View Full Version : Let's be frank, we should expect to win by alot this week

philhawk
10 Jul 2007, 19:02
If we want to consider ourselves a real chance this year, we should expect to win by alot in this match. I'm not suggesting the players should take it easy by any means, but we should expect to beat Richmond by alot if we play to the best of our ability.

Am I the only one who thinks this?

Note: To Richmond fans who read this, i'm happy to cop it from all and sundry if we lose, but frankly i'm a little annoyed at the way we play down our chances consistently every week (even against the 'cellar dwellers'.

hawkstars
10 Jul 2007, 19:08
I know where you are coming from. We should win but your right in the event we don't then we do not deserve to be challengin for the flag.

shotta
10 Jul 2007, 19:20
[quote=philhawk;8076277]If we want to consider ourselves a real chance this year, we should expect to win by alot in this match. I'm not suggesting the players should take it easy by any means, but we should expect to beat Richmond by alot if we play to the best of our ability.

Sunday can not come fast eneough. We will put this week well and truly behind us and our confidence level will be back where it was 5 days ago, along with some added wisdom.

Chrissie90
10 Jul 2007, 19:21
I like the Tigers. Rainsy is a cutie...:thumbsu::thumbsu:

But I think we will win by 10-15 goals.

Go Hawks!

littleTree
10 Jul 2007, 19:25
The Tigers have only been beaten by more then 4 goals 3-4 times this year... I think any margin will do.

To expect a roll over is folly imho.

Gary Shadforth
10 Jul 2007, 19:27
........ should expect to win by alot in this match. I'm not suggesting the players should take it easy by any means, but we should expect to beat Richmond by alot if we play to the best of our ability.

Maybe, phil. Clarko and the players will be far from thinking any team in the competition can be well beaten.

All games have to be won by hard work at a team plan suitable against any particular opposition and to the conditions of the day.

HFC082
10 Jul 2007, 19:28
The will capitulate. Richmond will wish the AFL had a mercy rule, given the amount of torture Buddy is going to inflict upon them.

They have no answers for our talent all over the park.

cradle of filth
10 Jul 2007, 19:35
i'm not so sure this will be an easy victory. Whilst Richmond havnt been winning they aren't getting killed anymore and have been competitive.

Hawkk
10 Jul 2007, 19:54
Richmond haven't been that poor this season, dare I say it, potentially the best 1 win club in the history of the game? so its not a given, but given what we have on the line we must win this game and win it well.

A 6-7 goal win would go along way to patching up the percentage sapping perfomance last week.

HawkXNtric
10 Jul 2007, 19:58
Sorry to be pessimistic, but I'll just be happy to get the four points.

I'm also taking it one week at a time and just going through the processes that we put in place at the start of the year.

Nor am I going to speculate on what number of wins we need this season in order to achieve our pre-season goals. And I am definitely not going to start talking about finals yet, even if we win the next 8 in a row, because we may actually need to have 17 wins to make the finals this year....:rolleyes:

Linda Crescent
10 Jul 2007, 20:51
“Let's be frank, we should expect to win by a lot this week.”

‘philhawk’ what planet are you on? Things are different week to week, how you deal with your passion for Hawthorn is your business, as is how you express your love on BigFooty.

Please don't assume we (Hawthorn supporters who visit/or are members of BigFooty) all think the same as you because, quite simply, we don't.

Why should we "expect to win by a lot this week?"

Choose your words carefully, with love, Linda.

thommo16
10 Jul 2007, 21:31
Wow Linda....Is everything ok?

We should expect to win by a lot this week. We are third on the ladder and where are Richmond!

I dont know if you were just joking around with Phil or not?

philhawk
10 Jul 2007, 21:39

‘philhawk’ what planet are you on? Things are different week to week, how you deal with your passion for Hawthorn is your business, as is how you express your love on BigFooty.

Please don't assume we (Hawthorn supporters who visit/or are members of BigFooty) all think the same as you because, quite simply, we don't.

Where is that coming from? The whole point of this thread wasn't to suggest how people 'think', Linda.

If it came across like that to you, then my apologies.

But what i'm just trying to suggest is, if we consider ourselves a genuine finals chance this year (i'm speaking on a personal level here), we (and I again use 'we' loosely) should expect to win this match.

A team in the Top 4 vs a team at the very bottom. I am expecting a win - and given the tight nature of the competition this season, percentage is going to prove vital at the end of the day.

I know how fans (including myself) go into most matches cautious about their prospects. What i'm merely trying to say is, if the Hawthorn football club and it's members consider ourselves of making a good show in the finals, then we need to produce good footy against the bottom dwelling teams.

