View Full Version : Umpires among us, make yourselves known

VanBerlo=God
9 Jul 2007, 14:23
I am, first year field, very fun, quite fast, and i enjoy it a lot.
Had about 20 senior games of boundary umpiring before, that was quite fun, a lot of hard running, but my throw ins sucked :(

My bounces aren't bad tho, can get some decent air :D

ATM, I umpire:
U18
U16

BK Eaglesfan
9 Jul 2007, 15:14
Ex.......field umpired juniors when I was young....destroyed my hip in a car accident...turned to goal umpiring at Sunday League in W.A (two league grand finals), and then WAFL for a few years with a handful of league games.

Super Goalie
9 Jul 2007, 16:30
Boundary Umpired for 3 years upto SANFL Res.
Field Umpire for 6 years in a local junior Comp
Goal Umpire for 3 years upto SANFL League(trial matches this year & last), currently in Reserves awaiting a crack at the big time.

delirious1
9 Jul 2007, 16:40
Boundary umpire for some under 16 games around perth:cool:

Seth
9 Jul 2007, 17:09
After breaking my leg badly playing footy a couple of years later I was talked into umpiring. Umpired for a year at Gippsland panel doing seniors at west Gippsland FL and Ellinbank FL. Great fun, hard work and got a lot out of it but the leg couldn't handle all the running and hard work so gave it away. Got a couple of finals games as well so did really well in my first year. When I started Matt STEVIC on the same panel was being groomed for AFL. That was 1996 so a long time it takes to come through.

Played footy at a good seniors level so really umpiring wasn't that hard. All common sense really. Something some of these blokes today umpiring in the AFL lack.

.Shotties.
9 Jul 2007, 17:13
Lvl 2 field umpire, been doing it since 1999 odd. Went through the St George, Inner City and North Shore junior competitions, now doing SAFL.

Rory
9 Jul 2007, 17:22
I used to umpire in my day.

TFLUA-Tiger
9 Jul 2007, 18:45
I am, first year field, very fun, quite fast, and i enjoy it a lot.
Had about 20 senior games of boundary umpiring before, that was quite fun, a lot of hard running, but my throw ins sucked :(

My bounces aren't bad tho, can get some decent air :D

ATM, I umpire:
U18
U16

First year field for me too. I'm pretty young at 15, so this is my first year of umpiring full stop.

I've done Reserves, 19's, 15's, 14's and 13's in the Southern Football League in Tasmania.

Really enjoy it.

My bouncing is improving gradually, it's straight but not enough air.

VanBerlo=God
9 Jul 2007, 19:18
First year field for me too. I'm pretty young at 15, so this is my first year of umpiring full stop.

I've done Reserves, 19's, 15's, 14's and 13's in the Southern Football League in Tasmania.

Really enjoy it.

My bouncing is improving gradually, it's straight but not enough air.
trick is to get close to the ground,

strength comes from lower back & hamstrings, so don't try to throw your arms through it, or you will end up with a sore face :o

TFLUA-Tiger
9 Jul 2007, 19:25
Has happened to me once, i'm getting there. VFL umpires are helping me ATM.

pazza
9 Jul 2007, 20:00
Having a season off - work related, not lack of fitness or injury.

Prior to that, 195 games in the goals for the VAFA (top 20 since 1998)

delirious1
9 Jul 2007, 21:20
my bouncing is so bad im confined to boundary umpiring:o
but im not serious about it, i started it as a warm up in the morning for basketball games later in the day

heals
9 Jul 2007, 21:26
Im a Boundary umpire at community football level in WA done a few A's and B grade games this year so moving my way up there. And i started out field this year but stopped after 2 rounds because boundary was getting me buggered. Ill get back into it next year. Absoloutley love umpiring great fun and great money.

TigerCraig
9 Jul 2007, 21:28
Started goal umpiring seniors & ressies when playing Under 17's back in 1984.

Umpired (field) U/15 & U/17 when playing seniors (juniors played on Sundays in my league)

Umpired seniors in the early 90's after sme injuries, then went back to playing.

Had a couple of years of soccer, did my refs ticket and ended up refereeing state league in SA.

