View Full Version : Credit to two players bagged on the board
LondonBulldog
12 Jul 2007, 08:54
Just got back from watching the Doggies v Port, ok a few days late but Im back in london. Few observations...
Matty Robbins must be in the side. Always a favourite of mine yet he offers so much.
Quick on the lead.
Strong mark for his size.
Ability to kick outside 50 (vital for september)
Stong and experienced.
Must be played for the rest of the year in my view.
The Tall one, Street was vital. Im with you Rocco!!! His tap work even just breaking even against Brogan and Lade was fantastic and did his bit around the ground. Give the bloke a break, its hard being a lanky 211 cm guy. He is giving his all.
Cooney is working harder, needed to and still has a way to go yet its needed with Cross not available.
Guido improved as well, also overdue.
Grant and Darcy, showed some form. I dont believe Darcy should play in th eruck anymore as he cant jump, yet he got some touches. I see them spending time on the ground and the bench to conserve.
Acker was all class and will be when it counts.
Everitt and Williams still learning but promising. Harris a rock.
Eade is getting the blend right. This week is vital. If we beat the bombers they should push for top 4. Confidence is everything and we still have Hahn, Murphy and others to get to top form.
O.k time to go to be it 11.00pm over here. Gets heaps of games know in london. Walkabout in Shepards bush is playing the game at 3.00pm saturday if any londeners are keen. Ill be there with the number 3 on the back.
cammo78
12 Jul 2007, 09:16
Just got back from watching the Doggies v Port, ok a few days late but Im back in london. Few observations...
Matty Robbins must be in the side. Always a favourite of mine yet he offers so much.
Quick on the lead.
Strong mark for his size.
Ability to kick outside 50 (vital for september)
Stong and experienced.
Must be played for the rest of the year in my view.
The Tall one, Street was vital. Im with you Rocco!!! His tap work even just breaking even against Brogan and Lade was fantastic and did his bit around the ground. Give the bloke a break, its hard being a lanky 211 cm guy. He is giving his all.
Cooney is working harder, needed to and still has a way to go yet its needed with Cross not available.
Grant and Darcy, showed some form. I dont believe Darcy should play in th eruck anymore as he cant jump, yet he got some touches. I see them spending time on the ground and the bench to conserve.
Acker was all class and will be when it counts.
Everitt and Williams still learning but promising. Harris a rock.
Eade is getting the blend right. This week is vital. If we beat the bombers they should push for top 4. Confidence is everything and we still have Hahn, Murphy and others to get to top form.
O.k time to go to be it 11.00pm over here. Gets heaps of games know in london. Walkabout in Shepards bush is playing the game at 3.00pm saturday if any londeners are keen. Ill be there with the number 3 on the back.
excellent observations...
linkman
12 Jul 2007, 09:59
Ahh- but is the problem.
Giving his all is not good enough. Alastair Ford, Mark Cullen and John Georgiades all gave their all.
It is the opportunity cost of not - and in Street's case this is the point - having an extra mascot running around the ground hyping the crowd up. Imagine if we didn't have to spend any funds on Street we could have an extra cosutume for someone to wear and get us all hyped up.
Sorry - he aint any good.
Ahh- but is the problem.
Giving his all is not good enough. Alastair Ford, Mark Cullen and John Georgiades all gave their all.
It is the opportunity cost of not - and in Street's case this is the point - having an extra mascot running around the ground hyping the crowd up. Imagine if we didn't have to spend any funds on Street we could have an extra cosutume for someone to wear and get us all hyped up.
Sorry - he aint any good.
My understanding of it is that Street had just as many disposals as All-Australian ruckman Brendon Lade, and Street only played 47% of the match compared to Lade's 97%!!!! Thats double the game time, and Street bagged a goal as well.
Street is king among men!
Cyberdoggie
12 Jul 2007, 11:47
One point i'd like to make is that true darcy isn't the man he used to be,
he can't jump and he isn't tall,
but he played a good game for us last sunday. He used his experience in the centre and cleared the ball himself a number of times. This is one area he is far more effective than street in.