It's a funny stat, but I believe we have a better record against Top 8 teams than bottom 8 teams. Hopefully we can change this!

phillm1
10 Jul 2007, 21:41
Agree 100 % Phillhawk as much as i cant stand pies fans at least they are 100% committed to being positve about there club winning every game where as hawks fans are more conservetive with there aproach, but lets be like pies fans and say yes of course we will beat the tigers we can beat any team if we really really wanted it.............

macdaddio
10 Jul 2007, 21:41
totally agree, we must win be by a huge margin...........

BigAl3001
10 Jul 2007, 21:42
Sorry to be pessimistic, but I'll just be happy to get the four points.
No need to apologise, the vast majority of supporters are with you. It's only a vocal minority who lack a little bit of humility and starts posts like this one. One things for sure, our coaching staff and playing group won't be taking things for granted.

philhawk
10 Jul 2007, 21:46
No need to apologise, the vast majority of supporters are with you. It's only a vocal minority who lack a little bit of humility and starts posts like this one. One things for sure, our coaching staff and playing group won't be taking things for granted.

Oh come on, Al. I suppose you might call it a 'lack of humility', but on the flipside, couldn't you call it having confidence in our teams' ability?

Each to their own - and I wouldn't have it any other way! Don't get me wrong, a win by 1 points is better than a loss.

What i'm trying to suggest is, given the way we've underperformed over the past fifteen years, it's fair to say that I personally have rarely seen our club possess the 'killer instinct' against clubs in a somewhat worse position than our own.

By no means am I suggesting that anyone under-estimate the Tigers. They are indeed a better team than people suggest, but in my opinion, we have proven during the course of this year that we are a better team.

Would you begrudge me the hope that our team will come out and thrash a club because I think we are in a better position then them?

jazz
10 Jul 2007, 21:49
If we want to consider ourselves a real chance this year, we should expect to win by alot in this match. I'm not suggesting the players should take it easy by any means, but we should expect to beat Richmond by alot if we play to the best of our ability.

Note: To Richmond fans who read this, i'm happy to cop it from all and sundry if we lose, but frankly i'm a little annoyed at the way we play down our chances consistently every week (even against the 'cellar dwellers'.

Yeah - if we can't bounce back from a shocking loss and beat the bottom side well then we are definitely off the boil.

BigAl3001
10 Jul 2007, 22:00
Would you begrudge me the hope that our team will come out and thrash a club because I think we are in a better position then them?

I don't begrudge anyone hoping that we belt the tigers but the title of your thread is that you expect us to win a by a lot. As a team we need to earn our victories, we are not good enough too just turn up and expect it to happen. It's a fact that the tigers were in a similar position to us last season and we came out and beat them (our only win in a 13-14 game losing streak). All through the lead up that week they were talking it up about how they were going to play finals. We're coming off a 70 point thrashing, we have no right to expect to belt the tigers after that result. If we do I'll eat my humble pie and bow to your better judgement about where you think our team is at.

macdaddio
10 Jul 2007, 22:08

phillhawk is just expressing him self linda.
but most of us do agree with him, we are currently top 4 and if we play like we have before last saturday night then we should be able to beat richmond in a big way.......
and to be honest i do expect a big win...........

hawk3R_4lyfe
10 Jul 2007, 22:27
I can't be bothered with specifics but that is why we've been sitting equal second (3rd by %) for awhile now and Richmond are last.

Huge discrepencies displayed (bar Adelaide, Brisbane game) in:

- skill
- finishing games off
- individual talent
- forward pressure
- midfield
- self belief

With Boyle out, amongst other key forwards this week will be telling of how great our depth is. But like Clarkson says: 'when a soldier's down, you just replace him'.

I think our boys have too much pride and talent to let one bad loss affect its progress, they'll come out to prove why they're a top team.:thumbsu:

phillm1
10 Jul 2007, 22:43
we are 3rd on the ladder the tigers are last, we should and will win by a huge margin, in saying that this is still a danger game but like i said before i am going to into each game like a pie suporter and say we will smash em for we are the mighty fighting hawks !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

bigrayohall20
11 Jul 2007, 11:49
i think the margin could depend on which richmond show up. in saying that we were pretty awful against the roos last week and lost by 4 goals.
i think you guys should win but dont write us off just yet. :thumbsu:

Brown n Gold
11 Jul 2007, 12:04
The path of the righteous "Hawks" is beset on all sides by the iniquities of the selfish and the tyranny of evil Tigers. Blessed is "Buddy Franklin", who in the name of charity and good will, shepherds the weak (Tambling) through the valley of darkness (MCG), for he is truly his brother's keeper and the finder of lost Sherrin. And I will strike down upon thee with great vengeance and furious anger those Tigers who would attempt to gather possessions from my brothers. And you will know my name is Buddy Franklin when I lay my vengeance upon thee.

