View Full Version : 2. Ricky Dyson

Pages : [1] 2

DaSawx
14 Jul 2007, 17:10
Discuss

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
16 Jul 2007, 16:28
Im am 99% sure Dyson won't be at Essendon in 08 which is really disapointing, because along with most of the Essendon supporters (im assuming) i thought he had great potential and would be a great player in the future, but it's just not happening for him, he's an alright player but we've got much better players than him that have taken his spot which is why i don't think he will have a spot on our list next season. I hope he can come up with something special in the last bit of the season because i don't want to see that potential goto waste.

donsman4eva
16 Jul 2007, 16:39
99% sure???? I'm sorry, I didn't realise you were employed by the Essendon recruiting department :rolleyes:

retroparty
16 Jul 2007, 16:44
I remember when he played his first game against WCE in 04 and looked like he would turn into a superstar

hulld
16 Jul 2007, 17:40
i thought he was okay against the dogs. for once he played with a bit of passion and anger

Tambu
16 Jul 2007, 17:57
People thought the same about Winderlich. Give him one more year me thinks.

hulld
16 Jul 2007, 18:08
me too

Jono B
16 Jul 2007, 18:11
1 more year showed some nice signs on Saturday.

Tambu
16 Jul 2007, 18:25
And also against Brisbane, he's starting to put in some good performances.
Naturally gifted player who needs more time to add consistency to his game.

ant555
17 Jul 2007, 09:06
Ricky Dyson. Is he the player we thought he would be? The early flash's of pace and the nice left foot kicking. Is it all now a mirage ?
Has been a player i have always liked (some may find that hard to belive) but he hasnt come up as well as i thought he would. There has been a lot of comment about the amount of game time ,or lack of it to be more precise, that he recives. It is an excuse that i dont really buy. Early one the lack of real game time was due to fitness problems (he struggled with a groin for a long while). His didnt have the capacity to run full games out. In more recent times he is sent on the ground and is often back to the bench again 10 minutes later and left there for preiods of time. The reason he ends up back on the bench is he doesnt make an impact when he gets on. The midifled rotations these days demand that you be able to come on , get 4 or 5 possesions in a ten minute period and then let the next guy attack.
For whatever reason Rick just looks too indecisive. He runs around and gets caught half way between the contest and the running players. It looks as if he gets caught in too minds about where to position himself and his footy instincts are too slow.
IMO i currenty have him in the dangerous are of being shown the door. He could just be safe simply becasue the depth of midfielders in this years draft isnt great.

Pawtucket Patriot
17 Jul 2007, 09:53
I reckon we hold onto him for another year. I just fear that if we let him go he may become a star at another club.

bombersno1
17 Jul 2007, 12:09
50/50 call. I would like to offer him a 1 yr deal, with the proviso you either prove yourself or you ship out. I can just see him being picked up and turning into a gun!

Bombs Away
17 Jul 2007, 13:22
I think his time is up, he has shown litle or no improvement in his 4 years at the club and with our recruiting so many midfielders in last draft will be shown the door, nash, slattery, watson have all gone past him and hislop, houli, jetta will also go past him.

thebigboy
18 Jul 2007, 14:10
I would give him 1 more season and a consistant run in the seniors to show something.

Massive next 7 weeks for him.

donsman4eva
18 Jul 2007, 16:10
If he can get numbers like he did on Saturday for the rest of the season, then he should be in good shape for next year.

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
18 Jul 2007, 22:18
If he can get numbers like he did on Saturday for the rest of the season, then he should be in good shape for next year.
With at least 1 or 2 25+ possession games (where he uses it well).

hulld
21 Jul 2007, 18:39
ricky's best game of the year today. i thought he was very good. hopefully today's game gives him confidence for the future

Tambu
22 Jul 2007, 00:03
He'll make it. Our patience will pay off!

Bombs Away
30 Jul 2007, 12:04
tick......tick........tick

Time is running out for him to show something consistently

hulld
30 Jul 2007, 16:26
its as if he needs to do something in every game to build up his confidence

in the last two games hehasn't got into the game until he kicked a goal

PressureCooker
12 Aug 2007, 19:17
See ya...

kelvin_sheedy
12 Aug 2007, 19:38
Sayonara.

hulld
12 Aug 2007, 19:48
had his chance and blew it.

houli was great today in the vfl so it would be a straight swap i would have thought

Pawtucket Patriot
12 Aug 2007, 20:07
I reckon we hold onto him for another year. I just fear that if we let him go he may become a star at another club.