Darcy likes to innitiate contact early in the ruck contests, therefore limiting the ability of the other ruckman to jump. This usually creates a body on body contest where darcy is much stronger. If the ball goes to ground he will most likely to clear the ball either by himself or to offload it to boyd/west/cooney.
perhaps that article by robert walls spurred him on a bit
Go_Dogs
12 Jul 2007, 12:00
Darcy is still vital in the clearance, because of his smarts and ability to position himself he can still be very effective. Also a bit more willing to throw his weight around and pick the ball off the deck. More effective than Streeter last weekend by a bit for mine.
ErnieSigley
12 Jul 2007, 12:00
My understanding of it is that Street had just as many disposals as All-Australian ruckman Brendon Lade, and Street only played 47% of the match compared to Lade's 97%!!!! Thats double the game time, and Street bagged a goal as well.
As mentioned on another post Street goes off the ground cos he is a liability when not rucking. Lade doesn't have this problem and can rest anywhere back or forward. Take a look at the last quarter, we would have lost if Street remained on the ground.
I'll take Lade over Street any day.
As mentioned on another post Street goes off the ground cos he is a liability when not rucking. Lade doesn't have this problem and can rest anywhere back or forward. Take a look at the last quarter, we would have lost if Street remained on the ground.
Eade in his press conference said Darcy was playing so well, they had no choice but to leave him on. Considering Darcy was close to best on ground, thats a fair call. The weekends game is still a bad example though, he only played half the game due to Darcy's return to form. Street was good, and is starting to get some recognition. Good for the 'Tall ones' confidence.:thumbsu:
ErnieSigley
12 Jul 2007, 12:58
Eade in his press conference said Darcy was playing so well, they had no choice but to leave him on. Considering Darcy was close to best on ground, thats a fair call. The weekends game is still a bad example though, he only played half the game due to Darcy's return to form. Street was good, and is starting to get some recognition. Good for the 'Tall ones' confidence.:thumbsu:
BTW Darcy was off the ground in the last quarter until Port got within 3 points.
cammo78
12 Jul 2007, 13:10
exactly - maybe it's just me, but you can almost see it tick over in his head when he gets the ball and the crowd starts cheering that he's thinking "i think i can, i think i can..." he has come a LONG way and CAN contribute at this level. when darce went down twice in 2 years, he had the challenge put to him and stood up IMO.
Tassie Bulldog
12 Jul 2007, 13:14
BTW Darcy was off the ground in the last quarter until Port got within 3 points.
But Darcy was the one in the ruck when Port kicked a few in a row in the first quarter and Street was the one who stemmed the tide then.
Think they both deserve credit for their performances and they complement one another pretty well with different strengths and weaknesses. Means we can just about match up on any type of ruckman in the comp and even exploit some of them by deciding which of the 2 is the best fit to play on certain opposition players.
Since Street has been recalled our clearances ratio has been a lot better and if Darcy can play at that level then our rucking division is actually looking pretty good for once. When I look at our on field performances, our rucking is not a major problem compared to some other areas.
W.Bulldogs_Aus_WC06
12 Jul 2007, 13:15
I'd be surprised if Street and robbins have been bagged on here. They're 2 of my favourite players because they do give their all and they have talent as well. No doubt most people would take Lade over Street. But that's not the point. Lade is the best in the comp, but Street just about matched him. He is in the side for his tap work. Minson may have been better around the ground but when it cam to ruck contests he was watching the man and not the ball, and therefore giving away free kicks and not winning taps.
Good work Streety
Rocco Jones
12 Jul 2007, 13:17
The Tall one, Street was vital. Im with you Rocco!!!
I believe you might have me confused with Dry Rot.
I give credit to Robbins, I admit I'm not a fan, but his return to form was encouraging. The defensive skills he showed was the most positive sign as this is an area where we and he were severely lacking. This is the benchmark he has now set for the rest of his games in the Bulldog colours, anything less than this type of defensive efforts will mean he has gone back to his old ways.
ErnieSigley
12 Jul 2007, 13:33
But Darcy was the one in the ruck when Port kicked a few in a row in the first quarter and Street was the one who stemmed the tide then.
