View Full Version : Hawks announce 2008 heratige strip
Ted Ed Fred
11 Jul 2007, 01:19
http://content.answers.com/main/content/wp/en/thumb/9/9e/200px-Tas-1982-with-collar.gif
Looks good :thumbsu:
Mr Lizard
11 Jul 2007, 03:09
We were hoping to wear gold with a black sash, but too many people kicked up a fuss.
We just want to be like west coast
PoidaCat
11 Jul 2007, 04:22
http://content.answers.com/main/content/wp/en/thumb/9/9e/200px-Tas-1982-with-collar.gif
Oops. Someone screwed up. Those jumpers have only 1 hole for 1 head. The Tasmanian Dorks will be needing 2 heads per jumper.
delirious1
11 Jul 2007, 04:35
Hey cool, maybe we can be at the end of a good thrashing and tarnish the state jumper just like west coast:thumbsu:
Jumpin' Jimmy
11 Jul 2007, 04:40
What will their away jumper look like?
Captain Afterworld
11 Jul 2007, 05:23
Is heratige anything like heritage?
fishbowl
11 Jul 2007, 11:10
Geelong will have an AFL-approved handbag coming out next year.
Rowie09
11 Jul 2007, 11:14
I know! Lets all dress up in our mighty Western Australia jumper, represent a state with a rich football history, get all our loyal Western Australian fans out to our beloved Subiaco.......and get our little black shorts pulled down by Fitzroy!
thefamilyguy
11 Jul 2007, 11:19
I like that strip
FiveStrings
11 Jul 2007, 12:46
It sure beats this one:
http://www.bomberblitz.com/~rmered/images/Hawthorn-Preseason-diamond.gif
http://flynnosborn.com/200px-Coke-1982-with-collar.gif
Well someone had to! :)
Boyler_Room
11 Jul 2007, 13:15
http://flynnosborn.com/200px-Coke-1982-with-collar.gif
Well someone had to! :)
Actually all you had to do was turn the Tasmania upside down and it would be an Iceberg. Maybe add a picture of the Titanic hitting it after their loss to Brissie at home on the weekend.
FiveStrings
11 Jul 2007, 13:17
Actually all you had to do was turn the Tasmania upside down and it would be an Iceberg. Maybe add a picture of the Titanic hitting it after their loss to Brissie at home on the weekend.
Yet somehow we moved from third to second. Remind me again how that happened?
Boyler_Room
11 Jul 2007, 15:00
Yet somehow we moved from third to second. Remind me again how that happened?
We lost to Adelaide by 71 points and here begins the maths lesson.
Hawks and WCE ladder position at the end of round 13
2 Hawthorn 13 9 4 0 1252 1032 121.3% 36
3 W_Coast 13 9 4 0 1195 986 121.2% 36
Scores from the games played in round 14
Adel def Haw
15.12 (102) to 4.7 (31)
Brisbane def WCE
13.13 (91) to 9.10 (64)
Ok so now we know results I will adjust the ladder accordingly but seeing as no team won this round I will only update the things that changed, ladder position, points scored for (PF), points scored against (PA) and percentage.
WCE were 3rd but moved to second.
To get the PF, PA and percentage I used the following method.
After round 13 WCE's PF was 1195, they scored 64 points against Brisbane, so 1195 + 64 = a new toal of 1259.
Now for their PA. After round 13 WCE PA was 986, Brisbane scored 91 points against them, so 986 + 91 = a new total of 1077.
HAW were 2nd but moved to third.
After round 13 HAW's PF was 1252, they scored 31 points against Brisbane, so 1252 + 31 = a new total of 1283.
PA, after round 13 Haw's PA was 1032, Adelaide scored 102 against them, so 1032 + 102 = a new total of 1134.
So you take the new PF and PA values and run the following calculation.
PF divided by PA and then times that value by 100 (PF / PA * 100)
You too can then calculate the teams percentage.
So taking the new values from above
WCE 1259 / 1077 * 100 = 116.9%
HAW 1283 / 1134 * 100 = 113.1%
At the end of round 14 new values are
PF PA %
2. WCE 1259 1077 116.9
3. HAW 1283 1134 113.1
Because the two teams are on the same ammount of points the ladder position is then determined by the higher percentage, which at the end of round 14 is WCE.
Here ends the maths lesson you can do more of these calculations in your book, when you are finished you can go to Lunch Grade 4.
You could just read the ladder, but you had that all along so when you asked I assumed you wanted it explained futher.
Anyway that is how it happened but the ladder doesn't tell the form over the last eight round in which you have won 3/8 we have won 5/8. Results have gone both our teams way and we are still up near the top, but I know which team has worse form. The only reason you were not second last week was .1 of a %.
