View Full Version : Cats Scholarship Players
Geminicatz
7 Jul 2007, 20:28
Cats scholarship holder put through the Ranga
Brad Green
06Jul07
http://www.geelongadvertiser.com.au/images/uploadedfiles/editorial/pictures/2007/07/06/Ranga.jpg DESPERATION: Potential Cats recruit Ranga Ediriwickrama lunges at Queensland's Adam Spackman in yesterday's under-18 clash at Skilled Stadium. Photo: ALISON WYND
THOSE Geelong fans who braved the arctic-like conditions at Skilled Stadium yesterday got their first look at the Cats' newest AFL scholarship holder in action.
And, they would have liked what they saw in Ranga Ediriwickrama, who was best-on-ground in NSW/ACT's 10-goal win over Queensland in the AFL under-18 national championships.
Geelong recruiting manager Stephen Wells was an interested onlooker in the stands, and said the Cats are encouraged by his development since signing him as their second New South Wales scholarship player earlier in the season.
``Given that he is a bottom age player and he's still got another year in the under-18 championships, for him to handle the pressure and the conditions as well as he did, we were very pleased with him,'' Wells said. ``He's always looking to give the first option and be very creative with the ball.''
The 16-year-old, of Sri Lankan heritage, played the early part of the game on a wing then moved into the middle and even had a stint at full-forward.
Under the AFL scheme, Geelong will be able to priority list Ediriwickrama on to its senior or rookie list when he nominates for the national draft at the end of next season.
Geminicatz
7 Jul 2007, 20:56
Cats ink new NSW scholar
Tuesday, May 8, 2007
Geelong has signed Ranga Ediriwickrama as its second NSW scholarship player. Ediriwickrama joins Kale Temple as the Cats scholarship players under the AFL scheme.
http://www.westbrook.org.au/Portals/0/Photos/Ranga---Cats-Scholarship.gifEdiriwickrama is a 16 year old who hails from Sydney club Westbrook. His good form has seen him elevated to the Sydney Swans reserves team, playing in the ACTFL. He has played two games with the Swans second unit this year.
“Ranga is a midfielder/ small forward who was NSW’s best player at the national under 16 championship last year,” Geelong recruiting manager Stephen Wells said.
“He is now in the NSW under 18 squad and he was their best player in the last trial match. Ranga can play as a midfielder or small forward, has pace and a feel for the game. He is an outstanding athlete and we look forward to working with him in the coming years.”
Ediriwickrama, won the NAB MVP for the NSW/ACT team at the 2006 national under 16 championships and will play with the NSW/ACT under 18 team at this year’s national titles.
http://www.westbrook.org.au/Portals/0/Photos/AFL%20Scholarship%20Program.jpgThe AFL scholarship program is aimed at NSW teenagers aged 15–17 years. Under the scholarship guidelines, club’s can recruit up to two teenagers from NSW each year. Scholarships can range from one to three years duration with recipients receiving a monetary component of up to $10,000 per year.
The program allows all AFL clubs to have greater input into the development of young players in NSW.
Westbrook congratulate Ranga on this fantastic achivement and look forward to watching his footy career progress into the big league!!!
Geminicatz
7 Jul 2007, 20:59
It's football fever for Ediriwickrama
Brett Cox
20Jun07
IN Australian football a result can come down to the bounce of the ball.
The difference between a player who makes the big time and one who doesn't can be a whisker.
Cherrybrook Technology High School's Ranga Ediriwickrama wants to do everything he can to make it.
Such is his maturity, he's prepared for anything.
The 16-year-old Pennant Hills Demon AFL club member has just signed on the dotted line with Geelong as one of the Victorian AFL club's NSW scholarship players.
It means they will contribute to his development now, fly him to Melbourne to train, and have an opportunity to pick him up on their full-time player roster in late 2008.
He is earmarked for the next generation of Australian Football stars.
From the Paul Kelly Cup in primary school, in which he developed his love for the game, to the representative match last year when he was first spotted by Geelong club scouts, Ediriwickrama said he had developed a great passion for the game.
His family is of Sri Lankan background and he was born in Griffith, in country NSW.
``I realise it's a great opportunity, but it's one of those things that's what you make of it,'' Ediriwickrama told the Advocate.
``My dad knows a bit about the game but my mum didn't really know a lot about it until quite recently.''
The ``exciting'' opportunity throws up the challenge of balancing training with HSC study, which Ediriwickrama says will be a juggling act he and the club will work through together.
He could become one of the first Australians of Sri Lankan heritage to play in the AFL.
``It is a dream, but I'll do my best and if it doesn't happen that's OK,'' he said.
Ediriwickrama has already played first grade with the Demons and a couple of games with the Sydney Swans reserves. He was the Most Valuable Player for the NSW/ACT team at the 2006 under-16 national championships.
Now in the NSW Under-18 squad, he was regarded as their best player in the most recent trial match, according to Geelong club recruiting manager Stephen Wells.
``Ranga can play as a midfielder or small forward, has pace and a feel for the game,'' Mr Wells told the Advocate.
``He is an outstanding athlete and we look forward to working with him in the coming years.''
Geminicatz
7 Jul 2007, 21:03
Cats put faith in their L-plate prototype
<LI class=byline>Geelong hopes to turn a young runner into an AFL player. Jenny McAsey reports
October 09, 2006
KALE TEMPLE has never played a game of Australian football and had never seen an AFL match live until the recent West Coast-Sydney grand final but in three years he is likely to be drafted to Geelong.
