View Full Version : Does the Gold Coast want the Kangas?

Shinboner Schem
11 Jul 2007, 15:40
I'm wondering if the residents of the Gold Coast and neighboring areas actually want the Kangaroos to become permanently based there or whether their own team is preferred?

pero
29 Jul 2007, 19:16
Obviously not.

Shinboner Schem
30 Jul 2007, 14:28
Suits me just fine!

fomoco
26 Aug 2007, 22:15
Bring them on. Unfourtunately, most people in Brisvegas believe everybody is a lion supporter. local footy is jostled around the lions games, stiff if your not lions suppoter.

Bring the shinboners north, Southport is a great club, but we do need a second AFL team in QLD.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Shinboner Schem
28 Aug 2007, 14:22
fomoco, what do you think of leaving North as is, and having Southport added to the AFL (like Fremantle and Port Adelaide were)?

where are you located?

pero
28 Aug 2007, 17:05
Great idea.

fomoco
25 Sep 2007, 22:16
fomoco, what do you think of leaving North as is, and having Southport added to the AFL (like Fremantle and Port Adelaide were)?

where are you located?

Shins, I am from Vic, to be honest you have one to many Clubs done there. I suggest the following,( Note this is for the future of football)

North Melb Comes North: Option One

North/Footscray merge to become the Western Roos

ST Kilda heads To Ballarat:

fomoco
25 Sep 2007, 23:08

where are you located?

Shins, I am from Vic, now in QLD , to be honest you have one to many Clubs done there. I suggest the following,( Note this is for the future of football in about fifteen years)

Geelong: Ballerine Cats

West Caost: Western eagles

Port Adelaide: Port Power

North melb: Gold Coast Roos

Hawthorn: Border Hawks ( Albury Wadonga)

Collingwood: Melb Magpies ( merge with melb)

Syndney Swans: Sydney City Swans

Adelaide: Southern Crows

St Kilda: Tassie Saints relocate to tassie)

Brisbane Lions: Nothern Lions

Fremantle: Dockers

Essendon: Bendigo Bombers ( move to central Vic)

Melbourne: Melb magpies (merge with Pies)

Western bulldogs: Ballarat Bulldogs (move to Ballarat)

Carlton: City Tigers (merge with tigers)

Richmond: City Tigers (merge with Blues)

Darwin: Territorians (new team)

Cambelltown: West Sydney ( new team)

Note: This is based on growth and population demographics. I am a carlton supporter and accept that one day the above could easily happen.
If we want an Australian Football League , then be prepared to live with the future.

cheers

Shinboner Schem
2 Oct 2007, 11:34
fomoco, all i can say is

you're dreamin!

http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a301/jonnybravo57/castle_wideweb__430x293.jpg

greentree
2 Oct 2007, 16:35
fomoco, all i can say is

you're dreamin!

Yeh, Id go and watch the Roos, let me ask you a question
Would you rather the Roos to fold or to move to QLD, cause when it comes down to it you wont have a choice.

fomoco
2 Oct 2007, 21:03
fomoco, all i can say is

you're dreamin!

THe same was said about the Swans, Fitzroy, Brisbane Bears, keep an open mind before you get swallowed up . Remeber the NSWRL, A couple of guys in Syd tried to run the counrty, alas, it is now the NRL and it is doing better. Me I'd go to decent games not just Melb every week. As I said, look to the Future!!!!!

Howard Littlejohn
4 Oct 2007, 14:37
Gold Coast doesn't want us, and we don't want the Gold Coast (although it seems much of our board does).

morphous
4 Oct 2007, 20:20
Shins, I am from Vic, now in QLD , to be honest you have one to many Clubs done there. I suggest the following,( Note this is for the future of football in about fifteen years)

Geelong: Ballerine Cats

West Caost: Western eagles

Port Adelaide: Port Power

North melb: Gold Coast Roos

Hawthorn: Border Hawks ( Albury Wadonga)

Collingwood: Melb Magpies ( merge with melb)

Syndney Swans: Sydney City Swans

Adelaide: Southern Crows

St Kilda: Tassie Saints relocate to tassie)

Brisbane Lions: Nothern Lions

Fremantle: Dockers

Essendon: Bendigo Bombers ( move to central Vic)

Melbourne: Melb magpies (merge with Pies)

Western bulldogs: Ballarat Bulldogs (move to Ballarat)

Carlton: City Tigers (merge with tigers)

Richmond: City Tigers (merge with Blues)

Darwin: Territorians (new team)

Cambelltown: West Sydney ( new team)

Note: This is based on growth and population demographics. I am a carlton supporter and accept that one day the above could easily happen.
If we want an Australian Football League , then be prepared to live with the future.

cheers

Yep we'll play footy in Darwin during the wet season.

Shinboner Schem
8 Oct 2007, 12:15
THe same was said about the Swans, Fitzroy, Brisbane Bears, keep an open mind before you get swallowed up . Remeber the NSWRL, A couple of guys in Syd tried to run the counrty, alas, it is now the NRL and it is doing better. Me I'd go to decent games not just Melb every week. As I said, look to the Future!!!!!
I'm not saying things wont change.
What i am saying is your proposal is ludicrous!

The following teams will not change their names as you suggest:

Brisbane
AdelaideThere is just no reason for them too.

Also there is no reason for Collingwood to merge or Essendon to relocate. They are healthy enough as they are.

And why would the Saints move to Tassie instead of the Hawks?

Like I said, you're dreamin.

locky21
8 Oct 2007, 15:39
hey im all for a team on the goldy just dont want it to be southport dont think anyone apart from southport boys want southport in the AFL.

Inside Goss
8 Oct 2007, 17:40
I think if southport were to be granted a licence they would struggle severely for some decent support, not everyone in GC barracks for them, and it would be a massive uphill battle.

Shinboner Schem
10 Oct 2007, 10:23
So you're for a new franchise then?

What name do you think it should have?

fomoco
12 Oct 2007, 01:09
So you're for a new franchise then?

What name do you think it should have?

Mate give up,

I'm from Flemintong, St Brendans North Colts, 1977-1979 , Flemington YCW, get over it.

Your clubs future is the Northern Roo's , unless you find about ten rich families in melb to change Arden Street.

And yes, I was a frequent visitor there and have family ties.

stmookeyj
13 Oct 2007, 18:02
Yep we'll play footy in Darwin during the wet season.

Dry season you mean.....

IMO, I don't think that the GC will get a team despite wanting and needing it. If Ron Clarke gets his way and caps population then the growth will halt and with it will go the chance of another team.

fomoco
31 Oct 2007, 22:57
To retain your clubs roots, move north, it hasn't hurt the Lions.

From the memory Banks: Fitzroy Football Club was given a few options,
the then Pres and crew decided, no we will survive. Big rallys , money raised, yadda yadda.

The Swany's on the other hand, accepted fate, albiet, with a few kicking and screaming, but enventually accepted, and were rewarded, that relocating can work. As Paul said," for those of you who have waited South Melbourne/Sydney Swans, here it is"

Two harbour cities joining for a premiership, can't get better than that.

Roo boy's Arden street is worth more as a residential development than clining on to a false hope.

Come north or fold.

Ex melbourenian