View Full Version : Cole's career just about done

High Ryder
4 Jul 2007, 22:12
Essendon players Richard Cole and Leroy Jetta have been disciplined by the Club for breaking team rules in Tasmania last weekend. Both players were out significantly later than they should have been on the night before Bendigo's match against Tasmania. Richard Cole will play the next three matches in the Bendigo reserves' side while Leroy Jetta will play the next two games for the Bendigo reserves.

"We expect our players to be professional in the way they prepare themselves for games of football and to be out so late the day before a game is totally unacceptable," Essendon chief operating officer Travis Auld said. "These Club sanctions were agreed upon in conjunction with the player leadership group."

Nobby8
4 Jul 2007, 22:32
Can't see him making it back to league footy in an Essendon jumper this year.

I think he has missed that boat by now.

Bomberz_pacers07
4 Jul 2007, 22:37
goneeee...
he has hardly done anything good in his time with essendon. Apart from the occasional burst through the pack out of defense hes done nothing.

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
4 Jul 2007, 22:39
Not a good start for Jetta. He wasn't that happy about coming to Essendon, hopefully this isn't him showing/hinting to us that he doesn't want to be apart of the club and that it's just a one off and won't happen again. Cole you a**hole, your a bad influence on the younger players and after this incident you have earned yourself a big nice lovely delisting at the end of the year, congratulations.

High Ryder
4 Jul 2007, 22:48
Not a good start for Jetta. He wasn't that happy about coming to Essendon, hopefully this isn't him showing/hinting to us that he doesn't want to be apart of the club and that it's just a one off and won't happen again. Cole you a**hole, your a bad influence on the younger players and after this incident you have earned yourself a big nice lovely delisting at the end of the year, congratulations.
And you know this how?

wasupwidat
4 Jul 2007, 22:52
y did we even get cole

Longy413
4 Jul 2007, 22:54
Jetta wanted to stay in WA, that was no secret before the draft.

But his family and girlfriend have since moved to Melbourne.

Richie Cole leaving could be of great benefit to Leroy and Dempsey.

Nobby8
4 Jul 2007, 22:55
Jetta burst into tears on draft day the moment he heard he was leaving WA.

Nothing to worry about from Leroy...talking to girls and drinking water was probably all he was up too.

Cole on the other hand was probably ordering more Flaming Lambourginis for himself...

go_the_bombers
4 Jul 2007, 22:56
Jetta wanted to stay in WA, that was no secret before the draft.

But his family and girlfriend have since moved to Melbourne.

Richie Cole leaving could be of great benefit to Leroy and Dempsey.

Bad influence on our young stars in the making

Nobby8
4 Jul 2007, 22:58
y did we even get cole

..because he is a rejected Collingwood player...and we like to get a few of them every 5 years or so.

Nobby8
4 Jul 2007, 23:02
Bad influence on our young stars in the making

Bit harsh ain't it?

They were out late...not smoking crack,running from booze buses and shooting guns out the windows of black mercs with Angels from Hell at 4am.

Longy413
4 Jul 2007, 23:02
Bit harsh ain't it?

They were out late...not smoking crack,running from booze buses and shooting guns out the windows of black mercs with Angels from Hell at 4am.

No, they were out in Tassie.

That's much worse.

Nobby8
4 Jul 2007, 23:06
How much trouble could anyone get into going out in Tassie?...not much I reckon.

Longy413
4 Jul 2007, 23:13
How much trouble could anyone get into going out in Tassie?...not much I reckon.

I could tell you some stories of cricket/footy trips from years gone by, but I don't think they're fit for these boards ;)

dave_27
4 Jul 2007, 23:21
Wonder who Dodoro would have had in mind for that pick we ended up flogging off to Collingwood for Cole.

kelvin_sheedy
4 Jul 2007, 23:22
Not good Richie.

It would be a minor miracle if you were offered another contract. You are going to have to do something extraordinary between now and the end of the season.

What's Richie like normally? Drinker? Party boy?

I think Leroy will learn soon enough what is required to be a league footballer.

Longy413
4 Jul 2007, 23:24
Wonder who Dodoro would have had in mind for that pick we ended up flogging off to Collingwood for Cole.