I retract this remark. :eek:

ant555
2 Sep 2007, 11:22
Really faded away in last weeks . Got another chance at the top level but couldnt consolidate a spot and yesterdays VFL final will be pretty much the last straw IMO. Didnt play well at all. His defensive skills where ordinary and did nothing in the middle when he was there.
I think he has pretty much run his race with us.

dave_27
2 Sep 2007, 11:27
His application yesterday was bloody poor and he was turning over the ball to boot.

Legend Lucas
2 Sep 2007, 11:35
Yeah i was a fan of keeping him til the last couple of weeks until it really showed out just how soft and scared he is and the bendigo final was the nail in the coffin ! His kicking especially from full back was ****house and he wouldnt go near the ball in traffic definitely delist him as we need more tough in and under good stoppage and clearance players as we have plenty of runners and outside players who are also too scared to go in and get it eg Lovett

TheDon35
19 Sep 2007, 09:07
Never looked like being a player who was going to cut it.

No more time and resources wasted on Dyson.

Bombs Away
23 Oct 2007, 16:11
If he doesnt improve in 2008 to hold down a regular place will he be the next Mark Bolton. Coaches love their project players and Knights has let everyone know how much he rates dyson, just as sheedy did with bolton.

Time will tell

hulld
23 Oct 2007, 16:48
he signed a 2 year contract anyway

GoDons
22 Dec 2007, 18:12
He seems to be doing everything he can to make it.

In photos he looks noticably more cut than last year when he seemed to have very little muscle definition.

He's apparently quicker and fitter than ever before and he's got Mark McVeigh helping him out with his footy.

Right now, I don't think we can question his effort and that's all we can ask. I think he could surprise a few people next year.

kelvin_sheedy
22 Dec 2007, 20:47
^^^ Lets hope so.

For mine he's too much of a ball watcher and waits for the game to unfold which I don't think is fixable at this level.

B-Bomber
2 Jan 2008, 14:24
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=5536

Who is going to win the female draw of the Australian open?
Angus Monfries

I thought that was quite funny.

cokebomber
2 Jan 2008, 16:50
G'day All, I Am Only New To This, Mad Bomber Supporter Like All, I Believe Ricky Like Other Kids At The Club May Benefit From A Run Of Games In The Same Positon For A Good Amount Of Games, Like Hardwick Did In The Late 90's I Think He Had 8 Kicked On Him Against Farmer At The G One Day But Sheeds Persited With Him, And Eventualy He Won All Australian Selecton And 2 Premiship Mediallions "anything Is Possible"

hulld
2 Jan 2008, 17:59
please dont use caps lock

Amazing Bombers
4 Jan 2008, 13:33
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=5536

I thought that was quite funny.

LOL!

hulld
17 Feb 2008, 18:45
i haved loved both his games in the NAB cup and the intra-club. he has a new found confidence and he will be the big improver as winderlich was last year

Slattery_20
18 Feb 2008, 09:13
i haved loved both his games in the NAB cup and the intra-club. he has a new found confidence and he will be the big improver as winderlich was last year
Is certainly having a red-hot crack
I imagine Knights would have taken a modicum of pleasure at the vindication of his decision to offer a 2 year deal

TheDon35
19 Feb 2008, 17:45
I imagine Knights would have taken a modicum of pleasure at the vindication of his decision to offer a 2 year deal

Easy there tiger.. He might have got a bit of the ball but he was completely useless with it turning it over on most occasions. Good that he had a few touches but he contributed little to the win. Still not in our best side.

TheDon35
19 Feb 2008, 17:47

I also fail to see how his two year deal has been vindicated because he wracked up 20 odd possessions (mainly turnovers) in a pre-season game against a side who had 12 senior players out.

donsman4eva
19 Feb 2008, 20:10
The 2 year contract hasnt been vindicated yet, but surely he has taken a few steps in the right direction. Hopefully he can play a majority of the games this year and show his value.