"pulp fiction"

The TACHawks
11 Jul 2007, 12:15
Hawthorn 5.3 11.6 14.8 16.10.106
Richmond 2.1 4.4 8.6 12.9. 81

We'll come out of the blocks firing.
Big handy lead at halftime and drop down a gear or two 15mins into the 3rd qtr.

Cynic
11 Jul 2007, 12:49
I'm confident. However I think the physical toll of last weeks game will prevent us from winning by 'alot' as you suggest.

WOTTAMACHINE
11 Jul 2007, 13:21
If we go into the game expecting to win by "alot" we could be in for a surprise. I have watched Richmond a few times this year and they are not that bad. They will come out with all guns blazing this week, they have nothing to lose and respectability to gain..
We have to go into this game with the same mentality as we did with the Collingwood game..

stick
11 Jul 2007, 14:20
My confidence will be determined to a large extent by the fitness and availability of Franklin and Bateman. If these 2 are fit and selected I'm confident of a 5 goal + victory.

Bateman is crucial to our run, and Buddy will obviously create match-up headches for the tigers.

If they don't play our forward line looks very containable, and our midfield is weakened significantly. Don't forget the Tigers have Richo and Brown, both those guys are proven match winners capable of kicking 6 goals + themselves.

quiksilver83
11 Jul 2007, 14:37
is buddy under some sort of injury cloud?

stick
11 Jul 2007, 14:48
It has been suggested in other threads that Buddy is under some doubt. I've no idea how much credibility these rumours have. Can anyone add anything more substantial?

Dixie Flatline
11 Jul 2007, 15:17
By one point or by a hundred, I don't care.

Just want the four points.

big bruno
11 Jul 2007, 23:31

Wow??

You know, Spider Everit said on the radio "that if Richmond are the worst team in the comp, then this is one of the strongest comp he has played in."

Celler Dwellars is a bit harsh considering we have only been flogged twice this year. All other losses average to 3 goals.

phillm1
11 Jul 2007, 23:36
not sure what spider meant by that,but he is a knob anyway so ignore that statement....go hawks..

rdhopkins2
11 Jul 2007, 23:41
Yes, we should win by a lot this week IF

we go in to the game not thinking we have already won it, treat Richmond with respect and play hard tough nut footy.

Otherwise we are every chance of losing a game we can ill afford. We have the talent, but talent has to be applied!

Go Hawks!

big bruno
11 Jul 2007, 23:41
not sure what spider meant by that,but he is a knob anyway so ignore that statement....go hawks..

Anyway, you guys will make the 8, no question. But don't call the Tigers crap celler dwellars. We will make you earn your win.

tony_montana
12 Jul 2007, 02:37

we've pushed better sides than you to the limit this year

Hawkk
12 Jul 2007, 02:40

Who?

Geelong is the only side you can conclusively say have been better then us this season and you were beaten by 25 goals.

That's not to say you won't push us, I think most Hawk fans agree this is a massive danger game...

tony_montana
12 Jul 2007, 02:52
Who?

Geelong is the only side you can conclusively say have been better then us this season and you were beaten by 25 goals.

That's not to say you won't push us, I think most Hawk fans agree this is a massive danger game...

I think Adelaide, Sydney, WCE and collingwood are better sides than you. Thats not me being a smarta.rse, my opinion - you may have beaten some of them, but on the whole I think they are better units than you, and we had them all on toast.

If we play like we did against Nth you'll flog us, if we come to play, bring your A-game.

itsintheblood
12 Jul 2007, 09:34
The will capitulate. Richmond will wish the AFL had a mercy rule, given the amount of torture Buddy is going to inflict upon them.

They have no answers for our talent all over the park.

I hope you're right. :thumbsu:

Hawkk
12 Jul 2007, 09:36
I think Adelaide, Sydney, WCE and collingwood are better sides than you. Thats not me being a smarta.rse, my opinion - you may have beaten some of them, but on the whole I think they are better units than you, and we had them all on toast.

West Coast and Sydney on reputation perhaps, but both have been very ordinary this year - particularly away from home. We played poorly against the Swans yet only still lost by 9 points. We smashed West Coast in Tasmania earlier this season.

Collingwood is a difficult team to read, they played above themselves a fortnight ago while we were very rusty but still got over the line with accurate kicking. I believe we have a lot more ability than Collingwood but in terms of working as a team, I believe they have us covered...nether the less in terms of ability IMO we are te better side.

In response, I would argue that Geelong and Adelaide are the only better sides then us in the competition at the moment - and even Adelaide have been very inconsistant.

Scribe
12 Jul 2007, 09:49
If I were coaching Hawthorn I would set the players a target of winning the first term by a couple of goals, and then re-set. If the Tigers start as well as they did against the Demons, and we're 3 or 4 behind, then the focus should be on making a contest, winning it around the ground and working hard to run the Tigers' off their legs. Aim to be in front at half-time.

