B: Henry Slattery Mal Michael Mark Johnson
HB: Adam McPhee Patrick Ryder Tom Hislop
C: Mark McVeigh Adam Ramanauskas Jay Nash
HF: James Hird Scott Lucas Andrew Welsh
F: Jason Johnson Dustin Fletcher Alwyn Davey
R: Jason Laycock Jobe Watson Damien Peverill
INT: Ricky Dyson David Hille Courtney Johns Andrew Lovett
EMG: Mark Bolton Scott Camporeale Angus Monfries

IN: Tom Hislop (selection 20, 2006 National Draft, Tassie Mariners), Adam Ramanauskas, Ricky Dyson, David Hille, Courtney Johns

OUT: Matthew Lloyd (susp), Jason Winderlich (hamstring), Brent Stanton (ankle), Mark Bolton (omitted), Scott Camporeale (omitted)

gussy6isagun
5 Jul 2007, 17:59
i doubt it that fletch will start at ff.

Bomber32
5 Jul 2007, 18:00
Campo has to wait to play his 250th.

kelvin_sheedy
5 Jul 2007, 18:02
Looks like the selectors have more faith in Johns as a forward than Kepler.

Dyson gets another chance. Must do something this game or career over.

Good to see Tommy get a game. Hopefully he can step straight into senior footy.

Here's hoping for a Rama fairytale.

kelvin_sheedy
5 Jul 2007, 18:03
i doubt it that fletch will start at ff.

You just never know.

He's been playing CHB in the VFL and the wily old fox might be trying something.

dave_27
5 Jul 2007, 18:06
Very happy to see Dyson and Hislop take Campo and Boltons spot.

Step in the right direction.

Stants_24_Legend
5 Jul 2007, 18:10
B: Henry Slattery Mal Michael Mark Johnson
HB: Adam McPhee Patrick Ryder Tom Hislop
C: Mark McVeigh Adam Ramanauskas Jay Nash
HF: James Hird Scott Lucas Andrew Welsh
F: Jason Johnson Dustin Fletcher Alwyn Davey
R: Jason Laycock Jobe Watson Damien Peverill
INT: Ricky Dyson David Hille Courtney Johns Andrew Lovett
EMG: Mark Bolton Scott Camporeale Angus Monfries

IN: Tom Hislop (selection 20, 2006 National Draft, Tassie Mariners), Adam Ramanauskas, Ricky Dyson, David Hille, Courtney Johns

OUT: Matthew Lloyd (susp), Jason Winderlich (hamstring), Brent Stanton (ankle), Mark Bolton (omitted), Scott Camporeale (omitted)

Rama will play off the bench
Flecther best backmen in the comp, wont play at FF. They didnt bring Johns in to play off the bench.
Laycock will start in the square and Hille into the ruck
Chuck Loppy (Hislop) into the guts straight away and play Andrew Lovett on the HBF

jnash196
5 Jul 2007, 18:20
I know that the midfield won't be Jobe, Pev and Rama but if it is for even a little part of the match we have no run what so ever, Also I'm not happy about Dyson's inclusion but here's hoping he can prove me wrong

Valley Spy
5 Jul 2007, 18:26
Could see a huge amount of interchanges with this team. I reckon there's a few who can't play 4 quarters. Good for Hislop I suppose. Bradley should ask to be traded, bloke can't do much more.

jack_mack50
5 Jul 2007, 18:30
I know that the midfield won't be Jobe, Pev and Rama but if it is for even a little part of the match we have no run what so ever, Also I'm not happy about Dyson's inclusion but here's hoping he can prove me wrong

IMO I think Dyson will add to that missing run you mentioned.

Just my thoughts though, not having a dig

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
5 Jul 2007, 18:30
I dont mind the look of that team, it's got quite a few guys in there that need to prove themselves in the team and hopefully those guys can step up on Friday night. Obviously the team won't start out like this.

jnash196
5 Jul 2007, 18:32
IMO I think Dyson will add to that missing run you mentioned.

Just my thoughts though, not having a dig

Dyson is quick but he has played too many games without having an impact for me to play him. Obviously the match selection committee knows what they're doing and hopefully Dyson repays the faith.

