View Full Version : 3. Scott Gumbleton
TheDon35
6 Dec 2007, 11:38
type in 2006 draft in the search function. the package with all the 06 draftees is still there
Thanks mate,
Sh*t that reminds me why i'm so optomistic about the clubs development over the next 5 years all look bloody impressive don't they.
How well does Houli move? I can see so much of McLeod in Jetta the way he moves, delivers and reads the play.
Add to those six Myers, Pears, Dempsey, Neagle and Daniher and there's a superstar batch coming through IMO.
the jetta highlights are my favourite too, although reimers' highlights are pretty impressive as well
If anyone could post the links it would be much appreaciated..
As I can't find them:(
TheDon35
7 Dec 2007, 05:24
If anyone could post the links it would be much appreaciated..
As I can't find them:(
Just search '2006' in the game day bomber TV section and a 2006 draftees link will appear.
Oh ok, thanks mate, I thought it was on here:o
the video is on youtube aswell
Cheers mate, how about Gumbys tackle on that poor number 10 for Vic Country.:thumbsu:
Bad news being he has done his hammy apparently.:thumbsd:
that bloke he tackled was ben ross. a rookie for the roos.
hopefully the hammy injury doesn't set him back too much. i'd guess the whole team would be going on a break anyway after the tassie trip. so he'll probably only lose a week and a bit of training
TheGeneral
10 Dec 2007, 22:40
Apparently Gumbleton is now sharing digs with Paul Bower because they're best mates from their days at Peel Thunder.
Straight swap for another WA CHF in Kennedy. ;)
That should add some spice to the Essendon Carlton games if both players make it.
Lance Uppercut
26 Dec 2007, 16:30
ok, now this is a little embarrassing, and probably showing my Gumby love a little too much; but last night I dreamed I planted a vegetable patch full of Scott Gumbletons. I mean, wtf???!! :eek: :o
Amazing Bombers
27 Dec 2007, 10:11
ok, now this is a little embarrassing, and probably showing my Gumby love a little too much; but last night I dreamed I planted a vegetable patch full of Scott Gumbletons. I mean, wtf???!! :eek: :o
Weird!
I love DELEDIO
31 Dec 2007, 09:16
Yeah I didnt rate till Is saw what he did in the Last Richmond game where he linked up with hird looked impressive what was he drafted as Midfielder or KPP
he is a centre half forward
I'll be interested to see Gumby's height next season, apparently he's up around the 200cm mark now.
Windas_Magic
5 Jan 2008, 21:07
Other than the 5 games this season, i havnt really seen a lot of him so for those who have, im interested to know:
1. What is his pace like off the mark?
2.What are his set-shots like? (accurate ,etc)
KING-JAMES
5 Jan 2008, 23:13
Other than the 5 games this season, i havnt really seen a lot of him so for those who have, im interested to know:
His actually got a bit of toe on him. Can definitely get the burst required in leading, and being so long armed and tall for a Key position player he often has the length over his opposition, making it hard to spoil.
His set shots were reasonable from when I have seen him. He can shank a few but his capable of slotting goals as well. Not scott Lucas straight but no where near a Travis Cloke standards either.
Pace is good . Kicking at goal can be a bit hit and miss. He did miss a lot of goals he should have put through for Bendigo last year.
I think a few people are jumping the gun with Gumby. He is still a year or two away from playing regular senior footy. Needs to build up his body and fine tune his preperation.
KING-JAMES
6 Jan 2008, 21:44
Pace is good . Kicking at goal can be a bit hit and miss. He did miss a lot of goals he should have put through for Bendigo last year.
I think a few people are jumping the gun with Gumby. He is still a year or two away from playing regular senior footy. Needs to build up his body and fine tune his preperation.
Possibly because of Ryder's mega improvement? I personally cant see him being a force for a little while. Some more consistency throughout games not just in bursts would be nice. I think his more a 2009-10 prospect, but keeping on developing is essential for 08. His a super talent, hopefully people don't expect to much of him to early.
TheDon35
7 Jan 2008, 07:08
Possibly because of Ryder's mega improvement? I personally cant see him being a force for a little while. Some more consistency throughout games not just in bursts would be nice. I think his more a 2009-10 prospect, but keeping on developing is essential for 08. His a super talent, hopefully people don't expect to much of him to early.
