View Full Version : Lloyds Replacement

Pages : [1] 2

havoc_planet
3 Jul 2007, 20:42
Ok, If lloyd is gonna be rubbed out (like it seems to be)

Who is gonna line up at FF

Longy413
3 Jul 2007, 20:43
Lucas.

Bradley should play CHF, if he doesn't then our match committee is sending the wrong message.

bring it on
3 Jul 2007, 20:45
bradely is a dud... bring in gumby

carnthedons07premiers
3 Jul 2007, 20:46
Gumby

BOMBERSG8
3 Jul 2007, 20:46
Ok, If lloyd is gonna be rubbed out (like it seems to be)

Who is gonna line up at FF
If they play Courtney Johns weve lost play kep and bring tommy hilsops or Scott Gumbleton

EssendonPride
3 Jul 2007, 20:48
I'd love to see Laycock at FF, with Lucas and Bradley playing a sort of Duel Pronged CHF.

Laycocks contested marking is superb.

Would be a big mistake not to bring in Bradley if we can't get Lloyd off.

Almost tempted to want CJ back in the side, purely for his marking/size. More of a direct replacement for Lloyd than Bradley would be, but i think Laycock would be a better option. Bradley's form must be rewarded.

Longy413
3 Jul 2007, 20:49
bradely is a dud... bring in gumby

Bradley has been dominating CHF at VFL level for a number of weeks.

If he doesn't come in for Lloyd, we are sending a message to our young players that no matter how well you play, good form won't get you a game when a spot opens up.

That isn't healthy for our footy club. Bradley deserves a game if Lloyd misses, his form has demanded it.

Gumby is one week back from an extensive time on the sidelines. He's a kid that was well protected on the weekend. I can't wait to see him, but if he plays ahead of Bradley then we're a joke.

dave_27
3 Jul 2007, 20:51
The same bloke that filled in for Lloyd last year and booted 60+ goals. ;)

Scarlett is in for a almighty de-pansting from Lucas this Friday.

High Ryder
3 Jul 2007, 20:55
Lucas.

Bradley should play CHF, if he doesn't then our match committee is sending the wrong message.
Johns ahead of Bradley.

Bradley worries me, i really dont think he will make it. Johns had a very good game vs Geelong last year IIRC?

dave_27
3 Jul 2007, 20:59
Johns ahead of Bradley.

Bradley worries me, i really dont think he will make it. Johns had a very good game vs Geelong last year IIRC?

Johns had his go with Lucas against Hawthorn and the Roos while Lloyd was out and it didnt work well at all.

Its time to give Kepler a run at it.

DonMania#5
3 Jul 2007, 21:01
Kepler, has been kicking bags in the VFL.

High Ryder
3 Jul 2007, 21:03
Kepler, has been kicking bags in the VFL.
3-4 isnt a bag...

Longy413
3 Jul 2007, 21:04
3-4 isnt a bag...

From CHF it's as good as, especially when you're bringing down 10-15 marks whilst doing it.

We're a better team this year because Lloyd is kicking 3-4 each week.

jnash196
3 Jul 2007, 21:05
Just play the lumbering dinosaur (Laycock) at full forward, Dustin Fletcher works as well

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
3-4 isnt a bag...
But it's still a pretty decent effort from CHF whilst collecting 20+ disposals and 10-15 marks.

High Ryder
Johns had his go with Lucas against Hawthorn and the Roos while Lloyd was out and it didnt work well at all.

Its time to give Kepler a run at it.
He was poor those games but he has proven more at AFL level than Bradley imo and i believe he'd provide a better target imo. Hes more likely to kick us 4-5 than Bradley is. Comparing them, Johns has better hands and is a better kick for goal meaning he is more suited imo.

Bomberland06
3 Jul 2007, 21:07
Bring in Johns or gumbleton

Longy413
3 Jul 2007, 21:08
He was poor those games but he has proven more at AFL level than Bradley imo and i believe he'd provide a better target imo. Hes more likely to kick us 4-5 than Bradley is. Comparing them, Johns has better hands and is a better kick for goal meaning he is more suited imo.

Career high -
Johns - 3
Bradley - 4

marcuz
3 Jul 2007, 21:10
Dyson

High Ryder
From CHF it's as good as, especially when you're bringing down 10-15 marks whilst doing it.

We're a better team this year because Lloyd is kicking 3-4 each week.
Yep but i don't think Bradley can do it at AFL level. I'd much rather we play it safe and Johns plays presuming he's fit of course.

