View Full Version : 7. Leroy Jetta
heyyy
Leroy Jetta has been my favourite player, ever since he was picked at number 15 in the Draft of 06
many of my friends tell me, whats it like to idol such a S**T footballer
i ignore there comments
As u can see in my myspace www.myspace.com/maco_david (http://www.myspace.com/maco_david)
i am loyal to Leroy and i think he will come up as one of the competions better Forward pockets/midfielders
Stick with him, he has shown there is potential there in his 11 games to date, just needs to keep developing and showing improvements over the next couple of seasons.
P.S. He was taken at Pick 18 in the 2006 draft.
You clearly have no idea what you're talking about given that you're willing to strike a cross through Jetta's name whilst he has played just over 10 games.
I'll give you a tip - outside Essendon he is very highly rated and a club such as the Eagles would pounce on a deal to secure Jetta.
And frankly if they want him that much & want to offer a good pick &/or players I would hope we would seriously look at it. I'm not writing the kid off but by the same token I have never been impressed by him. Would like to have seen something special even if it was only a glimpse but I think some people here just assume because he's aboriginal that he has freak skills. Would love to see him become a matchwinner but my personal opinion is that he will struggle to live up to the hype. Certainly looks a fair way off the midfield star we've all been hoping for.
Tell me, how many guys midway through their second season do?
He does have freak skills, his goal in the Aboriginal All-Stars game was incredible. He rarely misses targets.
You should see him cruise around at training, he hits guys lace out with ease.
Leroy's averaging the second most tackles a game at the club only behind Alwyn Davey this season. His defensive pressure has been superb.
He's given us some great glimpses. Remember when he split the pack against Carlton before dishing off a handball to Lovett who then burned down the centre and goaled?
Remember his goal against Fremantle last year?
He's still finding his feet, as are most guys just 11 games into their career.
Give him some time, he's ready to explode.
kelvin_sheedy
5 Jun 2008, 13:20
I was watching the highlights on the winners on foxtel and Jetta was directly responsible for two of our goals in the last with skill and vision.
That chip kick to McPhee running into goal was brilliant.
From what I've seen if he doesn't become a seriously good player in 2 years then I'll give up football.
I was watching the highlights on the winners on foxtel and Jetta was directly responsible for two of our goals in the last with skill and vision.
That chip kick to McPhee running into goal was brilliant.
From what I've seen if he doesn't become a seriously good player in 2 years then I'll give up football.
That's another point, his vision on the ground is incredible.
As we improve as a team, we'll see what this kid's really capable of.
WindyHillWatcher
5 Jun 2008, 14:59
I stand by Jetta. I've seem him play great games last year (i.e Round 1 v adelaide). He's young, still finding his way, but when he does... look out!
[QUOTE=GoDons;11262578]Tell me, how many guys midway through their second season do?
For example from our own club I'd say Houli has certainly shown far more at the same stage of development as has Reimers. At this same point last year guys like Murphy, Pendelbury, & Thomas had certainly shown plenty for there fans to be excited about. I'm just saying that so far Jetta hasn't shown ME that he is in this league.
He does have freak skills, his goal in the Aboriginal All-Stars game was incredible. He rarely misses targets.
Have you not seen his recent disposal? His kicks against Adelaide for example were mostly very poor & missed the targets. He hasn't been an effective goal sneak. His defensive pressure has been good but we simply aren't getting enough from him yet & he needs to improve on his ball winning.
You should see him cruise around at training, he hits guys lace out with ease.
I've seen him train. That doesn't always translate onto the field for the real stuff. Bolton for example was a magnificent trainer. Henno never used to drop easy chest marks at Windy Hill but come gameday its a hell of a lot different
Leroy's averaging the second most tackles a game at the club only behind Alwyn Davey this season. His defensive pressure has been superb.
As I said this is a good part of his game but for where he's playing I'd much rather possesions & goals than tackles.
He's given us some great glimpses. Remember when he split the pack against Carlton before dishing off a handball to Lovett who then burned down the centre and goaled?
It was a good handball & something he can build on but I think its mostly his disposal by foot that is currently lacking & his ability to get more of the ball.
Remember his goal against Fremantle last year?
Can't say I specifically do but I'd much rather have remember him kicking a goal against Adelaide from a set shot.
He's still finding his feet, as are most guys just 11 games into their career.
Give him some time, he's ready to explode.
