View Full Version : What kind of crowd can we expect vs Richmond?

philhawk
9 Jul 2007, 22:02
MCG.

A 'big' rivalry mainly built up by the media.

Sunday 2pm - one of the best timeslots for footy.

Showers supposedly clearing after a cold streak down there in Melbourne.

Our first home game at the G since the Swans (I might be wrong), in which time we've played some terrific football.

Who's going?!

Hopefully we can beat the 50k strong crowd that came to watch us play the Swannies at the G.

Krale Brown
9 Jul 2007, 22:15
I think the crowd will be about 55.000 to 60.000 :thumbsu:

Comon Hawks make my birthday that much better by flogging those Tigers. :)

delirious1
9 Jul 2007, 22:17
Showers supposedly clearing after a cold streak down there in Melbourne.

thats just the saliva the fans will release when wallace fails to gain another victory

shotta
9 Jul 2007, 22:23
This is a crap timeslot. Footy should be played Saturday afternoon at the G!
22 Games Saturday afternoon, wont happen but it's the best time.

hawkslore
9 Jul 2007, 22:30
thats just the saliva the fans will release when wallace fails to gain another victory
well we can expect a bunch of deranged,deluded, experimentally gone wrong, laboratory secretley tested fiends in richmond supporters//and us proud passionate and paid up hawks!! crowd of 40000:D :thumbsu:

Hawkk
9 Jul 2007, 22:36
43-46,000.

Bare in mind Richmond only drew 33,000 to their last home game vs. the Kangaroos so I can't see the Tiger fans turning out in huge numbers.

Hopefully the weather holds off and we can play dry weather football, I'm very, very worried about our abilities in the wet.

Absolutely, without doubt Saturday Afternoon is the best timeslot to watch football, the perfect mix :thumbsu:

keefriffhard
9 Jul 2007, 22:50
Mid 40,000's

Bare in mind Richmond only drew 33,000 to their last home game vs. the Kangaroos.

All depends on whether they bring the 2,000 pets that they signed up to get to 30,000.:D

Should be a great game. We need to bounce back hard after last week. Get on down Hawks fans and join the throng. Give the team the support they deserve. Personally I can't wait. My son is nagging me already and I've already slipped the usual family lunch on Sunday at the Grandparents.

Have to get at least 45,000 I reckon, considering the membership list of both clubs.

ricta
9 Jul 2007, 22:53
43-46,000.

Absolutely, without doubt Saturday Afternoon is the best timeslot to watch football, the perfect mix :thumbsu:

Absolutely spot on

medusala
9 Jul 2007, 22:59

I think few would argue otherwise. Sundays are terrible. No atmosphere, noone wants to drink before, at or after the game. Guys wont turn up because the missus has them off somewhere doing something they dont want to be doing. Up there with night racing at Moonee Valley.

RustyHawk
9 Jul 2007, 23:13
43-46,000.

Bare in mind Richmond only drew 33,000 to their last home game vs. the Kangaroos so I can't see the Tiger fans turning out in huge numbers.

Mind you they were only expecting 29,000. The game Sunday was crap with a capital C.

Personally if it wasnt a home game I wouldnt waste good money on it.

39,000 max

hawker11
9 Jul 2007, 23:13
46,000-50,000 - The weather will play a big part though (in terms of weather the tiger supporters will show)

Hopefully at worst it is light rain (as the richmond faithful are comfortable with spitting at football matches)

Whilst I understand the Saturday Arvo is a popular timeslot - at least the local footballers can go see a Sunday Afternoon game!

Nubby
9 Jul 2007, 23:58

i wonder if i can bet on the crowd through TAB Sportsbet?

i'd put $10 on that :thumbsu:

Hawkk
10 Jul 2007, 00:02
The MCC is predicting 41,000...I guess we will have to wait until Sunday to find out...

Anything less then 40,000 would be very disappointing considering the position we are in IMO.

cradle of filth
10 Jul 2007, 00:18
Richmond have alot of supporters and we should have more coming to the footy now that we're looking like a finals side so i predict around 55 to 60 thousand.