I actually would prefer another mid came into replace Lloyd because if Stanton and Winders are out were going to need all the run we can get as its pretty obvios they are our best runners. The cats only really have Ablett and Mooney as tall forwards so i'd rotate Ryder and Laycock through the forward line. Although that doesnt let Fletcher play as a free man in the backline which i dont think Geelong would let happen anyway.

havoc_planet
Career high -
Johns - 3
Bradley - 4
lol never mind i was mistaken

kelvin_sheedy
3 Jul 2007, 21:11
Bradley in for Lloyd is the only option.

Johns has been playing CHB the past few weeks and did not play in the VFL on the weekend.

Laycock full forward with Bradley and Lucas the mobile CHF's.

jnash196
Jimmy to captain in game number 250

wazzabp
If appeal fails(which I'm sure it wont):
Out-Loyd.
In-Hille.
Bradley may come into the calculations, his forms been pretty good and would pose a nuisance across half forward.

High Ryder
3 Jul 2007, 21:12
Career high -
Johns - 3
Bradley - 4
However Bradley's only managed that once against Brisbane when we kicked 25 goals as a team.

CORZA
i reckon gumby his been in descent form in the reserves .. get campo out and put lovett murray in :thumbsu:

Longy413
However Bradley's only managed that once against Brisbane when we kicked 25 goals as a team.

Probably because he's only been played as a forward once.

dave_27
3 Jul 2007, 21:16
Paddy Ryder a possibility?

kelvin_sheedy
3 Jul 2007, 21:17
i reckon gumby his been in descent form in the reserves .. get campo out and put lovett murray in :thumbsu:

Gumby has been injured for about 6 weeks and it was his first game back last week and he only played about 60% of the game.

Do some research boy!

High Ryder
3 Jul 2007, 21:18
Paddy Ryder a possibility?
Thats what i'd do...

Bring in an extra mid for Lloyd (were going to need as many runners as we can get) and Stick Paddy up forward.

Jono B
3 Jul 2007, 21:20
Just play the lumbering dinosaur (Laycock) at full forward, Dustin Fletcher works as well
Definately Laycock, he has really been a very dangerous target over the last few games, bringing in another tall would hurt our running depth.

DonMania#5
3 Jul 2007, 21:21
3-4 isnt a bag...
For a CHF, it is. :thumbsu:

High Ryder
3 Jul 2007, 21:25
Dont get me wronng i think Bradley could be a handy 3rd forward but relying on him as a main target has me worried.

havoc_planet
3 Jul 2007, 21:26
Bring in Fevola :D

Longy413
3 Jul 2007, 21:28
Dont get me wronng i think Bradley could be a handy 3rd forward but relying on him as a main target has me worried.

Isn't Lucas playing?

;)

Between Lucas and Hille/Laycock, Bradley would be our third target.

Crave
3 Jul 2007, 21:32

If he doesn't come in for Lloyd, we are sending a message to our young players that no matter how well you play, good form won't get you a game when a spot opens up.

That isn't healthy for our footy club. Bradley deserves a game if Lloyd misses, his form has demanded it.

Gumby is one week back from an extensive time on the sidelines. He's a kid that was well protected on the weekend. I can't wait to see him, but if he plays ahead of Bradley then we're a joke.

While I agree with Bradley being brought in as his form warrants it, Scarlett would have to be pencilled in to win against either Johns or Kep.

Id have Lucas at FF and Bradley taking over from Lucas' role.

High Ryder
3 Jul 2007, 21:34
Isn't Lucas playing?

;)

Between Lucas and Hille/Laycock, Bradley would be our third target.
If Bradley played would the match comitee be likely to do this though? I'd suggest they'd be more likely to rotate Hille and Laycock off the bench. Will be very interesting in which way they go. Another option i just thought of was playing Gus out of the square. What are peoples opinions on that??

EssendonPride
3 Jul 2007, 21:36
While I agree with Bradley being brought in as his form warrants it, Scarlett would have to be pencilled in to win against either Johns or Kep.

Laycock at FF.
Really think he could give Scarlett a test.

Bradley and Lucas both mobile chf's as i said earlier.

Whats the problem with that kind of setup?

Crave
3 Jul 2007, 21:36
Id leave Laycock as our number one ruckman. Hille returning should match them easily in the middle.

Makes no difference who we place at FF if we dont get first use in the centre.

