ozdevil1978
7 Jul 2007, 12:22
my opinion is ricky o'toole from newcomb
wats every1 else's
beyond50
7 Jul 2007, 15:00
wats every1 else's
pretty hard to argue with that,two other players in the bfl now: frank foppiani and damien "bones" clarke how do u rate them?
ozdevil1978
7 Jul 2007, 18:11
pretty hard to argue with that,two other players in the bfl now: frank foppiani and damien "bones" clarke how do u rate them?
have seens frank play have not seen clarke play so sorry cant comment on him
Newtowner
7 Jul 2007, 22:59
Damian Harrington from N&C and Mark Corrigan from South Barwon has shown that he is a star. Most believe he is better than brother paul who played AFL.
There are so many too choose from tho...
Devilfish
8 Jul 2007, 08:44
wats every1 else's
Gee what a tough question, but I agree for consistency Ricky O'Toole gets my vote over Fopiaini because of his ability to kick big bags of goals and take a strong grab. He has been a gun at St Josephs, Corio and still dominating now down at newcomb. I watch him as a 15 year old in St Josephs seniors kick 9 goals against St Albans you will be hard pressed to see an effort from a kid like that again, and he is on track to be the first player to win the league medal in all leagues. Frank Fopiani is a close second he has been a genious for many years and still oozes class both guys doing this even when getting heavily tagged week in week out.
beyond50
8 Jul 2007, 14:51
wats every1 else's
another two are aaron langsworth and paul lynch who both played for portarlington a couple of years back, lynch played against torquay once with a broken right foot the week before and plyed the next game and kicked 5 on his left
Rooster07
9 Jul 2007, 14:21
another two are aaron langsworth and paul lynch who both played for portarlington a couple of years back, lynch played against torquay once with a broken right foot the week before and plyed the next game and kicked 5 on his left
Fopiani gets my vote, as he was the best for such a long period of time in the best comp. Another 2 to consider, who wouldnt get much thought are Jeremy Dyer from GWSP and Jason Armistead from Sth Barwon. Armistead has won b&f's at Colac and 2 or 3 at Sth in a good team. Dyer is a freak, who if in a better team would be regarded as the best in the comp. Has been getting tagged each week for the last 4 years but still keeps getting 35 quality possessions a week. Unlike some who get a lot of the ball, Dyer kicks long and always hits a target.
Tough thread though, all listed so far are quality players, although wouldnt quite have Langsworth in the same league as the others
The Hulkster
9 Jul 2007, 16:04
Tough question so many to choose. I will stick to players i have seen (BFL mainly)
Tim Clark - Geelong Amateurs
Damien Clark - Ocean Grove
19th Man
9 Jul 2007, 17:16
Scott Faulkner, (GWSC) who has suffered terrible injuries, is producing a fantastic season so far
Flat Track Bully
9 Jul 2007, 18:46
Do they have to have played all 10 years?
If not...how about Tony Brown for a start...Matty Bruhn was a gun at Grovedale, Andrew Merriman's been very good...as has Adam Cook.
If you go back to 1997/8...well Keasty was playing some ripper footy...Fopiani's just a legend.
O'Toole produced consistently...
There are more...we could be here all day...
Wiskers32
9 Jul 2007, 19:46
yer ricky o'toole wins my vote.
But of all time would have to be ron watt back at the days of north shore
or even nathan lewis when he didnt fight.
Damien Clark played in all of Groves premierships when they won like 8 out of 10 or whatever it was. pretty impressive.
very good question though, so many guns running around in all leagues.
Cockle doodle doo
10 Jul 2007, 12:41
Haven't seen alot of geelong footy, but before injuries cut him down, Scott Faulkner was the best first use player i had seen anywhere outside of the AFL. He was Sam Mitchell's prototype, just wasn't as dedicated and was hampered with injuries from the age of 21 onwards.
Hard to go past the Fop, just an amazing player.
tommytiger
13 Jul 2007, 16:58
Ricky O'Toole would be the best footballer going around all the leagues over the last 10 years, he will win this years BFL best and fairest by a mile.
Hornet12
22 Jul 2007, 21:55
O'Toole certainly amongst the top echelon but for sheer class, use of the footy and game domination, it is very hard to go past Tony Brown. Honourable Mentions to Jimmy Cail, Harrington, M Corrigan, Tyson Hay, Bruhn, Christian Shaw, Danny O'Brien.
Ricky O'TOOLE is just that - a TOOL!