Slattery_20
21 Feb 2008, 08:36
Easy there tiger.. He might have got a bit of the ball but he was completely useless with it turning it over on most occasions. Good that he had a few touches but he contributed little to the win. Still not in our best side.
He's actually having a crack. Vindication of some sort
I've had many thoughts on Dyso over the years - that he's quick, that he's got some talent, that he's wasting it etc - but I've never thought "gee he's going in hard". He is now.

Slattery_20
21 Feb 2008, 08:42
Put it another way - I'd rather see Ricky have a crack, achieve little and turn out to be not good enough, than constantly underachieve and become a member of the "if onlys"
Knights has given him the enthusiasm to get amongst it and the confidence to come out of his shell

Right now, I don't think we can question his effort and that's all we can ask.
Sums it up perfectly

TheDon35
21 Feb 2008, 09:12
He's actually having a crack. Vindication of some sort
I've had many thoughts on Dyso over the years - that he's quick, that he's got some talent, that he's wasting it etc - but I've never thought "gee he's going in hard". He is now.

He's still the same scared player who totally lacks composure under pressure.

GoDons
21 Feb 2008, 10:15
Ricky had a crack on Saturday night, I don't know how that can be denied.

Look at the first five minutes, Ricky got on the end of everything.

Yes, he sprayed a few kicks but let's also consider the largely contested situations that he took a lot of those kicks from.

The frustrating Dyson skill errors of previous years weren't like they were against Brisbane. They were when he was running uncontested.

Slattery_20
21 Feb 2008, 10:30
He's still the same scared player who totally lacks composure under pressure.
I can see the headlines now:

NEWS FLASH: FOOTBALLER MAKES SKILL ERRORS IN 1ST PRACTICE GAME OF SEASON

ffs
He had a better game than Power or Lappin, or Jetta or a dozen other dons. He also had a much better game than he's played in 3 or so years. And all you can see is the negatives.

TheDon35
22 Feb 2008, 06:58
I can see the headlines now:

ffs
He had a better game than Power or Lappin, or Jetta or a dozen other dons. He also had a much better game than he's played in 3 or so years. And all you can see is the negatives.

What he did last Saturday was receive quite a bit of ball then turn it over nearly every time he got his hands on it. If you get a chance to watch the game over, have a look, you'll see this for yourself.

You're very narrow minded in your appraisal of footballers. You basically look at the number of possesions and whether or not they are playing to judge how good they are.

Dyson's overall contribution to the win on Saturday was minimal at best.

TheDon35
22 Feb 2008, 07:00
[quote=Slattery_20;10142750]I can see the headlines now:

In case you've been asleep for the past couple of years. He's consistently made skill errors ever since he started playing for the Bombers. Saturday night wasn't a one off.

Merv
22 Feb 2008, 07:06
You're very narrow minded in your appraisal of footballers.

That is one of the biggest case of hypocrisy i have ever seen on BF.

Slattery_20
22 Feb 2008, 07:08
What he did last Saturday was receive quite a bit of ball then turn it over nearly every time he got his hands on it. If you get a chance to watch the game over, have a look, you'll see this for yourself.

You're very narrow minded in your appraisal of footballers. You basically look at the number of possesions and whether or not they are playing to judge how good they are.

Dyson's overall contribution to the win on Saturday was minimal at best.
wtf... he was always amongst it, getting things flowing our way.
I cop stick in one thread for defending a bloke who had 7 touches because I'm not going on overall output... then in this thread I cop stick because I defend a bloke who gets a bit of it and doesn't use it well. Ha ha. Just can't win
I'm not going to write Ricky off until I've seen him play 4-5 AFL matches this year - I just don't think things were "right" bw him and the previous coach. I'll not pass any comment until then

Schmick
22 Feb 2008, 19:42
Ricky with 17 disposals at half time, he would've been lucky to get that in a full game last season.

carnthedons07premiers
22 Feb 2008, 20:06
Finishes with 30. On the Bench for nearly all the last quarter.

Schmick
22 Feb 2008, 21:28
The only thing wrong with Ricky ATM is his kicking, and Shwarze was right when he said Dyson problem is he's trying to kick low spearing passes all the time and he instead should be just trying to get the placement right and hit them on the chest.