This game is a mini final for us, make no mistake about that.

havoc_planet
3 Jul 2007, 21:37
If Bradley played would the match comitee be likely to do this though? I'd suggest they'd be more likely to rotate Hille and Laycock off the bench. Will be very interesting in which way they go. Another option i just thought of was playing Gus out of the square. What are peoples opinions on that??

Not entirley Stupid if he is in form.....We seen williams from hawks Last year do ok as a Midget FF, but i dont think he is ready yet. I can see a Johnson or McPhee Dropping back.....McPhee best contested mark in EFC IMO

Crave
3 Jul 2007, 21:37
Laycock at FF.
Really think he could give Scarlett a test.

Bradley and Lucas both mobile chf's as i said earlier.

Whats the problem with that kind of setup?

We need both Hille and Laycock in the ruck at all times to give our midfield first use of the ball, or we may as well pack up after half time.

Longy413
3 Jul 2007, 21:38

I agree, actually said that in my first post on this thread.

SJ
3 Jul 2007, 21:38
The same bloke that filled in for Lloyd last year and booted 60+ goals. ;)

Scarlett is in for a almighty de-pansting from Lucas this Friday.
Scarlett will take your full forward, not Lucas. And if Lucas plays there, watch this year's All Australian wear Lucas like a glove.

Longy413
3 Jul 2007, 21:39
Scarlett will take your full forward, not Lucas. And if Lucas plays there, watch this year's All Australian wear Lucas like a glove.

Well we're no chance then.

I can't see us beating Geelong if they have Darren Glass and Dustin Fletcher playing for them.

EssendonPride
3 Jul 2007, 21:39

Wouldn't bother with Gus out of the square.

Having Lloyd back proves how much better we play when we have the confidence to bang it long.

I think they'd prefer kicking it to someone like Laycock, or if that fails Lucas.

Longy413
3 Jul 2007, 21:42
Better off trying Davey or Lovett out of the square than Monfries.

jhgoat
3 Jul 2007, 21:43

wasnt fletcher criticised for the last 6 years for taking the full forward and not the best forward.....

High Ryder
3 Jul 2007, 21:44
Pagan's paddock style? start everyone on the half forward line??

SJ
3 Jul 2007, 21:45
wasnt fletcher criticised for the last 6 years for taking the full forward and not the best forward.....
I thought that's what a full back generally did.

dave_27

Not too bad of a idea in relation to lovett.

He's been played a few times out of the goal sqaure in the last year for parts of a game and he's always netted a goal out of it.

I'd expect to see it again this week.

havoc_planet

I Disagree with you (and probably for the first time ever lol)
I think Both of the above mentioned will be pushed onto the flanks, but playing Up a little bit....If we keep our forward line open, I think they will cause chaos runnin into an open forward line.

Jono B
3 Jul 2007, 21:47
How about McVeigh??

havoc_planet
3 Jul 2007, 21:48
How about McVeigh??

Nice idea, But would be a waste i think

havoc_planet
3 Jul 2007, 21:49
I dont like to say it, But Expect Sheedy to take a Page from the gippsland leagues book, and use flooding tactics this week:rolleyes:

Will restrict them a lot, while keeping our forward line open!

Does anyone know how Jetta is Fairing?

discotrain
3 Jul 2007, 21:54
this is crap!!!!!!!! llyodd gets rubbed out for the same thing goodes has done twice this year. anyway put scotty in the square and give gumby a go!

Longy413
3 Jul 2007, 21:54
I Disagree with you (and probably for the first time ever lol)
I think Both of the above mentioned will be pushed onto the flanks, but playing Up a little bit....If we keep our forward line open, I think they will cause chaos runnin into an open forward line.

It's worked in the past.
It wouldn't be something we'd do for the whole game but with Lloyd out we have to explore different paths to go.

Lucas will be the prime target but Geelong do have a very good backline and Scotty will have to be at his absolute best. If we can give Scotty and sort of space he'll have a good night, but we'll also need to find ways of exploiting Geelong's smaller defenders.

One weakness is the defensive skills of their small backs.

How about McVeigh??

Again, another we could rotate through there.

We need a plan A, B and C. Part of the reason Melbourne came back last week was because once they got their match ups right, we took too long to adjust. We just hoped that what worked in the first quarter would work all night.

brookers#5
3 Jul 2007, 21:59
why not give young ryder a crack up forward his been really good this year but looks like he might of hit that young players wall over the last few weeks maybe a week up forward could revitalise him

bhorjus
3 Jul 2007, 22:08
I would love to see Gumblton get a run. That probarly won't happen though. If Hille is back you may swap him and Laycock out of the goal square.