IluvNachoes
1 Aug 2007, 11:38
Ricky O'Toole would be the best footballer going around all the leagues over the last 10 years, he will win this years BFL best and fairest by a mile.
probably dat guy for west cheetahs........ luke forster (runs the midfield)
but also mayb nathan lewis plays footy like it shud b played makes the GDFL standard betta
What don't you like about him Timmy the fact he got 40 p's against you or that he bashed you,
Lions_1018
2 Aug 2007, 07:25
Tony Brown from Leopold, runs all day gets 30 - 40 possesions nearly every game. GFL B&F, he is the best atm.
whipper
30 Aug 2007, 17:17
I agree tommy ricky is a gun footballer but i have watched and been a part of at least 6 games against corio when ricky and jay fastuca went head to head and from memory i think he beat fastuca once, so if rickys up there so is fastuca
mondays expert
7 Sep 2007, 12:31
I agree tommy ricky is a gun footballer but i have watched and been a part of at least 6 games against corio when ricky and jay fastuca went head to head and from memory i think he beat fastuca once, so if rickys up there so is fastuca
Cant Put Fastuca in the league of the blokes on this thread, please
1. He has not excelled outside of the Gdfl been the big fish in the little sea and always been in good sides.
2. One of the most selfish footballers ive ever seen, all about him never handballs to team mates, has shots from anywhere, you have played with him whipper im sure he has frustrated hell out of you, ive seen it from his team mates everytime i have played against him.
He is a very good player in gdfl not to be even mentioned in the same breath as a few of these blokes surely.
whipper
10 Sep 2007, 19:53
1. He has not excelled outside of the Gdfl been the big fish in the little sea and always been in good sides.
2. One of the most selfish footballers ive ever seen, all about him never handballs to team mates, has shots from anywhere, you have played with him whipper im sure he has frustrated hell out of you, ive seen it from his team mates everytime i have played against him.
He is a very good player in gdfl not to be even mentioned in the same breath as a few of these blokes surely.Didnt say he was agood as all of those guys just said that he has gone head to head with ricky and very rarely got beaten thats all i was saying. By your comments he has obviously smashed you blokes a couple of times
He is a very good player in gdfl not to be even mentioned in the same breath as a few of these blokes surely.I've played with Fastuca and I wouldn't call him a selfish player at all. Arrogant but definitely not selfish. In fact there wasn't a better team player going around at centrals.
30 metre handpass
13 Sep 2007, 14:40
why don,t you go back to lara in thier hey day and have a look at some of the absolute guns that they had and produced
Leather Magnet
22 Nov 2007, 14:22
Any of the Hosking lads at St Marys. Or is that too long ago?
19th Man
27 Nov 2007, 11:51
Does Shaun Ballans from Lara get a mention. Not sure if played in last 10 though.
its funny to see the two most frequent names coming uo otoole and foppiani both corio born and bred footballers and theve probably produced the best full forward ever in wayne tyquin not to bad a breeding ground out there
Devilfish
2 Dec 2007, 12:47
Ricky O'Toole has never gone head to head with fastuca except once at Werribee the result O"toole 3 votes Fastuca not in his class or Gardiner for that matter the difference both O'Toole and Gardiner can go forward and kick big bags of goals clearly the best 2 players to play GDFL
Thomson 2008
9 Dec 2007, 17:58
Best Footballer going around in GDFL is to guy from Thomson the wear the number 37 and 47
goldenoldie
9 Dec 2007, 18:43
why don,t you go back to lara in thier hey day and have a look at some of the absolute guns that they had and produced
good call, ballans and perry brothers were guns, but sadly for us all left for greener pastures.
the perry brothers dominated after lara in NT and WA at the highest standard
retired 51
17 Dec 2007, 13:52
The fop gets my vote, 5 club b&f's in premiership sides remembering 1 of those they went through champions. it's an indictment on the league he never won a mathieson medal when the likes of chris huxtable have won one.
parrot14
17 Dec 2007, 18:10
The fop gets my vote, 5 club b&f's in premiership sides remembering 1 of those they went through champions. it's an indictment on the league he never won a mathieson medal when likes of chris huxtable have won one.
Huxtable was a fair player but would`nt carry fops bag to the ground.
dcshoecousa
22 Jan 2008, 18:32
Huxtable was a fair player but would`nt carry fops bag to the ground.