Temple, who has just turned 15, is the ultimate football experiment. He has been signed to the Cats on a three-year, AFL-funded scholarship worth up to $60,000, in the hope he can be transformed from a runner and basketballer to a ruckman. If AFL clubs have in recent years tended to draft talented athletes who can also play football, Temple, who lives an hour south of Sydney at Otford, is pure athlete with zero football knowledge or nous.
Until a month ago he didn't know the rules, or how many teams there are in the AFL.
He won the 800m at the NSW Combined High Schools competition, and represents his state in basketball at under-16 level. But as for football: "I've kicked a ball in the school ground a few times with mates but I've never played a game," Temple said.
"I didn't know anything about the AFL until Geelong came and spoke to me."
Two weeks ago he learnt the basic skills in the first of what will be weekly one-on-one lessons with a coach in Wollongong.
"It was pretty good because I'm a fast learner," Temple said with the bravado of youth.
"We had a 2 1/2-hour training session and I learnt how to kick the ball straight which I can do fine now, and then bouncing a ball which was pretty simple because I do it with basketball.
"I asked for more help with handballing and I am fine with that now.
"AFL suits me because there is a lot of running and I'm pretty good at that, there is jumping and tackling stuff which I find fun."
As the 16 clubs ran a final eye over the hottest young teenage footballers in Australia at the draft camp in Canberra last Thursday, Temple has effectively leapfrogged the queue of kids dreaming of playing football.
"I was really surprised and elated that I got it because if you think about it there are thousands and thousands of kids out there wanting to get these scholarships and here I am, not even having played AFL before, and I got it," he said.
Temple is the 17th youngster to receive a scholarship under a scheme introduced by the AFL this year to encourage the best athletes in NSW to try the game, but the only one who has not played Australian football at all.
Every club must offer at least one scholarship a year to a boy aged between 15 and 17, and then has the option of drafting that boy directly to the club in the year they turn 18. So far, all bar Richmond and Brisbane have selected at least one boy.
"Geelong has been the bravest of any club," said general manager of the NSW-ACT AFL, Dale Holmes.
"It is good to see clubs are starting to think about athletic talent rather than just looking within the football system."
Geelong's assistant recruiting officer John Peake discovered Temple through contacts in Wollongong, half an hour from Temple's home.
Peake said the club had made it known it was looking for a tall teenager who didn't necessarily need to know a lot about football.
"We had certain things we were looking for, especially a boy who could become a ruckman because we feel there has been a bit of success transferring basketballers into ruckman, like Dean Brogan at Port Adelaide," Peake said.
"We were impressed by his athletic background and he is projected to grow to 200cm. We like Kale's attitude and his willingness to learn and give it his best shot.
"For example, he only started playing basketball a few years ago but has adapted quickly and made it to the state side.
"This is a new area for us all but it is an area Geelong wanted to try out.
"We see that part of this scholarship program is to promote the game of football, and we feel if we get top athletes that aren't playing footy now in NSW it helps spread the word. It is up to us now to teach him and coach him to acquire the skills."
Temple will keep playing basketball, but said if he had to make a choice he would probably opt for AFL especially after watching the grand final at the MCG with his parents as a guest of Geelong.
"The grand final was one of the most memorable moments of my life, it was intense, 97,000 people cheering at once, the best feeling. I was going for the Swans but if Geelong was there I would have been cheering for them," said Temple, proving he is a quick learner.
Geminicatz
7 Jul 2007, 21:05
http://img508.imageshack.us/img508/9011/lc20f7f6eb146d119510b9ayw8.jpg
Geminicatz
4 Aug 2007, 21:12
Sri Lankan Aussie signs with Geelong
Friday, July 13 2007 @ 08:00 AM EST
Contributed by: Ash (http://www.worldfootynews.com/users.php?mode=profile&uid=45)
Views: 258 http://www.worldfootynews.com/images/topics/topic-general-news.jpg (http://www.worldfootynews.com/index.php?topic=General)
The Geelong football club recently signed their second player under the AFL’s New South Wales Scholarship Program. Ranga Ediriwickrama, born in Griffith (NSW), but of Sri Lankan heritage, is a graduate of Sydney’s Westbrook junior football club (http://www.westbrook.org.au/). Impressively, he is Westbrook’s third player to catch the eye of an AFL club, with Michael Johnson and Josh Fenaroli signed under the same scheme, by Hawthorn and Carlton respectively. He is currently playing for Pennant Hills (http://www.pennanthillsafc.com.au/).
The Scholarship Program requires AFL clubs to select at least one and no more than two NSW sportsmen between the ages of 15 and 17 yearly. Each scholarship, which can last up to three years, sees the player given coaching and monetary assistance by their AFL club, in return for the club getting priority to draft the youngster once they are eligible. The program is designed to give greater strength to the AFL’s push into NSW.
Ediriwickrama was introduced to football by friends, and was impressed by the game’s team environment, the skills involved and the social aspect. Since his introduction to footy, he has been selected in several representative squads.