Did we make the trade knowing we got the pick for Richards and were taking Neagle under F/S?

We might have lobbied harder to keep Richards if that trade didn't come through and drafted Dempsey anyway.

danzan22
4 Jul 2007, 23:24
We will try and trade him desperately, if we get very lucky we may get a 4th round pick for him.

whattagun07
4 Jul 2007, 23:27
deja vu from Ty Zantuck?
Never should have got him in the first place

Nobby8
4 Jul 2007, 23:28
Cole can come and play at Warnbro Swans next year....I think they can find a spot for him:thumbsu:

adamcf
4 Jul 2007, 23:30
Cole can come and play at the Warnbo Swans next year....I think they can find a spot for him:thumbsu: U don't think he'd be a bad influence on the youngsters there?

dave_27
4 Jul 2007, 23:30
Did we make the trade knowing we got the pick for Richards and were taking Neagle under F/S?

We might have lobbied harder to keep Richards if that trade didn't come through and drafted Dempsey anyway.

Was the draft pick we used for Lonergan Sydneys originally?

mathew ollaik
4 Jul 2007, 23:36
I have never liked Cole. He has always been fat and crap. Can he be used as trade bait?

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
4 Jul 2007, 23:43
And you know this how?
By the look on his face when he got drafted, and there was also alot of talk going around that he didn't want to move away from W.A. But i guess this isn't the case anymore, as Longy has mentioned his girlfriend and family have moved over to support him.

mathew ollaik
4 Jul 2007, 23:47
By the look on his face when he got drafted, and there was also alot of talk going around that he didn't want to move away from W.A.

Cole is the in the same boat as Bolton and Lee. All three of them will be delisted this year hopefully. To be honest I thought Bolton was going to be a star when he got drafted. He had good height, weight and endurance. He also had alright skill, but he just can't find the ball. Maybe we r playing Cole and Bolton out of position.:rolleyes:

Thommo 42
4 Jul 2007, 23:49
you'll get nothing for Cole, he will just be a delisting at the end of the year.

Shame, he could have been very good. I think we grabbed him #7 in the draft and he was ok to start then got progressively worse with every game, culminating in the 03 GF.

I actually thought he'd go ok at Windy Hill, Sheeds has a good history getting the best out of talented kids from NT!

mathew ollaik
4 Jul 2007, 23:51
you'll get nothing for Cole, he will just be a delisting at the end of the year.

Shame, he could have been very good. I think we grabbed him #7 in the draft and he was ok to start then got progressively worse with every game, culminating in the 03 GF.

I actually thought he'd go ok at Windy Hill, Sheeds has a good history getting the best out of talented kids from NT!

He should of stayed at Collingwood. Thought he was doing alright their. When he got fat, he became crap.

Duckworth
5 Jul 2007, 00:07

Essendon got Richard Cole - Collingwood got our pick 23 (Ryan Cook)

The Ted Richards trade was different:

Sydney get Richards - Essendon get picks 19 (Dempsey) and 51 (Lonergan)

hulld
5 Jul 2007, 00:17
the pick we traded for cole could have been used on:
andrew swallow or sam gilbert

they would be pretty handy in the years to come

alot of you guys are crucifying just cole, don't forget lj made the same mistake

Crave
5 Jul 2007, 00:45
I could tell you some stories of cricket/footy trips from years gone by, but I don't think they're fit for these boards ;)

I hope you werent tracing family trees in Tassie...the mere mention of the word 'family' can be such a grey area in the Apple Isle. ;)

Crave
5 Jul 2007, 00:46
Incidently, wont be the least bit surprised if Cole doesnt make it at Essendon. Sure he can run....just not with a footy.

ParisBoy.
5 Jul 2007, 01:06
Cole has done nothing for the Essendon Football Club and never will. We will get nothing for him because he is a dud. I suggest we get rid of him now before he influence's any more of the young kids.

Longy413
5 Jul 2007, 10:00
Was the draft pick we used for Lonergan Sydneys originally?

Yep. We swapped our fourth pick for Sydney's third.

We flirted with the system to see if we could use that pick to draft Neagle.

Timmy from Thomastown
5 Jul 2007, 10:06

We picked up Danny Stanley I think. Or Ryan Cook who was a young-aged draftee last year and hasnt played a senior game yet, but by all accounts is also developing well.