Agree he's still a couple of years off really making a mega impact although I think in the games he played last year, he showed as much as ryder did in his first year. If he can avoid injuries I think he'll be as good as ryder was last year. Still probably 3 or 4 years away from seeing his best though.
But let's not forget that, in 2006, he held down CHF for Peel Thunder all year.
His body isn't ideal at the moment, you only have to look at him, but he's a very smart footballer, very tall and, with Lloyd and Lucas around, he won't be required to have too much of a physical role.
Personally, I think he'll play fairly regularly, but I could be wrong.
aaronm46
12 Jan 2008, 16:05
any recent pics of him training?
SS_Fury
29 Jan 2008, 13:32
Hey bomber fans, just thought id let you in on a useless snippet of info, since we are all starved of footy action. I talked to gumbys mum today and i asked how scotty was, and she said his hammys are giving him grief and is is unlikely for the NAB cup. Maybe you guys know this already or not, i dont know. If so feel free to delete this thread mods :o
I keep asking when scotts coming to play for the wce and she just laughs and reminded me of mastens antics. She is actually a freo supporter, but when she goes to melbourne she said she supports the bombers. Lovely lady, gumbys a good kid too. Anyway, there ya go :p
Schmick
29 Jan 2008, 13:55
I knew he was having slight troubles with them now and again, but i didn't realise they were that bad that they'd stop him from playing in the NAB cup.
Thanks for the heads up SS_Fury.
Darealrath
29 Jan 2008, 14:03
A hell of a lot of hammy trouble for a guy so young. Hopefully the club is doing whatever it takes to get it right.
Windas_Magic
29 Jan 2008, 14:05
just give him time, he will come through
SS_Fury
29 Jan 2008, 14:05
well hopefully he comes good, but she wasnt confident...feel sorry for him, but he will be a jet anyway
thebigboy
29 Jan 2008, 14:38
Im confident in the doctors and medical staff down at the club and they'll get him right.
If they could get Hirdy right after all his different injuries, hopefully they can do the same with Gumby.
It will be a pity if this keeps him out, looking forward to watching this kid play this year.
Ryder Is God
29 Jan 2008, 15:17
Did you ask how her he feels about Victoria and Essendon?
I just hope they get him right before we really need him
SirJimi05
29 Jan 2008, 15:39
I just hope they get him right before we really need him
Surely he will be right by the first week of finals this season? :thumbsu:;)
touche SirJimi
SS_Fury
29 Jan 2008, 15:59
Did you ask how her he feels about Victoria and Essendon?
im always at her (and sometimes him) to come home to WC ;) but he always says hes happy. She says the bombers have been good to him and I dont see him coming home anytime soon. Kepler, as u all prob know, was not happy at all and never got along with the coaches (including the assistants), but thats in the past i guess. I remember gumby telling me during trade week that he was with Kep, and Kep was fuming, sending txt messages to your recruiting mob to, quote, 'just f'n trade me'. I think johns was keen to come home to WA too, not quite sure what happened there. But nah, Gumby is a diff kettle of fish, i think he will be there for a long time. I would be suprised if he wanted to be traded and if he did come home, im 99% sure it would be to freo, not the WCE.
Pumpa35
29 Jan 2008, 16:10
Gumbys only a young lad who is still growing IMO his hamstring problems are a result of too much work on growing limbs.
Once his growth slows or stops i think his issues will settle down.
Ryder Is God
29 Jan 2008, 16:33
im always at her (and sometimes him) to come home to WC ;) but he always says hes happy. She says the bombers have been good to him and I dont see him coming home anytime soon. Kepler, as u all prob know, was not happy at all and never got along with the coaches (including the assistants), but thats in the past i guess. I remember gumby telling me during trade week that he was with Kep, and Kep was fuming, sending txt messages to your recruiting mob to, quote, 'just f'n trade me'. I think johns was keen to come home to WA too, not quite sure what happened there. But nah, Gumby is a diff kettle of fish, i think he will be there for a long time. I would be suprised if he wanted to be traded and if he did come home, im 99% sure it would be to freo, not the WCE.
Good to hear Gumby is happy here.
bomba4eva
29 Jan 2008, 17:53
Disappointing news but most important if having him right for Round 1.
warney7
29 Jan 2008, 18:05
We can't be too short sighted.