Stemmed the tide? We start poorly every week! Johnson played a major part bringing us back into the game not Street.
All I know we weren't losing it out of the centre easily in the last quarter when Darcy rucked. Street was also outmarked in our goal square late in the game (it might not have been paid a mark but a goal resulted becuase he was beaten).
Think they both deserve credit for their performances and they complement one another pretty well with different strengths and weaknesses. Means we can just about match up on any type of ruckman in the comp and even exploit some of them by deciding which of the 2 is the best fit to play on certain opposition players.
I give special credit to those its due to (ie that play very well) and I don't think Street did anything special. Keeping a very good ruck to the same stats is good but he didn't really hurt the opposition.
Since Street has been recalled our clearances ratio has been a lot better and if Darcy can play at that level then our rucking division is actually looking pretty good for once.
Yet we were playing better last season when we weren't winning clearances.
gridlocked
12 Jul 2007, 15:07
Some people on here seem to have something against Street for some reason. He was been performing very well this season as he is helping us win the clearance, is well up there in hitouts to advantage and has improved his game massively around the ground.
All I have to say is, Street > You.
dales.girl38
12 Jul 2007, 15:16
I really like Streety, he is growing in confidence and his skills are getting better all the time. The ruck is a really hard position to play, I know I never want to try it again- and I'm only playing against girls. He's doing a great job and matching someone in the ruck is much better than getting smashed there. He's no longer a liability on the ground as he probably was in the past...his play where he smothered the ball, got to the ground, dished it out was great.
linkman
12 Jul 2007, 15:33
I love the way us doggies supporters continue to accept medicority. We make excuses for Street
"Its a hard position."
"He is no longer the liability on the graound he was"
"He gets hitouts -etc"
C'mon he is at best a VERY AVERAGE player who is only there because he is 17 foot tall. Yes he has improved - but to suggest that he is not a liability around the ground is just - well - just wrong.
Why not make excuses for Gia, or Shaggy or Robbins. Players that actually contribute and are accountable both ways.
The crowd laughs at Street - not with him - when he tries to do something beyond his capabilities. Considering the great ruckman of the past that we have had - well I am embarrassed.
memberforever
12 Jul 2007, 17:52
Well guess what, we don't have Lade we have Street, and at this stage he is the best tap ruckman we have.
memberforever
12 Jul 2007, 17:58
I love the way us doggies supporters continue to accept medicority. We make excuses for Street
"Its a hard position."
"He is no longer the liability on the graound he was"
"He gets hitouts -etc"
C'mon he is at best a VERY AVERAGE player who is only there because he is 17 foot tall. Yes he has improved - but to suggest that he is not a liability around the ground is just - well - just wrong.
Why not make excuses for Gia, or Shaggy or Robbins. Players that actually contribute and are accountable both ways.
The crowd laughs at Street - not with him - when he tries to do something beyond his capabilities. Considering the great ruckman of the past that we have had - well I am embarrassed.
Absolute rubbish, why do you think we have started to win the clearances from the centre, its no coincidence since Street started playing earlier in the year. The way the game is played these days especially our style, it does not suit big men running around, so given that, many big guys are not as dominant as they were back in the 80's and 90's around the ground.
ErnieSigley
12 Jul 2007, 17:59
Well guess what, we don't have Lade we have Street, and at this stage he is the best tap ruckman we have.
Thanks a bunch, I really needed to know that.
If you want to pick out 1 part of my post with looking at the rest or why I said that, its fine too.
W.Bulldogs_Aus_WC06
12 Jul 2007, 19:21
who is only there because he is 17 foot tall.
The crowd laughs at Street - not with him - when he tries to do something beyond his capabilities.
These bits are very funny and very true :D But he still absolutely deserves his spot in the team.
FrediKanoute
12 Jul 2007, 19:54
Like LondonBulldog I watch games in delay (often after reading comments posted on the forum). I've only watched half of the Port game so far as its been a busy social week in London with 2 days of sunshine! I think though some of the criticism levelled at Streeta is harsh. I think since he came into the team in round 3/4 he has been a contributor and a good contributor. He is no Luke Darcy or Cox or Lade, but he consistently contributes and I think we are a better team with him in the side than with Minson. Yes he has faults and yes maybe we are accepting a level of mediocrity, but I think our ruck division is better with him in it than him out of it.