Good to get one up on the Bombers, we owe you plenty more after all the duds you've dumped on us over the years!!!

Timmy from Thomastown
5 Jul 2007, 10:06

I think you did. Effectively you traded Richards for Cole.

jodo27
5 Jul 2007, 10:14
Yep. Sadly I think Richie has shot himself in the foot.

Longy413
5 Jul 2007, 10:18
I think you did. Effectively you traded Richards for Cole.

And improved our draft position.

Early second rounder for a late first rounder.
Early fourth rounder for a late third rounder.

The benefits of that are hard to identify because we may have drafted the same players anyway.

In hindsight it was a mistake, but I'm still not upset at losing Richards.
Cole was traded for to fill a purpose, Slattery filled it for him.

carnthedons07premiers
5 Jul 2007, 10:20
Richie and Leroy shold know better. They shouldve been shooting at factories out of the back seat of the car and should have snorted some drugs. Then they wouldnt ahve got suspended.

Longy413
5 Jul 2007, 10:23
Bit unfair with the drugs comment.

West Coast did suspend Cousins, indefinately.
Technically, that suspension still hasn't been lifted.

youngblood
5 Jul 2007, 10:37
i thought the AFL suspended Cousins?

Richard Cole is gone - he is fat and his pace was his biggest (or only) asset. from what i've heard the guy just has a bad attitude.
here's hoping Jetta learns his lesson quick!

Timmy from Thomastown
5 Jul 2007, 10:40
And improved our draft position.

Early second rounder for a late first rounder.
Early fourth rounder for a late third rounder..

Five spots or so at around 20-odd does not make much difference.

Daytripper
5 Jul 2007, 10:43
We picked up Danny Stanley I think. Or Ryan Cook who was a young-aged draftee last year and hasnt played a senior game yet, but by all accounts is also developing well.

Good to get one up on the Bombers, we owe you plenty more after all the duds you've dumped on us over the years!!!

Until Ryan Cook plays a game, I don't know how you can say that C'wood got one up on us.
He's an unproven kid that has been on an AFL list for two seasons and hasn't played a game. And is at a club that likes playing youngsters (8 first gamers this year).

Timmy from Thomastown
5 Jul 2007, 11:02
Until Ryan Cook plays a game, I don't know how you can say that C'wood got one up on us.

No, we got one up on you, unless you miraculously turn him around in the next two months.

Cole is now worthless, and you have him, not us. We sold him for over the odds. Win or lose on Cook, we picked up a really good draft pick. The more draft opportunities you have, the more chance you have of picking up a success.

Its a win to us. You not only inherited a player who has not contributed on the field, but a player who has actually caused the club unneccessary distractions and a bad influence off the field.

kelvin_sheedy
5 Jul 2007, 11:05
How about we trade you back Cole for Andrew Ukovic? :D

Daytripper
5 Jul 2007, 11:05
No, we got one up on you, unless you miraculously turn him around in the next two months.

Cole is now worthless, and you have him, not us. We sold him for over the odds. Win or lose on Cook, we picked up a really good draft pick. The more draft opportunities you have, the more chance you have of picking up a success.

Its a win to us. You not only inherited a player who has not contributed on the field, but a player who has actually caused the club unneccessary distractions and a bad influence off the field.

If Cook gets delisted at the end of the year without playing a game, then how is he a really good draft pick ?

Until he shows something this trade is a nil all draw (actually Essendon are still in front at the moment because Cole has at least played in the seniors).

Timmy from Thomastown
5 Jul 2007, 11:14
If Cook gets delisted at the end of the year without playing a game, then how is he a really good draft pick ?.

We took Stanley with a similar pick. Having two picks instead of one doubles our chances of getting a decent player. What we do with the pick is up to us, but the more picks we have, the more chances we have of developing a young team for the future.

ant555
5 Jul 2007, 11:15

I dont think anyone twists Leroy"s arm to do anything he doesnt want to do ;)

As for Cole he was pretty much gone anyway. This will only put the nails into the coffin.

ant555
5 Jul 2007, 11:18
Cole is the in the same boat as Bolton and Lee. All three of them will be delisted this year hopefully. To be honest I thought Bolton was going to be a star when he got drafted. He had good height, weight and endurance. He also had alright skill, but he just can't find the ball. Maybe we r playing Cole and Bolton out of position.:rolleyes:

So you think they will delist Lee and pay out his contract for next year ?

