C: Shaun Higgins, Nathan Eagleton, Jason Akermanis
HF: Daniel Giansiracusa, Brad Johnson, Mitch Hahn
F: Chris Grant, Luke Darcy, Matthew Robbins
FOLL: Peter Street, Adam Cooney, Matthew Boyd
I/C: Jarrod Harbrow, Robert Murphy, Andrejs Everitt, Farren Ray
EMG: Will Minson, Dylan Addison, Cameron Wight

In: Eagleton
Out: West (Groin)

You can only assume if Granty doesn't come up, Wight will come in.

brookers#5
12 Jul 2007, 18:02
Addison will play, not sure who for thoe.

murphy2bedabest
12 Jul 2007, 18:06

this is from????

Dogs Rule
12 Jul 2007, 18:07

Well, thanks for telling us. Let's see if it actually happens.

brookers#5
12 Jul 2007, 18:11
He'll come in for someone like Ray you need someone in your team to do the dirty work, his one of the few who does.

Dogs_R_Us
12 Jul 2007, 18:15
He'll come in for someone like Ray you need someone in your team to do the dirty work, his one of the few who does.

Oh please go away. Don't you have your own board to pester?

Butane
12 Jul 2007, 18:22

Go away. Please, all you do is have digs at the team in subtle ways. 'You should have got Tarrant, not Aker, he won't win you finals' - 'Will you make the 8, you have a pretty bad year?' 'You don't have anyone that does any dirty work'. **** off buddy, no one gives a shit what you think.

brookers#5
12 Jul 2007, 18:25
So do you disagree?

MrDOK
12 Jul 2007, 18:30
lol... Brookers is just a little weed who loves to sh!t stir. A bit of Roundup on him should do the trick. :)

brookers#5
12 Jul 2007, 18:34
Ease up Dok having abit of fun you should try it.

Dogs_r_barking
12 Jul 2007, 18:40
Ease up Dok having abit of fun you should try it.

Yeah well Brookers#5 - I don't think the Richmond board thought you were having a bit of fun when you were pestering them last week - didn't they tell you to piss off as well?
Haven't you got a board to go to - you must have something to talk about on the Hawthorn board - like how Adelaide managed to thump you last week???

dales.girl38
12 Jul 2007, 18:43
So do you disagree?

That we should have got Tarrant instead of Aker? Yes, we disagree.

That Addison is one of our only players that will go in hard? Yes, we disagree.

brookers#5
12 Jul 2007, 18:45
Yeah well Brookers#5 - I don't think the Richmond board thought you were having a bit of fun when you were pestering them last week - didn't they tell you to piss off as well?
Haven't you got a board to go to - you must have something to talk about on the Hawthorn board - like how Adelaide managed to thump you last week???
Actually had some good banter on that sight they new everything was tongue in cheek but gooses like yourself who treat footy as more then just a game ruin it mate footy is entertainment not life & death no nothing wrong with a abit of banter you stupid goose.

kookadog
12 Jul 2007, 18:46
Go away. Please, all you do is have digs at the team in subtle ways. 'You should have got Tarrant, not Aker, he won't win you finals' - 'Will you make the 8, you have a pretty bad year?' 'You don't have anyone that does any dirty work'. **** off buddy, no one gives a shit what you think.

Right on :thumbsu:

brookers#5
12 Jul 2007, 18:48
Lol alrite i will obviously no fun to be had with you lot.

W.Bulldogs_Aus_WC06
12 Jul 2007, 19:12

I actually absolutely agree.

murphy2bedabest
12 Jul 2007, 19:26

so why didn't they pick addison, and drop ray?

now im a fan of addisons and he'll find his way back

FrediKanoute
12 Jul 2007, 20:00
So do you disagree?

I do. I don't think Addison will come back into the side. I think if Granty doesn't come up then Wight will win a recall or Minson.

I still don't see what Addison adds to the side atm. Yes he is hard at the footy, but he does not use it well and too often turns it over. He will improve and get better, but I wouldn't rush him back. Based on last week Robbins was his replacement and you would have to say that he couldn't come in to replace him based on his performance. I though Ray in the first half(haven't seen the second yet) was good. He ran the lines and seems to be playing off a half back flank (almost replacing Griff). For all his faults I think Ray has the ability to both get the ball, run the lines and deliver it.....he's a 60-70 metre player. Addison isn't.

bulldogrob
12 Jul 2007, 20:08
Mods,

Its time to ban Brookers from our forum

Vulture
12 Jul 2007, 20:17
Mods,

Its time to ban Brookers from our forum

Why?