He represented New South Wales in the Under 15s Schoolboys Championship in 2005 (Ediriwickrama attends Cherrybrook Technical High School (http://www.cherrybrok-h.schools.nsw.edu.au/)), was awarded the side’s Best and Fairest and went on to be named in the Australian squad. Ranga has also managed two games with the Sydney Swans reserves against a Canberra side at the SCG and Telstra Stadium. On top of this he has represented NSW/ACT at the National Championships. Last year, as part of the Under 16 squad, Ediriwickrama won his team’s MVP. He is currently competing in this year’s Championships, as the third-youngest member of the Under 18 side. They have played two matches so far, both of which were convincing victories - the first against Northern Territory and the second aginst last year's division two champions, Queensland. He was even deemed best afield in the second match. Worth noting is that several of the players in the NSW/ACT side are involved in the AFL’s Scholarship Program and it will prove interesting as to whether or not this gives them an edge against their opposition in the future. Like everyone at the National Championships, ultimately Ediriwickrama wants to be drafted by an AFL side. Should he prove successful, his name could pose the toughest gig for commentators to date.
Rungi's myspace page
http://www.myspace.com/ranga_ediriwickrama
Stokes-Selwood-Prismall
16 Jan 2008, 17:56
Ive been speaking to the lad for the last week. He seems like a really good likeable bloke who is really devoted to the game.
He thought the pre-season training was crazy, but a great experience and is pumped for next year when he does it for real
aussieicon91
1 May 2008, 20:51
That Kale guy is shit as. I trialed in the rams 18s last year and saw him. He can't play AFL if his life depended on it, it'd be a joke if he played professional AFL.
Geminicatz
6 May 2008, 20:53
Geelong scholarship holder Ranga Ediriwickrama will captain New South Wales at the national under 18 championships that begin this week.
The 17 year old Ediriwickrama is in his first season as a scholarship player with the Cats. The program was implemented by the AFL in 2006 to further develop young players from NSW.
"Ranga continues to develop as a player," Geelong recruiting manager Stephen Wells said.
"He is a natural leader and plays mainly as an inside player. He's a smart player and we're really pleased with how he has continued to improve his game. The championships will be another opportunity for him to play against elite juniors and to show the improvements that he has made in his game."
Ediriwickrama plays with Pennant Hills in the Sydney premier league and played two games with the Sydney Swans reserves before joining the Cats under the program. This is his last season in the scholarship program, with the club having the option of adding him to the senior or rookie list before the 2008 draft.
He represented NSW in last year's championship was named as the state's most valuable player. Ediriwickrama also played in Geelong's intra-club hit out in February this year.
NSW will take on Queensland, Northern Territory and Tasmania in the second division of the national championships. The leading two teams from division two will then take on Vic Country, Vic Metro, Western Australia and South Australia for the division one title.
http://www.gfc.com.au/tabid/3933/Default.aspx?newsid=59091
SriLankanCat
6 May 2008, 21:59
It will be great 2 see a sri lankan in the team :) i hope the club takes advantage of a golden opportunity to grab a new market...melbourne has the second highest number of sri lankans outside the capital of sri lanka itself...im sure a lot of sri lankans would be attracted to the game if a sri lankan was there
eliiiiza
7 May 2008, 00:11
Rungi's myspace page
http://www.myspace.com/ranga_ediriwickrama
HAHA! Love the bit about his "bitch tits". Sounds like a real funny guy.
It will be great 2 see a sri lankan in the team :) i hope the club takes advantage of a golden opportunity to grab a new market...melbourne has the second highest number of sri lankans outside the capital of sri lanka itself...im sure a lot of sri lankans would be attracted to the game if a sri lankan was there
Wow, I didn't know that! You learn something new every day... :thumbsu:
Geminicatz
7 May 2008, 17:59
Heres another link to an article on Ranga
Article interviews CTHS student Ranga Ediriwickrama about his contract with the Geelong football club and his aspirations to make it to ’The Big Show’ the AFL.
http://www.cherrybrok-h.schools.nsw.edu.au/UserFiles/File/geelong-sponsor.jpg
Geminicatz
15 May 2008, 21:04
http://www.realfooty.com.au/articles/2008/05/13/1210444439215.html
Young talent time
Peter Hanlon | May 14, 2008
THERE is morning dew on the grass and a slight chill in the air at Casey Fields, but the atmosphere in the NSW/ACT coach's box is coming to a boil. It does little for the theory that the young men of a football frontier may be enjoying an armchair ride.
"Get out and tell Josh (Duncan), if he wants to go back and play at Pennant Hills, he's doing everything he can to make it happen," coach Danny Stevens barks down the phone, after an errant kick around the body turns the ball over.
Former Bulldog Rohan Smith, assisting as part of his development role north of the Murray, continues the tough love. "Can we tell Scott Reed his man's at full-forward, and can he get down there and pick him up? If he reckons he got a spray at quarter-time at the MCG (on Saturday), he won't know what's hit him in a minute."
An exasperated Stevens again, after an impromptu test of the box's stability: "Why aren't we listening today?"
The NSW/ACT under 18s battled on in yesterday's national championships division-two grand final, but were ultimately overrun by Tasmania, ending their bid for back-to-back titles. In the post-match calm, Stevens could hardly have been prouder of them. "If we'd known we'd finish one or two (ahead of Queensland and Northern Territory), you'd take that every time."
Their reward, along with Tassie, is to join Victorian Metro, Vic Country and South and Western Australia in the division-one play-offs, starting later this month. Smith, too, was stoked.
"These kids have been knocked around, people saying, 'They're just from New South Wales, we're not going to worry about them'. Last year, our average winning margin was 50-odd points and we won all three games, and this year, we've had two wins again, when everyone wrote us off, all the recruiters. It makes me feel really proud."
There are no apologies for the hard school, Smith emphasising that they are coaching with the express purpose of preparing AFL footballers.