Do you seriously believe Hawthorn went into the Carlton game aiming to win by 100 points? Clearly they didn't.

No side in the competition should go in to a game expecting to win by a lot. It's foolish and can easily breed complacency.
Just ask West Coast what that can do for your win/loss column. :eek:

Given the spanking we just copped form a mature and finals-hardened Crows unit, we should simply focus on winning this game (forget the margin or the manner in which that win is achieved).

superstar
12 Jul 2007, 12:11
We should spank them.

Trickstar
12 Jul 2007, 13:13
The big FOUR POINTS is all we are after! If we win by one or 50 it doesn't matter, we just need the four points to start to build a gap between us and positions 5-9, we are going to have a few hard games in that we cannot take this game easy, Richmond have beaten us a few times in the last few years - each time we have been expected to win. The Saints and Bombers will be hard as well as they will be trying to make or stay in the eight. Throw in Bulldogs, Kangaroos,Brisbane, Sydney and Port again - not an easy game in sight! Apart from Essendon most of these teams we have struggled to beat over the years.

Phil McCreviss
12 Jul 2007, 14:30
If we are to be a consistently good team, we should punish the Tigers. On paper we are a 5-6 goal better team but the successful teams ie West Coast, Sydney etc make the most of these opportunities and really drive home the advantage.

Yes we should aim for the win but if we smell blood we should destroy them as we did with Carlton. Thats what good teams do - a killer instinct is necessary.

bungholes_premiers
12 Jul 2007, 16:33
Last i saw there were only 2 sides above us in the 8 - and had only lost to one of the sides in the 8 ...

good luck ....

Hawkk
12 Jul 2007, 16:54
The big FOUR POINTS is all we are after! If we win by one or 50 it doesn't matter, we just need the four points to start to build a gap between us and positions 5-9, we are going to have a few hard games in that we cannot take this game easy, Richmond have beaten us a few times in the last few years - each time we have been expected to win. The Saints and Bombers will be hard as well as they will be trying to make or stay in the eight. Throw in Bulldogs, Kangaroos,Brisbane, Sydney and Port again - not an easy game in sight! Apart from Essendon most of these teams we have struggled to beat over the years.

Disagree, there are no easy games in the AFL but IMO of all the potential run homes we have one of the easiest - probably alongside Collingwood, out of the 10/11 clubs in contention.

Of course that doesn't guarntee results, but the draw has certainly opened itself up...

lethalselbow
12 Jul 2007, 17:04
What we got here is a situation where supporters are getting too far ahead of themselves.

Thought the team was reading it's own press last week and played like they were going to cruise.

hawk3R_4lyfe
12 Jul 2007, 20:44
throw in a spanner in the works.... GOLDSPINK!
%&%^&^@#!!!!!!

Magic17
12 Jul 2007, 21:47
Gee I hope the Hawks players go out as confident as philhawk.

I'm sure West Coast thought they had last weeks game against Brisbane in the bag too.

This is a very even competition, take us for granted at your peril.

Still you should win.

I hope we go out there with nothing to lose and we may just surprise

macdaddio
12 Jul 2007, 21:50

its not richmond we dont like.

its your coach. he is a money hungry fool and will leave when the going gets tough..

richmond should be higher than were you are and the bombers should be last........

but just understand that most hawkers dislike you guys coz of terry wallet.............

hawk3R_4lyfe
12 Jul 2007, 22:14
Gee I hope the Hawks players go out as confident as philhawk.

I'm sure West Coast thought they had last weeks game against Brisbane in the bag too.

This is a very even competition, take us for granted at your peril.

Still you should win.

I hope we go out there with nothing to lose and we may just surprise

I doubt if AC will let the boys get ahead of themselves mate. He's kept his boys pretty well kept away from the media. He loosened the lid a bit last week and we all know the result...:o

AC's note to himself: Keep lid firmly on.

hawk3R_4lyfe
16 Jul 2007, 07:51
I can't be bothered with specifics but that is why we've been sitting equal second (3rd by %) for awhile now and Richmond are last.

Huge discrepencies displayed (bar Adelaide, Brisbane game) in:

- skill
- finishing games off
- individual talent
- forward pressure
- midfield
- self belief

With Boyle out, amongst other key forwards this week will be telling of how great our depth is. But like Clarkson says: 'when a soldier's down, you just replace him'.

I think our boys have too much pride and talent to let one bad loss affect its progress, they'll come out to prove why they're a top team.:thumbsu:

I'm not really one to put tabs on myself but... I told you so.

We played pretty average in patches and still managed a 53 point win! Thorp kickes a goal and showed great signs as a KP, I think he'll show off his wares at his hometown against the Kangas.

Great stuff Hawks :D:thumbsu: