DaSawx
14 Jul 2007, 17:13
Can and should hopefully turn it around

retroparty
16 Jul 2007, 15:14
Trade Bait

Jono B
16 Jul 2007, 15:19
I thought it was by far his best game for the season on Saturday. It will be interesting to see where he ends up. Pocket or midfield? Possibly he could swap with Jobe between the pocket and centre square.

Styles
16 Jul 2007, 15:39
I can't help but like him.

He's known as "little lloydy" to me and my mates, I've always thought he's shown heart and a desire to help his teammates out. I have seen several occasions where he has put his body on the line for a sheppard that has resulted in a goal.

Also I think he's a good shot a goal, nice action, and good general goal sense. IMO he and Davey will be our crumbing forwards of the future.

hulld
16 Jul 2007, 18:41
the question remains, can he cut it as a midfielder? or will he be like colin sylvia and just be a handy forward pocket?

DaSawx
16 Jul 2007, 19:06
I wouldn't mind if he was just 'handy'.

If he changed between forward and midfield a lot and stayed consistsent, worth keeping imo.

Pawtucket Patriot
16 Jul 2007, 19:28
I reckon he will develop into a very handy forward pocket. I don't think he has the tank or a big enough body to cut it in the midfield.

DonMania#5
16 Jul 2007, 19:33
Will turn it around for sure. Has the potential to be a great player and future cpatain.

danielcanberra
16 Jul 2007, 19:53
Future captain.

He may not be showing as much as supporters would like, but I think he has the same intensity as Jimmy.

Jono B
16 Jul 2007, 20:03
He would have to become better and play more in the midfield to be captain. Forward pocket is not the position of leadership IMO.

bombersno1
16 Jul 2007, 20:18
Good player, worth persisting with. Players mature at different ages. I think he'll do better next year as he'll get more time in the midfield. Needs to bulk up a bit.

GmeUP
17 Jul 2007, 10:24
Angus is a potentially dominant small forward but has defintely lacked in his midfield runs. Already has the class to make it as a very good footballer in the big league just a matter of wether he can take it to another level and become great.

Bombs Away
17 Jul 2007, 13:25
I thought this year would be his break out season but he has been stagnant with his development. Going back to bendigo and getting heaps of the ball appears to have helped him, would like to see him rotate through the midfield more often.

kelvin_sheedy
17 Jul 2007, 16:11
I have a query about Angus.

Not sure if has the nous and smarts to be a pure midfielder.

Plays like a quick flanker with courage but doesn't have pace.

He should learn how to side step and open up the play.

Lenny Hayes should be his blueprint.

danielcanberra
30 Jul 2007, 12:26
Oh Gussy, you could have taken that easy shot for goal where you were standing!

I was surprised to see him being twice manned up at times by the Crows who kept on sledging him.

I wanted to run on to the field and deck them.

Now I understand that Gussy needs a bit more mongrel in him. Oh, and some boxing lessons.

Darealrath
30 Jul 2007, 12:30
I have a query about Angus.

Not sure if has the nous and smarts to be a pure midfielder.

Plays like a quick flanker with courage but doesn't have pace.

He should learn how to side step and open up the play.

Lenny Hayes should be his blueprint.

Or Mark Mercuri. I wish.

Did a few good things in the last quarter. Would still like to see him get a run on the ball.

~RFM~
31 Jul 2007, 15:22
Personally I'm a fan. I think he has loads of potential.

hulld
31 Jul 2007, 16:22
how long can we say that for though???

Tambu
1 Aug 2007, 14:05
how long can we say that for though???
He's only a year older than Hislop, Houli and Jetta.

hulld
1 Aug 2007, 18:53
that is misleading though. i

t is just disappointing not to see him deliver after he apparantly had a great pre-season and his nab cup game was outstanding

KING-JAMES
1 Aug 2007, 18:57
A lot of player's struggle at first to make the the initial move from the pocket/flank to the midfield, Angus is one of these. He realises he needs to add more burst speed to his play and by his attitude you would think he will improve that again over summer. He has normally very reliable skills and makes good decisions. Be patient, players dont lose their ability over night.