We've got a guy who we want with us for the next decade.
No although you'd like to have all your players ready and raring to go, I don't see it as too much of an issue just yet.
Give him time and get him right! :)
TheDon35
30 Jan 2008, 15:21
Still in the rehab group at the moment but looking very fit and has put on a couple of kg's.
Is a bit proppy on the hammy and the coaches kept telling him not to run to chase balls during the rehab group.
Wouldn't suprise me if he had ongoing issues over a couple of years being a big bloke with a bit of a history. I've got my fingers crossed though. He's going to be a champion.
FYI, others in the fitness group are Daniher, Williams, Watson, Neagle, Bellchambers, Winderlich, Atkinson. None looked in any major strife.
Still in the rehab group at the moment but looking very fit and has put on a couple of kg's.
Is a bit proppy on the hammy and the coaches kept telling him not to run to chase balls during the rehab group.
Wouldn't suprise me if he had ongoing issues over a couple of years being a big bloke with a bit of a history. I've got my fingers crossed though. He's going to be a champion.
FYI, others in the fitness group are Daniher, Williams, Watson, Neagle, Bellchambers, Winderlich, Atkinson. None looked in any major strife.
Atkinson wasn't in the rehab group ;) Hayden Skipworth was the 8th player in the group :)
I do have my concerns about Gumby. I didn't think he would be featuring too much in our senior plans this year but the continual hammy tightness and cramps are an issue and a concern.
If you are going to be at training a bit you should come and say hello :)
Thanks SS for the goss. Getting a little worried re this hamstring talk. Bf is the only medium I get for this kind of information. Big investment in Gumby, for positional play, leadership and the timing of his emergence into the future Essendon finals campaigns. Hope that this talk is a little hyped but recurring hammies on his frame is something to worry about.
RE Kepler, shame for him he didn't work out. No doubt frustrated by sheeds and needed a new start if things are to turn around for him. But that desparation come negativity is not what the list needed so good riddance. I know I am probably taking the comments out of context but it shits me to think that some adovated for Collard in the PSD when it was evident that with Knights on board, one of the few things the club could guarantee was a new positive outlook post Sheedy. That in itself was worth the temporary pain. For Johns, I can understand his predicament a little more clearly. Trading him 2007 possibly exposed himself to less risk should 2008 not be a marked improvement. Get a two year deal and an opprtunity forward back in WA would have made sense, nonetheless in terms of human capital I am still glad he is tenured for one last dig.
The returning home thing is a perrenial one and thte luck of the draw. Speculating upon it just fills in the time. If Gumby gets his opportunties and fulfills his potential it lessens the likelihood, if not the debate comes around again. Goes easy on his mum mate.
Lance Uppercut
31 Jan 2008, 14:55
I'd be very surprised if Johns actively wanted to leave Essendon. Given the way they've stuck fat with him, I would have thought he'd have unfinished business in repaying the club.
Then again, maybe he was concerned given his biggest supporter had just been sacked, so anything's possible
Johns is not a West Australian ...His father was posted to WA by the army when we rookied him. He has lived all over the place. I don't even know if his folks are still in WA.
bomber69
19 Mar 2008, 21:08
who knows what the deal is with scotts hamstrings?
is he close to recovery yet, i mean it was said that it was only for 4 weeks and that was about 4 weeks ago.
anyone got any updates on this to share
who knows what the deal is with scotts hamstrings?
is he close to recovery yet, i mean it was said that it was only for 4 weeks and that was about 4 weeks ago.
anyone got any updates on this to share
He is mentioned on Bomber.tv in the latest interviews.
bomber69
20 Mar 2008, 00:24
oh sweet thanks,
should be right for round 2/3 of bendigo and will slowly work back to AFL. knighter said he will acctually play a fair amount of senior football this season.
main problem withthe hammy is that he is still growing - got him at 196 and he hasnow almost hit the 200cm mark
TheDon35
20 Mar 2008, 06:28
He is a beast... Could be anything for us.
wouldn't mind if we didn't see him until round 6 or 7 if it meant we get to have him for the rest of the year.
bomber69
31 Mar 2008, 23:30
Anyone know how much longer it is?
Essendon website has 2 and 1 week in the same article lol.