Like I said I'm not writing him off but I just personally don't believe he will be anything special based on what I've seen of him in his AFL, VFL & junior footy so far. I'm more excited by Hilsop's potential. I'd love nothing more than to see Jetta become the next Kerr or Burgoyne. Getting 25+ touches every week & running rings around the oppositions & pinpointing stabs on to Gumby's chest. I just don't think thats going to happen.
[quote]
Have you not seen his recent disposal? His kicks against Adelaide for example were mostly very poor & missed the targets. He hasn't been an effective goal sneak. His defensive pressure has been good but we simply aren't getting enough from him yet & he needs to improve on his ball winning.
He set up two goals in the last quarter with two precise kicks...
Houli and Reimers haven't had to deal with OP last time I heard.
BTW - I think way too much is being expected of Jetta; he came to the club with OP and a very limited fitness base, and currently is experience hamstring difficulties.
[quote=OB1;11264738][quote]
For example from our own club I'd say Houli has certainly shown far more at the same stage of development as has Reimers. At this same point last year guys like Murphy, Pendelbury, & Thomas had certainly shown plenty for there fans to be excited about. I'm just saying that so far Jetta hasn't shown ME that he is in this league.
Now lets have a look at the people you have named. Houli, Reimers, Murphy, Pendlebury and Thomas. Whats common to all? None of them have had any injuries, in their early career.
Injuries play a huge role in a young players ability to 1. Get Fit, and 2. personal confidence. Jetta had serious problems with OP which would be one of footballers more feared injuries. It stuffed up his season last year completely. Then he started playing good football this year and had a hamstring injury just as he was finding form.
Nice of you to pick some guys who were taken 1, 2, 3 as well. Of course you would expect them to show a bit.
Guys develop differently. Cooney came into the AFL with huge amount of buzz, and its only now that we are seeing why he was picked at number 1. Others looked very good when they were young ie ricky dyson and now no one rates him. Give Leroy time. Seriously he is 19. He is one of the few players to be All Australian in two years at under 18 level. Even when he plays a 'bad game' in supporters eyes he still has 5-7 tackles, and 3 goal assists.
For example from our own club I'd say Houli has certainly shown far more at the same stage of development as has Reimers. At this same point last year guys like Murphy, Pendelbury, & Thomas had certainly shown plenty for there fans to be excited about. I'm just saying that so far Jetta hasn't shown ME that he is in this league.[quote]
All those guys were far more ready made prospects than Leroy.
They didn't have anywhere near the injury problems that Leroy's had. It's much easier settling into senior football when you're playing a game every weekend.
If you want to compare him to others, let's compare Leroy's first 11 games with Gary Ablett jnr's first 12. Disposal average is virtually identical, with Ablett having kicked a few more goals which isn't surprising given Ablett was playing in a better side.
Not all guys break out from day 1.
[quote=OB1;11264738]Have you not seen his recent disposal? His kicks against Adelaide for example were mostly very poor & missed the targets. He hasn't been an effective goal sneak. His defensive pressure has been good but we simply aren't getting enough from him yet & he needs to improve on his ball winning.
I didn't see all of last week's match, so I'm not really in a position to comment. Can't say I noticed any obvious blunders.
And no he hasn't been an effective goal sneak, but who would be in our current side?
Matthew Lloyd's struggling to be an effective Full Forward.
I've seen him train. That doesn't always translate onto the field for the real stuff. Bolton for example was a magnificent trainer. Henno never used to drop easy chest marks at Windy Hill but come gameday its a hell of a lot different
It's a bit different when you're 19.
Leroy's still finding his feet in the side, Henneman and Bolton were given endless chances to find their feet and weren't up to it.
You've got to reserve judgement there.
As I said this is a good part of his game but for where he's playing I'd much rather possesions & goals than tackles.
So would everybody.
But simply, at the moment he's not getting the opportunities for bags of possessions and goals.
It was a good handball & something he can build on but I think its mostly his disposal by foot that is currently lacking & his ability to get more of the ball.
You said you wanted a glimpse of something special, that was an example.
Can't say I specifically do but I'd much rather have remember him kicking a goal against Adelaide from a set shot.
The running, bouncing goal.
And for the record, he has kicked a set shot goal against Adelaide.
Like I said I'm not writing him off but I just personally don't believe he will be anything special based on what I've seen of him in his AFL, VFL & junior footy so far. I'm more excited by Hilsop's potential. I'd love nothing more than to see Jetta become the next Kerr or Burgoyne. Getting 25+ touches every week & running rings around the oppositions & pinpointing stabs on to Gumby's chest. I just don't think thats going to happen.
He may not be anything special, few players are.