Darealrath
18 Aug 2007, 19:33
What a 3rd quarter.

kelvin_sheedy
18 Aug 2007, 20:24
Looked a lot better the last 2 weeks and has got a bit of the footy.

Career high disposals today.

I had him for trade bait a week or so ago. A couple of more performances like this against better opposition and I might reconsider.

hulld
19 Aug 2007, 10:16
Looked a lot better the last 2 weeks and has got a bit of the footy.

Career high disposals today.

I had him for trade bait a week or so ago. A couple of more performances like this against better opposition and I might reconsider.

finally showing some consistency

warney7
28 Aug 2007, 22:51
Games against Fremantle and Carlton have reminded me of why I was so excited about his potential.

He'll be all right......just needs to find his position, which appears to be more a midfield role than a small forward!

Darealrath
2 Sep 2007, 09:50
Another pretty good game yesterday. Needs to build on this for next year.

Guss06
17 Oct 2007, 10:39
were to start what a gun. great future are the ckub and will be a great leader of the club

Ryder Is God
17 Oct 2007, 11:46
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=348168

Big John
9 Nov 2007, 21:09
Been impressed with his early fitness results. I really hope he moves into a full time midfield role next year. I think there are others that can play his role up forward and it would be nice to have a little bit of class in the middle of the ground for once.

lets_fly_up
10 Nov 2007, 12:35
he went down hill this year but between rds 20-22 he showed he has the ability to be an A grade Midfielder

Here_we_come
16 Nov 2007, 17:28
Been impressed with his early fitness results. I really hope he moves into a full time midfield role next year. I think there are others that can play his role up forward and it would be nice to have a little bit of class in the middle of the ground for once.

I agree. we definately need a bit more class in the midfield if we are to improve in the next few years. I think Angus will fill that role nicely. He's a gun and a great future leader!

Windas_Magic
29 Dec 2007, 19:15
http://essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=5532

Monfries' Summer Scoreboard

Saturday, 29 December 2007
What do you want for Christmas?
A Playstation 3

What is the worst Christmas present you have been given?
A jar of pickles

Where do you usually spend Christmas day?
At home with my family

What are your plans for your time off over Christmas and New Year?
Go back home to Adelaide

What is your best cricket memory?
Warnie’s hat-trick in England

Who is your favourite cricket player?
Shane Warne

What is the best thing about Melbourne in the summer time?
The beach at Port Melbourne

What are the three crucial items to a successful bbq?
Meat, sauce and drinks

Who is going to win the female draw of the Australian open?
Maria Sharapova

Who is your favourite male tennis player?
The Scud

Pool or beach?
Both

Song that reminds you most of summer?
Wish you well – Bernard Fanning

Schmick
24 Jan 2008, 21:23
One of the players im most looking forward to see playing in 08.
He's bulked up, fitness has improved and will be given more opportunities in the midfield which means he should be in for a big year in 08. Can't wait till the NAB cup match against the Lions so we can see Gus tear em up, im so sick of waiting for the footy to start.

Slattery_20
29 Jan 2008, 06:37
Needs to repay the faith
I'm confident he will

XIsDonIsGoodX
29 Jan 2008, 06:44
One of the players im most looking forward to see playing in 08.
He's bulked up, fitness has improved and will be given more opportunities in the midfield which means he should be in for a big year in 08. Can't wait till the NAB cup match against the Lions so we can see Gus tear em up, im so sick of waiting for the footy to start.

Couldn't have put it better myself :D:thumbsu:

Longy413
29 Jan 2008, 07:47
Needs to repay the faith
I'm confident he will

That seems a strange comment.

He had a down patch for a big chunk of 2007, he became selfish and was running to the wrong areas.

But I thought he finished the season strongly and even showed a fair bit playing through the midfield.

Given the rapid speed of development in his early days, I don't think we've shown any more faith in him than he has earnt.

Windas_Magic
29 Jan 2008, 09:08
The fact is, Monfries is still only 21 and imo has done extremely well in a struggling team in the past 3 or so years. He's played as a FP which isnt an easy position to stand out much and although he did have an up and down season, im confident he'll be back to full strength this year.

thebigboy
29 Jan 2008, 14:21
He hasn't really had a full pre-season yet because of his shoulder problems. Give him a good fitness base to work from as well as a bit of strength and he'll be sweet next year.