RedWhite&Blue
12 Jul 2007, 20:41
Don't be so sensitive guys - Brooker has a point in that Addison IS really hard at it. With Westy out and the subsequent re-shuffle of positions maybe Addison is the player that should come in.
I love watching the kid play - he's going to be a Bulldog favourite for years to come.

X_box_X
12 Jul 2007, 20:52
I reckon Addison might come in. He was only dropped because of having the flu, not for bad form, so I can't see why he wouldn't come in for Grant. We might not need to have another tall in the side to replace Grant, we are tall enough.

bulldogrob
12 Jul 2007, 21:07
Why?

Cause i was banned from the geelong board for giving them shit so i want to see the same happen to him :D:thumbsu:

Butane
12 Jul 2007, 21:11
Don't be so sensitive guys - Brooker has a point in that Addison IS really hard at it. With Westy out and the subsequent re-shuffle of positions maybe Addison is the player that should come in.
I love watching the kid play - he's going to be a Bulldog favourite for years to come.

See...thats a better way of saying it rather then. 'Addison will play!'.....'why?'...'cause your teams soft'

jd hot stuff
12 Jul 2007, 21:49

Umm you should actually say somthing if you have information about, plus do you even now anything about our team becase Ray played a really good game last week and did the dirty things when he had to. If Addison plays it will be for some like Robbin's or Kostya, Brookers#5 please only post if you have somthing to say that you have information about or dont post at all.

borgy
12 Jul 2007, 22:21
Yeah i think we are fairly covered down back for talls.

Harro will play on Lloyd
Morris on Lucas
Williams on Johns

Who else do they have in the talls depo? We also have Everitt down there if they go taller. I wouldnt mind him playing down back to release Shaggy to the wing.

As someone said Addison wasnt dropped on form so therefore i think he would be most likely to get the call up if Grant doesnt get up.

Although i wouldnt mind seeing Minson back i doubt we would play all Minson, Street and Darcy in the same team.

brookers#5
12 Jul 2007, 22:38
Cause i was banned from the geelong board for giving them shit so i want to see the same happen to him :D:thumbsu:
Mate you should understand then i'm just having abit of fun i do like to stir shit on boards but i'm actually fair dinkum in the fact addison will play yet i get bagged for being serious.

brookers#5
12 Jul 2007, 22:41
Addison will come in for Grant you wont play Street, Darcy & minson in the same side, why would wight play when you have williams on lucus & harris on lloyd, maybe you might want back up in those kp back posts but i think the obvious inclusion is addison, he was in the side a week ago until he fell ill.

.M a t t.
12 Jul 2007, 22:55
Yeah i think we are fairly covered down back for talls.

Harro will play on Lloyd
Morris on Lucas
Williams on Johns

Who else do they have in the talls depo? We also have Everitt down there if they go taller. I wouldnt mind him playing down back to release Shaggy to the wing.

As someone said Addison wasnt dropped on form so therefore i think he would be most likely to get the call up if Grant doesnt get up.

Although i wouldnt mind seeing Minson back i doubt we would play all Minson, Street and Darcy in the same team.

I think Morris will have first shot at Lloyd and Harris to go to Lucas.
Lucas will possibly have too much strength for Mozza so maybe he can go to Lloyd.

W.Bulldogs_Aus_WC06
12 Jul 2007, 23:19
Umm you should actually say somthing if you have information about, plus do you even now anything about our team becase Ray played a really good game last week and did the dirty things when he had to. If Addison plays it will be for some like Robbin's or Kostya, Brookers#5 please only post if you have somthing to say that you have information about or dont post at all.

I'm gonna have to stick up for brookers here. He obviously does know a bit about the kid (more than I would know about a youngster from another team) to say that he is harder at it than Ray, which is absolutely true. I see Addison as becoming the next Matthew Boyd of the side, who can do both sides of the game, hard in and under and running. On this seasons performances I think Addison deserves a spot more than Ray does. Without West and Cross we need more of his type of players, imo we have enough runners in the team.

brookers#5
13 Jul 2007, 00:02
I'll get shot down for this but i would of thought of Ray is an outrider who can use the footy but a player you dont want to many of, i'd put gia, eagleton, mcmahon, gilbee & harbrow in that bracket also & thats not a critiscism because Gilbee is one of the best hbf in the league but his not a player who wins the contested footy so i would of thought without west in there to the dirty work aswell as cross that addison would play because the the stereotype of the dogs is that there soft & down hill skiers i dont totally agree i just think your maybe abit small in there so maybe addison strength around the footy could be needed just an observation.

kookadog
13 Jul 2007, 00:21
Ray has been good and I would doubt that he will be dropped, Ray adds to our running game especially without griff, Ray is also a good overhead mark. Ray is still pretty young, I would't say that he has reached his potential at all, he is still developing himself.