Now coaching my son's footy (U/9) and daughters netball (U/15)

Also have my cricket umpires card - umpired a grannie last year

Also have my netball umpires card - umpired at the last 4 NSW state champs

(Am also the worst ref/umpire basher as a player)

VanBerlo=God
9 Jul 2007, 21:47
haha nice experience :) :thumbsu:

Rod Stroker
9 Jul 2007, 22:59
I used to run the boundary in the EDFL back in the early 90s. I saw it as getting paid to get/stay fit. Good fun, but it helps to have a thick skin to take all the abuse and taunts :)

eddiesmith
9 Jul 2007, 23:02
Started boundary umpiring about 12 years ago now, started when I was injured for the first 5 weeks of the season and ran the boundary, done a few games here and there over the years since, then about 6 years ago found the much better job of goal umpiring, umpired over 100 games in the goals of School footy and Ammos

Currently on a breather to decide if I want to continue umpiring or follow footy, made the decision to rest this year due to the late start catching me in a busy time and finding I am only free for a few Saturdays this year with travel, assignments and following the Pies.

Really enjoyed umpiring in the Ammos for 5 years although the travel was a killer for me

fantastic_crows
10 Jul 2007, 00:27
I'm in my 4th year of being a soccer referee.

I know its not really what the thread says, but I can relate to a lot of the problems etc with my own experiences.

I'm pretty serious about it, I have goals to at least assistant referee the A-League when I'm older, my fitness needs a bit of work though,

Kerr4PM
10 Jul 2007, 01:17
Last Year I did field umpire for juniors and Goal and boundary for seniors.

Don't find the time these days as I'm usually playing too often.

Armageddon
10 Jul 2007, 02:39
I want to get into umpiring, any suggestions?

Super Goalie
10 Jul 2007, 02:54
I want to get into umpiring, any suggestions?

Contact your local state league, they should fill you in on all the relevant information and provide you with some dates about when it will kick off for next year. Usually the SANFL will start running Basic Umpires Courses late January

docker_azza
10 Jul 2007, 09:47
Umpire junior football.

borgsta2006
10 Jul 2007, 09:58
Am 29 years old, have been umpiring since 1994.

Played 100 games as a junior and couldn;t be stuffed playing so turned to umpiring.

Did 40 Div 1 matches as a boundary umpire in the Western Region Football League in Metro VIC.

Umpired 181 matches to date in the Division One WRFL comp and 20 matches in the Black Diamond AFL in Newcastle / Central Coast.

Have officiated in 5 Divison One Grand Finals WRFL + 1 First Grade Grand Final in the BDAFL.

Love umpiring and I don't think I would ever give it away unless I sustained some sort of injury.

Have had a couple of VFL tryouts but for various reasons could never make the step up.

ubolt
10 Jul 2007, 11:25
Boundary Umpire here.

Started umpiring about 7 years ago, in the local Southern Football League here in SA.

Went to the SANFL for a couple of seasons, umpired a few reserves games.

Went back to the Southern Football League to continue with the Boundary Umpiring after argument with SANFL about not being available to umpire a few trial games because of cricket umpiring commitments.

Still in Southern League and cricket umpiring all at the same time.

It can be done SANFL, it can be done!

ubolt
10 Jul 2007, 11:38
that's why i'm focusing on Cricket.

For us in the Southern League they generally don't care if we miss training sessions or anything like that. If i have anything to do with cricket: meetings, games, etc. etc. i will put that first (except for Grand Final night where they announce the appointments). I went into this football season without umpiring a trial game because of cricket finals.

Which is why the SANFL got shitty with me, i can understand it. And it is why i am focusing on cricket. Besides, i've got a cricket career in front of me and the football career has well and truly passed.

I enjoy cricket A LOT MORE than football too.

The Majestic
10 Jul 2007, 11:42
I've been considering getting into being a goal umpire, since Tasmanian football are in need of new umpires. It may be a thing for next year though, might be a tad late for this season.

TFLUA-Tiger
10 Jul 2007, 16:31
I've been considering getting into being a goal umpire, since Tasmanian football are in need of new umpires. It may be a thing for next year though, might be a tad late for this season.

You'll be joining me in the ranks of new Tasmanian orange maggots! good job, and a good bunch of blokes.

You in the South?

eddiesmith
10 Jul 2007, 17:21
You should be focussing on one sport and if you like footy umpiring better than cricket umpiring then drop cricket umpiring.
Why should he? :rolleyes:

The Majestic
10 Jul 2007, 18:45
You'll be joining me in the ranks of new Tasmanian orange maggots! good job, and a good bunch of blokes.

You in the South?

Yeah I am.

