View Full Version : Umpiring disgraceful again.

The Floodbuster
7th July 2007, 17:06
Ever want to see a disgraceful event of umpiring, tune into the Bulldogs v Port Adelaide game today.
Every time Port had momentum the umpires would pull something out of there ass.
The 3 umpires were absolute cheats today and cost Port Adelaide the 4 points.
I'd list examples but there are too many to list.
:thumbsd:

Top Dog
7th July 2007, 17:08
Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Dogs take the 4 points. That's all that matters.

SuperDanyle
7th July 2007, 17:09
lol

i have given up on it.

bulldogrob
7th July 2007, 17:10
Ever want to see a disgraceful event of umpiring, tune into the Bulldogs v Port Adelaide game today.

Oh my god...................yes there was a few dodgy decisions. yes the dogs were slighly favoured but the best and most deserving team won on the day. We were more hard at the ball than you in the 2nd half.

Medhurst Magic
7th July 2007, 17:10

Didnt see any of the game, but the umpires being a disgrace would NOT surprise me!

The umpiring display in the Pies Vs Saints game was one of the worst I have seen in a long, long time :thumbsd:

Absolutely had no idea :mad:

Bollox
7th July 2007, 17:11
The other one was worse.

Saint/Pies game could have been best game of the yr even in the wet...umps were trying for best on ground from the first bounce.

Final straw was yet another pathetic hands in the back bullshyt free that finally handed the pies the match.

Free's given for nothing and blatant ones not given ...all thru the game.

TIGER ROCKET
st kilda v collingwood was worse.as the guy from the simpsons says
WORST UMPIRING EVER.

julio
If it was anything like the umpiring in the Saints v Pies game It would have been terrible. The umps nearly won it for the Saints.

plowking
Haha, Bulldogs fans resorting to childish comments to cover up the fact that even they knew that the umpiring was biased.
Every game I watch with a Victorian team vs an interstate team in Victoria, all the calls seem to go one way.
And when it's vic vs vic, its the prestige clubs that get the calls, such as Essendon, Saints, Dogs and Collingwood.
Disgraceful...

The Royal Sampler
7th July 2007, 17:12
Try the Pies game. Absolutely arse-raped by the umpires.

* Gehrig is the only player in the league who can blatantly push players in the back.
* Goldsack is not allowed to attempt to mark inside 50 when he's the only one with his eyes on the ball
* The head must be protected unless the head belongs to a Collingwood player, specifically Ben Reid
* If Nick Maxwell uses body contact to the side and takes a mark, it's a push in the back
* Gehrig and Wakelin wrestle each other, it's Gehrig's free in front of goal
* If Dal Santo drops to the ground and Johnson has a hand across his back, it's a push in the back, apparently he is simply un-tackle-able in that position

Absolutely disgraceful umpiring, as someone who rarely comments on umpiring. And I'm watching it on television and don't know the result yet.

Appalling.

julio
7th July 2007, 17:13
The other one was worse.

Saint/Pies game could have been best game of the yr even in the wet...umps were trying for best on ground from the first bounce.

Final straw was yet another pathetic hands in the back bullshyt free that finally handed the pies the match.

Free's given for nothing and blatant ones not given ...all thru the game.

Not too sure what year you are talking about but It obviosly wasnt todays game it you think the umps handed the Pies the game.

CrowTwig
That goal by Thomas was a ripper. Umpire called it out of bounce! Fair 'nuff call though.

Monkster
Makes up for the bias that non-vic teams get at home.

bulldogrob
Haha, Bulldogs fans resorting to childish comments to cover up the fact that even they knew that the umpiring was biased.
Every game I watch with a Victorian team vs an interstate team in Victoria, all the calls seem to go one way.
And when it's vic vs vic, its the prestige clubs that get the calls, such as Essendon, Saints, Dogs and Collingwood.
Disgraceful...

Dogs=presitge club :D:D:rolleyes:

How about the throw to Lade that got port back in the game in the last 1/4. :rolleyes:

Bomber57
7th July 2007, 17:15
Why is this a surprise, we know they cannot play the game so they umpire ;)

Austin_McCrabbs
7th July 2007, 17:16
Disgraceful...

Saints and Dogs...prestige clubs?

Do those clubs know about their lofty standing?