I'd also like to agree with LB's comments re Cooney, Darcy, Robbins and Gia all were very good in the half game I've seen. I also thought that Harbrow in the first half we good as well. His delivery at times is poor, but he runs to the right places....you can't teach that natural skill. It would also be remiss not to mention Evertitt's debut. He is a gutsy customer, with good skills and looks very cool under pressure. probably not tall enough to be a KPP, but I think her will mature into a good on ball player!
ErnieSigley
12 Jul 2007, 23:56
Absolute rubbish, why do you think we have started to win the clearances from the centre, its no coincidence since Street started playing earlier in the year. The way the game is played these days especially our style, it does not suit big men running around, so given that, many big guys are not as dominant as they were back in the 80's and 90's around the ground.
Obviously clearances are the only thing we need to worry about. No need to worry about getting meaningful possession, being accountable around the ground or even the final scores.
I don't even understand your 2nd sentence but you seem to be good at that.
kookadog
13 Jul 2007, 00:27
Street has been pretty good, he's definately a handy player for us at the moment. He's still got to work on his game, but his sheer size makes him valuable.
lifelike_
13 Jul 2007, 00:52
Street is well.... Street. He's a good tap ruckman, but he's shocking around the ground. His game on Saturday was okay, nothing more, nothing less. Disposal wise, he's the second worst number one ruckman in the AFL.
Gia's been playing well since the West Coast game.
jd hot stuff
13 Jul 2007, 00:54
Street has been pretty good, he's definately a handy player for us at the moment. He's still got to work on his game, but his sheer size makes him valuable.
IMO one area Street has to work in is his endurance so he can play about 65%-70% of the game
bulldogrob
13 Jul 2007, 00:55
What is wrong with you people. A few years ago i agreed that he was terrible around the ground. He aint terrible around the ground anymore. He isnt brillant but serviceable. Give the guy some credit for improving whether you like him or not for ****s sake.:mad:
Fossie 32
13 Jul 2007, 10:25
What is wrong with you people. A few years ago i agreed that he was terrible around the ground. He aint terrible around the ground anymore. He isnt brillant but serviceable. Give the guy some credit for improving whether you like him or not for ****s sake.:mad:
Amen :thumbsu:
Re Darce - did he ever have much of a leap?
linkman
13 Jul 2007, 12:43
I do give him credit for improving - however at the ate that he is "improving", for him to be truly competitive and a bona fide member of the midfield, we will all be in nursing homes cheering the doggies through our oxygen masks.:D
I do not doubt that he tries. I have no complaints that what he is giving is 100% - but this is the problem. He is not a competant AFL class footballer. I do not see why so many people have an issue with this. This is not personal. I am making an observation that players need to be quality in many areas.
I am critical of Will Minson because he does not take contested marks. I am critical of Brian Harris (prior to this year) becasue he makes bad decisions and his disposal has not been great. I am critical of Chris Grant becasue his one true weakness is set shot kicking for goal. These players hwoever have a greater upside in their other forms of arsenal and so can cover their deficiencies siomewhat.
I have been saying for 2 years that Street's true value is to create a problem for the opposition. Forget the around the ground rubbish - he is too slow. When we have the ball he needs to get into our forward 50 and provide a target. I don't care whether he marks or not just contest and create opportunities.
I do give him credit for improving - however at the ate that he is "improving", for him to be truly competitive and a bona fide member of the midfield, we will all be in nursing homes cheering the doggies through our oxygen masks.:D
I do not doubt that he tries. I have no complaints that what he is giving is 100% - but this is the problem. He is not a competant AFL class footballer. I do not see why so many people have an issue with this. This is not personal. I am making an observation that players need to be quality in many areas.
I am critical of Will Minson because he does not take contested marks. I am critical of Brian Harris (prior to this year) becasue he makes bad decisions and his disposal has not been great. I am critical of Chris Grant becasue his one true weakness is set shot kicking for goal. These players hwoever have a greater upside in their other forms of arsenal and so can cover their deficiencies siomewhat.