The Casey grandstand was full of club scouts yesterday and the boys were reminded that lapses as well as the laudable would be duly noted. "It does get a bit hairy, but we're just trying to help the kids get drafted — as many from the NSW region as possible."
One who is in the frame — and could leave commentators contemplating early retirement — is Ranga Ediriwickrama, a prolific onballer whose Sri Lankan parents settled in the Sydney suburb of Epping via Griffith. His state's captain, he is on Geelong's books as a NSW AFL scholarship-holder, which gives the Cats first dibs on him come draft day.
Reed is similarly tied to Collingwood and it is no coincidence that those already identified as the elite are ridden hardest. "They're not past the post," Stevens says. "They've made one small step in the system, but there's a big gap to go. We've got to drum that into them."
Ediriwickrama specialised in cricket and later soccer, but at 12 was asked to fill in for a mate's Australian football team. Like became love, which has grown year by year.
"Footy's definitely getting bigger (in NSW). At the start, I was getting bagged out for playing, now my mates are asking me, 'How was it? What's going on?' They all watch it on TV and they want to kick the footy at school."
Stevens says Ediriwickrama "will find a way to play, he's an A-grade kid", and points to other prospects in his squad who illustrate the melting pot north of the Murray: ruckman Max Wilson, a basketball convert; athlete Jeremy Kirkwood; and Mitch Frail, who has played only a dozen games since turning his back on rugby.
The contrast with the celebrating Tasmanians next door is stark. Co-captains Aaron Cornelius and Tom Salter speak of their pride in "a traditional football" state, where many believe they have more right to an AFL team than the proposed West Sydney franchise.
"It's embedded in us," says Cornelius, a key forward of class who will surely make his AFL mark. "Before every game, we get in the room together, take off our jumpers and look each other in the eye, then we put the map on and go out and play for Tasmania. It's a really big thing."
Salter is acutely aware of "all the things this jumper represents", and hopes they get the chance to wear it as AFL players. "If we can get a team and hold all the Tassie boys in there, we can produce a good AFL side. We've just got to get the chance to start with."
As for the much-trumpeted "north-south divide" that has supposedly stymied football on the Apple Isle, it is lost on the new generation. Salter, from North Launceston, said they are all very close, while Glenorchy boy Cornelius reckoned the only problem with last night's celebrations back home was getting everyone together.
"There's a couple of boys thinking of taking the two-hour taxi ride from Lonny."
The geographic breadth of their opposition's stocks was underscored by players flying out to seven different destinations yesterday afternoon, but not before Smith cornered Reed for a final debrief.
"We told him at quarter-time we wanted him to run with his man and he didn't take those instructions in. That's just a learning curve — he was our best player on Saturday against Queensland, had an outstanding game.
"I said to him: 'Play like that every week, you'll get drafted. Do what you did today, how are we going to help you?' He just said: 'Yeah, I mucked up, I didn't listen.' He'll learn from that …"
NSW/ACT SCHOLARSHIP-HOLDERS
Adelaide: Sam Martyn
Bris Lions: James Brain, Jack Lawson
Collingwood: Scott Reed, Nick Perry, Thomas Young
Carlton: Joshua Fenaroli, Jake Pianta
Essendon: Benjamin Simon, James Webster
Fremantle: Matthew Long, Max Wilson
Geelong: Kale Temple, Ranga Ediriwickrama
Hawthorn: Michael Johnston, William Sierakowski, Trent Stubbs, Thomas Kickett
Melbourne: Teddy Strudwick
Port Adelaide: Jordan Johns
N Melb: Lachlan Pryor
Richmond: Harrison Lee
St Kilda: Joshua Duncan, Kane Murphy, Blake McGrath
Sydney: Ryan Bottin-Noonan, Jay Lewis, Matt May
West Coast: Anthony Stubbs
Western Bulldogs: Braedon Jones, Chris Ogle, Daniel Lloyd
■ The NSW AFL Scholarship scheme allows clubs to sign teenagers aged 15-17 within certain development regions in NSW, excluding Canberra and the Riverina. The player receives financial assistance and the club has first option to draft them, either to the full or rookie list.
http://www.realfooty.com.au/ffximage/2008/05/13/PM_ranga.jpg NSW/ACT under-18 Ranga Ediriwickrama gets his kick away yesterday.
Hoffy95
15 May 2008, 21:17
I've umpired many junior games back on the Far South Coast (NSW) where I used to live and have seen a lot of Sam Martyn (Adelaide) & Matt May (Sydney).
Martyn is a supreme athlete, but has a long way to go with his footy. Only new to the game a few years ago, but he is in the top few middle distance runners in the country for his age, so the Crows are obviously looking to mold him into a footy player.
Matt May looks like he will go on and make it. Very exciting skillful talent and it would be great to see him go on and make it (incidentally plays for the same club Ed Barlow played for).
Haven't seen any of the Cat's guys, but my Aunty & Uncle saw Ranga play before we picked him up and were not surprised to hear his name get brought up in the AFL circles.
By all accounts he also seems a very promising player, so lets hope we've found another gem.
Geminicatz
18 May 2008, 09:25
Geelong Cats study Ranga management
IF there was an under-18 version of SuperCoach, you would make Ranga Ediriwickrama captain every week.
Forget Dean Cox, the dynamic onballer of Sri Lankan heritage is a Champion Data wizard.
Ediriwickrama, 17, is shining for NSW-ACT in this year's under-18 national championships and is under the AFL recruiting microscope.