SuperDanyle
How about the throw to Lade that got port back in the game in the last 1/4. :rolleyes:

how about the free against lade that cost a goal early in the last 1/4? :rolleyes:

Bollox
Not too sure what year you are talking about but It obviosly wasnt todays game it you think the umps handed the Pies the game.

dont overreact twirp...u know what i mean.

the free kick FINISHED the game off when it was a 3pt game.

bulldogrob
7th July 2007, 17:17
how about the free against lade that cost a goal early in the last 1/4? :rolleyes:

Was a bit soft but techinally there. He took his eyes off the ball twice and blocked street. I would prefer things like this to be let go. Same as the hands in the back rule.

Malibu#27
7th July 2007, 17:18

Was that anything like the one to Akermanis to set him up for goal in the last quarter ?

Well played though ......its not the bulldogs fault that the umpires are delusional.

Jafa

* Gehrig is the only player in the league who can blatantly push players in the back.
* Goldsack is not allowed to attempt to mark inside 50 when he's the only one with his eyes on the ball
* The head must be protected unless the head belongs to a Collingwood player, specifically Ben Reid
* If Nick Maxwell uses body contact to the side and takes a mark, it's a push in the back
* If Dal Santo drops to the ground and Johnson has a hand across his back, it's a push in the back, apparently he is simply un-tackle-able in that position

Absolutely disgraceful umpiring, as someone who rarely comments on umpiring. And I'm watching it on television and don't know the result yet.

Appalling.

You make it sound like it was all against the Pies. It was woeful in both directions.

And to the AFL (If anyone ever pops their heads in on this site). We have 3 games so far this round - and in those 3 games the umpiring has been shit awful.

Sort it out losers.

julio
Saints v Pies Votes:

3 votes - Thomas (Collingwood)
2 votes - McClaren (St. Kilda)
1 vote - Chamberlain (St. Kilda)

Apologies to Donlon (St. Kilda)

coyler
7th July 2007, 17:21
I'm not an expert but have been following the controvesy about the hands in back rule and after watching the Collingwood game this morning - it started at 5.00 am our time - its clear nobody, players, fans, coaches, commentators has a clue as to what is and is not allowed. Its a total joke and ruining the game.

I thought we had all the bad officials but clearly some have escaped and made it to Aus

Bollox
Saints v Pies Votes:

3 votes - Thomas (Collingwood)
2 votes - McClaren (Collingwood)
1 vote - Chamberlain (St. Kilda)

Apologies to Donlon (St. Kilda)

edited for accuracy

as a neutral it didnt look that way to me champ.

Last qtr with the game in the balance u got everything u could possibly desire.

sauce_head

Mate you sound try supporting at team that has lost twice DIRECTLY due to umpiring and AFL intervention.

Once the umpires being overhead discussing their cheating and the other time the AFL changing the result, both nobody held to account.

I am over it, you get over it, it evens up over time, so I am told.

Ted Ed Fred
7th July 2007, 17:22
I'm not someone who usually comments on these things, but even I'm starting to think that the hands-in-the-back rule is starting to turn footy into an absolute joke.

Normally when there's been a rule change all the fuss dies down after about 5 rounds, and when it doesn't they see sense and change it. Why are they being so stubborn on this? Just so they don't have to concede that they were wrong? :mad:

Spadge
7th July 2007, 17:23
Heres the free kick count for today

Western Bulldogs - 27
Port Adelaide - 13

and alot of the bulldog goals came as a direct result of the garbage umpiring

plowking

They're getting there with the help of the umps.
It was an obvious handpass, I'm sure the ump would have called it seeing as he was like 10ft from the action.
How about Thurstans taking the mark infront of Everitt and not getting paid the mark. Everitt just runs off with it and the umpire calls play-on. It's the simplest rule in footy and the umps can't get it right, or don't want to get it right for some teams.
The dogs were beaten in contested possesions, clearences and centre breaks and yet still win due to the free kick count, which resulted in about 5-7 goals for you.

apollo_creed
Disgraceful...
and the same thing happens when non vic teams play interstate.

it's wrong but it works both ways.

suck it up kid.

sauce_head
7th July 2007, 17:25
Saints and Dogs...prestige clubs?

Do those clubs know about their lofty standing?

Not at all! I am just happy we got no more injuries this week; pity about the result.

dockerzrule
7th July 2007, 17:25
Makes up for the bias that non-vic teams get at home.

This crap that non-vic teams get looked after at home is rubbish. WCE are the only interstate team that get looked after.

Freo get murdered by the umps at subi.