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
3 Jul 2007, 22:15
Really? I wouldv'e thought Monfires would be a much better option than Lovett or Davey. Monfries can actually play like as a FF when he's played deep (iv'e seen it a few times), for some reason i can't imagine Lovett and Davey being able to do this and play as key targets.

Darealrath
3 Jul 2007, 22:27
I'm with Longy to the 413. Bradley should have a crack. We've got some decent options with Hille and Laycock as well. Bloke called Hird has kicked a few goals in his time too.

For a left field one JJ could also be an option as a leading target.

mathew ollaik
3 Jul 2007, 22:35
This won't happen, but I will love to see it:
Bring Johns in, to play in the back-line and play Fletcher at full-forward!!!!

brookers#5
3 Jul 2007, 22:37
so no one believes in seeing how ryder does as a forward we've seen how good buddy is & i dont think his physical attributes are all that different

mathew ollaik
3 Jul 2007, 22:39
so no one believes in seeing how ryder does as a forward we've seen how good buddy is & i dont think his physical attributes are all that different

Yeah, i agree we should give him a go up forward.

havoc_planet
3 Jul 2007, 22:40

Although you bring up an extremley valid point champ, If we were to Take Ryder out of the backline for an extended amount of time, It will leave us vulnerable. He WILL however get his chance there for small amounts on the weekend

brookers#5
3 Jul 2007, 22:43
yea i know wat u mean but micheal/mooney fletcher/ablett most of there other forwards are middle sized thoe wen ottens went forward u may need him down there

brookers#5
3 Jul 2007, 22:44
why not bring in bradley then free up ryder even thoe i think bradley is a dud no offence i'm sure he could do a job

mathew ollaik
3 Jul 2007, 22:44
This will probably happen:

hf: Lovett Lucas Welsh

ff: Davey Laycock Bradley

brookers#5
3 Jul 2007, 22:46
fair enough wat are your thoughts on laycock he looked better last week up until then i'd always thought he wasn't mobile enough to make the grade

mathew ollaik
3 Jul 2007, 22:51
fair enough wat are your thoughts on laycock he looked better last week up until then i'd always thought he wasn't mobile enough to make the grade

may i just ask: Why are u so intrested in the Essendon vs Geelong game if ur a Hawthorn supporter?

brookers#5
3 Jul 2007, 22:56
lol umm i dont know nothing interesting on the hawthorn threads so i'm just having a look to see wat else is going on just trying to learn as much about all the players as i can always trust a fans judgement aslong as there not to biased over an expert

mathew ollaik
3 Jul 2007, 22:59
lol umm i dont know nothing interesting on the hawthorn threads so i'm just having a look to see wat else is going on just trying to learn as much about all the players as i can always trust a fans judgement aslong as there not to biased over an expert

Fair enough. Hopefully we can make u an Essendon supporter. lol.;)

brookers#5
3 Jul 2007, 23:02
haha na your still the side i love to beat the most but i think if hawthorn was like that i'd love it, it means your doing something right if everyone hates you i think its a respect thing but do you reckon laycock will make it

mathew ollaik
3 Jul 2007, 23:08
Laycock will be an alright player. Just another handy player for Essendon.

brookers#5
3 Jul 2007, 23:10
fair enough i believe everyside needs two ruckman so i'm sure he'll be fine as number 2 ruckman/ forward. good luck for the rest of the year

mathew ollaik
3 Jul 2007, 23:25
fair enough i believe everyside needs two ruckman so i'm sure he'll be fine as number 2 ruckman/ forward. good luck for the rest of the year

cheers mate

Duckworth
3 Jul 2007, 23:31
This won't happen, but I will love to see it:
Bring Johns in, to play in the back-line and play Fletcher at full-forward!!!!

What a waste playing Fletcher at Full Forward. Put him in the center square and let him kick goals from there! Full Forwards pfffft! :p

I think a safer plan is to bring in both Kepler and Johns. We need a back up plan. If one doesn't work then try the other. Hopefully one will grab their chance like Laycock did last week. This is a huge pain to the midfield rotations on the bench though esp with Winderlich and Stanton's injury concerns. If it came to a choice I would prefer Kepler, has had good form in VFL. Also I believe Lloyd has been playing up the ground a bit lately too and I see Kepler as being more mobile.

