View Full Version : Aker on Voss

Dogs_R_Us
11 Jul 2007, 16:55
Very interesting. A couple of subtle digs, but on the whole sensible advice I reckon.
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,22054523%255E19742,00.html

Wind Sock
11 Jul 2007, 17:34
That advice looks sensible enough, assuming he's right about Voss's strengths and shortcomings.

the Dogs Bollocks
11 Jul 2007, 19:12
Sounds about right. Let us wait and see the way Voss jumps on this one.
You would think experience counts for alot in this caper.

FrediKanoute
11 Jul 2007, 20:59
I think Aka is spot on. Coaching has evolved from the screaming/ranting days. Good coaches are good managers, setting clear and direct tasks for their players and their support team. The have to be able to change the course of a game without rolling up their sleeves and kicking the goals themselves. I think Vossy at the moment would do well to get some practical experience.....very few "champion players" make great coaches. If you look at most of the good coaches at the moment they were hard working battlers with little flair.

Aquamarinejewel
11 Jul 2007, 21:13
I think Vossy at the moment would do well to get some practical experience.....very few "champion players" make great coaches.

Tim Watson on SEN this morning also acknowledged the fact that perhaps Voss might do well to do an apprenticeship of sorts first - ofcourse he was speaking from his own coaching experience at St Kilda. Voss might well be the exception to the rule but it would be a massive step to go straight into it.

Butane
11 Jul 2007, 22:45
As on-field smarts go, he was fantastic. But just the way he talks, and tries to get his point across on TV, he doesn't seem to be the most intelligent of people. Even with his interview on footy classified, where he wanted to come across as positive, but didn't want to say 'I want to coach next year'. He didn't know how to dodge questions. When asked if he had a team of assistants in place, what he really wanted to get across was, 'i've put some thought in to it, and i know a few guys i'd like to join me, but thats if I'm offered a position anywhere'. Instead, he stuttered, smiled, and said a nervous 'yes'. I wonder if the people he has in mind know about this? What about their contracts at other clubs(unless they are all unemployed)? Just seemed a little to blunt. I dunno, i'm not the only one that picked up on this, i just don't think he'll make a great coach straight away, and i think Aker knows this as well.

firstdogonthemoon
11 Jul 2007, 23:19
I thought the most interesting part of the whole article was where he noted that he had called Voss to discuss it prior to publication.

Some good lessons have been learnt.

brookers#5
12 Jul 2007, 01:18
I think Aka is spot on. Coaching has evolved from the screaming/ranting days. Good coaches are good managers, setting clear and direct tasks for their players and their support team. The have to be able to change the course of a game without rolling up their sleeves and kicking the goals themselves. I think Vossy at the moment would do well to get some practical experience.....very few "champion players" make great coaches. If you look at most of the good coaches at the moment they were hard working battlers with little flair.
Yea Leigh Matthews wasn't a gun, aka should worry about getting a kick i personally reckon Vossy will be awesome the 1st thing you need as a coach is the respect of the players & no doubt he'd have that & i think Leigh Matthews pretty much has the correct tactics down pat so his learnt from a pretty good mentor, coaches are overated, how often do they change the game? the important thing for a coach is to make sure his players are playing for him & his game plan.

Bulldog Ben
12 Jul 2007, 09:38
Atleast we know if he coaches Carlton and when Fev screws up again, Voss will just bitch slap him like the bloke he did outside the pub in melbourne. :D

ErnieSigley
12 Jul 2007, 10:37
Aker is right and I hope he does go off and become a senior coach immediately as long as its not our club. He would be certain to fail.
There is something about Voss that I don't like about him possibly arrogance.

Butane
12 Jul 2007, 11:12
Yea Leigh Matthews wasn't a gun, aka should worry about getting a kick i personally reckon Vossy will be awesome the 1st thing you need as a coach is the respect of the players & no doubt he'd have that & i think Leigh Matthews pretty much has the correct tactics down pat so his learnt from a pretty good mentor, coaches are overated, how often do they change the game? the important thing for a coach is to make sure his players are playing for him & his game plan.

Didn't see him winning the game off his own boot last week? *shakes head*

Not to mention the Collingwood/Melbourne/Fremantle game. Don't worry.

Anthony_
12 Jul 2007, 12:01

Aker has an opinion column so he can write about whatever he damn well pleases. Just as you can troll our Board and type your inane comments.

St 07
12 Jul 2007, 14:40
There is something about Voss that I don't like about him possibly arrogance.

Personally he reminds me too much of Winters off Band of Brothers :p

black_hart
12 Jul 2007, 14:52
Just another example of aker not being able to let it go. The assessment of most non doggies supporters is that aker is just an idiot. Worry about the dogs aker and get over the lions!

Vossy is a smart cookie and would command respect (unlike say Tim Watson) and would make a fine coach IMO.

ErnieSigley
12 Jul 2007, 15:04
Just another example of aker not being able to let it go. The assessment of most non doggies supporters is that aker is just an idiot. Worry about the dogs aker and get over the lions!
Practice what you preach.

Rocco Jones
12 Jul 2007, 15:13

Vossy is a smart cookie and would command respect (unlike say Tim Watson) and would make a fine coach IMO.

So Aker should never write about the Lions to prove he is over them? Wouldn't him feeling uncomfortable ever writing about the Lions be a sign that he isn't over them?