Bit confused..
bomba4eva
1 Apr 2008, 01:21
Round 1 NAB Cup was about 6 weeks back. Now we are hearing it will be another month. That is 10 weeks to get his injury right. Hamstrings generally take 3-5 weeks. This must have been one hell of a tear as it is taking plenty of time. Conservative approach is the way to go as the kid has had too many tears, but I am quietly confident once he stops growing that he will be fine. Not too concerned that it could be a recurring thing after he stops growing. Hope he gets back soon.
Jobe 1 Kinobe
1 Apr 2008, 11:23
Where did you get another month from. knights said he was 4 weeks away from playing AFL but i think he is saying one more week off footy altogether and then two games in the magoo's and then back in the ones
bombersmad75
3 Apr 2008, 09:11
Hi guys just wondering if anyone can tell me how far off playing is Gumby with Scotty out this would be a great chance for the kid to show us his stuff.:thumbsu:
not sure if he is ready yet
bombersno1
3 Apr 2008, 10:17
He is fit but they are taking a conservative approach. I'd say 2 weeks from playing a game in the VFL, 2 more after that for the AFL.
bomberz08
3 Apr 2008, 13:51
Just remember that not many of us rated Paddy Ryder last year . Now look at him, he is developing beautifully.
who didnt rate paddy?:mad:
Boris_Bewick
3 Apr 2008, 14:01
who didnt rate paddy?:mad:
Paddy started to hit his straps last year, but the two years before he did cop a fair bit of criticism. Not deserved, just the Bigfooty type of criticism you get for not dominating the comp in your first two or three years.
Lance Uppercut
3 Apr 2008, 14:26
Paddy started to hit his straps last year, but the two years before he did cop a fair bit of criticism. Not deserved, just the Bigfooty type of criticism you get for not dominating the comp in your first two or three years.
he was drafted in 2005, so last year was his 2nd season. I'm not sure he was copping to much crap in his last junior year, unless that's why he slipped to 7 ;)
He is fit but they are taking a conservative approach. I'd say 2 weeks from playing a game in the VFL, 2 more after that for the AFL.
From what I've heard, he's a strong chance to play VFL next week.
bomber69
3 Apr 2008, 22:13
From what I've heard, he's a strong chance to play VFL next week.
Wasnt named in the side so i dont think he will be:(
This is this week, next week is next week.
Regardless, if he is to play next week, a big role wouldn't be expected and that leans me to think Knights may just offer him another week's rest.
bomber69
4 Apr 2008, 13:45
This is this week, next week is next week.
Regardless, if he is to play next week, a big role wouldn't be expected and that leans me to think Knights may just offer him another week's rest.
My bad, misread;)
bomber69
9 Apr 2008, 21:35
Hmmm i hope he's enjoying his time with Essendon.. It would be preety hard moving inter-state at just 18 and not having your family with you.. I just want him to stay with us and not want to move back to his home-state as he will be a key player to our future team. Im only saying this because I heard hecomes out of contract at the end of the year.
Kevin Walsh Mo
9 Apr 2008, 22:27
Hi guys just wondering if anyone can tell me how far off playing is Gumby with Scotty out this would be a great chance for the kid to show us his stuff.:thumbsu:
Still 2 weeks away according to the club site. You'd expect him to play at least a couple of games for Bendigo before resuming for Essendon so he's at least a month away realistically.
lamaros
17 Apr 2008, 19:42
"Scott Gumbleton could resume for Bendigo next weekend."
From the club site:
Andrew Welsh will return from his injury this weekend and Scott Gumbleton could resume for Bendigo next weekend. Courtenay Dempsey (two weeks), Leroy Jetta (two weeks), Mark McVeigh (four weeks) and Sam Lonergan (three weeks) are all working through their rehabilitation programs.
Hope he is ready to go next weekend. The game is at Sandy, 5mins from my house.
bomber69
18 Apr 2008, 16:13
Gumbleton participated in a full training last Tuesday the 15th.
Knights has said he is no longer injured but ehy are just taking a conservative approach on how to manage him.
The Dustbin
19 Apr 2008, 03:08
The sooner Gumby plays the better. Hopefully he can get some games in before Scotty returns.
We need him to straighten us up a little more
I read someone he may be playing for Bendigo this week. That's good news. :thumbsu:
We're crying out for a CHF at the moment.