I don't actually believe that Lloyds ban will stand but sometimes this kind of thing works out ok as it forces someone to put their hand up.

Kepler Bradley - Carpe Diem!

mathew ollaik
3 Jul 2007, 23:38
What a waste playing Fletcher at Full Forward. Put him in the center square and let him kick goals from there! Full Forwards pfffft! :p

I think a safer plan is to bring in both Kepler and Johns. We need a back up plan. If one doesn't work then try the other. Hopefully one will grab their chance like Laycock did last week. This is a huge pain to the midfield rotations on the bench though esp with Winderlich and Stanton's injury concerns. If it came to a choice I would prefer Kepler, has had good form in VFL. Also I believe Lloyd has been playing up the ground a bit lately too and I see Kepler as being more mobile.

I don't actually believe that Lloyds ban will stand but sometimes this kind of thing works out ok as it forces someone to put their hand up.

Kepler Bradley - Carpe Diem!

Stuff Johns for now. In the VFL, he is being developed into a backman. I agree with everything else. Plus if u didn't realise, I was just joking about Fletcher playing up forward.

Tambu
3 Jul 2007, 23:43

Why has Lonergan yet to play a senior game this year?

I do agree though, Bradley deserves a spot this week.

Duckworth
4 Jul 2007, 00:01
Stuff Johns for now. In the VFL, he is being developed into a backman. I agree with everything else. Plus if u didn't realise, I was just joking about Fletcher playing up forward.

lol yeah I knew you were joking. I just want to see Fletcher kick more 60m goals from the square!! Hope i'm not alone?

Good point for CJ, I still see him as a forward though. I do hope that he can reinvent himself as a back. With Neagle and Gumby coming through he may find himself as trade bait if he can't (and may do anyway)

Azzballz Deluxe
4 Jul 2007, 00:46
I wouldn't be too bummed if Sheeds brings in Keps and CJ. Like someone said in an earlier post, its good to have a plan b and c. I personally would like to see Laycock line up at FF, hille ruck, CJ start back or bench, and if all goes to shit or someone needs a break, for example Johns or lucas can go to the sqaure, Laycock ruck, hille bench or CHF etc. etc. etc.

How will we know if Keps doesn't have what it takes floating around the F50 if he doesn't get a chance,, or CJ to be a handy Backmen???

And another thing is, Geelong would find it hard to settle.

Need a good start!!

Duckworth
4 Jul 2007, 01:02
Need a good start and then for things to not go ass up in the 2nd quarter either.

NathanS
4 Jul 2007, 01:15
The question in my mind is how is CJ's shoulder??

I don't believe CJ is being developed into a backman only... I think that they're just trying make him more flexible as a footballer. It's not like he's suddenly forgotten how to play full forward.

If CJ isn't 100% with his shoulder, bring in Gumby for him. And like others have mentioned, also put Bradley into the side adds further flexibility. With his form at Bendigo level it'd be nice to put the ANZAC day horror behind him.

Azzballz Deluxe
4 Jul 2007, 01:22
The question in my mind is how is CJ's shoulder??

I don't believe CJ is being developed into a backman only... I think that they're just trying make him more flexible as a footballer. It's not like he's suddenly forgotten how to play full forward.

If CJ isn't 100% with his shoulder, bring in Gumby for him. And like others have mentioned, also put Bradley into the side adds further flexibility. With his form at Bendigo level it'd be nice to put the ANZAC day horror behind him.

Yeah, but...he's only been back for one game...i dont know....maybe let him keep his form in the magoos............:confused:

dave_27
4 Jul 2007, 08:19
For a left field one JJ could also be an option as a leading target.

Sorry darealrath but that is smoking crack left field. ;)

mustapha
4 Jul 2007, 09:15
What about Hille at full forward for parts of the match? Both Hille and Laycock can take a grab in the forward line. We just need Laycock to have a good game in the ruck again. So far in his career he has been hot and cold.

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
4 Jul 2007, 09:51
If anyone will kick a bag out of Hille and Laycock it'll be Laycock. Laycock is a good target up forward because he is a very strong mark and is very good overhead where as IMO Hille is better when he just drifts forward when in the ruck rather than actually being a "key target" as such.

Pevers-Legend
4 Jul 2007, 10:18
Hille has never worked as a key forward. His best returns have been either in the ruck, or resting from the ruck. Everytime he has been a permanent forward he has been pathetic.