The only thing we have to worry about with Gus is that he may get homesick.

Schmick
29 Jan 2008, 14:46
He hasn't really had a full pre-season yet because of his shoulder problems. Give him a good fitness base to work from as well as a bit of strength and he'll be sweet next year.

The only thing we have to worry about with Gus is that he may get homesick.
He's been with us for 3-4 years now and seems pretty happy here so i can't see that being much of a problem.

dazza wyatt
30 Jan 2008, 21:02
is he a good selection for dream team? will he get alot more time in the midfield this year?

cheers

XIsDonIsGoodX
31 Jan 2008, 06:35
Yes and yes (maybe not a lot more but definitely more).

Schmick
31 Jan 2008, 08:05
Watch the NAB cup and most of what you need to know will come from there for Dream Team, but id say he'll go very well yes.

Merv
22 Feb 2008, 07:30
http://www.realfooty.com.au/ffximage/2008/02/21/svMONFRIES.jpg

Monfries stakes his claim for a midfield role

Rohan Connolly | February 22, 2008

AFTER three years and 53 games with Essendon, Angus Monfries has already served a fair sort of apprenticeship. Now, entering his fourth season, another is beginning.
The 21-year-old is one of several Bombers hoping to feature in a new-look midfield set-up under new coach Matthew Knights. And the NAB Cup provides the chance to learn on the job.
Last Saturday night, that involved a match-up with an All-Australian in gun Brisbane Lions midfielder Luke Power. It wasn't a tagging job as such, but a chance to go head-to-head with one of the best in the caper.
"It's learning off some of the better players about how they go about playing through the midfield," Monfries said yesterday. "What I'm trying to do this year is step up into that midfield role and get out of half-forward, and by playing on some of the better guys there you just learn where they run and how they get ball.

"Luke's smart about it, how he sets up around the stoppages, and about how he uses the ball and gets it in damaging spots around the ground. That's something I want to do as well."
And lesson No. 2 comes tonight, opposed to one of the Western Bulldogs' prolific and experienced engine-room ball-winners.
Monfries' development has been steady rather than spectacular since he was drafted at No. 14 in 2004, not always aided by having to spend the bulk of his time as a small forward, where supply can be erratic.
"It can be a hard role to play, relying on the ball to hit the ground to get a kick, and then you lead up and you've got Scott Lucas and Matthew Lloyd there, so you can sort of get overlooked a bit. As long as I get a game, I'm happy to play anywhere, but I'm really looking forward to getting an opportunity in midfield and seeing how I go with that," Monfries said.
"You've got to do your apprenticeship somewhere, and I'm hoping I've done that now and that I'm ready to move into midfield and be a permanent part of it for the rest of my career. I've done my time, and I'm ready to move in there and make an impact on games."

Like a legion of younger Essendon players upon whom more responsibility will be thrust in 2008, Monfries is relishing a new coaching regime, and a markedly different pre-season to previous years.
"I think we've had a lot more emphasis on skill," he said. "This year, our running has been put into our skill work a lot more. I think it was shown last Saturday night that we're running hard and everyone's looking really fit, but we're also hitting the body as well. I think we turned it over a bit too much last year, and 'Knighter' has really worked hard on that."

Let's hope he can earn and hold down a midfield role this year.

We need him to.

GoldenboyHird_5
29 Feb 2008, 21:37
What happens to this player?

Is he good enough or will he just be one that passes us by like so many others...

So high expectations...
So bad performance...

DonMania#5
29 Feb 2008, 21:40
Geez, one average game and everyone is calling for his head. Give him time, he will a gun.

SirJimi05
He is progressing just fine thanks.

Will be a very good player for the club.

Why did you start this thread?

FullFathom5
He was unlucky with that last call because no-one else wanted the ball.

On the whole, I think he's probably a little "lost". Life as a small forward does that to you. He probably needs a confidence boost and then judgment will be passed.