GoDons
22 Feb 2008, 21:29
Was brilliant tonight, along with Lucas he was just about our best player.

It's still early, but surely it's hard to throw much mud at him tonight.

Schmick
22 Feb 2008, 21:33

Yeh he was brilliant. Im not having a go at him, it's probably just a case of trying too hard which is the reason his kicking was off tonight.

kelvin_sheedy
22 Feb 2008, 21:37

Was good tonight but still made way too many mistakes for my liking.

He doesn't kick it well enough for someone with good skills and always loses his composure when he is running with the ball.

It's the first time I've seen him play and thought that there might be something to work with here though .

Lets see how he goes against some hardened runners in the Cats or Saints.

GoDons
22 Feb 2008, 21:38
Yeh he was brilliant. Im not having a go at him, it's probably just a case of trying too hard which is the reason his kicking was off tonight.

I didn't think his kicking was that bad.

It could improve, but let's not discount his good moments tonight. For instance, he put one ball down Lucas' throat.

The more match practice he gets, the more his kicking will improve one would think.

Schmick
22 Feb 2008, 21:41
I didn't think his kicking was that bad.

It could improve, but let's not discount his good moments tonight. For instance, he put one ball down Lucas' throat.

The more match practice he gets, the more his kicking will improve one would think.
There was just quite a few times where he tried to drill the ball low and hard, and it just ended up falling short or missing the target, and this could have easily of been prevented just by normally kicking it accurately onto his team mates chest.

Besides this, he was very very good and definately looks to have a future at the Bombers.

Schmick
22 Feb 2008, 22:10
For the record, 13 out of his 21 kicks were effective.

Im pretty sure effective kicks include the kicks that hit the target on the bounce.

Ricky is alot better than that, he is usually a wonderfull kick and it won't take much to get it back up to top notch.

B-Bomber
23 Feb 2008, 00:56
The only thing wrong with Ricky ATM is his kicking, and Shwarze was right when he said Dyson problem is he's trying to kick low spearing passes all the time and he instead should be just trying to get the placement right and hit them on the chest.

Now THAT is a headline! :eek:

Schmick
23 Feb 2008, 09:31
Now THAT is a headline! :eek:
Tell me about it, funnily enough I actually think he's a better commentator than Voss :eek:

Schmick
23 Feb 2008, 09:32
Finishes with 30. On the Bench for nearly all the last quarter.
30 disposals off 68% game, that's impressive Ricky :thumbsu:

Lance Uppercut
23 Feb 2008, 09:50
he just looks a whole new player now that he's on the ground when it matters. Having the coach's confidence must be a nice change for him, & it's showing.

Good stuff Ricky

Schmick
23 Feb 2008, 09:52
he just looks a whole new player now that he's on the ground when it matters. Having the coach's confidence must be a nice change for him, & it's showing.

Good stuff Ricky
Funnily enough, the gametime he got last night was around the same amount of time he was spending on the ground last season.

Lance Uppercut
23 Feb 2008, 09:59
Funnily enough, the gametime he got last night was around the same amount of time he was spending on the ground last season.

but last night he was again there from the very first bounce & only came off because he'd got the job done, and the game was won. Very different scenario to last year

Schmick
23 Feb 2008, 10:14
but last night he was again there from the very first bounce & only came off because he'd got the job done, and the game was won. Very different scenario to last year
Yeh, that's true :thumbsu:

DaSawx
23 Feb 2008, 12:34
Tell me about it, funnily enough I actually think he's a better commentator than Voss :eek:

He is

Ilch
18 Mar 2008, 16:15
hey guys this is probably something you have already discussed in the pre season, but i was just curious to see what essendon supporters thought of ricky dyson. having been handed the number 2 since mercuri retired would like to see if you think if hes part of the bigger picture for you going into the next few years, as i would admit im a fan of his, and partly because i used to go to school with him, and he played at my junior club.

thanks

Not a Wellman
19 Mar 2008, 12:08
hey guys this is probably something you have already discussed in the pre season, but i was just curious to see what essendon supporters thought of ricky dyson. having been handed the number 2 since mercuri retired would like to see if you think if hes part of the bigger picture for you going into the next few years, as i would admit im a fan of his, and partly because i used to go to school with him, and he played at my junior club.