In his latest best-on-ground display against Tasmania at Casey Fields on Tuesday, Ediriwickrama racked up 24 possessions, five marks, six tackles and nine clearances.
That is 219 Supercoach points - excellent numbers in footy's increasingly universal language.
But for Geelong recruiting manager Stephen Wells, it simply means potential.
Wells has been watching Ediriwickrama since the kid from the Sydney suburb of Pennant Hills dominated the national under-16 carnival a year ago.
The Cats signed the youngster under the AFL NSW scholarship program last June.
And if Wells and Co like what they see for the remainder of the year, Ediriwickrama will swap Pennant Hills for Skilled Stadium in the national draft.
Not bad for a kid obsessed by cricket and soccer, who stumbled into footy through a NSW primary school competition called the Paul Kelly Cup.
"I played and had a bit of fun with a mate who dragged me along and I thought I'd do it for a bit, but I fell in love with the game," Ediriwickrama said.
"I was pretty cricket-mad. Even in my first year of footy, cricket was my commitment, but it slowly shifted. I can't get enough footy now."
But it's all a bit foreign to parents Eddie and Chintha, who emigrated from Sri Lanka in the late 1980s.
Eddie had a relative understanding of the game, but has undertaken a crash course since his son developed a love, and skill, for it.
He said his son was very hard on himself as the games became more and more important, but it doesn't show.
"I don't really think about it (getting drafted) too much," said Ediriwickrama, who spent a week training at Geelong over the Christmas holidays.
"I just go out there to play footy and try and block out that sort of stuff.
"It's not really in my control, so I just worry about the things I can control on the footy field."
Wells said Ediriwickrama had talent, but his desire to improve was most impressive.
"We liked his clean ball-handling and his running ability and he was able to find the ball pretty well," he said.
"He's clearly got to work on his kicking and still improve his running, but we're really impressed with the fact he's working hard to improve all those aspects."
BlueOyster
2 Jun 2008, 15:35
WESTERN Australia has opened its NAB AFL under-18 championship with a comprehensive 70-point win over New South Wales/Australian Capital Territory at Subiaco Oval on Sunday.
The Sandgropers 15.7 (97) defeated NSW/ACT 4.3 (27) in the curtain-raiser to the AFL clash between Fremantle and Port Adelaide.
Last year's title winners led by margins of 20 points, 38 and 43 at the respective breaks, before stepping up a level with five goals to one in the final term.
The powerful Western Australia side, featuring the much-talked about Nick Naitanui (20 hit outs and six tackles) and Daniel Rich (15 touches and four inside 50s), also had the likes of Lance Daly (five goals) and John Bennell (four goals) shine.
Michael Walters was also a standout for the Sandgropers, booting three goals and collecting 20 touches, while Matthew DeBoar was Western Australia's leading ball-winner with 25 disposals.
Geelong scholarship holder Ranga Ediriwickrama was outstanding again for NSW/ACT, gaining a game-high 25 disposals. Mitch Clisby was also among his side's best for the Rams.
Western Australia 4.2 8.2 10.4 15.7 (97)
NSW/ACT 1.0 2.0 3.3 4.3 (27)
GOALS
Western Australia: Daly 5, Bennell 4, Walters 3, Garlett 2, Marsh
NSW/ACT: Kirkwood, McNeil, Ruffles, Sleeth
BEST
Western Australia: Walters, DeBoer, Lucas, Hill, Daly, Bennell, Pearce, Mather, Warner
NSW/ACT: Clisby, Ediriwickrama, Klemke, Fenaroli, Bryce, Gumley, McNeil, Frail, Kirkwood
Reg Hickey
9 Jun 2008, 17:42
The NSW/ACt boys pulled off a huge upset against Vic Country yesterday, and I hear that our boy Ranga was pretty much BOG again. Anyone was there or has any more details??
Geminicatz
3 Jul 2008, 15:35
Tom Peeters 10:36 AM Thu 03 July, 2008
http://mm.afl.com.au/Portals/0/cats_images/article_images_2008/irwinandblack246x316.jpg Lachlan Urwin and Beau Black
The Geelong Cats welcomed their latest scholarship players to the club during the week.
Beau Black, 15, and Lachlan Urwin, also 15, made their way to Skilled Stadium between matches for the Sydney and ACT U15 teams in Melbourne.
Urwin, a 181cm half back flanker from Pennant Hills, and Black, 182cm midfielder from Bomaderry, toured the clubs facilities; spoke with fitness and training staff before watching the Cats train.
Urwin attends prestigious Newington College in Sydney whilst Black attends Nowra High School, 220km east of Canberra.
Both boys put on impressive displays in their respective V-Line U15 Championship matches. Urwin, playing for Sydney, was one of the best afield in one of the games and kicked a goal in another. Black, playing for the ACT, kicked two goals in his first game as well as getting best-on-ground honours in the other two games.
Black and Urwin join Kale Temple and Ranga Ediriwickrama as the Cats NSW/ACT Scholarship players.
Ediriwickrama has been impressive in his games for NSW in the 2008 NAB AFL U18 Championships. The Cats will have the opportunity to rookie list or draft Ediriwickrama at the end of the year. Temple has one more season as a Scholarship player.
Geminicatz
7 Jul 2008, 18:48
Young guns in focus: Ranga Ediriwickrama
By Matt Burgan 6:06 PM Mon 07 July, 2008
NEW SOUTH Wales/Australian Capital Territory midfield dynamo Ranga Ediriwickrama says having been signed by Geelong as a scholarship player has helped his game enormously.