I have been saying for 2 years that Street's true value is to create a problem for the opposition. Forget the around the ground rubbish - he is too slow. When we have the ball he needs to get into our forward 50 and provide a target. I don't care whether he marks or not just contest and create opportunities.
You didn't quite grasp the title of the thread did you?
memberforever
13 Jul 2007, 13:10
I don't even understand your 2nd sentence but you seem to be good at that.
What don't you understand about my 2nd sentance? and what do you mean by I am good at that???????? :confused:Let me explain?
Back in the old days, the ruckman dominated the game and really influenced the outcome, but those days are long gone as the game is very different. Have a look at all the brownlow medalists that were ruckman and then look at the last 15 years and see how many there were. The ruckman is now only influencing in actual ruck work and rarely around the ground. Only a select few are good around the ground.
What I am saying is that Streets job is to get the ball down to the mid fielders and he is in the top three in the AFL at doing that. Of course he has to present himself around the ground, and maybe he is average at doing that. I thought he played a pretty good game last Saturday.
I don't get some people, they expect every player to be a champion in every position. I believe Street is doing the job the coach is expecting him to do, and at the moment, we don't have an alternative player and I am sick and tired of hearing people bag him.
ErnieSigley
13 Jul 2007, 16:25
Back in the old days, the ruckman dominated the game and really influenced the outcome, but those days are long gone as the game is very different. Have a look at all the brownlow medalists that were ruckman and then look at the last 15 years and see how many there were. The ruckman is now only influencing in actual ruck work and rarely around the ground. Only a select few are good around the ground.
BS.
Firstly Goodes won a his 1st brownlow from the ruck. Ask the Saints if they could have used a good ruck in their finals of the past years. Ask the Eagles fans if the WC rucks thrashing the Swans guys last year didn't help.
What I am saying is that Streets job is to get the ball down to the mid fielders and he is in the top three in the AFL at doing that.
Please state that correctly, he is Top 3 for taps. Being the 2nd tallest in the league, you'd hope so. Who knows how many are directed to our advantage?
Of course he has to present himself around the ground, and maybe he is average at doing that. I thought he played a pretty good game last Saturday.
Below average not average
I don't get some people, they expect every player to be a champion in every position. I believe Street is doing the job the coach is expecting him to do, and at the moment, we don't have an alternative player and I am sick and tired of hearing people bag him.
Who is bagging him, if anything I bag the people that praise him when he actually hasn't done much at all. What has he done to deserve extra credit? He is never in our best players and he might get first hands on it but even he doesn't know where its going.
At the moment he is just servicable, gets a game only because of his height and a lack of alternatives.
Fossie 32
13 Jul 2007, 16:44
12 possies in 46 minutes is pretty good for a ruckman, not to mention kicking a goal and setting up at least one other.
I reckon in the last few games he has improved noticeably. Certainly in comparison to his first few games this year where he didn't do much at all.
paul scholes
13 Jul 2007, 17:11
Great observations. Street has improved but he has to win the ball around the ground more often.
memberforever
14 Jul 2007, 00:22
BS.
Who is bagging him, if anything I bag the people that praise him when he actually hasn't done much at all.
Ok Mr Negative,
Street is no good,
Minson doesn't deserve a game,
Skipper should be delisted and
Darcy is only good every five games.
Now, what is your solution for the ruck.
ErnieSigley
14 Jul 2007, 12:55
Ok Mr Negative,
Street is no good,
Minson doesn't deserve a game,
Skipper should be delisted and
Darcy is only good every five games.
Now, what is your solution for the ruck.
Not what I said Mr Reply with dribble when I can't be bothered.
BTW Darcy's worst is as good as Street's best.
Good bye credibility. Street has been holding the fort while Darcy has be finding his way back this year. There are ways of saying Street is no good with out making false sweeping statements which make you look incredibly uneducated.
memberforever
15 Jul 2007, 12:49
Good bye credibility. Street has been holding the fort while Darcy has be finding his way back this year. There are ways of saying Street is no good with out making false sweeping statements which make you look incredibly uneducated.
thank you, for putting it in a sensible manner.