Interesting with Fletch at FF if he starts there, he 90% won't though

Longy413
5 Jul 2007, 18:32
Everytime I think the selection committee has taken a step forward (IE dropping Bolton), they take a step back at the same time (Johns ahead of Bradley).

They are sending a dangerous message selecting Johns ahead of KB.

High Ryder
5 Jul 2007, 18:35
Everytime I think the selection committee has taken a step forward (IE dropping Bolton), they take a step back at the same time (Johns ahead of Bradley).

Why? Johns was in good form for Bendigo as well.

jack_mack50
5 Jul 2007, 18:36

Agreed... Kep has been shafted. Was his best chance of getting a game since being dropped and with Lloyd back next week wouldn't think he'd be needed.

Bad luck kep

kelvin_sheedy
5 Jul 2007, 18:37

Gotta agree there.

Johns didn't play last week while Keps has been consistently good as a forward.

The obviously rate Johns that highly.

Longy413
5 Jul 2007, 18:39
Why? Johns was in good form for Bendigo as well.

Good form, Bradley was in great form.

Johns didn't play last week.

Johns was brought into the side to play the position Bradley was excelling in. The opposite end of the ground to where Johns had been displaying good form.

They selection committee have basically said, doesn't matter how good your VFL form is, you're not going to be rewarded anyway.

marcuz
5 Jul 2007, 18:41
They selection committee have basically said, doesn't matter how good your VFL form is, you're not going to be rewarded anyway.

Its not like they havent had previous form in that area, Henneman over hunt comes to mind.

Jono B
5 Jul 2007, 18:48
If it was Lucas out, I think Bradley would play.

Big Scottknowsall
5 Jul 2007, 18:49

I disagree quite strongly

When KB has played 1's he has continuoously looked out of place. Collingwood a prime example. Too many fumbles under pressure, poor decision making etc....

CJ on the other hand, has been reasonably effective given his opportunities. As far as F50 targets and goal conversions go his return is fantastic.

Also, both playing well in the 2's....CJ much more ready for high pressure footy than KB. Keep KB down there all year I say and let him develop into what he can hopefully become - a confident, strong player....

ant555
5 Jul 2007, 19:17
Good form, Bradley was in great form.

Johns didn't play last week.

Johns was brought into the side to play the position Bradley was excelling in. The opposite end of the ground to where Johns had been displaying good form.

Altough i defended most of their selections earlier today i have to agree with Longy here . Not sure this sends the correct message. The only thing i can think of is that they where looking at leaving Lucas at CHF so Johns got the gig as the FF .

ant555
5 Jul 2007, 19:18
I disagree quite strongly

When KB has played 1's he has continuoously looked out of place. Collingwood a prime example. Too many fumbles under pressure, poor decision making etc....

CJ on the other hand, has been reasonably effective given his opportunities. As far as F50 targets and goal conversions go his return is fantastic.

Also, both playing well in the 2's....CJ much more ready for high pressure footy than KB. Keep KB down there all year I say and let him develop into what he can hopefully become - a confident, strong player....

You havnt seen much of Bradley when he plays forward have you ?

dave_27
5 Jul 2007, 19:24

Who's to say Johns hasnt been selected as a possible defender to release a certain other defender to play up forward? ;)

TELLIMAN1
5 Jul 2007, 19:25
might be completely out of line as i havent seen kep play in ressies but by the sounds of it, if he hasnt been picked this week hell struggle to be picked for the remainder of the year so, while he might still have a bit of trade value, and hes from W.A(correct me if im wrong) a possible deal with West Coast in the off season for a running midfielder could be a go considering theyve got a huge amount of midfielders ie. priddis, rosa. thoughts?

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
5 Jul 2007, 19:28
Obviously he hasn't, it's so annoying when people keep on bringing up the games in the past whre he has played back and done poorly, just to keep those up to date or don't know, he plays forward now and is doing pretty well so far.

Big Scottknowsall
5 Jul 2007, 19:40

Not for Bendigo no. I have heard reports and am wrapped he is coming along....but some people just aren't ready for league footy.

It's a completely differnet game....seniors to ressies....

Darealrath
5 Jul 2007, 19:41
That is a damn tall lineup we've got. Johns really has to play well to justify his inclusion.

Longy, perhaps 1 reason we've brought in Johns ahead of Kep is that with Lloyd due back they don't want to shaft Kep by bringing him in then straight out seeing he's having a good consistent run at Bendigo. They might want to make sure that when he does come in he has the opportunity to stay in.

How good does the centreline look ? If only...

I hope Nash plays on the wing. He's much better suited to an attacking role. We'll need as much of his quality disposal as possible with Winderlich and Campo out.

Jörmungand
5 Jul 2007, 19:48
I haven't heard one way or the other, but I assume with Lloyd out Hird will be captain for his 250th?

mathew ollaik
5 Jul 2007, 19:51
LoL I predicted Fletcher will play up forward:
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=344442&page=5

Maybe Fletcher will play up forward, because their isn't really a dangerous tall forward for Geelong. Johns was probably brought in to rotate with Ryder - playing on Hawkins.

silk
5 Jul 2007, 19:57
Johns = Trade Bait, thats why he is playing.

Azzballz Deluxe
5 Jul 2007, 20:03
They will send CJ to the backlie for a bit. If plays average up forward and down back, he'll be dropped straight away

Longy413
5 Jul 2007, 20:47

That was playing in a position he wasn't equipped to play.

He's played one AFL game as a forward and kicked 4 goals.
Johns has a high of three.

Johns has been playing CHB.

Johns can really only play from the goal square as a forward. Which means Lucas has to adjust the role he's been playing.

If Bradley were to play, he plays around Lucas. Not the other way around.

Keep KB down there all year I say and let him develop into what he can hopefully become - a confident, strong player....

He's been doing that.

But all that aside, who is better out of those two is almost redundant.
It's about the message it sends to the rest of the list.

The match committee is sending a message "doesn't matter how well you play at VFL, you're not going to get a game anyway."

If I was KB I'd be thinking, what the hell do I have to do to get a game. I'd almost give up.

It's a joke.

Longy413
5 Jul 2007, 20:48
Longy, perhaps 1 reason we've brought in Johns ahead of Kep is that with Lloyd due back they don't want to shaft Kep by bringing him in then straight out seeing he's having a good consistent run at Bendigo. They might want to make sure that when he does come in he has the opportunity to stay in.

Yep, because that would hurt his confidence more than say, dominating for six weeks and not getting a game.

Darealrath
5 Jul 2007, 20:52
Yep, because that would hurt his confidence more than say, dominating for six weeks and not getting a game.

Not so much his confidence but it might disrupt him a bit. I'd rather him in for Johns though, and he's played forward more than once - he kicked 2 goals in the 1st quarter vs the Dogs a couple years ago.

Azzballz Deluxe
5 Jul 2007, 20:57
Have any of ya's thought that Sheeds has brought CJ in for a reason?

No-one knows what Sheedy's game-plan is, so its all just speculation.

I'm just glad one of em got a go in the absence of Lloyd

Longy413
5 Jul 2007, 21:01
Have any of ya's thought that Sheeds has brought CJ in for a reason?

Of course he brought Johns in for a reason, I don't take issue with that.

In fact, I don't even have an issue with Johns playing.

What I have issue with and what I'm concerned about is, what this says to the rest of the list.

How would Angus Monfries feel now?
He'd have to be wondering what the hell he would have to do to get a game, he'd have to be questioning whether form will be rewarded or if it's just luck.

Azzballz Deluxe
5 Jul 2007, 21:13
Of course he brought Johns in for a reason, I don't take issue with that.

In fact, I don't even have an issue with Johns playing.

What I have issue with and what I'm concerned about is, what this says to the rest of the list.

He'd have to be wondering what the hell he would have to do to get a game, he'd have to be questioning whether form will be rewarded or if it's just luck.

Monfries?

If he plays well in the magoos, he'll get a game. He has played very shitful this year, and we have plenty of players that can play his role.

And just rememer, CJ is a FF, whilst Keplar is more of a floater, and i just feel that Hille and Laycock can do that role just as good, if not better.

Like many people have said, if it was Lucas that was out instead of Lloyd, you would think Keps would be a shoe-in. Keps will get a game if he keeps playing well, dont worry about that

Longy413
5 Jul 2007, 21:16
If he plays well in the magoos, he'll get a game.

Didn't work for Bradley.

And just rememer, CJ is a FF, whilst Keplar is more of a floater, and i just feel that Hille and Laycock can do that role just as good, if not better.

Like many people have said, if it was Lucas that was out instead of Lloyd, you would think Keps would be a shoe-in. Keps will get a game if he keeps playing well, dont worry about that

Lucas has been playing extended periods at FF.

Or am I missing something.

Darealrath
5 Jul 2007, 21:19
Didn't work for Bradley.

He still might before the year is out. The coaching staff would be well aware and might have some plan in mind for developing for the rest of the year, or at least a few weeks longer, at Bendigo. Might also think his roaming role is better suited to the G.

High Ryder
5 Jul 2007, 21:19
Didn't work for Bradley.

Lucas has been playing extended periods at FF.

Or am I missing something.
Should push him to perform well enough that Sheedy and the match comitee can't ignore him.

dave_27
5 Jul 2007, 21:23

The same way Campo, Bolton, Houli, Nash, Dyson, Heffernan, Johns, Rama, Hislop, Cole etc have been rewarded for VFL form?

Keplers opportunity will come.

Azzballz Deluxe
5 Jul 2007, 21:24
Didn't work for Bradley.

Jesus Christ, i think the last couple of years have screwed with your mind.....i think its a good thing that players are finding it hard to get a game, even if they have been playing alright in the magoos.

Its good to have these dilamma's!!! :cool:

Longy413
5 Jul 2007, 21:25
The same way Campo, Bolton, Houli, Nash, Dyson, Heffernan, Johns, Rama, Hislop, Cole etc have been rewarded for VFL form?

Keplers opportunity will come.

Bradley's form has been better than all of them.

Longy413
5 Jul 2007, 21:26
Jesus Christ, i think the last couple of years have screwed with your mind.....i think its a good thing that players are finding it hard to get a game, even if they have been playing alright in the magoos.

Its good to have these dilamma's!!! :cool:

Of course it is.

It's a great thing.

But it isn't a great thing when blokes are getting games based on zero form and preparation when another bloke has been dominating for weeks on end and can't get a game when an opening comes up and they pick a bloke who has been playing down the other end instead.

Now before you go off half cocked again, stop and think about what I'm actually trying to say.

kelvin_sheedy
5 Jul 2007, 21:28
Main problem I have with CJ coming in instead of Keps is he did not play last week in the VFL due to injury.

How many players under an injury cloud have we taken into games this year that has backfired?

CJ needs continuity and a week out of the game playing against Scarlett and co is a worry.

Lets hope it all clicks and he can kick a bag.

Tambu
5 Jul 2007, 21:33
Johns has spent time playing as a defender watching first hand and learning from different forwards he plays on. I think it'll make him a better player as a forward and possibly the reason he was selected this week instead of Bradley was because of his size.
The selectors probably felt that Geelong's defence would be too much for Bradley and John's physical pressure might be of more help to Lucas.

Azzballz Deluxe
5 Jul 2007, 21:42
Of course it is.

It's a great thing.

But it isn't a great thing when blokes are getting games based on zero form and preparation when another bloke has been dominating for weeks on end and can't get a game when an opening comes up and they pick a bloke who has been playing down the other end instead.

Now before you go off half cocked again, stop and think about what I'm actually trying to say.

Game-plan

Sheedy would have told Keplar that CJ is in because of the game-plan. He also would of told him that he is pleased with his form of late, and that if he keeps playing like he has, he will definately get a game when the occasion calls for it. Carrott-stick method. If he comes in, plays shit and gets dropped, THEN his confidence will go down

It says to the rest of the team...."KEEP PLAYING ****ING WELL"!!!!