Ediriwickrama, who has been outstanding in this year's NAB AFL under 18 championships, said the Cats had been monitoring his progress with regularity.
"It's been really good actually. I've got to watch the best AFL players train, like Gary Ablett and just see how they go about it and take it into training back at home at Pennant Hills, where I play and I can learn from the best," Ediriwickrama said.
"They've always been in contact with me and have been asking me how I am, and they want me to get that balance right and you just get to see what you need to do to be the best AFL player, so it's been really good."
Although he missed last round with a hamstring injury, Ediriwickrama said he would be available for NSW/ACT's final match against South Australia on Wednesday at Telstra Dome.
Hailing from Sri Lankan parentage, Ediriwickrama said his parents have been converted to Australian Football, although they are still passionate cricket fans.
"They've been really supportive," Ediriwickrama said.
"At first, my Mum was a bit scared because she thought I would get injured, but it hasn't happened at all, so she's been really supportive now and along with my Dad, who has been real supportive and [he's] just wanted me to do whatever I wanted to do with my life.
"My Dad has picked it up pretty quickly, but they still love their footy."
Geminicatz
7 Jul 2008, 18:57
Ranga Ediriwickrama Q&A
By Ben Broad 1:52 PM Mon 07 July, 2008
http://mm.afl.com.au/Portals/0/images/AFL/AFL%20A-E/EdiriwickramaB_246.jpg Ranga Ediriwickrama says his time with the Cats has been a good experience
Today's headlines
[
NSW/ACT RAMS midfielder Ranga Ediriwickrama is a NSW scholarship holder with Geelong. He spoke to gfc.com.au’s Ben Broad about his budding career and what the future might hold.
Tell us a little bit about your background and how you got into footy.
Both my parents are Sri Lankan, but I was born here. I got into footy through a couple of mates at school. I first played at a [primary schools] tournament called the Paul Kelly Cup.
I just played in that and after that my friends just said ‘you know, you should really try to play AFL’ and I just thought ‘what the hell, I’ll give it a shot’, and from that I just started playing.
What about the scholarship? How did Geelong first notice you?
They first saw me at an under-16 state carnival in NSW. They were monitoring my progress from there, but they officially showed interest in me at an under-18 carnival at Coffs Harbour last year. I signed a contract about May last year. It came out of the blue, as I wasn’t expecting it at all. I wasn’t thinking about a scholarship at all, I was just enjoying my footy.
What does having a scholarship with the Cats mean?
It pretty much gives you that association with the club. I’m talking mainly with [Geelong recruiting assistant] Luke Williams.
They just pretty much help with my development and my progress. But what Geelong has done with me is they’ve tried to develop me not just as a player but as a person, and make sure I’ve got the right balance in my life. They’re always ringing me and asking me how I am, how’s my family, and how school's going.
What sort of contact or involvement do you have with the club during the year?
I would like to get down a bit more, but with the Rams commitments, it’s a bit too hectic to get down too often and spend a bit more time at the club.
What about over summer – did you get down then?
I was down for a week in the December holidays and I also went down in about February for an intra-club game and got to play in that, so that was pretty good. It was a really good experience.
Who’d you run alongside?
I was playing on [David] Wojcinski for a bit … he was pretty quick! And also James Kelly. But it [my opponent] changed quite a bit. I was also on a couple of the VFL players at times.
The last month or so you’ve been busy playing the NAB AFL Under-18 Championships. Have the Cats still been chatting to you?
Yeah, they have been.
So, how does it work from here? Can any club have a crack at you come the end of the year, or are you Geelong’s property?
At the time of the draft, Geelong has first priority and they can choose to either draft or rookie me. I think if Geelong is interested, it has to nominate me prior to the draft.
If they don’t, I can nominate for the draft and if any other club wants to pick me up they can.
When you’re not playing for the NSW/ACT RAMS, where are you playing footy?
I play for the Pennant Hills footy club in the first grade side. I haven’t been playing there much with all my RAMS commitments, but when I have been playing, I’ve been rotating from half-forward to on the ball to the wing.
Are there any AFL players you could compare yourself to or try to base your own game on?
I really like the way Joel Selwood goes about it at Geelong, just what I’ve seen from him at training. Just his professionalism, and just that he’s such a young player and he’s such a leader … the way he trains, you can see it in the way he plays.
You’re captaining the RAMS this year … from what you’ve seen briefly from a guy like Selwood, do you try to take any of that on board when you’re leading your side out?
I've learned a couple of things just from watching him at training. You pick things up. I guess you wouldn’t notice it immediately but then you realise, ‘oh yeah’ that’s where you’ve learned some of the things you do when you’re captaining.
AFL Talent Manager Kevin Sheehan on Ediriwickrama’s national championships:
“His first two games were outstanding, averaging 25 disposals, before a hamstring injury early against Tasmania set him and his team back. Has won 28 contested possessions from nine quarters, which still ranks him second overall. It demonstrates his courage and his attack on the ball. He is a one-touch player and a great reader of play.”
for gfc.com.au
Geminicatz
22 Jul 2008, 20:42
Ranga earns All Aust honours
Richie Pace 9:29 AM Mon 21 July, 2008
Geelong’s scholarship player Ranga Ediriwickrama has been named to the All Australian team following the national under 18 championship.
Ediriwickrama starred for NSW/ACT in the championships. He was a prolific ball winner in the qualifying series and initial two Division 1 matches against Western Australia and Vic Country, being his teams best player.