Then again maybe you have got the tactics right, do you wanna play a final at home or would you prefer in Adelaide or somewhere else. On recent form if I was you I know which I would prefer.
Looking at your results I now think Woosha is a genius. Only he didn't count on us loosing by so much. Therefore he would be disappointed with your ladder position at the moment, ideally he wouldn't want a home final.
Because the two teams are on the same ammount of points the ladder position is then determined by the higher percentage, which at the end of round 14 is WCE.
ROTFLMAO! :D
emperor
11 Jul 2007, 15:49
I reckon a picture of a toilet on the front of their wonderful poo and piss colour combination would also look good. Any chance of creating that Ted?;)
FiveStrings
11 Jul 2007, 15:54
We lost to Adelaide by 71 points ...
That's really all I was looking for, but thanks for going to all that effort!
The West Coast Eagles were set to announce their 2008 heritage strip, but then they realised they didn't have any heritage and were merely a corporate entity devised purely to cannibalise the WAFL and funnel all the money from the pockets of WA football fans into the coffers of the VFL.
Looks like we're playing Skins, peoples... :o
Ted Ed Fred
11 Jul 2007, 23:01
The West Coast Eagles were set to announce their 2008 heritage strip, but then they realised they didn't have any heritage and were merely a corporate entity devised purely to cannibalise the WAFL and funnel all the money from the pockets of WA football fans into the coffers of the VFL.
Looks like we're playing Skins, peoples... :o
Oh dear... hit a nerve by the looks of it :)
Hawkamania!
11 Jul 2007, 23:53
The official West Coast heritage.
http://www.keepaustraliabeautiful.org.au/_dbase_upl/hungry_jacks_logo.gif :)
keefriffhard
12 Jul 2007, 00:08
Oh dear... hit a nerve by the looks of it :)
Not quite. Just get used to the money grabbing role of the AFL. Why do you think you were introduced if not to increase revenue and TV market? I love WC supporters and how they've been so dominant. You have only one more flag in the last decade than the Hawks. And your season is starting to slip. Mind you we could always go back a bit further into history and renogotiate, but then would have to include a couple of grand finals where you got pantsed. Get used to the fact that you have no history. Before Freo joined you were basically a state side with AFL concessions, and you didn't dominate then. Welcome to reality. You've slipped in 2007 and the rest of the field has caught up. Not a finalist...
hot carl
12 Jul 2007, 01:43
The Hawthorn football club was started in 1881 by a group of mental patients from the Glenferrie Mental Asylum.
Due to the inmates lack of hygene and refusal to change clothes, the teams original white uniforms changed colour during the course of the season. The urine and faeces stains started to show and the overbearing stench in turn helped the club win it's last 15 games straight due to the fact that opposing teams played with one hand covering their nose.
The Hawks unfortunately were bombed out in the first final by Melbourne who's coach came up with the ingenious idea for his players to wear pegs on their noses.
At the end of the season the opposing clubs joined forces and all signed an agreement that uniforms must be washed after games and players must not throw faeces at opposition players.
Hawthorn FC were disgusted with the decision and as to make a point to they decided to make brown and gold their offical colours.
Oh dear... hit a nerve by the looks of it :)Hardly. The Tassie jokes would work better if they played on our insecurities about relocation, but Hawthorn fans have hardly any insecurity at all about their team's future. Much less so than 5-10 years ago. The Tassie jokes are purely annoying for their repetition, a bit like sing-songs in the sandpit back in kindergarten. What can you say when a dozen idiots surround you and go "Tassie Tassie Nyer Nyer Nyer-Nyer Nyer"?
Your effort was especially lame. The mispelling of the title was inauspicious beginning. From there it just got worse. Something HotFlog would come up with on a bad day.
But mainly what I thought about when i saw the Tassie state of origin guernsey was how West Coast used the WA jumper from 1977. It got me thinking about the meaning of heritage and how the game has changed.
When I was a kid, my folks would buy me my Hawthorn membership, I'd go along and watch them play about a dozen times each year. I'd watch another 10 games, usually the match of the round at Waverley or the MCG. Then I'd go to all the MCG finals, including the Grand Final. For me nothing has really changed. I no longer wave my flag or wear my duffel coat, but my footy-going habit is more or less the same. The Tassie venture hasn't altered a thing.
I love that here in Melbourne we still have all of the old club rivalries and most weekends I get to belt out the Hawthorn song. That's heritage.
We're a happy team at Hawthorn
We're the mighty fighting Hawks
We love our club and we PLAY TO WIN
Riding the bumps with a grin at Hawthorn
Come what may you'll find us striving
Teamwork is that the thing that counts
One for all and all for one and all for one
Is that way we play at Hawthorn
We are the mighty fighting Hawks
The Hawthorn football club was started in 1881 by a group of mental patients from the Glenferrie Mental Asylum.