He is good enough if only he could trust himself.

biglaycock
29 Feb 2008, 21:41
Must admit was a little disappointed in some of his decisions are skill errors tonight, that said i still think he will become a very good player for the club.

angus6
29 Feb 2008, 21:43
Geez, one average game and everyone is calling for his head. How about his two other games?
Exactly. the bloke is still young. is having his first season playing on the ball.

the thing people dont realise is he has always played seniors and in the forward line. he was not given a chance to do his "apprenticeship" playing on the ball for bendigo for two seasons.

His first two games were great. Will develop into a good solid midfielder and is a player we need to build the midfield around with also stanton and watson :thumbsu:

bloods01
29 Feb 2008, 21:44
He had 6 clangers tonight to go with his 6 last week. He a very inconstant player. Yes he is young but the time has come for him to stand up and become that player everyone keeps talking about.

hulld
29 Feb 2008, 21:50
his first two games were not great. he was beaten by his opponent in both games. i'm not fussed about the last minute free kick against him, the rest of his game was hopeless. he doesn't concentrate, turns the ball over too much and just doesn't have an impact on the game. we lost this game because he turned the ball over at the end of the 3rd quarter when he wasn't under pressure and they ended up getting a supergoal

DaSawx
1 Mar 2008, 08:47
Start him at Bendigo and make him earn his way back in

hulld
1 Mar 2008, 13:17
that should be what happens. hocking, dyson and basher all deserve a spot before gus

WindyHillWatcher
2 Mar 2008, 17:48
i dont know why... but i just find it really hard to like this guy. dont get me wrong, I WANT to like him as an essendon player and all... but i just feel unphased whenever he gets the ball. anyone else feel the same?

Slattery_20
2 Mar 2008, 20:39
Start him at Bendigo and make him earn his way back in
Best post yet

p3zd1sp3nx0r
2 Mar 2008, 20:46
Best post yet

+1 :thumbsu:

I like gus too!

Ryder Is God
2 Mar 2008, 20:50
i dont know why... but i just find it really hard to like this guy. dont get me wrong, I WANT to like him as an essendon player and all... but i just feel unphased whenever he gets the ball. anyone else feel the same?

I can't say I don't like him, I just don't get the hype about him.

saladin
5 Mar 2008, 06:58
his first two games were not great. he was beaten by his opponent in both games. i'm not fussed about the last minute free kick against him, the rest of his game was hopeless. he doesn't concentrate, turns the ball over too much and just doesn't have an impact on the game. we lost this game because he turned the ball over at the end of the 4th quarter when he wasn't under pressure and they ended up getting a supergoal

it seems he is not the only one who can't concentrate.

hulld
5 Mar 2008, 09:40
you know what i meant. that kick in the 3rd quarter was hopeless

IhateMondays
16 Mar 2008, 17:27
Dunno what everyone else thinks, but I reckon he could be a Mark Williams from Hawthorn. Great pair of hands on him and is quick on the lead

hulld
16 Mar 2008, 17:50
he's nowhere near as quick as williams

Roy boys
22 Mar 2008, 23:40
Is it a surprise to see him out of the team ?

Roy boys
22 Mar 2008, 23:41
Monfries sorry

GuzzLG
22 Mar 2008, 23:55
Not a shock or anything. Lots of people had him on the bench or as an emergency when putting together their best 22.

Roy boys
23 Mar 2008, 00:06
Not a shock or anything. Lots of people had him on the bench or as an emergency when putting together their best 22.
Ok cheers, is he still rated highly or is it a little worrying that he hasn't kicked on more.

GuzzLG
23 Mar 2008, 00:16
Ok cheers, is he still rated highly or is it a little worrying that he hasn't kicked on more.
Should still get 15+ games this season, but he really does need to start performing consistently in order to earn his spot in the side, rather than just being there on potential.

It will be a little worrying if he is not noticeably better by the end of this year.

hulld
23 Mar 2008, 02:41
it's what he deserves after his nab cup performances

ant555
23 Mar 2008, 07:03

I think it is actually a little worrying that he has not done more. Last year was pretty much a nothing year for him given the promice he showed.
He was reasonable during the pre season but did nothing really outstanding.