Stants_24_Legend
5 Jul 2007, 11:22
Cole was gone at the end of the year anyways, no matter what he did.:thumbsu:

Daytripper
5 Jul 2007, 11:24
We took Stanley with a similar pick. Having two picks instead of one doubles our chances of getting a decent player. What we do with the pick is up to us, but the more picks we have, the more chances we have of developing a young team for the future.

You're really clutching at straws now mate.

Longy413
5 Jul 2007, 14:13
Win or lose on Cook, we picked up a really good draft pick. The more draft opportunities you have, the more chance you have of picking up a success.

So Collingwood is a win-win situation because you got yourself an "opportunity"

Yet Essendon is a loss-loss situation because we some how traded for a sure thing?

That's what you're saying isn't it?

We traded for a bloke who could provide a specific need. That could add strength and run to our half back line and release McVeigh. In the end Slattery filled that need, but Cole gave us the opportunity to improve our side.

He didn't live up to that and we'll cut our losses. It's a loss, but it's not a win for Collingwood if Cook doesn't make it. Because you too will have wasted your opportunity.

If Cook doesn't make it, you have in the end wasted a first round draft pick in one of the best drafts of all time.

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
5 Jul 2007, 14:26
Where else is there left to play the bloke? Wev'e tried nearly every position that needs filling.

mathew ollaik
5 Jul 2007, 15:53
Where else is there left to play the bloke? Wev'e tried nearly every position that needs filling.

In the Ruck. LOL. Na jokes. We should delist him. Their is no point keeping him for another year, just to tag Goodes once or twice. Because of that game against Sydney, he secured a spot in the team. Then he started playing crap and Sheedy is keeping Bolton in the side hoping he plays as good as the Sydney game.

PHX
5 Jul 2007, 16:10
Tassie's becoming decent ground for getting VFL players suspended for breaking rules. Strange.

And why would Jetta be unhappy at the Dons?

Also googled him and this was the first picture. It might say it all. . . .

http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/06/draft06-Leroy-Jetta.jpg

Still confusing though considering Sheedy's success with indigenous players.

Where was he recruited from?

No point bothering about Richie Cole. Took a chance on a reasonably talented footballer but he clearly doesn't have the commitment, but your draft choices were pretty superb last year so Richie's failures isn't as costly as it could be.

Timmy from Thomastown
5 Jul 2007, 16:21
So Collingwood is a win-win situation because you got yourself an "opportunity"

Yet Essendon is a loss-loss situation because we some how traded for a sure thing?.

Yes, absolutely. The only sure thing about Cole was that he was trouble, big trouble, and we were glad to see the back of him, and glad to cut our losses and pick up a reasonable bid by another club for him.

Daytripper
5 Jul 2007, 16:39
Yes, absolutely. The only sure thing about Cole was that he was trouble, big trouble, and we were glad to see the back of him, and glad to cut our losses and pick up a reasonable bid by another club for him.

That hasn't played a game yet.

You forgot to mention that bit.

Timmy from Thomastown
5 Jul 2007, 16:45
That hasn't played a game yet.

You forgot to mention that bit.

The bid was a draft pick, not the player itself.

But to reply, no, he hasnt played yet.

As I said he was a bottom aged recruit last year, coming along nicely, will play more games than Cole in the next few years, thanks for asking.

I've said my piece, its your board, thanks for your courteous replies, adios...

Longy413
5 Jul 2007, 18:29

So Collingwood got the opportunity to draft a talented kid?

Essendon didn't get the opportunity to recruit a talented kid and get him mentally right?

There are risks involved in both, we tried to fix what Collingwood couldn't. But we failed.

We did it on the back of knowing we already had a strong draft position. That minimised our risk.

And he wasn't big, big trouble. He went out too late the night before a game, lets not make this into something it isn't.

M29
5 Jul 2007, 19:14
Been saying it for two years. Waste of space. My guess of him playing 10 games for us this year was more than generous.