He has some tremendous potential though, he's just not translating it all into AFL level yet.
sausageroll
12 Jun 2008, 00:30
I hope you Jetta fans are right about him. I've got my doubts though. I just don't see much in him at all. I'm very happy with pretty much every other kid on the list though, just not Jetta:(
I'd be happy to see him traded at the end of the year if we could get a decent deal for him which I think we would as everyone else seems to rate him so highly.
I hope he finds his feet this season and proves me wrong
he will not be traded. you dont trade talented kids and he has already signed a new contract
NewBabyBombaz
13 Jun 2008, 12:47
I see a lot of Damien Cupido in Leroy Jetta, unsure of whether he is really going to pull through. With an inform Davey he is not needed at the club.
KING-JAMES
13 Jun 2008, 13:11
I see a lot of Damien Cupido in Leroy Jetta, unsure of whether he is really going to pull through. With an inform Davey he is not needed at the club.
Nah mate thats bull crap. You can never have enough pressure on the opposition, watch the North game and you will see how much damage these blokes can cause with defensive pressure.
His only 19, has suffered a lot of groin related injuries not only last year but in his draft year and has also had a hamstring injury this season. His confidence is down but that happens to everyone, especially young players finding their feet. Will hold off before I really assess him but from what I have seen of him in the under 18s, and at times with us, he has far to much talent to not at least be a handy type for the Essendon Football club.
have a look at his highlights package in the 2006 draftees video on bomber tv. the kid just oozes class. just needs to get his confidence up
Lance Uppercut
13 Jun 2008, 15:54
you spud.
Jetta spent his entire pre-season holiday in the Essendon Gym working on his fitness.
Cupido would rarely have set foot in there.
What a stupid thing to say :rolleyes:
Ryder Is God
13 Jun 2008, 17:33
Are you serious?
Jonesy1987
13 Jun 2008, 17:49
Dont know about you but I'd love two Davey's running around the pockets.
NewBabyBombaz
13 Jun 2008, 18:51
Okay, i accept your critisism, maybe i didn't take into account his injuries, however I will stand my ground on the fact that I don't believe Jetta has long proficient future at the club, I would much prefer monfires/Winderlich/Dyson/ even Reimers creating forward pressure, he may show small blazes of brilliance but doubt he will be a reliable performer, which is why the comparison to Cupido was made. Looking at raw statistics he has scored 1 goal in 8 games this year as forward and only got over 10 possesions in one game, on the contrary his tackling count is comparatively high.
sausageroll
13 Jun 2008, 23:39
Dont know about you but I'd love two Davey's running around the pockets.
So would I. Unfortunately we've only got one Davey and a Jetta.
He looked a bit better tonight but I still was't that impressed. I still say we could trade him. I reckon he'll get a good price.
Woodstock..
13 Jun 2008, 23:46
I reckon he will be a very very good player, give him time
bipolarbeaR
14 Jun 2008, 00:09
Un-tradeable, He hasn't developed fully yet.
Essendon supporters need to be more patient.
HighettBomber
14 Jun 2008, 00:53
Possessions Leroy, give me possessions!
Is trying hard but 8 touches is not up to standard. I'm still confident he will be a good player, but he needs to do more.
Sigmund
14 Jun 2008, 00:57
Okay, i accept your critisism, maybe i didn't take into account his injuries, however I will stand my ground on the fact that I don't believe Jetta has long proficient future at the club, I would much prefer monfires/Winderlich/Dyson/ even Reimers creating forward pressure, he may show small blazes of brilliance but doubt he will be a reliable performer, which is why the comparison to Cupido was made. Looking at raw statistics he has scored 1 goal in 8 games this year as forward and only got over 10 possesions in one game, on the contrary his tackling count is comparatively high.
:eek: don't know how much of the bombers you have seen but defensive pressure is not really ricky's thing....
One thing I can say for Leeroy is that he has been consistently OK. Not consistently bad or good, just OK. This is fine for his stage of development. I do think he needs to kick more goals for us. If he averages 10 possessions, 4-5 tackles, and a goal per game I would take that every time for this year
Jonesy1987
14 Jun 2008, 03:46
Very good defensively, I think he does need to hit the gym quite a bit more, seems to have tackles broken quite often but at least he is putting the pressure on:thumbsu:
HULK HOGAN
14 Jun 2008, 15:52
I reckon he will be a very very good player, give him time
8 pozzies at 50% efficency roughly yhe same over last month rarely links up when ball is coming out of backline, only gets ball when its in his area but alot of the time is pushed of it far to easily.
