blah blah blah"

But it's true.

When talking of trades, one needs a realistic view on things. Kerr and Cox or Judd and Cox for just Fevola alone?

So i try to provide alternatives and you're too one sided about this "issue" (issue being a toping where there is at least two sides covering a topic!)

Some of your alternatives are poor. Brad Green? That would be maniacal.

I have said in the past time and time again, we should only trade Fevola if the trade can cover his loss. There is no point trading a really good player if the end result is a certain loss on your side. If you're going to trade him, trade him for a) what his worth is and b) something in which our team will benefit from and c) make sure you're trading for something that would make his loss minimal at best.

Don't try and accuse me of being one sided when you don't know what I even think about this issue in the first place. Brad Green + a 2nd rounds is just ridiculous for a player with the calibre as Fevola.

Magnificence
1 Jul 2007, 23:14

Agreed. He kills me but GOD I LOVE HIM

TorresIsGod
1 Jul 2007, 23:16
Sean Rusling will win the Coleman Medal one day, if we traded Fevola to Collingwood for him + a 2nd round pick, I'd take that.

BLue_Bloys
1 Jul 2007, 23:21
I did see your argument, and I replied to it.

But it's true.

When talking of trades, one needs a realistic view on things. Kerr and Cox or Judd and Cox for just Fevola alone?

Some of your alternatives are poor. Brad Green? That would be maniacal.

I have said in the past time and time again, we should only trade Fevola if the trade can cover his loss. There is no point trading a really good player if the end result is a certain loss on your side. If you're going to trade him, trade him for a) what his worth is and b) something in which our team will benefit from and c) make sure you're trading for something that would make his loss minimal at best.

Don't try and accuse me of being one sided when you don't know what I even think about this issue in the first place. Brad Green + a 2nd rounds is just ridiculous for a player with the calibre as Fevola.

I think i just figured out why your so against the WC trade, why the hell would they give two players of that calibre when clearly they are all the equal of Fevola???

Seriouly i'm saying direct swap for Judd/Kerr/Cox/ or Glass
With this kind of trade it improves either our Midfield or Defense and our Forwards should be able to hold their own without Fev

Thrawn
1 Jul 2007, 23:44
I think i just figured out why your so against the WC trade, why the hell would they give two players of that calibre when clearly they are all the equal of Fevola???

They wouldn't.

I wouldn't say that Fevola is in their calibre either.

Seriouly i'm saying direct swap for Judd/Kerr/Cox/ or Glass
With this kind of trade it improves either our Midfield or Defense and our Forwards should be able to hold their own without Fev

That's what you hope for to happen, does it mean it is likely though? Yes, I'd love Glass too but would he be as effective at Carlton with little support, hardly any team work and no confidence in each other and themselves? Iso ne player going to turn everything around? Then you have to think about how the opposition club will react to the trade, and how they will go with it for the future, not just us.

The emphasis has to go into team here. Things like motivation, confidence and work ethic have to be resolved first. Otherwise even with an incredibly talented list, we'll never win a flag.

Black JuJu
2 Jul 2007, 09:04
Some of those Eagles trades are a bit ambitious lads, I won't go on about that as everyone should be allowed to throw around ideas on their own team board.

I reckon if Fev was on the move you'd have more luck with the Dogs or the Pies than West Coast, aside from the fact that I doubt Fev would want to leave Melbourne, it would be uncharacteristic of West Coast to really go for such a trade (at anywhere near the cost you're estimating anyway). We baulked at what Collingwood wanted for Tarrant last year and really didn't enter much further into it.

When you take into account stuff like attitude, perceived off field issues and on field performance - if he wasn't to turn around this form slump, which would be the only scenario in which he was getting traded I assume? - I think you'd probably looking at a similar value on the market as Tarrant, especially in today's PR crazy enviroment. That said, the Pies didn't do too bad at all from that deal.

But at the end of the day, you're probably better off hanging onto the big lug, maybe a new coach might reinvigorate Fev?

That's my 2 cents anyway. :thumbsu:

Sockit151
2 Jul 2007, 11:38
Agreed. He kills me but GOD I LOVE HIM
Have long had a similar opinion, but i'm almost sick of his antics.. Maybe its time to trade up while he still holds significant value, like we should have with Whitnall (who i'm also a big fan of) 3 years ago!!

hoogs
2 Jul 2007, 14:12
He's just been suspended.

source: SEN following Carlton news conference

Bluebear
2 Jul 2007, 14:14
He's just been suspended.

source: SEN following Carlton news conference
Geez mate you're all over this one.........announced at 11.30 and only with multiple threads dedicated to the subject...........:o

pure blue
2 Jul 2007, 14:24
I give a big, resounding NO for that notion.