Hopefully he can get himself right in the next few weeks.
Windas_Magic
20 Apr 2008, 22:25
looks like Knighter isn't taking any risks with him, mentioned he will be 2-3 weeks away from playing (hopefully he's talking about AFL footy and not for Bendigo)
you'd think he'll play at least 2 games with bendigo
Scott Gumbleton
Hamstring 1 week
Scott is recovering well from a hamstring injury.
nicko99
22 Apr 2008, 14:18
i was at aberfeldie athletics track this morning at 8.30, i seen gumby doing 100m sprints down the straight, in his essendon training kit. He was there til around 9.00, not sure what time he got there.
isnt he out injured with his hammy still??
how far away is he from a return
Vulture_72
22 Apr 2008, 14:21
i was at aberfeldie athletics track this morning at 8.30, i seen gumby doing 100m sprints down the straight, in his essendon training kit. He was there til around 9.00, not sure what time he got there.
isnt he out injured with his hammy still??
how far away is he from a return
The hamstring has recovered but they want to strengthen his hamstring muscles before he makes a return to try and reduce the risk of further problems.
Windas_Magic
28 Apr 2008, 20:23
Had a look over at the WCE board and found that some posters that 'supposedly' know Gumby's family say he has always wanted to return to WA. Probably just rumours but you never know, especially when he hasn't been able to get on the park
EDIT: Some posts from the thread:
Yeah Simon, who is playing some good footy.
I know for a fact that Scott Gumbleton is deesperate to get home. Didnt like the idea of heading to melbourne in the first place and it still doesnt sit well with him.
Then some guy asked how he knew and:
His dad. His old man used to own a TAB in Bicton and I worked across the road, played with Scotty in juniors and still talk to him when he comes over.
His old man travels to melbourne for 6 months at a time and then swaps with his wife just so someone is with him.
Actually hates living in Victoria.
I then asked about it and a different poster said this:
Read through the thread.
Im also pretty familiar with the family and know that he will jump at a chance to get home.
didn't we hear all this last year
I can tell you now because of who those 2 posters are that it is BS.
Gumby also is not by himself at all and is sharing a house with Bower from carlton.
Don't get sucked in by the BS rumours on BF and if you have any concerns, PM me and i will check out the validity of those starting the rumours.
EDIT: 1 of those posters of the rumour is now booted from BF for having multiple accounts.
Take the rumours as being BS.
MickyCrow
29 Apr 2008, 00:37
Fingers crossed he gets over his hammy problems and shows us the player he can be:thumbsu:
Windas_Magic
29 Apr 2008, 17:56
Gumby also is not by himself at all and is sharing a house with Bower from carlton.
Don't get sucked in by the BS rumours on BF and if you have any concerns, PM me and i will check out the validity of those starting the rumours.
EDIT: 1 of those posters of the rumour is now booted from BF for having multiple accounts.
Yeah, i guess thats lesson number 1. Thanks a lot for your help Merv:thumbsu:
bomber69
29 Apr 2008, 18:24
And now for some good news,
GUMBLETON IS OFF THE INJURY LIST!
halleljua!!
Windas_Magic
29 Apr 2008, 18:27
And now for some good news,
GUMBLETON IS OFF THE INJURY LIST!
halleljua!!
But Dempsey could miss 8 weeks, sort of evens it up
and the week he is off the injury list bendigo don't have a game. just our luck
MarkJohnson#1
30 Apr 2008, 01:45
Wonder if he'll be ready before Lucas gets back, and/or if he'll get a game with Lucas and Lloyd playing. Guess it will boil down to form in the VFL for starters, but very eager to see him in the seniors sometime this year.
Spot on:thumbsu: Lives next door to my mate. (And yes we have lots of parties :p No we don't think of inviting him to get drunk ;))
The Dustbin
30 Apr 2008, 14:26
Must be ready to resume in Bendigo's next game. Hopefully he can make an impact in the 2nd half of the season.
go_the_bombers
30 Apr 2008, 14:30
Cant wait to see Gumby back in action :) :thumbsu:
Could Gumby play for the Bendigo reserves? I'm not saying he should just thinking the club might wanna ease him back that way or hold him back another week!
they don't have a game this week either
Windas_Magic
1 May 2008, 18:07
WTF! Another injury:
Injury set-back for Gumbleton
http://essendonfc.com.au/images/spacer.gif Thursday, 1 May 2008
for essendonfc.com.au
Page 1 of 1
Essendon key position prospect, Scott Gumbleton, will miss the next three to four weeks after straining a medial ligament in his left knee during a training drill this afternoon.