I have to get some good padded shoes to stand there all day though.;)

The Majestic
10 Jul 2007, 18:51
Good on you for helping out. It's not too late in the season to start umpiring. Give it a shot. You won't look back once you start. :thumbsu:

It'd be good to be able to get involved, it's either that or coaching juniors, since my little brother will be joining the ranks of the junior footy league. I could almost start there as far as umpiring goes.

jacko99
11 Jul 2007, 14:31
i am a goal umpire at reserves level in the WAFL i am 16 years old and looking to hit league football in early rounds nxt yearAlso a field umpire in the Peel Football League, WA

Rory
11 Jul 2007, 17:12
i am a goal umpire at reserves level in the WAFL i am 16 years old and looking to hit league football in early rounds nxt yearAlso a field umpire in the Peel Football League, WA

Pretty good to be 16 and at reserves level ready to crack league :thumbsu:

I did my first senior game this year and I'm only 19.

Juza
12 Jul 2007, 10:04
In my second year of umpring for the EFL. Only 15 & lately been doing Under 14's, so thats been good experience come finals time. Alot of the players are way taller than me, I'm like Ray been knocked to the ground fair few times. But i'm ok. Great fun. You meet a new Umpire almost every week. It's a shame some coaches drive new umpires away -.-'

sportsdarts
12 Jul 2007, 11:47
I did a level one coach's course so i could do a bit of Auskick coaching while my son goes through the grades .

The course was for 3 day's and run by the AFL it was very wel done

Any way whist coaching the kids (under 8) all the kid's want to do is play a game so after our skill drills we would play a game so i had to umpire ,

I found umpiring a great thing and it was amazing how you could see the game , even though it was only the Kids , i may try to do a umpir's course but it may have passed me by at the age of 50 .

I reckon all kid's going throgh their grades should be encoureged to have a go at umpiring some where along the line ,

They would get one here and there to start an umpiring carreer .

cradle of filth
12 Jul 2007, 23:32
i'm a goal umpire for the SFL

Mr_Smooth
12 Jul 2007, 23:38
Boundary Umpired for 3 years upto SANFL Res.
Field Umpire for 6 years in a local junior Comp
Goal Umpire for 3 years upto SANFL League(trial matches this year & last), currently in Reserves awaiting a crack at the big time.
how exactly did you become a goal umpie? i'm interesting in maybe becoming one one day?

Super Goalie
13 Jul 2007, 00:05
Ring the SANFL and they will provide you with the appropriate details. Basic Umpires course in February, you'll be sent to the Independant Schools panel to begin with, then progress through the SANFL ranks as your development comes along.

Mr_Smooth
13 Jul 2007, 00:06
Ring the SANFL and they will provide you with the appropriate details. Basic Umpires course in February, you'll be sent to the Independant Schools panel to begin with, then progress through the SANFL ranks as your development comes along.
what costs are involved?

Super Goalie
13 Jul 2007, 00:12
Basic Umpires Course is free, Uniform free, scorecard holder & flags etc at a cost, however are significantly cheaper if you become a member of the SANFLUA(SANFL Umpires Assoc.) Wouldn't be more than around $65 to get you up and running, but it's been 6 years since I went through all that ;)

Rory
13 Jul 2007, 00:15
what costs are involved?

You have to put up with me ;)

Mr_Smooth
13 Jul 2007, 00:15
thanks mate

Mr_Smooth
13 Jul 2007, 00:16
You have to put up with me ;)
i'll pass then.. ;)

bigpapagman
13 Jul 2007, 11:54
oh. god. it all makes sense now.

Father Jack
13 Jul 2007, 13:24
I had a go at goal umpiring. Hated it. I'm afraid I simply don't have the attention span.

TFLUA-Tiger
13 Jul 2007, 16:54
i'm a goal umpire for the SFL

The southern football league, Tasmania? If so I may know you.

- PC -
14 Jul 2007, 19:48
I used to umpire in my day.

Practising for his big day tomorrow. Good luck Rory and show em how big it is

http://www.footy.com.au/dags/96/images/goal.gif

http://www.careaustralia.org.au/images/content/small/l_CARE%20Footy%20-%20umpire.jpg

- PC -
14 Jul 2007, 19:49
Pretty good to be 16 and at reserves level ready to crack league :thumbsu:

I did my first senior game this year and I'm only 19.

Ignore previous post then... I thought you were making your debut

Rory
14 Jul 2007, 22:54
Ignore previous post then... I thought you were making your debut

Nah already ticked that milestone off. Was out at lizbef today, but the record got it wrong if that's what your going on ;)

- PC -
14 Jul 2007, 23:07
Nah already ticked that milestone off. Was out at lizbef today, but the record got it wrong if that's what your going on ;)

I was

Was going to get Roosterlad to give ya heaps :D

Knowlan
14 Jul 2007, 23:57
Started Field Umpiring when I was 13, and been doing it for four years.