The Dustbin
23 Mar 2008, 08:00
I think it is good. It shows he has to 'earn' his spot under Knights. Looks like Knights will settle on Davey and Jetta for the small crumbing forwards.

Maybe Gus can rotate through there and off the bench.

GoDons
23 Mar 2008, 10:12
He just doesn't seem ready to join the midfield rotation, whilst he just isn't a good enough option up forward.

He needs to start taking the game on more, rather than just being a link man.

Hopefully that starts from now, with this being a bit of a wake up call.

kelvin_sheedy
23 Mar 2008, 10:31
Needs to play full games in the centre for Bendigo and rack up 30 possession games.

Should have been doing that the past few years but has played way too many games as a forward at AFL level.

Currently in between positions as he's not a pure midfielder or a crumbing forward.

He better get better quicker as players like Houli and Dyson have gone past him, Hocking, Hislop are coming.

Winderlich, Welsh and Lovett are pretty much automatic inclusions when fit so he might find it hard to get a game.

bluesforever
30 Mar 2008, 22:56
Where is this bloke, any chance he will be in against Carlton? I think he gives alot and can be a Marc Murphy type for you guys... what's happened to him?

efcboy
30 Mar 2008, 23:04
Where is this bloke, any chance he will be in against Carlton? I think he gives alot and can be a Marc Murphy type for you guys... what's happened to him?

needs to work harder - doing his time in vfl

windyhill
19 Apr 2008, 00:28
X-roads.

Schmick
19 Apr 2008, 19:13
Disapointed with his season so far, was hoping he'd step up and take a position in the midfield. I don't see any point playing him up forward in the seniors, he should be playing midfield in the VFL until he starts getting the hang of things in there and has a few BOG performances, don't understand why Knights hasn't been doing this.

GoDons
20 Apr 2008, 12:28
Disapointed with his season so far, was hoping he'd step up and take a position in the midfield. I don't see any point playing him up forward in the seniors, he should be playing midfield in the VFL until he starts getting the hang of things in there and has a few BOG performances, don't understand why Knights hasn't been doing this.

I don't think Angus has been playing up forward in the seniors because Knights necessarily wants him there, it's due to a severe lack of options.

At the end of the day we don't have a heap of guys who are best suited to the goalsneak position, and Knights clearly feels that Angus is more suited to the role than others, and isn't going to give us so much from the midfield that we're going to miss him there.

When Jetta returns we might see him play more as a midfielder, and quite possibly as a midfielder in the VFL.

hulld
20 Apr 2008, 21:03
there is no way gus will get a game once spike, DC, leroy and co come back

hulld
25 Apr 2008, 18:09
hopefully there's no way he gets a game again all year

Schmick
4 May 2008, 22:50
Thought Monfries did ok tonight, i thought his disposal was alright most of the time tonight except towards the end, will need to work on his decision making though as it does let him down quite often. Good to see him play a decent game in the midfield and hopefully he'll continue do well in there if he's given the opportunities.

hulld
5 May 2008, 10:59
meaningless possessions. hopefully he gets dropped when a few of the injured guys come back for the sydney game

Slattery_20
5 May 2008, 19:29
Needs to keep his feet & stop f*cking playing for frees

Crumpler83
6 May 2008, 17:32
Always liked Gus but he hasn't really delivered on his potential for us.

Unless he really kicks on from here I'd hang him out there as trade bait at the end of this season...maybe the Crows or Power might be interested in bringing him back home.

rule of four
24 May 2008, 23:21
At least he is finding the ball these days, being our second highest possession getter tonight. Uses the ball just ok, but is definitely improving week by week. Great goal from the boundary line when game was all but lost, but as soon as the pressure was on couldn't convert from 20m.

I think he is definitely a player to persist with, shows 20x more than players like slattery who just do nothing but give away free kicks.

Definitely worth keeping for another few years

TheDon35
25 May 2008, 17:47
For a bloke as maligned as he is. I think comparatively, he's contributed reasonably well over the last couple of weeks. Not our biggest problem at all.

daffo
28 May 2008, 13:43
At least he is finding the ball these days, being our second highest possession getter tonight. Uses the ball just ok, but is definitely improving week by week. Great goal from the boundary line when game was all but lost, but as soon as the pressure was on couldn't convert from 20m.