Team Manager, David Calthorpe, said the 20-year-old was injured during a regulation drill that involved tackling.
"This is one of those unfortunate incidents that can occur where he was tackled and, unfortunately, strained his left knee," Calthorpe said.
"We are optimistic he will only miss three to four weeks and then make a return to footy.
“He will have scans on Monday to confirm our early diagnosis and make sure there is no other damage.
"The sad thing for Scott is that he had been training strongly following a hamstring injury in the NAB Cup and would have resumed this weekend if the Bendigo Bombers didn’t have a bye.”
http://essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=5749
go_the_bombers
1 May 2008, 18:10
WTF! Another injury:
Injury set-back for Gumbleton
http://essendonfc.com.au/images/spacer.gif Thursday, 1 May 2008
for essendonfc.com.au
Page 1 of 1
Essendon key position prospect, Scott Gumbleton, will miss the next three to four weeks after straining a medial ligament in his left knee during a training drill this afternoon.
Team Manager, David Calthorpe, said the 20-year-old was injured during a regulation drill that involved tackling.
"This is one of those unfortunate incidents that can occur where he was tackled and, unfortunately, strained his left knee," Calthorpe said.
"We are optimistic he will only miss three to four weeks and then make a return to footy.
“He will have scans on Monday to confirm our early diagnosis and make sure there is no other damage.
"The sad thing for Scott is that he had been training strongly following a hamstring injury in the NAB Cup and would have resumed this weekend if the Bendigo Bombers didn’t have a bye.”
http://essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=5749
Lets hope with all these injurys Gumbys been getting he doesnt think about going home!
Poor Kid :(
The Dustbin
4 May 2008, 23:14
This is what hurts the most. How handy would've Gumby been tonght. Very very frustrating.
:(
WindyHillWatcher
12 May 2008, 12:06
I've given up hope that this guy will ever string more than a handful of games together
Johnnyprinias
12 May 2008, 12:20
I've given up hope that this guy will ever string more than a handful of games together
Maybe when he stops growing and his body matures he will string some games together.
WindyHillWatcher
12 May 2008, 12:39
that will always be the dream
Johnnyprinias
12 May 2008, 12:46
True windy hill, thats the only thing we can right now
Pawtucket Patriot
16 May 2008, 20:49
In the latest edition of the "Bomber Magazine" Gumby is asked, in the section "Mad Minute," if he ran a factory what would it produce. His answer: "Hamstrings." It's good to see the young bloke can stay positive when he has had such bad luck with his hammys.
windyhill
17 May 2008, 11:22
New contract, nice one Gumby.
Ben the Gooner
19 May 2008, 22:42
In the latest edition of the "Bomber Magazine" Gumby is asked, in the section "Mad Minute," if he ran a factory what would it produce. His answer: "Hamstrings." It's good to see the young bloke can stay positive when he has had such bad luck with his hammys.
I took that as something that's really sad. A kid in his second year, highly touted, and in a 1 minute interview, he mentions his hamstring injuries twice.
bomber69
20 May 2008, 20:54
I took that as something that's really sad. A kid in his second year, highly touted, and in a 1 minute interview, he mentions his hamstring injuries twice.
At least hes making light of it
bomberstomake8
21 May 2008, 10:38
jeez this kid is promising according to an interveiw with knights on sen he is almost 200cm now and run princess park in a tick over 11 minutes, apparently chris judd did it in 10 minutes 30 seconds.
WindyHillWatcher
21 May 2008, 14:50
jeez this kid is promising according to an interveiw with knights on sen he is almost 200cm now and run princess park in a tick over 11 minutes, apparently chris judd did it in 10 minutes 30 seconds.
That is good, much needed player to our team. can't wait to see him out there again.
Ben the Gooner
21 May 2008, 19:40
At least hes making light of it
The sense I got from it is that it's really playing on his mind a lot.
I hope that's not the case.
It sounds like he loves Melbourne and loves his footy, so that's good at least.
How away from playing is he?