Injury cost him the final three Division 1 matches, with his outstanding Division 2 games as well as Division 1 form combining to earn him All-Australian selection. He averaged eight hard ball gets per game and 23 disposals. Ediriwickrama has excellent hands, courage and a good understanding of the game.
for gfc.com.au
Geminicatz
4 Aug 2008, 19:50
Wales to migrate south
Steven Deare
30Jul08
http://www.hornsbyadvocate.com.au/images/uploadedfiles/editorial/pictures/2008/07/30/aussieruleskid.jpg Pennant Hills Demons midfielder Tim Wales has been signed to a scholarship deal with AFL club Geelong.
Picture: PETER KELLY
AFL heavyweights Geelong Cats have targeted another young footballer from Sydney's north in their latest scholarship drive. The Cats have signed Pennant Hills Demons midfielder Tim Wales to a two-year scholarship which will see him train with the senior squad during school holidays. He is the second Demon, after Ranga Ediriwickrama, among Geelong's six NSW scholarship holders. The 16-year-old from West Pennant Hills was spotted while captaining Sydney North West during a regional carnival at Wollongong. Wales was the runner-up for the player of the carnival award. "I had a pretty good carnival," Wales told the Advocate. "I kicked some goals and took some good marks." Geelong scout Michael McMahon thought so. "Probably the main thing I liked is you can see he is a natural footballer," McMahon told the Advocate. "A lot of the NSW players are new to the game but Tim has been playing from a young age and understands the game. "He is also a skilful player and marks well." The cousin of senior Demon, Alex Goodall, Wales joined Pennant Hills this season from Westbrook Bulldogs at Cherrybrook. While he has yet to play at state level, that didn't worry McMahon. Most AFL clubs use the scholarships as a means of gaining an advantage for the AFL draft, according to McMahon, so they can add players to their squad once they turn 18. This should suit Wales just fine, who was excited by the chance to meet Cats stars like Gary Ablett. "It's such an awesome opportunity," he said. "It gives me the opportunity to improve my game in all areas." Being drafted after a couple of years and a professional career
Geminicatz
4 Aug 2008, 20:56
Tim Wale's Geelong Scholarship Offer
Westbrook U16s player Tim Wales was offered a scholarship from the Geelong FC after a sensational U16s carnival in Woolongong last Saturday. Tim was runner up in "Best Player Of The Carnival" award while captaining the victorious North West Team. The team won all their 5 games, defeating Newcastle Region in the final. Westbrook were represented by Tim and Chamath Samarasinghe from our U16s (pictured below). The squads were made up of both U15 & U16s players from Sydney, Newcastle, Central Coast & Illawarra.
http://www.westbrook.org.au/Portals/0/Nth%20West%20U16s%20Wbk.jpg
thejester
4 Aug 2008, 21:46
Wait - six scholarship players? We have Ranga, Temple, the two we recently signed and him. Who is the other one?
Barabbas
4 Aug 2008, 23:11
Tim Wale's Geelong Scholarship Offer
Westbrook U16s player Tim Wales was offered a scholarship from the Geelong FC after a sensational U16s carnival in Woolongong last Saturday. Tim was runner up in "Best Player Of The Carnival" award while captaining the victorious North West Team. The team won all their 5 games, defeating Newcastle Region in the final. Westbrook were represented by Tim and Chamath Samarasinghe from our U16s (pictured below). The squads were made up of both U15 & U16s players from Sydney, Newcastle, Central Coast & Illawarra.
http://www.westbrook.org.au/Portals/0/Nth%20West%20U16s%20Wbk.jpg
Ha! 2 Rangas. :thumbsu:
Geminicatz
5 Aug 2008, 21:18
We now have a total 5 x NSW scholarship players:
1. Kale Temple
http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:YkquUcAUZwVqCM:http://helensburgh-lac.com/Photos/2005-06/DSC_2534.jpg (http://images.google.com.au/imgres?imgurl=http://helensburgh-lac.com/Photos/2005-06/DSC_2534.jpg&imgrefurl=http://helensburgh-lac.com/Photo_Pages/photos_0506.html&h=331&w=220&sz=81&hl=en&start=4&um=1&tbnid=YkquUcAUZwVqCM:&tbnh=119&tbnw=79&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dkale%2Btemple%26um%3D1%26hl%3Den%26cr%3Dcountry AU%26sa%3DN)
2. Ranga Ediriwickrama
http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:NAS1KPpIfNEGtM:http://www.realfooty.com.au/ffximage/2008/05/13/PM_ranga.jpg (http://images.google.com.au/imgres?imgurl=http://www.realfooty.com.au/ffximage/2008/05/13/PM_ranga.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/young-talent-time/2008/05/13/1210444439215.html&h=362&w=250&sz=61&hl=en&start=2&um=1&tbnid=NAS1KPpIfNEGtM:&tbnh=121&tbnw=84&prev=/images%3Fq%3DRanga%2BEdiriwickrama%26um%3D1%26hl%3Den%26sa%3 DN)
3. Beau "Flex" Black
4. Lachlan Urwin
http://mm.afl.com.au/Portals/0/cats_images/article_images_2008/irwinandblack246x316.jpg
5. Tim Wales
http://www.hornsbyadvocate.com.au/images/uploadedfiles/editorial/pictures/2008/07/30/aussieruleskid.jpg
Budda 230
7 Aug 2008, 09:11
So how many Scholarship players are we allowed to sign? At first I thought you were only able to have 2 signed players at one time and I assumed that Urwin and Black were the next batch. But the signing of Wales has really confused me.