Leeroy seriously lacks Intensity when it's time to go an find the footy but is good defensively because he has to do something when he is either led to the ball or beaten in a contest. Andrew Lovett is a perfect example in the weeks lesding up to the crows game I thought he wasn't playing with enough Intensity, but if you have a look at his Adelaide game when he decides to go and get the footy himself he looks a far more damaging.
INTENSITY is the most important word in footy. Get angry Leeroy!
Slattery_20
14 Jun 2008, 16:21
Looking at raw statistics he has scored 1 goal in 8 games this year as forward and only got over 10 possesions in one game, on the contrary his tackling count is comparatively high.
Which would surely tell you that the effort is there?
I can just imagine some of you lot if you were around in the 90s... "Hird showed nothing in his first year, trade him now while his value is high" :D:D
HULK HOGAN
14 Jun 2008, 16:29
Which would surely tell you that the effort is there?
I can just imagine some of you lot if you were around in the 90s... "Hird showed nothing in his first year, trade him now while his value is high" :D:D
IT TELLS US DEFENSIVE EFFORT IS THERE!!
How many marks has Leeroy taken this year or last night??
Doesnt matter he will be in the vfl next week any way.
Jetta wasn't great last night, he's still playing at a level below par.
However, he adds another dimension to our side. In addition, Jetta needs to learn the game at a senior level where he isn't five yards quicker than everyone else and doesn't have the advantage of far superior ball skills.
He's not getting possessions because he's struggling to position himself around the ball and in front of play and he's just not quite big enough to win the ball by himself.
I think he will stay in the side, but over the next few weeks a few things must change.
If he's going to play on the wing, he's got to back himself to work off his opponent. This is why Reimers is looking a better player at the moment. Skills wise, Leroy's superior in every way. Unfortunately, he finds himself following his opponent around and when that opponent is Jamie McNamara, he's not giving us a lot.
He's got to lift his amount of handball receives. Most of our run comes through the corridor, and Leroy's been peeling off to the flanks. Hard running through the centre will get him on the end of a lot more ball, and he'll be able to use his emaculate delivery into the forward line and bursting pace. If this means Leroy's opponent gets on the end of a bit more ball, so be it in my opinion. Unlike usual culprits Stanton and Nash, Leroy makes every touch count.
Up forward it hasn't been easy, but he's got to isolate himself a little bit more. He was lingering at CHF last night with a very congested centre square in front of him and amongst at least 6 other players. He struggles to win the contested ball, so working back to the feet of others amongst 6 others should not be his game. He's got to create angles and one on one's with small defenders, because not many of them are going to be able to go with him pace wise. He's not playing to his major strength.
This bloke's got as much natural ability as anyone in the competition. Right now, it's about finding his niche. He will, he's just got a lot to learn.
HULK HOGAN
14 Jun 2008, 18:04
Jetta wasn't great last night, he's still playing at a level below par.
However, he adds another dimension to our side. In addition, Jetta needs to learn the game at a senior level where he isn't five yards quicker than everyone else and doesn't have the advantage of far superior ball skills.
He's not getting possessions because he's struggling to position himself around the ball and in front of play and he's just not quite big enough to win the ball by himself.
I think he will stay in the side, but over the next few weeks a few things must change.
If he's going to play on the wing, he's got to back himself to work off his opponent. This is why Reimers is looking a better player at the moment. Skills wise, Leroy's superior in every way. Unfortunately, he finds himself following his opponent around and when that opponent is Jamie McNamara, he's not giving us a lot.
He's got to lift his amount of handball receives. Most of our run comes through the corridor, and Leroy's been peeling off to the flanks. Hard running through the centre will get him on the end of a lot more ball, and he'll be able to use his emaculate delivery into the forward line and bursting pace. If this means Leroy's opponent gets on the end of a bit more ball, so be it in my opinion. Unlike usual culprits Stanton and Nash, Leroy makes every touch count.
Up forward it hasn't been easy, but he's got to isolate himself a little bit more. He was lingering at CHF last night with a very congested centre square in front of him and amongst at least 6 other players. He struggles to win the contested ball, so working back to the feet of others amongst 6 others should not be his game. He's got to create angles and one on one's with small defenders, because not many of them are going to be able to go with him pace wise. He's not playing to his major strength.
This bloke's got as much natural ability as anyone in the competition. Right now, it's about finding his niche. He will, he's just got a lot to learn.
Fully agree if hes capable have my doubts
Lance Uppercut
14 Jun 2008, 22:39
how many games has he played ffs?
bomber69
15 Jun 2008, 13:20
how many games has he played ffs?