thanks

I think you will find a few blokes like me that love Ricky becuase we loved Mecuri. In saying this I think he will be a very handy player this year and will be apart of our best 22 easily by years end.

hulld
19 Mar 2008, 13:26
he is apart of our best 22 easily right now. he had a great pre-season, his nab cup form was excellent and he has booked himself a spot on a wing

TheDon35
30 Mar 2008, 16:49
I don't care how many times this bloke gets the footy, out on his own hiding from a contest. If he's too scared to be able to compose himself and hit a target then he shouldn't be playing.

He turned the ball over far too many times today which directly resulted in goals. This has been a constant in his footy for ever.

Schmick
30 Mar 2008, 17:05
I don't care how many times this bloke gets the footy, out on his own hiding from a contest. If he's too scared to be able to compose himself and hit a target then he shouldn't be playing.

He turned the ball over far too many times today which directly resulted in goals. This has been a constant in his footy for ever.
I thought he was actually quite good today along with his disposal (14 effective kicks out of 18).

Better than most of the players today. BTW, how do you consider 4 ineffective kicks as "turned the ball over far too many times"?

lamaros
30 Mar 2008, 17:06

You're an idiot. Just becaus you've hated someone for a long time doesn't mean you have to keep having a go just for the sake of it. There were many who played horribly today, Dyson was not one of them. Compared to the likes of JJ and Stanton he hardly turned the ball over at all. He worked hard both ways, ran up and down the ground, and was significantly better than last week.

Look at the votes thread, many thought he was in our top 3, many even #1. Yes his kicking was dodgy at times, but everyone was horrible today, Dyson was better than average and put in the effort where some others did not.

Go take your petty dislikes out on someone who deserved them; it wasn't Dyson this week.

hulld
30 Mar 2008, 22:15
dyson was our only midfielder that gave a 4 quarter effort as far as i'm concerned

Slattery_20
30 Mar 2008, 22:42
Showed character today I thought

Bombers42
31 Mar 2008, 01:01
Yes played hard against cats but outclassed

Boris_Bewick
31 Mar 2008, 01:06
Definitely a harder mentality is showing in the way he's going about his footy this year.

jimmy5
1 Apr 2008, 15:59
Thought he was probably our second best against the Cats.. after Paddy.

I must admit I have never been a real fan of Ricky. But he seems to have really applied himself this season and as a supporter thats all i can ask.

I think the game plan suits him but still not convinced he is in our best 22. If his skills keep improving this kid may just make it yet.

Windas_Magic
1 Apr 2008, 16:19
Ricky still hasn't shown he can hurt the oppostion by foot. Theres no doubt he has improved but his kicking into the forward 50 has been well below average.

lamaros
1 Apr 2008, 16:22
Ricky still hasn't shown he can hurt the oppostion by foot. Theres no doubt he has improved but his kicking into the forward 50 has been well below average.

I would say he's just very inconsistent. He's either excellent by foot, or he's all over the place. However I think he's slowly getting closer to consistency.

I think he's had trouble in that in the past he's used his "goalkicking" style for passes, and has had to develop a new passing style, and doesn't always get the choice right in game.

donsman4eva
2 Apr 2008, 21:49
Gotta have a laugh at this thread. One week its all negative, next week it is all positive. How about giving the kid a break and evaluating his performances over the whole season like most other players, instead of as a week in week out prospect. At this stage his spot in the side is nowhere near being threatened, so lets all act that way and stop trying to find excuses why he sould be dropped, or why he is crap. At this stage he is in the team for the long haul, so lets all try and come to grips with that and support the kid.

lamaros
3 Apr 2008, 20:10
Gotta have a laugh at this thread. One week its all negative, next week it is all positive.

You mean mostly negative. I've been defending him. He's going to have a great season for us, will cement a spot. :thumbsu:

donsman4eva
4 Apr 2008, 12:52
You mean mostly negative. I've been defending him. He's going to have a great season for us, will cement a spot. :thumbsu:
Ive been defending the kid long before you even appeared on here, so dont worry, youre not the only Dyson sympathiser amongst the ranks.