HFC082
10 Jul 2007, 00:19

Rexcellent
10 Jul 2007, 00:21

bit more specific please...:p

philhawk
10 Jul 2007, 00:21

Always the pessimist.

I predict 78 961.5.

Edd1e
10 Jul 2007, 00:50
I'm going :D

Should get a crowd of 50-55k...

somocca
10 Jul 2007, 03:01
I think few would argue otherwise. Sundays are terrible. No atmosphere, noone wants to drink before, at or after the game. Guys wont turn up because the missus has them off somewhere doing something they dont want to be doing. Up there with night racing at Moonee Valley.

What crap. Let my husband try and tell me that my daughter and I are not going to see the Hawks!! D.I.V.O.R.C.E would be happening. The guys need to grow some niagras and tell their lovely wives that footy was around long before them and it will be around a hell of alot longer.
You guys are not playing your cards right. If you have kids, you get in the kid's ears first and tell them that if the Hawks win, it Maccas for tea. If they lose it's spinach and tripe. That's the kids done and how hard can it be for the missus? Just get them along to a game. Even if they don't like the footy, they are married not dead! They will take one look at Hodgey and Buddy and they will be won over too.

brookers#5
10 Jul 2007, 03:10
saturday afternoon is all well & good for tradition but for those of us who play saturday afternoons is terrible so i dont mind sunday games if our supporters are fair dinkum & its not raining we should get 60 we got 50 against sydney & there should be quite afew more tigers then swans so really shoul dget near 70 if our supporters are fair dinkum.

Linzman
10 Jul 2007, 11:21

Sunday Afternoon games are my favourites!

thatswhatimtalkinabout
10 Jul 2007, 11:24
A 'big' rivalry mainly built up by the media.

Interesting fact in today's Sun Phil. Hawthorn & Richmond have never played each other in any sort of a final. (perhaps night matches aside - it doesn't say)

Big rivalry indeed.

beerbandit
10 Jul 2007, 11:24
20,000... everyone will be too hungover from the game of the year on saturday... 95,000 at the G

kimbopen
10 Jul 2007, 11:59
Reckon the crowd will get to around 45,000.

Will definitely be there! Cannot wait.

plod
10 Jul 2007, 12:10

GAMBLER
10 Jul 2007, 12:17
45-50,000.

Hopefully 30,000 of them being Hawk fans :thumbsu:

ricta
10 Jul 2007, 13:41
45-50k

KingRich
10 Jul 2007, 14:06
46,000-50,000 - The weather will play a big part though (in terms of weather the tiger supporters will show)

Hopefully at worst it is light rain (as the richmond faithful are comfortable with spitting at football matches)

Whilst I understand the Saturday Arvo is a popular timeslot - at least the local footballers can go see a Sunday Afternoon game!

Exactly! Sunday Arvo games provide the only real chance for footy players to get to the games so I appreciate them being mixed up a bit.

peejay
10 Jul 2007, 18:30
[QUOTE=Hawkk;8068795]43-46,000.

[QUOTE]

It was our home game so North fans had to pay so may 66% of their poor membership would not have turned up. It was sunday twilight at the Dome and it was live on foxtel (which was also followed immediately by the soccer on foxtel).

33000 was about what i thought would turn up.

RustyHawk
10 Jul 2007, 18:36

Im sorry HFC082 is that including you or is it 78960 + 1?

Hawkk
10 Jul 2007, 19:50
It was our home game so North fans had to pay so may 66% of their poor membership would not have turned up. It was sunday twilight at the Dome and it was live on foxtel (which was also followed immediately by the soccer on foxtel).

33000 was about what i thought would turn up.

Fair point, another point worth making is that the Hawks have generally drawn 11-12,000 more fans to Melbourne based games this season than the Kangaroos corresponding fixtures.

44-45,000 is the ballpark figure IMO.