Exactly! No player peaks in his first two seasons
windyhill
29 Jun 2008, 19:40
Almost TOO un-selfish. Very Michael Longish in the way he brings others into the game and gives off. Best game for the club.
HULK HOGAN
29 Jun 2008, 19:58
Almost TOO un-selfish. Very Michael Longish in the way he brings others into the game and gives off. Best game for the club.
Best game yet for club, still 10 mins to go jetta just kicked a point definately on the improve always finds someone (freo goal fu@k)
wish Jetta had kicked his
HULK HOGAN
29 Jun 2008, 20:00
Best game yet for club, still 10 mins to go jetta just kicked a point definately on the improve always finds someone (freo goal fu@k)
wish Jetta had kicked his
:thumbsu:Great pass to lucas
Big Blow Hard
29 Jun 2008, 20:16
I would not call myself a Jetta knocker, but I did have some serious doubts.
But today, I am officially a fan. He done it forward, mid, and in the last few minutes, back.
Well Done Son, Well Done :thumbsu::thumbsu:
Perhaps a rising star nomination?
retroparty
29 Jun 2008, 20:20
Fantastic effort can't wait to see him on the replay. Sounded like he crumbed really well and set up some really important goals.
windyhill
29 Jun 2008, 20:22
Best game for the club. Too un-selfish at times. The consumate team man.
Lance Uppercut
29 Jun 2008, 20:23
absolute gun. The complete package. The only issue at the moment is his distinct goal shooting yips; he has no confidence whatsoever shooting for goal, and doesn't back himself. Once he gets that side of it together he is going to be a star
bombaman
29 Jun 2008, 20:23
Must be traded asap no room for him when Alwyn comes back anyway.
Not up to it bad draft pick!
You my friend are an A class tool. Enjoying the egg on your face? :D
S.C[BANKS]
29 Jun 2008, 20:24
His coming along very nicely indeed.
bombaman
29 Jun 2008, 20:26
The players listed above all play with more intensity and will or do spend more time in the midfield which is what we need Jetta taking marks I dont thik so thats what williams can do running through the midfield like Chapman (with a heavy body to bust packs) i dont think so Hey Shoot me its my Educated football poinion:thumbsu:
ahahaha :rolleyes:
The Dustbin
29 Jun 2008, 20:39
Glen Jakovich want's to bend him over.
Great game today Leroy, infact his last 3 games have been pretty good. Coming along nicely. :thumbsu:
Was outstanding today.
Just doesn't waste a possession, and he's got the fanciest feet going round.
Was a good watch.
loopy_cam
29 Jun 2008, 20:55
Very clean hands.
HULK HOGAN
29 Jun 2008, 20:55
You my friend are an A class tool. Enjoying the egg on your face? :D
Not quite yet but I am eating my words to a certain extent. No need for the name calling sis I get offended by that. Hey Lance reckon his goal yips will be over when He grabs one off a pack and runs in and drills it without thinking Important he backs up well against the Loins.
CarlosHernandez
29 Jun 2008, 20:58
Did anyone notice his multiple chase and tackle efforts on the wing in the last quarter? It was three on one for a while and he eventually forced a throw in.
That's why I love him, he contributes more than post game stat sheets indicate.
MadBomberfan
29 Jun 2008, 21:01
Dare I say that he's starting to dance with the ball? :thumbsu:
man, he is one of the most non-selfish players i've seen. he almost goes out of his way to pass the ball when inside 50.
he would've had about 5-6 score assists today i reckon.
Lance Uppercut
29 Jun 2008, 21:09
Hey Lance reckon his goal yips will be over when He grabs one off a pack and runs in and drills it without thinking
I agree. He can do it - I know he can do it; he knows he can do it. It's not far away at all I'd reckon
loopy_cam
29 Jun 2008, 21:15
5 goal assists.
The Dustbin
29 Jun 2008, 21:24
Break out game for Leroy. He has arrived.
Bomberz_pacers07
29 Jun 2008, 21:28
one of the last plays of the game where he roved the ball off the pack almost on the last line of defense then breaks away from pavlich i think and hits hille up with a 50m pass on half back was what really excited me the most:thumbsu:
Works his arse off, can't wait to see him in a couple of years with a bigger windtank.