Merv
4 Apr 2008, 13:29
Ive been defending the kid long before you even appeared on here, so dont worry, youre not the only Dyson sympathiser amongst the ranks.

d4 is the #1 RD ticket holder :)

kelvin_sheedy
4 Apr 2008, 13:36
If Dyson has a poor game tomorrow night I'll be seriously pissed.

I'm willing to give him one more chance this year after a goodish pre-season.

It's games like Carlton where he has to contribute. Go missing again and it's time to pack the bags.

Fingers crossed.

marcuz
4 Apr 2008, 15:19

pfft! you're both ____ing blow-ins.;)

donsman4eva
4 Apr 2008, 20:52
pfft! you're both ____ing blow-ins.;)
Maybe on here, but ive been watching Ricky play since he was in year 9. Amazing athlete, I think he may have been captain of the school swimming team. I stand to be corrected on that one though.

HFF_07
6 Apr 2008, 16:46
Was just wondering everyones thoughts on young Ricky Dyson with some injuries to other youngsters that may get a go before him, where do you think his footy is at. he is the player that the bombers need i think. someone that can break the lines with pace, pace to burn and able to kick long. he is possibly best suited to a half back role but he is just too small for this role. but he could make. just wanting everyones thoughts.

BABYBOMBERS2007
6 Apr 2008, 16:57
I think he has the ability and has improved over the pre-season and could become an important part for Essendon in their new running style.However I do beleive that he still needs to develop some more.

AndyLesPaul
6 Apr 2008, 17:20
i dunno

but it looks
like dysons
improved tonnes

Darealrath
6 Apr 2008, 17:28
Coming along nicely. Has done as well as we could have expected and IMO he will improve as the season continues.

AndyLesPaul
6 Apr 2008, 17:34
yeh..

startingg to see why knighter kept him

HFF_07
6 Apr 2008, 17:56
has all the game going for him just cant seem to get it going consistantly, where do you think he is best suited to playing. am not sure myself. i would like to see him off half back or even off a wing, has a good work ethic so can use it to full advantage,

bombersno1
6 Apr 2008, 18:12
where do you think he is best suited to playing.

Bendigo would be nice. Honestly what the heck has this bloke done to get a starting 22 gig!

donsman4eva
6 Apr 2008, 18:18
Bendigo would be nice. Honestly what the heck has this bloke done to get a starting 22 gig!Gee, I dont know, maybe dominate the Nab cup, then get 29 posessions against the reigning premiers :rolleyes:

The Dustbin
6 Apr 2008, 18:19
Was just wondering everyones thoughts on young Ricky Dyson with some injuries to other youngsters that may get a go before him, where do you think his footy is at. he is the player that the bombers need i think. someone that can break the lines with pace, pace to burn and able to kick long. he is possibly best suited to a half back role but he is just too small for this role. but he could make. just wanting everyones thoughts.

Needs to be more consistent. Last night he was just ok.

addog
6 Apr 2008, 18:27
dysons problem is consistancy, and i think he's had enough chances to prove himself. back to bendigo ricky.

bombersno1
6 Apr 2008, 18:28
Gee, I dont know, maybe dominate the Nab cup, then get 29 posessions against the reigning premiers :rolleyes:

Key word NAB Cup! Richard Tambling dominated a NAB cup game. Has done squat all in the first 3 rounds, and has done squat in his previous years. At the least he doesn't deserve a starting spot, bench I'd cope with that, as frankly he is soft as butter half the time!

kelvin_sheedy
6 Apr 2008, 18:45
Another poor game for mine.

I don't know...... I guess we got to keep playing him and hope he can come good.

Might be lucky at the moment due to the amount of injuries.

Here's hoping he can reproduce the NAB form against the Dogs.

HFF_07
6 Apr 2008, 18:55
we need to give him a job to do, i think his problem has been not knowing what his role in the side in. honestly i would love to see him playing as that wingman, penetrating kick, good pace and can seriouslyt use it. he just isnt getting into the games. What if their is something in house we dont know about, he might not be using his voice enough, team things not right. i think he has until round 10 to prove himself then if he isnt holding a regular spot then he will be out of the team and probably not on the dons list for 2009. my thoughs any ways, any one else.