I think he is definitely a player to persist with, shows 20x more than players like slattery who just do nothing but give away free kicks.

Definitely worth keeping for another few years

I agree, he is getting better from last year. Back in 2006 when he played 21 games and kicked 22 goals i was foaming at the mouth. Hopefully he will continue to get better.
Remember Stanton couldn't kick under pressure a year or so ago but he has improved in that aspect, hopefully Angus can do the same.

I've been reading a lot of players threads and i have a questions to all the bombers fans, do you like any of our players??

rule of four
28 May 2008, 23:16
I agree, he is getting better from last year. Back in 2006 when he played 21 games and kicked 22 goals i was foaming at the mouth. Hopefully he will continue to get better.
Remember Stanton couldn't kick under pressure a year or so ago but he has improved in that aspect, hopefully Angus can do the same.

I've been reading a lot of players threads and i have a questions to all the bombers fans, do you like any of our players??

He's actually, for one reason or another, my favourite player. Loved the way he went in so hard early in his career, especially given his size. Just doesn't pay to be unrealistic. No point comparing him to Chris Judd or Gary Ablett when he hasn't reached that level (yet):D

dannyboiii
30 May 2008, 15:12
i was looking around the afl site and found this:
* In the past three weeks, Angus Monfries ranks No.1 at the club in disposals, handballs, contested possessions, uncontested possessions and handball-receives.
Yet people still bag him. i guess he just has to be more damaging with the ball now that he is beginning to find it. Oh and he's gotta learn not to spray the ball. He'll fix this problem up, surely.

bombersno1
30 May 2008, 15:24
As I said give him time. He looks like he has found his position- MIDFIELDER. Amazing what happens when you play people where they should be!

hulld
30 May 2008, 18:07
his form has vastly improved from the beginning of the season. in saying that he would probably be ranked number one in clangers for us over the past few weeks and his efficiency wouldn't be that high.

encouraging signs though

Santoz
30 May 2008, 23:34
Even though he does make a few clangers I can forgive him. He has a red hot crack :thumbsu:

Windas_Magic
30 May 2008, 23:47
very good tonight, best game of the year

WindyHillWatcher
31 May 2008, 11:29
I have an apology to make. Gus mate, I've been hard on you for a while now, but you have proven me wrong in the last 5 weeks by playing quality football and having a real crack at it. It's really good to see. Keep up the good work.

jdwood
8 Jun 2008, 12:02
I haven't seen last nights game yet, but from what I understand, he did a defensive job on Birchall?

If so, that's two weeks he's rendered the op's most dangerous half-back ineffectual... Has Gus finally found a niche? As a defensive half-forward?

Slattery_20
8 Jun 2008, 16:22
Had a serious crack, we really need his competitive streak & (comparatively) good head under pressure

Pawtucket Patriot
8 Jun 2008, 16:41
I haven't seen last nights game yet, but from what I understand, he did a defensive job on Birchall?

If so, that's two weeks he's rendered the op's most dangerous half-back ineffectual... Has Gus finally found a niche? As a defensive half-forward?

He was very good and I think you might be spot on in terms of him playing as a defensive forward, particularly as teams get so much run from half back these days.

Guss06
16 Jul 2008, 22:00
As far as i know angus monfries is out of contract at the end of the year, he has played great football over the last 6 weeks does anyone know anything about wheather or not he is in contract negotiations.

Merv
16 Jul 2008, 22:51
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=457183

daffo
17 Jul 2008, 08:57
You think he will be given a chance to go through the midfield this week with McVeigh out? They were talking about that at that start of the year (and start of last year)

Windas_Magic
17 Jul 2008, 18:40
You think he will be given a chance to go through the midfield this week with McVeigh out? They were talking about that at that start of the year (and start of last year)
Well on the Preview Show on BomberTV, Dodoro said that with both McVeigh and Lovett out that Monfries may get a run on-ball and that he was drafted as a midfielder so i think there's a good chance he will.

Guss06
17 Jul 2008, 21:45
weres his contract at? Is he out of contract at the end on the year?