Butane
13 Jul 2007, 00:24
I'll get shot down for this but i would of thought of Ray is an outrider who can use the footy but a player you dont want to many of, i'd put gia, eagleton, mcmahon, gilbee & harbrow in that bracket also & thats not a critiscism because Gilbee is one of the best hbf in the league but his not a player who wins the contested footy

OMG. Gilbee is a sensational back man. He always makes a contest of it, thats why he was All- Australian last year. Yes, he is a sensation kick, but he's also a very very very good defender in his own right. Please mate, stop talking. Gilbee would win the contested footy more times then he loses. He runs back in packs, punches from behind. And is more then often 'tagged' and is forced to play one on one - and wins.

Gia, Eagle, McMahon, Ray are players we use to run teams off their feet. They are the reason why we are the fastest team in the comp, and when on song, very hard to beat. Mind you many would argue that Ray goes as hard as his small body can take him, so its not from lack of effort. McMahon is a backman, there for making him accountable every single week. And Gia has been known to get his hands dirty when he steps up, of course you would know this if you paid as much attention to watching the Bulldogs as you do harrasing the Bulldogs board.

Anthony_
13 Jul 2007, 00:27
i'm just having abit of fun i do like to stir shit on boards but

Its called Bay 13 if you want to troll. Trolling opposition boards is a good way to get banned.

brookers#5
13 Jul 2007, 00:29
I knew i'd get critiscised & i'm not for 1 minute saying these guys cant play all i'm saying is that there similar, i would of thought the dogs get outbussled often, i'm not saying there soft i'm saying they dont have big bodies & thats why it appears you get bullied at times.

dales.girl38
13 Jul 2007, 00:39
Addison doesn't seem like a logical inclusion for Farren, I really admire the way Dylan goes at it, he's got heaps of potential, but why would we drop a player who's had a good game? Addison was unlucky to get the flu and probably miss out again after his replacement had a good game, but you shouldn't change a winning side (barring obvious things like injuries, suspensions of if one player in particular had a shocker). They all played well last week, including Ray and they all earnt their game this week, Addison will get another chance soon.

jd hot stuff
13 Jul 2007, 00:44
I'm gonna have to stick up for brookers here. He obviously does know a bit about the kid (more than I would know about a youngster from another team) to say that he is harder at it than Ray, which is absolutely true. I see Addison as becoming the next Matthew Boyd of the side, who can do both sides of the game, hard in and under and running. On this seasons performances I think Addison deserves a spot more than Ray does. Without West and Cross we need more of his type of players, imo we have enough runners in the team.
Since you put it like that i do agree with you that Addison might just be the next Matty Boyd, But for no reason Ray will be droped for Addison as he Ray is one of the younger kids whit game time under his belt and is starting to play some good footy. And the reason i said what i said was because of Rays game last week (which had about 4 contest's in about 1 min, never gave up and was stuffed by the last one but pushed it out) This all happened in front of the pocket i was sitting at, and he also had the ball a few times. And you may say Rar is a runner we dont need but he can be handy as his developed into a handy right/left foot kick

I knew i'd get critiscised & i'm not for 1 minute saying these guys cant play all i'm saying is that there similar, i would of thought the dogs get outbussled often, i'm not saying there soft i'm saying they dont have big bodies & thats why it appears you get bullied at times. Yes we do get bullied around at times ( i do agree mate) but when we decide to work as a team we tend to go at the ball a lot harder (we did this in the second half last week and agianst Freo a few weeks back) and both times we needed to lift due to poor first half's with to many errors IMO

brookers#5
13 Jul 2007, 00:52
Yep fair call i'd like to see it against adelaide or sydney, the teams that thrive on that hard contested one on one footy, this isn't critiscising my team has plenty of areas where were poor at i just think some harder bodies in the guts & taller bodies at either end is what you need & if you can develop that instead of being a 5-10 team u'll be a top 4 team.

W.Bulldogs_Aus_WC06
13 Jul 2007, 11:29
OMG. Gilbee is a sensational back man. He always makes a contest of it, thats why he was All- Australian last year. Yes, he is a sensation kick, but he's also a very very very good defender in his own right. Please mate, stop talking. Gilbee would win the contested footy more times then he loses. He runs back in packs, punches from behind. And is more then often 'tagged' and is forced to play one on one - and wins.