ErnieSigley
15 Jul 2007, 13:07
Becuase you are a current uni student doesn't been you are eduated either.
OK it was a bit over the top but I still believe after 2 recos and his age Darcy is better than Street and easily.
Statements like "holding the fort" are sweeping. The way you guys talk its like he is best on ground every week when he hasn't been in the best 5 or 6 players all year.
You are a joke and its quiet apparent with the amount of people who dont share your point of view.
Lay off the cough syrup pal.
Becuase you are a current uni student doesn't been you are eduated either.
OK it was a bit over the top but I still believe after 2 recos and his age Darcy is better than Street and easily.
Statements like "holding the fort" are sweeping. The way you guys talk its like he is best on ground every week when he hasn't been in the best 5 or 6 players all year.
It would be a fair comment to say Street has been our best ruckman over the season. There for, he has been 'holding the fort' in the ruck. What would we have done if Street hadn't been playing like he has? Darcy has been in patchy form and Minson's first month in the firsts was below AFL standard. So i stand by my 'holding the fort' comment, as nobody else in that position has done as well as Street up until this point of the year.
bulldogrob
15 Jul 2007, 21:29
Streety took some nice marks last night
ErnieSigley
15 Jul 2007, 22:45
It would be a fair comment to say Street has been our best ruckman over the season. There for, he has been 'holding the fort' in the ruck. What would we have done if Street hadn't been playing like he has? Darcy has been in patchy form and Minson's first month in the firsts was below AFL standard. So i stand by my 'holding the fort' comment, as nobody else in that position has done as well as Street up until this point of the year.
Whats your definition of a ruckman? If you believe a rucks role is just tap it out then yes he is. Unfortunately thats not my definition of a good ruck. There are plenty of Sudanese background young blokes in Footscray these days who look as tall as Peter Street. They should be snapped up as soon as possible because would get first hands on the ball too.
Street has been serviceable at best.
LondonBulldog
15 Jul 2007, 23:04
Sorry Ernie, but after watching the essendon game there is no way Darcy should take any centre bounces in my opinion.
It looks embarrassing, he was slaughtered by Laycock in hitouts and doesn't give our onballers any chance at trying to get a tap in their direction.
ErnieSigley
15 Jul 2007, 23:38
Sorry Ernie, but after watching the essendon game there is no way Darcy should take any centre bounces in my opinion.
It looks embarrassing, he was slaughtered by Laycock in hitouts and doesn't give our onballers any chance at trying to get a tap in their direction.
Darcy wasn't jumping but I thought held his own by using his body.
He did well at the boundary throws where often he his usual knock to the back but no one read it. Not even Street himself knows where his taps will go.
Laycock is young but no slouch, Hille is.
Did you see the Port game? Darcy was easily the best ruck on the ground. He is going to up and down but is far more valuable than our alternatives at the moment.
Dancing Dougie
15 Jul 2007, 23:56
agree with you london bulldog darcy shouldn`t take bounces jumps too early and i love the bloke. put him ff with johno chf, street does get first tap to ball, would love to stand with you london bulldog & ernie and watch a game with a few cold ones and have a great chat :thumbsu::thumbsu:
games at dome doggies with players to come back looking good are we:eek::eek:
I think Voss was barking up the wrong tree. Darcy has never ever ever, been a 'jumper' in the center. He has always, tried to jump early to put the other ruck man off, or even stay down entirely. For years i thought Darcy was un-co, but its a tactic, it always has been and always will be.
stefoid
16 Jul 2007, 08:00
I think Voss was barking up the wrong tree. Darcy has never ever ever, been a 'jumper' in the center. He has always, tried to jump early to put the other ruck man off, or even stay down entirely. For years i thought Darcy was un-co, but its a tactic, it always has been and always will be.
wynd was like that in his later seasons, and passed on the tactics of 'white man cant jump' to darce.
I notice streeter positioned himself in the forward pocket on a few occasions vs ths dons and was ignored by players who went on to kick points.