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

hoogs
2 Jul 2007, 14:31
Geez mate you're all over this one.........announced at 11.30 and only with multiple threads dedicated to the subject...........:o

No one on the thread appeared to have noticed. Seems like your the one all over this. " :o "

Bluebear
2 Jul 2007, 14:57
No one on the thread appeared to have noticed. Seems like your the one all over this. " :o "
Multiple new threads appeared on the main board to discuss this exact point. Sorry it didn't appear in the one thread you care about, but when you posted at 1/4 past 1, we had been talking about this for over an hour and a half.:o

nice work "Hutchy":p

mad-saint-guy
2 Jul 2007, 15:06
Most of you are over-estimating his value quite a bit.

Remember, he will be 27 at the start of next season and doesn't seem like the world's most committed or dedicated player, so he's probably only got 3-4 seasons left. Then add the fact that he has a shocking attitude and comes with a lot of baggage and a huge salary and you won't be getting too much for him.

Yes, he is an 80 goal per-year forward, but that is assuming that he plays most of the year and doesn't get himself in more trouble.

Fevola to Adelaide (with a 2nd round pick) for Rutten

That may work, but only if Adelaide knew they had a suitable replacement

Fevola to Brisbane (with a 2nd round pick) for Charman

Brisbane don't need Favola. They already have Brown and Bradshaw as proven guns with Clark a future star and Patfull performing well. They still have salary cap problems as well

Fevola to Collingwood for Rusling + 2nd round pick

That could work, but if Collingwod don't finish top 4 then you would probably have to make it their third round pick

Fevola to Essendon (with a 2nd round draft pick) for Ryder & Davey

No way would Essendon give up their 10-year CHB and a gun small forward for yet another tall forward with a limited future

Fevola to Fremantle for Ryan Murphy & Robert Warnock

Freo wouldn't have the cap space

Fevola to Geelong (with a first round pick) for Jimmy Bartel or Garry Ablett

If Geelong gave up Bartel or Ablett the town would become a war zone. Geelong don't need him anyway with Mooney, Nablett, Ottens and Hawkins as tall forward options

Fevola to Hawthorn (with a second round pick) for Robert Campbell & Ben McGlynn or Grant Birchall

Won't happen. Campbell is their number one ruckman and McGlynn is becoming one of their best midfielders. Both have their best footy ahead of them and will peak when Hawthorn are a genuine premiership threat

Fevola to Kangaroos (with a second round pick) for Wells & D. Harris

No way. Wellls will be their best midfielder for the next 8-10 years and Harris will probably be their second best. Fevola and Thompson would get in each other's way

Fevola to Melbourne (with a second round pick) for Bruce

Carlton would be the big losers. Bruce is a quality midfielder but no superstar. Only has a few good years left and to throw in a second round pick would be screwing Carlton even more

Fevola to Port Adelaide for Justin Westhoff and second round pick

Carlton would want to see Westhoff string more than 4 good games together before making that trade. Port probably wouldn't accept anyway, since Fev will be in the twilight of his career when they are again a gun team

Fevola to Richmond (with a second round pick) for Graham Polak & Mark Coughland

They wouldn't do that. Fev will be long gone before Richmond are a half-decent team

Fevola to Sydney (with a first round pick) for Ryan O'Keefe & Darren Jolly

No chance in hell. Sydney will want to have two more cracks at a flag before they crash and burn. They would have no chance without O'Keefe and Jolly, while O'Loughlin, Hall and Fevola are fighting for space inside 50

Fevola to St. Kilda (with a second & third round pick) for Nick Dal Santo & Brendan Goddard

No chance in hell. Take out Dal Santo and Goddard from the saints 2008 team (assuming Harvey retires) and there is the worst midfield in the competition. (possibly Gehrig) Riewoldt, Koschitzke, Watts and Brooks already on the list as tall forwards

Fevola to West Coast for Mark Seaby & Shannon Hurn or Matt Priddis

Not enough cap space. West Coast would rather get rid of players like Fletcher and Braun, and they are too old for Carlton's youth policy.

Bluebear
2 Jul 2007, 15:09
Most of you are over-estimating his value quite a bit.

Remember, he will be 27 at the start of next season and doesn't seem like the world's most committed or dedicated player, so he's probably only got 3-4 seasons left. Then add the fact that he has a shocking attitude and comes with a lot of baggage and a huge salary and you won't be getting too much for him.

Yes, he is an 80 goal per-year forward, but that is assuming that he plays most of the year and doesn't get himself in more trouble.

Who proposed those trades?:o
no-one on here I hope.

borgy
2 Jul 2007, 15:17
McMahon + 2nd rounder???

bLuEbOy1984
2 Jul 2007, 17:51
he has alot to offer to this club of ours.. yes he does have issues on and off the field.... i personally dont think his man managed well.. thats why these things keep occurring

whippersnipper
2 Jul 2007, 18:21
Well its reassuring at least to see that most people want Fevola to stay. Now if we can only get the same support for Pagan to disappear! (Although its getting there...)

Andyt30
2 Jul 2007, 18:56
Well its reassuring at least to see that most people want Fevola to stay. Now if we can only get the same support for Pagan to disappear! (Although its getting there...)

if he did say get traded. i'd be hoping who ever he went to would kick 10 goals and say thanks for trading me :)