When interstate teams play vic teams in vic the umpires are fair dickum cheats, cause they get away with there crap cause the AFL want vic teams in finals

bulldogrob
7th July 2007, 17:27
They're getting there with the help of the umps.
It was an obvious handpass, I'm sure the ump would have called it seeing as he was like 10ft from the action.
How about Thurstans taking the mark infront of Everitt and not getting paid the mark. Everitt just runs off with it and the umpire calls play-on. It's the simplest rule in footy and the umps can't get it right, or don't want to get it right for some teams.
The dogs were beaten in contested possesions, clearences and centre breaks and yet still win due to the free kick count, which resulted in about 5-7 goals for you.

How many beers have you had today. The handpass to Lade was passed to him, which is incorrect disposal and should be a free to the opposition. You need to hand pass not let your team mate take the ball from your hands.

Everit was the one who should of got that mark.

We have been on the receiving end of free kick counts like that in the past couple of months.

We deserved the win played a better game so shove that up your arse

Spadge
7th July 2007, 17:28
last 2 weeks...

Port Adelaide - 24 free kicks
Opponent - 54 free kicks

no team should get more than TWICE the amoun of free kicks than their opponent

Spadge
7th July 2007, 17:29
Everit was the one who should of got that mark.
umm read the rule book mate.... its the oldest rule in it...
MAN IN FRONT GETS THE MARK
Everitt took the ball out of Thurstans hands

buggermedumplings
7th July 2007, 17:30
last 2 weeks...

Opponent - 54 free kicks

Its possible if they make twice the number of infringements...

Suck it up sister...

Bollox
A great moment in the pies/saints game totally ruined by overzealous umpiring...just stupid umpiring for the hellovit.

Blake (i think) going back with the flight for a mark and a pies player coming in going for it as well.

Both simply going for the mark and the bloody ump had to INVENT a lottery free kick...probably coz it looked like a hard contest.

Its as though they barrack for anyone doing the harder job or the blokes with their eyes on the ball...nothing to do with the rule book...just pay a bloke a kick coz he showed some onions.

bulldogrob

Commentators seemed to agree with me though

Bomber57
This crap that non-vic teams get looked after at home is rubbish. WCE are the only interstate team that get looked after.

When interstate teams play vic teams in vic the umpires are fair dickum cheats, cause they get away with there crap cause the AFL want vic teams in finals

Ever been to a game in Perth:thumbsd:

Spadge
7th July 2007, 17:32
lol the commentators?
since when do commentators have a clue?

Jafa
7th July 2007, 17:33

And - whats more, 911 was an inside job perpertrated by Dubuya and his cronies.

Medhurst Magic
7th July 2007, 17:36
A great moment in the pies/saints game totally ruined by overzealous umpiring...just stupid umpiring for the hellovit.

Blake (i think) going back with the flight for a mark and a pies player coming in going for it as well.

Both simply going for the mark and the bloody ump had to INVENT a lottery free kick...probably coz it looked like a hard contest.

Its as though they barrack for anyone doing the harder job or the blokes with their eyes on the ball...nothing to do with the rule book...just pay a bloke a kick coz he showed some onions.

Yep,spot on mate :thumbsd: Goldsack the player in question.

PieLebo87
7th July 2007, 17:38
I was at the Collingwood St Kilda match, and the umpiring was the worst Ive ever seen in my life. It couldn't have gotten worse.

walkers a legend
7th July 2007, 17:38
Can only comment on the pies V saints game and can believe in what looked like slippery conditions the amount of soft free kicks paid.The umpiring is crap the hands in the back, holding the ball and illegal disposal calls were disgraceful given the conditions.
As for those people who think that frees for and against should be fairly even at the end of the game you must be joking. It's this idea of squaring up free kick counts that partly leads to the over umpiring of games.

Bollox
7th July 2007, 17:40
Yep,spot on mate :thumbsd: Goldsack the player in question.

Blake and Goldsack ?...that was sensational.

Was sitting back with a beer loving that game and nearly spat it....why do they need to find free kicks ?...PLAY ON !!!!

btw....i'd change your name ...pies did well but bloody medhurst looked like he was playing for the other mob.

The Majestic
7th July 2007, 17:42
What was Goldsack's free called as? Looked more like a marking contest to be honest. Gehrig was robbed a couple in the 2nd quarter as well.

pjcrows
7th July 2007, 17:43
The ones that most annoy me are when a player takes on 3 opponents, is tackled, the ball is thrown out and play on is called because it was "knocked loose" in the tackle. Then a player is deemed to be "diving on it" when they go for the ball in a 50/50, get ridden in the back, the opposition player is making no attempt to get rid of it by holding it in, then the player who is going for the ball is pinged for making no attempt to get rid of it.