Best on-baller would be Danny O'Brien, does things you wouldnt think possible and with such ease!
good call, ballans and perry brothers were guns, but sadly for us all left for greener pastures.
the perry brothers dominated after lara in NT and WA at the highest standard
Devon Perry was a gun, no doubt, but i'll never forget the cheap shot he gave Billy Sheridan in our 1992 flag, just disgraceful.
Any of the Hosking lads at St Marys. Or is that too long ago?
All were great footballers, but there hey day was probably early to mid 90's. How would you rank the 3 of them? Probably Booka, then Scotty, then Bunny?
Up the ante
23 Jan 2008, 18:23
All were great footballers, but there hey day was probably early to mid 90's. How would you rank the 3 of them? Probably Booka, then Scotty, then Bunny?
GFL- Are you serious, the hosking boys, surely you're joking or related?? Fopiani by a mile. Ballans was very good also and tough. For longevity and consistency I'd throw in Warrick Knuckey too. Cail and Tony Brown of late. When North Shore were a powerhouse Glenn Keast did a lot of the in and under work but didn't have the polish of Fopiani. With 2 Mathieson Medals though he's worth a mention. Matty Bruhn in his hayday deserves a mention also.
GDFL- O'Toole, Fastuca, Gardiner
BFL- Clark and Dalton from Ocean Grove and Luke McLean was good in both leagues when he was on.
GFL- Are you serious, the hosking boys, surely you're joking or related?? Fopiani by a mile. Ballans was very good also and tough. For longevity and consistency I'd throw in Warrick Knuckey too. Cail and Tony Brown of late. When North Shore were a powerhouse Glenn Keast did a lot of the in and under work but didn't have the polish of Fopiani. With 2 Mathieson Medals though he's worth a mention. Matty Bruhn in his hayday deserves a mention also.
GDFL- O'Toole, Fastuca, Gardiner
BFL- Clark and Dalton from Ocean Grove and Luke McLean was good in both leagues when he was on.
In an earlier post in this thread i said Fop by a mile. My answer on the Hosking boys was a direct reply to somebodies question about them. I was ranking them against each other!
clangers mcgee
24 Jan 2008, 07:41
i agree mate with obrien. i seen him a couple of games and he was dead set class. it was shockin when i heard he done his knee. fopiani too, for sustained class and success in a dynasty
Up the ante
24 Jan 2008, 19:42
In an earlier post in this thread i said Fop by a mile. My answer on the Hosking boys was a direct reply to somebodies question about them. I was ranking them against each other!
Ok relax, Nick Hosking the best of them for what it's worth for sheer talent. Scott Hosking a good honest onballer who was good at getting under the opposition's skin.
Albert08
30 Jan 2008, 19:57
Can Anyone remember A bloke called Bruce Cohen that played in the "03" GFL premiership side with bell park..the bloke was unbelievable the best ive seen
NickBrady45
28 Apr 2008, 20:29
jason habib
yableeeet
28 Apr 2008, 22:02
jason habib
Fopiani by an absoulete mile!! Out and Out Superstar
BBQTongs
26 May 2008, 19:17
jason habib
jason habib- absolute superstar
Dougy08
26 May 2008, 19:24
jason habib
r u speaking of habamanis from the doggies??? lol
i personaly think hes brother would giv him a run for his money!!!
norfolk and chance
26 May 2008, 20:54
r u speaking of habamanis from the doggies??? lol
i personaly think hes brother would giv him a run for his money!!!
christian hyland has won 5 b&f playing alondside gardiner
panthers08
28 May 2008, 08:27
Nathan Lewis by far:thumbsu:
retirednowback
30 May 2008, 00:51
Troy Kollegger is well and truely up there both in his day and still now!
Ricky O'toole and Aaron Broom
also , daniel berg from anakie got 49 touches last week in a losing team against thomson ,
any thoughts?
footyheaders
10 Jun 2008, 20:21
New recruit from WA to Barwon Heads Josh Ransom is a extremely talented player and would be in the top ten easily.
Anyone else seen him play?
Uncle_Touchy
17 Jun 2008, 23:02
New recruit from WA to Barwon Heads Josh Ransom is a extremely talented player and would be in the top ten easily.