Due to the inmates lack of hygene and refusal to change clothes, the teams original white uniforms changed colour during the course of the season. The urine and faeces stains started to show and the overbearing stench in turn helped the club win it's last 15 games straight due to the fact that opposing teams played with one hand covering their nose.
The Hawks unfortunately were bombed out in the first final by Melbourne who's coach came up with the ingenious idea for his players to wear pegs on their noses.
At the end of the season the opposing clubs joined forces and all signed an agreement that uniforms must be washed after games and players must not throw faeces at opposition players.
Hawthorn FC were disgusted with the decision and as to make a point to they decided to make brown and gold their offical colours.
This post was a big pile of steaming hot ca-ca
GoldenSky
12 Jul 2007, 02:21
LOL. :D
The Hawks join the struggling Bulldogs and Kangaroos playing their home games in regional centres. How embarrassing. :o
Hirdsgun
12 Jul 2007, 12:24
That was a good laugh. :D
Boyler_Room
12 Jul 2007, 14:46
That's really all I was looking for, but thanks for going to all that effort!
No probs. :thumbsu:
Ted Ed Fred
12 Jul 2007, 15:51
Not quite. Just get used to the money grabbing role of the AFL. Why do you think you were introduced if not to increase revenue and TV market? I love WC supporters and how they've been so dominant. You have only one more flag in the last decade than the Hawks. And your season is starting to slip. Mind you we could always go back a bit further into history and renogotiate, but then would have to include a couple of grand finals where you got pantsed. Get used to the fact that you have no history. Before Freo joined you were basically a state side with AFL concessions, and you didn't dominate then. Welcome to reality. You've slipped in 2007 and the rest of the field has caught up. Not a finalist...
Hardly. The Tassie jokes would work better if they played on our insecurities about relocation, but Hawthorn fans have hardly any insecurity at all about their team's future. Much less so than 5-10 years ago. The Tassie jokes are purely annoying for their repetition, a bit like sing-songs in the sandpit back in kindergarten. What can you say when a dozen idiots surround you and go "Tassie Tassie Nyer Nyer Nyer-Nyer Nyer"?
Your effort was especially lame. The mispelling of the title was inauspicious beginning. From there it just got worse. Something HotFlog would come up with on a bad day.
But mainly what I thought about when i saw the Tassie state of origin guernsey was how West Coast used the WA jumper from 1977. It got me thinking about the meaning of heritage and how the game has changed.
When I was a kid, my folks would buy me my Hawthorn membership, I'd go along and watch them play about a dozen times each year. I'd watch another 10 games, usually the match of the round at Waverley or the MCG. Then I'd go to all the MCG finals, including the Grand Final. For me nothing has really changed. I no longer wave my flag or wear my duffel coat, but my footy-going habit is more or less the same. The Tassie venture hasn't altered a thing.
I love that here in Melbourne we still have all of the old club rivalries and most weekends I get to belt out the Hawthorn song. That's heritage.
We're a happy team at Hawthorn
We're the mighty fighting Hawks
We love our club and we PLAY TO WIN
Riding the bumps with a grin at Hawthorn
Come what may you'll find us striving
Teamwork is that the thing that counts
One for all and all for one and all for one
Is that way we play at Hawthorn
We are the mighty fighting Hawks
Yep, that nerve is exposed and red-raw. Imagine the reaction I could get if I actually tried :)
raikkonen
12 Jul 2007, 17:07
We lost to Adelaide by 71 points and here begins the maths lesson.
Hawks and WCE ladder position at the end of round 13
2 Hawthorn 13 9 4 0 1252 1032 121.3% 36
3 W_Coast 13 9 4 0 1195 986 121.2% 36
Scores from the games played in round 14
Adel def Haw
15.12 (102) to 4.7 (31)
Brisbane def WCE
13.13 (91) to 9.10 (64)
Ok so now we know results I will adjust the ladder accordingly but seeing as no team won this round I will only update the things that changed, ladder position, points scored for (PF), points scored against (PA) and percentage.
WCE were 3rd but moved to second.
To get the PF, PA and percentage I used the following method.
After round 13 WCE's PF was 1195, they scored 64 points against Brisbane, so 1195 + 64 = a new toal of 1259.
Now for their PA. After round 13 WCE PA was 986, Brisbane scored 91 points against them, so 986 + 91 = a new total of 1077.
HAW were 2nd but moved to third.
After round 13 HAW's PF was 1252, they scored 31 points against Brisbane, so 1252 + 31 = a new total of 1283.
PA, after round 13 Haw's PA was 1032, Adelaide scored 102 against them, so 1032 + 102 = a new total of 1134.