SuperDanyle
7th July 2007, 17:44

uhhhhhm?? which ones??

the ones on foxtel were laughing at the decision.

Merv Neagle
7th July 2007, 17:44
plowking

G9yqldgIA5k

MightyPWR
7th July 2007, 17:48
Worst umping game I've seen, atrocious! :thumbsu:

The Majestic
7th July 2007, 17:49
Maxwell would feel hard done by with the hands in the back rule as he didn't place his hands in the back. I guess you take the good with the bad, or the bad with the bad, depending on how you are going.

Bollox
7th July 2007, 17:53
Maxwell would feel hard done by with the hands in the back rule as he didn't place his hands in the back. I guess you take the good with the bad, or the bad with the bad, depending on how you are going.

Pies fans were going off for awhile about the umps...but to be honest it looked like just about every kick was deserved. Pies just gave away a bunch of stupid kicks at one stage...could have been even worse had Gehrig got paid what he deserved.

Last qtr when it mattered tho...gotta be fair...u got some handy soft kicks off the umps...evened out.

Heaps of those pathetic hands in the back kicks for both clubs...frustratingly soft garbage free kicks.

The Royal Sampler
7th July 2007, 17:55
While the Dale Thomas free kick was soft, it was technically correct. None of the other decisions or non-decisions I mentioned earlier, up to 3 qtr time, were even technically correct.

I also forgot to mention the terrible deliberate out of bounds decision against a Collingwood player when it was clearly a skill error in that it came off the boot incorrectly in the slippery conditions.

The Royal Sampler
7th July 2007, 17:57
Pies fans were going off for awhile about the umps...but to be honest it looked like just about every kick was deserved. Pies just gave away a bunch of stupid kicks at one stage...could have been even worse had Gehrig got paid what he deserved.

Last qtr when it mattered tho...gotta be fair...u got some handy soft kicks off the umps...evened out.

Heaps of those pathetic hands in the back kicks for both clubs...frustratingly soft garbage free kicks.
The one he mentioned wasn't. Even the commentators agreed when replaying the footage. Yes there were plenty that were deserved, and the Pies gave away some stupid fifties too, but that one was garbage.

WakeUpTaz
7th July 2007, 18:00
maxwell used his body well, becuase the saint player is a pussy and took a dive, it was a free against maxwell, the umpires obviously was trying to help the saints, do you wonder why there are no saint fans complaining?

Bollox
7th July 2007, 18:06
The one he mentioned wasn't. Even the commentators agreed when replaying the footage. Yes there were plenty that were deserved, and the Pies gave away some stupid fifties too, but that one was garbage.

yeah i know...another contest stuffed by the umps.

i actually had some quality tv time this arvo and tonight and i dont get it often enough...really enjoyed that game and thought it was one of the best wet games u could ask for.

....but the umps were screwing both clubs at different times of the game.

I didint care who wion but got frustrated myself...gehrig was robbed a cpl of times in front of goal then later he got one given to him that u;d swear was a square up for it....the maxwell hand in the back was just one of them...then gram (i think) genuinely fumbled it over the line and the ump couldnt resist and rushed in to grab the spotlight over nothing.

It was constant...made it hard to enjoy...glad i didnt care.

The Majestic
7th July 2007, 18:07

Problem was, the one I was mentioning was not a free kick, neither was the free against Goldsack, all it was, was Tyson going for a mark and he was penalised for it. Gehrig was robbed and got one go his way as well, I am no where near saying we were blatantly robbed, quite the opposite but that was the 2 stand outs.

The fact the umpires felt they needed to award soft free kicks to "even it out" was rather pathetic, considering we got a deliberate out of bounce that wasn't there and then they got one that was probably 50/50.

But as I said the umpiring was bad on both sides of the fence, but I wanted to know was what the call was on Goldsack, as I didn't hear what it was for.

The Majestic
7th July 2007, 18:10
yeah i know...another contest stuffed by the umps.

i actually had some quality tv time this arvo and tonight and i dont get it often enough...really enjoyed that game and thought it was one of the best wet games u could ask for.

....but the umps were screwing both clubs at different times of the game.

I didint care who wion but got frustrated myself...gehrig was robbed a cpl of times in front of goal then later he got one given to him that u;d swear was a square up for it....the maxwell hand in the back was just one of them...then gram (i think) genuinely fumbled it over the line and the ump couldnt resist and rushed in to grab the spotlight over nothing.

It was constant...made it hard to enjoy...glad i didnt care.

It's just horrible that the umpire can make a mistake and to make up for it he gives another team a soft free for it. Yeah I know, "another complaining Collingwood supporter" but seriously though not for nothing an umpire should be able to admit he was wrong without awarding any soft ones. The one you mentioned about going out which I put in my reply wasn't needed.

It's just annoying really, not that I feel it would have changed the out come either way it's just a pain.

Bollox
7th July 2007, 18:20
but I wanted to know was what the call was on Goldsack, as I didn't hear what it was for.

No idea...dont think anyone heard what they said.

One of those mystery kicks ...there isnt a rule broken but it they just think they SHOULD hand out a kick.

Its deep in the rulebook

564 sect. 756 subsection 2987 ..... "who dares wins"

Interference of some bloody description will be the excuse. Its like the poor bloody defender that does a great job but takes his eye off the ball and they think they need to give a free kick for it....he can make clean contact with the ball and not cause any interference but the ump just feels like handing out a cheap goal instead of just leaving the contest alone.

The Majestic
7th July 2007, 18:24
No idea...dont think anyone heard what they said.

One of those mystery kicks ...there isnt a rule broken but it they just think they SHOULD hand out a kick.

Its deep in the rulebook

564 sect. 756 subsection 2987 ..... "who dares wins"

Interference of some bloody description will be the excuse. Its like the poor bloody defender that does a great job but takes his eye off the ball and they think they need to give a free kick for it....he can make clean contact with the ball and not cause any interference but the ump just feels like handing out a cheap goal instead of just leaving the contest alone.

It was almost as if the umpire was bored and wanted to award a free kick, I would hope there was a serious reason for a free kick to have been award in that play. There was no high contact it was body on body contact with both men with their eyes on the ball. Well Goldsack had his eyes on the ball and I assume that the other player did as well.

I know the commentators were confused to say what it was for, and I still cannot find a reason for the kick.

Lupton Warchild Pittman
7th July 2007, 18:24
Kevin Bartlett is a blight on the game of AFL.

Paul.
7th July 2007, 18:25
st kilda v collingwood was worse.as the guy from the simpsons says
WORST UMPIRING EVER.

I hate Ray Chamberlain.

The Majestic
7th July 2007, 18:29
I hate Ray Chamberlain.
Has to be the first time in awhile that he didn't end up on his ass, I guess that is a fair effort for him.

Gehrig missed his chance to be useful. ;)

Paul.
7th July 2007, 18:31
Has to be the first time in awhile that he didn't end up on his ass, I guess that is a fair effort for him.

I was praying for the G-Train to run through the little bastard.

Here's a tip for our Ray: GET IT BLOODY RIGHT WILL YOU!!!!

Mofra
7th July 2007, 18:31
ACTUALLY no mark was paid. The umpire called play on as both players had grabbed the ball.

Our bloke played the ball, your's stood & sooked.

Keep going until the whistle is blown, the oldest unwritten rule in the book...

Bollox
7th July 2007, 18:39
I know the commentators were confused to say what it was for, and I still cannot find a reason for the kick.

It wasnt the only one on both sides.

Worst part was no biffo...i used to like pies/saints game coz u could rely on a blue starting at some stage....was waiting for it to start !!..no luv lost between those two clubs over the yrs :D

Still..great wet weather footy DESPITE the umps trying to ruin it.

Wilbur35
7th July 2007, 18:40

Spot on, I had to switch the telly off and go for a walk to calm down. :thumbsd:

Some of these umpires are just trying to make themselves a bigger part of the game. The sooner they remove the microphones from the umpires the better.

Bollox
7th July 2007, 18:42
AND...57000 to a game that u knew u'd get a wet arse from...thats huge.

Ron
7th July 2007, 18:44
AND...57000 to a game that u knew u'd get a wet arse from...thats huge.

Well i just got back from the game, wet arse and all.
The worst thing was i went downstairs during the half time break but for some reason my chair didn't flip back up properly so when i came back there was a nice puddle of water in my chair :mad:

The Royal Sampler
7th July 2007, 18:46
Bingo.

Big Ted
7th July 2007, 18:46
My God.. Port supporters believe the umpiring was crap, the Bulldogs fans think it was alright ..

Im in shock, I dont know what is happening in the world !

Paul.
7th July 2007, 18:47
The worst thing was i went downstairs during the half time break but for some reason my chair didn't flip back up properly so when i came back there was a nice puddle of water in my chair :mad:
I sat on my arse the entire time out in the rain. I had my scarfe on my head, a big jumper, and a blanket.

**** me; it was wet, cold, and the umpiring... well; if I had met Ray Chamberlain when I could still not feel my limbs I would've decked him.

Bollox
7th July 2007, 18:48

Sounded huge on the tv...big atmsphere for a wet day and 55-60K crowd.

Can tolerate a wet arse if u win.

The Majestic
7th July 2007, 18:49
It wasnt the only one on both sides.

Worst part was no biffo...i used to like pies/saints game coz u could rely on a blue starting at some stage....was waiting for it to start !!..no luv lost between those two clubs over the yrs :D

Still..great wet weather footy DESPITE the umps trying to ruin it.
Well at least the mud made it look like the 70s, an all in brawl was needed to make it feel like it.

And I agree no matter the result it was a fantastic game, would have been good to have been a one point game like the one back in 1990 was when Lockett goaled after the siren to bring the Saints a point closer to the Pies.

ReservoirDog
7th July 2007, 18:54
Disgraceful...

This is actually very true. I was at the game today and as per normal the umps played to the crowd. I didn't mind so much as it was us on the end of the frees.

Ron
7th July 2007, 18:54
Sounded huge on the tv...big atmsphere for a wet day and 55-60K crowd.

Can tolerate a wet arse if u win.

5 minutes into the last quarter i was very much considering leaving an AFL match early for the first time it was that cold. The only reason i didn't was because my St Kilda supporting mate wanted a lift home.

Thank god for that.

The atmosphere was very good for that kind of day, not sure how many Saints supporters were there though, probably 15-20k at the most.

richmondgal
7th July 2007, 18:57
I tried to avoid noticing the umpiring errors in the St Kilda/Collingwood match. I was only noting how wet it was.

Matt_TY
7th July 2007, 19:05
The bit that got me was when every single Collingwood mark in our forward 50 in the 3rd quarter was paid against us for hands in the back. Now fair enough, we played like crap in that quarter, and if we'd lost you could blame our accuracy (Medhurst what in CRAP were you doing running into an open goal and MISSING) for the loss more than the umpires

But, still, that third quarter hands in the back performance, and

-a 10-3 freekick count after quarter time including four 50s paid to the Saints in the one quarter;
-a truly mystifying deliberate out-of-bounds call (and non-call of an equally doubtful out-of-bounds); and
-a couple of instances where St.Kilda were awarded, fair enough, legitimate free kicks in their forward 50, but seconds after legitimate Collingwood frees were missed by the same umpire in the same area of the ground.

Then of course, in the last quarter, the umpires were obviously instructed to even the free-kick count our way (paying some admittedly soft kicks to us). And there was the routine inconsistency with holding and dropping the ball calls, for both sides, all the way through.

What rubbish umpiring. Was not the deciding factor in the game (no matter which side won), but was nevertheless completely rubbish.

Seth
7th July 2007, 19:08
edited for accuracy

as a neutral it didnt look that way to me champ.

Last qtr with the game in the balance u got everything u could possibly desire.

You know why though. At 3/4 time the free kick count was 24 Saints, 8 to collingwood. Yes 24 to 8.

The Royal Sampler
7th July 2007, 19:08
The 50's were pretty reasonable.

I forgot about that incorrect out-on-the-full call, woeful.

Otherwise you're spot on, although the square-up frees could have just been random, like the umpiring for the rest of the bloody game.

Bollox
7th July 2007, 19:11
Still pissed off there was no biffo :D

But...if the umps strayed too close to the fence there might have been some.

julio
7th July 2007, 19:12
dont overreact twirp...u know what i mean.

the free kick FINISHED the game off when it was a 3pt game.

Still don't know what year you're talking about f-wit. If you saw the whole game you don't know shite about footy

eddiesmith
7th July 2007, 19:19

Why would Gehrig have hit him? They might have brought on an umpire who wasnt in love with him :p

He got away with murder, only player who can hold another player out of the contest and get the free kick himself

flamethrower
7th July 2007, 19:28
The 22 Port players were all perfect today. It was just those silly umpires who lost them the game.

S C O R E B O A R D

GhostofJimJess
7th July 2007, 19:29

Appalling.

From a non-Saint/non-Pies POV (I won't say unbiased, because I don't believe anybody really is), I'll comment on those ones you outlined.

1) One very poor one given in Gehrig's favour in the third quarter. Blatant push that would have had Richo turning in his grave (if he was indeed dead).

2) Another very poor decision. Two blokes clearly going for the ball only, both with eyes set on it. Play on.

3) Members forward pocket 2nd Q. Ben Reid sees Baker approach when he's down playing the ball. Baker stands fairly straight and pulls up as well as he could under the circs. Reid ducks head and makes contact with Baker's legs. Play on.

4) Very technical that one. Maxwell stiff.

5) Gehrig deprived of one, probably two clear frees in 2nd Q. The one he eventually got and the one he eventually gave away were both probably there.

6) I had a problem with this one. Thought it was a fair tackle by Johnson, but because he had Del's arms pinned and carried him forward, it always looks worse when the head is ground into the turf. Probably should have been a bounce as no prior opp.

I would say that there was five really ordinary decisions over the course of the match, and about 100 reasonable to good ones. Is this good enough? I suspect it's the best we're ever gonna get in such a subjectively officiated game.

Heres the free kick count for today

Western Bulldogs - 27
Port Adelaide - 13

There is nothing to support your contentions here mate. In fact, the problems really start when umpires are aware of free counts and consciously or subconsciously try to even them out.

There are so many more factors in judging the standard of umpiring your team gets than merely 'frees for' v 'frees against'. It's just a small factor.

No. HOME teams tend to get looked after. It's just human nature. Until umpires become robots (or vice versa) and can block out all of the crowd factor then they will always be swayed toward the home team.

Whether it be "Ball!", "Deliberate", "Too Far!", incessant booing, bronx cheers ... it all contributes to an umpires perception of how they are or should be giving the decisions.

Thommo 42
7th July 2007, 19:53
Memo to Port Adelaide fans:

If you are going to wear Black & White in an AFL match, be prepared to suffer the consequences with the umpires!

You made your bed, now you have to sleep in it!

Matt_TY
7th July 2007, 19:58
Memo to Port Adelaide fans:

If you are going to wear Black & White in an AFL match, be prepared to suffer the consequences with the umpires!

You made your bed, now you have to sleep in it!

Hahah, top work.

PieLebo87
7th July 2007, 20:01
I tried to avoid noticing the umpiring errors in the St Kilda/Collingwood match. I was only noting how wet it was.

If you did then you probably only watched about 10 minutes worth of footy.

pharro
7th July 2007, 20:05
Oh my god...................yes there was a few dodgy decisions. yes the dogs were slighly favoured but the best and most deserving team won on the day. We were more hard at the ball than you in the 2nd half.

More hard at the ball? Not knocking the Dogs who were terrific but seriously, Port's intensity was very poor. Defensive pressure was almost non-existent.

pharro
7th July 2007, 20:07
-a truly mystifying deliberate out-of-bounds call (and non-call of an equally doubtful out-of-bounds);

Assume you were at the game because the TV angles revealed correct decisions both times.

pharro
7th July 2007, 20:08

And there's a lone gunman with high powered rifle trained upon any umpire who defies this conspiracy. I heard all about it at the Freemason's Lodge.

The Royal Sampler
7th July 2007, 20:10
From a non-Saint/non-Pies POV (I won't say unbiased, because I don't believe anybody really is), I'll comment on those ones you outlined.

1) One very poor one given in Gehrig's favour in the third quarter. Blatant push that would have had Richo turning in his grave (if he was indeed dead).

2) Another very poor decision. Two blokes clearly going for the ball only, both with eyes set on it. Play on.

3) Members forward pocket 2nd Q. Ben Reid sees Baker approach when he's down playing the ball. Baker stands fairly straight and pulls up as well as he could under the circs. Reid ducks head and makes contact with Baker's legs. Play on.

4) Very technical that one. Maxwell stiff.

5) Gehrig deprived of one, probably two clear frees in 2nd Q. The one he eventually got and the one he eventually gave away were both probably there.

6) I had a problem with this one. Thought it was a fair tackle by Johnson, but because he had Del's arms pinned and carried him forward, it always looks worse when the head is ground into the turf. Probably should have been a bounce as no prior opp.

I would say that there was five really ordinary decisions over the course of the match, and about 100 reasonable to good ones. Is this good enough? I suspect it's the best we're ever gonna get in such a subjectively officiated game.
Thanks for your appraisal. I was probably getting on my high horse a bit about the Ben Reid one.