Gia, Eagle, McMahon, Ray are players we use to run teams off their feet. They are the reason why we are the fastest team in the comp, and when on song, very hard to beat. Mind you many would argue that Ray goes as hard as his small body can take him, so its not from lack of effort. McMahon is a backman, there for making him accountable every single week. And Gia has been known to get his hands dirty when he steps up, of course you would know this if you paid as much attention to watching the Bulldogs as you do harrasing the Bulldogs board.

Why do you have a go at him as soon as he makes any comment whatsoever? We never said it was from lack of effort that Ray isn't the hard man we need but it's that he doesn't necessarily have the body to do it at this early stage in his career. It isn't a criticism of Ray that I think he should be left out, it's that, with West and Cross out, we need to strengthen that part of our team to give us a better chance of winning on Saturday.

As you pointed out yourself butane we have a lot of runners there and so brookers was just making the point that we may not need another one and that the place in the team would be better used on Addison. I'd say you two are in heated agreement but you just don't realise it lol

brookers#5
13 Jul 2007, 12:11
Exactly its no critiscising of the player just saying you have alot of the same sought of player for example, if you had the best 6 hbf's in the league at your club you couldn't play them all because of team balance,Its like north last year had alot of good big fellows in there side, Thompson,hale,mcintosh,petrie & even moran at stages who are all very serviceable players & would be in most teams 22 but you couldn't have all of them in the same side because it made nth to slow, this year thoe they've only had mcintosh & petrie in on a full time basis & Hale lately & there a much better team because they have a better mix so all i'm saying is that maybe the mix at the doggies just isn't quite right atm & the inconsistancy comes from the fact that you have blokes like Ray who maybe need to do more physical work when there not ready for it because you dont have those inforcers playing thats just an outside view.

mjp
13 Jul 2007, 13:59
It isn't a criticism of Ray that I think he should be left out, it's that, with West and Cross out, we need to strengthen that part of our team to give us a better chance of winning on Saturday.

Ray weighs as much as Cooney. I have said this 1 million times. Stop confusing your perception of his size with the reality of it.

As you pointed out yourself butane we have a lot of runners there and so brookers was just making the point that we may not need another one and that the place in the team would be better used on Addison. I'd say you two are in heated agreement but you just don't realise it lol

We have a lot of runners do we? Even with Cross, West and Griffen out? You have seriously got to be joking. We need guys who can run and carry more than ever this week, and Ray is one of those.

As for the comments about Gilbee - they are clearly being made by someone who has not watched the Bulldogs play much...apart from the highlight tapes in any case. He often plays on a taller, marking player and is a terrific one-on-one, contested ball winner.

Jobodog
13 Jul 2007, 14:06
I'm not saying Essedon will be a push over, but do you think we should play Grant if he has even a small risk of doing more damage? We have West Coke Eagles and Geelong in the next few weeks.

John Gent
13 Jul 2007, 14:10
[QUOTE=mjp;8101131

We have a lot of runners do we? Even with Cross, West and Griffen out? You have seriously got to be joking. We need guys who can run and carry more than ever this week, and Ray is one of those.
.[/QUOTE]

I don't consider either West or Cross runners as such, certainly not in terms of crossing the lines, their role is to get the ball to those who do that
eg Eagleton, Cooney, Ray etc

dales.girl38
13 Jul 2007, 14:29
If you're looking for a harder body for an inclusion, you're looking at the wrong person as far as Addison goes. He's smaller than Ray (and Farren is hardly small for that matter, he's a lot bigger than you seem to think) and while he throws his body around, so does Ray!!! You're kidding yourself if you think Farren is soft, that's what he gets called by people who can't get over one little incident that might have happened 2 years ago, I have no idea why he gets called it, he goes in there and he gets the ball, he takes contested marks and he kicks goals. Addison is tough, he'll get his turn soon, but you should never take a player out while he's in form, use some common sense.

Rocco Jones
13 Jul 2007, 14:32
If you're looking for a harder body for an inclusion, you're looking at the wrong person as far as Addison goes. He's smaller than Ray (and Farren is hardly small for that matter, he's a lot bigger than you seem to think) and while he throws his body around, so does Ray!!! You're kidding yourself if you think Farren is soft, that's what he gets called by people who can't get over one little incident that might have happened 2 years ago, I have no idea why he gets called it, he goes in there and he gets the ball, he takes contested marks and he kicks goals. Addison is tough, he'll get his turn soon, but you should never take a player out while he's in form, use some common sense.

You know a fair bit about footy for a girl.

memberforever
13 Jul 2007, 14:34
the stereotype of the dogs is that there soft & down hill skiers i dont totally agree i just think your maybe abit small in there so maybe addison strength around the footy could be needed just an observation.