So you take the new PF and PA values and run the following calculation.
PF divided by PA and then times that value by 100 (PF / PA * 100)
You too can then calculate the teams percentage.
So taking the new values from above
WCE 1259 / 1077 * 100 = 116.9%
HAW 1283 / 1134 * 100 = 113.1%
At the end of round 14 new values are
PF PA %
2. WCE 1259 1077 116.9
3. HAW 1283 1134 113.1
Here ends the maths lesson you can do more of these calculations in your book, when you are finished you can go to Lunch Grade 4.
You could just read the ladder, but you had that all along so when you asked I assumed you wanted it explained futher.
Anyway that is how it happened but the ladder doesn't tell the form over the last eight round in which you have won 3/8 we have won 5/8. Results have gone both our teams way and we are still up near the top, but I know which team has worse form. The only reason you were not second last week was .1 of a %.
Then again maybe you have got the tactics right, do you wanna play a final at home or would you prefer in Adelaide or somewhere else. On recent form if I was you I know which I would prefer.
Looking at your results I now think Woosha is a genius. Only he didn't count on us loosing by so much. Therefore he would be disappointed with your ladder position at the moment, ideally he wouldn't want a home final.
Why would you bother posting this much in Bay 13? Not a better way to spend 10-15 mins of your day?
We're a crappy team at tassie
We're the bent over Hawks
We love our men and we PLAY WITH OURSELVES
Riding their bums with a grin in the showers
Come what may you'll find us banging
Bum puming is the thing that counts
In for all and all for one and all for one
Is that how we play at Hawthorn
We are the rusty hole Hawks
Allow me to fix the words in your little jinggle.
Much better :thumbsu:
hawk3R_4lyfe
12 Jul 2007, 20:03
Allow me to fix the words in your little jinggle.
Much better :thumbsu:
HotBOG or hinders, why don't you try out for THE BIGGEST LOSER, they might be able to help you out with your self-esteem issues.
At the very least they won't make you feel uncomfortable chomping down tens of hotdogs in one go!:p
HotBOG or hinders, why don't you try out for THE BIGGEST LOSER, they might be able to help you out with your self-esteem issues.
At the very least they won't make you feel uncomfortable chomping down tens of hotdogs in one go!:p
You're meant to laugh at it. It's funny :D
The Majestic
13 Jul 2007, 19:59
Where's the Hawk shaped into the map of Tasmania? ;)
The Hawks join the struggling Bulldogs and Kangaroos playing their home games in regional centres. How embarrassing. :o
Eagles are based in a regional centre!
Tarkyn_24
13 Jul 2007, 23:25
I know! Lets all dress up in our mighty Western Australia jumper, represent a state with a rich football history, get all our loyal Western Australian fans out to our beloved Subiaco.......and get our little black shorts pulled down by Fitzroy!
LOL:thumbsu:
Hawkamania!
13 Jul 2007, 23:27
Where is West Coast anyway? I can find Perth, Fremantle, Hawthorn, Tasmania and even Humpty Doo.:eek: And yet, there is no West Coast. An artificial name for an artificial team.:)
Funny, yet West Coast has won more flags then the tassie hawks in the AFL:D
Not bad for a place that doesn't exist. :thumbsu:
Bwhahahahaahahahahaahaha!
GoldenSky
14 Jul 2007, 00:36
Where is West Coast anyway?
The West Coast of Australia?
Howard Littlejohn
14 Jul 2007, 00:43
You, sir, can go and **** right off.
Its bad enough when the Devils cheapen our heritage by wearing "the map", but for it to be suggested - even in bay 13 - that the hawks wear it is beyond the pale. May your brain continue to rot, as it clearly has already set in.
The Kipster
14 Jul 2007, 01:44
Hey cool, maybe we can be at the end of a good thrashing and tarnish the state jumper just like west coast:thumbsu:
yes they certainly looked strong at home in front of the sheep..baa...friggin jokes didn't deserve to wear the state jumper :thumbsd:
West Coke + State Jumper = Belting at home hahahahaha
Good laugh that's for sure..:thumbsu:
Hawk0373
14 Jul 2007, 08:53
Funny, yet West Coast has won more flags then the tassie hawks in the AFL:D
Not bad for a place that doesn't exist. :thumbsu:
Bwhahahahaahahahahaahaha!
bit selective there junior. It's 3-3 since your costal side was formed.
1991 was your best chance to make that 4-2 but....well, we all know what happened that day.:D
Hawkamania!
14 Jul 2007, 10:20
The West Coast of Australia?
Not listed on any map I can find. I can see Fremantle on the coastline, but still no "West Coast".
Is there a special map for Eagles fans that lists this "West Coast"? :)