Anyone else seen him play?
dean helmers.ex geelong player. the hardest and best player by far.played 4 bell post hill a few years back
billzadogga
19 Jun 2008, 11:09
i think billy scott from bell post hill u/14s hes going to be a real star
hes fast agile great ball handeler :)
thoMz#37
19 Jun 2008, 16:46
Chris Gemmill (Y)
Scoobiesnack
25 Jun 2008, 19:57
R.Otoole easily.Better finisher than others in gdfl and coaches at same time.
jayaa01
25 Jun 2008, 21:25
id say ricky o'toole or tim gardiner from thomson freak through the premierships in the 90's
lavarsbnf
28 Jun 2008, 20:18
not that i would go as far 2 say he is best of da last 10 years coz he stil has a lot left in him but surely jimmy cail deserves a worthy mention. he has got 2 b up wif da best of them even if he hasnt playd most of da last 10 years like da others, he is still as good in quality:thumbsu:
BBQTongs
30 Jun 2008, 16:17
R.Otoole easily.Better finisher than others in gdfl and coaches at same time.
wat about Tim Swennesen(nth geelong).. heard he was a great onballer, anyone agree
Scoobiesnack
30 Jun 2008, 17:23
Dean Muir will be if he hangs around,have not seen Tim play
not that i would go as far 2 say he is best of da last 10 years coz he stil has a lot left in him but surely jimmy cail deserves a worthy mention. he has got 2 b up wif da best of them even if he hasnt playd most of da last 10 years like da others, he is still as good in quality:thumbsu:
agreed
can play footy though
correct ricks a freak, as for TC i think he is just upset he couldn't knock rick down running in off the square, TC then got beaten up by the rest of the power team dwn at bheads, powersaur can u confirm this?
The Hulkster
4 Jul 2008, 10:50
Tim Clark from Ammos is one of the best i have seen. As i have watched mainly Bellarine i would have to say the following went allright as well.
George Arnold (Torquay) - ugly man great footballer
Damien Clark (Grove) - longevity, awards and flags has done it all
The Gowans twins when they played at Anglesea
Daryl Bisset back in the GDFL in the early 90's played in the centre for Anakie still is the most scariest man i have ever played against.
Best 2's onballer i have seen is Craig Leeman from Anglesea he is about 90 years old but just keeps playing and playing well, he is a good honest opponent.
There are many more but that will do for now.
Luke McClean was quite good.
Used to play u18s in the morning then seniors in the arvo at east, someone said one day he nearly had 100 disposals for the day.
Anyone know where he is playing now?
goldenoldie
4 Jul 2008, 22:41
wat about Tim Swennesen(nth geelong).. heard he was a great onballer, anyone agree
top bloke and gun onballer.Integral part of their flag side.
In my opinion could have played higher and walked into the star studded
nth shore side at the time,but stayed loyal to north.
Luke McClean was quite good.
Used to play u18s in the morning then seniors in the arvo at east, someone said one day he nearly had 100 disposals for the day.
Anyone know where he is playing now?
Luke Mclean is coaching south launceston in the northern tasmania football league. apparently he's been carving it up. lukes a gun have to be in the mix.
GoKangas08
6 Jul 2008, 19:51
top bloke and gun onballer.Integral part of their flag side.
In my opinion could have played higher and walked into the star studded
nth shore side at the time,but stayed loyal to north.
Yep was a gun in a great NG outfit... Be 20 years ago though not 10...
Last ten for mine would be R. O'toole, T. Kolleger, F. Fopiani and Boofa Lewis... All great on ballers in any league....
Luke Mclean is coaching south launceston in the northern tasmania football league. apparently he's been carving it up. lukes a gun have to be in the mix.
cheers :thumbsu:
West_Lever19
7 Jul 2008, 19:53
paul carson is a freak
Yep was a gun in a great NG outfit... Be 20 years ago though not 10...
Last ten for mine would be R. O'toole, T. Kolleger, F. Fopiani and Boofa Lewis... All great on ballers in any league....
fopiani was one of the greatest ive been involved with in local football
Heavenly Saint
26 Aug 2008, 10:23
i think billy scott from bell post hill u/14s hes going to be a real star
hes fast agile great ball handeler :)
and how's divy 5 going for ya?
sjfc_premiers08
28 Aug 2008, 18:23
and how's divy 5 going for ya?
lol true
leverage u beauty
29 Aug 2008, 20:51
fopiani was one of the greatest ive been involved with in local football
For sheer skill, Fopiani was a freak, and ball usage under pressure and in trafic was second to none in his day, and he had plenty of days. Someone mentioned Ballan's and I'd agree, tough bloody tough, uncompromising, run and carry and very, very skillful also. Won All Australian Country, 4 or 5 time B&F. Ask anyone that played against him, he was revered, and feared!