Windas_Magic
29 Jun 2008, 22:07
He was very damaging today, could've easily kicked 3-4 goals and ran hard all game. Loved it when he was on the wing with three dockers against him and he continued to chase and tackle. Again, a couple of shots on goal let him down but this could've potentially been a break out game for the young fella
Pawtucket Patriot
29 Jun 2008, 22:19
He was very damaging today, could've easily kicked 3-4 goals and ran hard all game. Loved it when he was on the wing with three dockers against him and he continued to chase and tackle. Again, a couple of shots on goal let him down but this could've potentially been a break out game for the young fella
How good was it when he started to jump in order to stop Sandilands from disposing of the ball. In the end he forced the turn over. Great game by the young fella.
kelvin_sheedy
29 Jun 2008, 22:30
That was one of the best pieces of play I've seen for years.
He just knew how and when to harass at the right time and they eventually turned it over.
Fantastic game by Leroy today.
lemon chicken
29 Jun 2008, 22:30
You cannot teach a player to forward crumb the ball like he does, its his natural gift, the timing and the speed at which he does it is first class. Hopefully he can now get up the confidence to finish it off and kick the goal as well.
Darealrath
29 Jun 2008, 23:35
You can't teach the things he does. So damn exciting to watch.
hopefully this will be the breakout game we have been waiting for. leroy should now realize that he can dominate at this level
WindyHillWatcher
30 Jun 2008, 04:29
I've been behind leroy since day 1. never spoken a bad word about this kid and thought anyone who suggested he should be traded is out of their mind. Jetta proved his worth today, silenced the critics and established himself on the professional level. awesome game, crucial in our victory and such a wonderfully gifted player. Well done Leroy and keep up the good work that I know you are capable off mate.
p.s. I even had a carlton supporter watching the game with me today who said during the second quater as Leroy was carving it up "who the F*$# is that?? he's a beauty!"
TheDon35
30 Jun 2008, 08:23
Timely game given a bit of criticism floating around.
He has gone about his first couple of seasons the right way and has tended to work very hard for every touch.
With a bit of confidence and the work ethic he's built up the sky's the limit. Just a glimps of what's to come yesterday.
Centurion
30 Jun 2008, 09:40
Timely game given a bit of criticism floating around.
He has gone about his first couple of seasons the right way and has tended to work very hard for every touch.
With a bit of confidence and the work ethic he's built up the sky's the limit. Just a glimps of what's to come yesterday.
The kid never deserved criticism imo. He is only a kid, and needs time to get on his feet. Will be a superstar in a couple of years. Love him.
He probably did deserve some of the criticism in that there were things he was doing wrong or struggling to do. However, he well and truly deserved to be excused and in no way deserved the trade talk that some chose to initiate.
For natural ability he is second to none, and yesterday we got to see a small touch of that. There's plenty more to come.
NewBabyBombaz
30 Jun 2008, 12:05
Yes, I admit I was one to criticise Leroy, however after the Fremantle game and to a lesser extent the Carton game I think he will have a very imortant role in the side in the years to come, great rover, needs to improve goalkicking however but still he played a crucial role against the Dockers.
Coathanger
30 Jun 2008, 12:11
Just a terrific game from Leroy.He turned the game your way several times along with McVeigh. Good win.
sausageroll
30 Jun 2008, 12:25
Couldn't watch the game but by the comments it looks like he did well.
Hope this is a sign of things to come:thumbsu:
Blowfly
30 Jun 2008, 13:12
Terrific game
It's taken some time and some on-the-job training but he's really improving and rewarding Knights' patience.
He is learning where he has to be to get to contests and where to run to to become an option.
If he can continue to perform as he did against Freo I'll be happy, but I suspect there is still plenty of improvement in him yet as he learns to play.
Hirdy_5
30 Jun 2008, 15:29
Great Game,
Very exciting to watch, Good signs ahead...
AxelFoley#5
30 Jun 2008, 15:57
Did anyone notice his multiple chase and tackle efforts on the wing in the last quarter? It was three on one for a while and he eventually forced a throw in.
That's why I love him, he contributes more than post game stat sheets indicate.
Yeah loved that passage of play (was fired up on the couch!)....totally outnumbered but chased down a couple in tackles and eventually forced the error.
Great stuff LJ
Slattery_20
30 Jun 2008, 18:29
Was BOG for the first half for me, had the midas touch
Lance Uppercut
30 Jun 2008, 18:44
that sharky interception he made was friggin awesome, unbelievable to watch. All he missed was the confidence to slam it thru the guts himself, and really cover himself in glory.
Bewick the 2nd ;)
bombaman
1 Jul 2008, 13:40
Not quite yet but I am eating my words to a certain extent. No need for the name calling sis I get offended by that. Hey Lance reckon his goal yips will be over when He grabs one off a pack and runs in and drills it without thinking Important he backs up well against the Loins.
sorry mate. You and all the other fair weather supporters who just love getting the knives out really piss me off. Jetta had played what? 10 games? And you are writing him off as a failure. I dont care how much you think you know about football that is just weak. Why is it important that he backs it up well?