Bring in Bradley, play him at CHF/HFF. And use Lucas Hille and Laycock for 1 or two other spots on the forward line.

Bradley deserves a gig. However, knowing Kevin I'm the greatest Caoch ever Sheedy, he will use him at fullback on Mooney.

Ins: Bradley, Hille, Monfries (if Winderdud is injured)
Out: Lloyd, Bolton, Winderdud.

If Stants is injured as well, then Dyson or Hislop/Lonergan in for him.

Stants_24_Legend
4 Jul 2007, 10:23
Andrew Lee at CHB/Ryder and Hille in the Ruck/Laycock in the goalsqaure

ant555
4 Jul 2007, 10:40
Why has Lonergan yet to play a senior game this year?
I do agree though, Bradley deserves a spot this week.

Becasue every time he has needed a good game for Bendigo to grab senior selection he has come up a bit short.

ant555
4 Jul 2007, 10:41
Andrew Lee at CHB/Ryder and Hille in the Ruck/Laycock in the goalsqaure

Yep that will work well, bring in a guy who has struggled to get a kick in the VFL this year .

Stants_24_Legend
4 Jul 2007, 10:46
Yep that will work well, bring in a guy who has struggled to get a kick in the VFL this year .
who knows mate he might come in and play his best game ever...gotta give these kids a chance.

Daytripper
4 Jul 2007, 10:49
who knows mate he might come in and play his best game ever...gotta give these kids a chance.

Why ?

Lee won't be on our list next year anyway.

ant555
4 Jul 2007, 10:49

Yes and you have to earn a spot in the seniors. You dont just give away senier games like they are kids lollypops.
They have changed Bradleys role, he has played extremly well for Bendigo over the last 7 weeks as a forward. He deserves the chance to play as a forward in the seniors.

ant555
4 Jul 2007, 10:50
Why ?

Lee won't be on our list next year anyway.

Got some early trade news ? or are we simply going to delist him and pay out his contract for next year ?

Daytripper
4 Jul 2007, 10:58
Got some early trade news ? or are we simply going to delist him and pay out his contract for next year ?

Is he still contracted next year ?
Who was responsible for that howler ?

ant555
4 Jul 2007, 11:01
Is he still contracted next year ?
Who was responsible for that howler ?

Was the right choice at the end of last year. He played pretty well last year and got a few senior games in what what his first year of footy for us after being injured for his first year. No one was to know he would suffer a few niggling injuries and lose form at that stage.

Daytripper
4 Jul 2007, 11:24
Was the right choice at the end of last year. He played pretty well last year and got a few senior games in what what his first year of footy for us after being injured for his first year. No one was to know he would suffer a few niggling injuries and lose form at that stage.

Hmmm - I had him down as an automatic delisting at years end.
Going to make it hard now for us to find 5 players to get rid of but that deserves its own thread I suppose.

kelvin_sheedy
4 Jul 2007, 13:45
Rutten came good at the age of 22.

I'd give Lee a little more time.

Tambu
4 Jul 2007, 14:51
Becasue every time he has needed a good game for Bendigo to grab senior selection he has come up a bit short.
What about when he kicked 4 goals against Sandringham? Or when he kicked 2 goals against Port Melbourne the following week and named in the sides best both games?
He did everything right to get a game yet wasn't selected, and we needed a player like him too, like on Anzac Day for example when we went too tall playing Bolton and Bradley instead.
The kid is probably down on confidence now because when he does play really well, he gets overlooked.

ant555
4 Jul 2007, 17:39
What about when he kicked 4 goals against Sandringham? Or when he kicked 2 goals against Port Melbourne the following week and named in the sides best both games?
He did everything right to get a game yet wasn't selected, and we needed a player like him too, like on Anzac Day for example when we went too tall playing Bolton and Bradley instead.
The kid is probably down on confidence now because when he does play really well, he gets overlooked.

Yes he did play well against Sandy and should have been considered for the Collingwood game. The trouble was they had already picked out the players they wanted for the Anzac day game before the Sandy game as it was played on the Sunday before Anzac day. I agree they made a selection error there but he knew that he wasnt in the frame for selection that week.
Now the game against Port Melb he came out of with an injruy to his hand and it was touch and go if he was going to be able to play the next week. In the end he was well enough to line up for Bendigo but it wasnt until the day before the Bendigo game that he was clear to play.
Since then there has been three chances for him to really push for selection with a good game but he has come up a bit short.