I started at SUA, and won 2004 Junior Field umpire award, and umpired the U/16 Grand Final, (this was my first full season, only 3 games prior experience).

Umpired as high as 2nd's at SUA, before moving from them to the Ammo's this year and am doing low U/19. Hopefully next year I can move higher.

I also umpired a few games at Auskick, out on the MCG and Telstra Dome, in 2005. Even though nobody was watching the little kids, it was still fun and good experience.

I hope to get to the VFL within the next 3 years, provided I don't get injured and I improve my work rate ;)

RooDog
16 Jul 2007, 00:05
field umpire over here in sa... umpire at a reasonable level! only 22 so got time on my side.

Chezwick
16 Jul 2007, 18:41
I talked with the Umpiring Development Coach here in Brisbane, although late in the season, going to start training as a Boundry umpire and I'd love the chance to become a field umpire, perhaps next season.

I've umpired Touch football for about 1 and half years, but always wanted to get into AFL Umpiring.

peterss
18 Jul 2007, 15:08
Im a goal umpire in the Peel Football League ;)

pazza
18 Jul 2007, 23:00
I had a go at goal umpiring. Hated it. I'm afraid I simply don't have the attention span.

Best trick for that is to do it at a club level...and get fed hot dogs, take phone calls....

Father Jack
19 Jul 2007, 14:33
Best trick for that is to do it at a club level...and get fed hot dogs, take phone calls....

And that is the problem. I used to do it at club level, and eat hotdogs and take phone calls and backchat players ... all the things I need to do to keep myself interested.

bleeding red and white
24 Jul 2007, 19:39
I'm 18.... I'm a 2nd year field umpire for the Southern Football League in Victoria. Started out as a boundary umpire for the yarra valley umpires then went over to the SFL to become a field umpire. Last season I was taken under Michael Vozzo's wing for the AFL umpire's mates program which I got alot out of.

I got the chance to train with the AFL umpires last year at monash uni which was a good experience and Vozzo came to watch one of my games. I'm now umpiring Div 1 seniors so hopefully i'll be able to make the VFL in the next few years and then the AFL. :thumbsu:

pazza
24 Jul 2007, 21:32
I'm 18.... I'm a 2nd year field umpire for the Southern Football League in Victoria. Started out as a boundary umpire for the yarra valley umpires then went over to the SFL to become a field umpire. Last season I was taken under Michael Vozzo's wing for the AFL umpire's mates program which I got alot out of.

I got the chance to train with the AFL umpires last year at monash uni which was a good experience and Vozzo came to watch one of my games. I'm now umpiring Div 1 seniors so hopefully i'll be able to make the VFL in the next few years and then the AFL. :thumbsu:

The process isn't so easy to get through.

Make sure you pay attention to your observer reports and any advice you get. It's always the little things that make the big difference.

cradle of filth
24 Jul 2007, 22:44
The southern football league, Tasmania? If so I may know you.

nah sorry mate, i'm in victoria

nicho_magic
25 Jul 2007, 12:26
umpiring in the ammos atm, second year doing D1 and D2 atm, which can be frustrating, as the footy isn't so great. hope to go to the vfl at the end of next year.

Running with someone
25 Jul 2007, 12:40
umpiring in the ammos atm, second year doing D1 and D2 atm, which can be frustrating, as the footy isn't so great. hope to go to the vfl at the end of next year.

nicho, the footy isnt that bad mate.. i think you will have to do one more year before you make it to the vfl dv squad, there are many others ahead of you.

keep working though mate, your not worst umpire out there.

HBF
26 Jul 2007, 17:25
Used to umpire quite a few years ago, and probably got close to 100 games, before nightclubs became a bit more of a priority. Was a Field Umpire, and really enjoyed it.

The Majestic
26 Jul 2007, 22:19
Used to umpire quite a few years ago, and probably got close to 100 games, before nightclubs became a bit more of a priority. Was a Field Umpire, and really enjoyed it.
Maybe that is the secret to good umpiring? Umpire pissed! ;)

bigpapagman
27 Jul 2007, 12:11
*bigpapagman wonders what he is doing here.*

VanBerlo=God
30 Jul 2007, 10:05
Maybe that is the secret to good umpiring? Umpire pissed! ;)
tell you the desire to blow the whistle dimishes, don't really wanna blow your guts out while tootin on the whistle