By the way, has anyone got an update on Kale Temple? I know he has played a couple of games for the Rams but wouldn't have a clue how he went or how he has developed.
thejester
7 Aug 2008, 11:17
I downloaded this (http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-4710-0-0-0&sID=55526&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=4875458§ionID=55526) which suggests you can sign two players a year with a maximum of six at any one time - so unless they've changed the rules (it's two years old, so quite possible) I'm not sure how we've managed to nab three in one year.
Geminicatz
8 Aug 2008, 18:41
Well some clubs already have 6 - 7 Scholarship players
The rabbi
4 Sep 2008, 17:46
http://mm.afl.com.au/Portals/0/images/AFL/AFL%20A-E/EdiriwickramaB_246.jpg
I hope Geelong have a ready supply of Stringhoppers for him.
Sri-Lankan Cat will understand.
Geminicatz
12 Sep 2008, 14:08
Scholarship: Cats reinforce stocks
Tom Peeters 11:57 AM Fri 12 September, 2008
http://mm.afl.com.au/Portals/0/cats_images/article_images_2008/jacktim246x350.jpg Tim Wales (left) and Jack Dimery (right)
Scholarship: Cats reinforce stocks (http://www.gfc.com.au/GeelongNews/NewsArticle/tabid/3933/Default.aspx?newsId=56105)
Fri, Sep 12, 08
They may have travelled over 1000 kilometres to get to Skilled Stadium but the journey certainly hadn’t caused their enthusiasm to waver.
Jack Dimery and Tim Wales have become the two newest players to join the Geelong Cats through the AFL’s NSW scholarship program.
The boys, both aged 16, join current scholarship players Ranga Ediriwickrama, Kale Temple, Lachlan Urwin and Beau Black in being linked to the Cats.
Wales, a 180cm/70kg half forward, hails from Pennant Hills Football Club, also the club of fellow scholarship player Ediriwickrama, and attends the King’s School.
Dimery, a 182cm/72kg half back, hails Baulkham Hills Football Club and attends Castle Hill High School.
Both boys made there way to Geelong in late August to meet with players, club fitness staff and administration.
“It was unreal to walk into the change rooms and right there in front of you is Joel Selwood, Jimmy Bartel and Gary Ablett.” Dimery said.
The boys first introduction to the Cats came at the club’s game against Sydney at ANZ Stadium in round 20. Cats recruiter, Michael McMahon, took the two newcomers and the four other scholarship players into the rooms before the game where they met with staff, players and Cats president Frank Costa.
Both players had friends who had previously signed up with AFL clubs under the scholarship system, Wales knowing West Coast Eagles recruit Ryan Davis and Dimery growing up with Hawthorn’s Trent Stubbs.
It wasn’t difficult for the boys to find mates to learn the game with in the Rugby League heartland either.
“At lunchtime I’ve got quite a few mates who will have a kick of the footy, which is good.” Wales said.
Despite growing up in NSW it was Wales’ natural footballing ability that caught the Cats recruiters’ eye.
“He’s a skilful player who marks very well and has that natural footballing ability that catches the eye.” McMahon said.
Dimery also excited the Cats with his ability.
“Jack has a tank that allows him to run all day. He is really good overhead as well as being able to handle himself in one-on-one contests.”
http://www.gfc.com.au/Portals/0/cats_images/cats_promos_2008/nswgroup.jpg
The Geelong Cats NSW scholarship group
for gfc.com.au
RSS (http://www.afl.com.au/tabid/7866/default.aspx)
Font down (javascript:void(0))
Font larger (javascript:void(0))
Print (javascript:void(0))
Send to a friend
Geminicatz
12 Sep 2008, 14:23
Geelong welcomes more NSW talent
The Geelong Cats have recently added four young players to their expanding NSW scholarship list.
All six players came together for the first time on Saturday night to watch the Cats take on the Sydney Swans at ANZ Stadium.
The two newest additions, Tim Wales and Jack Dimery, were announced officially last week as the Cats prepared to travel up to Sydney.
http://www-static.sportingpulse.com/pics/62/87/6287501_secondImageIMG.jpg
http://www-static.sportingpulse.com/pics/62/87/6287501_firstImageIMG.jpg
Good to see us get another couple on the books. Linger mark two looks like a goer! must be the hair.
Check the eyebrows out on the bloke next to ranga! haha.
Kayle Templeton (Far left) looks like a monster for a 17 year old. Made the NSW/ACT squad for this year and will be prominent again in 09.
Will lock himself in as a top 20 pick at the end of next year IMHO.
Reg Hickey
12 Sep 2008, 22:59
Good to see us get another couple on the books. Linger mark two looks like a goer! must be the hair.
Check the eyebrows out on the bloke next to ranga! haha.
Kayle Templeton (Far left) looks like a monster for a 17 year old. Made the NSW/ACT squad for this year and will be prominent again in 09.
Will lock himself in as a top 20 pick at the end of next year IMHO.
Big call on Kayle Templeton aka Kale Temple there rizzo. He's a big and very athletic kid, but as far as I am aware he hasn't really shown anything to suggest he'd be top 20 material ...
haha close! We will see.. Maybe not top 20 on talent. But how many tall kids that can run as quick as as far as he can come up. I think those aspects will be at the forefront. Will be good to see him next year.