I forgot about the out-of-bounds that clearly wasn't, and was actually surprised that the commentators even needed to review the tape to see the umpire had stuffed it up.

The Gehrig free that clearly should have been paid was the one where Wakelin raked his arm, the one where they were wrestling Wakelin could hardly turn as he had a 100-plus kg man holding him, play on.

I'm guessing there were around 50 frees paid during the match, I sincerely hope they can do better than this. I do feel reasonably validated by your assessment though. :thumbsu:

pharro
7th July 2007, 20:33
last 2 weeks...

Opponent - 54 free kicks

You're right, that shouldn't happen. Didn't realise your team was that undisciplined. Mark Williams should do something about that.

Matt_TY
7th July 2007, 21:21
Assume you were at the game because the TV angles revealed correct decisions both times.
I'm not referring to the Dale Thomas one, if that's what you're thinking.

I'm referring to the one that travelled 30+ metres through empty space, bouncing this way and that, eventually heading out of bounds, and called deliberate, whereas a similar kick that travelled less distance and was more directly headed toward the boundary was not.

Camera angles have nothing to do with either call.

GhostofJimJess
7th July 2007, 23:52
Thanks for your appraisal. I was probably getting on my high horse a bit about the Ben Reid one.

I forgot about the out-of-bounds that clearly wasn't, and was actually surprised that the commentators even needed to review the tape to see the umpire had stuffed it up.

The Gehrig free that clearly should have been paid was the one where Wakelin raked his arm, the one where they were wrestling Wakelin could hardly turn as he had a 100-plus kg man holding him, play on.

I'm guessing there were around 50 frees paid during the match, I sincerely hope they can do better than this. I do feel reasonably validated by your assessment though. :thumbsu:

It was a great win. Clement will make a huge difference to that team when he slots back in too. As will Rocca. If the Pies can keep their midfield fit - Swan, Licuria, Pendelbury etc - there's no reason why they can't win at least one final.

fishbowl
8th July 2007, 00:07
Why is this a surprise, we know they cannot play the game so they umpire ;)

Perfect comment.

It is not the free kick they pay, it is the free kick they miss. Their interpretation of 'Holding the Ball' is unbelievable.

Hodge2Franklin
8th July 2007, 01:00
Is anyone else actually getting worried about how bad it is. Like I have said I was traditionally someone who stuck up for them.

Not only have I changed my view over the last month or two I am seriously alarmed at what this years final series is going to be like with this farcacle and woeful administration of the rules.

The Umps don't even know the rules anymore and have NFI. The game is borderline in disrepute it is just that after 100 years of conditioning from us to say we need them, it is a tough gig, it was a bad day, even we are in denial a bit.

If you take a step back and watch the games at the moment it is bizarre. Is it matchi fixing or is it the umpires reacting to the rules debarcle? It is that bad that no one can say for sure...

berniejones
8th July 2007, 01:06
Watched the Coll-StK game on TV. Don't barrack for either side, but that has to be close to the worst display of umpiring I've ever seen. Magpies got shafted for three quarters, St Kilda pretty stiff in the last. Bloody attention seeking umps just about ruined what was an otherwise great game. Umpiring is as poor as it's ever been at the moment.

Frodo
8th July 2007, 01:19
Umpiring is the biggest problem of the AFL. It goes like this.

The Umpiring management make new rules each season

The umpiring management issues directives for each game

The umpires are amateurs

The umpires are confused

The umpires therefore are inconsistent

GhostofJimJess
8th July 2007, 04:17
Umpiring is the biggest problem of the AFL. It goes like this.

The umpiring management make new rules each season

The umpiring management issues directives for each game

Just to complete the cycle ...

The umpires attempt to interpret these directives.

The club match committees attempt to interpret these directives.

The supporters attempt to interpret the resultant umpiring decisions.

The club match committees find innovative ways to exploit these new directives.

The umpiring management make new rules each season.

etc...

Bad umpiring has been going on forever. I remember standing in the outer at Princes Park or Kardinia Park as a kid in the late 70's and being deafened by taunts at umpires (and that was just by my dad). It's no worse than it was back then, its just that we expect more nowadays.

Ever notice how few ex-players have put their hand up to umpires the game, even after that big media push for them to do so a decade ago. Why would anyone do it to themselves? You'd be more bloody popular as a parking inspector.

Austin_McCrabbs
10th July 2007, 16:20

Leave Malcolm out of this.