Yeh sure it would be great but if he has a bad game are you going to get the knives out again?
His best senior game. Played really well in Nab at the start of the year. He is finding the ball more and needs to start averaging 15 touches a day.
Great to see him improve
HULK HOGAN
1 Jul 2008, 17:57
sorry mate. You and all the other fair weather supporters who just love getting the knives out really piss me off. Jetta had played what? 10 games? And you are writing him off as a failure. I dont care how much you think you know about football that is just weak. Why is it important that he backs it up well?
Yeh sure it would be great but if he has a bad game are you going to get the knives out again?
Supported the dons since 1979 and attended at least 5 games a year since,fairweather??
my main worry for Leroy was how many small players we have tha cant spend much time in the guts and that being the reason I spoke about him as trade bait. Having watched him closely over the past month I have come to the conclusion that when he does get the ball he uses it extremly well. I am 99 per cent sure he would have been motivated to play well in his home state and I congratulate him for doing so. Now he has to learn to play with the same intensity as much as he can.
2 reasons why its important for Leroy to play well against the loins.
1- for himself learning about consistancy.
2- for ESSENDON I honestly think if he plays well and a few others I am nearly sure we can beat them.
Jetta, Watson, Lovett, Mcphee, Stanton, Lonegran I feel could be very important. I will stand corrected with him RND 1 2009 when davey and Jetta line up in the same forward line and he plays well until then every week and a big pre season is all going to be of great importance in his career (as well as a few others) pretty exciting I think.
bomba4eva
1 Jul 2008, 21:07
We all know this boy has immense talent. Showed us what he is capable of on Sunday and for me he was the highlight of the game. Highlights actually. So many wonderful passages of play. I'd been waiting for a while for him to show it and now it has be excited. Lets hope he finishes off the season with some strong performances. Needs to work on his fitness and we shall see 4 quarter performances rather than half a game.
Well done Jetta. One of my favourties:thumbsu:
bombaman
1 Jul 2008, 21:54
Supported the dons since 1979 and attended at least 5 games a year since,fairweather??
my main worry for Leroy was how many small players we have tha cant spend much time in the guts and that being the reason I spoke about him as trade bait. Having watched him closely over the past month I have come to the conclusion that when he does get the ball he uses it extremly well. I am 99 per cent sure he would have been motivated to play well in his home state and I congratulate him for doing so. Now he has to learn to play with the same intensity as much as he can.
2 reasons why its important for Leroy to play well against the loins.
1- for himself learning about consistancy.
2- for ESSENDON I honestly think if he plays well and a few others I am nearly sure we can beat them.
Jetta, Watson, Lovett, Mcphee, Stanton, Lonegran I feel could be very important. I will stand corrected with him RND 1 2009 when davey and Jetta line up in the same forward line and he plays well until then every week and a big pre season is all going to be of great importance in his career (as well as a few others) pretty exciting I think.
Ok, so let me get this straight.
You have gone from claiming that jetta is "not up to it bad draft pick!"
to Jetta being one of the key players that needs to perform if we are a chance to beat the lions. flip........flop........FLAP
No room for Jetta and Davey in the same team....? Give it a rest man.:rolleyes:
HULK HOGAN
1 Jul 2008, 22:30
Ok, so let me get this straight.
You have gone from claiming that jetta is "not up to it bad draft pick!"
to Jetta being one of the key players that needs to perform if we are a chance to beat the lions. flip........flop........FLAP
No room for Jetta and Davey in the same team....? Give it a rest man.:rolleyes:
IF his attitude aint right trade him
challege for you champ theres another thread essendons best 22 tou pick tour best team injury free and show me wher you would put everyone come on!!!
lemon chicken
2 Jul 2008, 01:14
I will stand corrected with him RND 1 2009 when davey and Jetta line up in the same forward line and he plays well until then every week and a big pre season is all going to be of great importance in his career (as well as a few others) pretty exciting I think.
Check out the replays of Rd 1 and 2 from 2007. Jetta was looking as good if not better than Davey.
HighettBomber
2 Jul 2008, 11:13
Good to see him get the ball a decent number of times. He doesn't have to be a 30 touch player to be damaging, but his output on the weekend, in terms of stats, needs to be a minimum. He needs to get some confidence in his kicking for goal also, he's a terrific kick when he's passing but terrible when kicking for goal.