If Keps loses all confidence, and starts playing shit, then......

I know what your saying, but Keps isn't gunna kill himself because CJ got the FF role. CJ will more than likely get dropped for the doggies anyway, unless he shows some top form in the back-line. Like i said before, Laycock and Hille can play Keps role for now, its no big deal.

Now before you go off half-cocked, think about what i've just said ;)

NathanS
6 Jul 2007, 00:55
It concerns me that Bradley isn't even named as an emergency. While I admit I had CJ in front of Bradley for this game, Bradley isn't far behind.

ant555
6 Jul 2007, 10:55
Not for Bendigo no. I have heard reports and am wrapped he is coming along....but some people just aren't ready for league footy.

It's a completely differnet game....seniors to ressies....

Well he played forward for a half last year and kicked 4 goals so it is not like he is totaly unexperienced at it in the seniors ;)

Stants_24_Legend
6 Jul 2007, 11:02
LoL I predicted Fletcher will play up forward:
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=344442&page=5

Maybe Fletcher will play up forward, because their isn't really a dangerous tall forward for Geelong. Johns was probably brought in to rotate with Ryder - playing on Hawkins.
Cameron Mooney not an in form tall forward:confused:
Johns wont be at Essendon next year unless he kicks 4 tonight and is consistent with kicking goals

Longy413
6 Jul 2007, 11:13
I know what your saying, but Keps isn't gunna kill himself because CJ got the FF role. CJ will more than likely get dropped for the doggies anyway, unless he shows some top form in the back-line. Like i said before, Laycock and Hille can play Keps role for now, its no big deal.

But Lucas has been playing a lot at FF.

We're changing our game plan to include Johns, not playing him to keep it the same.

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
6 Jul 2007, 12:43
CJ will probably come out and kick 5 tonight - he is unpredictable, that's the problem... I'm making the trip down to the Dome tonight to see Rama and Hirdy tear the cats a new date... I'm glad KBradley is not playing - he needs some more time with the Bendigo Bombers.

mathew ollaik
6 Jul 2007, 13:55
I would like Johns to have a go in the back-line. This will allow someone like Fletcher, Mcphee or Ryder to go up forward.

Big Scottknowsall
6 Jul 2007, 14:16
That was playing in a position he wasn't equipped to play.

He's played one AFL game as a forward and kicked 4 goals.
Johns has a high of three.

Johns has been playing CHB.

Johns can really only play from the goal square as a forward. Which means Lucas has to adjust the role he's been playing.

If Bradley were to play, he plays around Lucas. Not the other way around.

He's been doing that.

But all that aside, who is better out of those two is almost redundant.
It's about the message it sends to the rest of the list.

The match committee is sending a message "doesn't matter how well you play at VFL, you're not going to get a game anyway."

If I was KB I'd be thinking, what the hell do I have to do to get a game. I'd almost give up.

It's a joke.

I'm not here to argue, and I enjoy this lively debate...living in Perth the last three years I haven't had the exposure I once did, particularly to the VFL. I rely on the match reports from here, Blitz and the net....

I'd like to think the match ocmmittee would have addressed the issues with KB and have a plan setup for him as to what he needs to achieve in the 2's and also off the field. It's great to see him coming along. he is semeingly being groomed as a forward and CJ as a defender - perhaps that is the plan for tonight? I certianly would not want to see KB running around anywhere near our back half.....

I disagree that it's sending a bad message though....I tihnk (hope) all players are aware of where they stand, and KB especially....thats vital and normal in most footy clubs....

Anyway, good luck to all tonight....go DOnS

ant555
7 Jul 2007, 14:33
Well we gave Johns the call up so he could play on the half forward flank and try and play the role that Bradley had done well for Bendigo. That made a lot of sense. Lets face it Johns has pretty much only got one trick as a forward at the moment and that is to lead from the square yet we didnt put him back there for longer than 5 minutes :confused:
Given we used Johns in defence for no more than 4 minutes as well last night i think Bradley may have been a better selection.;)

DaSawx
7 Jul 2007, 16:44
Would love to hear their reasoning