He is paid to write articles that people want to read and his stock in trade are his footy experiences, most of which have been with Brisbane.

brookers#5
12 Jul 2007, 16:02
How can you dislike Voss his a true champion in every sense aka may be a champion on the field but he certainly is not off it.

brookers#5
12 Jul 2007, 16:03
Aka was the wrong bloke for you to go after making a play taz would of been much better suit for your football club.

dales.girl38
12 Jul 2007, 16:06
Aka was the wrong bloke for you to go after making a play taz would of been much better suit for your football club.

Wasn't Tarrant the one that got suspended by his own club for punching someone in a nightclub? :eek:

I'm incredibly thankful that we didn't get Tarrant, we don't need someone like him at the Dogs.

brookers#5
12 Jul 2007, 16:09
Last i looked you needed a bloke over 6 foot in your forward line not another midget, apparently your pretty keen on Boyle.

kookadog
12 Jul 2007, 16:20
If people actually listened to Aker they would realise he's actually a smart man.

murphy2bedabest
12 Jul 2007, 17:13
Last i looked you needed a bloke over 6 foot in your forward line not another midget, apparently your pretty keen on Boyle.
last time i looked johnson was leading the coleman with 44 goal:thumbsu:

brookers#5
12 Jul 2007, 17:47
Last i heard 6 foot full fowards dont win you finals footy either.

Dogs_R_Us
12 Jul 2007, 17:51
If anyone is qualified to give an opinion on Michael Voss, it's Aker. They have known each other since they were teenagers. Aker is not criticising Voss, or dumping on him, quite the opposite, but he is urging him not to fall for flattery and to be wary of people who may not have his best interests at heart. Great players don't always make great coaches, and coaching would be something that has to be learned by working with experienced professionals.

brookers#5
12 Jul 2007, 17:53
Voss will break the mould if i was melbourne or carlton i'd be jumping all over him just like they appear to be.

murphy2bedabest
12 Jul 2007, 18:02
looks like its not just aker who think voss should cut his teeth first.

http://sportal.com.au/default.aspx/afl-news-display/coaches-need-experience-craig-30952

brookers#5
12 Jul 2007, 18:10
Lucky Voss is his own man then isn't it.

RedWhite&Blue
12 Jul 2007, 20:49
How can you dislike Voss his a true champion in every sense aka may be a champion on the field but he certainly is not off it.

Aker is the biggest breath of fresh air that football has had in years.
Finally a player that says it how it is, can play to back up his views, doesn't rape women, doesn't drink drive, doesn't get in drunken brawls.
So what makes a champion off the field?
Is it unbeleivable arrogance or hitting people at the POW before the GF? If so then Voss has it over Aker.

cammo78
12 Jul 2007, 21:13
Last i heard 6 foot full fowards dont win you finals footy either.

last i heard we DID win finals footy last year with TWO 6 foot forwards kicking 4 goals each clown...where were you? not playing finals footy, that's where.

cammo78
12 Jul 2007, 21:17
Aker is the biggest breath of fresh air that football has had in years.
Finally a player that says it how it is, can play to back up his views, doesn't rape women, doesn't drink drive, doesn't get in drunken brawls.
So what makes a champion off the field?
Is it unbeleivable arrogance or hitting people at the POW before the GF? If so then Voss has it over Aker.

i agree - i was one of many who gritted my teeth early days as he threw not so subtle references back at brisbane and referred to them when he spoke - but i really think he now feels that he belongs at the bulldogs and will speak his mind but NEVER abuse the faith and trust placed in him by our club. he is a shining example that you don't need to behave like a goose and get on the piss and abuse women, act like you own the world, etc. but be true to yourself and your beliefs and never be afraid to speak your mind. happy we took the punt and only hope it continues to pay off, which i'm sure it will in spades.

brookers#5
12 Jul 2007, 21:57
If you honestly would rather aka fair enough but surely you cant have a crack at someone for hitting a bloke who just through a pool ball at him fair dinkum, 99.9% of the football world like Voss better & would prefer him at there football club only a minority of dogs fans would think anyother way.

Butane
12 Jul 2007, 22:04
If you honestly would rather aka fair enough but surely you cant have a crack at someone for hitting a bloke who just through a pool ball at him fair dinkum, 99.9% of the football world like Voss better & would prefer him at there football club only a minority of dogs fans would think anyother way.

Aker footballer
Voss retired

umm i think i'd rather the player, we already have a coach.

Anthony_
13 Jul 2007, 00:17

Oh I see genius, we got Aker for practically nothing in moving down the draft order and also received McDougall. What would we have had to give away to get Tarrant?

Vossy is a smart cookie

Hmm punching that guy and getting charged was not very smart.

aka may be a champion on the field but he certainly is not off it.

Right because he doesn't drink or do drugs or get into punch ups in bars what a horrible person! Can you believe the amount charity work Aker does? My god why would anyone waste their time doing that when they could hang out with idiots like Lawrence!. Hey brookers#5 did you see that article about Aker learning sign language? God what a was of time imagine if he just went out with the boys and had fun! Then he would be such a champion off the field.

If you honestly would rather aka fair enough but surely you cant have a crack at someone for hitting a bloke who just through a pool ball at him fair dinkum, 99.9% of the football world like Voss better & would prefer him at there football club only a minority of dogs fans would think anyother way

brookers#5 its amazing that you know what the majority of bulldogs supporters think! Hey but umm isn't Voss retired? Oh I know maybe we should of given away everything got Tarrant, and then kicked out Eade cos Voss is a coach right? We need another unproven coach!