Very happy to see him play well, hope he can keep improving as there is a lot of blue sky there.
bombaman
3 Jul 2008, 14:38
IF his attitude aint right trade him
challege for you champ theres another thread essendons best 22 tou pick tour best team injury free and show me wher you would put everyone come on!!!
No room for two small forwards/rotating midfielders in a team?
Just to name one lineup, Paul Medhurst, Leon Davis and Alan Didak. How have they been going this year? Are they a dysfunctional forward line? If they can function then what is the problem with having Davey and Jetta in the same forward line whilst rotating through the midfield?
You don't listen to anyone, you make ridiculous claims, you cant back them up with any substance and you write players (full of talent and promise) off after 10 games of AFL. Carry on your merry ignorant way 'champ'. :thumbsu:
Lance Uppercut
3 Jul 2008, 15:41
Just to name one lineup, Paul Medhurst, Leon Davis and Alan Didak. How have they been going this year? Are they a dysfunctional forward line? If they can function then what is the problem with having Davey and Jetta in the same forward line whilst rotating through the midfield?
You don't listen to anyone, you make ridiculous claims, you cant back them up with any substance and you write players (full of talent and promise) off after 10 games of AFL. Carry on your merry ignorant way 'champ'. :thumbsu:
nice bake :thumbsu:
Ben the Gooner
3 Jul 2008, 16:41
Dare I say that he's starting to dance with the ball? :thumbsu:
Heh.
Very interesting article that was.
And agreed, Lance.
HULK HOGAN
3 Jul 2008, 17:45
Lots of people don't have Jetta in their best 22 check out the thread on the subject.
Aren't people aloud to have an opinion??
HULK HOGAN
13 Jul 2008, 11:16
Lots of people don't have Jetta in their best 22 check out the thread on the subject.
Aren't people aloud to have an opinion??
LEROY JETTA should NOT be traded I was WRONG by saying so and I'm veryhappy about it!!
CONFIDENCE and INTENSITY are his strengths and as long as he plays with thoose to things he will be a bomber for LIFE
thanks for proving me wrong Leeroy
I knew he would be an important cog v brissy.
must go now an make a comment on Lonegran......
Slattery_20
13 Jul 2008, 16:41
That's why you don't make OTT comments like "should be traded" about a 10 gamer.
Lance Uppercut
13 Jul 2008, 20:20
as good as he's been, Leroy is only showing glimpses of what he could be. His potential is awesome. If he gets consistent, and gets more stamina, he could be a star of the highest order
Great picture of "Jet Set Go!" on the back of the Sunday Herald Sun
bomber69
14 Jul 2008, 00:08
Would love to see him in the midfield and at the centre clearances in the near future!
sausageroll
14 Jul 2008, 10:30
Starting to show a lot more now. Exciting stuff!:thumbsu:
michael7
14 Jul 2008, 11:45
Showed lots of potential on saturday night but I'm sure there is plenty more to come from the little man as there is with all our youngsters!!:D
TheDon35
14 Jul 2008, 16:14
as good as he's been, Leroy is only showing glimpses of what he could be. His potential is awesome. If he gets consistent, and gets more stamina, he could be a star of the highest order
Alot of that is to do with the roll he's been playing. Since Davey went down, he's been playing mainly as that key crumbing small forward and doing it pretty well. His goal in the first quarter was another tease as to what to expect moving forward.
I'd say look to him to really break out next year.
Big John
19 Jul 2008, 18:16
I'm on the bandwagon. He hasn't played a complete game yet, but the qualities are there.
ManWithNoName
20 Jul 2008, 17:34
Has the talent and the speed but needs to back himself around goals more.
Big Blow Hard
20 Jul 2008, 19:07
Agree, he just needs to be a bit selfish sometimes. It will come.
I was not sure of him a while ago but now I am genuinely excited every time the ball goes near him. I really think now he has the potential to be something special.
windyhill
21 Jul 2008, 23:00
Best game for the club. Too un-selfish at times. The consumate team man.
Should have nailed that goal in the first quarter, got caught in two minds, do I care and share ? or do I slam it through ?
crazysteve
21 Jul 2008, 23:04
Getting better and better every week, the Freo game seemed to be the turning point for him. Cannot wait to see this kids full potential
He's really starting to stand up with a few key runners down.
Fitness seems his main barrier at this stage, but when he has the ball we're a much better football team. It's great seeing him start going to good spots, and running angles and getting around the goals.
Starting to show a flicker of his potential.
his confidence is finally up. he now feels as if belongs
Still can't believe that people were calling for his head eariler in the year. What drop-kicks.