Well the statistics show we are the number one tackling team and second in clearances, that isnot soft.

murphy2bedabest
13 Jul 2007, 15:18
Well the statistics show we are the number one tackling team and second in clearances, that isnot soft.

didnt garry say on the footy show that we're 2nd in hard ball gets aswell

mjp
13 Jul 2007, 16:05
I don't consider either West or Cross runners as such, certainly not in terms of crossing the lines, their role is to get the ball to those who do that
eg Eagleton, Cooney, Ray etc

Well, they do that as well JG, but I suspect (and I am guessing here) that West would be leading us for handball receives now, and at the time Cross was injured, they would have been 1 and 2.

They are absolutely running players.

mjp
13 Jul 2007, 16:06

Funnily enough, when we have been beaten badly this year (eg.Sydney) it is the Loose Ball Get stat where our numbers are right down.

stefoid
13 Jul 2007, 16:49
that translates to not getting numbers to the contest.

Pigdog
13 Jul 2007, 17:18
Well, they do that as well JG, but I suspect (and I am guessing here) that West would be leading us for handball receives now, and at the time Cross was injured, they would have been 1 and 2.

They are absolutely running players.

Cross before being injured led the competition in 4th qtr disposals, why, because he keeps running when few others can. His ability to run into space to provide an option is one of his great qualities.

West and Cross may not be run and carry players, but there gut busting running is sorely missed and places extra pressure on the rest of the midfield who have to pick up the slack. Last week they coped, lets hope this trend continues.

brookers#5
13 Jul 2007, 19:28
Mate i'm not saying Ray is soft the only player i'd put into the soft bracket is Gia but his got classy skills, i'm not saying your soft i'm just saying you have alot slight body players who maybe struggle to consistently be able to play physical footy for 4 quarters week in week out, If your leading the tackles doesn't mean your tough it means your 2nd to the ball i hate to use my team as an example but were 16th in tackles yet i would of said we go just as hard as the doggies & are just as physical is not more, so dont think i'm critiscising i'm just saying you could do with someone who does the dirty work.

dales.girl38
13 Jul 2007, 19:48
Mate i'm not saying Ray is soft the only player i'd put into the soft bracket is Gia but his got classy skills, i'm not saying your soft i'm just saying you have alot slight body players who maybe struggle to consistently be able to play physical footy for 4 quarters week in week out, If your leading the tackles doesn't mean your tough it means your 2nd to the ball i hate to use my team as an example but were 16th in tackles yet i would of said we go just as hard as the doggies & are just as physical is not more, so dont think i'm critiscising i'm just saying you could do with someone who does the dirty work.

I understand what you're saying and I agree with you about our tackles etc. but my point is that if we want to replace a slight bodied player, Addison would not be the inclusion- he's not even 80 kilos, whereas Ray is closer to 90 kilos, he really isn't that small anymore and is in good form at the moment. Ray always gets associated with being skinny and lightly built, but he weighs more than Griffen does.

brookers#5
13 Jul 2007, 19:52
I understand what you're saying and I agree with you about our tackles etc. but my point is that if we want to replace a slight bodied player, Addison would not be the inclusion- he's not even 80 kilos, whereas Ray is closer to 90 kilos, he really isn't that small anymore and is in good form at the moment. Ray always gets associated with being skinny and lightly built, but he weighs more than Griffen does.
Ok cheers i guess its all perception.

divvydan
13 Jul 2007, 19:52
Scott West replaces Cameron Wight as an emergency......thoughts?

Butane
13 Jul 2007, 20:13
Scott West replaces Cameron Wight as an emergency......thoughts?

Surely has no chance of playing. But its interesting that Wight has been chopped from the list. Specially if Grant doesn't play, sounds interesting though.

memberforever
14 Jul 2007, 00:23

correct, sorry missed that stat

divvydan
14 Jul 2007, 00:28
Surely has no chance of playing. But its interesting that Wight has been chopped from the list. Specially if Grant doesn't play, sounds interesting though.

Yeah, i have to say i doubt he'll play but something has made them make the change to put him on. I suspect they'll give him a late fitness test. I don't think Grant will play, addison probably coming in unless West comes up and can be a swap with Grant.
Interesting though.

memberforever
14 Jul 2007, 00:29

great observation, I didin't realize Ray was that heavy.

kookadog
14 Jul 2007, 01:28
West must be close to being fit, he said he thought he'd be right to play, but i don't see how playing the mind games will change much, just prep for the player who might tag him.

nooB
14 Jul 2007, 01:51
West must be close to being fit, he said he thought he'd be right to play, but i don't see how playing the mind games will change much, just prep for the player who might tag him.

Maybe a miracle happened